Chevrolet Cruze for North America gets specs boost

GM has revealed that the American market version of the Chevrolet Cruze will get refinement upgrades for it to be ‘good enough’ for the American consumer. “We have a different set of competitive vehicles here in North America than what exists in Europe. We needed to make a number of adjustments,” said Chuck Russell, GM’s vehicle line director for compact cars in North America.

Here are a list of the changes:

• The windshield has been replaced with an acoustic laminated version.
  • Doors get more insulation and sealters were added to some of the door headers.
  • Airbag count tops at 10 including knee airbags and rear seat side airbags.
  • The Cruze gets a different rear suspension design – an Opel Astra-like Watt’s Z-link as opposed to the regular torsion beam suspension on the world market Cruze.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=999]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• In Malaysia, u pay premium price , u get sh1tty quality car lah.
    Cannot compared to America :(

• Geforce on Apr 05, 2010 at 10:04 pm

Between this is their local made car although under the skin, it was used to be Korean made. How much I hope we can get 1.4 Turbo.

• Kambing Gurun on Apr 05, 2010 at 10:35 pm

What is “good enough” for Malaysian market? Probably as long as it has got 4 wheels, seats, steering, gear, and engine that would be good enough I think :-P Oh I forgot the roof…

• marcus on Apr 05, 2010 at 10:52 pm

when is our version to come? hope doesn’t get an “empty” car here…

• kanasai on Apr 05, 2010 at 11:10 pm

yeah… 400% tax. simply kanasai!!

• NAZA should price it well. Any news, anyone?

• DiscoStick on Apr 07, 2010 at 12:15 am

called the chevy showroom, was told by sales personnel that the Cruze will be launched in coming May and priced will be max rm105k.

• CocoBear on Apr 06, 2010 at 12:28 am

Trust me. Chev Cruze is not a car worth waiting for. The design of the door seal insulation looks really awkward, which i think will contribute to noise intrusion into cabin. The metal body also feels flimsy and thin. I have been utterly disappointed when I first saw the car in a car rental in Australia. Feels really cheap for a C segment cars.

• no jokes on Apr 06, 2010 at 9:48 am

haha, if cruze is filmsy and thin, then civic is milo tin… save your breath… SA.

• Cruze is designed in Germany with EuroNCAP 5 star.
        Check for japaneese and others.
        May not be even four. Check the car weight in specs.

• where is your speed? on Apr 06, 2010 at 3:15 am

styling wise ok la…engine dunno what will be offered here…1.4 Turbo will be gud enuff..dun dare to guess coz local gov sure wanna squeeze more $$ from us…maybe the same old 1.8L junk from Optra again?

• Mayor on Apr 06, 2010 at 3:08 pm

What’s wrong with the 1.8 engine on the Optra? Talk with knowledge la… What car do u drive?

• 1 Malaysia on Apr 06, 2010 at 9:42 am

it has been saying the Cruze coming to our land since last yr. still no news from Chev Mal? don wait till the model aging than only “clearence stock” here in Mal.

• DiscoStick on Apr 07, 2010 at 12:18 am

will the soon to launch Cruze affected by the recent Chevy-Recall sage? there iz a risk, as it was due to launch last August, we might get defect unit? or Naza will rectify before launching?

• Thats the whole point bout the car guys..it is meant to be a lower end C segment car..which means it shud have a low price tag..wouldn’t be worth it to buy this car in malaysia bcoz of the hefty tax..similar to the mazda 2 launched yesterday..a 85k car with interior panel comparable to 35k saga

• marcus on Apr 06, 2010 at 12:18 pm

Cruze with only 1.4cc? i’m skipping this if it’s price tag 70k and above. even hyundai accent would have 1.6 at only around 75k. if this to be Accent replacement, better to offer 1.6cc version here.

• Malaysian always kena conned by the auto industry.

Bayar lebih, barang takde quality.

poor poor and pityful Malaysian.

• Mayor on Apr 06, 2010 at 3:06 pm

It’s a 1.4 Turbocharged engine for the US market, 1.8 to be launched here… Duh…

• It is EURO NCAP 5 star and have features better than available Japaneese cars with latest powertrain to give best fuel efficiency in calss with 141 hP engine and 6 speet auto- first in this catgory- I was told.
    Go and check with Cergazam.
    It is coming now.
    spotted today.