Honda Freed “premium compact MPV” – RM112,980

LATEST: Honda Freed Review – first impressions in Indonesia

Honda Malaysia has launched the Freed, which the company describes as a “premium compact MPV” in a new market segment. The “premium” slant is meant to distance this seven-seater from rivals’ compact MPVs, and the Freed’s price of RM112,980 (OTR with insurance) backs up the positioning – it’s costlier than the Nissan Grand Livina 1.8 and the much larger Toyota Innova, for instance.

The Freed has a unique trump card however – automatic sliding doors that can be operated from the key fob (and from within the car, of course). These doors come with anti-pinch sensors and open to a gap of 600 mm. Honda also points out the low 410 mm height from the ground to the Freed’s floor; this plus grip handles enable easy access for children and the elderly, it says.

The doors open to a “walkthrough cabin” that has four “captain chairs” for the first two rows and third row seats that fold up sideways, like in old scool 4X4s. Up front is a dual layer dashboard with the instrument binnacle situated ahead of the driver. Everything else is in the middle – an aftermarket 2-DIN Alpine stereo with USB port, a chunky gearknob and the air-con controls. The parking brake is a foot brake. Safety kit wise, the Freed comes with dual airbags, ABS with EBD, Brake Assist and “neck-shock mitigation seat” – the latter basically reduces whiplash injury in an accident, although Honda’s term for it sounds very bombastic.

The Freed sits on the Jazz/City platform, although its 2,740 mm wheelbase is quite a bit longer than the City’s 2,550 mm. The wheelbase is actually 140 mm longer than the Grand Livina’s although the Nissan is longer overall. The drivetrain is similar to the what we’re familiar with in the City – a 1.5-litre single-cam i-VTEC paired to five-speed automatic. For this application, the gear ratios are shorter and the 116 bhp/146 Nm engine makes 2 bhp less and 1 Nm more than the City. The steering is EPS, suspension consists of MacPherson struts up front and torsion beam at the rear, while the brakes are front discs and rear drums.

We’ve already driven the Freed and visited the Indonesian plant where it rolls out from, and our impressions and verdict will be coming your way soon. For the meantime, check out the live images from this morning’s launch.

GALLERY: Honda Freed Launch Live Photos
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1066]

GALLERY: Honda Freed Colors
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1074]

GALLERY: Honda Freed Exterior
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1073]

GALLERY: Honda Freed Interior
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1072]

VIDEO: Honda Freed

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• TheFonz on Apr 22, 2010 at 2:22 pm

Another MPV to be consider

• HirumaKecil on Apr 23, 2010 at 9:11 am

Better wait for Exora turbo, then upgrade the brakes, air-bag, and anything necessary…. japanese Freed got 6 star, but this mpv is manufactured in Indonesia.. still got 6 star.. hurm.. i’m sure its not….

• WJJ1989 (Member) on Apr 23, 2010 at 3:18 pm

this car not for poor people…… can get 2 exoras…… and almost same price with innova

• Peter on Apr 24, 2010 at 9:52 am

Hey , bro……This car also got 6 stars…..

You know why????

The equipments assembling in Indonesia is imported from japan….

What Indonesia does is just assembling through the machines and equipments….

Honda is a quality company……Its not like Toyota…..

• Derrick C on Apr 24, 2010 at 3:51 pm

Mr Peter

I think you must b either a Honda fan or Honda salesman.

To me, both Toyota & Honda are good cars.

Anyway, my comment to the new Freed is the car is quite nice in term of design, but should be underpower based on the 1.5 engine. I have seen the real car the other day and it’ size is definately a bit too big for the 1.5 engine..

• Hi Derrick,

I totally agreed with you… i think most likely his a sales man from power of dreams….. lol!

• ya u right..! mr peter is my fren and he is honda salesman…

• i have just test drive n found out it’s not bad.. quite powerful but not for racing..
            no doubt on the capacity.. just the interior is a bit low class.. no premium feel as for the price…something need to upgrade such as cushion cover (looks very cheap like alza..)… n those plastic feel surrounding… (if with a little touch-up people don’t mind to pay for its price…

• Benjamin on May 03, 2010 at 11:33 pm

i think for those can afford would rather pay more to buy Stream, while those Honda enthusiasts or fanboys would rather buy FR-V/EDiX at the same price eventhough without warranty.

• NaQal on Apr 22, 2010 at 2:22 pm

walayehh.. cool seyh

• jci...kel on Apr 23, 2010 at 4:35 pm

mahal gile!! RM113k untuk 1.5 liter enjin single cam, dah la platfom city/jazz..rupa pun teruk…dah rupa mcm alza je..baik beli alza, tp alza pun buruk jugal…

• hayusri on Apr 28, 2010 at 9:08 pm

what about air cond..I mean got blower channel at the back…

• betul la mahal sangt.baik la beli city..atau kalu nak jg hrga macm 2 beli civic lg bagus

• kalu nak yang murah dan ade kelas, saya cadangkan..satu kereta ni…semua orang naik ni..

• wolfsburg on Apr 22, 2010 at 2:23 pm

A very ambitious price tag!
    Good luck Honda..

• fuckin ugly and fuckin expensive

• mohsin on Apr 22, 2010 at 3:33 pm

Agree! Saw it at Bandung.

• Called MPV because it can carry 1 extra passenger than a sedan, 1 extra row of seats than a sedan, and less boot space than a sedan, uglier than a sedan and less powerful than a sedan.

At 112K…..a lot of quite luxury, more comfortable, more powerful sedan alternative to this. Guess what, from honda itself, civic 1.8, city and others like mitsu lancer etc

• Hello Bro, People says No Money No Talk. Let those with plenty of moneys choose
      their own dreams car laa. Don’t kepoh leh tak……
      Adios Freed!!

• Dodi..they dun av money but big stomach!!!! haha
        what they gonna say about B class..!!! expensvie?
        Come on la msian this is not PROTTTTTTTTTTTT…on

• keluangman on Apr 23, 2010 at 3:14 pm

so fuckin’ agree with u bro…

• monomania on Apr 24, 2010 at 5:01 am

hmm look at all the 400+ comments and you are at your best to be judgmental by the looks or the cover. if you cant afford to get one then just keep your mouth shut lo.. exora / alza are your best alternatives… Besides No Money No Talk like Dodi said, always remember this:
        What You Give Is What You Get!

• 1penang on Apr 22, 2010 at 2:24 pm

kalu ada budak duduk kt blkg, kena langgaq blkg mmg mampuih la…

• 6star rating mpv laaa beb.. ini bukannya Alza..wth..

• Ketaku ketamu on Apr 22, 2010 at 3:46 pm

ada pernah tgk crash test dari belakang? fikirkan risikonya…

• It seems you don’t understand the meaning of 6 star jncap, you should go to their website and see for yourself. The car might look small and filmsy but the protector cage wasn’t. The cage is much more stronger than most of the cars you see on the road today. They should have the documentation there.

• how come it got 6 star if only got 2 airbags?? not possible.
            and never ever compare this junk with the one at japan~not the same quality

• Mad Cat on Apr 23, 2010 at 11:35 pm

Where can I find the J-NCAP website? 2 airbags only but can get 6 Stars!!! This must be great!

• theanswer on Apr 22, 2010 at 6:17 pm

common mind set..if those hatchback or mpv were that dangerous..why in the hell they still produced these kind of vehicle? golf gti is hatchback..hyundai strex is mpv without ‘ass’..still running on the road..still selling..so any problem?

• mabukx on Apr 22, 2010 at 2:24 pm

haha

• jon joen on Apr 22, 2010 at 2:26 pm

got more live pic on modulo version?

• yawn …. might as well get the Civic.

• Ketaku ketamu on Apr 22, 2010 at 3:46 pm

that one will be discontinued soon my friend…

• 4agze (Member) on Apr 22, 2010 at 4:22 pm

the one discontinued is the FD2R my friend..or people called it Type-R

• Mazda MPS is a stoopid guy on Apr 22, 2010 at 5:33 pm

my friend can you even properly read the article on the FD2R

• chk4122 on Apr 22, 2010 at 2:29 pm

Nice MPV, but somehow the rear end (especially the rear lamp) spoiled the overal good looking MPV.
    The “Premium” price tag will also let many people think twice before go for this MPV.

• klguy on Apr 22, 2010 at 2:30 pm

so cheap. dirt cheap. hike it up to 160k also malaysians will buy. honda ma.

• Please… not all malaysian that stoooopid k.. Honda so what, if price not right still got Nissan, Toyota that provides better value.

• paultan fan on Apr 22, 2010 at 7:14 pm

dengan harga ni just untuk 1.5 VTEC, I thk Exora, Chery Eastar, Naza Rondo, NGL is much2 better in term of value for money. kereta ni hanya lebih nyer pintu sliding auto jer

• not all…but there are some if not more…

• I think the competition of Freed is against Estima or similar class but with 1.5 engine? Forget about it!

• can you share with us how you classed the freed in the same class as an Estima?

• umno juara tipu rakyat on Apr 22, 2010 at 2:31 pm

113k for an ugly 1.5…another overpriced product brought to you by honda!

• umno juara tipu rakyat on Apr 22, 2010 at 2:32 pm

but i love that alpine HU though..wicked!!

• undang2x on Apr 22, 2010 at 2:33 pm

Too expensive for a miserable 1.5 litre engine, Go for a Naza Wish instead.

• mohd hafizzul on Apr 22, 2010 at 2:35 pm

Mahal supo gapo…patut bowoh Rm100 ribu, ni mahu lebih Rm100 ribu….
    Hampeeehhhhhhhhhhh……….

• Ahmad on Apr 22, 2010 at 3:19 pm

Bro, dio mahal supo beruk, tapi beruk buleh rukah nyor and wat duit. Beruk ni jenih beruk perabih duit

• Honda nate beruk…..ramai kakloh sek klate sini.

• amontre on Apr 22, 2010 at 6:06 pm

mahal2 rama beli jugok.. kijo gapo la banyok pitih sunggoh…

• edzran nawi on May 01, 2010 at 9:21 pm

hahahaha…..ore kelate kijo cop duit……kalu tengok…keto mahal semua org kelate melayu banyak pakai….

• Cleve on Apr 22, 2010 at 2:35 pm

113k? Better get Innova with 2.0L engine.

Bye bye Freed!!!

• _xXx_ on Apr 22, 2010 at 5:49 pm

Innova yg berenjin lorry tu??

• alldisc on Apr 22, 2010 at 6:20 pm

lori guna enjin petrol VVTI ke?

• victor lee on Apr 22, 2010 at 7:22 pm

vvti engine not world class engine bro, vtec yes, btw innova interior more plastic and worst than vios, really cheapskit toyota come out with this kind of material on 2.0l, but wut do they are mass production. Same like vios, rm70’000 without air bags, still got idiot go and buy.

• ok what?mpv should use lorry engine,need those tork.
            the real crime is,using underpower engine,small hp,small tork, on a mpv,and price at premium price

• paultan fan on Apr 22, 2010 at 7:18 pm

agree. for rm 112 ribu 1.5 VTEC small size. I thk NGL 1.6, NGL 1.8, Chery Eastar 2.0/ 2.4, Innova 2.0, Exora 1.6 Campro CPS is much2 better and value for money. Also Naza Rondo 2.0

• 47ronin on Apr 22, 2010 at 11:06 pm

dont forget Toyota ISIS bro, 2005 model can get less than RM110K

• “…powerful one motion sillhouete…”
    “…energetic sharp character line…”
    “…a shadow of gradation alike sculpture cut-ot…”

HAHAHA.. reminds me of standard bullshit lines when during crit sessions…

…also reminds me of those japanese pencil boxes with meaningless english phrases…. like “..Super Karate Monkey Death Car..”

• yeah.. this crap reminds me of hentai aliens. damn freakish.

• Mad Cat on Apr 23, 2010 at 11:34 pm

I don’t understand all that. Why not just tell me it’s the poor man’s B-Class? Easy to understand, and it’s SO good. :P

• snakepit on Apr 22, 2010 at 2:38 pm

kat side dia mcm bekas tayar lori baru lalu je…

• 20v_ke35 on Apr 22, 2010 at 2:38 pm

When toyota going to sell Voxy/Isis here?

• Ahmad on Apr 22, 2010 at 3:28 pm

That is why Toyota making tons of money. They positioned their cars according to customers’ needs and affordability and they can sell their models with cheaper price. For H, they positioned their cars as a premium models with much more expensive and thus, less cars were sold but generated high profit as well. So, both of them still making huge profits every year.

• victor lee on Apr 22, 2010 at 7:23 pm

Yup agree, thats y toyota cars not consider a good car because they only fullfill customers need? buy really customers needs? a vios without airbags?

• ok la Beb. Tapi $, if below 100K, SURE LIKE GORENG PISANG PANAS.

• 80K only nia on Apr 22, 2010 at 6:24 pm

Should sell for 80K (max) or below…

overprice for now…

• paultan fan on Apr 22, 2010 at 7:20 pm

agree. should the price on par with NGL because both from Japan and both import from Indon

• niamafufu on Apr 24, 2010 at 1:39 am

NGL is from Segambut,rawang,selangor,malaysia…and built from machine + local ppl…

• Front look nice, but rear look quite ugly for me..RM112K for 1.5cc MPV is quite expensice..will it be underpower for this?

• Ketaku ketamu on Apr 22, 2010 at 3:51 pm

might be.. let’s just wait for the result by paul to test it out…
      i wud buy exora instead.. looks more elegant than this

• paultan fan on Apr 22, 2010 at 7:22 pm

agree. exora much better and more roomy. also consider buy Chery Eastar 2.0 for only rm 73 ribu, naza rondo 2.0 for rm 82 ribu, NGL 1.8 or Innova. Much more cheper

• HFYap on Apr 22, 2010 at 2:41 pm

Quote:
    Kyen says:
    22/4/2010 at 2:27 pm
    yawn …. might as well get the Civic.

Always compare apple with an apple, don’t ever compare apple with durian.

You can’t compare a Freed with a Civic because they are in different segment, get it?

• seliparjepun on Apr 22, 2010 at 2:43 pm

beli jangan tak beli

• Dark Magicians on Apr 22, 2010 at 2:44 pm

The rear design is very bad!
    Others still not bad~

• Well I guess the only Honda model with below RM100k price tag would be just City.

• leekowchai on Apr 22, 2010 at 2:52 pm

RM112k, and honda is naming it free(d) ? It looks like great though.

• budleee on Apr 22, 2010 at 2:55 pm

hmm interesting… shape..

a poor man’s alphard with its auto sliding doors…

ah… honda does not mind if this does not sell well, since its only imported..

no worries for them…

to boxy for me… :D..

• Hondaman on Apr 22, 2010 at 2:55 pm

The ugliest MPV so far!! I hate the rear part especially the “missing bumper” and yet another overpriced honda. Honda Malaysia please wake up..you are on the top of your rivals in term of price!!

Mbrrrrrrrrrr…!!!

• omahabojan on Apr 22, 2010 at 2:56 pm

Can’t wait to check it out, see if it’s got the edge over Livina’s interior

• made in INDON, and selling at 112K?? load of crap…

• To : PREM….your Geography must be poor and your knowledge must be very shallow plus you are so illiterate & uneducated person….Don’t ever use shortened name for a country name, even the mat salleh never call Indonesia with shortened name only here in Malaysia…I m sure you dont want your country to be called shorthened to MALAS… instead of Malaysia, right ?

• fisker on Apr 22, 2010 at 4:27 pm

Sir Elton John.. the shortened version of Malaysia will be Malay. OK? you asked kid also can answer this correctly and logically.

• Ketaku ketamu on Apr 22, 2010 at 4:31 pm

Usually, people wud refer to malay for malaysia.. aussie for australia.. thai for thailand… etc. mat salleh knew about that.. they wont say i-n-d-o-n because they dont even know how to pronounce it.. does that word has a deep meaning? if no, then shut up

• malaysia: MAS
        indonesia: INDO
        shud be…. ehehe

• cybermaster98 on Apr 22, 2010 at 4:53 pm

Whats your problem John? What nonsense are u talking bout geography, being illiterate and uneducated? Ure not making any sense. Its perfectly fine calling Indonesia using Indon. If u have an issue with that then take it up with your foreign ministry. But never come here and blindly attack anybody without reason. Your comments are utter rubbish and unwelcome. This is a car forum and if you have nothing to say about cars then be silent.

• to JOHN, i have many indonesian frens…. sadly they call malaysia MALAY! do u know that?? n they never seem to call their own country indonesia either?

• Almost 2 x Alza price …….. same 1.5 model small MPV 7 seated , during Alza launched some people same over price , now this model over and over price .
    I checked in Japan Alza (Toyota Passo) about RM59K and Vois about RM39K , come to M’sia local brand Alza RM55~64K , but under Toyota brand Vois RM75~88K , Alza value for money , but some quality improvement was needed.

• Squawk on Apr 22, 2010 at 4:30 pm

i-Vtec wor…. :-)

• paultan fan on Apr 22, 2010 at 7:27 pm

Toyota Passo in Japan have stepronic gear but in Malaysia not. Agree Honda Free overpriced. You can get Honda Stream in Japan as low as RM 50 ribu

• in japan car is very affordable no doubt bout that……one reason for that is bcoz of japanese regulation…u can just goog for that info eg cost of owning car in japan. than u know y..
        we should be compare price with sing, thai, indon, bru, phili, viet, bangla..baru btul

• that is the car only la….there are other things need to be paid in japan…find out!!

• sph-utm on Apr 22, 2010 at 3:03 pm

mahal// maybe org len mampu beli…

• meng1677 on Apr 22, 2010 at 3:04 pm

pergh boleh start booking kat mudah.com.my dah……

• Test drive it before say anything babe…

• tadoc.... on Apr 23, 2010 at 12:01 am

that right bro….test drive it first…then u can comment….

• Gambit on Apr 22, 2010 at 3:10 pm

Went to Honda Imavest at Ampang yesterday before they launched the new freed. At first was considering to trade-in my civic 2.0 with this freed. but after testing it and further check on the interior and exterior, plus knowing that the price might be tag around 110K++ i decided no. It is simply too cramp for me to drive (since 6 feet tall) and even to seat at any place in the car. it is just too tiny! And the seat fabric is just not like a premium mpv quality at all.

However, i am now considering to trade my civic to toyota Rush since its got 7 seats. i need more seats since my family is growing. Plus, toyota rush got quite decent fuel consumption (as long you dont drive like F1 racer), nice design, comfort seating both space and cushion, and low road tax and insurance premium (this year malaysia car insurance price will increase up to 21%). But con is that the interior styling which is soo manual and old skool, compared to honda. damn.. no other better choice btw.

• mr_3m on Apr 22, 2010 at 3:30 pm

the rush’s ride is will not be that comfortable since it is actually a Terios/Kembara cousin, if u insist on a 7 seater, u would be better to consider the Grand Livina, its handling & ride will be more car-like as u r movin from a Civic, or better still save up and buy a Honda Stream (it is a 7-seater sitting on a Civic platform)… the Stream will feel very similar to your Civic…

• mr_3m on Apr 22, 2010 at 3:40 pm

i mean Kembara replacement = Nautica

• AlfaRomeo=Ferrari'sCousin on Apr 22, 2010 at 4:05 pm

For your info, under the skin of Rush is an AVANZA!!!!

• niamafufu on Apr 24, 2010 at 1:47 am

yes…last time i was considering whether choose rush o livina…in d end my family brought livina…until now still no any regrets….bttr pickup speed and alots bttr in suspension,fuel consumption ….dats the main reason i go for livina

• you should really consider the Grand Livina 1.8

• U shud consider stream for high budget or exora for small budget

• Black Dog on Apr 22, 2010 at 5:28 pm

Yes, the Rush / Nautica look so childish! More suitable for your 18 year old kid, if you don’t mind the rediculous high price tag!

• kazos on Apr 22, 2010 at 6:56 pm

no rear aircond vents…. aiyoo manyak panas kalau park @ jalan ditengah2 traffic jam. kena pulak cuaca panas lak tu….

• paultan fan on Apr 22, 2010 at 7:30 pm

saya rasa Naza Citra Rondo 2.0 sesuai untuk awak. Enjin sama macam enjin Lancer GT 2.0

• paultan fan on Apr 22, 2010 at 7:32 pm

juga Chery Eastar 2.0 baru, Proton Exora 1.6 CPS, Nissan Grand Livina 1.8 Impul pilihan baik untuk awak. Kalau byk budget boleh plih Honda Stream 1.8. Tapi compare Honda Stream ngan Rondo, saya rasa Rondo lebih powerfull dan luas

• Gambit on Apr 22, 2010 at 8:49 pm

Thanks for all the suggestions. before this, i also thought of changing to honda stream too, but after test drive, i find it too cramped and lowed especially the roof design. as i am quite tall (184cm), it is hard for me to move around the car. even my wife who is only 159cm fell quite the same. The roof of honda stream is designed to be lower than the civic, which is uncomfortable, especially when holding our little daughter coz she loves to stand on our lap while travelling. this is why we opt for tall vehicle, particularly suv. then we was considering captiva (since we want 7 seaters only) but i was afraid of the spare part costs, maintenance cost and price when want to sell it later. i’ve heard chevrolet fleet very hard to sell to second hand car shop. and alphard was one of our intention too but the price tag, fuel consumption, road tax and insurance premium is too high.

As for Livina, i have never test drive it before but my first impression, the design is not so attractive, since i am still young (26yo). It is more suitable for uncles over 40yo with 2/3 kids. its really not my taste. Plus, i am not sure how reliable is the quality and how the service is going to be conducted since i prefer to do it at official workshop. Like Honda, they have soo many services centres whereby it is easy for me to service my car whenever and wherever we are.

Same doubt about rondo and chery. how reliable is the care and where to service it?

In conclusion, we thought of buying Toyota Rush for the space, engine reliability, service and maintenance friendly, cheap (RM 94k) compared to other 7 seater suv. Yes, its got very bad interior design but really have nothing else to choose from. engine 1.5L is a bit small but since we are driving in KL mostly, so no need big engine, save gas and cheap insurance + road tax. Bumpy ride like kembara? i have to test drive it first them. i drove kembara when i was studying and really hate the fuel consumption and the bumpy rides. it really damn bumpy. i hope toyota rush is not as bad as kembara.

what do you guys think?

• Gambit on Apr 22, 2010 at 8:52 pm

owh and one more thing, actually toyota rush got rear aircond, but honda stream dont have. it will be very very useful to have this rear aircond in our hot and humid weather

• kethon27 on Apr 23, 2010 at 12:04 am

If you are not really into performance vehicle, the Perodua Alza quite pretty suites your needs.. I mean look at the price tag.. Original Alza is from Toyota, so i think you dont have to worry about spare parts as Toyota shares parts with Perodua. Yes it might look cheap but for premium quality as what you mentioned Alphard has better interior quality you cant afford or maybe you not willing to spend too much on car.. :P

Btw bro..Toyota Rush is a Full-Time 4Wheel drive, i dont think it will be fuel efficient.
        And you did mentioned considering Stream which cost RM150K..That kind of price you can have lot choices.. Try recond 2.4 Honday Odyssey, a fren of mine just bought it at RM140K year 2006 (4Wheel Drive). 2Wheel Drive will be slightly cheaper.

Try drop by at Naza, heard they having promotion for Toyota Wish (No rear aircond)
        Or you can try your luck shopping around Genting Klang, Setapak roads..there have plenty of AP car seller there..

• kethon27 on Apr 23, 2010 at 12:10 am

Sorry… Rush is powered with 2WD…not 4WD
          I was thinking about Rav4… hahaha

• You should buckle up your daughter instead of letting her stand on your lap. Even a tank would not prevent her from injuries should you have an accident.

• DinKnight on Apr 23, 2010 at 10:43 am

Good, I was about to say the same thing. Fathers and mothers must change their attitudes when it comes to their kids safety in moving vehicles.

• pablopabla on Apr 23, 2010 at 1:06 pm

Yes, please do the sensible thing – don’t let your child stand on your or your passenger’s lap whilst you are driving.

• Gambit on Apr 23, 2010 at 3:50 pm

haiya u guys.. i know la about those thing. but the topic here is different. if u are bored and have no idea in your brain to share with this topic, why dont just scroll down and see any topic related to your interest. dont just blank shoot people thinking that they everyone else is idiot, and you are the only saint alive. you guys are so funny la. hahaha

• niamafufu on Apr 24, 2010 at 1:51 am

if u are tall…dun buy compact mpv…for comfatable btr buy a sedan ^^

• JACK HAMMER on Apr 23, 2010 at 11:22 am

Bro..

why not just take AVANZA..
      since RUSH = AVANZA (same platform different shell only)
      same engine also.. 3SZ-VE

Ya, mybe for u it looks OK.. it looks cool..
      but the rest uf us know that u just drive an upgraded AVANZA..
      and its boooring..

Sorry…. but for a CIVIC owner like u..
      RUSH is just a pathetic ride.. its no better than AVANZA lah..

wake up!!

• Gambit on Apr 23, 2010 at 3:56 pm

@JACK HAMMER: you are right, rush is no competition to civic in term of performance and comfort. civic is really great and i love it but we are in need of a bigger space vehicle. and you know the choices that we have out there is quite limited especially in the range of 90-130k. i do not want to spend too much money on cars if i can spend it to buy few other properties. as much as i do hate the tax system and gov policy, it is really sad for me leaving wih the option of these cars. it is sad to all of us actually.

• selekohboi on Apr 24, 2010 at 4:21 am

well GLavina isnt really a bad choice, with rm60 petrol can forth.back JB-Nilai. if u put 17″rim, tinted, impul skirt & spoiler = i must it’s quite “ngamcam”, dark colour ofcz. cheerio !!!

• Shaycoat on Apr 22, 2010 at 3:10 pm

Syabas Honda! You have redefined the word LUXURY in Malaysia! After this Malaysian can call their cars as luxury when they have power door only. Syabas!

• it more like a 4 seater to me, & the 3rd roll is just a bonus lah. BTW, this mini MPV is ~ RM80k FOB Japan.

• walalala on Apr 22, 2010 at 3:11 pm

price tag and design to be considered deeply…

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 22, 2010 at 3:14 pm

I am not so sure Honda can sell this here. I understand rich people with a big family will go for for other premium brands which are bigger. Making something small, putting honda badge, and suprisingly looks cheap does not go that well with me. Maybe that H is worth Rm12k…?

• hahahaha on Apr 22, 2010 at 3:14 pm

mahainya….kualiti pun tatau lagi….

• HONDAN on Apr 22, 2010 at 3:17 pm

This mpv is manufactured in Indonesia (Asean) and it is supposed to be cheap.
    The local distributor is damm greedy………………..
    Go and check the price diffence of this MPV and Civic in Japan, you will understand what I say
    They really thought malaysians are bodoh……may be those who buy really are……

• paultan fan on Apr 22, 2010 at 7:35 pm

agree in Japan price for Honda Stream just below than RM 60 thousand compare in bolehland RM 160 thousand. RM 100 thousand for tax and greedy Honda Malaysia

• this is bcoz car owner car about ~5-6 yrs due to japan regulation…just u goog bout that..that y they export used car to other country…it not so cheap to keep car more than 5yrs in japan hence not very intelligent to sale high price except lux car for rich peop..im maybe wrong here..just search the info by urself then it be much better rite

• eposuer on Apr 23, 2010 at 10:35 am

yeah u rite..many m’sian compared car price directly with japan price and made a conclusion japan sell car cheaper in their land compare in m’sia..sigh..find out the ownership cost in japan!!!

• Another dugong from honda,what a crap car!!!!!

• It’s a hongdah P.O.S. (piece of sh*t)

• this palia spec with $$$ only can be found here in Malaysia! Malaysia BOLEH!

• mr_3m on Apr 22, 2010 at 3:21 pm

honda living in dreamland…. i know some people will still buy this even when it is overpriced….

but RM112k for a 1.5 MPV and a supposedly tagged as premium compact MPV???? .

let me see if I can customised an Alza interior with some high grade leather and make some automatic sliding door conversion and probably even that custom modifications will not double the price to RM112k…. in fact with RM112k, I can buy 2 Alzas, and carry 12 people (though I still need another driver in the group)….. heheheh…

• i’d buy juara over this junk

• yea, i might agree with u… i think p1 should reconsider to build new juara version, with new engine and new design..

• Ahmad on Apr 22, 2010 at 3:38 pm

hello bro..last time you said that you would buy wheelbarrow rather than buy a juara when it first launch. but now, you want to buy a juara when Freed introduce in our market. Which one do you want, wheelbarrow or juara?

• Seriously yo?

• Black Dog on Apr 22, 2010 at 5:32 pm

Juara is the most ugliest monster I’ve come across! Will extinct like the flower horn fish.

• blue-eyes on Apr 22, 2010 at 7:45 pm

In Japan the ugliest car i ever seen is Mitsubishi Town Box. When it came to Malaysia, it was transform into Proton Juara. Mitsu + Proton = Junkcar.

• huhu.. what ever it price.. people look at it as HONDA>.

• i think if u put honda badge at juara, people still praise it like hell too.. hahhaha its only a brand..

• mr_3m on Apr 22, 2010 at 3:24 pm

no matter how premium it is… it should only be a RM80-90k car here… max around 95k with all the goodies inside….

• SedusaX4 on Apr 22, 2010 at 3:31 pm

Question: Imagine you’re driving the Honda Freed and you have arrived at the enterance of a 5 star luxury hotel. Do you think that the Freed will give a “Premium” impression as for the price suggests of RM112K?

• Ahmad on Apr 22, 2010 at 3:40 pm

They sent a PREMIUM GUARD to chase you away..hah hah hah

• Ketaku ketamu on Apr 22, 2010 at 4:00 pm

“Wow! That is one huge piece of crap..” as a passers by would say

• Guards says: Nak hantar sayur lalu kot belakang, ada signboard Loading Area, pintu dapur hotel dekat situ.

• Scuddie on Apr 22, 2010 at 10:01 pm

Well, i think it will “at least” feel more “premium” than some of you exora for the jockey as it carrying the badge “H” rather than the “P”..the fact is that ruthless whether or not u like it..

• I believe in this case the overrated H badge is deemed worthless since the overall package is just junk. I’m no blind supporter, but this is one case where the exora is a much better package than the hongdah.

• any reason given why positioned it premium when the looks, the engine, the interior, the breaks, etc are just common? … just because of the door?.. honda know better but to me it should at least position between lavina 1.6 and lavina 1.8… then reduce the stream price into 13x… then reduce the city price too.. then reduce the crv price too.. civic too.. accord too.. ex5 too..

• mr_3m on Apr 22, 2010 at 3:43 pm

yeah Honda should bloody reduce the price of all their vehicles… it’s not as if they are loss-making…. in fact I think Honda profit margin in Malaysia is really good and some more their SCs are probably milking money from all the volumes they have… no wonder they are taking things for granted lately…. haiyoohhhh… wakey-wakey…. time to be realistic…

• Ahmad on Apr 22, 2010 at 3:49 pm

I will put your wish to reduce the above cars price into our consideration. Your request will be processed in 10 to 15 years. In the meantime, we would advise you to buy the car at that price or you can use our world best public transportation which as promised right after we increased the petrol price, 2 years ago. Do still remember that? Yes, our promise to you in 2008. Please enjoy the best public transportation in the world….

• Bolehlander on Apr 22, 2010 at 4:26 pm

Current City also overpriced la…sigh

• Jaas Tore on Apr 22, 2010 at 3:38 pm

Hahaha what a fugly car. The honda exec nearest to the camera didn’t want to be seen with the car, and the other honda exec had that ‘dude, wtf?’ expression. Priceless.

• mr_3m on Apr 22, 2010 at 3:39 pm

Honda Japan & Malaysia… what on earth are you trying to do????
    first you killed off the NSX replacement…
    then FD Civic Type R is to be discontinued in August 2010…
    then you produce a car that is supposed to evoke the CR-X but you come up with a CR-Z which is good but not great, even if it is a “sporty” hybrid…

What have you now become, Honda? Another Toyota wanna-be? To put in other way, Honda is now like a Toyota in disguise? That is really a shame, if that is the case…

• Mad Cat on Apr 23, 2010 at 6:51 pm

First, they killed off the CRX and nothing happened. They killed off the Prelude and no one said anything. Then they killed off the Integra and no one said anything. Then they killed off the NSX and no one said anything. Then they pulled out of Formula One. Now there’s no more Type R Civic Sedan.

Type R to Type B. B for boring. :( All I have with me are my 1960s die-cast Honda F1 cars, Tamiya F1 cars and the Power of Dreams. Oh yeah and my super posable ASIMO 6″ tall.

• kosmo kar sucks on Apr 24, 2010 at 12:56 am

agreed, honda has lost interest in making cars and only interested in making money.

they used to make decent money through making good cars. but now they turned to make much more money through making “transportation pods” as in those sci-fi futuristic movies.

whether or not we realize it, honda is certainly taking its customer in that direction. maybe toyota also. which is why i have to root for the american who still stick to conventional car shape, which is what a ‘real’ car should look like. just look at the reborn mustang, camaro, and next dodge challenger.

i am not pro-gas guzzler or anti green technology but at least please leave something behind for car enthusiasts, will ya!

• Mad Cat on Apr 24, 2010 at 10:35 am

I think the turning point for Honda came with the Stepwagon and after that they kept reading all those Toyota Way books.

• honda freak? huhuhuh

• freeze on Apr 22, 2010 at 3:44 pm

No audio controls on steering wheel? What kind of premium is this? Even Proton had those since 10 years ago!

• Mazda MPS is a stoopid guy on Apr 22, 2010 at 5:44 pm

nak buat camna mate….people still will buy one…Honda maaa…

• Mad Cat on Apr 23, 2010 at 6:41 pm

This is what you call high-end minimalistic design lah …

• buah pisang on Apr 22, 2010 at 3:45 pm

nice…. but overpriced i think

• Vincent on Apr 22, 2010 at 3:46 pm

CBU from Indo and price at 114K?…Honda must be losing their mind already!

Better get Toyota Wish from AP King, RM 115K, 1.8 D4 engine….even an used and recond unit…

• freeze on Apr 22, 2010 at 4:05 pm

“a used” not “an used”

• English Professor on Apr 22, 2010 at 5:30 pm

Use an in place of a when it precedes a vowel “sound”, not just a vowel. That means it’s “an honor” (the h is silent), but “a UFO” (because it’s pronounced yoo eff oh).

But, the purpose of language is simply for communication, so WTF…

• 4G63tDSM on Apr 22, 2010 at 3:51 pm

Its certainly priced up…..

Can’t blame them…..Perhaps honda is looking for customers one step below the Mercedes A and B class…..

However, between this and possible a new Stream/Wish or a Re-con Wish and any of the other C segment sedans…… its going to be a tough sell regardless 6 seater or not……

Don’t exactly know what demographic honda is really looking for. A buyer that can afford a 112k car usually can stretch a little and get a 156k car. Perhaps Honda is looking to do just that. Pull people in and then upsell to the Stream…..

• Baron on Apr 22, 2010 at 3:52 pm

this is small, ugly and expensive mpv/car.

• Baron…c inside ur pockect! then think 2 open Honda advert, otherwise go 2 PROTTTTTon howroom

• haaa lets consider to buy grand livina impuls then.. hoho

• likehondanotsomuch on Apr 22, 2010 at 3:56 pm

alza come out bash,exora come out bash now honda also bash,,

• some people always complain. why not come out your own dream car instead?

• Tiadaid on Apr 22, 2010 at 5:13 pm

Sorry, this car deserved to bash due to its ridiculous pricing! Peugeot 308 Turbo can sell at 112K and have better features than this car! Are you telling me the extra seats cost more?

• SedusaX4 on Apr 22, 2010 at 6:52 pm

i totally agree. Pug 308 vti is way more value for money than Honda Freed

• Scuddie on Apr 22, 2010 at 10:18 pm

Lolz…i think u’re fooling enough to overlooked the fact that your peugoet 308 turbo is actually locally assembled..it’s not the extra seat that differentiating the price for the two rather than the ridiculous import tax…what a basher..

• Tiadaid on Apr 23, 2010 at 3:03 pm

The car’s CBU from Indonesia. Tax-wise it’s not going to be that high compared with CKDs.

But the most important thing is that Naza & Peugeot still can offer more features than this car at similar price. Better value for money. They can even offer rear blower! The one thing that an MPV in Malaysia needs is offered in a hatchback! If anyone who is in the market for a 5 seater and not need too much space, they should definitely stay away from this van! And if they need space, there are much better alternatives, most of which cost less than this junk!

• Mad Cat on Apr 24, 2010 at 10:50 am

Since Honda is benefitting from zero import duty and practically zero excise duty, can’t they use the profits gained since 2006 to subsidise the price of the Freed?

• keretakura on Apr 22, 2010 at 4:04 pm

Toooooo expensiveeeeee …. BUT people still BUY

• Damn,RM112k? Stooopid honda. ooops i forgot,this is the bolehland,any strategy is boleh jalan, as if malaysian got no brain.

Again with the power of dream,honda bring in to bolehland another kind of cheap fish,in addition to flowerhorn,if u look closely,it look like a fei jau yu “african fish”. Made by our neighbour,and yet so expensive. Please get a livina or innova instead,or perhaps i would recommend a buatan malaysia product,an alza or exora.

Captain chair in middle row? 6 Rating? Honshit….Come on…..Thanks to the good price and innovative captain chair ,those family who want to get a MPV will now prefer LIVINA or Innova. Bye bye Honda….

• Mad Cat on Apr 22, 2010 at 5:32 pm

Why go so far, even the Kia Rondo gives you a damn good 2.0L Theta powered (same engine as Mitsubishi Lancer GT) vehicle being sold in North America, Europe and Oz. Does this thing even have an NCAP rating?

• hahaha, everyone disappointed……all must blame G not honda…..protect p1 and p2……if not, the dianosour mpv will die

• paultan fan on Apr 22, 2010 at 8:38 pm

also agree. tax must lowered to max 20%. td google jumpa artikel Proton nak export 70% kereta. Saya rasa Proton kalau nak export ke luar mest bersaing di negara dengan adil dulu. So bila di dalam negara dah mampu bersaing ( scr adil ), so 70% tu bukan masalah

• HONDAN on Apr 22, 2010 at 4:07 pm

Almost all Japanese cars here are expensive.
    We should really start looking at Korean, their quality are not far off.
    And Forte is a very good example and later the new sonata ( hope the pricing is right!)

• Mazda MPS is a stoopid guy on Apr 22, 2010 at 5:47 pm

don’t lah if everbody start look at korean then korean also getting expensive..what next…last have to go to proton

• tikus on Apr 22, 2010 at 6:47 pm

No lar…China next.

• paultan fan on Apr 22, 2010 at 8:42 pm

china done well now. if not believe, please tomorrow we watch beijing auto show. I heard they will come out with dozen of green car. Korea I thk now almost at par with Japan. Maybe 5 year later, China will dominate world auto industry. Now China is largest car market also largest car producer in the world.

• trav_da_man on Apr 22, 2010 at 4:10 pm

Yet another soulness profit making car selling at ridiculous pricing. Cutting down performance Type R cars and making more so called hybrid cars n general cars selling at ridiculous pricing……..sigh

• I might be ignorant but if Honda were to sell the Freed under 100K, many will line up to buy the car, in months, you will see it everywhere. The brand will lose it’s uniqueness and your interest will start fading.

Don’t compare Honda with Avanza, Exora or G. Livina or even worse the Juara. Look at it as a premium brand where everyone wants one but either couldn’t afford or don’t think it is worth the money. Just like Jaguar, Mercs and BMW, they should cost a lot more cheaper here in Malaysia but why no one complaining? because they are unique, not everyone can have one behind their yard. Chances of people having the same car is a lot more lesser.

I AM SURE! you wouldn’t want to drive a myvi or persona if u can afford something better because everyone is driving the same car or even worse…. same colour!

Think about it my friend, i rather pay more to be unique rather than driving the same car as my colleagues, friends or neighbours.

• Conclusion bout this THING tat wear Honda badge…..I wear Honda badge + not a special Honda model like Type R + uglaire + overpriced = NOT UNIQUE AT ALL EVEN ITS VERY RARE

• Bolehlander on Apr 22, 2010 at 4:32 pm

Honda Msia wants its Freed “Premium Compact MPV” to be unique? Like Jaguar and other exquisite marques? Hmmm….

• ahmed on Apr 22, 2010 at 4:36 pm

huh..very typical..
      Tan Sri Syed bukhari drive Proton Perdana maa.

• normal_user on Apr 22, 2010 at 4:42 pm

I’m sorry, but I find your statement is quite amusing. The reason Honda is selling above 100K has nothing to do of making it rare or becoming unique.

A Jag or a Maser can be unique. But a Honda can’t never be called as ‘unique’ as it is meant for the masses and middle income joes and janes. Its not a premium brand. In Malaysia only, where do we regard Honda, Toyota, Nissan etc as Premium because they’re priced outside the affordable range that an average income earner can buy. In developed countries, these brands are meant even for the low income earners.

If you look at benefits vs price: eg. equipment per RM spent basis, its soo absurd. How premium can it be without side airbags, rear brake discs, electronic stability, premium suspension (instead of torsion beam), full nappa leather trim, wood/metal trim, start button, GPS, skirtings, etc.

Just my 2 sen.

• tikus on Apr 22, 2010 at 7:26 pm

Hai..when Honda said “Premium” it is premium in the mind set

• pablopabla on Apr 23, 2010 at 1:11 pm

True. As far as I am concerned, and having seen the pictures, it’s not worth the money spent. Better to spend lesser on the Grand Livina instead.

The word premium evokes expectations of leather seats / trimmings, multiple airbags, etc ala continental MPVs like Citroen Grand Picasso.

• paultan fan on Apr 22, 2010 at 8:53 pm

agree. premium brand also not have push button start like forte. honda, toyota onlu premium in Malaysia. in developed country, premium brand for honda is acura and toyota is Lexus. The fact you must know we pay tax more than car price and also our honda Malaysia very greedy

• skudap on Jul 16, 2010 at 11:26 pm

what’s wrong with torsion beam? torsion beam is not part of price reduction pratice but to save space instead, there are alot of MPV using torsion beam to have a flat floor pan

• cybermaster98 on Apr 22, 2010 at 4:58 pm

So ull pay a UNIQUE price just to drive a 1.5L average vehicle? Ure not making sense at all man. If u say ull pay RM 1 mil to drive a Jaguar then yes ill say thats unique. But if ure gonna pay this price to drive a 1.5L MPV lookalike with power doors i would call that STUPIDITY.

That makes u no better than those jokers who spend RM5,000 making all kinds of rubbish modifications on their aging Iswara or Wira in the kampung shops just to look UNIQUE in their kampungs. Then when they race u on highways they only last for a few km before their engines heat up.

Unique? Oh yes! Uniquely stupid! Haha!

• MoFaz on Apr 22, 2010 at 5:00 pm

then Juara is much more ‘premium’ than Freed. it’s very-very-very-very rare to see Juara on the road

• if buyer want special,unique,PREMIUM,exotic and another state of mind level kind-of-shit-feeling-you dont have-i-have-haha,please buy bentley or royce.

No need to complain when ppl can afford to buy merc or BM oledi,just wish u have good health and life long enough to enjoy la. average joe here,young and old,single or married,who want a compact MPV.

i guess alza premium,exora premium,livina premium and etc will be out soon. Hold onto ur pocket,this “premium” make me feel so good.

• paultan fan on Apr 22, 2010 at 9:03 pm

Exora limited edition will launch. i thk it’s a premium bcoz i thk the price will be more than rm 100 k

• carsut on Apr 22, 2010 at 5:19 pm

if u want really unique car, buy an antiques or collectable cars.. its mo expensive than ferrari or brand new lambo though!!

• Mazda MPS is a stoopid guy on Apr 22, 2010 at 5:51 pm

what so unique about Honda? if you have been to their originated place then you know…(yes I have been there for 4 years)

• paultan fan on Apr 22, 2010 at 8:48 pm

because it’s not a premium mpv. only 1.5 vtec engine.

• It should hav a bigger engine,since it larger than most mpv…1.5 for this size?hm….

• amrymr on Apr 22, 2010 at 4:23 pm

Its more like a van than an MPV to me..hehe

• rizal on Apr 22, 2010 at 4:24 pm

A premium brand indicates a certain amount of quality. This is cheap stuff. I will certainly be judgmental against those owning or driving one – idiots … heh heh heh.

For value for money, get livina. If not, alza. Even proton mpv … apa nama dia …

Its ugly, by the way.

• anak dato' kk on Apr 22, 2010 at 4:26 pm

too pricey for 1.5 small MPV. Better go for Nissan GL 1.8 Impul. Nothing looks premium enough except the price,hmmm……but some people will buy but not like GORENG PISANG PANAS….

• skyline35 on Apr 22, 2010 at 4:27 pm

hopeless honda,,, balik japan la…stupid 1.5 engine too.

• dvvti on Apr 22, 2010 at 4:36 pm

fuhhh..the price very high for 2ngine 1.5l…add 2k-4k can get civic 1.8……better go to Glivina 1.8 impuls…..sure satisfied….rear view like van…hahahaha…buy exora or alza enough..hahah

• SOHC somemore!

• paultan fan on Apr 22, 2010 at 9:06 pm

SOCH 1.5 VTEC. I thk they put Jazz and City engine

• Freeze on Apr 23, 2010 at 11:06 am

SOHC have their own advantages…Honda is a big company,they must have their own reason by picking SOHC instead of DOHC..

• Even Civic 1.8 is a SOHC. I believe i-VTEC technology is far superior that Honda is using SOHC, than maybe VVTi that uses DOHC for a 1.5L engine.

• Coffeemate on Apr 22, 2010 at 4:29 pm

If being crashed at the back, need to change the whole things?

• MPV without rear bumper just like women without butt, say NO to cacat MPV.

• Rassan on Apr 22, 2010 at 4:34 pm

For RM113k, comes with 1.5 engine. My @@$!!!

• cyc3488 on Apr 22, 2010 at 4:34 pm

HMm.. it’s a MPV?.. at first glance i thought it’s a VAN.. ugly.

• Squawk on Apr 22, 2010 at 4:36 pm

H can blame themselves for pricing the Jazz so ridiculously maybe due to their overconfidence after the fast selling 1st gen. But look at how many of the new Jazz they’ve sold. And now with the Freed, they can’t price is too near Jazz.

Anyway, if you look at the Jazz’s interior quality, I wouldn’t call it a premium compact. Maybe premium in pricing and that’s it. I haven’t seen the Freed yet but from the pics, it too doesn’t look premium either, except again, the pricing.

I don’t see how anyone is ‘freed’ when you’re tied down to a 7 year loan.

• Agreed. even Jazz should consider as the entry level cars, but wif tat pricing, it already belong premium class price.
      Anyhow, the biggest problem was the quality, especially the interior quality was very basic, ppl who want to buy a car wif over 100K r expecting the ‘premium’ stuff in the car, but i don’t see got any attractive option in tat car, and with tat pricing, it already loss the competitive in the market.
      The car hv a wrong position in marketing.
      I don’t think ppl would go for it bcoz the brand.
      If ppl who got budget over than 110K, then probably they will go for the upper class, like wish, innova, even colt plus.
      For ppl whose budget below 100K, probably would go for nissan Livina, Alza, Exora.
      So, what was the point of tat kind car come out? Whats the Honda thinking?

Sorry but I’ve to said, I bet this car wouldn’t appear in market for long.

• 4agze (Member) on Apr 22, 2010 at 4:41 pm

better wait for exora turbo

• ahmed on Apr 22, 2010 at 4:41 pm

i think HONDA is only going to test the malaysian market..
    but,it still looking ugly and weird, NOT unique at all!
    HONDA FREAK!

• Basikal Tua on Apr 22, 2010 at 4:48 pm

I don’t think the car is expensive, it’s our 2pid Gov TAX make it $$$$$….

• paultan fan on Apr 22, 2010 at 9:09 pm

also agree. but Honda Malaysia also didn’t want to came out with alternative plan. Please CKD these small van.. opss sorry it’s mpv. if CKD i thk we can get it for just rm 60 k and it can compete with alza like in Japan

• sukekete on Apr 25, 2010 at 3:26 pm

bull$$$$…they price it that way to have more profit margin

• Had a chance test drive today…engine performance seam same different as city…Colour digital RPM meter…Colour digital fuel meter…door panel and dashboard look plastiking, better sikit dari center meter panel of vios…no led lamp for signal and brake…no air cond for back passenger…the salesman said only 150 units for 1st batch to test market, better book now to get early…each branch got 1 unit per month…I think freed not in my radar…

• Camry lover on Apr 22, 2010 at 4:54 pm

stupid. for 150k i can get wish already.

• I think this is a lovely litlle mpv
    a very nice design which I think will catch some women eyes
    it was built for women… that is why for Honda ‘price does not a matter’
    guys know what I mean

• Aaron on Apr 22, 2010 at 6:20 pm

Are you blind or implying that women have poor taste in cars?

Please do not insult women, thank you.

• Actually women care most about the price when it comes to car.

• paultan fan on Apr 22, 2010 at 9:12 pm

maybe they thk many women didnt know about car

• MoneyKoh on Apr 22, 2010 at 4:57 pm

Just test drive, 1.5 i-vtec got enough power to move the car, a bit better than Avanza, close to Exora & Grand Livina, enough space for 4 adults & 2 kids, quite comfortable, but RM113k is quite expensive, unless u don’t mind to loan for 9 years. Hope that Nissan M’sia will launch new NV200 very soon so that we can compared with this Freed.

• Power8003 on Apr 22, 2010 at 5:01 pm

I think the car is over price for a 1.5 liter car only. I wonder who will buy it…. I expect it should be price ard 90k slightly above city as it is much bigger not at that price. I doubt there will be many on the road. I think Honda think malaysian will buy because it is honda…… really disappointed with Honda

• azrai on Apr 22, 2010 at 5:02 pm

mahal lorr…This is not even Japan one. it is CKDed at Indonesia. Haiya H badged obsessor.

• Man… Please the compare japan stuff with perodua alza… Alza got no way to stand… Absolutely not, Freed is ugly… Alza is just retarded metal… I am malaysian, but since when Malaysia product impress Malaysian?

• azrai on Apr 22, 2010 at 5:04 pm

Honda Freak should it be. :-)

• wtf…1star rating MPV with that price.
    errrkkk…very ugly
    i rather buy exora or alza

• keep on bashing on Apr 22, 2010 at 5:05 pm

money sucker.

frankly speaking i think overll honda cars are ugly, both interior and exterior design.

it’s time to consider to support our local made Exora. worth with every single cent you spend, if you are aiming for a mpv with limited budget.

• paultan fan on Apr 22, 2010 at 9:16 pm

i prefer stream compare to exora if our gov didnt charge higher tax to import car. i thk stream is more stylish. below rm 60 k in Japan

• super on Apr 24, 2010 at 5:49 pm

dont dream like it would happen..if u wanna compare stream with exora. i rather compare your stream with estima or velllfire

• mr. nice on Apr 22, 2010 at 5:11 pm

not nice at all

• some say ;
    Proton exora 1.6/125hp + underpower but Honda 1.5/116hp+ good coz is Honda maaa…
    any one comment plz!!!!!

• weeeee on Apr 22, 2010 at 6:48 pm

itula kelebihan honda

• Not we don’t want to comment but its too pricey… even Proton exora 1.6/125hp + underpower but Honda 1.5/116hp+ good coz is Honda, with tat price, u can get 1 exora to bring your family during hari raya/weekend plus 1 viva for u drive to go to work… Yeah, coz its honda u put tat price.. People are r stat to doubt on T&H nowdays due to problem in US market…

• Why drive a viva if that guy already has a jazz/vios/city/civic/altis?
        This car clearly not for poor ppl like us la… it’s for ppl who have income 6k above.

• ahmed on Apr 22, 2010 at 9:05 pm

went to fraser hill before with 6 adult +full of bagage..
      underpower?test drive first and then give ur comment.
      thanks.

• paultan fan on Apr 22, 2010 at 9:20 pm

aiyoo. tak baca ka komen di atas. byk olang sudah kata ini Honda overpriced and not value for money. tapi jika tanpa cukai, maybe berbaloi bcoz of coz lagi murah dari exora atau alza. tapi dalam kes ni memang tak berbaloi.

• if got no tax i bet my pinkie honda still price this junk at 70k++.money suckers

• Freeze on Apr 23, 2010 at 11:15 am

Its not how much power you got,but you must also look at the weight of the car… Power/weight ratio is the key to good performance car

• shawal on Apr 22, 2010 at 5:18 pm

*cough cough* dats TOO much money for sumthin dat LOOKS like dat! practically impractical with 3rd row seat is up and was built stone throw away….

Alza is a much better choice!

since you don’t care bout looks and want a people carrier….get a van or toyota innova

• anyway. it bigger than jazz.. so as well as the price..

• dashboard rupa mcm tu tu nak letak nasik dgn lauk ke pizza ke apa? nak kata flat pun x flat. letak apa pun jatuh.

• HirumaKecil on Apr 22, 2010 at 7:21 pm

hahaha.. aku paham tu.. sama la ngan dashboard peugeot 405 aku.. letak kopiah pon jatuh.. adeh…

• i-like-premium on Apr 22, 2010 at 5:20 pm

premium-i agree with alot of ppl here,the only premium i can feel is the price. Hike up the price,so u can get premium……real funny marketing…anyhow i can get higher premium than current one? maybe a premium mugen limited edition freed?

• vtec200k on Apr 22, 2010 at 5:22 pm

a cheaper electric-slide-door mpv, 1.5l with 5AT, good fuel consumption, 110km/h could be under 2500rpm, just that the steering isn’t as aggressive as city/civic’s . . . without remote control still . . . honda freed could be a mini-alphard . . . the old city may look odd like this one, but still people would buy, so freed will be a new trend . . . honda malaysia now moves on to all high-line model yet low fuel consumption . . . cool

• oomph on Apr 22, 2010 at 9:53 pm

not for me!
      too pricey..confused on the premium tagline..when it doesn’t look like a premium vehicle at all!

• Jong88 on Apr 22, 2010 at 5:23 pm

It is expensive because our Ringgit has no value (inflation), even lottery (for 6/58) price went up from RM1 to 2. Inflation + Protectionism + Stupidity = over price goods. The steering is not even leather wrap. This that the drive touch often should be luxurious for a 113K car….

• staff on Apr 22, 2010 at 6:23 pm

has no value?

Ringgit is stronger day by day… and you are saying no value?

What a BS!

• oomph on Apr 22, 2010 at 9:56 pm

yup…wth are u talking about..

ringgit is getting stronger..we afraid we might lose fdi competitiveness somemore…

• Jong88 on Apr 23, 2010 at 9:18 am

Staff & Oomph, don;t u guys feel that your RM50 is just like RM10 nowadays? S$1.00 used to equal to RM1.40 in year 1990s now S$1.00 = RM2.30. RM1.00 used to eaual to THB10 not RM1.00 eual to THB9.4. Please don’t be a blind nationalist.

• No u wrong Jong88…u r the blind…u can google it…i can smell my RM getting stronger…..For who know economics know bout this..they know why RM getting stronger….adios…

• niamafufu on Apr 24, 2010 at 2:20 am

agree wf jong88,RM getting stronger most of the reason due to Ringgit is bind with RMB…if RMB forced to rise up their value by American,ofcos our currency will rise too…pls dun simply judge the economics by comparing RM vallues

• Mad Cat on Apr 22, 2010 at 5:28 pm

Wow cool! The poor man’s B-Class, but with a Vaneo sort of look. They even got the Benz paint sort of right. Whoo-hoo! Lovely.

• already booking today :D

• ??????? on Apr 22, 2010 at 5:29 pm

to expensive..hate G because of the price..
    but better than exora or alza in design, technology, safety and fuel consumption maybe..
    and it’s HONDA..

• staff on Apr 22, 2010 at 6:24 pm

if G change, will you love the new G?

• ??????? on Apr 22, 2010 at 7:03 pm

just the tax if you know what i mean..

• paultan fan on Apr 22, 2010 at 9:26 pm

haha. i love new G bcoz if new G rule our coutry, so in the future, we can compare who done good job. better give other party a chance rather than say the can’t do the good job. if u say they get 4 state, u must thk twice bcoz state gov only have a power to collect cukai tanah, cukai pintu not cukai pendapatan or cukai koporat. cukai pendapatan and cukai korporat go to kerajaan pusat

• the new G is even worst if you know what i mean..

• apela buruk sgt rupanya….
    harga pon mahal….
    grand livina still the best choice…

• Green Fuel on Apr 22, 2010 at 5:36 pm

Seriously out of my consideration for the expensive price tag. With that price I can buy a also not so good looking Inova, but with 7 seat (the last roll is quite comfortable), a lot of space, and a 2.0 engine. Re-con Toyota Wish is at the same price tag or cheaper. Top up a bit can get a re-con Honda Honda Odyssey 2003 year model, with much more luxurious accessory, and a much much powerful 2.4 i-Vtec engine.

• agree thats..waste money gile2…1 freed = 2 avanza’s…same power and high..

• paultan fan on Apr 22, 2010 at 9:29 pm

also you can buy almost 2 exora, 2 alza, chery eastar 2.0 for rm 73 k. naza rondo 2.0 for rm 82 k, NGL for rm 80 k, Innova for rm 100 k

• kennyphan on Apr 22, 2010 at 5:46 pm

Wow! this Freed really look alike VAN converted car.
    Take out behind seat can be use as VAN purpose.

Anyhow, must test drive to see the result whether worth to get it as MPV use!

• if you need 7 seats get a big one like the inova,although ride is not so good.grand livina is ok for its price but still a bit small if the 7 people are adults.

for the chap who wants to change his civic for a rush,you’d better test drive properly first,comfort and refinement will be much lower than your present car.

• niamafufu on Apr 24, 2010 at 2:25 am

lol…trade in civic for a new rush really not a wise choice….lausy damper/suspension, underpower, short,ugly…and most rush driver i saw is aunty ==

• _xXx_ on Apr 22, 2010 at 5:58 pm

Why would they want to price the car low if their sale is restricted by the number of APs they hold?

• minnow on Apr 22, 2010 at 6:02 pm

Honda’s newly derived method to beat Toyota sales by adopting Toyota’s own (build ugly scraps, put only basic specs in it n price it high cauz dumb malaysians will buy the brand) marketing strategy….

113K….using rear drum brakes?….1.5cc engine?…..wats the premium then….auto sliding door??…someone need to be sent back to school to learn the meaning of premium….

• That makes Honda Civic.. luxury and the Acoord Exotic.LOL

• blue-eyes on Apr 22, 2010 at 8:20 pm

Perodua alza premium version. Maybe its more premium than this one.. BTW its cheaper than premium honda.

• paultan fan on Apr 22, 2010 at 9:34 pm

Naza Citra 2.0, Chery Eastar 2.0/ 2.4 yang lagi murah masing2 bawah rm 90 k pun guna disc brake. memalukan betul toyota. huhu. tapi maybe sebab cukai gak

• skudap on Jul 16, 2010 at 11:45 pm

what ever you say, some malaysian never care…janji HONDA

• Ordinary Joe on Apr 22, 2010 at 6:09 pm

So many other better choices at that price!

• Aaron on Apr 22, 2010 at 6:14 pm

I wonder which part of this sorry excuse for a car can truly qualify as “premium”?

If premium is a new code name for ugly then sure! This is very premium indeed.

• Acikman on Apr 22, 2010 at 6:17 pm

it’s remind me of perodua rusa! P2 should come out with premium rusa.

• Rubbish…

• theanswer on Apr 22, 2010 at 6:19 pm

cant blame 100% on this car abt the price since city already 90k..this mpv cant get any lower than city. it’s city/vios the real culprit!

• If this thing gets a warm welcome…then proton can improve their exora and sell it at a higher price…maybe with bigger engine, better specs,etc

• OpenMind on Apr 22, 2010 at 6:26 pm

I think this car is slight (or relatively expensive) and the price positioning makes it a bit weird on the actual demographic of people that H is targeting.

You have cheaper MPV in Avanza and livina + Exora + Alza, and you have slight powerful and bigger MPV in Innova, slightly better or perceived slightly premium MPV in wish and stream.

So, let’s think who and why people will buy this car? If honda strategy is not to penetrate the existing market share of AVanza or wish/stream, or not targeting big market, then it is totally fien. ….Let’s cross our finger and see how is the sales in 6 months time.

On the design, actually it is not bad in my opinion. Perhaps the quality of the materials and more gadget are the key factors for this slightly higher price. ……

Dont worry, Malaysia definitely can afford this as this is only 5x our GDP per capita.

• alldisc on Apr 22, 2010 at 6:29 pm

the line-up still not complete

Alphard = ?
    Estima = Odyssey
    Ipsum = Airwave
    Wish = Stream
    Innova = ?
    Avanza = Freed

Honda = The Power Of Dream

• Alphard equivalent would be Elysion.

I don’t have any idea for the Innova equivalent, though I might put Airwave there. But the Airwave is built on the same platform as Jazz / City / Freed.

• Paul Tan on Apr 22, 2010 at 6:45 pm

There’s no Innova equivalent for Honda. Other manufacturers like Mitsubishi have an Innova equivalent which is the Mitsubishi Zinger because they build it on their pick-up truck platform. The Innova is built on the Hilux platform. Ladder frame. Honda does not have a ladder frame chassis, even their American pickup truck uses a monocoque.

• hang solo on Apr 22, 2010 at 6:43 pm

Alphard = ?

Senang loh…its Elysion

Inova = ?

tunngu i bikin satu untuk u, my fren.

• HirumaKecil on Apr 22, 2010 at 7:26 pm

Elgrand is the best..

• blue-eyes on Apr 22, 2010 at 8:43 pm

Alpahard = Starex
      Inova = Grandis

• Freed = Avanza….very right bro haha,,nice one

• Maserati on Apr 22, 2010 at 7:01 pm

The 1.5 in the Honda city ivtec which I m driving nw is underpowered d,so just imagine hw powerless this car will feel like.ugly n expensive car.better off buying a 308 turbo

• paultan fan on Apr 22, 2010 at 9:39 pm

peugeot 1.6 turbo 140 hp and 240 nm. vroom vroom vroom. much better also conti car and have large moonroof

• kancil_driver on Apr 23, 2010 at 9:37 am

underpowered??? of course, my kancil is underpowered also….

(youre driving a 1.5L car. of course la you cannot kejar 2.0L car. your honda city 1.5L i-vtec has the highest power as compared to other NA 1.5L car.

This Freed? Expensive… for different target market though….(well, people still buying Jazz)

*underpower means that your engine does not suit your weight i.e. Hp/kg or on torque; Nm/kg.. City 1.5L power to weight is just fine.
      *kancil is NOT underpowered. it has low power, but not UNDERpower.
      *NA = normally aspirated.

• Maserati on Apr 23, 2010 at 4:23 pm

Thts wat I meant! Honda city engine is too weak to pull such a heavy body.and of course I don’t expect to kejar 2.0 la idiot. Just driving the new Honda city 1.5 is a pain , nt an enjoyment. So just expect hw the freed will feel like .

• kosmo kar sucks on Apr 24, 2010 at 2:18 am

who knows between the previous City vtec vs. this new City i-vtec which one is more underpowered? which one has lower power : weight ratio?

• I 100% agree with Maserati. I test drove the new honda city and the engine (along with the cheap and tacky interior) was hopeless. Really lousy torque to accelerate.

Compare that to the much better and torquey engine in the Nissan Latio 1.6, it’s like heaven and hell.

• Why honda is selling their “premium” car sooooooo cheap?? Are they crazy???

With a HONDA badge and with strong supporters / followers in Malaysia, this car must be sold at minimum 150k.

Honda, please jack up the car more. I beg you. When you sell your car that cheap, like 112k, you are actually insulting Malaysian buying power. Malaysian are all professional, with big salary. Ask Najib. Come 2020, we will be moving toward a society with percapita comparable to USA.

• paultan fan on Apr 22, 2010 at 9:43 pm

ha3.. gaji rakyat Malaysia byk tinggi oo. graduate universiti nak dpt rm 3 ribu pun byk payah. gaji 1998 ngan 2010 lebih kurang sama walaupun kos sara hidup da meningkat. huhu

• Mad Cat on Apr 24, 2010 at 11:04 am

Yeah man it’s a bit cheap for a Premium Compact MPV. 149,888 OTR would be more realistic. 112k is a steal! Line up Honda fans!

• honda? on Apr 22, 2010 at 7:11 pm

haiz…something wrong wit honda pricing…too close to each other….city freed jazz civic…all too near….only few thousand away…this car my reckon,….cant sell well…volume should more the less with jazz…

• Absolutly correct! it wont sell as there are better models to choose from. i dont think its premium. Where are the steering control? 2 airbags? Forte has 6 of it. traction control?
      They should price it the same as city RM89k. Then it should do justice

• Mad Cat on Apr 22, 2010 at 7:27 pm

Paul Tan/Danny: Great pix.

1) Can you find out if this vehicle has any NCAP rating? Or is it an ASEAN-only model?
    2) Alpine is good. How much is the 2DIN set worth retail price?
    3) Who are the two guys giving thumbs up? One with large forehead is obviously a very smart thinking man. Guy with specs is who?

• 112k with bare steering, all plastic door padding, plane seat fabric,
    6 seater, knee scratching
    1350kg for 1.5,

still wait for exora vvt turbo, big and powerful.

• Squawk on Apr 22, 2010 at 8:44 pm

112k and they couldn’t even make flat folding 3rd row seats?

• Mad Cat on Apr 23, 2010 at 5:51 am

Bare steering is for Earth Day. Don’t abuse the skin of cows. Seat fabric is the ‘design’, like the ‘pre-distressed’ special edition version of Dockers and Levis jeans. Once you justify the genius thought going into this model, you can enjoy the power of the dream. Do you have a Honda? The knee scratching actually helps distress ur pants more, thus increasing it’s artistic value. It’s all part of the design.

• Gen2 Biru Muda on Apr 22, 2010 at 7:38 pm

Brilliant Idea esp Interior but ugly third row window.

• daniel on Apr 22, 2010 at 8:05 pm

DUBIOUS STYLING,CRAMPED INTERIOR AND 112 BHP TO LUG 1350KG BODY ,this will be the ugliest mpv in modern history,mpv for the chipsmunk!!!! hamster look alike

• think on Apr 22, 2010 at 8:14 pm

i do not expect this much of price..the car is not that great to say..first the engine is out of place..gona to face the same problem as the exora,,which is underpowered..

• if price is lower and around toyota rush price…ok….this is like crazy…… i can say i would buy the toyota rush if u were to get a premium prize,size suv/mpv at around rm90k. it seats 7 ad going to the back row seats, i dont have to WALK THROUGH the middle row chairs where it is like 8 inch wide….. i went in from the front and jumped from the read door…..

y not juz make a 2+3+2 seater then a 2+2+3 seater……
    the front passanger seat….if ur legs r short….ok…..but that would be like, super short….
    for H to kill the FD2R n sell the freed……bad choice…do it the other way round is better

i am now much more looking forward to see the NEW FACE LIFT toyota vios n see how many people will be buying it……the rear lights r nice…front is…still dugong inspired design……

see ya all at UMW toyota (U Must Wait Toyota)

• Rulered on Apr 22, 2010 at 8:32 pm

Side folding seats are old fashioned, consume space and not aesthetic, do i sense a facelift in a few months time with controls on the steering? If so, that really typifies Japanese marketing. This car has 6 stars for it’s safety rating but only under JNCAP (Japanese ratings) which would probably be good enough for us Malaysians, but to tell the truth, I’ve read some horrible news regarding the outcome of drivers involved in accident driving Alphards and Estimas. The rear of this isn’t particularly looked so safe by the way. Other than that apart from the auto sliding doors, I really can’t see any ‘premium’ value in this car.
    By the way Avanza and Innova is part of Toyota’s project to sell cheaper and affordable MPVs (incl Fortuner etc) for ASEAN market as we ASEAN as a group aren’t as rich as Americans or Europeans. I don’t think Honda have ever embark on projects like that, so stop searching cars produce by Honda that is in direct comparison to those two.

• Bro…JNCAP not as strict as Euro NCAP?…no wonder all those Japs asean mkt car not selling in euro mkt. Btw, notice that most non euro Japs car dun have good safety equipmt….btw, do these freak had any isofix point?

• Yogeswaran on Apr 22, 2010 at 8:35 pm

Dear Mad Cat,
    The 1st Gentlemen is Honda Malaysia CEO,
    While the 2nd one is Honda Freed, Project Leader from Japan

• Mad Cat on Apr 23, 2010 at 5:48 am

They must get a bit of training in proper Ngan Yin thumbs up sign. These guys mistakenly gave slanted thumbs slanted up sign instead like they are hitchhiking. Honda must do PDCA on this.

• DinKnight on Apr 23, 2010 at 10:50 am

even the hongdah msia ceo comes nowhere near enough to “premium”. just look at him!

• Mad Cat on Apr 24, 2010 at 12:48 pm

HM pls do more PDCA and countermeasure. Large forehead man must dress less shabbily.

• Kamal allan Nathan on Apr 22, 2010 at 8:38 pm

err the interior copied from Honda Edix/FRV laa.. they should assemble the edix over here in malaysia although Honda has stopped the production in Japan. BTW price in Indonesia for Freed is (after convert) RM92K for the power door version.

• HirumaKecil on Apr 23, 2010 at 9:16 am

oh.. kat indon pon mahal.. patut la sini lagi mahal.. xkan la nak jual sama harga lak… haha.. makin lama makin pelik… jazz lama lagi cantik dari jazz baru..

• Fangalica on Apr 22, 2010 at 8:49 pm

this car only 1.5l and the price tag around RM112k, it sounds doesn’t worth it at all…even though Avanza 1.5l which have same capacity also, the price RM74k only……IMO it’s better buy civic or corolla altis , these car also cost around 112k and the more power u can get

• Harga untuk Honda Freed Rm112k masih terlalu mahal untuk di beli dengan kapasiti 1.5 engine.cari brand lain la…

• T & H on Apr 22, 2010 at 9:09 pm

wao, I can see here that most people will go for T brand if already have the budget to get higher range of car. For e.g. Camry instead or Accord, Alphard instead of Elysion (Data from sales record).

• busybody on Apr 22, 2010 at 9:12 pm

Take off the centre audio unit, and replce with integrated GPS/Audio,
    Upgrade meter to optitron or digital, put in leather seat..120K i will buy.

I believe this Freed is targeting to the easy buyers, meaning to those that can take out 120k anytime with no pain. It is definately not for anyone that is “cukup-bayar-installment”…

The side line is looked so near to my A170,

• Don’t think i’ll feel “FREE” driving this trapezium. 1.5 on a MTV this size? My wallet won’t be “FREE”

• E bear on Apr 22, 2010 at 9:41 pm

…the tail….yeah…need to live with it if you want to get one.

Imagine this little guy weighs so much, means good safety rite? i guess.

The big one and yet weighs less…go figure. ha ha ha.

Someone buying this mpv, probably not the type who worries unduly about the instalments.

Well to do yet low profile….but not so teruk image.

• malaysian on Apr 22, 2010 at 9:54 pm

simple, it’s time for the korean car makers to take over the trust and popularity of japanese car makers.

• paultan fan on Apr 22, 2010 at 11:41 pm

jika sikap Jepun terus macam ni konpem Korea akan take over lebih cepat. skrg pun hampir2. dan esok Beijing auto show. Waiting jenama2 terkemuka nak lancarkan ratus2 model di pameran esok. China pun nampaknya dah keluar byk model dan bukan lagi copy and paste macam dulu2. nampak design sesetengah sykt agak kedepan dgn harga menarik cumanyer lum ada di Malaysia. Maybe next 5 years Jepun akan ketinggalan sebab harga dah jd overpriced compare Korea ngan China. Taiwan pun dah nak bangun

• HirumaKecil on Apr 23, 2010 at 9:20 am

Ntah la.. kereta korea pon orang dah mula hilang kepercayaan sekarang ni… Optima second jual murah pon orang x nak…. spectra mahal dari gen2, second hand punya separuh harga gen2 second.. hurm…

• Tiadaid on Apr 23, 2010 at 2:49 pm

Optima Spectra jgn cite la. Cite pasal Forte. Optima & Spectra tu masa zaman gelap Kia.

• Freak at almost RM120k….the soon to be launch Tucson looks more tempting

• Neutral on Apr 22, 2010 at 10:10 pm

mahalnyer.thought that Honda’s new car will be cheaper.next more new model from other manufacturer will be introduced at lower price. abisla this time Freed sale will be similar like Jazz/Fit…small volume..

• azlan on Apr 22, 2010 at 10:36 pm

just went to showroom tadi..

boleh laa..harga je yang k.o

• helmi on Apr 22, 2010 at 10:39 pm

No audio control which is standard in nowadays car. Small cabin as Malaysian generally slighly bigger than the Japs. Wrong pricing & relatively so expensive. Since this is for higher budget pontential buyer, it would become an exclusive and rare on the road, just like Jazz or Yaris.

• helmi on Apr 22, 2010 at 10:42 pm

I mean no audio control on steering wheel.

• Mad Cat on Apr 22, 2010 at 11:33 pm

I sincerely wish to thank Honda for calling the Freed a ‘PREMIUM’ model. My officemate says he’s now calling his 308 Turbo an ‘EXOTIC’.

• Gooddaymate! on Apr 22, 2010 at 11:09 pm

The power of dream, and when you buy freed it’ll come with “do you have a honda” sticker… Can’t wait P1 to launch their exora with the bigger cc engine, exora premium can sell 90k… Freed can be a benchmark for P1 hehe…

• paultan fan on Apr 22, 2010 at 11:44 pm

hopefully exora turbo lower than rm 88 k. its better if Exora want to capture Honda and Toyota potential buyer

• The Exora turbo will be at last complete the exora….cheaper/all rows aircon/bigger…if only it got sliding doors….if u can get over the brand snobbery

• fasgen on Apr 23, 2010 at 12:13 am

a still want P1 with exora turbo..

• seancorr on Apr 22, 2010 at 11:21 pm

I see a lot of people complain about the price but really…I think all of u know this Freed cannot be prices below the City. They’re sharing the same platform and Freed has more metal in it comparing to its sibling so selling below RM90k is impossible plus its CBU. Prolly about RM100k mark should be the correct pricing. I doubt Honda is having high hopes in getting a lot of sales volume BUT our economy is recovering so they might hit their target sales for 2010.

In addition to that I dunno why some people in this forum is comparing an MPV to a hatchback/sedan?

But I do admit…the back looks ugly…front looks good

• HirumaKecil on Apr 23, 2010 at 9:38 am

people compared with sedan coz, freed only mpv wannabe.. 7 seaters but only 5 can be used… third row is only for small people? children?

• HirumaKecil on Apr 23, 2010 at 9:39 am

2 people first row, 2 second row, one in third row(Baring-baring atas seat sebab kaki xde tempat nak letak.. huhuhu..)

• Another con job by Honda. RM is the top performing currency this year, appreciating against Yen and Rupiah and yet Honda price it so high, not justifiable at all.

American screw the car manufacturers like Toyota, but Msians choose to be screwed by these manufacturers instead! bolehhhh….

• Tiadaid on Apr 23, 2010 at 9:34 am

I think they price is so high to maintain profit margin. Since RM’s appreciating against yen, their profit margin would shrink obviously…

• mchammer on Apr 22, 2010 at 11:27 pm

Honda really no heart!!! Damn expensive compare to region – Thai n Indo!!! And 112k no gps system as there!!! No chance Honda!!! YOU KEEP DREAMING!!!

• LalusanaOne on Apr 22, 2010 at 11:29 pm

Went down to Honda showroom. From the looks.. Well quite happy to see it. 4 comfortable seats suitable for my small family. Didn’t managed to get in line for queuing test drive the car. The sliding door is really cool.. Like it a lot.. Hope most MPV segment will take this point of sales. Other than that it receive 6 star JNCAP. Probably nothing much meant to most ppl. But from my understanding this certification prove that it is safe. not sure about Sirim.. ;)
    After long discussion with with minister of finance (aka wife). She’s likely taking Grand livina instead freed. From what her point of view.
    1. Price. – Definately cannot compete the Grand Livina price. I don’t know, I should comparing GLivina with Freed or not.
    2. Quality.. Much better quality build than Alza. NOT SAYING Alza not quality. But from what budget I have now, Thinking of getting other brand than Proton (own waja) and Perodua (wife’s kenari) after experience it for quite sometime.
    3. Power. No experience yet trying freed. Too many ppl trying it out today.
    4. Name… Yes… Honda have name and reputation over the year. Brother’s Honda civic year 98 still going well and power. But other brand also showing reliability such Toyota and Nissan.
    5. warranty.. Same same one… 3 years…

So at the end, even the price is 15K different than livina. I have tried … waiting 22/04/10 for freed launching. I just barely find the excuses to get it. 15 K probably not much different to me in LONG term. But the extra uummph by finalizing it just isn’t there.

p.s Sorry trouble you all reading my bad english..

• umno juara tipu rakyat on Apr 23, 2010 at 6:17 am

congratz on ur new car…if u can live with the rear design+not so power engine,then go for it…as for many of us,juz by looking at the rear will make us dizzy :-)

• DinKnight on Apr 23, 2010 at 10:54 am

this is a great example of reasonable thinking when it comes to choosing an MPV. You will not regret having a Nissan GL in your family. After all, it is the best selling non-national MPV last year.

• The GL 1.8 liter engine will be much better, but Rondo 2.0 liter will be more suitable. (if only they brought in the diesel version, thats be great)

anyway, only Rondo is sold wordwide in US/Euro/Aussie/Asia….Freak in Asian mkt only (include JDM)

• bro,the 1st one u compare to livina but 2,3,4, u never mentioned livina…imho,livina is much better than this

• overall…1.8 GL much better value …at least got 2nd row aircond

• Mad Cat on Apr 23, 2010 at 6:39 pm

You should definitely check out Rondo 2.0L and Livina.

• Rulered on Apr 24, 2010 at 1:06 am

Bro, eversince my honda mpv kena curi, I’m still waiting for the right MPV or any 7 seater car to come along ( got 6 family members). For some, getting an MPV or 7 seater is like a trend, but for ppl like me (maybe for you too), it’s actually a must. I suggest you wait somemore, probably ada lagi 7 seater that will be launch this year if you can wait. At this point of time I ‘m trying to make an effort to stay away from Japanese brands (phobia). I think other nations are building good cars too, except that their brands are not well known/accepted/established in Malaysia especially the 7 seater segment.

• Honda.

The power of dream (and the reality of increasing price tag)

• pricey, although it comes with auto sliding doors, its still small sized.

granted, the livina, citra, exora are better buys.

• Another 3rd world country car to dump in. Very basic accsesories, all std acc are same like other competitor. mahal.
    better buy recon or local rebadge car.

• umno juara tipu rakyat on Apr 23, 2010 at 5:30 am

it was 1st introduce in japan..so japan also 3rd country arrrr??? 8)

• the price too high !!….i rather buy recon toyota estima!!

• same segment with alza, but 50k more than alza….but should be sup sup sui for malaysian to spend 50k to buy honda badge…if alza perodua bagde change to toyota badge, may b it will cost same price with freed…

• king of ape2lah on Apr 23, 2010 at 12:04 am

same engine with city09. but i tell u what, even 1.5l, the engine is much more powerful than alza and exora

• Honda Fan boy…btw, u need to rev the engine like mad to extract those torque…

• the 1.5ivtec is powerful than cps????
      hello honda die hard fan,come test ur honda city with my gen2cps~~

• anyway, a 1.5/1.6 turbo diesel is more suitable for this freak

• tadoc.... on Apr 23, 2010 at 12:10 am

ok la….better than ALZA ma……….

• estima778 on Apr 23, 2010 at 12:14 am

RM 112k mahai because M’SIA TAXX.TAX.TAX

• the 2 models doesnt look premium though…

• moto_moto on Apr 23, 2010 at 12:35 am

for that price tag, i would go for rush/innova :)

• whatevername on Apr 23, 2010 at 2:22 am

cannot sell lahhh..toooooooo eXXXXpensive.. 110K have a lot more BETTER choices!!

• jamal on Apr 23, 2010 at 5:56 am

honda sell this Freed here only for the sake of increase its product here.. i dont think they expect it to sell like hot cake. they know msia are dirt cheap people and only buy good value cars. btw, they are japanese for god sake. they are smarter than the malaysian.

• staff on Apr 23, 2010 at 9:44 am

really? smarter than malaysian?

are you belittling yourself?

Or malay proverb is “meludah ke langit”…

have you met any japanese? are they all smart?

• anti-cheater on Apr 23, 2010 at 8:12 am

Freed
    1.5E
    RM79,980.00

in langkawi..it the better value..for this model..
    so gov suck up tax..rm30k…per car….stupid G

• Tiadaid on Apr 23, 2010 at 9:28 am

Yeah, stupid G for sucking 30K tax from car to pay for healthcare and cheap education. I mean, we don’t need to be healthy, just drive in a fantastic car’s good enough. We also don’t need free textbooks or cheap university education. As long as we drive branded cars those things are unimportant.

• 30k for tax??? thats a lot…
        Just change G laa… fed-up oredy..

• Tiadaid on Apr 23, 2010 at 3:18 pm

You are incredibly naive to think that by changing govt everything would change for the better. You really think that the opposition won’t practice cronyism or nepotism? Or not be involved in corruption? I seriously doubt it’ll be any different.

• cybermaster98 on Apr 23, 2010 at 4:19 pm

Tiadaid,
            Right now nobody can say that for sure. Maybe it will be the same maybe it wont. Ill take my chances with the wont. We’ve already given them 52 yrs to change and its worse now. We cant do any worse than that. So a change is definitely welcomed. No point assuming something wont work till uve given it a chance to work.

• selekohboi on Apr 24, 2010 at 5:05 am

atlis they make sure the ppl oso have thick wallet = i’m fine with that.

• nice one tiadaid~~ everyday i thank the lord for the cheap education n health care here in Malaysia

• cybermaster98 on Apr 23, 2010 at 4:31 pm

U thank the Lord for cheap education and health care? Thats fine. Do u also thank Him for the fact that that this so called cheap healthcare & education is not available to thousands of local bumiputera in East Malaysia due to corrupt practises, that our children cant play in field safely without being raped or kidnapped, that our public infrastructure is an eyewash, that the poor continue being poor while the rich become richer, that our tax money is spent on making a few cronies richer, that our forests are being depleted faster than any place on earth by a corrupt state gov, that there is no freedom of speech or religion and the spiralling inflation year after year? Do you thank Him for all this as well?

Well yes ill thank the Lord for the things you mentioned and i know who to thank for the things which i mentioned. You can say that these things may also happen in other countries but that doesnt matter to me. What concerns me is we choose to remain silent while we ALLOW these things to happen in OUR country. Dont think of yourself. Think of your children and their future.

Just my 2 cents worth. Sorry to deviate from the topic.

• cybermaster98…

Are u sure only here in OUR country happen as you mention?…bro…i think for those reason most people r not willing to work hard but willing to tadah tangan n minta simpati to our beloved Gov and also when anything goes wrong..people like u always blaming Gov without any proof…i’m not sure how many times u heard a story from mouth to mouth which r all not true…..

P/s: i’m not a government people or servent…but i’m thankfully to God and our gov to make Our Country with peacefully…..

• Squawk on Apr 23, 2010 at 9:55 am

Are we sure the gov is sucking all RM30k and not Honda upping their profit margin?

• anti-cheater on Apr 23, 2010 at 10:24 am

laa..dah langkawi free tax….tax tu sapa yg ambil? stupid G la.
        harga kat langkawi honda pun dah untung…bro…fikir2kanlah…
        kereta kat malaysia overprice sbb nk bagi kroni makan…la

• staff on Apr 23, 2010 at 11:45 am

If you are give the chance to be a crony… what would you say?

• kosmo kar sucks on Apr 24, 2010 at 2:02 am

a wise man would say “no, thanks for the invitation to hell”

and add “stop promoting and enriching cronyism and go serve the rakyat”

if he’s a wise man laa….

• RM30 more likely is the import tax or other tax for the G.
        Its really tax too much on car price.
        Sadly…… our G never concern of their citizens hard time……

• Tiadaid on Apr 23, 2010 at 2:46 pm

If times are hard, why are you still spending money to buy a car?! Shouldn’t you be better off spending money on other more necessary things? If you already have a car, why change to a new one if times are hard?

Oh I forgot, the old adage “Biar papa asal bergaya!”

• niamafufu on Apr 24, 2010 at 2:48 am

no car = no leg in malaysia…i cant imagine the life w/o car in malaysia…v pay so much tax on car…but public transport system still lyk shit. try live w/o car in JB and u will know what i toking about…
            DUN BLINDLY SUPPORT UR GOD DAMN GOV…IF IT IS GOOD,IS OK…BUT…?JGN CAKAP BANYAK NANTI MASUK ISA PULAK…IT IS TIME TO WAKE!!!

• to niamafufu

are u willing go your working place by using bus or taxi?…i’ve already make some research that many malaysia people r not willing to go work with transport….is not our transport system s**k….is our attitude….mean u got money and work as executive and then u ask yourself “if i uses bus to my office it seem my standard as executive will be ruin…”…….that’s why the Gov won’t upgrade the transportation system……

• Type F on Apr 23, 2010 at 8:22 am

Definitely i’ll be ashamed driving this freak…
    Kind of dorky looking mpv..

• Ppl bought the Juara Fridge last time….there be ppl buying this Freak too, ..got “H” mah

• Mad Cat on Apr 23, 2010 at 8:58 am

Hmmm, a lot of people don’t seem to appreciate the Freed. Nikmatilah kebebasan! Honda will now have to do a lot of PDCA on the commments. Alamak!

• Hondacau.... on Apr 23, 2010 at 9:00 am

we know m’sia got tax structure for imported cars, but damm this Freedy not even Japan CBU, it’s from seberang, Indon……way to expensive, & forget about afta thing, that’s all bullshit….

• Yesterday I went to showroom , just sit at 3rd row , only 2 adults become full , same as Alza , the car only 6 persons no for 7 persons audlts , because 3 row seat , same size with Alza . 2nd row only 2 adults , Alza 2 row can sit 3 adult , but FREED 3rd row for adult more comfort a bit .
    Spend extra RM50K for Honda and Gov pocket ? get 1500cc small MPV compare with Alza ? do you think value for your money ???

• azrai on Apr 23, 2010 at 9:50 am

I don’t think the high price is due to the tax. Honda just take advantage of being the only premium MPV and rake more profit. Look at mitsubishi lancer 2.0 GT fully imported from Japan just Rm120k. Anyway, Honda doesn’t even mention its Freak is a 7 seater or car one moment, washing machine the next. the tagline is 4 seater + ideas.

• firefox on Apr 23, 2010 at 10:41 am

is true, livina is better then this….honda ma..power of dream…not really…

• Mad Cat on Apr 23, 2010 at 9:53 am

Its a wonderful concept. Just like eating Indomee in a 5-star restaurant. You cannot expect to pay mamak stall prices right?

• Squawk on Apr 23, 2010 at 10:02 am

Actually the pricing strategy is superb. It shouts “Hey, I’m so rich I can pay a high premium for a low class mini MPV. Jealous?”. If there are people sensible enough to buy the BMW X6, there will be people buying this.

• Mad Cat on Apr 23, 2010 at 11:17 am

Yes and also you can tell yourself you didn’t waste on a B-Class. Same B-Class door line. Rear glass on B-Class points in, Freed points out. Cool or what? Even the silver colour is sort of Benz-ish.

• Alifz on Apr 23, 2010 at 10:11 am

Another well-made coffin ride. Suitable for casket delivery, can replace d old 230TE that’s aging now..hahaha

• BlunderBee on Apr 23, 2010 at 10:14 am

Honda… this is the Power Of Dreams

• Just seen the car in the KL showroom….look rich & chicky…..like mini alphard………..must wait for 3 Months…………love the car at first sight…….i already pay RM3k..huhu

• Mad Cat on Apr 23, 2010 at 11:19 am

Cool man. Now you can add Mugen accessories. It’s the poor man’s B-Class. Think of Mugen as your AMG.

• Arifi on Apr 23, 2010 at 10:30 am

With this price…
    Go get Exora and modify become super duper comfort car.
    Exora also got tax…… import car also got tax…..
    Wat also tax….. Why not reduce the tax benefits all citizens……..

• Mad Cat on Apr 23, 2010 at 12:12 pm

Govt has already reduced tax for Honda since the 2006 NAP lah. Didn’t you know? Honda should be enjoys zero import duty for their CKD (CEPT), 100% or nearly 100% excise duty exemption for CKD (Local content =ASEAN content).

• Arifi on Apr 23, 2010 at 2:57 pm

Know or not… the fact still the same.
        Car price in Malaysia is expensive!

• Mad Cat on Apr 23, 2010 at 6:40 pm

But in the case of CKD Hondas, it’s not the govt’s fault is it? Not since 2006 NAP anyway.

• Nak murah. beli kat langkawi baru RM79,980

• ariefin on Apr 23, 2010 at 11:48 am

In Indonesia it is also to expensive. Rational thinking people will not buy this car but there are to many irrational people in Indonesia who buy this car anyway.
    I bought the Exora and have upgraded it with leather seats and VIP tinting and putting it side by side a Freed the Exora looks way much better.

Greetings from Jakarta

• good choice mate

• proton_ on Apr 23, 2010 at 3:42 pm

thank you for buying a Proton, sir…

• kosmo kar sucks on Apr 24, 2010 at 12:40 am

too bad, unlike indonesia, dark tint is stupidly prohibited by our Govt for some stupidly obscure reason although malaysia and indonesia lie on the very same equator line with skin burning sun light firing at us everyday all year long.

otherwise we’d also be able to say our Exora looks way better than most foreign brand mpv’s.

IMHO dark tint pose no danger nor security threat whatsoever as there are many other countries who allow dark tint yet has much lower road accident and crime rate compared to malaysia…DUH!

while all the VIP enjoy dim cozy cabin on the road, all the rakyat has to suffer in our oven baking temperature inside our card in the afternoon.

1Malaysia rakyat didahulukan is a total BULLS**T!!

• malik on Apr 23, 2010 at 12:16 pm

design like freeze running on highway..huh very ugly….better nissan…

• eadgez on Apr 23, 2010 at 12:37 pm

1.5?underpowerd.

• cybermaster98 on Apr 23, 2010 at 2:18 pm

Do not get confused between POWER and ENGINE CAPACITY. 1.5L, 1.8L or 2.0L refers to the engine capacity. U cannot determine whether a car is powerful or otherwise just by looking at the engine capacity. A 2.0L car may not neccessarily mean its more ‘powerful’ than a 1.8L engine. The factor which determines power is actually the power : weight ratio.

The Toyota Innova 2.0G has 136hp but a weight of 1575kg. Compare that with the Honda Stream 1.8L which weighs only 1385kg but has 140hp. So obviously the Stream is more ‘powerful’. Thats why with even a 2.0L engine, the Innova is actually underpowered and doesnt have the fuel economy that the City or Camry enjoys.

But in saying this, Toyota knows that the Innova isnt that great which is why it only costs about 110K while the Stream costs 159K. So for 50K less, most ppl wouldnt mind getting a less powerful vehicle.

The Honda Freed has only 118hp but weighs 1355kg. This is kerb weight without passengers. So once u load it up, the low hp and heavier body will make it sluggish for sure. But we must remember that this is a MPV. Its not designed for racing. So as long as you dont mind the extra fuel costs you should be ok.

But if u ask me personally, i think the 113K price tag is way too high for a 1.5L engine capacity. I doubt the Freed will sell well. It will meet the same fate as the Jazz.

Cheers!

• Mad Cat on Apr 23, 2010 at 2:36 pm

It may be only 1.5L but you can still add MUGEN POWER – http://www.mugen-power.com/automobile/products/freed/

You can add AERO DYNAMICS, add Room Mirror Cover, Ventilated Visor, XJ aluminium wheel (Black Metal Coat or Spark Silver), with Twin Air Valve even! Brake Pad Type Touring. There’s even a Mugen Cosmetic Finisher (Fake exhaust outlet!). Sports Pedal. WHOO-HOO!

Free your Freed.

• they should put a 1.5 turbo diesel, than only it will have the torque to move….opps, i forgot…Japs dun have enough diesel engine range

• kosmo kar sucks on Apr 24, 2010 at 1:29 am

poor man already forced to buy an mpv in thought of wife and children so at least give him a reasonable manly horses and torque, pleaseee…

if american mom drives mpv to send kids to soccer practice, malaysian dads buy mpv so he can comfortably bring the whole family balik kampung during the many malaysian holiday seasons.

even if he cannot be proud of how he looks driving the mpv, at least give the man his pride in some nice overtaking moves. being an mpv is not the excuse to be sluggish.

sluggish mpv’s are for american soccer moms. powerful mpv’s are for malaysian thoughtful dads.

• learner on Apr 23, 2010 at 1:24 pm

if brand not the factor, u can get 1 alza 1.5l and 1 exora 1.6l at that price. 1 to go pasar and 1 for long distance travelling with family.

• Mad Cat on Apr 25, 2010 at 3:17 am

You can even get a world-class (sold in USA, Europe, Australia and NZ) Kia Rondo (Carens) 2.0L Theta (Lancer GT, Chrysler and Jeep equipped) engine for just under RM90k!!!

• Alanore Chong on Apr 23, 2010 at 1:28 pm

“Premium Compact MPV”, with No air-cond vent for rear passengers…

• 100% agreed….premium maybe because of the included sauna for the 3rd row passenger ; )

• newbies on Apr 23, 2010 at 1:29 pm

“upgraded it with leather seats and VIP tinting and putting it side by side a Freed the Exora looks way much better. ”

Thanks for supporting cronies who robed the poor.

• staff on Apr 23, 2010 at 3:36 pm

which cronies?

keep saying cronies, but who are they? do you know?

• staff on Apr 23, 2010 at 3:41 pm

Plus, the man saying that statement is an Indonesian…

Why dont you thank him a little because buying malaysian brand?

• Mad Cat on Apr 23, 2010 at 3:49 pm

Hey if they threw robes on the poor isn’t that a good thing? Hehehe.

• corolla_KE70 on Apr 23, 2010 at 3:59 pm

why? does he rob your money to tint his exora?

• i think its funny when people point out about tax, but still saying toyota cars are well price. lets us take a look at these examples. mitsu lancer gt 2.0 CBU around 120k, but toyota altis n honda civic CKD around 120k also, without tax, the car is nearly similar in price around 72k. the question is why CBU japan has the same price as CKD? it is the same as honda city n toyota vios CKD around 85k++ but mazda 2 n ford fiesta CBU have the same price bracket around 85k++. so is it the tax or honda n toyota take advantage because malaysian doesnt care to pay premium because of their brand. So fellow malaysian, before we start blaming about the tax structure(it is not 300% tax at all,even not 100% for cbu, if 100%, mitsu lancer gt will end up140k++), think before u buy. better to buy proton because atleast u know u pay for it price even with some tax n the money will only circulate in our country.
    anyway, nice car honda freed, but the price is premium. anyway, about the engine, yes, it has less power output, but in term of power to weight ratio, it is in the adequate level. of course, u need to rev hard to churn out all the horses, but its n mpv, not a race car. the same as exora n alza n even livina, innova or avanza even rondo, it is the same thing. its good to have low rpm to achieve maximum torque as in eastar at 3000rpm, but after that, it loose its breath. easy to drive in the city, but when need to rev out the engine, it will stall early, high peak torque achieve at 4000rpm or even 4500rpm, adequate for town driving, not as powerful as low peak torque, but more willing to rev, really useful for overtaking even in high speed.
    so everything has pro n con except u use pressure charge engine, but this pressure charge engine also has its own weakness.

• cybermaster98 on Apr 23, 2010 at 2:31 pm

I agree with you. Of course its not only Gov taxes which contribute to the high prices that Toyota and Honda come with. But then again, u cant compare a Toyota with a Mitsubishi either. Toyota is a family brand which is known for its quality and dependability (despite the recent recalls). Mitsubishi is known for its 4WD and performance vehicles. 2 totally different categories.

Mitsubishi had to price the Lancer at around that price to compete with the Altis and Civic. But even then the Lancer didnt do well despite being a CBU. It didnt even get on the Malaysia Top 50 vehicle sales list for 2009 unlike the Civic and Altis which ranked 12th and 17th respectively. Malaysians are not taken up by this CBU or CKD difference. Even i personally dont care. I have a Toyota CKD but it hasnt given me any major problems for 7 years. Malaysians are more focussed on maintenance costs, dependability, resale value and specs to a certain extent which Toyota and Honda provide.

So as ive said before, Mitsubishi or any of the Korean makes can provide cars which are much cheaper in comparison with T & H but that will still not boost their sales unless they can improve their local distribution and service standards and costs.

Cheers!

• Mad Cat on Apr 23, 2010 at 3:06 pm

Most people who talk about tax don’t even know that the govt. has already reduced tax for Honda since the 2006 NAP lah. Honda should be enjoys zero import duty for their CKD (CEPT), 100% or nearly 100% excise duty exemption for CKD (Local content =ASEAN content). Honda should thank the govt. for giving them good exemptions for their CKD vehicles.

• Thats why nowadays in euro & aust…more ppl buying turbo diesel than petrol esp for mpv/suv…..almost double the torque of an equivalent petrol at low rpm and good fuel consumption. btw, those modern diesel can rev if needed, but whats the point….will only increase yr fuel consumption.

Just ride the massive the torque…. ; )

• No blind basher on Apr 23, 2010 at 4:31 pm

Kind of agree with you about the tax thing. I think most of the people DO NOT understand the current tax structure. The mind set was “frozen” 5 to 10 years ago.
      Whilst I’m not a pro-govt citizen, I’m not a blind basher as well.

The AFTA has already kicked in. So in this case, FREED, which is produced in another Asean country would not attract excessive high tax & duty.
      It’s Toyota & Honda’s business decisions to price their product “higher that it should be”.
      I do not blame T & H for that. They are the market leader in Malaysia (other than P1&2), they don’t need to price their product lower then others.
      I think Lancer it’s a good example, CBU japan with higher taxes but at @ CKD price (market penetration strategy).

Pls be mindful before we jumped into conclusion that this or any other car was highly priced due to the taxes & duties.

ps: Paul Tan, I hope an article can be produced on the taxes & duties (impose on vehicles) especially after the AFTA and FTA with Japan came into effect to correct the common mis-perceptions.

• bikinpanas on Apr 23, 2010 at 2:09 pm

premium MPV? tht is wht we call? i dont think so….OuR Exora is much better than this Garbage honda,no air cond at rear sit…hello ini Malaysia cuaca time panas mesti mcm oven kat blkng tu.. even .Grand livina better than this…

• kosmo kar sucks on Apr 24, 2010 at 12:09 am

yeah…no rear seat air cond…that sucks big time!

honda has always failed to be thoughtful enough for their prospective buyers in tropical region or somewhere along that line.

i own a honda city and the air cond is what i regret the most (besides the auto manual shift buttons on steering wheel).

i have to pay much higher compared to buying local cars but it takes forever for rear passenger to even feel the air cond.

mr. honda please think global

• liftt on Apr 23, 2010 at 3:01 pm

Just checked frm Honda offical website.

3 piece set (Tailgate spoilers, door visors & fog lights.)
    Package Price: RM2,200*
    *Price includes painting and installation.

Means RM112,980 + RM2,200 = RM115,180 for those who perfer sporty look.

I doubt still got peoples buy this hangang H badge!

• nasib la duk kat mesia..kete kecik camni pun rege rm112k.kalu aku ade duit pun aku x beli kete baru kt mesia…aku mesti beli 2nd hand car base on my sikit knowledge pasal kete ni..kalu kt mesia ni 2nd car price utk kereta umur 3 thn still the same price ngan its new price in our fellow asean country….thats why la aku beli 2nd hand car…like new honda city…new price was like rm90k..if kita wait 2-3 years base on it depreciation(but honda always overpriced!!!)..you can get it around 60-65k…kalu kita rege honda city kat indo now pun mcm ni la…

• Langkawi only sell RM79,980
    Shit G!!!

• keluangman on Apr 23, 2010 at 3:20 pm

I hate to say this but in terms of value for money MPV in comparison with this blood sucking Freed, Alza or Exora is better(esp. in terms of monthly payment).

This is just an overpriced VAN

• Mad Cat on Apr 23, 2010 at 4:29 pm

It’s a status symbol man! The poor man’s B-Class! ;)

• Kat M’sia jer org ingat Honda tu bagus padahal kat Jepun (tempat asal honda) honda ranking ke-3. No. 1 Either Nissan or Toyota… Mitsubishi ke-5. Ke-4 saya tak ingat…

So if nak cakap pasal status beli ler yg lebih baik dari Honda…

• faceone on Apr 23, 2010 at 3:28 pm

macam ni la… boleh diklaskan sebagai mini van moden. cara pemanduan kereta. nk kata mpv sepenuhnya hmmm…. saya takpandai la. Honda je tau kot ni kategori apa.
    selesa ke????

• imnot on Apr 23, 2010 at 3:39 pm

very poor design … so ugly.
    but bcoz its honda ….then, many said its nice … but if that under proton made, sure kena kutuk kaw-kaw

• ahmad on Apr 23, 2010 at 3:42 pm

the design is suck…better buy the edix. with that proce tag u can get new edix not recond

• keep on bashing on Apr 23, 2010 at 3:56 pm

The Power of Dream.

I think Honda CEO dream too much, dreaming that the price is reasonable and acceptable by Malaysian.

Just dream… ZZZzzzz…

• King4891 on May 14, 2010 at 5:50 pm

Beh tahan……

Hey dude, you know honda have how many years of historical data for analyst before come out the price?

Study more hard and you will get what I mean….

• good honda to protect jazz..

• over$$!!! reduce rm30k then i will buy

• smallfish on Apr 23, 2010 at 7:48 pm

I will never consider this ugly looking thing…not even if the price drop to RM10K.

• hairieamin Beemers on Apr 23, 2010 at 4:36 pm

interior ok, exterior failed!

• Gambit on Apr 23, 2010 at 4:43 pm

guys.. think about it, lets go ask the owner of small kancil or viva or myvi owners. i believe they are happy with their condition and driving those kind of car. surely they are since they dont need to think of high amount of loans to be paid each months for our ‘perfect’ cars, pricey fully synthetic oil, RON97 gasoline, premium monthly maintenance and checkup. They are, at peace! and i envy them so much. i am in the other hand keep on complaining which car should i buy and drive and bla2 all this and that. so funny thinking of it. huhu.. but no harm to you all, its just my glance of thought at this rainy season.

• taucu on Apr 23, 2010 at 5:38 pm

90% of you here are condemning the FREAK, i dont know what to say for those who are booking this car……..pathetic

• smallfish on Apr 23, 2010 at 7:55 pm

Just want to see who’s the first thick skin face daring to drive this ugly thing ( I don’t call it MPV or car – just call it “thing”)

• I think it’s more 90% who are bitter they cannot afford Freed.

• A. Muiz on Apr 23, 2010 at 6:02 pm

mahal nye…
    113K… 1.5 je…
    hhmm..??!!
    made in indo plak… :)

• G’tee only a few would be interested with such a price tag..
    Wake up Honda Malaysia….

• HONDA… the power of sohai dream……….

• kevin on Apr 23, 2010 at 8:37 pm

The saga wasn’t the most beautiful car around but it top the sales chart…..Freed……let’s want and c.

Will be interesting as people are unpredictable at times.

Cool auto sliding door like expensive vehicle.

• ommph on Apr 24, 2010 at 8:50 pm

Because Saga is value for money…any rational thinking Malaysian would go for this.

• The Bad Bear on Apr 23, 2010 at 8:38 pm

The saga wasn’t the most beautiful car around but it top the sales chart…..Freed……let’s want and c.

Will be interesting as people are unpredictable at times.

Cool auto sliding door like expensive vehicle.

• xavier lert on Apr 23, 2010 at 9:08 pm

halo!!!! for those who say this car is expensive…..think again!!!………..jazz sold at 100k+ so do u expect this fugly little tinggy will tag like ur lovly AVANZA!!! or ur beloved livina?!!! hell no!!!!…..

think again who make this box price lik ur house?.

and hey…..dont lik it dont buy it…. anyway it is fugly indeed…..

• ninjaboy on Apr 24, 2010 at 1:19 am

Went to check out the Freed yesterday.

Interior is about the same as Alza. Exterior, they just added the sliding door.

And they call it ‘Premium MPV?’ What premium?
    Just because it has the ‘H’ logo?

• Mad Cat on Apr 24, 2010 at 10:12 am

I think they needed to justify the pricing, so the word ‘PREMIUM’ was added to the description.

• Thomanic on Apr 24, 2010 at 1:23 am

hi paul,

is it possible to include rating for the comments in this entry like in youtube ?
    I think some people will find that some comments are not constructive and pure flaming post….It will also be easier to find high rated good comments which save some time to scroll through all the comments.

my 2 cents…;-)

• raz cbu on Apr 24, 2010 at 10:02 am

naik motor je la. beli baju ujan + box. ok kot…huhuhuh

• Dun talk about exora here…u must compare rambutan to rambutan…NOT rambutan to APPLE!

• Aiya… Easy boy… People are affordable for a Freed… U r just affordable for a Avanza, Exora… Worse still Alza… Think man…

• kosmo kar sucks on Apr 24, 2010 at 3:49 pm

seen the car this morning at Sri Utama SC while servicing my car.

Too small of an MPV to be priced at rm112k. leg room for all rows is very limited. feels like being in low cost aircraft carrier. although the glass box looks big but actually a lot of space is taken up by the oddly big dash board (including leg room).

head room is good although i think it’ll be more practical if it’s a bit wider. but too bad it’s sitting on City/Jazz platform hence the lack of width (I think cabin width is less than City/Jazz because Freed has thicker pillars to support the big and tall sliding door).

oh, 1 last thing i notice it has almost no rear bumper. quite scary for the last row passenger.

• bmpower on Apr 24, 2010 at 4:51 pm

112K for 1.5 engine with only 116hp?

We MUST start to boycott Honda. They start to be like toyota, MONEY SUCKER!

TEACH THEM A LESSON!

*unless we were stupid people buying a badge.

• Hisham on Apr 24, 2010 at 5:27 pm

Over price Honda again…basically all honda model is overpriced…

• not quite. The Honda City (90k) is cheaper that VIOS TRD (92k). City has more power, boot space, more accessories and practicality.

• Why comparing with TRD/ compare with J/E/G spec. Practicalicty? explain please?TRD is with TRD bits and suspension!

Anyway i hate toyotas.. Bro 1 thing the no other car manufacturers is the same league of higher can match TYT , is in the after sales. Seriously they are good.

• since the price is more than rm100k…. so i was thinking to buy nissan grand livina IMPUL 1.8 (rm109k)….

Any comment guys … on the performance of ngl impuls as compared this freed… in terms of FC and etc….

• Toyota and Honda has different competitive strategic planning. Honda’s strategy is ‘differentiate’. Thats why Honda always come out with odd and different design. Different make them special. Not too common. If you don’t like it, others will.

• gen2lama on Apr 25, 2010 at 1:52 am

yea…yea….once hit at back, perghhhh….normal car with proper bumper just need to change the bumper…but this ‘freek’ ?

• i only like the sliding door. others….hmmm..very ugly

• keep on bashing on Apr 26, 2010 at 3:16 pm

saw i freed this morning (singapore registered) at singapore checkpoint. the design really disgusting. i also worried if it’s full loaded and kiss by a bus or truck from back.

scary~

• Freedomm on Apr 27, 2010 at 11:13 pm

Freed JNCAP 6 star, Alza 4 star, Livina ??, Innova ??

• minnow on Apr 29, 2010 at 8:16 pm

Japan made car so JNCAP of course biased…..try asking international raters like US NHTSA and EuroNCAP…..4 star also i doubt….

• I think most of you miss the point. Just like the Jazz, now this Freed is deliberately priced at a higher bracket to differentiate itself from the other “common” MPVs like Grand Livina or Avanza. Heck, it’s even more expensive than the large Innova! Ask yourself, who will be buying the Jazz or the Freed? It’s for bragging rights and exclusivity lah!

• ketepower on May 02, 2010 at 10:02 am

Impressive…………….. !!!!!!!!

Memang matap……….

• Fat Bear on May 02, 2010 at 10:44 pm

Niche market.

Good for running errands, school drop and pick up, pasar malam nite, hypermart and spare car.

Exora and Alza getting too common.

Fred. ha. ha. ha. Just nice with wide dashboard for nasi lemak during traffic jams.

Nice front view.

Only the glovebox dissappointing, nice soft seats.

• custom bobblehead on May 04, 2010 at 6:37 am

this car is a joke, better choose other car.

• Hallas on May 08, 2010 at 5:01 pm

This is not Avanza killer, but he’s killing himself…..

• you all should test drive it before you comment on it.
    It’s powerful although it is only 1.5L engine.
    Fuel economy.
    Electric steering.
    All in one car with is functional and another good quality product from Honda.

• front looks fine,
    rear looks funny or ugly,
    but the power sliding door this kind of price..u cant get from others

i think its covered it all…as for same range competitors : others not like this
    if u cant afford alphard then u can have this similar techonolgy..

i think it is acceptable for 1.5 vtec small mpv…agreed?

p/s : no matter it assemble from thai or indon, its still honda brand ok..

=Z=

• blerr on May 31, 2010 at 11:52 pm

beli wish lagi bagus blekkk

• blerr on May 31, 2010 at 11:54 pm

klau nk jual murah la cikit mahal cam ni sapa nk bli hahahha
    wish pon lagi ok
    japan gak pastu wish 2.0 litre
    ni 1.5 litr pon harga nk dekat wish

• belon on Jul 17, 2010 at 1:58 pm

pelik aku pok cik blerr nih..pandai pikir ke tak..wish kalu baru ade la 160k siap duit..tapi kalu rekon aka secondhand tu mmg la harga freed bleh dpt.tp secondhand.warranty pun tk de..pakai la wish secondhand tu buat lawa 3..4 thn.pakai 5 thn umu kete dah 10 thn..cat pun dh pudar….kete buruk byr bank mcm tu gak…aku suka virgin..exora pun tk pe

• Car techno on Aug 22, 2010 at 12:49 pm

Hei Gambit,

there are no such Toyota Rush. It never was make by Toyota. It’s re emblem with Toyota.
    The Rush is actually a Daihatsu………..a subsidiary of Toyota. Daihatsu concentrates on small engine capacity.

• i wonder how expensive it will be to repair that automatic door in case it spoilt, definitely will cost a bomb to repair

• Woohooaa… The price tag is awesomee!!

But still it is nicer than Exora :P Isn’t it, Exora basher?

• Hate it from da very 1st day!!!! But today (7/1/2011) me n wife happily test drove n booked one. At first we were all for jazz…but after a short test drive we fell in luv with freed. Call us freaks…call it a freak show….we freak u out, don’t we?

• Okey jgak freed ni, dah 3 minggu bawak, takde problem …. yang jadi problem ….. orang dok tengok and kene buat demo ….. ha ha

• leejb on Jan 16, 2011 at 7:49 pm

aku dah hampir tahun pakai freed dan alhamdulillah masih segar…haha.org kita klu nk cakap x agak2…ingatlah beb lu punya rezeki lu nikmati…jgn sakit hati…kau pakai keta apa2pun klu ditakdirkan accident mati juga beb…hidup hanya sekali dan ayuh kita nikmati…jgn peduli dgn si pendengki…sikap “terpuji” org kita.bab tu sampai hari ni jadi kuli…..bagi yg sedar diri ayuhlah berubah…kerana dunia dan malaysia dah berubah…kalau nk training jd melayu yg gagah kau duduk spore bru kau tau langit tinggi rendah…..ooopppsss maaf klu ada yg terasa aku cuma nak ingat diri dan kwn2 yg lain….cowww!!

• leejb on Jan 16, 2011 at 7:51 pm

sory bro aku silap reply bab bru first time masuk blog ni…yg tadi aku nak apungkan kat main topic…sorry k.

• leejb on Jan 16, 2011 at 8:02 pm

hello and salam….firstly nak bagitau bulan 6 ni genaplah setahun aku pakai freed.
    tak payah komen ttg kereta lainlah…bila aku baca komen kat dalam ruangan ni ramai yg ada PHD…(anugerah yg diberi kepada bumiputera jer) apsal banyak sangat komen negatif? rezeki allah bagi untuk kita nikmati…yg sakit hati apsal…rambut sama hitam tapi hati xsama…masing2 ada selera masing2.klu x suka jgn banyak cerewet!!kau bawaklah keta yg kau sangka hebat tp bila accident klu ditakdirkan kau maut pun kau nak salahkan takdir? ada akal pakai dan jgn ckp ikut sedap mulut….bangsa asing pakai keta menjalar tp mereka jaga kebajikan masyarakat mereka….kau org? ado?
    aku rasalah bru kuar keta dah sibuk nk modific dan menghabiskan duit…macam mana nk menuju wawasan 2020…aku rasa org yg PHD kuat akan ketinggalan…(contoh)kau g duduk spore bru kau rasa hidup seperti manusia lain yg harus mencari rezeki dgn usaha sendiri tanpa dibantu kerajaan….fikir2kanlah…

• Mechanical Engineer on Aug 23, 2012 at 10:26 am

Ntah macam mana ada tarikan pulak pada Freed ni. Mungkin dah di takdirkan untuk memilikinya satu hari nanti. Amin.

• Anna Lim on Aug 14, 2011 at 7:44 am

I first tested the FREED and found it to be very pleasant and economical. Tested it for nearly an hour! Dashboard could be nicer though but it drove very well around traffic jams and city areas that we bought one as an addition to our 2010 Camry and 2005 BMW 530. So far so good and really suited for KL roads.

• Mechanical Engineer on Aug 23, 2012 at 10:13 am

If you want cheeep, you buy 2nd hand car or kancil or new Viva, if you want more cargo space, you buy a lorry or pick-up truck, if you want power, you buy a “lori tanah”, if you want speed, you buy F1 car, if you want to carry lot of passanger, you buy a bus…..If your dream car need all this in one package, the size will be as big as express bus or locomotif. Think again. Let Freed in it class.

• setiap kereta ada kelebihan dan kekurangan. kenapa nak komplain lebih2. yang ni tak kena yang tu tak kena… kalau kita buat sendiri pun orang lain ttp akan komplain jgk….dah2 la tu duk kutuk lebih2… orang punya duit ikut dia la nak beli kereta apa pun…

• Frank on Jan 05, 2013 at 8:49 pm

Honda Freed is rated the top few selling car in indonesia. Hot seller in singapore and now is current rated in top 5 selling car in japan.
    Currently this few months freed s has rm12k discount so now becomes rm86k from old klang road or jalan cheras honda branch.
    Every car has its strength and weakness only detail research to find what suit you. If there is one car that is perfect and cheap then there will be no other car selling in malaysia except that.
    At 70-90k+ non local 7 seater if interested is only few like avanza, unser, rush, grand livina & freed. It really depends on your needs, taste & affordability. And if you can wait, every year or two there is something new created so there is never a right time to get a car.