Lexus IS 250C previewed up close and personal

The convertible version of the Lexus IS glided into our market quietly last month; only a press release alerted us of Lexus Malaysia’s latest addition. There won’t be test drive units available for the media (so we’re told), so Lexus Malaysia organised a media preview session where we got to feel and touch, but not drive the IS 250C.

Priced at RM432,000 OTR without insurance, the IS 250C is the brand’s second drop top model after the SC 430 (Toyota Soarer) and competes with the likes of BMW’s 3-Series Convertible and the Audi A5 Cabrio.

Continue reading the report after the jump.

Although it looks identical to the IS at a glance, this car shares only four exterior parts with the sedan – side mirrors, door handles, bonnet and headlamps. Compared to the four-door, the IS 250C is longer by 50 mm and lower by 25 mm, but width and the 2,730 mm wheelbase is unchanged. As expected, it’s much heavier though – 170 kg more to be exact, pushing kerb weight to a hefty 1,730 kg. Although the 325i Convertible weighs exactly the same, the Lexus looks the bulkier of the two, especially at the rear end. Personally, I expected a sexier looking car, especially when the saloon already looks so good.

Most of this added weight is down to the three piece folding hardtop and reinforcements to make the convertible body as rigid as the saloon’s, which was the engineers’ target (they added crossmembers and underfloor bracing, for instance). Two of the three roof pieces are in aluminium to cut down weight (the ones above the glasshouse) and the transformation from coupe to convertible (and vice versa) takes just 21 seconds, which is faster than the rival BMW by one second.

In practise, the IS 250C’s roof mechanism is the most complicated this writer has ever seen and the whole process feels like an Autobot in action; look at the pictures to see what I mean. There are 13 motors and 33 sensors taking part in this magic show, by the way. I sat in the rear seat when the roof closed and the speed of it “falling down” was quite unnerving if you look at it.

Lexus IS 250C previewed up close and personalMy 175 cm frame fit in the back snugly, and our 6ft tall model pictured here just managed to (front seat in my driving position), although I feel there should be more room under the front seats for feet to tuck into. You’ll also have to endure an upright seatback, but that’s not unusual for such a car. To get in and out from the rear seats, you just need to press a button; the motorised movement is more elegant than yanking a handle, but it’s rather slow – I prefer the manual method. Boot space is class leading with the roof up (553 litres) and can still swallow a small golf bag or three duffel bags with the roof down.

It’s a Lexus, so material quality and the way pieces are put together is top notch. As usual, the semi-aniline leather upholstery is supple and comforting, and the thick carpets make you want to kick of those shoes and bury your feet in them. The dashboard and features differ little from the Luxury spec IS 250, except for mildly revised instruments, metal pedals, five fewer speakers (there’s still eight of them) and two less airbags (six). The latter two is because there’s less room to locate them when compared to a four-door saloon.

The kit list is very long: 10-way powered memory front seats that are ventilated, the abovementioned semi-aniline leather, keyless entry/start, shift paddles and swivelling HID headlamps with washers are all standard, among others. The rear headrests can be flipped down remotely (by a lever located between the rear seats, easily reachable by the driver) which I found to be quite cool. This is needed to maximise the very limited rearward visibility with the roof up. The old Proton Saga style green quartz clock is still there though; it looks terribly out of place in such a car.

How does it drive? Our guess is as good as yours, but it won’t be great driver’s car that’s for sure. The saloon isn’t as good dynamically as its looks suggest, and a heavier roofless version should offer little to the enthusiast. Don’t expect much in acceleration and response either; I found the 325i Convertible to be rather sluggish, and the BMW has better figures than the IS 250C’s 9.0 sec 0-100 km/h time and 210 km/h top speed. Of course, convertibles are more for show than go, so this shouldn’t be a problem to the target market.

The drivetrain pairing of a direct injection 2.5-litre V6 with 205 bhp/252 Nm and a six-speed auto is unchanged from the sedan. What’s slightly altered is settings for the VDIM (Vehicle Dynamics Integrated Management) system to compensate for the added weight. This car also gets bigger, ventilated rear discs compared to the saloon. It is priced at RM432,000 OTR excluding insurance, which is a huge RM127,000 premium over the IS 250 Luxury. This alone will ensure the IS 250C’s exclusivity and cause heads to turn, factors that should figure high in buyers’ priorities.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1047]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• even the sedan/4-door version is already crampy at the back…now a cabby?

• niamafufu on Apr 14, 2010 at 6:34 pm

omg…what a ugly,i hate sedan cabriolet

• Alpha on Apr 14, 2010 at 6:41 pm

danny,is the IS250C in the same class as Merc’s E-Class Cabriolet??coz i knw 3-er Convertible is the same class as CLK-class and E-Class Coupe/Cabrio is CLK’s replacement,rite??

• Paul Tan on Apr 14, 2010 at 6:43 pm

Mercedes-Benz likes to think that the E-Class Cabrio has moved upmarket now and insists that the platform has more in common with the E-Class Sedan than the C-Class Sedan. That’s what they say lah.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Apr 14, 2010 at 7:03 pm

Before, this sub segment had the CLK Cabrio, A4 Cabrio and 3-Series Convertible, but Audi and Merc have given their new models bigger alphabets and numbers. So they can charge bigger money as well, perhaps :)

• Sophisticated hi tech and BORING, what a combination…..its perhaps just me

OMG the green digital clock looks so 90’s and cheap

• isn’t a VW Eos a better buy??

• theanswer on Apr 15, 2010 at 12:34 am

based on price ,performance and brand…i’ve to agree with u.

• wajarays on Apr 14, 2010 at 7:07 pm

for me, for more than 400k and full size coupe convertable that available in local market between bmw e92, lexus isC, merc E Class C, VW EOS, and VOLVO C70 T5, ill prefer volvo c70 T5 .. more roomier, sexier exterior, HI PERFORMANCE 5 cilynder T5 turbo engine, and for sure the rare factor hehehhe

volvo for life and forever

• BeemerFreak on Apr 14, 2010 at 8:24 pm

Wait till you see the new C70, that is gorgeous. Saw it on singaporean roads already, have to say it is the best cabrio i have ever seen, maybe only beaten by a maser gran cabrio

• torque (Member) on Apr 14, 2010 at 7:08 pm

For RM432K, hmph…at least give a analog clock from Bell & Ross or Breitling brand ke, baru ada class!! Aiya… :-)

• Most of the buttons and switches looks and feel like a toyota…sharing too much visible parts

• shawal on Apr 14, 2010 at 7:58 pm

It is Hideous! d interior also lacks looks like a kia

Better get a 3-series CC

• is the model you paul?

• why blue? blue only looks good on an IS-F, not IS-C!!!

• carlover on Apr 14, 2010 at 8:39 pm

love the gauge but the indicator stalk looks like it’s taken from a vios…

• fuyiopo on Apr 14, 2010 at 8:59 pm

The only thing i like about this car is the Digital speed and RPM meters.

• linear_system on Apr 15, 2010 at 10:34 am

is that digital??it looks like analog rpm n speedometer..but maybe u r right..

• fuyiopo on Apr 15, 2010 at 12:10 pm

I said that because as far as i noticed, Lexus don’t equip their cars with analog meters anymore. I don’t find anything lame about Analog though.

• alldisc on Apr 17, 2010 at 11:40 am

its called optitron… its a type of analogue but different illmination.

• Gajen on Apr 14, 2010 at 9:24 pm

rather get the normal sedan….is 250 so much better looking

• Christophe on Apr 14, 2010 at 9:48 pm

this car is beautiful…
    i saw few of them at Ipoh today…
    drop dead stunning…
    better looking than Beemer….and Merc….=)

• proton saga clock :D

• meteoraniac on Apr 14, 2010 at 10:41 pm

at almost half a million and they cant even slot in a more aesthetically pleasing digital clock….

would consider other models (audi) at this price…. big fail on lexus

• This is one highly overpriced car! In Taiwan, Lexus’s car is cheaper compares to it’s Germany rivals, but in Malaysia is opposite. I’m seriously doubt who will silly enough to spend RM 400k++ on Lexus and not the Beemer,Merc and Audi.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Apr 14, 2010 at 10:58 pm

worst cabriolet ever. btw danny, your old hairstyle is so much better!

• danny still young la..u can c his pic in facebook. hehe

• ericfoong81exe on Apr 15, 2010 at 12:12 am

Saw this car just now in Taiwan, damn nice man……sexy

• 400k…where’s integrated gps, touch screen multi control and ICE

• tanasi on Apr 15, 2010 at 8:36 am

I hope the feature list doesn’t include “Moving Forward — unintentionally”

• BMW M-Problems on Apr 15, 2010 at 9:05 am

nice…..but the price is a bit steep.. oh well cant complain cos real premium car…..
    You get what you paid for…..

• the price so high is it because the AFTA thing make it high again ? cause i calculate on taiwan lexus website just cost RM150k convert to our currency

• omg…this is very ugly!….i love the sedan very much …but this one…..omg….juz so ugly la!

• niuhje on Apr 16, 2010 at 11:36 am

errr, is that u Paul Tan in the back seat??