BMW’s N52 versus N53 – what are we missing?

BMW LogoNot all BMW 6-potters are the same. There are a total of four N5x engines in active use right now – the normally aspirated N52 and N53 as well as the turbocharged N54 and the N55. During European drive programs, the normally aspirated 6-potters that journalists get to try now are usually equipped with the N53 (from 08 plate onwards if I am not mistaken), which is a newer engine.

The new N53 comes in two displacements – 2.5 litres and 3.0 litres. One major difference with the N52 is that it comes with High Pressure Injection, which is basically direct injection. But the N53 does not have Valvetronic because there is not enough space in the cylinder head to implement both direct injection and Valvetronic. BMW has since solved this problem of course – in the N55 TwinPower Turbo they managed to put both Valvetronic and direct injection in that engine.

The N53B25U0 can make 190 horses at 6,100rpm and 240Nm of torque between 3,500 to 5,000rpm. The mid-range engine is the N53B30U0 which can produce 218 horses at 6,100rpm, and 270Nm of torque between 2,400 to 4,200rpm which is rather low by 3.0 litre standards, but the “U0” 3.0 litre engine is detuned (used in ’25i’ products) and meant to compete with competitor products of a lower displacement/power output. The ‘proper’ 3.0 litre engine is the N53B30O0 which does the full 272 horses at 6,700rpm and 320Nm of torque from 2,750rpm to 3,000rpm.

Our recently launched F10 5-Series 523i comes with the N52 engine instead of the N53 engine. Power is 204 horses and 250Nm of torque, which is equivalent to the tune found in the Z4 sDrive23i. This is up from what the E60 523i had, but lower than what the 2.5 litre engine is actually capable of, so a little remapping trick in the future should be able to unleash those horses. The engine is older but I wouldn’t say it’s outdated as it is still in use in a few countries, not just our “ASEAN” country. USA and Australia still continues to use the N52 for the same reason that we use the N52 – high sulphur content in our gasoline. Yes, the sulphur issue is not just with our diesel.

According to BMW, they are able to introduce the N54 and N55 with direct injection here because the forced induction changes the combustion flame in a way that allows the injectors to be okay with the sulphur content here, but that’s as technical an explanation as I could get so far. It’s also because of the inability to offer direct injection here that we are stuck with the weak 156hp N46B20 engine in the 320i, when other markets have moved on to N43B20 with 170 horsepower and 210Nm of torque thanks to its direct injection system.

Personally I feel that the N52 sounds smoother and silkier than the N53, which sounds a little more growly and rough, likely because of the direct injectors. However the N53 feels punchier at the low end. Both have Double VANOS but the N53 has traded Valvetronic for direct injection, while the N52 has Valvetronic. If our F10 523i had come with an N53 engine instead of an N52, we would be looking at 204 horsepower at 6,100rpm and 270Nm of torque between 1,500 to 4,250rpm, which is a higher torque number over a much much wider RPM band, but N53 applications of the 523i carries a 3.0 litre engine displacement which would mean a significantly higher road tax in Malaysia.

Those are the facts that I have to share so far – if you know anything else about the N52 and the N53 please do share your knowledge in the comments area.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• fifteen on May 11, 2010 at 2:18 pm

BMW cars are growing in complexities with the passing of each generation model. For an example, 523i used to refer to a 5-Series model with a 2.3L injected motor and that is about all. Now, we got to figure out what’s the heck is an “sDrive23i”. BMW’s new found complex mentality doesn’t just ends there. Their cars are jam-packed with super electronics and high-tech wares, they could even shame a NASA Space Shuttle. It is one’s wondering when things are going to go very wrong when and if the bugs show up. Toyota had it. So did GM. When an organization gets big and unwieldy, you know the rots already in there.

• Squawk on May 11, 2010 at 8:19 pm

Agreed. Last time we could tell the engine capacities of Mercs and Beemers just from their model numbers. But now an E200 has a 1.8 engine. WTF? Just call it a damn E180 then!

• Xcars on May 11, 2010 at 2:21 pm

paul, any findings on the latest auto transmission used in the F10?

• Paul Tan on May 11, 2010 at 2:30 pm

It’s an 8-speed ZF. Will find out more.

http://paultan.org/2007/05/03/zf-unveiled-new-8-speed-automatic-gearbox/

• arashikage on May 11, 2010 at 3:14 pm

What is the difference between Double VANOS and Valvetronic? A bit confusing
    Is it like what CPS and IAFM to Protons? I do read that both Double VANOS and Valvetronic could be installed on a BMW engine.

• Paul Tan on May 11, 2010 at 3:19 pm

Double VANOS is variable valve timing. Valvetronic is variable valve lift that can also remove the need of a throttle plate as air intake is controlled by the valves instead of the throttle plate. But there is still a throttle plate as a backup, just that it is opened all the time when Valvetronic is working properly.

http://www.bmw.com/com/en/insights/technology/technology_guide/articles/vanos_double_vanos.html

http://www.bmw.com/com/en/insights/technology/technology_guide/articles/mm_valvetronic.html

Proton’s current implementation of CPS is variable valve lift that can only switch at a certain “point”, not continuously variable. IAFM engines have a variable intake manifold that varies the shape of the intake manifold according to the engine speed and air velocity/volume needed.

• In short i think is VANOS + Valvetronic = VVT + VTEC.

• Motorist on May 11, 2010 at 4:06 pm

Correct me if I’m wrong but BMW is smart in that it still uses the same block as the older (in line 6 cylinder) M52 engines, just that the ecu, top end & internals are modernised with direct injection, electronic variable valve & turbocharging.

To change the power output & engine cc, either change the ecu mapping or change the stroke of the piston or add turbo or any combination of these.

Thus you have 1 block than can be reconfigured into multiple variants.

Now if only they can be smart about the styling. Time for them to relook at the older styling that made BMW the icon that ii is now.

• Paul Tan on May 11, 2010 at 4:15 pm

Block design similiar, but the material is different if I am not mistaken. From the M54 to the N52 they changed to this magnesium thingy.

• Yeah… and this so-called Magnesium thingy has a common problem… makan minyak hitam! I have read a lot of complains in BMW Club Malaysia forum on how the iDrive popped out a message asking them to top up 1 litre of engine oil after 5000-8000km.
    FYI… there are some rather confusing explanations (sorry but I’m not really that technical) on why the engine behaves this way in the forum too…
    Personally I am driving an E60 with N52 engine right now but so far I have not encountered this problem (touch wood).

• I have found the thread in the forum:
    http://www.bmwclubmalaysia.com/forums/showthread.php?t=18016

Hope this help to clear the issue on the N52 (Magnesium engine)

• BeemerFreak on May 11, 2010 at 4:42 pm

Wonder why did beemer not follow the trend of other german marques in producing turbocharged small capacity engine for cars knowing that it is the trend. VW and Audi went that way first, recent mercs CGI engines on the E and C class were excellent and perfect for countries like ours.

• haywire on May 11, 2010 at 6:25 pm

In my opinion I think BMW is more focussed on fuel efficiency rather than performance these days. No other manufacturers can match their fuel efficent figures.

BMW will introduce a turbocharged 3 potter engine in the next 3 series in 2012, its in the news. Enough for slightly over 150 bhp.

• same also with malaysian who want big engine unlike the trend now…hehe..kidding

• lchan on May 11, 2010 at 5:40 pm

a detuned N53B25 which is basically a 3.0 puts out the most pathetic power. But its typical of bmw’s marketing strategy to do that. Once there is a facelift, they will up the power. But using a 3.0L as a 2.5 will not be a good idea in Malaysia due to roadtax. So, maybe we will have the N52 engine for a longer period.

• philip on May 11, 2010 at 6:21 pm

A virgin is a virgin. An old woman is an old woman. No matter how much one tries to prove that the old woman is a virgin, the old woman will always be an old woman.

The old woman can go for surgery to repair her hymen but she is still an old woman and can never match the virgin.

• Can we use RON95 in n53b25 engine in Malaysia? What is the consequences if use it ?

• Mark Maycock on Sep 09, 2011 at 6:17 pm

BMW are introducing a new generation of turbocharged 3 cylinder petrol and diesel Pepper Pot engines. They will be highly strung with high boost pressures and electric low speed turbo spooling. The cylinder head and cylinder bore will be cast as one unit allowing higher compression ratios and banishing head gasket failure to the history books. They are engineered to have a service life in excess of 200,000 miles.

With a starting capacity of 1500cc I don’t belive we will be seeing a 315i, or a 315d. Later there will be Pepper Pot equipped F10’s, I can’t see a 515d sounding good!!!!

• fening aku pulih kereta on Oct 16, 2011 at 6:47 pm

Paul or others,

I’m now plan to buy 525 recond yr 2008 unreg .
    The salesman propose to me the one with N53B30.

I need some advise …which one is better N53B30 or N53B25 or N52B25?
    As i noticed N52B25 can use Ron95, what about N53B30 and N53B25?
    Which engine is smoother and possible to get less problem?
    Do we have in the market 525 yr 2007 or 2008 LCI but with N52B25 engine?

Please advise.

tq

• Matthew Dawood Khaghani on Dec 05, 2016 at 8:05 am

I’m disappointed there are no 3 cylinder engines offered with the new five series about to be released. I think they can be far more refined than a 4 cylinder, especially as a diesel.

• Chong Loy Hin on Feb 06, 2018 at 8:02 am

I have a problem with my BMW E60 N53 sourcing the used spare part board . Can anyone suggest where can I find in kl or how much if order a new one ? Thank you.