Honda to discontinue the FD2R Civic Type R?

Japanese press site 47News claims that Honda will be announcing the discontinuation of the Honda Civic Type R FD2R on the 19th of April 2010, which is basically this Monday. The report was published on the 15th, a good two weeks after April Fool’s day so it’s definitely not a joke, but then again we’re not discounting that it could be some pretty wild speculation.

According to the report, the reason for discontinuing the product is a sluggish market for high performance gas-guzzling cars. Honda is taking the whole green thing very seriously and perhaps a little too far – the end of the FD2R will mean the European Civic Type R (which sits on a different platform and is built in the UK) will be the last of the Type Rs.

And that’s just assuming that Honda will be leaving the Euro Type R alone while it pulls the plug on the FD2R. But I think the FN Type R will soldier on – this would explain why there was news in August last year that the FN Type R would be exported to Japan. Anyway if this is true, the sedan will follow the Integra and the NSX’s demise along with their F1 project. And Honda will be left with the 122 horsepower CR-Z as its ‘sportiest’ car.

Source – thanks to Kent Lim for the pointer!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Calvin on Apr 18, 2010 at 1:03 am

If the Type R goes down, there won’t be that many lookalikes, but then we won’t have affordable power on the road..

Looks like people are going to turn to Volks or Mazda soon, in my opinion.

• theanswer on Apr 18, 2010 at 9:49 am

ppl already turn to vw golf gti. its a good alternative to sports car since civic type r cant give luxury looks and conti comfort like golf gti.

• HirumaKecil on Apr 18, 2010 at 5:29 pm

integra suck… hahaha… cannot beat waja in AFOS…. And now civic type r also gone…. they should replace the engine with the ‘green’ one.. civic type r is a good car…

• I never dreamt of waja even it’s designed with 2000hp… Looks do ugly and only suitable with WARGA EMAS..

• Answer the answer on Apr 19, 2010 at 11:44 am

How can you compare with Golf gti and Civic type R ? Can a Golf gti handling as good as a civic type R ? Golf gti is more to confort and power, Civic type R is more to racing, handling and looks. Why not try to take a golf gti go for 10 laps in sepang non stop…?

• anafanas on Dec 12, 2010 at 12:18 pm

civiv type r was the best sport car under rm200k..

• Toyota drivers are idiots on Apr 18, 2010 at 1:04 am

Oh no, Honda will soon building boring cars like Toyotas!

• mr_3m on Apr 18, 2010 at 7:53 am

If this really happens, then Honda is not being true to its racing & engineering heritage… yes CR-Z is a glimpse of the future but it is NOT a true racing derived roadcar like any Type R – from NSX to Civics… come on Honda… unless you want to become just like another Toyotas (also producing hybrids)… if no Type R, what else to “differentiate” Honda products???

• Common Ring Size 14 on Apr 18, 2010 at 1:01 pm

Its another sad outcome indeed, they pulled out of F1, and Ross Brawn gave them the contructor’s championship the following year, in a chassis the Honda engineers poured their soul and heart into it.

It look likes, Proton wt the latest intro of Neo Lotus Racing & S2000 Neo rally developement is a showing a gud sign if giving ppl a true performance variant with quality, soul and passion into it.

May the soul of Soichero Honda rest in peace.

• in motogp…they are being “wallop” by rossi’s yamaha and stoner’s ducati….Honda really in a bad shape (racing wise)

• Krill on Apr 18, 2010 at 1:04 am

So sad….

• malaysia memang boleh on Apr 18, 2010 at 1:04 am

Haha,don’t give such a lame excuse, just say nobody buy your so called type R,green car konon!!

• francis on Apr 18, 2010 at 3:00 am

it stated clearly ” reason for discontinuing the product is a sluggish market for high performance gas-guzzling cars.”

maksudnya less consumer..

• theanswer on Apr 18, 2010 at 9:50 am

hahaha exact!

• ouch…that nails it fren…hehe

• AlphaBravia on Apr 19, 2010 at 8:41 am

Lame excuse oso.. if u donno how many Type – R have been sold.. i bet u dont buy it rite.. heh.. will give oso lame excuse why dont want to buy etc. malaysia memang boleh! boleh give a lame excuse oso .. HAH.. LOL .. what a jerk.. if u donno nothing about the sales or what ever information.. please shut tha fakap la doh… ! idiot lame.. better u lay down at Type-R so anybody will langgar u.. and die lah!

• I am a owner of car no. 12081, just got it 1 week ago. My friend placed an order 2 weeks after mine and was refused because Honda stopped taking Civic Type R orders a week after mine.
        For the production span of three years selling 12k pieces of cars, that’s really low volume for Honda, and no wonder it was discontinued.

• I just wonder, how come a Honda refused to take an order? I just placed an order on 23rd July 2010, and sems there is no problem. Just waiting for the delivery in the end of august.. My fren just got his R last week..by the way, the production will be stopped end if august. So there shouldn’t be any problem of taking an order…

• I don’t know why you still could order a FN2 as of July 23rd, my friend who imported my FD2 (a grey market importer) placed an order with his Japanese associate when mine was shipped and his order was not accepted. He bought a red FN2 that UK made for Japan instead. I gotta tell you he was not happy about it. We switched the ride and my feeling about the FN2 is that it rides like a souped up Jazz, hahaha. Very quiet except the ride is much more firm and much more powerful.

• by the way, you got your car already? You will be surprised by the harsh ride and doubt your purchase. But no worries, get a set of Buddy Club Racing Spec damper, match with Buddy Club N+ springs, and it will become your favorite road weapon.
            Stock FD2 ride height is also too tall so the tire/rim set looks ugly of the empty space between the tires and wheel arches. The dampers allow independant height adjustment. Lower it an inch front and rear, and it will look amazing and still won’t grind when you go over bumps. But then you will end up with too much negative camber front and back so you will need to further invest a set of roll center joint front, and adjustable camber set at rear to bring the wheel alignment back to road use, otherwise you will wear out your tires (expensive) very fast.

All of this is going to cost you another 7000RM roughly, but trust me FD2 you will need it because it was designed only for Japan’s smooth road pavement.

• It’s a 200k piece of shit la bro…how many people willing to by a car without a reverse sensor, spring hard like hell, manual side mirror n etc for 200k? That’s why it’s only 12k sold.. Only the type r ethusiast that hv a peny will buy it.. Please don’t compare it with your aunts’ Toyota vios…and please don’t talk smart like u are Trade Minister..LOL

• My friend Joe, FD2 is not a piece of shit, because 12000+ owners can prove that. You are right about something in your post but your logic was based on wrong grounds.
          1. FD2 isn’t expensive, it is cheap! Cheap in the sense that every lucky Japanese bxstxrd can own a FD2 easily. Japanese citizens are so lucky that Honda designed this track day package and sell it at an freaking affordable price. What else is out there that puts out 112.5 PS per liter and revs like a Ferrari (ok it isn’t a Ferrari but you get my meaning?) In the mean time when being driven consciously it gives you fuel regular civic fuel economy. S2000 was discontinued and not very practical and slower on twisty roads, a RX8 revs but gulps on fuel, a EVO X laps Tsukuba slower than FD2!? I mean nothing comes close to FD2’s performance & practicality at its price bracket. FYI, fuel in Japan cost 3-4 times compare to that in Malaysia.

2. The crazy Honda designed the FD2 to perform on the track as its primary purpose, and the transportation to take you there second in mind (Hey, regular civics are out there if you just need a cheap and comfy daily commute, right?). Anything that’s designed this way isn’t going to give you comfort. Take for an extreme example the king of NA car a GT3 RS has a similar bone jarring ride and air-conditioner comes as option.

3. FD2 wasn’t even meant to sell overseas. The ‘outside of Japan’ Type R is the Euro Type R which I test drove for a few days from a friend’s and felt like a souped up Jazz that under-steer like heck coming out of U bend when you gas it, and its engine is muted and doesn’t have that high-cam pull. Because FD2 was designed solely for Japan’s domestic market its harsh ride is less of a problem because you can drive it on Japan’s highway at 200+km/h (take out the rev limiter first), and it will still feel like when one drives it 80km/h on ASEAN roads. In my case, Thailand.

4. It costs 200K RM in Malaysia and over 300K RM in Thailand not because it is expensive but because of the gods-damn-it import tax and the rarity so the profits asked by showrooms, we should blame our governments for the tax (in your case maybe Proton?). I didn’t spent 300k RM for mine (no way I would) because I bought it from a friend who’s a car importer. The money I spent on it was cheaper than if I buy a Golf GTI here in Thailand. That made sense for me to choose FD2 over a GTI.

5. It comes with very few options like you wrote, even Type R floor mats cost money. Again, this was due to it was for JDM and some cars in Japan are sold this way. Even the cigarette lighter, sound system, parking sensors, are options (these you can get cheaper with after market products anyways). But side mirrors are electric standard, and you don’t have to roll down the window manually like other track purpose cars, hahaha.

6. If you engage in amateur race or track often, you will understand the beauty of this engineering marvel. The rigid chassis gives you responsive feel, the thick anti roll bar helps you corner in excess of 1g, the very close ratio gear box meant you can keep the K20A constantly on high cam, the uprated clutch disc meant every quick up-shift you get a kick on your rear, the K20A pulls & sounds amazing when high cam kicks in and continue all the way to 8500rpm, and the OEM RE070 tires are grippy as hell. You are true in one aspect, outside of Japan, it is for enthusiasts only.

7. Just in case for any non-JDM FD2 owners or would-be owners read this post. If you want a more comfortable ride (which you definitely need on ASEAN roads), throw in another 10K RM for: A set of Buddy Club Racing Spec damper match with the brand’s N+ springs. Lower the car for a inch and invest a set of roll center at the front and a camber set at rear to bring the camber back to normal, the car looks really mean when lowered. You will still get the change to get a reasonable sound system with TV screen, and a front and rear parking camera. Do not install parking sensor on this car, those little buttons will destroy the look of your rear bumper. Then, enjoy the sportier Accordish ride. In my wife’s case, it is an Accord with N+ suspension.

Last but not the least, K20A can be easily tuned to over 260+ crank PS with after market intake, exhaust, and ECU upgrages.

• Sam sam sam.. I’am referring to AlphaBravia comment la bro…I’m a type r ethusiast as well.. So I will not kutuk it…hehehe.. I just ordered Fd2 la bro.. Not FN2..yes I know the FDs’ suspension is rough.. I don’t mind it..anyway thanks for all your advised.. Will consider it as well..

• chaku on Apr 18, 2010 at 1:05 am

122hp hybrid as the sportiest car? damn that’s boring…

• Oris_TT2 on Apr 19, 2010 at 1:26 pm

green is the way to go.less FC.less pollution.GO GO GREEN!!!

• now thats a “great news” to start a sunday

• johnny on Apr 18, 2010 at 1:25 am

after this civic type R become collector items….sure 2nd value price sky high….

• Anti-Basher on Apr 18, 2010 at 1:35 am

ohhh is a goreng harga chance for the half cut and thief

• Tezza on Apr 18, 2010 at 1:47 am

What the heck…that’s disastrous for the hardcore of honda..their peformance flagship would be solely intepreting by the only 122bhp cr-z…u must be kidding me,honda..? Is that ur so-called “The Power of Dream?!

• crz is totally a crap…looks odd…i love type r alot…how sad it is…

• Avestani on Apr 18, 2010 at 2:30 am

So a 2.0 i-vtec N.A.engine on FD2R is gas guzzling!
    Then Honda should offers 1.5 vtec turbo charged engine with lower FC.
    Just my 2cents.

• gianfranco on Apr 18, 2010 at 2:34 am

Maybe Honda is not ready implement turbo-charged engine across its sports car yet compares to VW!

• brahams on Apr 18, 2010 at 4:11 am

Just dumps the gas guzzler+high CO2 2.0 i-VTEC N.A. engine.
        Then replaces it with 1.5 VTEC turbo charged kicking 200ps and 250Nm of torque.

• Honda, just replace the current engine with your brilliant 2.2 idtec diesel & tune it for sports driving….at least you can claim better CO2 & less fuel watever and play the ECO/environment friendly tune…., just do not discontinue the type R (what a waste)

• Tezza on Apr 18, 2010 at 6:46 pm

Well,i think the gas guzzling isn’t the main reason for honda demising their sport perfomance variant,because they are still able to remain the high bhp output eventhough they wanted to do it in greener manner..just think of what ferrari,porsche,lamborghini going to do in a very near future,improving the bhp and at the same time devastatingly reduce their car car co2 emission with the newly hybrid technology..As one of the most reputable mass car manufacturer,i believe they possess the both resources and technology to make it if they want to..

• dukeKTM on Apr 18, 2010 at 2:53 am

F@#K hybrid cars…. so damn boring and so damn expensive….now everyone wants to go green…..sigh! …..can all the tree lovers buy all this hybrids???

I better stick to my Duke…

• Honda is contradicting itself by promoting a high performance gas-guzzling cars alongside the eco-friendly hybrid civic.

maybe they are coming up with a new platform for type r

p.s. HEY PAUL! The source link is not working – its broken.

• minnow on Apr 18, 2010 at 3:44 am

hmm…bad news….who will take the crown nw?….Focus TTDi…Mazda, Fiesta, Forte Koup, ….hmm….definitely not Vios TRD….thts a blady joke of a sprts car…a disgrace….

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 18, 2010 at 3:59 am

Am I the only one who likes this idea. Why make a hothatch look like your common B-segment car. Makes no sense to me. Might as well let the CR-Z be the only performance car from Honda.

Another thing is that the Civic Type R does not run that well on Malaysian fuel, unless you are using V-power. Normal RON 97 fuel makes the car abit jerky during stop-start at traffic lights.

• TaipARGHOwner on Apr 19, 2010 at 2:38 pm

The Type Rs will never be appreciated by the common car enthusiasts, as Tsuchiya once said, the Type R is not for everybody.

Almost every car manufacturer in the market do not make cars like the Civic Type R anymore. None of the Japanese sports car has what the Civic Type R has, the soul of driving, it is a driver’s car, not a car that controls drivers. Look at the Evos and Subarus, it used to be exclusive to those who loves to control the gears with a stick rather than computers. The Skylines were great, the GTR is better, but no more heel and toes.

How many cars these days are built without traction controls? How many are built without the stick that can only be moved straight down or upwards?

There is no doubt that the double clutch technology is a great invention, but to a certain extent, it makes people lazy and to certain individuals like me, less fun. “What? No more heel and toes?”

The Civic Type R doesn’t come with an engine that has 300bhp, but it compensates with the great suspension and strong chassis, something which requires a lot of money in terms of R&D. By swapping a HKS Hipermax into a powerful car is only an easy way. Plus, 300bhp? Is it enough? To most people no. They will increase it to 500whp if they have the cash but no attention is paid to the strength of the car’s body, tires or suspensions. Superficial I might say.

The Honda team paid the price for not making what the general public wants, but at the very least, we, those who loves high revving engines, cornering machines get to enjoy what we want. Even automotive engineers said to me that the K20A is a marvelous creation. To extract 110bhp per litre is no joke and I would be real sad if Honda decides to take a short cut by turbocharging a half arse engine.

The CRX, Integras, NSX-es are gone, but I’m hopeful that in future there will be more Civic Type Rs, perhaps the next generation.

Kudos to the Honda engineers.

• I have heard many said that Type Rs are not for common drivers, but certainly it is first time I read that Type Rs are not for ‘common car enthusiasts’. some mistake here?

The Power of Dream. When Honda dreamed of creating some super stuff, and made them into reality, it is the power of dream. But if Honda keeps dreaming….

I am pretty sure Honda will stick to the Power of Dream slogan, albeit with a very different type of approach.

I think Honda’s future performance car(s), if there will be one, will either be hybrid, direct injection, charged, etc. Whatever the formula that gives the car the best emission level.

You are right on about current performance car designs are boring. Anyone can drive fast around a circuit in a GT-R or EVO X, but not R32-33, or EVO 7 or less. The car drives for you.

And the stick….. I can’t live without it, on a performance car. But this group of hardcore enthusiast is becoming so little that car companies don’t even care to provide the stick option.

I luckily ordered my white Type R a month before they stopped taking orders. The car is currently being shipped to Thailand. As long as the ship stays afloat, I will get my hands on it eventually. That said, this car won’t even come close (lap time) to my race trim EG/D15B, at my favorite technical Bira circuit 2.41km in Length. At the end, it is a road going sports sedan, it can’t pull more than a 1g around corner. But for a daily driver, it should work well for me.

And I bought this car for the high revving K20A, close ratio 6 speed gear box, and a chassis that is 50% torsional more stiff than DC5. I bought it for the Type R spirit.

• TaipARGHOwner on Apr 29, 2010 at 12:59 am

A common driver might prefer a C200 or an E90 over a Volkswagen Golf GTI, that’s what I meant. Among car enthusiasts, we appreciate good cars, but may not enjoy the ride, that’s what I meant.

You can ask any car enthusiast to choose between a Golf GTI and a Civic Type R as their car. Chances are that very likely that particular person would pick a VW over the “overpriced” Honda. They would very much prefer a car that is easy to drive, double clutch technology, leather seats, etc as compared to a RM200k car that does not even have a traction control, automatic transmission or at the very least, a softer set of suspension.

You’d be surprised over how well this car can perform, even track goers find this car amazing. The Honda Malaysia Racing Team pulled a 2.42 on the Sepang International Circuit with a stock speed cut still on Civic Type R.

• I posted a reply but didn’t show up so I write again here, hope it will not repeat!

Got you about what you mean ‘normal drivers.’

I just got my car no. 12081 Civic Type R (a week now). A friend placed an order a week after mine and got rejected because Honda IS really stopping the production. It stopped taking in orders of this car.

I am breaking-in the engine in high rpm way….hehehe. Anyways, I never break-in my past performance rides.

The ride: harsh as a heavy duty tractor. at 80-100 km/h the ride starts to become harsh on Thailand’s road. Over railroad, it feels as if the shock tubes are filled with metal and not fluid/gas. Its ride feels like a heavy duty tractor. I just ordered a set of racing spec coil over damper from Buddy Club Japan, because I want to lower the ride height about 1-1.5 inch and this set of damper will allow height adjustment without interfering with preset spring tension, and it is supposed to give a better ride quality. I am also selling the stock tires and rims in exchange of 17 inch Buddy Club’s 9J 6 spoke gun metal color rim shod in RE011 235/45R17. Yes 9J and 17inch, for the look and not performance, since it will be my daily ride not track purpose car.

It is my first time with K20A. That thing pulls like f**k after 5k rpm when vtec kicks in, all the way too fuel cut off point. It is amazing both the torque and smooth power delivery (well, the transition between vtec isn’t smooth, it is a kick:) but you get what I mean. The sound is soooo sweet, although I think B18C’s vtec changeover is more apparent.

Best of all, I am a hardcore stick shift driver. I drive a 4 wheel drive Nissan Frontier 2.5L, a Lotus Exige S (selling it because of cost and total impracticality). I sometimes even drive container tractor for fun (I manage a logistics fleet).

I know I am keeping this car for a long time, it grabs my heart. My lust for Lotus lasted just 3 months.

And you are right. GTI may have the interior, DSG, comfort, cheaper price. But it is a straight line pocket rocket and no matter how many times I test drove it, I never had the will to buy it. It is for what you call ‘normal driver’s’ car.

• Oh no! That’s a horrible news item :(

• stupid…..lohhh who buy this car ….cos wont get any spear part lion

• The Loner on Apr 18, 2010 at 8:21 am

Don’t know whether Honda will go same as Toyota, putting high performance sports cars under Acura.

• should come out new version lio….tis body its so old version ……almost 8 years concept behind……

• totally agree……….the car is so expensive out of the value market control……that y the sales purposely make it limited to confuse the consumer….

• the FD2R spoiler is very ricey lol

• honda fans on Apr 18, 2010 at 9:24 am

NNOOOO……. not another type-R being shut down!!!! The Power Of Dreams become The Power of Shutting Down, OR izzit FD2-R unable to sell well as the Golf MK6?

• Kambing Gurun on Apr 18, 2010 at 9:32 am

Very soon Honda = Toyota = Boring cars

• jong84 (Member) on Apr 18, 2010 at 9:38 am

Bye-bye Type R..

• kereta on Apr 18, 2010 at 9:50 am

oh no!

• trav_da_man on Apr 18, 2010 at 10:08 am

Honda is diving to where toyota was few years back but ironically toyota is moving towards exciting sports cars with the FT 86. What an irony!

• mitlanevo on Apr 18, 2010 at 10:28 am

omg, why why why???

but anyway, the FN version looks awesome, should bring some here and sell~

we demand replacement for S2000 and NSX !!!

• we or just u

• pomen_GTR (Member) on Apr 19, 2010 at 8:49 am

me second that…

bring s2k and legendary NSX replacement…..

not that boring HSV that already in preparation for superGT

• Annoy-nimal on Apr 18, 2010 at 10:36 am

Thats cruel… very cruel…

• vertigo on Apr 18, 2010 at 11:14 am

if only they could lower the price a bit, i think they could make a pretty good sales figure out of this currently-more-expensive-than-recon evo9 or STi ver.9.

• No effect if such a move does occur. I would put Honda on the same par as Toyota. Both ugly, produce lousy and not so worth the money type of cars. Hell I would even put Proton in the same bracket (lousy). VW is a different story. Hail VW!!

• JULIAN_LEE on Apr 18, 2010 at 11:38 am

This is great news! :-D

• anomyos on Apr 18, 2010 at 11:54 am

prices of type R will go up, since it will be discontinued. buy em now!

• klx (Member) on Apr 18, 2010 at 12:14 pm

The car is definitely enjoying a success in Malaysia and Singapore! Was in Singapore a few days ago and you can easily spot one on the roads!

• albagmane on Apr 18, 2010 at 12:15 pm

guess Honda is digging its own grave though… when people think of performance Japanese cars, they think of Honda…

• really ? not nissan or mazda ?

• Yea, agreed! Nissan has their mighty GTR, 350z, 370z, Silvia etc. Honda just have their NSX but sadly it is gone.

• Tezza on Apr 18, 2010 at 6:07 pm

Lol…Honda just have their Nsx ?I think u must be overlooked the intergra type r,s2000,euro r,prelude..although they might not as mighty as those nissan turbo car..but their handling,perfomance,engineering art,reputation,reliabilty wouldn’t anything less than the nissan’s,to be fair..

• tokmoh on Apr 18, 2010 at 7:57 pm

Honda’s VTEC is what made it seem sporty.

• Tezza on Apr 18, 2010 at 5:21 pm

Lol..mazda is totally out when compare with honda in term of perfomance..

• Squawk on Apr 18, 2010 at 1:11 pm

Zoom zoom. :-)

• i prefer to think of nissan

• bobby on Apr 18, 2010 at 12:24 pm

I never like the Civic type R anyway. Because it is exactly the same look as the normal Civic. People who buy white color civic 2.0 and buy extra spare parts/ rims to make it look exactly like Type R. they tuned it too. Kinda pointless cause it never reach type r performance and it actually destroying its reputation by mimicking it.

• that why civic or lancer sell insanely in malaysia, thay discrimination between both cars are too close.

• so you are saying the same thing with mitsubishi lancer too huh

• Kambing Gurun on Apr 18, 2010 at 7:56 pm

But they won’t be able to turn that 2.0 auto to manual though… The gear knob is darn cool… So far only being able to sit in one at roadshow only, thinking that this is darn cool but I can’t afford it… Honda please I want a manual Honda City but you only offer that darn autos…

• So BMW and Merc also had the same effect. Worst still they just tore the entry level spec badge and slap on an ‘M’ or ‘AMG’

• mohdjiman on Apr 18, 2010 at 12:39 pm

Oh…Type R is going to be RARE….

• lollipop on Apr 18, 2010 at 2:01 pm

Most ppl want a comfortable car with high perf nowadays, this track car if for normal use with such a price level just don’t Fit the requirements for most potential buyers out there. MK6 just got the right formula here in this market segment. Guess honda engineers do realize that, but they only willing to make a hardcore highrev machine or none at all and go hardcore green all the way! No compromise. Now the ‘power of dream’ starts to make sense.

• seancorr on Apr 18, 2010 at 2:24 pm

This is BS. Imagine BMW shutting down their M division or Mercedes shutting down their AMG division. What will happen to the customers who want faster machines than the normal run-of-the-mill models?

• its time to bring nsx back.

• teelim on Apr 18, 2010 at 3:45 pm

Oh no………!!!!!!

• this now we can call Type-R.are

• so, it’ll be golf gti then…

• redkde on Apr 18, 2010 at 4:26 pm

this is gud news. Type R is just a boring car…can’t be legend at all..

• theanswer on Apr 18, 2010 at 4:37 pm

so far i see neo r3 is the only ‘sports tuned’ car we gonna have here. with toyota ‘bullshitting’ with their trd vios..honda will stop making ctr..what else can we get here huh?
    hopefully p2 also gonna come out with sports version of their car..no more lame limited..or special edition..

• Fraz006 on May 13, 2010 at 10:21 pm

buy a golf gti. power got, no need poyo hi rev to vtech region, 1.8 K rpm sudah kick. handling got. if want 2 bring family, also comfortable. fuel not so guzzling. what more u want? type R is a poyo hi rev. it will really look like TRYING TOO HARD to hi rev everytime to get that torque. VTEC is old trick la. it s a FACT.

and type R handling, if u say its good, please think twice. the older type R is even better

• you can’t compare a GTI (a comfy straight line rocket) with a Civic Type R. They are made for different purpose and different groups of consumers. You like GTI, it is fine, but do not discredit FD2/K20A.

If you ever touched any Type R engine. B16B, B18C, K20A, you will shut your mouth up because those engines grab your heart. Ironically, it will be the high revving VTEC part that surprises and attracts you, and not the ‘trying too hard’ thing you posted.

iVTEC isn’t an old trick. VTEC starts it all. Toyota’s VVTLi, BMW’s double vanos continous valve timing and lift, and other brands’ same things all evolve from Honda’s VTEC albeit with different names. This is a FACT.

Current JDM Civic Type R’s handling, tops older type R’s including the legendary DC2 on track and that’s a FACT. I am car owner no. 12081. Try test drive them on Sepang before you post naive stuff.

• Fraz006 on May 29, 2010 at 3:23 am

okay… yarlah, VTEC is the first la introduced by honda.. then copied by everybody, improved fu\rther to variable valve timing and whatnot. that i cannot deny la.

yes, i agree for real petrol heads u might love it. the sound of vtec, the stiff cornering and whatever la.i also love it. but i am not that amazed like typical malaysians la. hear Honda terus WOW! FUIYOO!

ehehe, peace bro. just don like the wing for a FWD car& the hi rev engine. just not my cup of tea.

• R3? Race, Rosak & Repair? Repeat the same thing again & again..finally sell it to used car..hehhehe

• Dark Magicians on Apr 18, 2010 at 5:00 pm

I think Honda should discontinue the Honda Civic Type R.

Because of the too high of price and the design is almost the same with the original one, so I agree that Honda Civic Type R is discontinued.

I believe that Honda can launch a better car than Honda Civic Thpe R in future!
    Therefore, that is nothing for us to feel sad n worried.

• kecik20valve on Apr 18, 2010 at 5:29 pm

why not go turbo?
    ford now putting turbo engine “ecoboost” in most of their new model,
    claiming same power as old model but 20% less fuel consumption…

• brian on Apr 18, 2010 at 5:37 pm

c’mon honda dont discontinue the fd2, perhaps a turbo type r version…or crz is the next type r…please

• Dr. M on Apr 18, 2010 at 5:44 pm

This FD Honda Type R is a very good car. But then, even at supercharged, it is still not on par with Mitsubishi Evolution X.

Now let’s hope Mitsubishi and Subaru continue with their racing cars!

• kecik20valve on Apr 18, 2010 at 6:16 pm

type-r why not go turbo?
    ford now putting turbo engine “ecoboost” to most of their new model,
    claiming same power as old engine it replaced,
    at the same time 20% less fuel consumption,
    and big power increase potential for tuner hehehe…

• bashherebashthere on Apr 18, 2010 at 11:01 pm

can it rev 9000rpm like honda?

• pomen_GTR (Member) on Apr 19, 2010 at 8:53 am

honda got its own 1.5liter turbocharged engine rev happily….

its old F1 engine…bring it on…

• Fraz006 on May 13, 2010 at 10:27 pm

rev 9000 u think good ar? if u got own gas station ok lah. thats the BIG reason why Rx8 not that successful to sell. hi rev hi rev. to me, when u hi rev, it looks like TRYING TOO HARD. golf gti no need hi rev so much, 1.8K rpm torque is gushing in like crazy already. now, thats real power. baru betul

• but then you don’t have that sweet and bloody K20A screaming sound in a golf GTI don’t you!
          I am car no. 12081 owner. GTI has no chance going against a Type R on a track, and I track often.
          K20A going to 9k rpm is heaven, it is not ‘trying too hard’ like you posted. They are different machines made for different types of people.

• Kcivic on Apr 18, 2010 at 7:14 pm

sad news. I am proud to be driving my civic 2.0 bcos of type R. A car, honda owners can reckon with and sort of give you that pride that honda has its share of performance cars and the type R is just nice to look at and knowing it has many horses packed under the hood. Well i hope honda knows what it is doing and i just hate all this silly green technology based engines focus by carmakers. An engine shud not be that green. Why not make car engines which spits caesar salad out of its mufflers? It is a shame if Honda chose to jump on the green bandwagon. This green technology in cars will not be successful cos if it does, there will be zero war among countries and we will all be peace-loving and petronas will not be in existent and oil rich countries will be come poor cos cars can now consume coca cola as fuel. Silly green technology. Anyway, i really hope honda changes its mind and keep the type R alive! And for all existing owners, maintain and keep this classic well if ever it becomes one. By default, other car makes can reign supreme bcos of honda decision, ceasing production of type R is like say Nike never produced Air Jordans, Rolex without Submariners, Omega without Speedmasters, VW without GTi. Honda shud continue producing at smaller scale until i can afford to have the Type R as my second car for weekend or soul-searching driving. If really its Japan decision, then so be it. I will still be proud to drive my Civic around. Batman movie Dark Knight without Heath Ledger’s The Joker! Crap news! Crap news! Crap news! Hail Type R!!!!!!!!!!!! I saw one type R at a honda showroom last week. Maybe test drive the legend.

• Ford or perhaps proton shud take opportunity

• Toyota vios sport?….no no…..totally off topic

• haha..batu api la you.

yeah, type r will be available in the dugong soon. them red toyota emblems will sell like hot moon cake.

• think on Apr 18, 2010 at 8:08 pm

civic type r is not considered as a sports car alone..it’s a a daily car for all occasions..the discontinuation is not a great deal..perhaps,honda should follow the great,awesome golf gti…

• There shall always be some companies that are willing to fill the gap left by Honda….

• CiViC type R on Apr 18, 2010 at 8:55 pm

Dear Honda,

Please don’t do this, because as you all know…honda Type R is one of the best car n the world. we love the white color body + red emblem …we do hope that you continue to producing the type r series pleases…. we don’t bother whether it is civic type r, integra type r or even jazz @ fit type r…we dont care as long as you still continue to build your best type r cars.

• super_junior on Apr 18, 2010 at 9:02 pm

No more Civic Type-R…
    Honda, how about coming out a new Accord Type-R?
    or Honda Legend Type-R?
    but please not the CRV Type-R!!!

• anonymous on Apr 18, 2010 at 9:32 pm

After all the hard work of bringing Type R to Malaysia and now they are gonna discontinue it, what a waste. And yup I agree on silly green technology and no manual transmission now days.

• yeahjamal on Apr 18, 2010 at 10:20 pm

whyyyy~!????????????????????

• lollipop on Apr 18, 2010 at 10:49 pm

honda can at least making a motorbike typeR for poor malaysian mah!! 2 wheels type R !!

• already have motorbike type R…those CBR superbikes but not cheap, …only slightly cheaper than City for the 600cc and around Jazz for the 1000cc.

Anyway, 60k-100k is consider cheap for an NSX level of performance

• Renkev on Apr 18, 2010 at 10:55 pm

KNN, tis car long before oso should be ostracized edi …ops, i mean discontinued . then, bring kambek the JDM EP3 Typre R !! knn…

• this is gonna make FD2R highly in demand in future…. very good resale value… m keeping mine!

• SaLeS aDViSor on Apr 19, 2010 at 12:42 am

u all x rasa panas ke dunia sekarang? should change to green technologies… kalau boleh kerajaan malaysia patut buat sesuatu supaya negara tidak bergantung kepada minyak, set a standard mcm negara europe… baru negara boleh maju dan kaya raya, rakyat hidup senang, tido malam tak panas lagi….

• l3ryan on Apr 19, 2010 at 12:46 am

Noooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!! This is SAD

• p1basher on Apr 19, 2010 at 1:54 am

although it is a painful decision, Japanese did it again knowing that we have to go green now, is a right decision unlike those nuts american. When green technology is working, may b we can have sporty green car.

• Co2 doesnt cause global warming!
    you’re just caught up in the hoax, honda!
    but still, hydrogen is the way to go for alternate fuel. Type R Hydrogen please!

• RIP….

with love

K……

• Mazda MPS is a stoopid guy on Apr 19, 2010 at 6:57 am

what!!! why everybody so sad? this is truly a good news!!!. less ‘upper class’ ah beng can ask their mama n papa to buy this so called racing car..

• proton on Apr 19, 2010 at 1:56 pm

there is no wrong at it

your papa mama cannot afford this for you is your problem

my parents got me a mk6 golf gti

so what ^^ nothing to be shame about

lol

• JULIAN_LEE on Apr 19, 2010 at 9:22 am

baibai tai-par, and good riddance. BMW M-Power forever

• NOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!……….
    Honda cannot do that!!!!………
    going green,… i-vtec should be replaced by ….Eco-i-vtec…..
    with the Eco wording GREEN….

and instead of the red background on the H badge, make it GREEN!!!!
    ah dui……..i think i’ll better jump ship to conti cars la like that……..
    buy something with more WOW factor……..

i dont really get the japs… 90s build very MAN cars like the supra,rx7,aristo,skyline, soarer,mark2,chaser,integra,mr2……. u name it!!!! it is so sort after that even till today, those WOW factor cars cost more then a myvi today…….some do survive today but…its more refine and comfy…not RAW n Crazy…….

1 more thing to the japs…. y stop building the 1jzgte,2jzgte dan lain lain, when the conti cars are building it now… look at the new Eclass E200 and E250 cgi…. no more N.A or Supercharger….. SEMUA TURBO……335i,b200,X5m,X6m….turbo juga…. JAPS were ahead but now, it looks like they are mostly N.A, except the Diesel models and save the 3sgte in the caldina……

just my opinion only ya guys…..do correct me if i am wrong ya… no offence but just my point of view….

• business change. maybe there already see a light at the end of the tunnel..

otherwise, why they all Japaneses

• james on Apr 19, 2010 at 1:07 pm

Seems like Honda is not making money out of this car. thats why they’ve decided to get rid of it. WRX, EVO and GTR are much faster cars so why would one buy a super stiff, uncomfortable, slow Type-R?

Promoting the green image is kind of deceiving. European cars like Volkswagen, Fiat, etcs have sporty GTI’s or equivalent sport series cars that consumes less fuel than Honda’s normal road cars! Japanese car companies are really behind these new wave of highly efficient engines that is still as powerful or even more powerful than previous generations. Moreover, European cars are only starting to get into Hybrids and we’ve already seen the potential of that with the Porsche 918 as a really good example.

• Euro will move ahead wt hybrid too since they’re into diesel hybrid which is more frugal & environmental friendlier than petrol hybrid…..Japs govt need to change their perception twrds diesel….

• symplyCT on Apr 19, 2010 at 3:06 pm

yes…. i agree with your statement… now world look into it… fast car but more efficiency and use less energy… and perfect example…

• snakepit on Apr 19, 2010 at 2:59 pm

honda memang tak laku kat japon, bolehland people je yg beli..budus

• snakepit on Apr 19, 2010 at 3:02 pm

ramai dok merayu kat sini suh honda jgn stop produce this car…the problem is korang dah belike kereta ni???

• sayapdewa on Apr 19, 2010 at 7:17 pm

ktorg belum beli lagi…tapi tunggu harga dia turun dulu la…maybe next 10 or 20 years?? ROFL

• zaidgsr on Apr 19, 2010 at 3:07 pm

so long FD2R… but the HSV 10 is coming

• Mazda 3 MPS on Apr 19, 2010 at 3:55 pm

damn u honda

• Renkev on Apr 19, 2010 at 8:34 pm

my childhood dream will die with the death of type aa-Re !

(imitating typical chinese student mis-pronounciation of R lol)

I’m still working my way to owning a piece of type R myself, but before making it, honda edi pulling it out! …a real coitus interruptus

• kangoroo on Apr 19, 2010 at 10:45 pm

honda felt that alot of ppl taking way too long to realise their typeR dream esp.in bolehland, they just can’t wait for all these dreamers any longer before making a loss..

• Vicpo on Apr 20, 2010 at 4:08 pm

Honda, please hold this production for another year at least!! I want this car!!!

• izack04 on Apr 20, 2010 at 10:23 am

Haiyya….camon guys….
    Get back Your EK9 and rev up tp 9000
    PRAAAAAAAAAAAAAANNNNNNNNNNNNNNGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGG
    After this no more prang sad sad sad
    sob sob sob

• mahend on Apr 22, 2010 at 12:40 am

anyone here still interested with the type-R, let me know, there are still few more units available- BRAND NEW. email me..tks..

• Flannel on Apr 23, 2010 at 5:59 pm

hp below 170 is kinda gay, this is totally a big blow for a japanese sport car fan, unexpected and lame. so from now onwards those who have satria neo will feel that they are heroes:P

• so sad huh?.. ermm.. it will be the legend.. but dunt worry.. i’ve already have one! lol.. =p
    and its a best car i ever have.. i called it a beast machine.. gile!

• I’m pretty sure Honda’s going to produce more Type R’s in the near future, but for now the FD2R is reaching the end of it’s road, for the price of the R, you could probably save up a bit more for an Evo or STi, it’s just overpriced for a 4cyl FWD, yes I know it’s a k20 under but still, their probably just going to stop producing the FD2R but more Type R’s to come, just hope it’s not going to be a “Civic Hybrid Type R”

• Knight on May 24, 2010 at 2:53 pm

I’m a Honda fan since young because of the Type-R heritage. Whenever, I think of Honda, I think of Japanese racing. It is sad for them to discontinue the FD2R. Just hope they don’t follow’s Toyota’s past practice of churning out boring cars.

Coming from a point of view of a potential owner (finally managed to save enough :-p ), I found myself re-evaluating my option even when I’m capable to get one. I’m swayed by the Golf GTi’s turbo-charged accelaration and comfort. I know, they are not the same. I shouldn’t be comparing them because their target market is totally different. FD2R is for enthusiast who loves the tracks and totally addicted to the screaming sound of the i-VTEC when the race-cam engage and occasionally use it as a weekday road car. My neighbour owns it and I always see that he used it during the weekend. His daily ride is BMW 3 series. I guess, the Type-R have a place in his heart as a weekend car for the thrills and excitement. I would want his kind of arrangement as well. Unfortunately, I don’t have his budget. So, getting an all rounder car is my only option.

So.. in this case, since rationality wons, I guess that’s the reason why Golf GTi’s appeal to the working man’s dream of becoming an occasional boy racer is much reasonable. I spoke to a VW’s sales exec and he told me 50% of VW Malaysia’s sales are attributed to the GTi. I guess it make sense seeing so many MK5 and MK6 on the road.

One more thing, I totally hate the idea of Honda Malaysia bringing in the White colour for the normal Civic. I know the normal Civic’s White is not Championship White… but still. They shouldn’t spoil the appeal of owning a FD2R. Not only they opened up the possibilities to allow normal Civic owner to fit the FD2R bodykits and spoiler, making all these wanna-be a close replica of the FD2R. You just don’t know how many of these cars I have seen on the road. I can tell the difference because, their White is not the Championship White but still, I really felt Honda Malaysia shouldn’t do it. With the Hybrid it is fine, but with the Civic 1.8/2.0, sigh…. Why spoil the appeal of the already niche market. But that’s just my opinion.

Overall, I hope Honda will continue on their passion to develop more Type-R badged racers! And please… Honda Malaysia must continue their passion by offerring us Malaysian drivers the options to own their racing specs models. (Who knows, perhaps a new Type-R in the form of the upcoming Civic for 2011/12). When I reach the capability to own a weekend car, I will definitely get one!

• Knight,

I quote TaipARGHOwner’s post on 19/4/2010 at 2:38 pm.
      He wrote “The Type Rs will never be appreciated by the common car enthusiasts, as Tsuchiya once said, the Type R is not for everybody.”

It is 3 weeks since this car was delivered to me. After the initial high emotion settled, I have a different view for this car now. And it is not looking good, for several reasons.

1st and the foremost, the bone jarring ride. The stock suspension set up is way too hard and bouncy. I know the hard part, because all my previous performance vehicles including my EG6 race car ride hard, but non are bouncy. Type R not only is hard, it is bouncy as hell. Someone put it this way, if you drive in city roads for half and hour, you need to park the car and let your internals settle into their original location before you can continue. I say, don’t drive this car when you just had food, or without visiting a toilet beforehand. It is that hard and bouncy! Oh, don’t even ask me how the ride feels when it crosses railroad. My guess is that the dampers can’t keep up with the springs. It is as if a R34 V Spec reborn. Worse, the suspension setting cannot be adjusted.

So here I am waiting for a set of Buddy Club’s racing spec suspension, which is a de-tuned P1 racing suspension for street use. Reviews of racing spec suspension are mostly positive, with adjustable ride height independent of spring preset, and its ability to adjust soft all the way to nearly regular Civic’s ride comfort, yet able to attain hard but firm ride for track use. The reviews better be right because at stock setting Type R cannot be a weekday drive (you will have to be an insane hardcore enthusiast to enjoy the torturous ride). I would rather drive my Nissan stick shift Frontier pick up now until my new suspension arrives, or my wife’s 7th generation accord. (with Buddy Club’s N+ suspension and ATC 330mm front brake rotors)

My lovely Lotus Exige S (in the process of selling it), cruises the highway at 180-200+km/h smoothly. That little Lotus’ suspension absorbs all kinds of road irregularities and smooth them out. The faster you go, the smoother it becomes. Civic Type R, on the other hand, hard and bouncy at 80km/h and the situation only worsens when you WOT to speed limiter.

No wonder your neighbor is using it as a weekend car. I plan to using it as my daily commute also, but only after suspension upgrade :)

2ndly, the interior feels like a war room but it is empty. I had to purchase a double din dvd player for installation. At the end of the installation the technician told me there are no speakers in the door panel. God! Honda sold this car without audio and speaker components!

I support your rational about purchasing Golf GTI. This new make has the fierce look and the matching interior, the quality, and it’s got tons of technology Civic did not put into the Type R, and it is sold at a much better price. If you the situation is that you bought the Type R, you will certainly wonder if you have bought a wrong car.

In fact, I almost dumped my hard-earned cash for a Mk5 when comparing against a DC5 Type R. I bought none, I just put a supercharger kit in my 3 series 330i.

Good fun with your Golf GTI. I always said, these two cars are both good make, for different consumer groups. And the target group of Type R is getting smaller, smaller and smaller.

Can a Type R be a daily ride? With adjustable suspension upgrade, I am pretty sure it can. I am also pretty sure that Buddy Club’s racing spec damper will enable my FD2 lap faster over stock suspension, yet provide a nice ride home. As for the sound system. I just need a gps navigator, and 4 6 inch medium level speakers. I don’t listen much while driving.

• Fraz006 on May 29, 2010 at 3:43 am

how is it now bro with the new buddy club dampers? i hope its more comfy now. small matter la stiff ride+no stereo. put tien la.

• Hi Fraz,
          the buddy club dampers are not yet here. Taking the R out for long trip like 100km+ is a pain.
          Perhaps I should have bought the FN2 or GTI, hahaha.

• Fraz,
          I have the shop installed a set of Buddy Club Racing Spec dampers and springs, still felt too hard so I changed the springs to N+ (even softer), dialed the damper (racing spec) to 5 (1 being softest, 15 being hardest), and now it rides like an Accord with a sporty suspension. And finally I start to love this ride.

• a big fan of the hond civic type-r fd2 on Jun 01, 2010 at 10:56 pm

i can’t believe honda is doing this the fd2 is one of the best type-r of all time oh they talking about the reseason of the discontinuation is because of a sluggish market for high performance gas-guzzling cars oh please when u guys have fucking lambogini and ferrai driving on your roads that have over 500 hp that a poor fucking excuse i’m so disapointed in honda u have kill the type-r legend my favorite car in the world discontined unfucking believable

• my friend,
      do not despair. Type R spirit will live on, Honda will present to us the future Type R very soon, even though we do not yet know which platform or what kind of Type R we are talking about here. There’s no way Honda will deliberately ignore the ‘Power of Dream’ slogan; it took them decades and literally billions of dollars to create that performance image.