Honda Civic to live past five years, new model in 2011?

It has been five years since the current Honda Civic made its debut. So based on the standard 5 year product plan, a new model should be unveiled later this year. Not so, says Honda, which cites changing market conditions and emissions regulations as the reasons behind the pushed back release to 2011.

“In general, we are not changing cycles. We change vehicles as need be. The ability to do something based on more current information is better than waiting a full model cycle. Some of that is being able to have the opportunity to change (based on) what you see happening in the marketplace,” explained John Mendel, American Honda Motor Co’s Executive VP.

The next Civic was supposed to grow in size over the FD2, but Honda COO Tsuneo Tanai said at last year’s Tokyo show that the design had been altered midstream and resized closer to the current car.

Five years already? The current Civic doesn’t feel very dated in our books, and is still very competitive against younger rivals, if not better. Good to hear that it won’t be further enlarged though; those who want a bigger car can get the Accord or an MPV.

Honda rethinks its future product offerings

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• ahmad albab on May 18, 2010 at 11:17 am

i will collect my civic next month.. wah really meh? new model coming in???

• redwings on May 18, 2010 at 6:53 pm

Current civic launched in 2006… facelifted last year…so…is about time…

• xavier lert on May 18, 2010 at 10:34 pm

current one is 2006 and yes the next gonna be 2011 it still 5 yrs rotation…

• CiViC_7900 on May 20, 2010 at 1:15 pm

I believe it will be introduced in 2011,so expext it to be mass diven by motorists in 2012

• i think maybe in 2012

• Azraf Khan on Jun 30, 2012 at 7:53 pm

….current model is more powerful…new model only win on fuel efficiency (SOCH)

• Civic is nice..but the price is not nice..

• odi862 on May 18, 2010 at 3:32 pm

Yup…..since its launched in 2006, the price has gone up from 3-4k for 1.8 and 6-7k for 2.0…….If HM still maintain the price for the new models, the sales figure may not be as high as the current model. The gadgets included may also be the factor for the new Honda buyers (the die hard fan will always continue to support it….no offense here) as other brands in the same segment perhaps more alluring in term of design,free services,warranty period, better specification and of course the most important thing; cheaper price. Either way, so far Civic never fail to surprise us with excellent design. BTW, I once attended a course lectured by Honda Japan chief designer, the current model Civic is based on dolphin and panther for Stream. I wonder which animal they will use for the next model……

• Motorist on May 18, 2010 at 3:56 pm

Proton will based the front on Mahathir (it’s glorious advisor), the vast interior on Rosmah & the backside on Saiful’s virgin butt :-)

• mr_3m on May 18, 2010 at 5:27 pm

cool…. those ‘designs’ will definitely sell well than the current models… :)provided they come with lifetime warranties…. ahahahaa

• limkitmalam on May 19, 2010 at 9:26 am

Better yet the design should be in the form of Anwar’s old scud and powered by Viagra

• Sexythang on May 19, 2010 at 12:16 pm

kancil

• Civic 4688 on May 18, 2010 at 5:55 pm

the price is quite standard actually… Don’t forget, it’s a Honda. Hahas….

• Abah Muizz on May 18, 2010 at 11:54 am

I like the looks of this car very much. Hopefully the new one will looks better. But looking at City, hmmm, maybe I should get this model before it is replaced.

• Prelude on May 18, 2010 at 11:54 am

i am vote for a new prelude .. 6th g prelude.. civic is too boring..

• mazda MPS is a stoopid guy on May 18, 2010 at 5:08 pm

Yeah I agreed on that…even all current honda’s are boring and pussy

• It will be 2012 when the next gen. Civic comes to our shores. Don’t worry, your new Civic will still be the class leader for C-segment car until its successor comes along in 2012.

• minnow on May 18, 2010 at 2:23 pm

class leader my a$$….overpriced uncles car….its days r numbered…the koreans are on a roll now…

• usually when ppl no money will talk about overprice

this is HONDA

just like you can’t compare PANASONIC with PENSONIC

• mazda MPS is a stoopid guy on May 18, 2010 at 5:11 pm

I bet you never been to japan or other country that doesn’t imposed crazy tax like us…or probably ur are gov blind supporter

• Work harder and buy the car of your dreams my friend.

• Due to the excessive excise duties imposed by our BN govt., all cars are over priced in Malaysia. Don’t u think paying 30K plus for a piece of junk like Saga isn’t over priced? It is a burden which all of us have to carry until a new federal govt. is put in place. However, car prices though unrealistically high in M’sia, are still influenced by market forces & consumers’ preferences which means that the issue of “over priced” cars are rather subjective & varies between different individuals. Perhaps a more appropriate term for the excess u pay for a Jap car over a Korean car is “premium”.

Back to the Civic, the monthly AAM sales chart won’t lie. This 8th gen Civic had been topping the C-segment non-national cars since its launch here in March 2006, despite the presence of later models such as the “recycled” Altis, Focus, Mazda 3, Lancer, Forte etc. This Civc is the oldest among the lot but yet it is the most expensive. The only explanation for this phenomenon is that the 8th gen. Civic is still by far the best overall product in its class which gives consumers the best value for their hard earned money & for this achievement it deserves a “premium” over all the other pretenders.

• The grass is always greener on the other side.

Would you like to pay half of your annual salary for cheaper cars, toll-less highways, better healthcare, cheaper education and top class infrastructures?

• Law ya on May 19, 2010 at 8:28 am

pay more taxes la buddy ok?then can trumpet your cause of not having to pay extra 30-40k for a japanese make.olrite?jgn compare ja pandai.isu lain xmasukkan skali

• limkitmalam on May 19, 2010 at 9:28 am

DAP sure abolish all those tax. Support DAP

• Black Fury on Nov 13, 2010 at 10:08 am

Pay more tax? that sounds so delicious..
            so if i pay more Tax, cars will be 30-40k cheaper ist?
            my parents no need pay for the medical cost if it’s more than 20k?
            & our MP’s also will be paying the same price for as wat we are doin ist?
            Wats the point silently killing 20 Million Malaysian just to protect 20 k of proton
            employee & the company ( PROTON ) which still needs breastfeeding by the
            Gov?
            But looking on the bright side for the company, if Gov do revoke/reduce the tax on
            Non-National car, most probably Proton will be out of business within a week.

• Aftab Ahmad on Jan 04, 2011 at 9:40 pm

Then why HONDA CIVIC 1.8 is so;d in India for RM 75,000/- Over profiteering is also problem apart from govt taxes…

• Motorist on May 18, 2010 at 3:15 pm

The Koreans are where the Japs were back in the 70’s (yes, many of you were not even sperm in your daddy’s pants yet ;-) ). Competing with the big boys (GM, Ford, British Leyland etc) with “inferior” quality cars but they overcame the odds by producing cheaper reliable cars & later catching up by sheer hard work & ethics.

Today, many of the giants (GM, Ford) are waning (British Leyland is defunct), in fact Detroit (the motor city of America) is now but a wasteland. The Jap have overtaken them. Americans & Europeans have no hesitation in buying Jap cars.

Korean cars USP is giving extra features (ABS, EBD, airbags, ASC, MP3 plug in, 6 speakers etc) for the same, if not, lower price. Reliability is sometimes an issue (eg. parts not as long lasting as the Jap cars) & so is the spare parts cost. However, with every new model, it’s being improved & spare parts cost can be lowered by simply producing more ( with more sales of cars).

The next player to watch out for are The Chinese. Lest not forget they just bought Saab, Hummer & Volvo recently. Injection of these technology will help them quantum leap to where the Koreans are now within these 10 yrs (or less). We may laugh at the Cherry cars today but 10-15 years from now, your kids will be praising Chinese cars just like you are now with Korean cars.

• mr_3m on May 18, 2010 at 5:30 pm

nice analysis on the future of the automotive industry of various countries… you could well be right…

• ----h on May 18, 2010 at 10:13 pm

u are right

• Mad Cat on May 19, 2010 at 6:21 am

Exactly, so big H is probably not happy with the replacement Civic and sent their engineers back to the drawing board to come up with something to beat the Koreans. Coming up fast behind the Koreans are the China brands who are now beginning to understand why interior trim fit and finish is so important. Next step is warranty procedures.

Hyundai-Kia Group has already overtaken Mazda and Honda worldwide in terms of sales.

Their parts prices are roughly the same with Japanese except for the odd trunk or hood. Generally if you check most fast moving items apple-to-apple (e.g. C-Segment to C-Segment) – they’re cheaper than Honda.

Order parts in the morning, get your part the same evening. Same as Japs.

• Sexythang on May 19, 2010 at 12:24 pm

while its great to predict the future. it is futile. what matters is now. right now i wont buy a korean. it will take them 10-15 years to catch up to the japs. chinese problably longer. koreans got it easy by mainly using foreign designers and engineering talent. still a long way to go. japs still have a long way to catch up to europeans. but lexus is quite close. and thats about it. nissan/renault has also done a good job with the gtr.

• mystvearn on May 18, 2010 at 12:19 pm

Civic still looks nice, so why bother change right. Eevn Honda knows it that it nailed this one. If the exterior does not please you, the double decker dash will woo you and your friends.

• MrDDR (Member) on May 18, 2010 at 12:26 pm

Me collect my civic 2 years ago…Waaa New model coming…No money alreadyyy

• peter on May 18, 2010 at 12:39 pm

civic release in Malaysia in 2006, 4 years nya.. i thot Japanese car sometimes extend till 6 years. civic still relevant and up to date.

Proud Owner! 8gcc :)

• It was launched in Japan back in late 2005 and it comes to our shores in March 2006. We have only like several months until we hit the 5-year mark.

If it is following the actual 5-year cycle we should have been getting graphic renderings or spy shots by now.

• seancorr on May 18, 2010 at 12:39 pm

considering the civic is doing well in our markets despite its age (damn a lot on the road now) i guess its only natural for honda to push the new model by another year. i wun wanna c the 9th gen civic to grow more in size…its big as it is

• vtec200k on May 18, 2010 at 12:42 pm

this latest civic already looking so futuristic, if honda roll out new civic, it has to be a better looking than this one, but currently this civic is unbeatable comparing to other cars of same class . . . hope the new civic has even higher fuel efficiency

• Shaycoat on May 18, 2010 at 12:59 pm

..Current civic is awesome..but need an upgrade on the quality control. Nowadays, most cars (CKD) have a lot of cheap plastic feels…I myself test drive the new Freed. The interior space is quite good but a lot of cheap plastic all around. With price tag of 112K with “Luxury” tag slogan, the quality is far2 below.

• this is only half-true. my FD1’s interior doesn’t feel quite plasticky… to me, it looks good.. the kind of plastic in the car is not simple plastic… it looks and feels better than that, like the one on the door panel close to your window. in terms of CKD quality, of course cannot lawan CBU… like my car ada click-click sound when moving, but you won’t notice it unless you pay attention to it…

but yes, the freed looks quite plasticky to me.. i wonder if the next gen civic will look more plastic than the current model.. just look at honda city.. previous model’s interior looks more solid IMO..

• Shaycoat on May 19, 2010 at 9:07 am

The true luxury feel (without cheap plastic) is for above 120K..

• Amosai on May 18, 2010 at 1:17 pm

I think Honda going 2 launch new model, bcox after stock model, they will launch facelift, …so after facelift, they will launch new model to replace the old 1..

i think it is the strategy of a car manufacturer..

• i have a civic 2.0 and i’m loving it! woo.. don’t roll out new model !!…

• not anytime soon.. late 2011 perhaps….

• altimate on May 18, 2010 at 2:03 pm

Just sold my Civic current model off..
    Unless they improve on material quality and the anti-theft features, no way I’d even consider the new model.

So many poor innocent Civic owners got their cars stolen, now on daily basis.

You guys at Honda, if you are reading, please take note!

• michaelk on May 18, 2010 at 2:41 pm

the current civic is d best for the price range taking into account look,power,passion,after market accesories&modification available ,resale value & honda/civic badge w you…it will be hard 4 HM to beat this model. civic stolen on a daily basis just speaks for itselt d popularity & oommph factor 4 this car. add on after market security & material quality is not too bad either. only QA sucks…u know assembled locally by we m’sian..p(r)otong car-minded workers lo….the wound inflicted by p(r)otong cars is just too deep to heal…after all this years..

• altimate on May 18, 2010 at 6:08 pm

yes agree with you on being the “best bang for the buck”.. thats why i bought it in the first place.. but for that range, im sad to see too much cost-cutting done on few areas.. e.g. the famous cheapo plastic cover on A pillar., empty can sound from the roof.. just like some perodua cars, poor sound proofing.. etc. but then one can argue, thats how they can pack so many other features within that price.

and like you said, this is made worse with poor assembly by our own people.. sigh

well, loved driving it despite the noisy cabin.. i bet the next model will be stripped down further just like what happened to vios and city..

• Toyota drivers are idiots on May 18, 2010 at 2:28 pm

Thank goodness for Honda Civic, or our roads will be filled with Corolla Altis, god knows how old that really is!

• i think da look of current honda civic is quite modern n can last for at least another year =) maybe some minor upgrade for da interior would be good too. maybe an all black interior? =P

• bslee on May 18, 2010 at 3:11 pm

Went to test drive CIVIC & Avente(Hyundai) after selling my old BMW last yr.,Avente offer better ride comfort, cabin insulation and road holding .so new CIVIC should improve in these aspect.

• Squawk on May 18, 2010 at 7:33 pm

The Avante’s engine power delivery, handling and steering feel loses to the Civic but beats the heck out of the Altis in everything except brand image. Yes, I’ve tested all of them.

• this FD2 civic is still so much better thAN retarded altis…

better looks, better engine, better equipment, better resale value, better everything.

yet got so many dumb ass ppl buy altis. why?

• KCivic on May 18, 2010 at 5:59 pm

haha, just renewed my insurance coverage and according to the lady servicing me on the insurance renewal, civic considered high risk in terms of target for those who steal from others. i have been driving the 2.0 for a year now, and just lovin it, like McD.. it has futuristic design and what other luxury segment offers, it has, well, except electronic seats, those headlights which turn off at night after you switched off your engine, and hmmm… did i miss anything else? I mean who needs that right? i like the high rev-ving engine and the paddle shifters which you can actually play with and test the smoothness of changing gears “manually”. so much talk about korean makes but how many of us actually buy the koreans? sometimes i wind down window a little bit, off the music and rev the car and to hear the engine roar is just fun. waiting to change to the new michelin pilot sport 3 tyres soon.. i can imagine myself buying another civic if they upgrade the horsepower of the engine for the next model 2.0 of course. civic 2.0 can beat quite a number of cars in terms of speed and acceleration. of course not being a bully, compare to 2.0 engines only. nice car! anyone out there thinking of buying one, get the 2.0 only. more fun and thrill to drive compared to the 1.8. bargain for the Vkool package too, side steps and rubber mats, haha..

• Best value for money?

I got a 2010 Ford Focus, for 109k with 3 years free maintenance. Thats RM20k less then the Civic. You ca do alot with rm20k my friends

• ----h on May 18, 2010 at 10:18 pm

ford is on the rise

• awesomesauce on May 19, 2010 at 5:54 am

ford focus is totally awesomesauce.

• michaelk on May 19, 2010 at 3:05 pm

or u can get a second hand wira for 8k….that is a safe of ?120k..there is no end to it, isn’t it.? the difference is only significance if the gap is big..u pay 20k more 4 all the plus points that was discussed above. nobody says focus is a bad car but in the long run civic beats ford focus hands down….say would u get a sony DSLR compared to NIKON/CANON if the price difference is small relatively?

• if they are to continue with this Civic, why stop the production of the Civic Type R.Isn’t the type r on the same chassic as the normal civic?

• mazda MPS is a stoopid guy on May 19, 2010 at 7:04 am

its because Type R is not ‘enviromental friendly’ Honda is now mean for green car

• The type R civic’s body structure strength of materials is different from the normal civic 1.8 and 2.0.

Tq.

• I have 1.8. Anyone interested to buy? Thinking downgrade to Kelisa 1.0 (A) TwinCam.
    Cannot afford monthly payment due too many taxes imposed by our beloved government. Thanks government for supporting and helping our people out of poverty.

• hewyk on May 19, 2010 at 1:08 pm

what year is yours & what’s ur asking price? may be interested. can pm me pls. just click on my name to email. tks

• xavier lert on May 18, 2010 at 10:39 pm

using it (FD2) for 3yrs now…fancy a new one….. : p

• Kambing Gurun on May 18, 2010 at 11:34 pm

It looks so good that it can last for 10 years.

• Xperien on May 19, 2010 at 12:04 am

king says:
    18/5/2010 at 4:48 pm

this FD2 civic is still so much better thAN retarded altis…

better looks, better engine, better equipment, better resale value, better everything.

yet got so many dumb ass ppl buy altis. why?

Nobody has the right to call something as retarded. Just because you dont like it, that does not even remotely give you the right to call something that. Corolla has been the world’s best selling car and by the look of your utterly improper statement, that implies that majority of the people in the world are retards.

Cars are subjective matters according to a person’s taste and need and not by your own judgment of things.

It’s safe to assume that you have not tried the Altis or else you will not come up with such statement. Go and try….

• michaelk on May 19, 2010 at 2:59 pm

corolla altis has lost its shine.i believe those who bought altis is in a way influenced by the corolla brand name of yesteryears/generation..also the previous gen corolla is on par w the old civic in terms of the attractive factor. u hv 2 admit that d current altis is no way near d current civic….i hv tried both…plus point 4 altis?? handling?? sound insulation?-which can be upgraded easily w tons of aftermarket products. i cant think of any others seriously…my 2 cents worth

• yup…too bad some ppl still dream that the altis is so great where in actual fact it is using outdated engine, outdated gearbox and same old chasis

it is actually just a facelift

• Dr. Kervokian on May 19, 2010 at 11:22 am

can safely say all civic 2006 models suffers from leaky power window which goes kaput when it rains. 5/5 civic owners including myself suffers from one kind of driver side power window issue.

If Honda knows what is right, they’ll issue a recall and fix this problem permanently.

its probably some local CKD parts that’s screwing up Honda’s good name. And frankly, if i wanted lame power windows, i’d gotton a proton instead.

• CiViC_7900 on May 20, 2010 at 1:16 pm

my problem with my civ is none of those.it is the steering.sthg is wrong.sent it n they told me it had to be in the SC for 3 days.wtf.thats the only car i have to go to work

• Naz B on May 19, 2010 at 12:39 pm

wauuuu… new civic model will be coming next year.. start to collect for buying a new one.. hehehe..

• Civic EK on May 19, 2010 at 5:44 pm

yeah definitely waiting for d new civic n grab it! :D

• CiViC_7900 on May 20, 2010 at 1:44 pm

The 8th gen civic was launched in March of 2006.so I guess kalau dah up ke 2011 so maybe ujung 2011 baru nampak spy shots…then tpksala tunggu for March 2012…cant wait la for the new CIVIC!!!!!!

• dear my all honda fans, i guess most of us as honda fans love honda but when come to quality n reliability i believe toyota is still better after a few years drive n cross the 150K km. this is my second civic with 7GEN N now8GEN i still facing a lot of minor problem eg. power window, engine sensor, stearing rack lose, suspension crecking sound like some thing lose, breaking problem (feel the hole car vibrating when stop from high speed) really to sad to say. sometime i even think, how come my civic is like my old proton waja! giving the same feeling. :( i really agree with some bro as our msia car is really overprice and the money we pay for is like down the drain.

• odi862 on May 21, 2010 at 10:04 am

Next time, buy a BMW or AUDI…..;)

• michaelk on May 21, 2010 at 11:15 am

msian cars are overpriced bcos of d national cars lor….we still remember H accord or T corolla/corona were the entry level cars within reach by most households then. those keep on ‘supporting’ p[r]otong cars etc etc are in fact destroying d car industry in our country..sad state leh..agreed?

• RocketMan on May 22, 2010 at 10:02 pm

I love Honda Civic FD2 design and engine, but after a year learning thru few frens xperiences, workshops and some modders, I ended up with H badge also…I bought the FRV 2.0…after 17k km and daily driven, no problem!!
    Honda produces great car…erm..I mean if it is a CBU unit…
    I hope the next generation will be better in terms of quality and performance!

Any Civic owner with dashboard panel loosen after a few months??

HM please take note.

p/s:- yup, cars in Malaysia is overpriced, bashers, please dont ask people to work hard and earn more, u know its a fact that the car here is overpriced. rite??? nothing to do with work hard and earn more here…we have rights to complaint because we love cars!!!! and we pay tax also dude!

Just my opinion

• So you think you have contributed enough to the country to deserve a ‘reasonably-priced’ car that you’ve been dreaming all these while eh?

People who pay more taxes has more money to buy expensive cars.

Don’t you just love capitalism?

• thomasloye (Member) on May 26, 2010 at 10:36 am

sorry, out of topic…
    looking at putting tint film and was recommended V-Kool Elite, 3M or LLUMAR.

which is good/popular/reliable/clear/any complains/any thoughts/Comments ?

• newcivic on May 31, 2010 at 12:31 pm

rike cool, v-kool, llumar, 3M, which is good n reliable?

i m planning to tint for my new civic, budget bout 1.5k – 2k.
    hope to get out from my budget is good heat rejection n safe…
    pls advice

• anticipate new civic also..

• lavenderguy on Jun 10, 2010 at 4:27 pm

hate it when you buy something new and yet not cheap(130k) then in a very short period of time , a new model come out! if the new model is inferior to the old model e.g.VIOS(my own opinion) then i won’t feel so bad, but what if the new model is better in every way…then i will sure feel pissed off because ordinary citizen like me cannot afford to change car at such frequent pace.
    just my two cents…
    p/s love the civic 2.0 but hesitate to get one

• Derek Lee on Jun 28, 2010 at 2:21 pm

Paul,my mechanic discourage me from getting a 1.8 model stating gearbox problem.Any truth to the claims?Anyone?

• Serena Ho on Jul 07, 2010 at 12:30 am

I am thinking of getting a Honda Civic 1.8s.(t15k) whilte color but .stock will arrive only in Sept. THey ask me to get the Civic L (extra 5K which have leather seats n some accessories like the 2Lit. Is it worth paying the extra 5K?

• ya…i am considering the white colour honda civic also…and the salesman also told me to take the new civic which is extra rm5k…..do u guy think i should wait for 2011 new civic with new look or go for current civic?

• little on Jul 19, 2010 at 2:40 pm

honda confirm release new civic 2011??
    just wonder why the current sales still so high.
    still need to wait for at least 2 months for new car.
    why people still buying when the new one is coming??

one more thing,
    1.8 or 2.0??

• Haha.. it’s not a new 2011 civic – it’s just the 1.8S-L variant.

• AhaMyEdixian on Jul 21, 2010 at 10:11 am

Hear ye..hear ye..Yo Rocketman,,,AhaMyEdixian hahaha. Yup agree with u. CKD couldn’t come close to CBU finishing. Been driving the CBU ‘H’ for 5years…proud of its quality. No problem occur..wear & tear..thats norm. Civics, i might get influence by all the negative feedback about the QC but like it or not..this gonna scare off give a bad image to those potential buyer!…Buck Up Honda..QC sucks bigTime!! Gonna stick with CBU cars…not much of a choice from ‘H”.

• Badrullie on Oct 22, 2010 at 11:46 pm

hI ,

I have been driving my new Civic FD2 1.8 for the past two weeks and I am disappointed with its performance , workmanship , comfort and the terrible NVH The seat cushion is hard and not to mention the hard absorber as well . In terms of comfort , Civic is far far away if compared with Focus or even Cruze with basically a plain dashboard with nothing to shout about except for its futuristic design . Less features , not even an overdrive included , no shiftronic , no traction control …..no nothing .
    It doesn’t deserve to be sold at RM115K for such a normal plain car …..really , really disappointed …..

• DEATH2KIA on Dec 15, 2010 at 10:42 am

Addressed to ALL members present-

It’s harder to imagine a group as misinformed as the one in this local board. Having read the idiocy and sheer ignorance of false automotive logic, i can understand why Malaysians are still stuck in Developing nation status.

I have owned many badges and toured most parts of Europe and Asia with my passion for good wheels. The one thing that shocks me is that people are still inclined to think Europeans make the best cars. Unbelievable. I have owned SL Benz, M5 and Audi A4 and the quality and reliability comes no where near any of my JDM Toyota or Honda vehicles. Look at Consumer Reports, Kelley Blue Book or any other legitimate census and you will understand that Japan makes top the most reliable cars year after year for almost a decade. Recall you said? The parts of defective Toyota brakes and ECU were made in Alcard Indiana by CTS USA. All the media hype and accusations just to hinder the competition by a failing GM in Detroit. Some idiot mentioned Audi? Hah, the Quattro is actually at the bottom of the pie in reliability on CR 2010 last quarter. Worst ever vehicle prone to failure.

Techonology? Again, Japan imports are superior to Europeans. BMW and its infamous acquisition of Land Rover which uses 80% Honda technology, bought and sold the line just to ‘borrow’ its advanced electronics for the pathetic X5. Europeans have no shame. Audi needed Nissan’s aid to develop its LSD (Limited Slip Differential) and various parts of its suspension sys. Recent Nissan ads shout what most already know, but won’t admit. That drivers (*mostly Chinese) with inferior complex for anything white/european, buy for the badge not for performance, as the 370z is a lot faster than its more costly Porcshe competitor but a lot more reliable. The Lexus LFA may not be as fast as the Bugatti, but God is it superior in fuel consumption, sheer technology and handling with carbon fibre frames. It’s 500 limited stock was sold out. I can’t say the same for the Cayman, Murch or 599.

American (the Big 3), English, European (Volvo, Peugeout, Lotus, Renault), with the exception of the Germans, are mostly dead industries either acquired into small receding partnerships and surviving on stock dividends from past franchises. While its true that the assembly of JDM imports in Malaysia are inferior to the ones in its domestic nation, this is because of economics of scale, cost cutting for poor, pathetic South East Asian region. Otherwise all you whimpering, complaining fools would be driving Protons rebadged Mitsubishi and Daihatsu all life long. It still uses Denso and various quality parts from overseas, but some parts are plastic fantastic catered to developing countries.

Last but not least, the Koreans. A laughable bunch of weeding, uninspired team of plagarists that goes on the world to brag about its false Korean booming culture (mainly from Japan and China) and its relentless technology. What technology? If its the ones borrowed from Japan and US, that i highly agree. A country that couldn’t even develop its own engine with Hyundai born from loins of Mitsubishi’s old 3 generation DoHC shouldn’t be shouting praise at all. Korean designs? Rip off a little Honda, E Class, and Camry and you have the Forte, Sonata. Top gear’s ridicule of the Pacific manufacturer is anything but false.

Who says crime doesn’t pay?