Kia Magentis Koup and Wagon in the works?

Kia Magentis Koup
Click for enlarged version of image

Peter Schreyer has indicated that he would love to do a wagon and coupe version of the Kia Magentis, also known as the Kia Optima here in Malaysia. The all-new Magentis has just been unveiled by Kia in sedan form. Typically, a D-segment vehicle such as the Magentis will usually be accompanied by a wagon body in Europe (like the Mazda 6, Euro Accord and Mondeo), as well as a two-door coupe bodystyle in North America such as the Honda Accord Coupe and the Toyota Camry Solara.

Kia Magentis Koup
Click for enlarged version of image

US is probably the only country in the world where large D-segment coupes in that segment (as in non luxury) work, and Schreyer agrees that a “Magentis Koup” would work in the US. Here we have renderings of what a Magentis Koup or Optima Koup would look like by Theophilus Chin. Do you like the renderings?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• redxdevil (Member) on Apr 20, 2010 at 3:02 pm

1 word. WOW!!

• wow it’s niceeeeeeeeeee

• Abraham Tawi on Apr 20, 2010 at 3:08 pm

It looks fantastic. Unfortunately like Paul said, it wouldn’t work in Malaysia so it won’t be coming here :(

• Mad Cat on Apr 20, 2010 at 3:08 pm

Would work great with their 2.0L Turbo GDI 278PS engine and 6-speed paddleshift transmission.

• Iskandar on Apr 20, 2010 at 3:09 pm

Breathtaking!

• Peter on Apr 20, 2010 at 3:24 pm

At this rate , the koreans are working……I believe they will match the germans soon……..

• m4xspeed on Apr 20, 2010 at 3:28 pm

Superbly beautiful…!!! What an amazing design.

• car_driver on Apr 20, 2010 at 3:29 pm

where’s the wagon? i luv wagon/estate very much!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Apr 20, 2010 at 3:39 pm

reminds me of a peugeot

• walalala on Apr 20, 2010 at 3:47 pm

you got money???
    sure can bring one here..

• azrai on Apr 20, 2010 at 4:12 pm

Naza Optima in the making.

• Black Dog on Apr 20, 2010 at 4:14 pm

Awesome! Espiecially the tail lights. Theophilis Chine should be hired by KIA and work hand in hand with Peter Schreyer!

• TheophilusChin on Apr 21, 2010 at 9:09 am

I’m not a designer bro, just a manipulator. *grin*

• neokid on Apr 20, 2010 at 4:15 pm

i’d definitely stare at this car if i see one on the road..

• Kambing Gurun on Apr 20, 2010 at 4:23 pm

Great car, but people here are more concerned about resale value than motoring excitement factor. Kereta sorong with T batch would sell like pisang goreng as long as the resale value is good.

• omahabojan on Apr 20, 2010 at 6:55 pm

Hmm… for a Korean car this nice (and many new ones coming up), maybe the resale value might go up in the future vs T&H, who knows.

• bboyahman on Apr 20, 2010 at 5:06 pm

can i have tis design with sedan….2 awesome man..!!!

• King Samurai on Apr 20, 2010 at 5:11 pm

Theo’s works always mesmerizing…his blog is in my bookmark as well.

• If they keep this up, Honda and Toyota better buck the hell up haha.

• DiVo D27 (Member) on Apr 20, 2010 at 5:31 pm

From de saying ‘never buy a Korean..’ nw al haiL KiA..!! WoW is de worD man

• Hahah.. proton can also do, just that they still havent struck the right bell yet.

• Joyrider on Apr 22, 2010 at 8:39 am

Koreans are much more hard working than “Protected” Malaysian working in Proton…

• Tiadaid on Apr 20, 2010 at 5:45 pm

Why aren’t wagons that popular here in Malaysia? At least it won’t be guzzling fuel as much as those big MPV, whose user often don’t fully utilize the space! Wagons can be luxurious too. Or even powerful (M5 Touring comes to mind)

• Wow.. if look like this and around 80k, I ll buy.

• 4G63tDSM on Apr 20, 2010 at 5:48 pm

mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm……slurrp…

Where is the wagon?

• i love it…

• Good to see Kia to be better and better.
    Just wondering, is the NAZA Kia car quality is the same as original car build by KIA itself?
    Somebody, please enlighten me (^ ^)

• LOL.. I’ll ask my friend that has the Forte now.. but u gotta wait like around 6 months before all hell go lose.

• Cynical on Apr 21, 2010 at 10:12 am

Yeah, it should have the same build quality. Coz it’s not totally CKD. Only a few parts are assembled here. Most of the car is already assembled before shipment. Same thing with their “CKD” Peugeot. I own a Forte btw, and I’m lovin’ it more and more every time I drove it.

• Tires not loud (Suho or Kumho issit, i hate that brand)? Have you found anyone that is specialist at installing dynamat into the forte?

• Bius Dogong on Apr 20, 2010 at 6:18 pm

wow..!!!! nice design…

• see the koup everyday here in Brunei. Damn fantastic looking. But in the middle of the steering, the KIA logo is oversized -.-”

ANyway looks way better than any Honda car at the moment

• Alpha on Apr 20, 2010 at 6:49 pm

how can u see the Magentis Koup everyday in Brunei since it’s not even in production yet??the pic is juz a renderin/prediction on wat it will looks like.weird la u.haha!!i think u mz hav meant the Forte Koup.

• yeah yeah fote koup bro, even my statement I said koup (referring to Forte). Never said a word about the menengitis koup. :p

• Alpha on Apr 20, 2010 at 6:52 pm

the rear kinda looks like a Renault to me.i’m still not convince of korean’s reliabilitiy.although it looks quite good.anyone care to give reasons why korean’s are better than jap or conti(in Msia.i knw the koreans are kicking butts elsewhere.)??perhaps if the resale value is better,then koreans are the way to go.gee gee gee,baby baby baby!!(dunno y i did this.haha!)

• omahabojan on Apr 20, 2010 at 7:01 pm

Not sure Alpha, my guess is the reliability should be better than the previous generation(s). Kia wouldn’t come out with a nice car without good reliability to back it up. I can’t wait for the new Optima to arrive. If the Sportage comes out first, lagi headache, which one to choose. Both also very nice.

• libralcl on Apr 20, 2010 at 6:56 pm

Hot hot hot….sweat ~~

• incredible on Apr 20, 2010 at 6:57 pm

with this image,i think the new coming proton perdana replacement r&d must work very hard to challenge the korean design…….suprising it’s a kia…..

• xatomic on Apr 20, 2010 at 7:08 pm

Shucks who says there is no market here in Msia?

I would want a D segment coupe (note: non luxury) ..I think they look amazing, sporty and also masculine (cos big enough). What choice we have here? a 206 CC? too feminine to me? Others i could think of – miata, VW EOS – more of roadsters to me… we can only drool over the overpriced 3 series coupes..

perhaps 10k above the normal sedan version and yes pls bring in manual cars too!!

• awg1031 on Apr 20, 2010 at 8:08 pm

awesome design!!

• shawal on Apr 20, 2010 at 8:15 pm

AWESOME! , it’ll be cool if they’d make a 400bhp+ version + 4 wheel drive…but dats askin too much from kia

• magic on Apr 20, 2010 at 8:48 pm

COOL CHOPS!

• Gajen on Apr 20, 2010 at 9:03 pm

very nice but the rear lights and roofline are from jag

• think on Apr 20, 2010 at 9:07 pm

the sedan itself fantastic

• tamaki on Apr 21, 2010 at 12:20 am

look alike nissan altima coupe.

• davidoberry on Apr 21, 2010 at 12:21 am

Im only can say, If the badge of this Car, put on jpanaese brand – H or T…

Sure can sell very hot !!

But, Malaysian minds set… ban Kia… Naza also the same~

• From financial point, the Kia/Naza isn’t that good of a buy since it’s resell value is still low (current market). Another problem is after service.

But this is the new batch of design, maybe the resell value will rise some bit for these models since it’s nice (and as long as there is more than enough mechanics that know how to fix this car up)

• alpha999 on Apr 21, 2010 at 9:17 am

come bck another 100 years…..to M’sia…they will still emerge top sellers

• super on Apr 21, 2010 at 2:50 am

cheap price for foreign car
    hi maintenance long terms
    super cool design brand in this century, exterior & interior
    average fuel consumption compare to other
    good engine performance
    handling ok
    space ok

i will buy one for sure if there is no other competitor to satisfy my desire ^_^
    good job kia

• Maintenance oki comparable to others.. just parts when warranty runs out.
      Solution, drive 3 years then sell.

• Cynical on Apr 21, 2010 at 10:14 am

“hi maintenance long terms”? Are you a fortune teller?

• nabill on Apr 21, 2010 at 4:57 am

ya the rear looks alot like the renault megane coupe…

• mynuszero on Apr 21, 2010 at 8:58 am

the koreans are not going after the Japs……never bothered…..they are going after the Europeans dudes……thats why they have europeans designing their cars…..so we shud be able to assume the european quality will go in as well.

japs u ask me…..well the are reaching that end of the cycle where they will look like how they started…..problematic cars and low sale….need to work hard to capture the market again.

but then above mentioned only applies to the rest of the world…..in Msia….only T & H rulez……cant solely blaim the buyers when u can only sell the car after 9yrs……if after 3-4yrs any car resale value will be good…..wat to do….gomen and banks are more interested in making money than providing good service…. something that depreciates belongs to the bank for 9 yrs….by the time it becomes ours…..its just a pile of junk.

Another thing is anything assembled in this “tak apa” land is all crap…..Kia or Naza or Honda or Merc……its like u buying a RM1K Lego but u cant make a solid structure out of it because u ignore all the screw ups along the way.

• 4G63tDSM on Apr 21, 2010 at 5:43 pm

“Another thing is anything assembled in this “tak apa” land is all crap…..Kia or Naza or Honda or Merc……its like u buying a RM1K Lego but u cant make a solid structure out of it because u ignore all the screw ups along the way.”

Took the words out of my mouth.

Malaysia has a long ways to go before we learn to put cars together properly. If they STILL can’t line up door panels in a 3rd year in production Honda Accord properly, you can imagine what sort of monkeys were putting your car together…….. (if its first batch, I can understand and probably forgive….)

• Anti fer on Apr 21, 2010 at 9:00 am

toyota don’t deserved any respect

• TheophilusChin on Apr 21, 2010 at 9:08 am

Thank you guys! Never though these renderings will be so well-received.

• Admittedly I am one who used to look down on Korean cars when they firs appeared here in Malaysia. Most of their cars look cheap and rip offs designs from elsewhere. But look at them now. Korean cars outsells other imports in the UK. If only proton could follow……what a pity.

• yippi33 on Apr 21, 2010 at 10:14 am

its an audi with a kia batch…

• leng chai on Apr 21, 2010 at 1:15 pm

wow!! korean car..now days better look awesome..after 5 to 7 years maybe same level wth japs and conti car…..

• Mad Cat on Apr 21, 2010 at 7:08 pm

Their Theta engines are already being sold to Mitsubishi, Jeep and Chrysler to rebadge and use as their own!

• Alifz on Apr 21, 2010 at 1:16 pm

Seriously Macho.. If the price is good no harm to get one of it..Hopefully 2.0T engine..lol

• Ash Menon on Apr 21, 2010 at 2:32 pm

I never thought I’d say it, but this is actually sexier than the Forte Koup! Excellent work, Theo!

How do you do it? 2D CGing in Photoshop, or using 3D Modelling?

• paultan fan on Apr 21, 2010 at 5:59 pm

like it so much

• james clarkson on Apr 26, 2010 at 6:45 pm

mean really really mean!superrrr

• BoringMOOMOO on Apr 29, 2010 at 4:20 am

Go korean!

Korean cars is the 4th largest car company now in the world !!!!

as for proton?