Lexus’ latest hybrid concept is a bicycle!

Carbon fibre construction, eight-speed transmission and hybrid power presented in L-finesse design. Sounds like the latest F model from Lexus but the above description is actually for the company’s Lexus Hybrid Bicycle. It was unveiled at last year’s Tokyo Motor Show, but I do not remember seeing it there – must be that limelight grabbing LFA’s fault!

Lexus, which is the premium segment’s hybrid champion, has applied the same thinking, fundamental engineering and design values of the brand here, but on two wheels rather than four. The Hybrid Bicycle adopts similar principles as its car siblings, with the pedal power of the rider boosted by assistance to the front wheel from a 240W electric motor, via a 25.9V lithium-ion battery. Like the cars, there’s a choice of Eco or Power modes plus brake energy regeneration!

Power goes two all wheels via an electric eight-speed Shimano internal gear system, the same number of ratios as the Lexus LS 600h at the other end of the hybrid range. This bike’s light too, being crafted from carbon fibre.

Lexus is the title sponsor of the Great British Bike Ride, a four-day charity fun ride that will see hundreds of cyclists following a course from Land’s End to the home of English rugby at Twickenham, and has brought one of only two Lexus Hybrid Bicycles in existence to the UK for show. No plans for production, though. More pics after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1088]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• azrai on Apr 28, 2010 at 4:59 pm

Proton has done this before. th T-bike.

• abang_butuh_panjang on Apr 28, 2010 at 5:09 pm

One thing missing….. suspension.

• Ugly and no disc brake

• the fighter on Apr 29, 2010 at 10:26 am

the break forced is turn tu electical energy, its hybrid la bro..

• snakepit on Apr 28, 2010 at 5:30 pm

shameful…only able to produce bicycle

• zamani on Apr 28, 2010 at 5:34 pm

i got one…i mean Proton t-bike

• What the cost like, RM15K

• mystvearn on Apr 28, 2010 at 5:54 pm

Lexus going a step down?

With problems about brakes and SUV rolling over, it has resort to bikes. Surely this can’t fail. lol

• will this bike have brake caliper failure, just like those Camry-run-away-car/sticky pedal in the US??? hahahahaha….

• T-bike…..aih….

• drMpower on Apr 28, 2010 at 7:12 pm

i dont know how azlan the penguin managed to blurt out the in-synchronism between making cars and motorcycles, when he told us he had to let go that augusta

now lexus is doing BIKE. the paddling bike. basikal. bicycle. so does BMW. that makes penguin the biggest liar and permanently number 1 on my most stupid manager of all time.

poor penguin azlan. he will be feeling my wrath all along his life. small my wrath may be, but i guarantee he will not be spared.

• Biskut Lexus on Apr 28, 2010 at 7:27 pm

WTF…. bicycle? Maybe this is Lexus most luxurious bike ever. W/o absorber, disc brake even variable gear. OMG.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Apr 28, 2010 at 9:38 pm

not very environmental friendly

• Even though its just a bicycle, I still dont think i can afford this Lexus. FML. hehe

• bobdbilder on Apr 29, 2010 at 12:13 am

Most of you guys can’t even realize (or prefer not to lest it makes fun of your beloved brand) that the location of the shifters are awkward. Even with the variable stem, you would be hunched over to get at the shifters and the brakes. Why they prefer roadie shifters on a comfort/city bike is beyond me.

See also how the front brake cables are routed. Seat post is not adjustable. Fitting the bike to the rider would be a problem. The way I see it, this is just another design exercise. Nothing really serious. How can the most profitable car company be serious about a bicycle? They just make a mockery of it.

Nobody could touch Lotus with Chris Boardman’s Track bike. Nuff said.

• the fighter on Apr 29, 2010 at 10:33 am

why are u so emotional..this is call concept! dont u understand between concept and end model ..furthermore this is revolution

• Haha..I noticed that too…about the shifters. Obviously roadie shifters with a weird and confused handlebars. And what’s up with the weirdly routed belt for the back wheel?

I guess you have to get your body measured up before they build the frame. That explains the unadjustable seat post.

Another one of ’em custom-super-expensive-bikes..hehehe..

• new concept…good,i like the design of it..
    use timing belt its a new technology.

• Mazda MPS is a stoopid guy on Apr 29, 2010 at 6:52 pm

actually the ‘timing belt’ tech is dated back in late 80’s already…

• ong chin aun on Apr 29, 2010 at 10:25 am

The electric bike has been in the market long time ago. The goverment encourage and promote eco-friendly machine, but ban it on the road due to road safety etc. ect.
    Surely there must be a way to implement the use of such eco-friendly machine, no smoke pollution, no petrol required.
    Hope the goverment allows the use of electric bike. Since proton already produce it, why not mass production into the market ? Surely will sell like hot cake , and many will like to buy it. Haha.. But no repeat sale cos maintenance almost free . Tak untung bagi syrikat, kedua kerajaan tak dapat sumbangan income saperti cukai-cukai.

• rexis on Apr 29, 2010 at 10:38 am

I think the timing-belt-like bicycle chain is kinda kool.

Now, the most important thing is, does it required charging? The article didn’t mentioned charging time.

• kozekx on Apr 29, 2010 at 10:39 am

Not much details, huh?

How far can it go before the battery goes flat? How long for a full recharge? What’s the max speed when on electric power?

Am gonna google more about electic bikes. Am interested in getting one. :-) Good for health, and good for the environment.

• victor lee on Apr 29, 2010 at 2:30 pm

honda already done it on a honda cub concept

• Squawk on Apr 29, 2010 at 5:11 pm

No sticky pedal problem? :-)

• Mazda MPS is a stoopid guy on Apr 29, 2010 at 6:55 pm

actually is goes other way round…if not sticked then how to kayuh maa..

• Squawk on Apr 30, 2010 at 1:06 pm

Kayuh & cannot stop. :-)

Proton’s T-bike was from one of its vendors. They first made the bikes belt driven instead of chain.

• RamuNik on Apr 30, 2010 at 5:59 pm

You guys really good in jokes XD. back to Lexus bike. It is amazine they can hide the batt & all component between the paddle & rear wheel (guess). P T-bike was composite innovation, They are using carbonfibre/aluminum for the body. not saying bad about Proton but all the parts were shimano. It means P was building only the frame, not the bike. That was the achievement back in those days. Lexus is takling kinetic, regeneration of energy, utilization of power. Duh~