Euromobil to double Audi sales figures, CKD coming soon?

Euromobil Sdn Bhd, which recently secured the Audi franchise after years of being a key dealer, is aiming to more than double the sales of Audi cars this year – targetting 1,000 units from 2009’s 465 units. The bulk of these will be the A4 and the high in demand Q5 SUV.

“We obtained full distributorship status in February, so we are now the sole exclusive distributor of Audi cars in Malaysia,” said DRB-HICOM group director for automotive Datuk Nik Hamdan Nik Hassan. “The plan is for us to do the CBUs right to the maximum level before we embark on the CKD business to become No.2 or No.1 in the premium sector,” he added. It’s unknown what the “maximum level” is, however.

Audi owners will be happy to know that Euromobil will open a service centre at Jalan Chan Sow Lin in Kuala Lumpur this month. Nik Hamdan told reporters that the company will continue to expand its 3S centre network. He said this while flagging off the first export batch of locally assembled Suzuki Swifts to Brunei. The 1.5-litre Swift, which is put together in Pekan, will join the 1.3 model and Swift Sport in Brunei and is expected to sell at a rate of 10 units per month.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Squawk on May 05, 2010 at 12:52 pm

DRBH has so far screwed up their franchises. Let’s see how they do with this one.

• “Audi owners will be happy to know that Euromobil will open a service centre at Jalan Chan Sow Lin in Kuala Lumpur this month”

actually quite a lot of Audi owners are unhappy with EM. loads went across the causeway to get their cars fixed/maintain there cause the attitude of EM.

• hassan b on May 05, 2010 at 1:15 pm

No wonder Suzuki swift at Brunei here rust so easily.
    There originated from the west coast of South China Sea.

• Justin on May 05, 2010 at 1:30 pm

I agree with ent. A lot of Audi owners would rather drive their cars over to Singapore to get it fixed there.

I’m waiting for the delivery of my Audi A4. When I book mine in March 2010, the brochure they showed me was dated November 2009 and it had 8 speakers with total output of 80 watts. They recently updated their brochure (Feb 2010) and the standard specs has 10 speakers with 180watts total output. I called my SA and he said I’ll be getting the one I agreed upon, i.e. Nov 2009.

Does that mean they are selling me old stock? I booked in March while they updated their brochure in Feb (but posted in April). I should be getting the updated one. No?

I’ll be going to Audi Hanger in KL one of these days to argue. Don’t have the time to do it now.

• I believe is you get what you agreed on. Cause if you refer back to all the launching of face lifted models, the company will mention something like “customers who had booked the older model can pay the difference in price to get the new model”. But may be what you can do is ask them if you can pay for the “paper work” so that they give you the new specs.

• Justin on May 05, 2010 at 2:30 pm

I booked in March 2010. The brochure shown to me was November 2009 and they have a new brochure on Feb 2010.

If they have the new brochure by February, why are they showing me to the November 2009 one and why are they updating their website only in April 2010 with the new brochure.

This is seriously misleading and to me, it’s a freaking con job!

• slave on May 05, 2010 at 4:36 pm

Sorry for out of topic a little. How long is your waiting period? I’ve booked the a4 last Dec 09 and the SA just said that the car delivery gets delayed until June 10! 6 months waiting period….

• just cancel it, and book again, lol

• Justin on May 05, 2010 at 4:31 pm

I’ve waited for two months now and if I cancel and book again, it’s gonna be another four months. Why four months? I don’t know. That’s what the SA told me. The Q5 is even longer, up to 8 months I think.

This means that they don’t have stock in Malaysia and why the hell should I be given the old stock since they are practically “built to order”?

I know it’s just the speakers. No big deal. Not like I am an audiophile and can identify each hertz going into my eardrums but it’s the principles.

• Seriously on May 06, 2010 at 2:05 pm

I don’t really see an issue. You saw what you wanted and you’ll get what you wanted. If they had a downgrade in speakers on the Feb2010 brochure I don’t think you would be complaining right? Or if the newer one had something you dont like in it, and they gave you what you didnt initially order for, then they’ll be in trouble.

Plus, it is probable that Malaysia didnt have that newer version yet only till recently and that’s just unfortunate for you. That print date could be for another country for all you know.

Just your luck.

• aksMs on May 05, 2010 at 3:20 pm

No matter what marquee you drive, it’s the service centre that let us down…most of the times. Be it BMW, Mercedes, Honda, Toyota or even Proton & Perodua. Not all, but, many.

• No worries. The brochure is a fake.
      It states 8 speakers but I found 11 in mine.

• dizzy on May 05, 2010 at 2:17 pm

What is the point of CKD? Govt is still imposing such high taxes on cars!

• The Loner on May 05, 2010 at 5:47 pm

Agree. Especially excise duty. CKD will only eliminate the 30% import duty.

• scgtimk1 on May 06, 2010 at 9:42 am

Excise duty will be reduced further if more local part content. The higher local part content the lower excise duty.

This is under the IAF incentive

Proton & Perodua price their cars using this Incentive.Please do not make a statement without knowing the facts.

• dizzy on May 06, 2010 at 3:55 pm

Without conversion, dollar for dollar Sing was only selling A4 2.0TFSI for S$138K( When COE was at the low season).
          US selling A4 2.0TFSI for only USD 32K. Even after conversion x 3.2 = only at RM 102,000/=

So regardless any local content or not content, our govt is still reaping us off!
          Local content is just a mask to deceived the rakyat!

WE NEED A CHANGE ON OUR AUTOMOTIVE INDUSTRY!

Now talking about earning extra income by implementing GST!

Our govt is getting greedy by the day.

• pakteh on May 05, 2010 at 2:36 pm

sayang.wasted.

• Jonnie on May 05, 2010 at 2:45 pm

The reason why people choose Audi over BMW and Merc is that it don’t break down and feel nicer as it is made with better trim… because it is made in Germany.

BMW and Merc suffer bad reputation because of CKD, lower trim level, lousy workmanship (cannot even screw nuts properly), lousy localize material (cheap cheap cheap to lower cost), etc.. some model plastic is like proton…

When Audi become CKD… byebye Audi

• Jaybond on May 05, 2010 at 5:55 pm

I would say most of the ‘real’ localized parts are reserved to floor carpets, insulations stuff like that.

So-called localized seats, headlinings (in some cases, dashboard) are assembly of European made sub-parts , which are ain’t cheap – in the end you still get quite literally good quality cars, only on a very rare occasion you do have workmanship issues..

• 2fast on May 05, 2010 at 9:52 pm

The quality of assembly of the imported parts is also important. If the workers do not align and screw the parts properly, there will be creaks and squeaks when driving. The final assembly of CKD cars still does not match the quality of imported Japanese or German ones

• syedhs on May 05, 2010 at 2:47 pm

CKD mercedes doesn’t have any price change…

• Wow…expensive cars but screwed up distributors…

paying big buck but got a low class after sales services…

• DRB-Hicom, one word “Hopeless”.

• GermanAudi on May 05, 2010 at 3:43 pm

I think i want to laugh my head off… those fellas have no idea what they are doing now, yet they want to CKD audi.. Halloo, firstly show your honesty and commitment by bringing in more cars and more models la.. and give better service la…. anybody who own a conti will know that EM is worst when it comes to attitude and service.. from high position to bottom ppl.. all same…. same GLC attitude brought over from the old proton days.. except now its even worse…

And they always come up with excuses about why no stock (a few friend of mine kena).. why waiting list so long.. and also to things like what happened to mr ent and justin above..

CKD here? huh….with EM attitude and working style…. i say proton like build quality audis? lol…..

Why the germans dont want to appoint a new representative?

• attitude is the worse, EUROMOBIL shut down lar, dont dream.

• venven81 on May 05, 2010 at 10:12 pm

hopefully this posting will be visible to those ppl you mentioned or even better, to Audi AG! i have the similar question, why Audi AG still wants EM to become the sole distributor (making it worse!) in bolehland?!??!?!? !@$%^$#

• Vezeroth on May 06, 2010 at 5:31 pm

Because euromobil related to SD which is very related to the gov/umno, therefore, easy get AP’s… if they audi ag doesnt go with euromobil, gov wont be allowing anyone else to sell audi’s…

• Totally agree… Booked a Q5 Aug’09, cannot be able to deliver until now. Sales person said no ship coming from German. Wat a ridiculous excuse… So fed up with their service even before I get the car.

• BoringMOOMOO on May 06, 2010 at 1:59 am

WTF??? no ship?? or no car? wat kind of excuse?? i can simply ship anything right now from germany and arrive here is 2-3 weeks time!!!!

• He said few hundreds cars stuck at the port, waiting for ship… Wanted to justify it with his superiors but they r always meeting n never call me back. So frustrated, dun think I’ll buy another Audi car unless distributor is changed.

• Vincent on May 05, 2010 at 4:46 pm

The last I heard, waiting period for Q5 is 9 months… AP issue?

Q5 CBU is selling at RM 298K. So, If they CKD it, can we expect they price at RM220+K?

• good, really good.

• dizzy on May 06, 2010 at 4:13 pm

hello? The latest price for Q5 2.0TFSI S line cost slightly below RM400K( FULL SPECS). So dream on with RM220K. MALAYSIA BOLEH!

• tikus on May 06, 2010 at 8:34 pm

It’s possible with Naza Distributor. Naza The Price Buster!! Look at what they have done with Pug !!

• khaix19a on May 05, 2010 at 5:20 pm

wow all the quality issue not only involved local but import car…someone better improve the quality of service of import car, at this rate why bother buy new car if the after sales services is rubbish, people want good services no matter what the car brand is

• mystvearn on May 05, 2010 at 6:23 pm

No east coast 3S centre?

• think on May 05, 2010 at 8:14 pm

it’s good to hear of the ckd..so when will be ckd comes in action..anyway for this ckd plans pls have some quality workmanship,unlike china made products..can we get the price of A4 baseline for less than RM200k..nowdays people do not look whether it’s a ckd or cbu..they buying and using it for brand image..for additional info,,most of the people who owns a audi or any luxury brands are not rich actually because their loan period is more than 10 years or longer..but people who buy a vios for Rm80000 and they pay their loan within two years,,they are the one who is rich..nothing to show off by using expensive cars if internally financially weak.. think…

• Korean on May 05, 2010 at 10:54 pm

So, I am driving a Vios, hehe.. I am richer than most of the Towkay who drives Mercedes S350!!!

• pelams on May 05, 2010 at 11:10 pm

but they r still rich bcoz can afford to maintain an audi!

• Jaybond on May 06, 2010 at 2:10 pm

It’s going to be quite hard to bring the price down, unless something is done with the excise duties..

• Seriously on May 06, 2010 at 2:47 pm

That’s just to make you feel better huh? Although it is kinda true… but your statement is too generalized. Some people pay off Vios in 9 years as well. So conclusion is, you’ll never really know.

• Dear think,

I wonder if anyone loan 10 year on cars?

I got my A4 last year with a downpayment of 80k.
    In other words, does it mean I am buying a Vios/City in cash? Lol

• Vezeroth on May 05, 2010 at 11:23 pm

wtf?…….

• BoringMOOMOO on May 06, 2010 at 1:52 am

wtf~!

• Azu-nyan on May 06, 2010 at 2:44 am

err..no Q7? i adore the V12 TDI… but then again, we can’t bcoz of our poor quality diesel here LoL

• khaix19a on May 06, 2010 at 6:13 am

agree….there many cool diesel out there but because of the poor diesel quality none of them cannot be imported here in malaysia until our diesel been upgraded….

• paultan fan on May 06, 2010 at 1:13 pm

CKD.. setuju sgt2

• dizzy on May 06, 2010 at 4:24 pm

hello? The latest price for Q5 2.0TFSI S line cost slightly below RM400K OTR retail Price without insurance( FULL SPECS).
    Even with 20% discount ( if CKD) it will still cost RM 320K.
    So dream on with RM220K.

MALAYSIA BOLEH!

• Who’s to blame when people are forced to drive cheap and unsafe car?
      And worst of all die in one?!

• PaulS on Sep 02, 2010 at 3:40 pm

Wow,so much frustrations being pent up by the forummers,obviously Audi owners not having a good ownership experience as they face the same crap as in Benz and Beemers,actually considering A4 2.0T but such negative comments and despite in the market since 2008 and still have to wait 6 months is jus simply ridiculous,this is what happens when a premium brand is handled by a bunch of fat cats politically connected who knows nuts about the meaning of SERVICE,still the old attitude take it or leave,alas other options are more or less the same,as the saying goes Hobson’s choice,jus pray your new car not a lemon else your nightmare begins!

• EM ar? Bad attitude can sell car
    Meh? How to sell car, no car to sell, so sell story only lor. Service centre does not represent Audi.