Tengku Djan wins Formula Drift Singapore 2010!

We just got back from a long and blazing hot day at Singapore’s F1 pit building, where Formula Drift Singapore 2010 took place over the weekend. Malaysia’s Tengku Djan beat the rest of the 42 drivers to be crowned champion at Formula Drift Asia’s season opener. He beat Bridgestone teammate Tan Tat Wei in an all-Malaysian final. Goodyear’s Daniel Woolhouse a.k.a. Fanga Dan from New Zealand was third in his Nissan RB-powered Holden Commodore.

Today’s top 29 (supposed to be 32 but there were too many drifters with zeros yesterday) saw Team Goodyear Malaysia’s Michael Gan and Hanizam Bin Hamzah (also known as Loyai) taking part. The former bowed out with mechanical problems but Loyai was my star driver of the day, and could have been FD Singapore’s giant slayer, if not for a judges decision I feel was unbelievable.

For the full report and gallery, click here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• HirumaKecil on Apr 25, 2010 at 8:12 pm

Terbaek!!! He is the best!!

• m4xspeed on Apr 25, 2010 at 8:19 pm

Congrats!! Proud to be Malaysian… MALAYSIA BOLEH!!

• Yea, i was about to say that oso..
      From deep down my heart, Malaysia Boleh!

• C'mon Proton on Apr 25, 2010 at 8:19 pm

Congrats! I still remember last time when he was in Japan, he was ask’d to be the tour guide of the drift track and he explains in Bahasa Malaysia! The Japs was, ahaaa… I was really proud with wat Tengku Djan did. Malaysia FTW!

• alibaba on Apr 25, 2010 at 8:58 pm

Well done! Well done! This is the kind of achievements that make Malaysians proud! Giving Malaysians sub standard cars for 25 years is not!

• sadder on Apr 25, 2010 at 10:07 pm

agree.. we must know/differentiate the true meaning of Malaysian boleh.

• Eyesore on Apr 26, 2010 at 8:26 am

You just have to drag proton into everything isn’t it?

• Got mention Proton anywhere? I dun see it…

• Eyesore on Apr 26, 2010 at 2:02 pm

“Giving Malaysians sub standard cars for 25 years is not!”…. Anyone who has been on this Blog would immediately know what he meant…. Or you just choose to be ignorant like you always do?

• 2fast on Apr 25, 2010 at 9:10 pm

Congrats to Tengku Djan and the Malaysian team!

We have world class talent in this sport. Hope the Gov will help this sport grow locally.

• umno juara tipu rakyat on Apr 25, 2010 at 9:20 pm

loyai used to take part in local film if im not mistaken

• Hamzah was ROBBED by the judges…..

Unfair for him…..!!!!

• fd 2.0 on Apr 26, 2010 at 12:28 am

his name is hanizam. hamzah is his father’s name. :p

• hey sometimes we refer a person by his surname. You know, like david beckham, we referred to him as beckham, not david.

• Yang Mulia Tenku is AWESOME !!!

• jazzer on Apr 25, 2010 at 9:28 pm

tengku djan, u betol2 hao liao..

• Valley on Apr 25, 2010 at 9:49 pm

Well done Tengku Djan!!

• Tommy on Apr 25, 2010 at 10:30 pm

Well done malaysians… Tengku Djan, Tan, we are proud of you both…

• azure on Apr 25, 2010 at 10:46 pm

bravo!!!bravo!!!

• TERBAAEEKKK!!!!!!!!!!!!

• proton-speed on Apr 25, 2010 at 11:42 pm

Congrats!! Tengku Djan ganah2

• trav_da_man on Apr 26, 2010 at 12:05 am

Syabas Tengku Djan!!! We do have the best drifters in the region!!!! Top 2 malaysians overall!!!! Brilliant!!!!

• sean ZX10 on Apr 26, 2010 at 10:42 am

congrats to tengku djan using proton’s money to gain personal development without none whatso ever feedbacks to proton…asshoLE!!!

• Tommy on Apr 26, 2010 at 8:04 pm

WTF?! where did you get that info?! FYI, Tengku Djan did so hard to get sponsorships! From ETCM, Bridgestone, Malaysia airlines and others…

• sean ZX10 on Apr 26, 2010 at 8:57 pm

any contributions to proton? all i see a merely cosmetic changes to proton “R3″…all can be done 70% cheaper …u think its hard to get those sponsorships?he’s using proton’s name ….i also can sell 10,000 pisang goreng in 15min record using proton’s name…WTF about the red waja he’s using? nissan engine…reworked chassis…4wd…wht’s R3(rally,research,ape kejadah lg la kan) from tht???

• bLo0d on Apr 27, 2010 at 8:55 am

bro,
            4wd? really? i think u better go read first. that car is only frame and waja body panel are attached to it. yes it use nissan engine. and it is RWD!

• myspeed2 on May 13, 2011 at 2:45 am

next time more proud if they try to use full proton make car in drift… when thet time is bigin than malaysia realy BOLEH…..

• Tengku din used proton money to gain skill but he used his royal money to gain all the chance to be well known.Win with his own money only…cheers

• WELL DONE AND CONGRATULATIONS

• fd 2.0 on Apr 26, 2010 at 12:27 am

well done tengku djan and tan tat wei. bravo. /respect

• need more pic on those kumho tyres danny

• Grandisan on Apr 26, 2010 at 12:42 am

Congrat Djan , proud to be Malaysian !

• fasgen on Apr 26, 2010 at 8:00 am

tgku djan drifter sejati… lawan dgn jepun pulak…

• abe yim on Apr 26, 2010 at 10:56 am

Memang bro ni lahir kat litar drift…… dan jgn lupa makan panadol actifast

• Ferruccio on Apr 26, 2010 at 11:00 am

Congratulations to Mr PANADOL!

• sadder on Apr 26, 2010 at 11:27 am

Malaysia juara arena rempitan dunia

• Motorist on Apr 26, 2010 at 11:51 am

Congrats Djan

• apeman on Apr 26, 2010 at 1:00 pm

GO MALAYSIA!!

• Hameed Koyakuti on Apr 26, 2010 at 2:04 pm

CONGRATS PRINCE DJAN, FOR BCOMING THE KING OF DRIFT !!!!! MAYBE NEXT YEAR CHANGE CAR ???

• leng chai on Apr 26, 2010 at 2:25 pm

hanizam n tengku Djan…respect u all….make me pround…when goverment want to support this sport…we got potential…

• congratulation!! tengku djan…
    u r the no. 1 DRIFTER in Malaysia…

• Dr, M on Apr 26, 2010 at 2:57 pm

This is sweet victory. 1st and 2nd go to Malaysians. This is the reason why MY are in F1, A1 and GP2.
    SG will be entering 3rd year F1 but has yet to reap this sort of success that we MY have been achieving. Malaysians are truly race bred. We all will believe MY motorsports will go a long way.

• Anda sakit kepala..? Gunalah Panadol.. wakakak..! congrate..! XD

• Congrats Djan… The only thing in the motor industry i am proud of.

• Aman Shah on Apr 26, 2010 at 10:54 pm

u see… when we face outside world..we are Malaysian…if outside people talk about us, we all feel mad and defensive about it.. so people…lets unite…we are Malaysian. lets develop our country and bea singapore in everything :p

• Nerddy on Apr 27, 2010 at 10:06 am

buat malu s’pore tul laaa…. bagi steering jer….

• sean ZX10 on Apr 27, 2010 at 8:55 pm

ops sorry! RWD but anyway still nothing major of technical studies he gave to proton..using proton as his platform to gain personal fame…ops sorry again..rephrase+using his father in proton to gain personal fame…anyone can beat him hands down if given this handicapped advances.

• what sort of handicapped you are talking here…

I do agree there are numbers of people in malaysia who are using their fame to gain something else, but i think you need real skill to be able to compete in Drifitng event like this….

anyone can beat TD handsdown? you sure? why dont you try put up a race with him and prove to the world “ANYONE” can beat??

• Trent on Apr 29, 2010 at 6:56 am

Hey guys lets not leave out Fanga Dan from New Zealand. Classed as a rookie at the end of the pack. Not as much sponsorship oportunity as most guys there and he upset many and came in 3rd. Well done to the Malay boys but a massive congrats to Dan. Watch out for this guy when he gets a decent sponsor!