Great Wall C30 Teng Yi set to be GWM’s global car

Great Wall Motor’s freshly launched C30 Teng Yi is set to be the company’s first global car, which means that the company will look seriously at export markets for the car instead of usually just selling it to the domestic Chinese market. Great Wall Motor intends to reach a 1:1 domestic to export ratio. In fact we may even see it here in Malaysia, since we have seen some Great Wall truck products with trade plates being tested here in Malaysia. An Australian debut is set for 2011.

There are hints of the previous generation Vios in the C30’s design much like the rest of Great Wall’s designs which are quite “Toyota-inspired” although with the C30 most of the car now looks significantly different from the design it was “inspired” from. The front end is similar to other Toyota designs like the Scion tC and the JDM market Corolla Axio.

The car is much bigger than a Vios though – it’s width, height and length of 4,452mm by 1,705mm by 1,480mm shows its longer and taller than the Corolla Altis’s 4,540mm x 1,760mm x 1,465mm but narrower. Wheelbase is 2,610mm which beats the Corolla Altis and Latio’s 2,600mm wheelbase. You could probably consider it a smallish C-segment car instead of a large B segment car.

The 1.5 litre engine is designated the GW4G15. It has variable valve timing and can do 138Nm of torque at 4,200rpm and a peak horsepower of 103 horsepower at 6,000rpm, which isn’t fantastic but it does meet Euro 4 emissions standards. The transmission used is a CVT gearbox of an unknown origin – sources online say that it’s self-developed by GWM.

A few variants are available in China ranging from 58,900 RMB (RM27,700) for the base model, 62,900 RMB (RM29,600) for the standard model, 65,900 RMB (RM31,000) for the “luxury” model, and the top of the line priced at 71,900 RMB (RM33,800).

Look after the jump for a few more photos related to the C30.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1138]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• KAWASAKI on May 19, 2010 at 1:23 pm

Looks like old vios

• azrai on May 19, 2010 at 1:36 pm

Cap ayam VIOS.

• A new business venture on May 19, 2010 at 1:43 pm

So toyota-like! I think I want to setup a new business. Buy shiploads of these cars from China and slap Toyota logo onto them. Viola.. I ‘m an importer for CBU Toyota. And sell them RM 150K++.

Good idea ..ehhh

• Gajen on May 19, 2010 at 1:48 pm

isnt this a vios?

• Neo.S on May 19, 2010 at 1:56 pm

somehow the engine look like Petronas E01, Paul you have any information how their engine were develop ?

• Peter on May 19, 2010 at 1:58 pm

Not bad. I hope this can reach our shores and being marketing at a right price.

Definitely, alot people will buy this.

Proton/Perodua will have to get more govt protection……

• I wonder how is the quality but for this price,cannot expect much. Got sunroof.Never in the history proton produce car with sunroof or is there?

• Matchy on May 19, 2010 at 2:00 pm

cheaper than saga?!

• dukeKTM on May 19, 2010 at 2:15 pm

Not bad…although does looks like Vios..and mitsu 4G15 engine with variable valve….

• Jumbsuck on May 19, 2010 at 2:19 pm

Proton can rebadge this car as new Saga. But since the price range already known highest RM33K then using ali baba rasuah tax rate 10 pct, the new Saga full spec max. price is RM36K. Its called Proton Saga Tangki.

• ong chin aun on May 19, 2010 at 2:37 pm

If the prize really less than rm40k, I`m sure the car will sell like hot cake. a basic reliable, affordable yet stylist car which looks like the c30 Teng Yi.

• Paul, what i can see here, the engine is copycat from 1nz-fe as the way it look…..

i refer from here… they said its a R&D project by them
    http://info.xcar.com.cn/200902/23/1315/news_47813_1.html

• or its a under licensed from toyota? China has become one of international auto manufacture powers step by step in recent years.

• dont care look like vios or what..but the price is good..

• Neutral on May 19, 2010 at 3:15 pm

The China makes cars are improving and in the near future it will be a reckon force plus feared and respected by the others major car players in the world !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Faisal on May 19, 2010 at 3:29 pm

vios!!

• Great wall from China.. not bad. When is india’s Taj Mahal coming? hope its not a bullcart suspension.
    Btw… everybody need to cut cost and this is a smart way of doing it. The parts looks so much like Vios. Well done!

• Ronaldo on May 19, 2010 at 3:48 pm

dugong………

• apixz on May 19, 2010 at 4:35 pm

i hope TRD will tuned this car…hahaha

• more info regarding the engine may refer here
    http://hi.baidu.com/hpc_server/blog/item/00e389979d2090027af4802a.html

summarize:
    The engine is not built by mitsubihi… Its a great Wall R&D and it refers to new generation of four-cylinder low-emission engines Toyota Series – NZ series. (1NZ-fe)

• pregnant gaga on May 19, 2010 at 4:44 pm

Looks Much more better than previous vios and current saga for sure, both in term of interior + exterior! The China Force is coming to town!

• TheophilusChin on May 19, 2010 at 4:48 pm

LOL they didn’t even bother to take a proper frontal shot of the car, in this picture ( http://paultan.org/photo/index.php?album=Great-Wall-C30&image=b01.jpg ), you’ll see that it’s a mirrored of half the front, the windscreen wipers are “connected” hahahah….

• segambut on May 20, 2010 at 9:28 am

Maybe taking half a picture would be more cost effective, LOL..

• jl@ipl on May 20, 2010 at 9:54 am

Ha ha ha,

I start to doubt the quality of the car…………….

• cap ayam on May 19, 2010 at 4:49 pm

rm33k in china?way toooo cheap…..malaysia boleh!!

• timber8115 on May 19, 2010 at 5:36 pm

day after day, i am very impressed with China mfg that can produce a car even they copycat, celup or what ever method. Still they can manage to produce a good looking and decent car if we do not look into the quality and built issue of the car!

Impressed! impressed!

Way you go china!

• decent?
      bwahaha… i doubt that..
      even korean car have many issues….
      :p

• g-spot on May 19, 2010 at 5:41 pm

SO, WHERE IS OUR CHINACAR SPOKESMAN?

• China have more than 300 automative company that produce and manufacture the car. Chery, Great Wall, BYD, Rowe, Brilliance, are among of them. But latest news stated that the government want them to merge and be more competitive. I believe the quality of China made car is not far from japan, Korea and the rest especially when they have money and resources to buy a technology such as buying Rover and Volvo. This is an advantage in a long term. I think proton should leverage more on lotus capabilities and be more competitive especially in an automotive design and technological advancement.

I have not seen any new design and technological advancement made by our local car manufacturer.

Just compare this car with our proton saga… Design wise this car is more pleasant to see, more features, more gadget and safety. Proton saga design is definitely way behind.

Car design is not only about meeting a standard requirement, but it is about building a car that can be marketed beyond local consumption.

I think local car manufacturer especially proton is too slow in responding to a technology and car design advancement. The latest prototype that has been shown recently does not transform my thought that proton is cab ale of producing a car that can capture local market or abroad.

This is what I think proton need to concern about. And i do believe this is heat Korean car manufacturer did. One day this china car will flooded the market far beyond what we imagine now. And proton should respond now before it too late. Kia, Hyundai already respond to this china car by keeping up with automotive advancement, they came out with ideas, technology, prototype and they not even afraid to test the market with new model. Their product cycle are very much align with their strategy, to come out with a new model as fast as they can.

I hope proton will respond to this china car.. I really do ….if proton can produce a car that I can be proud of, i am sure I will be their loyal customer.

• Motorist on May 19, 2010 at 6:51 pm

As much as I bash Proton, I can understand why they are so slow to respond to competition.

1. Limited resources (funds & man power)
      2. No great potential competitor in local market to worry about
      3. Production volume limits the amount of R&D that can be spend
      4. Not hungry enough nor have the great desire to cont improving
      5. Being the local #1 made them rest on their own laurels

The total yearly production of Proton is only about 1 month Toyota global production. We do not have economy of scale nor the funds nor resources to compete head to head with the big boys. Nor do we have the hunger & drive to become another industrialised Korea or Japan. Our mentality is to enjoy 1st, kongkek 1st, lepak 1st, makan 1st ….

• I partly agreed with some of your comments but i have to elaborate more on few issues

1. Limited resources (fund and manpower)
        if this is one of the reason then proton should utilized what they have and maximize it. Leverage lotus resources and make their resources and man power to work harder. Twice harder than what they can right now. I believe all car maker gone through this situation before.

2. No great potential competitor in a local market to worried about
        They should not worry about local competitor, but what they should worry is global competitor like this china automotive. Depending on the local competitor we will not have one as I don’t consider perodua is a national car. Perodua’s car is a rebadge daihatsu and toyota car with a slight localization touch.

3. Production volume limits the amount can be spend on RnD
        This is because the market share of proton has shrunk and local demand dropped significantly and international demand does not grow that much. The reason of this i am sure proton know very well. For me personally, because proton neglected an essential and crucial element being a car design and manufacturer. That essential and crucial elements are, designing a good high quality car. The lack of market penetration and the neglected of critical comment from probably we as consumer and international buyer.

Proton neglected a rapid expension that needed in design and engineering department. I think proton under utilize lotus.

Point 4 and 5 i am agree totally. I think we have so many automotive engineer and industrial designer but i am not sure where this people are. I believe proton engineer and designer read this and i hope they are not only a group of people who only know how to receive an instructions. I hope they are an inventive and challenge driven engineer and designer. A group of people who think out of the box.

I will not blame 100% though this people… This is a result of our own education system somehow.

• jl@ipl on May 20, 2010 at 10:03 am

“I will not blame 100% though this people… This is a result of our own education system somehow”.

I wonder what are the average people like many of us here, can do or had to do to make thing right?

Or, should we do nothing and watch the politician bury our Bolehland? Or, may be all of the smart guy here (in this forum) join politics and bury our Bolehland even faster?

• Motorist on May 20, 2010 at 12:57 pm

Zul, well said.

To elaborate further, it’s more than just the education system.

It’s a mindset. One that was initially created to give confidence but now has seeped into the psyche to create an atmosphere of malaise & no desire to improve ourselves.

The culture of patronage, not arguing with your so called superiors & lets not create a scene has made us docile & fearful to do what is right. We rather bumble along, so as not to create a ripple in our small pond, for dear of repercussions from those in power.

Sadly, this will hamper & take the drive out of the creative minds. I hear there are some brilliant engineers in Proton but their hands are tied. Just do our jobs, as we are told.

Lastly, the politicians seems to have another agenda. It is to protect themselves. Had they agreed to let Proton be part of VW, we would now be better off as a whole. Proton is not big enough to survive on it’s own, competing globally as a me-too car manufacturer. We dont have economy of scale to fight head to head with the big boys. BUT, by working together with them, we stand to gain more. Not just from a business sense but also from learning from them. Money cant buy that.

It is time we take our country’s destiny back into our own hands by voting for our future. I’ve had enough of being cheated, lied to & threaten by crooked selfish politicians.

• Proton should not concentrate on proton car, but should focus more on lotus engineering. With lotus engineering, proton can become a vendor to 300 china manufacturers or other car manufacturers around the world.

on car production, proton should just do small number that target niche market like lotus sport car, or grow the EMAS concept as fun and cool car in europe. use that as a showcase of lotus technologies, and provides this technology to other car manufacturers in the world. I think proton also should buy Italdesign Giugiaro, so that proton can cover car engineering and car designing.

• Diesel klater klater on May 21, 2010 at 2:28 am

Tried that. Didn’t work.
        Bought Agusta and poured in hundreds of million Ringgits, then sold it for one Euro. The deals, what happened, how it was sold, and to whom are official secrets. Malaysian taxpayers too generous to Italian economy.

Proton bought Lotus many years ago. It has since gone downhill as far as its impact to international automobile scene. Everything done in the UK. Malaysian taxpayers boosting British economy and funding first class travel shuttling to UK for Proton fat cats.

• these days, even the build quality of chinese cars has improved tremendously. my colleague was in china recently and he menthined to me that the quality of the great wall phenom was very impressive compared to our local cars. not way better but certainly not worse.

• seriously…the car is too much better with our saga BLM…i bought the fXXXing saga for 40K, the so call full spec..but this car with heated chair,twin air bags,sunroof,Car monitor,3 reverse sensor, fold-able backseat, adjustable headlamp,multipurpose steering, even the cabin lamp,tali lamp,the aircon blower and the auto gear also better then my saga…if the car come to here with 5 years warranty just like our PROTON Boleh…with the price below or around 40k..our Saga (car of the people) will all kept in the store d..haha

• then change la the bolehland G u will get cheaper car, get as*, cheaper food, house, more freedom n many more as u like……….register as voter now or just do like thai

• malaysia memang boleh on May 19, 2010 at 8:54 pm

stupid bashers,you should know why it’s cheap,because it is made in china ma,of course they can cut cost,i think if proton assemble their cars in china,for sure their cars will be cheaper,and we have limited source in malaysia,we have to bring in so many things that malaysia doesnt have,so you should know why china’s car cheaper,talk with your brain not with your arse…

• thecar on May 19, 2010 at 10:25 pm

I thought we have our buatan malaysia? I thought Malaysia memang boleh?

• i doubt what u said..with those inefficient process for sure they cant give us so many things.. Malaysia worker are not expansive compare to Korean but they can have car so close to our waja or persona with spec more then us and also crash rating better then us..unlike the waja’s 3 star wihc u read the euro NCAP review..it’s embarrassing ..

• proton on May 20, 2010 at 2:29 pm

Proton is always thinking ways to make maximum profit which means cut cost on their cars. They should be thinking ways to get customer but they dont since they know that the G will back them up no matter what the situation is. Selling better quality to other country and treat us as foreigners. Their cars in UK are almost the same price as us but how come they dont need to pay the shipping cost from MY to UK as the price is the same with us.

• another reason why it can be cheap in china is the volumes they make for their cars. just google and see how large their market is. simple economics of economies of scale.

• malaysia memang boleh on May 19, 2010 at 9:06 pm

exora’s side profile and exora’s side mirror!

• G will just tax it like euro cars. easy n simple. local protected. abis cerita

• Black Dog on May 19, 2010 at 9:09 pm

So many photos but not one show the rear in full??

• Paul Tan on May 19, 2010 at 9:13 pm

Got.

http://paultan.org/photo/index.php?album=Great-Wall-C30&image=b03.jpg

• boring & cheap…

• looks so much better than dugong vios

• techart touch on May 19, 2010 at 10:19 pm

i rather chose korean than this chinese….it look like nissan teana or nissan sentra…please chose other design la…not copy…

• nazri on May 19, 2010 at 11:05 pm

wah so fake even using photoshop to make it look nice

• fuhh…rear looks like audi!!

• ericmaxman on May 20, 2010 at 4:17 am

first gen vios with facelift, buttlift… interior somewhat reminds me of a vios, again. heck, even the engine is a 1NZ-FE…

• littleboy on May 20, 2010 at 7:30 am

engine block is from Toyota’s 1NZ-FE…and they put GW4G15…sick to look at it….use other ppl’s product and put on their name!!!!shame on these china ppl…..

• p4k4bu on May 20, 2010 at 7:52 am

With cars from China so cheap like this, the BIG manufacturers like toyota, VW etc that are more worried than small ikan like proton. Proton (or Perodua or Naza or Hicom or Inokom or Sime Darby or Alado or …..) can just slap on a new badge and sell it to us the rakyat while making handsome profit without sweating.
    The big ikan has to compete with the chinese not only china, but on their own turf as well.
    USA already ‘exported’ lots of manufacturing jobs to china. Now they have to consider whether they need to relocate Detroit to somewhere near the great wall…. ;-)

• IchimaruGin on May 20, 2010 at 1:24 pm

If Amercians packed up everything back to home, then Chinese car products and others like Japanese ones would fill the market vacuum left by GM and Fords, the only loser will be American theirselves :)

Take note that then only one oversea market that is profitable for GM is China

• biggie on May 20, 2010 at 8:57 am

As the performance of Proton etc. also been mentioned in the discussion I just like to know whether the motor enthusiast of Malaysia (a portion are active here) will accept the car which is a copycat from previous generation of Vios?

Note that Waja when Proton first unveiled has a lot of critism at it resemble Mitsu Charisma (although much less then this Teng Yi)

The way car manufacturing lisence work in China is very interesting and can only be done at a market as large as China. If you follow GM/BMW suit the you find how its being done, it will never be possible here in Malaysia or any other country in the region. This kind of lisencing accelerate the transfer of know how to the host country (albeit can be seen as illegal elsewhere)

• IchimaruGin on May 20, 2010 at 2:03 pm

if you drived any car as the speed as fast as 80km/h, every car has a big chance to show its 2nd feature ;)

• S.Roma on May 20, 2010 at 4:17 pm

Damn !

The price is far more good that Proton !

If i got money, sure i buy this instead of Saga !

• lan090 on May 20, 2010 at 7:36 pm

cheapo junky car..
    i’ll never buy a chinese car due to their inferior quality..

• Analyst on May 21, 2010 at 6:45 am

What makes you think they have inferior quality?

• have you seen the car or even sat in it to make such a sweeping statement? you can cast doubt from what you see in pictures but making sweeping statements even without any experience with this particular product is really irresponsible of you.

you may draw the conclusion for your statement from other chinese made cars sold in malaysia but is it fair to say all chinese cars are bad just because of one brand’s experience? all brands are different and have different standards even though made in the same place.

i suggest you rest your comments till you have anything constructive and substantial to say.

• paultan fan on May 23, 2010 at 6:50 am

JUST READ THIS STATEMENT

” The car is much bigger than a Vios though – it’s width, height and length of 4,452mm by 1,705mm by 1,480mm shows its longer and taller than the Corolla Altis’s 4,540mm x 1,760mm x 1,465mm but narrower. Wheelbase is 2,610mm which beats the Corolla Altis and Latio’s 2,600mm wheelbase. You could probably consider it a smallish C-segment car instead of a large B segment car.

The 1.5 liter engine is designated the GW4G15. It has variable valve timing and can do 138Nm of torque at 4,200rpm and a peak horsepower of 103 horsepower at 6,000rpm, which isn’t fantastic but it does meet Euro 4 emissions standards. The transmission used is a CVT gearbox of an unknown origin – sources online say that it’s self-developed by GWM.

A few variants are available in China ranging from 58,900 RMB (RM27,700) for the base model, 62,900 RMB (RM29,600) for the standard model, 65,900 RMB (RM31,000) for the “luxury” model, and the top of the line priced at 71,900 RMB (RM33,800). ”

CONSLUSSION :

1st – larger than Toyota Corolla Altis and Nissan Latio
    2nd – Euro IV emission standard
    3rd – suprisingly price start from RM 27, 700 and for luxury just cost you RM 33, 800. I thk Produa Viva also akan TERGUGAT with basic price tag of this car

Larger than Corolla Altis, Lation with 1.5 L engine with VVT and pass Euro IV emission standard and price just RM 27, 700. VERY VERY VERY VERY VERY VERY VERY VERY VERY VERY VERY VERY VERY CHEEEEAAAAAPPPPPP.. so why argue for that price. If they hire an auto design firm like Bertone, Pininfarina or Italdesign Guogario, I thk the price also be lower compare our Proton Saga BLM, Proton Persona but with so many gadget trowth in with larger wheelbase compare to our Saga BLM.

I not say Saga BLM is not a good car, but if you compare the price, sure2 this Great Wall C30 much more lower price. I thk if they plan to sell in Malaysia by building CKD Plant, so maybe this car will sell like hot cake. Only RM 27, 700. I thk quality maybe good because Great Wall lead by women. Women always cerewet pasal kualiti.

• paultan fan on May 23, 2010 at 6:53 am

also I forget with tag price RM 27, 700 have CVT gearbox. very2 very2 very cheap lor. I like for this price

• shaban on Jan 05, 2014 at 3:45 am

hi i’m from kurdistan region of iraq we have this car here voleex c30 it is very good for driving and cofortable but in the summer we have very hot weather %45 in the summer, the engine is not like toyota , toyota engine does’nt have any problem with our enviroment , voleex c30 it has one fan some people connect another extra fan and they said very good for summer even for %50 digress