Ferrari 599 GTO is Maranello’s fastest ever road car

This is the 599 GTO, Ferrari’s fastest ever road car. It is a limited edition special which Maranello describes as the road going version of the extreme 599XX track car. Reviving the Gran Turismo Omologata moniker that recalls the 1962 250 GTO and the iconic 1984 GTO, only 599 examples of the 599 GTO will be made. Ferrari will debut its latest at the Beijing Motor Show later this month.

The 599 GTO’s engine is lifted from the 599XX but with necessary modifications for road-going homologation. With that, the engine complies with Euro 5 and LEV 2 standards. The 6.0-litre V12 makes 661 bhp at 8,250 rpm with maximum torque of 620 Nm at 6,500 rpm. This is good for a 3.35 second run from 0-100 km/h and a top speed of “over 335 km/h”. It uses a 6–speed F1 gearbox with 60 ms shift times and the ability to make multiple downshifts. The 1,495 kg 599 GTO lapped Fiorano at 1’24”, faster than the Enzo.

Apart from new springs and a stiffer rear anti-roll bar, the 599 GTO also features a second generation magnetorheological suspension control system. It works in tandem with VDC (Vehicle Dynamic Control) and latest-generation F1-Trac traction control. These combine to make the car extremely responsive to driver inputs – thanks in part to the “very direct steering ratio” – highly stable under braking, sharper on turn-in, more precise in cornering and quicker out of corners, says Ferrari.

It also comes with second-generation carbon-ceramic brakes (100-0 km/h in just 32.5 metres), new aerodynamic innovations such as wheel doughnuts that improve aerodynamic efficiency and brake cooling, and Supersport tyres developed by Michelin. The driver-car interface is also new with the adoption of the Virtual Race Engineer (VRE) which provides the driver with instantaneous information on performance. We wonder if Mr. VRE will give the 599 GTO driver hurry ups like how Rob Smedley does with Felipe Massa.

Gallery after the jump!

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1040]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• WJJ1989 (Member) on Apr 09, 2010 at 2:39 pm

wah 599 gto

• Beautiful… but I prefer mid-engine car.

• Wan Mohd on Apr 09, 2010 at 6:04 pm

c’MON. Please bring on more fruitful comment instead of telling others of what do you prefer. I don’t think anybody here cares of what you prefer.

• theanswer on Apr 09, 2010 at 8:40 pm

thats his own opinion.. seems that u the only who cares abt what he prefer.

• S.Roma on Apr 10, 2010 at 10:22 am

Lolx…

Lets do it again, shall we?

Beautiful… but I prefer mid-engine car. Like Evo 10.

• pomen_gtr on Apr 12, 2010 at 9:41 am

sure fast…
          but my satria faster than this on gravel rally… :LOL:

• berotak-otak on Apr 10, 2010 at 5:49 pm

yeah, that is his own opinion.

• Beautiful… But I prefer mid-engine car.

• CANTIK

• --pininfarina-- on Apr 09, 2010 at 2:50 pm

Freakin’ cool!! Anybody wanna say, “Yay, I’m first to comment!!” here??
    Fucking retard.

Anyway, that’s a car I would like to have after Enzo. (if I’m a rich chapman).

• dukeKTM on Apr 09, 2010 at 2:51 pm

The best looking Ferrari in my opinion….and a monster…

No wonder why the GT5 PS3 games still pending its launch…there still a monster out there waiting to be release…who’s next….

• Arthur on Apr 09, 2010 at 2:56 pm

Just two words: Wicked sick

• WOW! Thats all i can say.

• Absolutely gorgeous…

• armandd on Apr 09, 2010 at 3:10 pm

faster than the Enzo.. WOW! I believe the 335km/h top speed is only limited by the downforce aerodynamics.

• this is a monster!!!

• MoFaz on Apr 09, 2010 at 3:13 pm

great looking car, impressive power, faster than F1 and surely very noisy :)
    and for sure somebody gonna mention about import tax, protection, bla bla bla… just wait n see :)

• keypad (Member) on Apr 09, 2010 at 5:58 pm

it’s government fault that i can’t have this beast

thehehehe :P

• sure, it’s easy to just blame the government for your own shortcomings huh?

• S.Roma on Apr 10, 2010 at 10:24 am

Dear TT,

I disagree with u.

Because of gov tax, the price will jump to 200% extra. Jus imagine eveo 10 that PDRM bought at only RM 125K, so cheap because no tax. When we user bought it at RM 320K. Nice eh?

• Cars4Life on Apr 11, 2010 at 1:25 am

Have u been living under a coconut shell?

• mr_3m on Apr 12, 2010 at 1:44 pm

yeah laa… if RM125k for an Evo X, then for sure no need to buy Lotus Racing Neo lah cam tu…

then like this, I also want to blame Govt for not letting me buy an Evo X at the ‘right’ price…..

so many coconut shells around here… when picked up… i see people living underneath them…. M’sia boleh!!!

• The Loner on Apr 10, 2010 at 10:30 am

Don’t worry. Those sons of Datuk or ministers will sure try to on hands for this vehicle.

• BRAZBUZ on Apr 09, 2010 at 3:17 pm

awesome…

• kopi-man on Apr 09, 2010 at 3:22 pm

wow

• AE86 (Member) on Apr 09, 2010 at 3:29 pm

OMG… ferrari i love u…

• Salamander on Apr 09, 2010 at 3:30 pm

Is this car Mid-Engine?

• XiaoXuet on Apr 09, 2010 at 3:32 pm

This will kick dirt to GTR face!

• ihatekiasu on Apr 09, 2010 at 4:39 pm

Superb!

• Aaron on Apr 09, 2010 at 4:41 pm

This is so cool.

• rodimus on Apr 09, 2010 at 4:46 pm

I like this car design!!!

• Cutester on Apr 09, 2010 at 4:48 pm

A very powerful red monster there. Looks awesome!

• endreyip on Apr 09, 2010 at 5:03 pm

a true beauty

• e46_UDM (Member) on Apr 09, 2010 at 5:10 pm

one word: droooollll……

• fendy on Apr 09, 2010 at 5:14 pm

this is one hell of badass car!

• David Lee on Apr 09, 2010 at 5:14 pm

This is one sick car

• fendy on Apr 09, 2010 at 5:14 pm

this is one hell badass car!

• kayel on Apr 09, 2010 at 5:16 pm

i much prefer F430 model particularly that kitted with Scuderia, that was true Ferrari…

• Salah tu bro……..Kalau diikutkan sejarah Ferrari,Ferrari yang paling pure(Selain dari kete f1 diorang) adalah Ferrari yang enjin dok kat depan dan ada12 silinder(V12).Ini fakta ya, bukan auta.

• …..and lambo is the first mid engine car, the miura, the blueprint of modern supercars layout

• Jaybond on Apr 09, 2010 at 5:23 pm

Hopefully any of the leading Car Mags to make a comparo test between the Ferrari 599 GTO and the Lambo Murcie LP670 SV. They should!!

• md salleh mj on Apr 09, 2010 at 6:19 pm

enough money sure buy one

• omahabojan on Apr 09, 2010 at 6:42 pm

Beautiful car!!!

• theanswer on Apr 09, 2010 at 8:41 pm

is it 2+2 coupe?

• raybrig on Apr 09, 2010 at 9:23 pm

where is mr bmw is a way better..i still didnt see his comment..hahahaha

all i can say is beautiful…

• loving every bit of it!

• Killer!!!! Will my 2 kidneys be sufficient to buy this?

• awg1031 on Apr 09, 2010 at 11:11 pm

nope, ur kidney is not enough..just sell all of them..hehe..btw u show a great effort to own the car :p..kudos

• gianfranco lanci on Apr 10, 2010 at 1:40 am

no joy driving on malaysia roads, too many potholes, speed bumps, idiotic road hogger, no RON99 gasoline!

• Haemmer on Apr 10, 2010 at 2:47 am

Awesome car! It is amazing how things have changed and now a 599 outruns an Enzo. Great stuff.

• Based on looks alone. i’ll still say the R8 trumps this by a mile.
    All i can say is ferrari has a lot of flair.

• _xXx_ on Apr 10, 2010 at 12:32 pm

wow this thread is totally free from the word “Proton” or “potong”. Good, keep it up…

• kremer on Apr 11, 2010 at 11:40 pm

damn its not free…u just mention it….arghhhhh the word u just type it hereee…aiyoooo spoill la..

• Nerddy on Apr 10, 2010 at 1:20 pm

nice colour…. some kind of red right…

• Head Hunter on Apr 10, 2010 at 2:29 pm

Mmm.. A truly sexy beast that demands respect on the road.. Ferrari is the best when it comes to making a functional road and track beauty..

• Cars4Life on Apr 11, 2010 at 1:26 am

My Neo can smoke this :D

• wochomi on Apr 11, 2010 at 3:11 pm

Finally… Felali has gone back to it’s Dino model for renaissance. Beautiful. Of coz some of cannot afford this, so why not just wait for the Shell promo to get your hands on the toys replica.

• kremer on Apr 11, 2010 at 11:39 pm

ugly….cannot bring to pasar…better use kancil,,,,fast fast eksiden mati…

• pdvilq on Apr 12, 2010 at 9:14 am

i prefer classic Ferrari…sound of the engine, Ferrari GTB, Daytona…wah..;)

• Halfclutch on Apr 12, 2010 at 12:36 pm

Everytime Ferrari comes out with a new car, I say ” SIOL Lah!

• Anti fer on Apr 13, 2010 at 9:57 am

Same old bored red things, its a crap

• used non national car owner on Apr 13, 2010 at 10:17 am

Nice….

Again, see but no touch.

• agmnhob gmbh on Apr 27, 2010 at 5:31 am

haha.. nice to read comments