The Honda Freed – a CBU MPV from Indonesia

Indonesia is definitely the land flowing with milk and honey for when it comes to car companies selling MPVs there, but of course being a developing country just like ours, their market is actually pretty sensitive to pricing. The Avanza and its larger sibling the Kijang are king in Indonesia. Nissan have challenged the Avanza with the Grand Livina but Indonesian roads remain filled with primarily Avanzas – the sheer amount of the Toyota Avanza and its Daihatsu-badged cousin Xenia is mind-boggling.

The latest compact MPV to hit the Indonesian market is the Freed. It is not the first time Honda has built an MPV in this segment as it previously also had the Mobilio and Mobilio Spike. But the Freed is the first MPV to be officially sold outside of Japan. It will be built in Indonesia and exported to the region. As a part of a preview prior to the Freed’s launch in Malaysia later this month, Honda Malaysia decided to take a small group of media to Indonesia to visit the PT Honda Prospect Motor plant where the Freed is built.

The Freed is currently the only MPV being built at PT Honda Prospect Motor as the company has stopped making the Stream there. As a result, even our Malaysian market Honda Stream has switched from being a CBU from Indonesia to a CBU from Japan. The Honda assembly plant is located in Karawang, which is just outside Jakarta. Honda Motor Co owns 51% of the company while its Indonesian partner PT Prospect Motor owns the other 49%. The 7 year old plant can produce 40,000 unit of bodies a year on 2 shifts and 160,000 unit of engines a year on 3 shifts. The plant exports cylinder heads and engine blocks as well as some body parts such as engine hoods, roofs, floors, and etc.

The Honda Freed that rolls out of the PT Honda Prospect Motor plant contains at least 40% ASEAN content including body panels and most of the engine, although a lot of the parts also remain Japan-sourced. Thus in the context of the Freed the plant can still probably be considered mostly an assembly plant although it does manufacturer certain parts. But in today’s world with parts coming from all around the world especially from within economic regions, it’s hard to find a plant that builds everything within the country.

The Freed is built with a combination of robots and manual labor. Robots take care of the work that require precision and consistency such as welding the body together and even things like applying sealant around certain parts of the car like the windscreen.

The human assembly workers are used for assembly work that aren’t as repetitious as welding a body and also other assembly work such as fitting the radio into the dashboard. Different specs of the Freed for different countries may use different radios (this is just an example) so these work are done by humans.

The workers also perform final QC work such as running their hands over the body surface to find inconsistencies in metal and other fittings. A Freed that has been completely assembled will go through a series of final QC checks including a water test which ensures all the seals work properly and there will not be any leakages into the car. Although the workers are mostly Indonesian, the system is designed and monitored by Honda engineers. Trust me, with cars being so full of electronics these days, water getting into places where it’s not supposed to go can be a real wallet-breaking affair. It happened to my E39!

The plant also has ‘green’ activities in line with Honda’s global eco stance. Among the programs ongoing at the Karawang plant are the implementation of ISO 14001, CO2 control, air emissions monitoring, and a hazardous waste management program. For example, rejected water from the plant’s RO water process is used to water the garden. The many water conservation systems implemented in the plant have resulted in a water savings of 77% before they were implemented.

Look after the jump for more photos from the plant and stay tuned for a brief impression short test drive report of the Freed coming up next.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1026]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• SHADUP LA on Apr 04, 2010 at 2:14 pm

very nice MPV …. outstanding

• raybrig on Apr 04, 2010 at 2:15 pm

waduhh…made in indo bung…

• Peter on Apr 04, 2010 at 2:19 pm

With this, i think Perodua will feel very shameful and guilty ……………

• lihwoei on Apr 05, 2010 at 11:36 am

y feel shameful and guilty..?Perodua still the Best seller in malaysia…!!!

• paultan fan on Apr 05, 2010 at 1:16 pm

Bcoz after long time, Produa can’t produce their own car like Proton. Produa same level like PT Honda Prospect Motor.

• i was more concern how much it’s going to sell in M’sia.
    If AFTZ price should be more compeitive, and let Malaysian had more choice for overseas car.
    Don always ask us to support local manufacturer.
    Local manufacturer should wake up!

• paultan fan on Apr 05, 2010 at 1:18 pm

sokong. Tak kan lah seleps 25 tahun masih nak harap perlindungan kerajaan. Tambah2 Produa, sepatutnya tarik balik taraf nasional kalau sekadar jadi tukang rebadge

• tokmoh on Apr 05, 2010 at 3:44 pm

Perodua still has its use. Campro’s engine block is built by them IIANM.

IMHO, P1 and P2 should consolidate. DSZ once suggested it before, but P2’s MD don’t want.

• malaysia memang boleh on Apr 04, 2010 at 2:36 pm

the only reason why they choose to manufactured it in indonesia is because it’s cheaper and,same goes to thailand,and that’s why H & T are popular there,Honda freed cost about rm 90k in Indonesia,wow that’s quite expensive in Indonesia,but in my opinion,the rear of freed is the ugliest I ever seen!

• jazz cost over 100k in bolehland…this 1 is bigger than jazz….n its a mpv…

• Black Dog on Apr 04, 2010 at 4:22 pm

If Indonesia sells for 90k, then here will probably be 120k – 130k!

• correct bro, that the price the SA told me yesterday….120k…..hmmmm

• At that price…might as well buy a nissan serena, same boxy shape wt sliding door but much bigger + have rear air con

• riswan rahman on Apr 05, 2010 at 9:00 am

all about tax and brand.

• i dont think its ugly… just getting used to. i managed to like the vios after sometime. Well goes for the BMW 5 series.BUT not the Fiat multipla.

• paultan fan on Apr 05, 2010 at 1:25 pm

common la bro. bukan just sebab tenaga murah yg murah. Kialng kereta guna byk robot berbanding tenaga manusia. Apa yang lebih penting adalah dasar kerajaan. Contoh paling mudah di negara kita dah terleps 1 pelaburan besar berbilion ringgit dimana Berjaya Group nak bina kilang usahasama BYD di Malaysia. Tapi kerajaan reject projek tu sebab kereta yg produce cc nya dalam kategori persaingan denga P1 dan P2. Dan pernah juga saya dengar kereta di luar tak dibenarkan dijual murah berbanding kereta tempatan. Kita terlalu byk dasar yg keterlampauan melindungi industri tempatan sampai pelabur takut nak bertapak. Kalau nak kata isu buruh, banyak kilang di Malaysia pun guna buruh dari Indon. Rate buruh Malaysai ngan Thailand lebih kurang jer. Even gaji seorang jurutera kita pun masih murah dan gaji permulaan tak naik2 berbanding 10 tahun lepas. Kalau 10 tahun lepas fresh graduate rm 1200 – rm 2000. sekarang pun selepas 10 tahun masih macam tu.

• paulfan,

Agreed. We could have been the Detroit of the East. Protecting Proton has cost us thousands of jobs. These are high skill, high pay jobs too. Thanks Proton.

• Bro…gaji rate engineer automotive co mana ko kata tuh??
        kalau mcam tu sure di blah kerja kerajaan…..lagi banyak :)

• mr_aisehman on Apr 12, 2010 at 2:06 am

“Even gaji seorang jurutera kita pun masih murah dan gaji permulaan tak naik2 berbanding 10 tahun lepas. Kalau 10 tahun lepas fresh graduate rm 1200 – rm 2000. sekarang pun selepas 10 tahun masih macam tu”

Mmm, this is talk talk or fact?

• wuttaheck on Apr 15, 2010 at 10:42 am

FACT. unless u r working with major player in O&G (Petronas, Shell, Technip etc) or GLC’s (TNB etc)…

• since it is a honda, no matter where it is made, how does it look like, how does it perform, people will still praise the car..thats a typical malaysian..

• exlive3 on Apr 04, 2010 at 3:02 pm

hahahahha…agree…

• keretakura on Apr 04, 2010 at 3:34 pm

corek … corek .. corek …. beside that i ony own 1 honda …. Honda Cub EX5 … he he

• don’t blame Malaysians, blame the BN politicians. They told us to support proton for nationalism purposes but they themselves drive foreign make, look at the pictures of the launching of perodua service center, Lexus! Even mahathir drives 4WD Porsche.

• Lim Guan Eng on Apr 04, 2010 at 7:32 pm

I think the Lexus cars are from the Perodua’s and Toyota’s top management. You can see the cars in front of the corporate buildings in Rawang and Shah Alam. You surely will be amazed …

• Mike Owen on Apr 05, 2010 at 6:52 pm

Bro; while Perodua customer driving PERODUA CARS, Perodua Management are driving Lexus or Toyota Camry. :-P

• paultan fan on Apr 05, 2010 at 1:29 pm

agree 300%. 100% pemimpin BN termasuk Najib yang marah pakatan Rakyat reject beli Proton juga guna kereta import. Perdana memang guna tapi untuk acara rasmi jer. Tak caya g jenguk umah mana2 pemimpin. Ketua cawangan pun pakai Camry, apa standard PM nak naik perdana. ha3. Seorang jer yg pakai Perdana walau dia mampu pakai lebih dr perdana iaitu syed mokhtar x silap sy. org melayu plg kaya kita

• tokmoh on Apr 05, 2010 at 3:56 pm

I heard Hassan Marican (ex-Petronas CEO) also uses Perdana, rides public transport and lives in terrace house. But hm… kinda hard for me to believe actually ahaha.

• mr_aisehman on Apr 12, 2010 at 2:15 am

tepuk dada tanya selera,,
          seluk poket cermin diri,,
          If you were them, which car brand is your choice?
          If PKR won the next election will them use the nasional car?
          stop talk politic here. you have money u buy what ever car u want.

• Darius on Apr 05, 2010 at 11:02 am

Hahha, agree!! Honda slaves.

Do you want a Honda? HELL NO lol

• sah.. exora much2 better

• Tommy on Apr 04, 2010 at 4:32 pm

both diff categories meh… compare it to alza la

• ambo70 on Apr 04, 2010 at 4:46 pm

hahahahha…agree…

• soulburner on Apr 05, 2010 at 10:23 am

Really kaa?? i dengar Exora ni underpower.. is it true? skang ni dalam dilema la plak.. nak amik Livina or Exora, ni Freed la plak keluar.. aduh aduh dong.. kepingin sih mobil freed ini.. bagaimana dong!

• paultan fan on Apr 05, 2010 at 1:33 pm

masing2 ada kelebihan. untuk bawah rm 100 k, nak ruang ambik exora atau chery eastar atau naza ria atau toyota innova. nak power ambik naza rondo atau chery eastar atau grand livina. nak jenama dan kebolehpercayaan ambik toyota innova dan nissan grand livina. nak murah ambik alza atau exora atau toyota avanza. nak yang comei pilih antara alza dan freed. tapi freed ni ada 1 benda yang tak da untuk MPV bawah rm 100 k iaitu pintu sliding door automatic.

• Kambing Gurun on Apr 05, 2010 at 2:45 pm

Agree. Looks better from the back haha.

• Interesting on how they built

• wiraone on Apr 04, 2010 at 3:31 pm

” being a developed country just like ours” .. shouldn’t it be .. a developing country?

• umno juara tipu rakyat on Apr 04, 2010 at 8:05 pm

hahahaha…i noticed that too…never thought our country & indonesia has become a developed status

• after years msia still behind d line…

• paultan fan on Apr 05, 2010 at 1:36 pm

tapi kita da ketinggalan banding jiran spt singapura, thailand, indonesia juga vietnam dari segi FDI. bahkan kadar pertumbuhan ekonomi kita juga bawah 8% dimana kita patut dpt pertumbuhan 8% sc konsisten bermula 1980 untuk capai taraf ekonomi maju menjelang 2020. dah byk tahun kita tak capai kadar pertumbuhan 8%. dari segi sumbangan pendapatan pada negara, jelas hasil minyak masih jd penyumbang utama lebih 50%. cuba imagine kalau rizab minyak kita habis?

• Pretty soon, we will be behind Thailand and Indonesia. Unless Najob reform works and our leaders stop stealing our money that is.

• You’re right. We are a developing country and will stay there for along time at least for the automobile industry, as our country policy always inconsistance and don’t favour the investors.

• hang solo on Apr 04, 2010 at 3:31 pm

Well, to those cant afford to but “Honda Freed” just keep quiet,
    no money to buy the pear dont claimed the pear is sour!!!!
    ok?

• Stupid Malaysians, this car is good? huh, it looks like shit. And even the Tata Nano looks better than this crap.

• amierhamzah on Apr 05, 2010 at 10:27 am

Who is stupid?? must be u not malaysian rite? freed is look like shit?? in which view that look like shit? or u saying shit about urself? are u a car maker? who are you talking malaysian is stupid? do malaysian look stupid to you? stop comment stupid thing in here.. if u wanna talk stupid.. please go else where ..! ngerti!

• kinkin on Apr 05, 2010 at 11:21 am

like ibrahim ali said ” don’t tok shit, don’t tok shit and don’t tok shit” ….

• Ah, you are indian right? This Freed is no beauty but neither is Nano.

• This shape is ugly……don’t just praise because it is HONDA. Shape a bit like coffin car

• seanZX10 on Apr 05, 2010 at 12:59 am

honda’s a crap la…staff at honda says that honda is not a quality car nowadays…not like 10 years before. y? japan mindset. they dont respect our comments, our complaints on their cars. they just dont give a crap because we are considered small prawn to them…just a sad side income to honda.

• AlphaBravia on Apr 05, 2010 at 10:31 am

Yeah, suit on you coke..for your funeral i think.. no need to buy the coffin.. just burried it with u inside. hows that? talking without knowing the product.! u just full of crap..
      mr. crap also not like u!

• ALPHABRAVIA. Please shows that you are educated in commenting. You really talked like a new born animal. To me the shape is ugly and looks like ‘coffin’ car to me (what is wrong with it?). What is the problem with you, you like to do personal attack in the web. Please stay out from the blog. What do you mean talking without knowledge? prove it…… you really MASTER CRAB…

If a car design is good, we praise, if it is not good, we criticized so they can improve in future. No matter it is proton or japanese car. Your commend sounds like you are barbarian. One thing I’m sure that the car fit (coffin) you most of the time.

P/S paul – please block this type of commenter….they just don’t make constructive comment here rather that ‘shitting’.

• Black Dog on Apr 04, 2010 at 4:19 pm

Paul, correction: Developing, not developed country.

Oh, how I wish we can be a developed country, now looks like it will be way pass 2020!

• The environment is so clean..

• theanswer on Apr 04, 2010 at 5:09 pm

not going to be cheaper than city..

• Yup, 96k in Indon. +Tax , excise duty etc, 120k to 130k. Probably near 130k.

• seancorr on Apr 04, 2010 at 5:09 pm

Let’s face it…without the tax these cars would be better than our local car brands. U can’t judge these cars as being a class above our Alza or Persona because the Honda City or Toyota Vios were meant to be in the same category as our local models.

• Petronas on Apr 04, 2010 at 5:10 pm

If this was a Proton, everyone will condemn until die.

Proton designers so much better !

• badai on Apr 05, 2010 at 10:36 am

SO TRUE!!

• paultan fan on Apr 05, 2010 at 2:57 pm

ya. kamu memang benar. proton designer boleh design lebih baik. tapi model kita kebanyakan adalah model lama. Perdana dah brp tahun? waja usia dah brp tahun? gen2 dah brp tahun? pelanggan nak design yang fresh dan itulah kelemahan Proton. Lambat dalam bertindak. Untuk dapatkan sebuah enjin turbo kita perlu tunggu 2 tahun. untuk dpt sebuah MPV kita tpaksa tunggu 1 thn 1/2. Jadi bagaimana nak suruh rakyat hargai design Proton kalau Proton tak nak segarkan rekaan mereka. Persona hanya ubahsuai daripada Gen2, dan persona elegance hanya facelift daripada Persona sedia ada. huhu. saya sokong Proton tapi tak nak la Proton lambat bertindak

• Yes, Proton designer is soo much better. He’s also Italian.

• never mind, exora light pressure turbo (LPT) with CVVT 2011 is batter deal, said torque comes as early at 1800rpm,

• umno juara tipu rakyat on Apr 04, 2010 at 8:07 pm

yup…exora turbo more worth it…120k for a 1.5l mpv is juz simply mind boggling!

• yup…no value for money at that price

• paultan fan on Apr 05, 2010 at 3:01 pm

yup. prefer ambik Exora Turbo kalau harga sama. Tapi itu cerita di negara Malaysia. kalau tanpa cukai, lebih baik saya ambik Honda Stream. Dgr just RM 50 ribu di Jepun. Kalaulah ada permit import kan best

• ariefinm on Apr 04, 2010 at 5:26 pm

The Freed is to expensive for my liking. Costs Rp 250 million, which is to expensive for a 1500 cc car that is smaller than the Exora. I have bought the Exora and am very pleased with it.

If the Freed was priced the same as the Exora in Indonesia I would consider the H-badge over the P-badge.

• Alpha on Apr 04, 2010 at 5:40 pm

this is a premium compact MPV la.it’s different from alza,exora n such.perhaps around rm100k.

Paul,
    sorry for going out of topic.but can u check if the CR-Z will be coming to msia or not??i’ve checked the price in yen,it’s actually jz a little over the Civic Hybrid.so i expect it to be around rm140k??i’m getting a new car by november n is very interested in the CR-Z.

• Black Dog on Apr 04, 2010 at 11:58 pm

I don’t think Honda Malaysia will bring it in. You can’t compare with Civic Hybrid bcos it’s subsidised. Maybe can get from Naza later. Expect it to be over RM200K.

• pumpkin76 on Apr 05, 2010 at 9:28 am

it should be subsidised if base on the current BN led scenario coz the CRZ is also a hybrid vehicle…. unless they change the policy again… biasa la….

• Alpha on Apr 05, 2010 at 1:54 pm

yeah,it should be subsidized as i already checked the policy.but the policy ends ths 31st of dec.If i get Naza or any parallel importers to bring the CRZ here,will the hybrid vehicle still apply??

• kimi_ on Apr 04, 2010 at 5:46 pm

The rear looks tall due to the lack of PROPER bumber…

• Ericboy on Apr 04, 2010 at 6:19 pm

This car will sell…

• Denfire on Apr 04, 2010 at 8:51 pm

With the price tag more then 100k, we got plenty of choice. Unless that person like HONDA very much. Then only this will come into the picture. WILL SELL? I don’t think so.. :)

• Ericboy on Apr 04, 2010 at 10:51 pm

Trust me… New car always sells… No matter it’s expensive nor ugly… It still will sell because it’s new….

• Ahh, Honda fan.

• quartz on Apr 04, 2010 at 6:21 pm

I think you wanna say ‘developing’, not ‘developed’ in the first para?

Its a van with MPV tag.. ;)

• Imran on Apr 04, 2010 at 6:51 pm

What happen to your language Paul..

• sri hartamas on Apr 04, 2010 at 6:56 pm

Malaysians, being suckers for Honda, will buy this car for the badge and nothing else. Its no better than the Avanza, with looks much inferior to the Exora. Nonetheless, this ‘coffin’ car will live because of Malaysian suckres, who look down on Proton.

• We look down on Proton for good reasons. Most of us have owned one. Japanese auto companies, reserved their best (JDM) for their home market. Same with Korean. Proton on the other hand reserves the best specced car for export market. Better chassis, DOHC engine, etc at no more money than what they are asking us (often chaper – check out the prices in the Middle east) for the tin milo, 3-spd auto, buggy brake, failed power windows, rust after 5 yrs, etc.

No I resent people who said I look down on Proton for no reason.

• ago87 on Apr 04, 2010 at 7:00 pm

Will Alza’s customers cancel their bookings?

• helmi on Apr 04, 2010 at 7:23 pm

Manufactured in 3rd world country and you will get 3rd class Honda in term of specification and workmanship. Personally exora slightly beautiful.

• peYno on Apr 04, 2010 at 7:24 pm

Actual this car is direct rival to ALZA
    This mini MPV is rival to Luminas/sette/ALZA in Japan.. and freed sales is better than sette

but in Bolehland.. Gomen wanna protect ALZA sales… and give tax kaw2..
    freed price will be over 100K..

pity malaysian .. malaysian are denied to OWN BEST SELLING MINI MPV IN JAPAN.. end up.. downgraded tin milo ALZA

• paultan fan on Apr 05, 2010 at 3:10 pm

yup. agree 300%. Bolehland charge extra over tax to their people. You can get this Freed at lower than rm 40 k in Japan with automatic sliding door.

• peYno on Apr 04, 2010 at 7:26 pm

actually. what honda Indonesia doing is same like perodua

they jassemble the car.. but indon don’t call it national car.. buat malaysian.. they call perodua nasional car

prrrrfthhh

• proton on Apr 04, 2010 at 9:18 pm

hahaha, a good opinion from someone that under malaysian scholarship, such a waste for my taxmoney, i rather donate to some mute and deaf poor soul

• AlphaBravia on Apr 05, 2010 at 10:34 am

Agree.. nice one… LOL!

• paultan fan on Apr 05, 2010 at 3:11 pm

agree.

• Kah, kah. Well proton will be the same, if the govt don’t protect it as they have been.

• Malaysia Bulleh! on Apr 04, 2010 at 7:31 pm

This car has no rear BUMPER?

Must be costly to fix whenever get hit from the back!

• FREEK

• Tiadaid on Apr 04, 2010 at 7:46 pm

Judging from the comments, I see that I’m not alone into thinking that this car looks weird.

• nabill on Apr 04, 2010 at 8:21 pm

it looks more like a comercial van rather than a sleek family mpv….1.5cc for a bulk such as this is no good at all…..i bet my house its gonna be crazy overpriced here…

• The Who.. on Apr 04, 2010 at 8:29 pm

Proton R&D Centre is much better and advanced..

• Automotive_Critics on Apr 05, 2010 at 7:31 am

I think no. Because, Proton parts always prematurely fail like no others.

• paultan fan on Apr 05, 2010 at 3:13 pm

janganlah banding Freed dengan Exora. bukan satu kels yang sama. banding lah Honda Odyssey atau Honda Elysion dengan Exora. Sama saiz tapi lain saiz enjin. Tapi harga di negara masing2 lebih kurang sama. Di bolehland konpem la harga mahal sebab cukai.

• I have no doubt about that. The govt spent RM200mil last year (or was it 2008) in grants for Proton R&D. Local mentality would be to stack the house with the latest and greatest tools/toys. What you do with what you have is more important. If you got the best toys has precious little to show out of it, then what is the point?

• think on Apr 04, 2010 at 8:31 pm

i think that it makes better sense to assemble it in malacca plant,so that it can be priced at a right price..surely,this mpv going to be a big hit ….

• paultan fan on Apr 05, 2010 at 3:17 pm

tapi gov tak akan luluskan. sebab MPV ni enjin 1.5 so akan bersaing dengan produk nasional car. except dpt keistimewaan mcm Naza dpt.

• Assemble at the underutilised Tanjung Malim plant.

• ambo70 on Apr 04, 2010 at 8:46 pm

ada bumper belakang tp nipis je mcm alza

• peYno on Apr 04, 2010 at 8:47 pm

japanese URAN taste said : Thi scar design is superb

Bolehland kampung taste said : Weird, not nice

• nice block and the new look are awesome!
    anyways test drive the HONDA 1st then comment..u will feel the different..
    currently i drive honda and i was using proton before…and the outcome was..i prefer honda! we now why! face it proton need a real overhaul

• staff on Apr 05, 2010 at 6:12 pm

What proton model and what honda model? be specific la bro…

If u r saying proton saga 1990 with honda city 2009, sure la different…

• Maserati on Apr 04, 2010 at 9:50 pm

omg,looks damn ugly! car looks like some alien van transporting aliens!

• Neutral on Apr 04, 2010 at 9:53 pm

Alamak hudohla belakang…huhuu…depan n interior nampak ok dah

• since its class in on par with alza, which one is better?

• tok dalang on Apr 04, 2010 at 10:05 pm

FREED – Honda technology + Indonesian assemble.
    EXORA – Lotus technology + Malaysian assemble.

do you all still remember “ganyang malaysia” slogan from indonesia..

so fikir-fikirkan lah

• malaysia memang boleh on Apr 05, 2010 at 12:38 am

apa kau merepek,tok ladang,oops tok dalang
      they only assemble it,all those design and engine were done by the japanese,the only reason why they choose indonesia because it’s cheaper,imagine they choose singapore,you know yourself,i’m not insulting indonesia,but proton had done their best to produce their own car,wait for the new campro turbo,maybe this will shut those stupid bashers mouth

• Don’t worry about that. Those people is few and far in between. And they are provoked by a certain people from a certain country who feels encircled right now.

• asrimja on Apr 04, 2010 at 10:29 pm

even fiat mutipla look more weird also people buy maa…
    even jazz 100k plus also people buy
    they buy coz its honda
    n honda is building quality car
    if proton so good, then build 1 lor for malaysian lol
    want to replace 1 model also take long time
    want to develop new model?
    waja replacement model is like a dream la
    after all malaysian buy forte then proton will launch his new waja
    whoose gonna buy?

• You sure Honda car are good quality?…how come mine got soo many prob…my friends Jazz too?

• AlphaBravia on Apr 05, 2010 at 10:40 am

Hello… can u tell me .. which automotive company have a very good quality?? tell me? just name one! which car perfect without any defect or quality issue.. name me 5 heh!. what problem do u face? do complain to SC or else. TQ

• BraviaAlpha on Apr 07, 2010 at 9:01 pm

Please behave yourself, AlphaBravia. Be polite when giving feedback. I see you like to attack people. If you are so educated, open your own car website rather than doing non-sense here.

Please give constructive comment……or to me you are just an idiot talking non-sense

• badai on Apr 05, 2010 at 10:41 am

honda pun ada problem la..

• ambo70 on Apr 05, 2010 at 1:10 pm

lg sakit kepala kalau ada problem, pernah pakai dulu n now say taknak to honda….

• Nice car!

• Lookman on Apr 04, 2010 at 10:49 pm

With sliding door to enter the second row seats and no bumper, voila, you have a prestigious looking van on your hand. Don’t mind buying it as a van to show off. Perceive it as an MPV, then it may look ugly.

• 4G63tDSM on Apr 05, 2010 at 9:16 am

I don’t have a problem with sliding doors.

In fact, on a people carrier, Van or not, they are practical. Even the rather un-van like Mazda 5 went to sliding doors from conventional doors on its predecessor the Mazda MPV.

To aid access to the rear, you need a long door, which would be problematic in tight parking spots. Perhaps people in malaysia doesn’t mind (or feel guilty about) smashing their doors on other people’s cars.

• paultan fan on Apr 05, 2010 at 3:35 pm

saya lebih suka sliding door macam mazda mpv. ia satu kelebihan bukan kekurangan. lebih senang keluar masuk. tambahan ini automatik punyer sliding door

• kanno on Apr 04, 2010 at 10:53 pm

a friend of mine bought a japanese car made in indonesia,
    unfortunately one of the piston was missing(should have 4 pistons);
    all the time the car was underpowered ..

• unsafe japanese car on Apr 04, 2010 at 11:49 pm

LOL!! what a ridiculous and yet funny rumour! Usually the phrase will start with – a ffriend of mine..blabla…no HARD EVIDENCE!

Peoples like U are the scum of society!

disclaimer -im not defending honda, but im against asshole like kanno.

• Paul Tan on Apr 04, 2010 at 11:52 pm

Indeed, this sounds quite silly.

• ur so call “fren” so stupid donno missing piston?…sound something like subaru, vibrate gila, smoke kaw kaw, meter panel full of sensor light………this can pass QC inspection?

• simple_mind on Apr 05, 2010 at 10:01 am

1 of the piston missing??! together with the con-rod? ……..But how can that engine works? Kanno, please explain more.I’m majoring in Automotive Engineering.Never heard this underpower symptom.Please share with us “your friend” story…please….

• AlphaBravia on Apr 05, 2010 at 10:45 am

So full of crap and lame… someone please show this kanno the exit door! Im sure .. this kanno create the story! heh.. what a shame!

• I’ll not outrage myself but just laugh at u la…lol

• ambo70 on Apr 05, 2010 at 1:12 pm

missing piston?? maybe the spare one,kahkahkah……silly….

• Kah, kah, Honda VCM kot. 1 piston not powered.

• hang solo on Apr 04, 2010 at 10:58 pm

well, to be frank…i m attached to honda, the price quoted RM119980….
    take it or leave it…cost “malaysia TAX boleh”!!!!!!

• hahahaha…at that price + made in indon…good luck, onli honda fan boy will buy this box

• Automotive_Critics on Apr 05, 2010 at 1:53 pm

The base line model priced at RM56k in Japan which off course comes with mandatory safety requirement. The tranmission is CVT with many option e.g electric retractable mirror, heater glass etc (can’t believe that with those equipment still call base line model!). When comes to malaysia, the price is more than double due to moron tax regime. Its really a drawback to customer who want to get rid of problem laden unit from local manufacturer. Still it is a relief for being made by Indon as the price will be more than triple if its made in Japan.

• ezami on Apr 04, 2010 at 11:30 pm

If Exora is so good why in Indonesia + Thailand Exora sales is so poor ??
    Don’t support P1 blindly. The lone CPS engine sucks!
    This shows the level of confidence they have in P1.! :)

• Automotive_Critics on Apr 05, 2010 at 1:56 pm

The sales of Exora in those country isn’t that bad because they offer zero interest for 5 years.

• paultan fan on Apr 05, 2010 at 3:42 pm

kalau macam tu. proton pun patut buat macam tu. tapi saya yakin bukan atas faktor tu sahaja. apasekalipun saya harap proton akan jd jenama trbaik

• staff on Apr 05, 2010 at 6:17 pm

Where the statistics bro?

• progtfa on Apr 04, 2010 at 11:54 pm

I saw this car in bali and saw one in bangsar today. the actual car is looks much nicer than the pictures. It’s toally outclass Alza! I’m driving a honda car now, in terms of technology, Honda’s car are at least 5 years ahead of national car. , and like most of u , I think the japanese car are overpriced, but only if u compare with the korean car !
    Personally I think our national car is overprice too, if u look at the price of pronton car sell in middle east countries, it’s only few thousands extra from Malaysia and the builded quality is better than our local market !!

• paultan fan on Apr 05, 2010 at 3:44 pm

yup our car over overpriced. rm 65 k for exora m line. u can get better car spec in Japan include T.Estima. believe me

• MoFaz on Apr 05, 2010 at 11:53 pm

ok, you can go to japan and try to live there…
        try watch Shin Chan every saturday 7pm NTV7, see how the family struggle and live on a shoestring budget.

• acerman on Apr 05, 2010 at 12:05 am

Alza competitor?

• FHonda on Apr 05, 2010 at 12:11 am

Thailand and Indonesia have attracted a lot of automobile FDI from around the world.
    And at the same time, in malaysia we are buying expensive foreign basic cars such as Vios, avanza, city etc.
    Thankyou, founder of P1.
    He has made Thailand and Indonesia the Detroit of Asean
    hahahhah……

• paultan fan on Apr 05, 2010 at 3:46 pm

tapi malang ramai lagi yang kena tipu bulat boleh cakap our car murah banding kereta korea, jepun. the fact kereta kita sama mahal dengan bmw. rm 60 k for persona h line. in german, plus rm 20 k more you can get a bmw 5v series

• staff on Apr 05, 2010 at 6:40 pm

then, beli la kt Germany… what the fuss?

• zulib78 on Apr 06, 2010 at 1:23 am

bro mana buleh dapat rm60k…. 2nd hand buleh la… dalam euro 10-12k… 3series umru 3tahun…..

Brand new 3series kat sini(germany) around euro 28-45k……. kat sini mahal sebab ada VAT 19% ( tax )…..

tapi kalu sewa murah la…. utk weekend 3 hari dlm… euro 125.00 .
        : )

rgds..
        Raunheim,Germany

• Prefer good lookin proton exora rather than ugly honda freak

• WuTeva on Apr 05, 2010 at 12:15 am

ah macm macam la.xda duit x pyh la bising x boleh beli.aku relax ja.naik proton.dah la.siao

• kopi-man on Apr 05, 2010 at 12:22 am

1) How many staff hired for the Honda factory in Indonesia?

2) How many staff hired for the Proton factory in Malaysia?

Still have not figure out what is the G motivation?

Under the name of Nation, so many people is blindly believe the motive.

The answer? Check out who are the part suppliers. Also, who got the most APs.

You think they care how many Proton sales? and whether giving the rakyat a cheaper quality car? Keep dreaming.

Why the cronies want to bring $$ out from their pocket to all this idiots who blindly believe in everything under-the-name-of-nation? ya rite.

• paultan fan on Apr 05, 2010 at 3:52 pm

agree. AP untuk kroni dan salah 1 kroni pemilik taraf kereta nasional tapi bawak masuk kereta bukan nasional guna nama nasional. vendor pun untuk kroni. selagi org2 ni wujud selama itulah industri kita tidak ke mana2

• keluangman on Apr 05, 2010 at 12:34 am

saw this Freed at genting(SG reg car)…. knn damn ugly ler…. I think this is the bigger brother of perodua kenari, ahahaha….

• mr_aisehman on Apr 05, 2010 at 2:01 am

Agreeeeeeed!
      Come on perodua, come out with Expanded Kenari to fight Freed! Same2 ugly but can sell with lower price.

• peYno on Apr 05, 2010 at 6:01 am

unfortunately, they can’t make it..
        1st: there is no daihatsuMove extended model for them to rebadge in Japan.. so cant laa
        2nd: big Bos jas dont allow to do so..

prrrrtfhhh

• eposuer on Apr 05, 2010 at 10:58 am

the freed exterior not pretty (as always, we malaysian adore good looking car)..but the interior quite comfortable for small family n town driving..

• satrian on Apr 05, 2010 at 12:47 am

Hmmm…im in mid getting a mpv for my wife….even thought of Freed but not anymore ler……after saw this pic…..kinda small and sure more then Rm.130k….better get a Toyoda wish…..2006 model….after all im a fan of toyoda……..never bought other brand ever………………..

• likehondanotsomuch on Apr 05, 2010 at 1:10 am

my opinion,above 100k is overprice,,,go for jazz instead,functional ,economy.dont know if freed come with vtec or idsl engine?

• same engine wt city/jazz = 1.5 ivtec wt 5 speed auto box …sure have to scream at top rev if carrying 7 ppls, if cvt will be much better

• rayan on Apr 05, 2010 at 1:36 am

I like the name alot, as long as it moves, im getting it haha

• CarMusuem on Apr 05, 2010 at 1:46 am

if sell at 120k – 130k, i better get a Toyota Wish or Honda Stream

• tikus on Apr 05, 2010 at 9:41 am

No worry people still buying it.. HONDA WOR!!

• kinkin on Apr 05, 2010 at 11:28 am

120k – 130k, you got a re-cond wish or stream…..why want to drive a car which already driven by japs for some years?..

just my 2 cents..:)

• peYno on Apr 05, 2010 at 5:57 am

see.. Indonesian oso can product such car… so why we need perodua..
    both of them just assemble the japanese car..
    just because perodua just design the BUMPER , they got national car title compared to Honda Indonesia?????

prrrrfthhhh

• umno juara tipu rakyat on Apr 05, 2010 at 3:41 pm

coz we’ll get cheaper daihatsu/toyota cars??..u want to buy alza for 100k arrr??..prffffffthh

• paultan fan on Apr 05, 2010 at 3:56 pm

cheaper apenyer. kalau tak da tax, daihatsu boon luminas, toyota passo sette aka produa alza lebih murah dari skrg. yang jadi mahal sbb produa kena bayar harga barang yang mahal kepada vendor2 kroni sangkut paut umno bn

• aero solitude on Apr 26, 2010 at 6:49 pm

guys,i think it’s time we leave out politics from this discussion once n for all. i’ve been following quite a few of paul tan n i have to say that i’m sick of people lamenting on politics issues with due regards to automobile prices.

like,come on…every country has it’s own political agenda & interest; korea protects hyundai n kia n impose certain taxes as well, USA now feeling the heat as toyota soars while gmc crumbles – almost every other countries do the same if their national car’s survival is at stake.

think about how the whole industry is connected – vendor, engineering, administration, technology transfer, logistics – n u’ll soon come to see that it’s not that cheap to produce n sell a car.

• theguy on Apr 27, 2010 at 5:38 pm

From all comments I read… I am very agree with is Aero Solitude guy…

See things from outside the box and reasonable judging.

I don’t see there is any need to quarrel for National Car or CBU car, you buy those car if you feel the car can give you comfort, need and desire and ofcuz all that comes with your wallet comfort as well.

There is indeed no need to crush one brands over other brands as well, both brands ofcuz have the plus and minus… ie; national brands comfort your wallet while cbu car give you the desire.

Give it a fair judge from different angle too

ok now back to my personal comment;

CBU car such as Toyota and Honda here, give me the desire. I my self been driving CBU cars and National cars too such as Proton and Perodua. last car I drive is Honda City 2008 (the previous version) VTEC, well this car really give me the desire I need, Power and Fuel Consumption well compare to Waja also have the same Power and Fuel Consumption, but City give me the prestigious and safety I can’t get from Waja.
            To be honest, so far National Car is doing great but need some improvement for their model and safety. Because other country is really active making their new model as you can see BMW, Toyota, Honda and etc they will make a facelift every 3 years for the same model and change into completely new model every 5 years. This is what make them always fresh in automotive industry, though their price is twice but people nowadays need to satisfy with their prestigious desire too.
            I hope, I can see better improvement model on local cars. So far National Car which I like most is Perdana V6

• at rm119K, wow, i think it will outsell Nautica
    ahhahahaha

• goguncas71 on Apr 05, 2010 at 7:35 am

People don’t realise that Perodua is JAPANESE (toyota/daihatsu) owned and get all the benefits that PROTON gets. So what protection are you talking about?

Do you see Perodua making a serious effort to export?

Do you see Perodua being used as a production hub by Toyota?

Why wasn’t the Alza’s production centered in Malaysia?

What do we ACTUALLY get by giving Toyota/Daihatsu via Perodua all these tax breaks?

• Neutral on Apr 05, 2010 at 8:31 am

nice car overall !!!! Hopefully the quality is on par with the jap CBU !!!!!!!.

• No Fog lamp?
    If more thn 100k consider overpriced!
    Better go for Exora.

No bumper, once hit, means entire rear need to change?

• ckcspice on Apr 05, 2010 at 9:03 am

1.5 will b so underpowered…RM100k n below still can consider…nothing more…

• Rassan on Apr 05, 2010 at 9:08 am

For the price range RM115k-RM120k+, better buy Honda Civic/ Peugeot 308/ Kia Forte. Maybe can purchase 2 Perodua Alza!

• chrysler on Apr 05, 2010 at 9:13 am

dun mention about pricela.. as we all know la b4 malaysia is da country yg kenakan cukai paling tinggi utk automobil dlm dunia ni..slagi ada proton dun mimpi di siang arila rkyat bpndapatan sdrhana yg punya ahli kuarga. yg ramai utk miliki foreigner car.paling tidak pun our government akan ckp belilah barangan buatan tempatan & our minister2 n org2 atasan proton n perodua plk guna keta2 mewah yg tentunya bukan buatan tempatan.betulla kata donald trump, dunia ni mmg x adil hahahahah

• MoFaz on Apr 05, 2010 at 2:14 pm

takyah gi jauh la, sebelah negara kita je, singapore tu tax lagi jauh lagi tinggi dari Malaysia.
      even kat indonesia pun freed ni RM90k, Exora High-line pun baru RM76k…

• Boss, look at their pay. I think you are comparing in ringgit term. They earned much more. They can well afford to pay more. You will earn roughly the same number as what you are being paid now in Malaysia, but in Sing Dollar.

• singapore memang la tinggi, kalau tidak, pulau tu akan tenggelam sebab dipenuhi kereta….

• paultan fan on Apr 05, 2010 at 4:02 pm

ayoo mofaz. memanglah singapore tax lagi tinggi. Tapi try usha tax di negara macam US, UK jauh lebih rendah banding kita. Thailand dan Indon pulak dpt kereta H&T jauh lebih murah sbb byk yg dibina, dipasang di sana Tak tahu kenapa diaorang tak nak CKD atau bina di Malaysia. kalau pernah buat haji, mesti terkejut tengok harga kereta di itu negara alab

• MoFaz on Apr 05, 2010 at 10:53 pm

ayoooo.. the argument is about the statement of “malaysia is da country yg kenakan cukai paling tinggi utk automobil dlm dunia ni”. for whatever reason, Malaysian tax is not the HIGHEST in the world.
      do you think dealer in singapore pay S$70k or RM70k when they import our Exora? it’s RM70k, or about S$28k. then it’s being sold at S$70k or RM175k.

based on Vios in thai RM50k, here RM70k, tax+profit in Malaysia is about 50%
      but from exora example above, tax+profit in singapore is about 150%

I’ve explained the “Arab Car Price” in various post, so I’ll just copy & paste here:

Saudi exports 10million barrels per day, compared to 300,000 barrels from Malaysia. That’s 3.5 billion barrels in a year! Saudi Arabia is not bothered about import tax because they earn RM700 BILLION from oil exports. Malaysia only get RM20 billion yearly and our oil is depleting fast. If Petronas didn’t find any new oil field, we will not have oil to export after 2017. Be prepared to pay world price at pumps if that happen.
      Camry 2.4 costs RM140K in Thai but after exported to Saudi, it’s only RM80K there. Proton cars were sold similarly ‘at cost’. Malaysia and Thai import oil from Saudi. I believe Saudi is just being ‘nice’ to their trade partners.

• chrysler on Apr 05, 2010 at 9:21 am

if da price above rm100k better buy toyota wish, larger n more space n yg plg pentinggggggg more more more economic fuel consumption.

• chrysler on Apr 05, 2010 at 9:23 am

agaknya sampai bila la proton n perodua nk bergantung pd government???????sungguh x adil krn hak rkyt utk memiliki kereta yg lebih baik dinafikan huhuhuhuhu

• MoFaz on Apr 05, 2010 at 2:18 pm

siapa kata dinafikan, beli je la kereta apa pun yg ko nak. takde sapa yg larang.
      kalau nak kata dinafikan, mcm yg thailand buat zaman 1970s… thai tak benarkan import semua kereta dan van CBU.

• paultan fan on Apr 05, 2010 at 4:04 pm

maksud dia mungkin bila gov nak kurangkan cukai yg over sgt tu. kalau kita dah yakin dengan kereta negara kita, so kita bukak ja pasaran secara adil macam US, China, Eropah buat

• MoFaz on Apr 05, 2010 at 11:24 pm

the tax could be lowered by stages. maybe we’ll be like Thailand, car import tax at minimum but petrol and some other subsidies abolished.

almost 500,000 cars being sold and registered in Malaysia in 2009. If no Proton, and if the cheapest import car is RM50k, that’s about RM 25,000,000,000 (RM25bil) flowing out of our country. What do we have to export to keep that import in balance trade? Our oil export is around RM20bil, but it is depleting fast, and if Petronas didn’t find any new oil field, we have no oil to export after 2017. Let me remind you, if we keep having trade deficit, we might end up bankrupt like Greece!
      that’s why we have to give chance for Proton to develop further and produce cars for international market. Emas is the first attempt and if it’s successful, we could be the next Hyundai in a decade. Korean is world’s 4th largest now after more than 50 years, Proton is only 25 years old. Mitsubishi has interest on some of Proton models to be re-badged as theirs, so Proton is not so bad after all.
      if we do re-badging like P2, we still need to pay lots of money for license/copyright, and for engine and parts imported to assemble cars here. still, lots of money flowing out of our country.

• Sure honda sell at price below RM100K.
    the most RM110K.

• hang solo on Apr 05, 2010 at 10:17 pm

SOOOOO SORRY… FYI THIS CAR IS SELLING AT rm119,980…
      AGAIN…”MALAYSIA ….BO…….L….E….H!!!!!

• sam sam on Apr 05, 2010 at 11:05 pm

sure? if below 100k, it will sell like hot cake. in your dream la brother, no way honda wil sell it below 100K, i already asked the Honda sales persons, they said around 115-120k

• keluangman on Apr 05, 2010 at 9:54 am

if Honda was planning to bring a “VAN JUGA MPV”, shoulda have brought in the Stepwagon, which imo looks miles and tons better(for a van that is).

This Freed, the height and its narrow width is just too ridiculous to justify its RM120k pricing!

• hanssen on Apr 05, 2010 at 10:14 am

If they put stop/start button, i will buy!!!

• brake system made in china….

• Better respected T and H brands are always well respected by population in this World. I think the Freed will add spice to our already much-talk MPV segment. It will definately NOT able to beat sales of Exora and Alza, but it will obviously make malaysian roads much more livelier, and perhaps consumers will have more options when think about purchasing a car.

Down in Kiasu-Land (KL), there are always more Jazzes than Freeds. FYI, Jazzes’ price here is at a premium, but two models are available: 1.3 and 1.5. The price is even higher than some of the Korean made, yet, price-sensitive and quality-sensitive SGreans are still buying it and push the model as one of the top 10 models in SG. Sadly to say, Jazz can’t even squeeze herself in top 50 models in MY in a recently announced Feb sales chart.

As for the basic Freed, it is priced $10k higher than the full spec Jazz. Expected the same scenario over in MY, where the price is somewhere around RM120k for a lower spec Freed, and this is RM10k more than the current Jazz V spec. But, buying and selling is always the choice of individual in their own preference and likeness.

• What justify ur statement is true without having Freed on KL street- -?If, i mean if u really stay in KL, I bet you wouldn’t see much Jazz on the road, thou how do u compare the number of Jazz against Freed if it is not even in KL ‘yet’? And I wonder where you get ur info from- -?or simply because u’re Sg-rean and would love to protect ur dignity by saying things that not even yet to exist?

• Rambo Ramsey on Apr 05, 2010 at 3:48 pm

I think when he(or she) mention KL-means Kiasu Land or Singapore. My will be Malaysia. I suggest you TEC to stop using KL for Singapore – people get pissed off (besides confused) especially when the exchange rates is 2.5 to 1 and you have MRT-SBC when we only have PUTRA-STAR-RAPIDKL.

• Guys, ask ur heart, what or how people will bash this car if it’s branded in Proton’s name…for me, the rear part was so ugly, like some ppl bashed Proton -fugly..I always had some comment on how proton’s part worn out easily, how many times I had changed my gearbox, radiator, aircond bearing, alternator, throttle body twice, expensive light bulbs n light bulbs, and on and on..
    BUT this Freed, I just can’t take it..I would rather take Alza, Exora, or G-Livina. My gf is an Indonesian, so I know they have had an piece of T&H branding mindset. Bared in mind dude, T&H doesn’t really focus on R&D but marketing & branding & hardcore way to commercialized it. It was very simple, name me a sports car from T&H and see what do u get? S2000?Celica??come on..

• paultan fan on Apr 05, 2010 at 4:12 pm

doest focus in R&D. lawak2. abis tu yang banyak model dipamer di Geneva di Detroi tu. Tak kan lah tak buat R&D. Dalam segemen MPV saja Toyota ada sekecil2 Avanza, Sette ( Alza ), Wish, Caldina, Innova, Estima, Aplhard, Velfire. Premium brand Toyota Lexus. Baca berita global. Lexus dah atasi premium brand Merc Benz di USA. Catat jualan tertinggi bg segmen premium. Honda pulak ada Free, Stream, odysseys, Elysion dan byk lg. Nak puji P1 pun jgn lah sorok2 fakta di depan mata

• jong84 (Member) on Apr 05, 2010 at 12:26 pm

Stupid fucking Malaysia’s AP policy, the origin Passo/ Sirion in Malaysia cannot sell under toyota / daihatsu name but using the fucking PERODUA emblem. See, last time toyota kijang were made in Indonesia, now Honda enter the factory plant in Indonesia. When we will had toyota/ Honda which ‘Made in Malaysia’?

• MoFaz on Apr 05, 2010 at 2:25 pm

Honda City is made in Malaysia.
      but technically, it’s “assembled” in Malaysia

• freed us of the misery & let us buy it at the actual market price :-)

• Yeah, but the govt will tax you 18% VAT/GST to recover the billions they used to earn by bleeding you dry on your car.

• Better get a Hiace or a C22 Vanette than getting this ugly creature.

• used non national car owner on Apr 05, 2010 at 1:05 pm

RM 120,000 for a minivan/MPV installed in Indon….

I am concerned….

Look at our car prices and compare with our GDP.

Loan of 7 to 9 years with installments of more than RM 1k/month.

Most Malaysians will end up busy paying debts and could not achieve financial freedom in future….

:-(

• To answer jong84, when Proton close shop, when our gov change the car policy. Then, only your dreams will come true.

• There will be never have a balance in Malaysia. With our salary compare with car price and house price. Our gov will never balance it.

Naza Rondo (Kia Caren2) will be better choice with better spec.

• Lim,

We are all slaves to the bank. Our pay is so low that we need to take out humongous long term loan just to own a house and a car.

Unless you are AP king. 40k a pop for piece of paper.

• paultan fan on Apr 05, 2010 at 4:16 pm

Naza Rondo memang pilihan yg baik. compare to Mazda5 dan Honda Stream dari segi spesifikasi. Keluasan lebih kurang sama. Enjin menang kat rondo. Cuma design jer kalah sikit

• Mike Owen on Apr 05, 2010 at 6:50 pm

Naza are worst in 2nd hand value……………………..

• sr20ve on Apr 05, 2010 at 2:13 pm

fugly looking car.

• See, we are equal opportunity basher. Proton or Honda, still bash. It’s not like we exclusively bash Proton. We like to bash toyota and korean makes too.

• Jedimaster on Apr 05, 2010 at 4:27 pm

yesterday saw this car in ipoh, is sg plate no.

• paultan fan on Apr 05, 2010 at 5:23 pm

td tengok gambar nampak kilang ni juga produce Honda CRV. Honda CRV yang di Malaysia made in Indon gak ke

• Mike Owen on Apr 05, 2010 at 6:49 pm

Honda kat Malaysia; locally made: City, Civic, Accord & CRV.

• Awek indon tu macam best jek… hehe..

• bohtakchek on Apr 05, 2010 at 6:22 pm

Indonesia really a car heaven la… because it has no national car project!! my colleague who is based here (malaysian), bought a Jazz for only RM60k and pay in cash because the bank “bunga” here is like crazy 8%-10%!! (save 2 years of allowance here)… and that fella mod the jazz kao kao … yellow car, 17in” alloy mug and 90% TSER tint … can’t even see “bayang bayang” inside the car!! the car is damn cun with full sport body kit (non-standard) …

really enjoy habis … cewek sini pun cun cun belaka !!

• MoFaz on Apr 05, 2010 at 11:32 pm

wow.. if you take a loan and interest is really that high, in the end… the total amount paid could be higher there than what Malaysian pay here.
      wake up bashers, no such thing as perfect country!

• asal ada xxx made in indon pun ok meh.bila da masuk ttu sedap!!!

• Mike Owen on Apr 05, 2010 at 6:48 pm

Perodua just a copy & paste technology from Daihatsu & Toyota. Their R&D is specialist designing car sticker & pamphlets. However, their prices are 100% protected via National Automotive Policy until The end of the Day. Don’t be surprised that Perodua staffs are well paid in bonus, since 2001 (Kelisa) & 2005 (Myvi)…….. = 6 moths!

• rulered on Apr 05, 2010 at 7:01 pm

I’ve said this in other thread, and I’ll repeat it again here. Apa yang orang Jepun tau pasal MPV ke atau SUV ke? Kat negeri diorang nak cari keluarga dengan 3 anak pun susah. Hutan tebal memang takde, jalan diorang semuanya cantik-cantik. Patutnya negara-negara Asia Tenggara macam Malaysia la lebih bekemampuan untuk design MPV dan SUV. Sekurang-kurangnya setahun sekali kita balik guna jalan kampung bawak seisi sekeluarga…..yahoo….!!

• sam sam on Apr 05, 2010 at 11:02 pm

If priced at 115k and above, then Honda please balik tanam jagung la..only those stupid honda hardcore fans will buy. People, let’s wait for Toyota Verso, coming soon to Malaysia, below RM90k! Freed? sigh…………..

• jamal on Apr 06, 2010 at 1:34 am

nice car..

• hi every1.. sadly is will be over 100k. 5-10k more than jazz. anyway, for those who want 2 wait, there will be the new hybrid car, insight which will be priced around civic will be launch in the 4 quarter of this year. 60k cheaper than prius.

in the next 3 month, Suzuki will bring the compact car, name alto to compete with myvi and i10…and TCM also will comeout with the new face lit nissan x-trail..

proton waja lancer will come out in the 3rd quarter in this year alongside myvi (new face lit).. for toyota..no new model for this year.

• hang solo on Apr 07, 2010 at 10:32 am

sorry bro, again i m attacted to HONDA MALAYSIA…
      FUNNY THING IS I NEVER HEAR that HONDA INSIGHT to be brought in Malaysia this year..
      wondering where you got the source from???HAHAHA!!

• i got the source from honda..they will launch 3 new car model this year, cr-v face lit, freed, and insight. insight should be launch in 1st quarter of this year but due to our government policy with the hybrid car will expired in the end of this year, they postpone it until our government review the policy again, to continue the policy or not ( hybrid car get 50% off tax). i heard that insight will be launch in the 4th quarter of this year or in the 1st quarter next year.

• 1utama on Apr 07, 2010 at 12:32 pm

bros n sis,

no disrespect to our local P1 or P2 but time given to u guys for almost 25 years is more than enuff said to proof your worth every penny we all so call 1 malaysia been spendin on supportin u guys all this years.
    P1, my bro drove a taxi for life,and u guys cant even give a good quality car for what his payin for the car.so called ‘QC PASSED’ sticker all over the place.what have the QC dept been doin?double standard treatment izzit?is this how u want 2 show our tourist how malaysian quality of cars made of.its such a shame than whenever i travel to indonesia,thailand or even vietnam,mostly used a much comfort toyota vios.not to support toyota but just to prove the quality they make for both consumer.even in thai,toyota came out with so called ngv toyota vios where the filling the gas port is at the fuelling compartment.not like our stupid design,every time nak fill up,kena open up the bonnet.u pay that much for all in 1 rather given some sub company to make easy money to install ngv system outside.
    and till today P1,u can only proud for only havin your campro engine.1 bloody engine to help drive up ur persona,neo,exora,gen2.the rest is a renault or mitsubishi engine imported.how pathetic is that?same goes with those pathetic steering wheel n same old design dashboard for every car.

• AIA Insurance on Apr 08, 2010 at 12:43 am

1) Judging by all the comments above, Malaysians have very bad English language skills. It’s appalling.

2) Say what you like, but Perodua is better than Proton simply because of the Japanese attention to detal. Same goes for the Freed.

Indeed, it looks horrible, the whole thing. But it’s practical, is it not? It’s a bit like the Fiat Multipla/Hyundai MPV (the Pininfarina-designed MPV. The name escapes me) complex: Ego or practicality?

The Exora is ugly, and that’s that. The Alza, however, looks much better, with more design detail & attention. If we were to see the original Toyota Passo Sette model here for comparison, you’ll see what I mean by Japanese perfection.

Perodua is getting better, Proton is just to satisfied with its standings. You can see that Perodua is looking to improve the brand, whereas Proton is just happy with the status quo.

P/S: PaulTan.org, I do suggest you filter the comments, as to prevent personal attacks as well as horribly composed and executed comments. It brings a tear to my eye to think that most Malaysians do not know how to speak proper English.

• RAKYAT SENGSARA on Apr 11, 2010 at 2:03 am

RAKYAT DIDAHULUKAN!!!
    Is this really being fullfil? Stop torturing the citizens, if government really concern about the citizens, open the market. If not when are we going to improve and become a developed country?

By the way, if below RM100k, it will be appropriate but I don’t think it will be sell at that price.

• No Comment on Apr 12, 2010 at 11:18 pm

I’m just coming back from Jakarta, i’ve saw a lot of this car on the road..Believe me, it was so small..almost ‘jazz-like’ size…i think that alza is a bit longer than this…

• still prefer exora….

• RAKYAT SENGSARA on Apr 15, 2010 at 1:02 am

Frankly speaking, actually Exora’s design (Exterior) is quite ok. But I just don’t trust on Prtn anymore because it gives me nightmare before this. Bought a second hand Wira Aeroback 1.6A back in the year of 2003. The cost of maintaining the car was like paying another extra car installment. If Prtn Service Centre can solved the problem at that time, perhaps I will still have the faith on them.

If Exora is small like Alza, probably the engine will be great, I would suggest Exora able to give customer a bigger engine or maybe turbo.

If Freed is below RM100k, i would consider BUT if around 120k, better buy Wish, ISIS Platana, Serena 3rd gen or can even consider the monster Starex. Freed is very small.
      BTW, anyone knows when will M’sia launch Serena 4th Gen?

• Just check with Honda dealer yesterday, price will start from RM110k :(

• azure on Apr 15, 2010 at 12:00 pm

btw paul…how’s the interior will look like and what is the price range?any information about the comparison between other mpvs that we have here in malaysia?

• marzuki on Apr 16, 2010 at 7:28 am

harga honda Freed mungkin sekitar 89,000-120,000- lebih kurang jazz.. tengoklah nanti kalu mahal , lebih baik ambik honda stream. hehe hehe

• hang solo on Apr 18, 2010 at 7:03 pm

final price for honda freed ~ RM114,980.

Thanks god they have bring down the price from RM119,980…

hoppefully by tagging this price, the respond on the sales will “boom”!!!!

• Bryan on Apr 16, 2010 at 10:57 pm

Just arrive in Port Klang this evening. I saw transporter carry few Freed. Really can’t believe the size are small.

• sama harga mcm civic

• hang solo on Apr 19, 2010 at 12:30 am

yes, yes, yes…
    1 unit of FREED = 2 units of Alza….(same size)
    CBU from “Indon” vs CKD, Malaysia!!!
    Baloi tak???? Up to you!!!

• hi there sir paul tan, thanks for sharing the pictures of the honda plant. may i know if they are also capable of manufacturing Left Hand Drive units for the Philippines and Vietnam? im pretty sure this will sell. thanks.

• better go 4 grand livina impul… rm 10x,xxx

• mrspapa on Jul 13, 2010 at 2:08 pm

saya dah pernah pakai proton dan honda 2nd. Bila pakai proton dalam masa 1 bln ada problem ngan tingkap kiri kanan bahagian depan. Bila dibetulkan dalam masa tak berapa hari same problem timbul. Tukar kepada Honda 2nd, puashati walaupun bukan newcar. Kalau rosak pun biasalah kereta lama. Tapi prestasi lebih mantap walaupun keta Honda tu dah over than 5 years.

• Farhan on Oct 05, 2010 at 1:37 pm

Guy, do not talk about proton and Perodua, until you died, still you can’t do anything about it!!! Terima sajalah (Exora piece of plastic) (Viva Elite 46k????? actual cost berapa? 15k – 20k)