Volkswagen E-Lavida concept at Auto China 2010

Volkswagen arrived in Beijing for the Auto China 2010 event with the E-Lavida concept which is essentially an electric version of the Lavida, a Chinese-market sedan that is based on the Volkswagen Golf. The E-Lavida is the company’s first electric car that was completely designed and built in China with the help of SAIC of course. The concept is expected to go into production by 2013.

Unfortunately technical details are still limited regarding this ‘greener’ Lavida. The introduction of the E-Lavida is part of Volkwagen’s move to capitalize on low-emissions motoring in the country. “China is one of the most important auto markets in the company’s global strategy,” said Martin Winterkorn chairman of Volkswagen.

“Success in China has a significant meaning for Volkswagen in achieving its electric car strategy worldwide,” he added. China’s National Development and Reform Commission includes low-carbon targets in its 12th five-year plan between 2011 and 2015.

The Chinese government also aims to increase the proportion of non-fossil and renewable energy including wind, solar, biomass, geothermal and nuclear into the energy mix to 15% by 2020.

Continue reading to check out an image gallery.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1084]

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• :S Looks very very plain. Getting a bit towards the ugly side… Is either SAIC cannot design car or they don’t have fashion sense.

• g-spot on Apr 26, 2010 at 10:27 am

the front looks like sentra bumper with optra magnum headlamps..
    btw, the name is also sounds like coldplay song…

• Charger on Apr 26, 2010 at 11:14 am

I thought I saw a Nissan Sentra’s front. “-_-

• musee on Apr 26, 2010 at 12:58 pm

omg why……. china is holding vw balls, sqeezing to come out such a ugly design.

• scooter on Apr 26, 2010 at 3:03 pm

None of it’s appearance is impressed, it looks really outdated, feel like n years ago design

• Really Chinaman style.

• 4G63tDSM on Apr 26, 2010 at 3:26 pm

Ugly or not, how come all these “new technology” cars are all going to China?

I thought we were the automotive hub of asia

• If VW plan to give us this exterior through VW-Proton ties, no thanks, but the interior, engine, transmission, and tech is desirable. Perhaps leave to proton to design the whole exterior, the rest like cheap but high quality production skill, tiny sensitive mechanism & joints, platform, engine, transmission, interior & tech is up to VW….tats work out

• “The E-Lavida is the company’s first electric car that was completely designed and built in China with the help of SAIC of course.”

Designed in china,get it?

Basically they did what you just wrote there, left the design of exterior/interior to them but they kinda din’t do that well.

And I agree on the rest of your post.

• mitlanevo on Apr 26, 2010 at 4:26 pm

i bet the car will look dated in 2013… but who knows, china taste different from most of us, haha…

• Tha_Fadz_One on Apr 26, 2010 at 6:48 pm

The wheels langsung tak matching

• shawal on Apr 26, 2010 at 8:11 pm

Are the Designers russian or sumthin..?

• Smith on Apr 26, 2010 at 10:21 pm

Wheel to bad for me

• Mazda MPS is a stoopid guy on Apr 27, 2010 at 8:36 am

if we still in 1990’s this car probably has technology ahead of its time…the design suit that decade.

• firos on Apr 29, 2010 at 3:13 pm

reminds me with old camry