New Hyundai Accent spyshots show a downsized Sonata!

Here are some spyshots of the new Hyundai Accent undisguised. It looks like the same car as the untaped red unit we posted before, which could have been either the new Accent or new Elantra/Avante. More likely the former, as the B-segment car is the older of the two – the current MC Accent was launched back in 2005. This new set of spyshots also reveal the car’s rear end, which looks to have the “Verna” badge on the bootlid (it’s quite blur though). The Accent is called Verna in its home market as well as in Singapore.

Hyundai is moving away from dull designs, and Korean entries are becoming design leaders in their segments – the new Sonata and Tucson look so removed from their predecessors, it’s hard to believe they’re only one generation apart in the same model line. This supposed new Accent clearly takes after the Fluidic Sculpture design language from the Sonata, and looks like a downsized version of it. The long headlamps, prominent strakes and lines, they’re all here, and it looks good.

We look forward to the unveiling, possibly at the upcoming Beijing Motor Show, but for now check out the rest of the pics after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1058]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• mufasa on Apr 19, 2010 at 12:36 pm

ahh geli = ugly

• P4k4bu on Apr 19, 2010 at 12:43 pm

Wow! Nice! Looks like Vios!

• carlocaraddict on Apr 19, 2010 at 12:50 pm

rear looks vios-ish

• not bad

• linear on Apr 19, 2010 at 12:55 pm

nice look….

• jugaus on Apr 19, 2010 at 12:57 pm

Damn cun..

• Lalata77 on Apr 19, 2010 at 12:59 pm

Wohoo …

• eisyam on Apr 19, 2010 at 1:02 pm

the back look like dugong vios la

• wan_knox on Apr 19, 2010 at 1:44 pm

not dugong lah.. more likely mcm Honda City Pari

• normal_user on Apr 19, 2010 at 2:26 pm

you need to improve your eyesight. Its much more like C-Class/ Old City.

• the rear looks like c-class…this will definately sell like hot cakes…now we will have more choice rather than the vios n city….its really impressing…

• drMpower on Apr 19, 2010 at 1:22 pm

that headlamps look a bit… BIG for that small body?

its like getting it into photocopy machine, setting it at 70%.

maybe its better taking some lines/ ques from big Sonata, instead of downsizing it entirely.

• proton on Apr 19, 2010 at 1:44 pm

proton better

buy persona turbo and gen 2 turbo

• bohtakchek on Apr 19, 2010 at 1:46 pm

dunno whether got downsize theta II engine or not lei?? put in 5 speed and decent 4 pot engine with Gen II price and this will sell la…

get the 5 years warranty down to 3 years; and channel this edition 2 years subsidize money into establishing Korean-made 2nd car dealler – buy/sell car to prop up 2nd car value,

and

all korean car would be super … just unfortunate got Naza AND Sime Darby in the way
    so no way to increase 2nd car value of Korean.

• koreankia on Apr 23, 2010 at 4:29 pm

hmm, Korean car are good recently, quality, design…..all look nice… juz the distributor like Naza spoiled the image only…. Sime Darby still ok lar…..

• Squawk on Apr 19, 2010 at 1:49 pm

Design-wise, this is miles ahead of Vios and City.

• kit kit on Apr 19, 2010 at 5:52 pm

haha.that is true.way ahead of Vios and city. Hyundai rocks.please continue to surprise us with new cars.i am looking forward to hyundai veloster.

• nabill on Apr 19, 2010 at 1:57 pm

look like some china car…too many confusing curves…

• arulkay on Apr 19, 2010 at 2:11 pm

hyundai rules…….

• hanson on Apr 19, 2010 at 2:12 pm

more like mazda and peugeot’s design..

• woohoo something to look forward to…

• henryee on Apr 19, 2010 at 2:26 pm

Yeah C_Class Mercedes at the back~~~!!!!

• baby sonata…i like this!

• alpha999 on Apr 19, 2010 at 2:31 pm

more spyshot

http://www.caradvice.com.au/65129/2010-hyundai-i45-spy-photos-testing-in-sydney-this-morning/#comments

• richerjo on Apr 19, 2010 at 2:39 pm

not bad
    typical korean lines

• magic on Apr 19, 2010 at 2:46 pm

ok la.

• it just look like … another car from this generation.
    ford fiesta , peg, citreon … all shares the same ‘look’ regardless they call their design as kinetic design etc.

• Snotmaster on Apr 19, 2010 at 3:20 pm

Diesel Crdi and 7-speed twin clutch gearbox, please.

Day 1 purchase.

• How much RM?

• The Koreans have truly caught on with their cars. Impressive.

Let’s see what they’ll do to quash the high maintenance perception/reality.

• Vincent on Apr 19, 2010 at 3:54 pm

Wah Paul…the rise of Kimchi..

With the estimate price tag of RM68K…we will say bye bye to Vios and City right?

• Mazda 3 MPS on Apr 19, 2010 at 3:55 pm

distorted car

• Black Dog on Apr 19, 2010 at 4:07 pm

This doesn’t look like a spy shot, if it is then it’ll show the whole front or rear instead of this crop up version. I think Hyundai purposely leak it!

• HyundaiSmoke on Apr 19, 2010 at 4:11 pm

The car looks like nothing on the market shut up. The Rear lights look like the Sonata. The Pic obscures that. This looks nothing like a City, or a Mazda 2 and if you think so you know nothing about cars.

This is the Chinese Oceania Spec Model. The one we will get here in the US will have more sophisticated headlights, Delta Shaped Mirrors like the Sonata, and a Heaxagon Grille Version. You guys might get that too, however. This car will have a hyrbid, so the hexagonal grile might be only for the hybrid model. If you look at the spyshots, they test 3 versions of this Accent.

1. Version the hexagonal Grille.
    2. This Grille Above.
    3. This Grille Above in all Chrome.

• HyundaiSmoke on Apr 19, 2010 at 4:19 pm

By the way I scopped these pics VIA ifeng on my AccentPlanet dot org website 19 days ago. AccentPlanet dot org, Accentuate the Possibilities. The Best Source for all Hyundai/KIA small car information on Earth.

• Hey Paul, is the Freed lauched? I saw one unit of Freed at the Honda showroom near the Mutiara Shopping Complex. The car was badly taped in white and it looks quite boxy.

• piston519 on Apr 19, 2010 at 4:42 pm

topi topi topi
    ok only
    bt if the pricing > 70k…go for city or vios…..if it is less than 65K then worth it…
    but resale value for hyundai like shit,, so dun buy this shit………

• Another attractive model to hit us =D the race is getting better !

• HyundaiSmoke on Apr 19, 2010 at 5:24 pm

Yeah, thats why you need to get in now, becuase those borderline criminal prices on Korean cars arent going to last long, especially when car magazines in the US and UK say Hyundai’s new products are expected to hold some of the highest resale values in the industry.

• kit kit on Apr 19, 2010 at 5:43 pm

very very nice. hyundai is going to slaughter Toyota and honda with new designs

• kit kit on Apr 19, 2010 at 5:46 pm

hey everyone,Hyundai did not copy. Hyundai is clearly leading in design. it is a shame that toyota and honda does not come up with these type of cars which are beautiful as well as practical.Hyundai is definitely number 1.

• kit kit on Apr 19, 2010 at 5:50 pm

I can’t figrue out why people like to say Hyundai is the copycat.BECAUSE THIS IS NOT TRUE AT ALL.HYUNDAI IS CLEARLY BECOMING A SERIOUS MAJOR PLAYER IN AUTO INDUSTRY,GRABBING AMNY AWARDS AND IMPROVING ITS PERFORMANCE. This car is very unique in its design and i am sure people will come to understand Hyundai’s lead sooner or later.

• victor lee on Apr 19, 2010 at 5:52 pm

if its look like vios then is ugly lol

• tHe^CuLpRit on Apr 19, 2010 at 6:28 pm

question is, when will we get this? Hyundai Malaysia will take another 3yrs to clear current Accent stock. i20 also until now haven’t arrived despite being launced sometime ago….

• niamafufu on Apr 19, 2010 at 8:40 pm

last time i saw alots of old accent stock at the back at d SC when i went to service my car at TCM…damn alots….about 2 football field in JB…

• anonymous on Apr 19, 2010 at 7:26 pm

direct rival with their brother kia forte.

• Price says no.. class oso says no.
      Forte is a C-Segment. Tested it, not bad.. just the original korean tire very noisy.

• libralcl on Apr 19, 2010 at 8:48 pm

Different segment la bro.

• HyundaiSmoke on Apr 19, 2010 at 7:48 pm

This will be i25 sedan theculprit. There will be an i25 coupe and crossover too. i25 coupe will be based off Veloster=Scirocco, MINI Clubman, i25 Crossover=Juke/Qazana.

• HyundaiSmoke on Apr 19, 2010 at 7:51 pm

i25 Crossover will be based off ix metro. All i25s variants will come to America as Accent. Accent is becoming the next Golf, but a car that”s actually going to work everyday unlike the Golf.

• HyundaiSmoke on Apr 19, 2010 at 7:54 pm

USDM Golf=POS. USDM Accent=one of the most reliable cars you can get. Strange to you guys, but its true.

• Speechless!!! The rise of korean car

• radical ….
    transformer-decepticon design flow…
    hope the look will outlast 5 years…
    IN-look not everlasting look

• Neutral on Apr 19, 2010 at 9:58 pm

not sure about the styling exterior, absolutely not my taste but….don’t bother about it.i’m not planning to buy new car yet :)

• hmmm..looks like similar as his big sister Sonata. looks good, but not my taste too, a bit feminie to me, im prefer more straight line sharp design like new optima, more man feel & aggresive looks…

• tokmoh on Apr 19, 2010 at 11:17 pm

You must construct additional pylon.

Yep. Definitely looks like something that comes off from Korean’s favourite game.

• yea i guess we have to wait a long time till all the other stocks of the old hyundai’s go to b4 this comes to our shores ,sad case buy so many stock but none sold

• acerman on Apr 20, 2010 at 9:38 am

Bulky.

• Peter on Apr 20, 2010 at 11:33 am

nice

• I never thought I’d ever consider buying a korean car until now…

• Always talk bout city and vios…. shitttt!!!!! look previous model of city…. design looks like turtle… reallly UGLYY!!! vios standard model, r u think its cool!!! its suckkkkss really…. than upgrade to S type with TRD kits so the price going up to 90k++ damn money sucker….. how bout proton…. really appreciated coz it was a national car… but after 5 years u willl see many spots will appears on roof surface coz by corrosion… is that u call a quality?????? i knew coz i had proton last time…… really sucks….. power window always come worst….

2nd resale value low….. ok can u list down which one of the brand that can make profit…. tell me!! which one can boom over the market price??? r they profit properties???? if yes no need to buy house anymore go buy honda and toyota coz those will make you money… buy for rm85k than after 5 years sell for RM150K… better keep it forever coz every single day those r profited…… hahahahahahaha shameless…. THINK AGAIN!!!!!

• Jackson on Apr 24, 2010 at 9:42 am

Nice car, hyundai is improving so much in their design..I can foresee there is gonna to be alot of hyundai car on the road!yeah!!Don’t let H & T rule the road!!