GALLERY: Live images of the refreshed 2011 Proton Gen2

Here are more images of the refreshed Proton Gen2, which will be available for viewing at Proton showrooms starting from tomorrow (22 May). This revision to Proton’s five-door hatch is almost like the SE treatment previously applied to the Persona and Saga, with exterior changes such as a black roof, red or white paint schemes and grey door handles. The wheels are also painted in the same colour.

This car we photographed is the High-Line automatic that goes for RM 60,488. It comes with red/black leather seats and trim, cruise control and steering wheel audio buttons, among other kit. The RM6,000 cheaper M-Line auto does without all these, but now comes with the 125 bhp Campro CPS engine, which replaces the Campro IAFM unit.

The bespoke Blaupunkt stereo (which not everyone likes) remains, unlike the Persona Elegance, which replaces it with an aftermarket single-DIN player. The instrument design is carried over from before. Proton only released a few images yesterday, so go ahead and browse our live gallery for a better view – it’s after the jump!

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1150]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• lamak on May 21, 2010 at 8:21 pm

i like it… but my persona will arrive next week…. can i change order?

• akira on May 21, 2010 at 9:34 pm

persona vs gen-dua….same lah.

• why change?persona seats are better except the engine.hehe

• Apernie on May 23, 2010 at 2:12 am

wonder if the seats in this gen2 botox version are better…
      hmm same dashboard as the persona?
      hope the persona one is better than this…look at the glovebox..look at it! haiya…

• azrai on May 24, 2010 at 7:58 am

Better bungkus all the Gen2 kit at Tg malim plant and sent it to Iran will be better. It is a hot seller in egypt among the youth. Last month sales only 58 units. proton better do better things like focusing on Saga and Exora. i heard the waiting period is longer now.

• nothing new? yet persona is more morden sedan. stick with ur persona.

• ProtonKB on May 27, 2010 at 8:10 am

Colour fire red & solid white jadi pilihan…

• MaGED on Feb 21, 2011 at 4:50 pm

Seriously I regret buying this car I have had the IAFM engine gen 2 since 2009. Although it is a joyous ride; yet the after sales service in Egypt really sucks. Realy they are dragging the car into a pit here in Egypt. Moreover I have complained to the mother company in Malaysia and no response. I will defintily get rid of this car and never buy this brand again.

• still look the same except for the change of the engine, i wonder does the performance change a little ?…

Proton still has a long way to go…

• wankhalil on May 21, 2010 at 8:31 pm

Nice!!!!!! too bad already decided to buy E36 318i…

• nice, better than nothing,

good effort

• nizar82 on May 21, 2010 at 8:35 pm

It’s quite nice, maybe because it’s red colour ;-)

• mati katak on May 21, 2010 at 8:39 pm

I’m getting sick seeing this car oredi.

proton, please dont just facelift, or change it to “Refresh” pulak as to attract ppl buying this car…..
    Name it whatever you want, facelift, revise, refresh, reload, redesign, revamp, reuse, recycle…..etc…

Thanks, but no thanks…

• must apply to other maker also……

• Lem0n on May 21, 2010 at 9:35 pm

Strong agree…..

• exlive3 on May 21, 2010 at 9:38 pm

agree….the perdana and waja also outdated edy….although there is news for its replacement, but still nothin till now…

• Prismo on May 21, 2010 at 9:54 pm

i’m also getting tired with toyota facelife…

• Anti-Myvi on May 21, 2010 at 10:09 pm

Save ur statement to Myvi

• theanswer on May 22, 2010 at 5:09 pm

thats because of toyota. look at toyota la..small facelift also want to increase price..plus trd rip off! got new toyota model..then we can expect myvi to change..furthermore myvi still sells well..so why change..

• Refresh? Got meh.. Looks like new paint job only. Which, you can DIY if you want to… :p

• semput on May 22, 2010 at 12:55 am

nasib baik proton je yang buat facelift, revise, refresh, reload, redesign, revamp, reuse, recycle…..etc… kereta lain tak buat facelift, revise, refresh, reload, redesign, revamp, reuse, recycle…..etc….

• Squawk on May 21, 2010 at 8:41 pm

Time for a new model.

Gen2 brings back memories actually. It’s the model that turned me away from Proton. :-) But in all fairness, it looks a little improved.

• Jumbsuck on May 21, 2010 at 9:12 pm

Crop circle rear light…somebody call the aliens to kidnap the lights supplier and its whole factory gone forever.

• theanswer on May 21, 2010 at 9:42 pm

new model or revise the market…waja..persona..gen2..(luckily they dont make blm 1.6 official)..all in the same group.

• 1. be realistic on the speedometer, 240km/h for a 1.6??
      2. be practical for the door side mirror design, we want a bigger side view, not this so called stylish but impractical design.
      3. please lah, change to the better look persona rear lamp design, this old design sucks lar.
      4. the front lamp also, can’t you design any better than this? I give this current head light design 2 out of 10.
      5. try to make full use of the rear spoiler by putting a 3rd brake LED lah with this kind of price tag.

• hiruma kecil (Member) on May 22, 2010 at 2:40 am

1. bagus la macam tu… bila letak turbo, xperlu pasang speedometer baru.. ramai pe orang pakai gen2 letak turbo.. lagipon semua keta sama ja.,.. tengok myvi.. dapat ke pecut habis meter?? Honda city habis meter ke pecut??? Semua keta sama ja..

• Civic guna digital speedometer. Bleh pecut sampai out meter.

• Annoy-nimal on May 24, 2010 at 6:32 pm

Good one…
            Civics meter can go to 999km/h…

• Faisal on May 22, 2010 at 3:14 pm

agree with hiruma..

• theanswer on May 22, 2010 at 5:12 pm

ye lah tuh..ramai je org wat turbo utk gen 2..lol. mcm wajib sgt je letak turbo. nway, most jdm spec sports car got meter til 180 only.

• badact on May 23, 2010 at 1:47 pm

my gen2 cps can run 220/230 lah

• Louya on May 21, 2010 at 8:45 pm

paul how about safety features for M=line is it same with H-line

• encikx on May 21, 2010 at 8:48 pm

Love Gen2!

• the car still sucks!!!

• I see it as a slight improvement over my 1st gen Gen2 bought back in 2007.

What I like:

1. Better engine.
    2. Better TCU for gearbox.
    3. Power window controls at driver side (finally).
    4. Subtle exterior outlook.
    5. Glove compartment (finally).
    6. Red/Gray theme.

What I hate:

1. Obstructive rear view due to large C pillars.
    2. Cumbersome headunit.
    3. Old engine (still on timing belt!).
    4. Outdated 4-speed auto gearbox (when will 5 or 6 speed auto coming?).
    5. Useless multi-function display.
    6. Pathetic exhaust note (not bassy enough!).

• lol ‘pathetic’ exhaust note. what do you expect from a normal 1.6 litre NA? this is not VTEC.

if you want some bassy exhaust note, get the Perdana V6.

• Get porsche exhaust sound cd and put into your cd player. XD

• lololol it’ll be weird hearing flat-6 engine revving while cruising in a Gen-2 xD

• mamat puchong on May 21, 2010 at 8:51 pm

not sure… wheather to support to to condem… first it is relatively “murah” but designwise it is just so and so…
    thus is is up to individual choice and brand preference

• ilyas on May 21, 2010 at 8:51 pm

Lets hope that this the end of life facelift, after more than 7 years, its certainly bound for replacement.

• towfx on May 23, 2010 at 1:14 pm

the new says “refreshed look” … nothing facelifted
      only new paint and the deserved engine!

• rodimus on May 21, 2010 at 9:00 pm

Nice upgrade a little bit, but not my taste. Keep up the good work Proton.

• Jumbsuck on May 21, 2010 at 9:05 pm

Good work Proton in wasting good chunk of steels.

• hazxkh on May 21, 2010 at 9:12 pm

banyak duit nak buat model baru……….
    kalau korang support cepat la dia ubah model…. tp kita…

• yala..the so call lack of support then we have the same saga model for so many years?..20 years?30years?..2nd generation of lancer finally phase out in malaysia few years ago..i bet the support for proton is bad..

• kimi_ on May 21, 2010 at 9:15 pm

The car is nice BUT

I want to condemn the PHOTOGRAPHER of this car, WHY there are no PROPER front end picture of this car….WHY AND the picture is dark too……DISSAPOINTED

I noticed it frequently , as a car enthusiast, i want the basic close up of the AT LEAST whole FRONT END bumper to see its line and design….I hate those shot of third quarter of front and sides which we cant see properly the design…

Please take notes

• kimi_ on May 21, 2010 at 9:25 pm

What i means is why there are no pictures of the FRONT END with the angle like picture

below

http://paultan.org/photo/albums/2011-proton-gen2-live-images/dsc_0585b.jpg, is it

that difficult, huh !!!

• Paul Tan on May 22, 2010 at 12:25 am

Here you go. Don’t see the need to shout and scream, you can just ask politely.

http://paultan.org/photo/index.php?album=2011-proton-gen2-live-images&image=DSC06011.jpg

• kimi_ on May 22, 2010 at 12:58 am

sorry and thx for the upload coz i am not in the good mood today :)

• not in good mood still want visit paultan. Without paultan,theres not picture of the gen2 till saturday. appreciate or atlease ask politely la.

• akira on May 21, 2010 at 9:33 pm

Still ugly…yucks!!!

• tamaki on May 21, 2010 at 9:37 pm

everything juz fine but plz wrap off the dull steering.

• Ic-klass on May 21, 2010 at 9:47 pm

Still F-ugly!!..

• car crazy on May 21, 2010 at 9:57 pm

please la…. dun always new facelift.
    make a different….

• Tiadaid on May 21, 2010 at 9:58 pm

Hekeleh. Typical Malaysians. Toyota comes out with ugly facelift praise to high heaven. Proton upgrade engine bash to no end!

• diaddiT on May 22, 2010 at 1:17 am

proton upgrade engine means good meh? look at the quality and reliability difference man. except for vios J version la but engine is good. no need test,90% will know.

• gattaca on May 22, 2010 at 2:06 am

how sure are you with the percentage? any official data to prove it? and why there is exception for VIOS J?

• hiruma kecil (Member) on May 22, 2010 at 8:15 am

no matter how u look… Vios is the most ugliest car I ever seen in Malaysia..

• lol Vios is sooo damn ugly, overrated and overpriced. what a piece of shit.

• SayNoToProton on May 22, 2010 at 10:40 pm

Trust me guys. Proton is going to tapau in 2 years time. Swallowed by Volkswagon. Buy more Proton because it’s going to be…………priceless antique.

• no its not. that ‘Volkswagen’ is an old rumour. don’t be so stupid.

lemme fix ur word, Proton is going to tapau other car manufacturers in 2 years time, coz there will be a new Waja, new Persona, new Perdana, and possibly the EMAS.

lololol

• carzlover on May 23, 2010 at 8:56 pm

ugly or pretty it still toyota.

• wahedenator on May 21, 2010 at 10:10 pm

this is just marketing strategy to finish gen2 stock . .
    last time my salesman said gen2 cps got 2k discount
    . . .

• embun on May 21, 2010 at 10:22 pm

I just bought persona elegance.. damnnn…
    i like the seats

• Henry Tang on May 21, 2010 at 10:23 pm

Suddenly, the phrase ‘flogging a dead horse’ comes to my mind.

• nabill on May 21, 2010 at 10:28 pm

looks nice, does this hav the same 32bit ecu found in the persona elegance??
    and does it have the quite cabin “package’ ?? like the extra insulation and foam filled pillars??

some of the photos taken are not so great , not sure who took the pics bt some pics got too much flash and exposure,not a critisism bt jus a notice…!

anyway i always have a soft spor for gen2…design wise its nice and sporty,though not very practical….

• eh, ape beza dgn gen-2 sblm ni?
    mcm takde pape je?
    besides engine and the accessories?

• RunnerUp on May 23, 2010 at 12:05 am

well, harga h-line takde beza pun dengan harga sebelum ni bro.
      so takleh la nak expect significant improvement kan?

for m-line, harga lagi murah tapi dapat engine upgrade.
      kire bagus la tu.

• Candle on May 21, 2010 at 10:32 pm

I wonder how do proton market their cars. Highline same price as Waja but Waja bigger and more accessories. Then proton persona SE same price as waja but no CPS engine.
    Makes it difficult to choose.

• I won’t buy… Gen2 is outdated model already.. Since 2004 i think… I want to wait for Wajalution 2011, then 2012 new replacement model…

• osh_kosh on May 21, 2010 at 10:39 pm

LAME… enuff said..

• umno juara tipu rakyat on May 21, 2010 at 10:40 pm

the rear seat looks too straight…i bet it wont be comfy for ur back in a long journey..nice leather trims though

• hiruma kecil (Member) on May 22, 2010 at 8:19 am

Savvy pon nampak macam tu jugak.. tapi hakikatnya, seat savvy lagi selesa dari seat myvi… cuba dulu baru tau… takat tengok ja, xyah nak bet…

• theanswer on May 22, 2010 at 5:16 pm

aik sensitip nampak… err p1 salesman?
        hehehe..ye ah..seat myvi sampah sket..tpi rasenye mmg seat mpv based cmtuh..cube tgk mpv murah..seat sume xde shape. seat blm lagi best.

• hiruma kecil (Member) on May 22, 2010 at 10:39 pm

haha.. xde ar.. aku fanatic conti car kot… aku pakai peugeot je… x caya?? nah, gambar fb aku bagi.. http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=11787&id=100000377479040#!/album.php?aid=2063078&id=1403560477 hehe…

• Anti Perodua on May 22, 2010 at 11:49 am

pernah naik kapal terbang? kenapa steward suruh tegakkan seat? nak best tido atas katil la woi..bahlol

• How long we have to wait for refreshed Satria Neo…..makeover the interior & ICE pls, and front grill, bumper, rear light etc

• Arcane on May 22, 2010 at 9:49 am

The Neo CPS launched in 2009 is the refreshment for the Satria Neo since it was launched in 2006

• The logo “A Facelift towards Perfection” should be changed to “A Facelift towards Oblivion”.. ANyone can come out with something better? XD

• shahmetal on Nov 30, 2010 at 10:57 am

I’m a Proton supporter but I found this comment funny ahahahahahahah

• edifice on May 21, 2010 at 11:06 pm

why still using Silverstone NS500 tyres when NS700 is better. Hmmmm

• Nicely done!! The facelift is not too bad for a 6 years old model.

Hopefully this “A facelift towards perfection” will be the final refresh edition before Proton retired the model.

Hate to see another facelift or Special Edition next year and so on…….

• So what’s new in this car? o.O i cant find any

• RunnerUp on May 23, 2010 at 12:09 am

no problem with that since the price is also the same.
      in fact, for m-line, the price is lower than before, but got engine upgrade.

• ivanymh on May 21, 2010 at 11:23 pm

very sorry for the steering and the gear knob, still a sorry car with little of improvement

• ON-OFF BUTTON on May 21, 2010 at 11:45 pm

haha.. yes, i get it, another marketing strategies.. and another ”refresh”, ”SE-Silly Enhancement” for the Gen2 from proton.. plz la, replace this model.. it is too “fugly”

• odi862 on May 21, 2010 at 11:49 pm

Well, at least they are doing something to attract potential buyer. Maybe the competition become stiffer than few years ago during their ‘honeymoon time’. I hope Proton will learn from the Korean automakers how to improve themselves or they won’t progress in this decade. Don’t just expect to sell the cars in local market, try to sell abroad and at least make Proton known to the world (I hope not in the bad way….).

• Artz3 on May 21, 2010 at 11:52 pm

why the title say refreshed 2011 proton gen2? Meant this model for 2011 or something?

• Wow.. my brother want to get Gen 2.. Dunno they produce new version. Though they stop production

• infinitt on May 22, 2010 at 12:00 am

lamak..i think can as gen2 sell not much as persona. please check, hopefully you get what u like..aku pun suka gen2

• why the roof glossy black? green energy source could it be?

• Cucukman on May 22, 2010 at 12:31 am

Since Persona SE can undertake civic 1.8, when is comes to Gen 2 i assume that Civic 1.8 like a snail.. perghhh..

• how come civic kena tapau? 1.8 vs 1.6 tak boleh blah lagi ka?

• ponorogo on May 22, 2010 at 8:12 am

maybe the persona SE undertakes the civic 1.8 when it is parked near kedai mamak….

• Civic driver on May 22, 2010 at 9:35 am

come race again la….. see whether your car appear on next morning’s paper or not!

• Cucukman on May 22, 2010 at 11:59 am

Haha… Persona can simply overtake civic at the sharp corner.. Civic handling totally rubbish.. harapkan engine iVTEC 1.8 je.. if Persona using Campro CPS Turbo soon.. haha… makan asap jela..

For your information, civic rear bumper senang jatuh.. this year from jan-may, found about 4 civic ikat tali lembu sebab bumper jatuh.. maybe kena langgar dgn motosikal..

To ‘Civic Driver’, bila ada Persona nak cucuk, bg je laluan kalau taknak bumper kena cium..haha.. okay?

• Mazda3 on May 23, 2010 at 12:47 am

agree.. civic handling is rubbish… easily can tapau by gen2.. no need to say mazda3 lar…

• Shah69 on May 23, 2010 at 1:05 am

so far most of civic give away to me (cps driver)..

• auto sucls on May 22, 2010 at 6:14 pm

i sit in my friend fd1 before 3 people , lol to those say persona se (auto duh) can win.

• minnow on May 23, 2010 at 2:15 am

bro civic driver…it will certainly appear in the paper but nobody would be able to recognize it….dont bother those snail brains…they havent got a clue about Civic’s power/weight ratio n NCAP crash test ratings….

• Faisal on May 22, 2010 at 3:24 pm

test drive civic 1.8… aiyak!! very underpower la!!

• Underpower? Maybe it’s just you who dunno how to drive or use the powerband properly…

• Prelude on May 22, 2010 at 3:44 pm

plz lah..berpijak di bumi yang nyata…

• ponorogo on May 25, 2010 at 8:37 am

just race head to head in circuit la…when you drive faster on the public road, it doesn’t mean your is the fastest…borak kencang…

• Humanoid on May 22, 2010 at 12:49 am

waiting for Waja Replacement Model..

• SayNoToProton on May 22, 2010 at 12:52 am

As I understand average fuel consumption of a Toyota Vios is approximate 6 cent cheaper than a Campro CPS 1.6

Vios 13 cents per km
    Persona/Gen 2 Campro CPS 19 cents per km
    Difference 6 cents per km

Based on current RON 95 price of RM 1.8 per liter

It means if I plan to sell my car after 300 000 km of usage ( which I did for my first car), I need to folk out an additional of RM 18,000.00 for a Proton.

It will be worse if the petrol price increase in the future.

Madness !!!

P/S: Correct my figures if it is wrong

• oh……
      go enjoy your milo tin vios
      byebye

• SayNoToProton on May 22, 2010 at 2:02 am

Totally agree with you. I think I don’t have a choice but have to buy a Milo tin Vios

Proton Gen 2 is for those who are willing to pay extra RM 18,000.00 for petrol.

• not every1 will go till 300000km like u..my crv 2 years plus n mileage is 24000, so i will need to wait anoter 25+ years to change a car?hahaha

• selekohboi on May 22, 2010 at 2:45 am

hey, then every month extra installment isnt extra $? how much does that sum up after 5/7/ 9yrs? what if the eatra $ go into ASB, at the end of 300,000km time frame, would it appreciate?
          Cheerio !!!

• hiruma kecil (Member) on May 22, 2010 at 2:49 am

u should buy viva…. gen2 dah kira jimat la tu… vios 1.5, gen2 1.6.. apa la… tu pon x paham2… gen2 kira dah jimat gila la tu… memang jimat kalo nak banding ngan peugeot aku.., lagi makan minyak.. tapi nak buat macam mana… kita beli apa yg kita nak, so kena la terima…. beli 1.6, kena la bayar minyak untuk 1.6.. xkan pakai 1.6 nak bayar minyak lagi kurang dari 1.5?

• xu wen chao on May 22, 2010 at 8:22 am

is the vios running on water? even if running on water u still have to pay for syabas. if using mineral water rm 2.20 if buy at petronas kedai mesra. hahaha….

• 4agze (Member) on May 22, 2010 at 9:01 am

i bet you ‘tin milo’ didn’t even last for 300k km..either you already trade the car or else

• how come i am averaging 11.111 cents on my manual persona IAFM on highway driving?

360 km for 40 ringgit of petrol ~

continue enjoying your vios ~

• SayNoToProton on May 22, 2010 at 3:54 pm

Very funny….

Talk rubbish la you guy except Cham. I only trust in numbers.

Thanks for the info Cham, I will double check if it is really 11.11 cents. But what I am interested is a Auto gerabox. Will consider a Persona if this is really the price.

To Su Wen,

You want to talk rubbish go talk to your neughbours. Not a car forum.
            Cakap pun takdak ‘point’ Tau kira ke tak tau ?

To fq,

Of course you are right if you are not a heavy user, you sgould consider a Persona. My Touch and Go for last month was above RM 300. Heavy user situation seriouly should consider Vios

To 4agze,

I do not know what you was saying was based on fact or not. My Iswara can last at 300km. I am very confident a Vios also can. Pakai otak la bukan otot.

• SayYesToProton on May 22, 2010 at 3:30 pm

persona is just around 12cents per km la bro.. 1.6!!!!
          vios 13cents per km.. 1.5!!!!

• Choon on May 22, 2010 at 7:43 pm

Haha… I say get the Focus TDCi lar if you want to compare fuel economy..

• Shah69 on May 23, 2010 at 1:07 am

CPS FC better than AIFM…

• auto sucls on May 22, 2010 at 7:14 am

then whose paying additional tax to goverment 30k to goverment+toyota?

count is easy. if u dont hv money just enough to depend blindly for toyota.

• auto sucls on May 22, 2010 at 7:16 am

defend*

• SayNoToProton on May 22, 2010 at 3:58 pm

Pay tax to Barisan National government is better than burning the petrol. Good for the poor people. Good for the environment. You can save RM 18,000.00. Berbaloi !!

• 4agze (Member) on May 22, 2010 at 9:54 pm

last time i used my brain, vios high line is 20k++ pricier than persona/gen2 highline..that doesn’t count the interest n such…u need 300k km which is 10year of driving to save 18k, one already save the same amount when they buy a proton..now who using his otak???
            what a funny man..lol

• I think get a Triton better. LOL. if what you only consider is the price.

• SayNoToProton on May 22, 2010 at 4:02 pm

100% AGREE. Triton is better is considering the price. If considering STYLE. Of course Proton got more style. SPORTY, MACHO, AERODYNAMIC. Proton is soon the beat Audi in the coming Cross Continental Europa Endurance Compatition.

• uda salleh on May 22, 2010 at 10:52 am

get a bicycle… heard its got fantastic mileage

• tanasi on May 22, 2010 at 11:25 pm

If you want an appliance to get you from point a-b with minimum amount of hassle, get the vios.

But if you want a car with good dynamics, and some character that makes you feel something (good or bad), then get the Gen2.

Can’t go wrong with the handling. Lotus magic alone is worth it.

• KAKITANGAN Toyota on May 24, 2010 at 4:20 pm

Bro,

Vios 1.5, Gen.2 1.6…buat malu Toyota je..
      Compare Vios to Honda City la..
      Then u can see the different..
      Design, fuel consumption..of course Honda is better…hahahaha

• 1Malaysia on May 24, 2010 at 5:40 pm

Yalo, how Gen 2 can compare with Toyota, totally diferent classification.

• Sentul Cowboy on May 22, 2010 at 12:57 am

gen 2 may reach 240km/hr if you drop it from 20th floor… proton sucks

• Neutral on May 22, 2010 at 1:24 am

OKla tu.final facelift before FMC kot? still kena buat macam2 supaya customer still remember Gen2 walaupun xbeli kan kan kan?

• no more proton..one bad experience is enough =(

• simple_mind on May 22, 2010 at 12:10 pm

Congrats….you may one day experienced a worst nightmare owning a much more premium brand with a hefty price tag.
      I did…..
      So,bad experience with P1,nothing to shout.

• agree! it will never leave a lasting impression. Protons will always be a first timers and a poor man’s retirement car besides the perodua. They should seriously look into engine effiecency. For that i would like to Congratulate Hyundai for doing a fantastic job. Taubat la proton!!

• KAKITANGAN PROTON on May 24, 2010 at 4:15 pm

what do u mean by engine effiecency? save battery?save electricity?high fuel consumption?
        ask Hyundai Getz and Kia Spectra owner..they can explain about engine effiency a.k.a enjin kuat minyak..

• Shah69 on May 23, 2010 at 1:09 am

what happen to u… I’m using cps almost 2 yr.. no prob at all…

• auto sucls on May 22, 2010 at 6:42 am

auto only ,with auto this car 0-100 in 13 seconds, on par with saga manual , and savvy manual is just faster in acceleration. xp

probably they scared the persona cant sell .

for 54k with leather +auto , minus leather rm52k . minus auto gearbox , probably cps m line 51k without leather rm49k only lol .

• Haziq on May 22, 2010 at 7:09 am

Honestly…the only real changes that I can spot are between 3 to 5 which are very trivial. I can just buy a second Gen-2 bring to the shop and have it customise to look exactly the same and tweak the engine to boost the power. In short, don’t waste your money!

• asahiyakuza on May 22, 2010 at 8:23 am

Just better looking than that overrated, overprice, everugly VIOS….

• but they will say dugong looks are cute wor ~
      and they will say vios safe fuel…haha…the only selling point of vios…….

campro isn’t that bad at all ..it just depends on how you drive ~!

• SayNoToProton on May 22, 2010 at 4:06 pm

Totaly agree with you. VIOS look like Dugong and Proton is MUCH MUCH WAY WAY MORE STYLE. BEST of the BEST. I especially like Proton Juara, developed by the mosr brilliant engineers.

• autojohndoe on May 22, 2010 at 7:59 pm

Juara was designed by the Mitsubishi Japan.

• SayNoToProton on May 22, 2010 at 10:27 pm

Ya that’s why I say Proton Juara is designed by brilliant engineers. Hidup Proton !!

• asahiyakuza on May 23, 2010 at 11:05 am

LoL.. trying to cover up eh?… Please do some research next time. You might ended up in an embarassing, awkward moment. LoL! Maybe you’re a Vios owner but accept the fact that Vios is really.. really.. very ugly.

• THcars on May 25, 2010 at 9:47 pm

agreed . proton is much much much much much much much much much better than vios and city put together . don’t get WARM , get even ,Hehehe.

• theanswer on May 22, 2010 at 5:19 pm

look at the sales number..and compare with other brand…u’ll see tht no use how much u sed the car is ugly and looks like a dugong. i also dont like vios..but cant say much because it can sells very well.

• Tiadaid on May 22, 2010 at 10:27 pm

In Malaysia sales figures aren’t a reliable measure. Badge-factor plays an important role in car sales because some Malaysians aren’t rational when buying cars. That’s why ugly Vios can sell, because of the Toyota badge.

• FireFlies on May 23, 2010 at 10:48 pm

Vios sell very well because it’s a very cheap toyolta sedan car in the market. People buy T-brand.. and of cause Vios is the cheapest toyolta sedan compare altis, camry. Same goes to Avanza compare to Wish, Inova, Alphard etc. Avanza is the cheapest MPV from Toyolta. That’s why it sell well.

Get it.

• everyone should wait for lancer-proton to come out this year. you buy this gen 2, you sure cry one, if lancer proton come out end of this year.

• minnow on May 23, 2010 at 2:08 am

all of u jokers r imagining new waja based on the new lancer izzit….Mitsu is giving them the 10 yrs old lancer platform la…nothing great…

• FireFlies on May 23, 2010 at 10:53 pm

same goes to Alza or MeeVii… daihatsu giving P2 old platform and engine…

• paultan fan on May 23, 2010 at 11:32 am

lancer proton selling lower price at rm 70 k ++ and for higher price at rm 80 k ++ . I thk its value for money but Gen2 is selling at much more lower price. Egine option is 1.8 NA and 2.0 NA

• Techtitan on May 22, 2010 at 8:46 am

A facelift towards perfection? Who are you trying to bluff Proton? Another classic example of Proton’s Syok Sendiri marketing plan. Do they really listen to customer feedbacks? I wonder…

• serama on May 22, 2010 at 8:55 am

most cars overcome crossover…why not create one?

• paultan fan on May 23, 2010 at 11:34 am

DAH ADA DAH. Proton MSX atau Lotus APX. Tp lum kuar production

• exjavanese on May 22, 2010 at 9:14 am

ALAAAHAIIIIII….PROTON OIII
    change the full facelift aa….
    kind a bored!!!! (dah xde idea ke designer proton nih??? @pun dh bnyak mlas?? @pun designer nyee bajet best?? ape korg ingat korg tgok banyak proton kat atas jalan malasysia ni korg igat korg dh best??? impress me pls…)
    dont be so lazy U all proton designer…!!!

• rather than facelift better new generation model bro..it stupid to do full facelift..no other maker do full facelift

• KAKITANGAN PROTON on May 24, 2010 at 4:07 pm

What do u mean by full facelift?
      U think those designer are stupid?
      They have their own plan..I think this is part of marketing strategy..
      maybe after this, new model will replace gen.2..
      that why they dont make what u call ‘full facelift’..
      Full facelift means new model la..

• No changes at all. Even Ah Beng modification is way better. The only thing I saw are problems that were never solved;

-Fold-able car mat that will block the pedals.
    -The SMALL tryes Profile 45, the front spoiler will be in constant touch with our famous road potholes and oversize bumps.
    -They’ve upgraded the already fuel guzzler IAFM engine to the more fuel guzzler CPS.
    -and et-cetera.

• hiruma kecil (Member) on May 22, 2010 at 11:42 am

Lol… u stupid lo.. syohh….. everyone know that cps use less fuel than iafm…

• autojohndoe on May 22, 2010 at 1:05 pm

Define your fuel guzzling IAFM to people… what is the figure you get?

I got 5.7 ~ 6.2 l/100km… abot 15cents/km… is it so bad?

Pls dont mislead ppl with your baseless statement, OK?

• Shah69 on May 23, 2010 at 1:15 am

i got 5.2-5.8l/100km…. cps lol….
        drive 100kmph – got 4.5l/100km…. jimat tuh… 1.6…

• my saga auto 1.3 AIFM is kinda good for me..for RM50 i can get almost 400km..i don know good or bad..still only once a wik topup

• its gud actually… Fill Myvi with RM50, u can go top 350km.. Town drive, 2 persons…. who said myvi jimat??

• earth is slowing down on May 23, 2010 at 11:02 pm

dvvt is nonsense compare to pure vvti but unable to compete with i-vtec.
          dvvt is vvti..? but cps… hmmm… no comment

• KAKITANGAN PROTON on May 24, 2010 at 4:00 pm

Ask AH BENG to join Proton. Seem like he got briliant idea to save fuel

• wahedenator on May 22, 2010 at 10:21 am

last time my sales man said gen2 cps got no buyer already
    now they are rebranding
    haha

• made in japan on May 22, 2010 at 10:38 am

another accessory shop job…. pheeew… till nw no improvement over fuel consumption… is this wat a giant car maker do?

• many of them do the same thing…facelift largely cosmetic purpose before new model come out eg i giv u example

http://autos.msn.com/research/compare/engines.aspx?c=0&n=3&i=0&ph1=t0&ph2=t0&tb=0&dt=0&v=t102140&v=t103891

• uda salleh on May 22, 2010 at 10:57 am

Proton! Keep the Persona & Exora… TRASH THE REST!!! Next… introduce executive sedan to replace Perdana. Build a crossover vehicle based on Exora platform of which 1.6 cw light turbo would suffice… (roads in M’sia demands it… n flood time too.)

• Like your idea.

• pacifictuna on May 22, 2010 at 8:11 pm

keep the saga also. it’s just 2 years old…..

• uda salleh on May 22, 2010 at 9:31 pm

yeah… u’re rite. Keep the Saga too… i always forget about the saga… coz i hate the back seat size… i’m a big guy at 5’10″… n the back seat does not support my thighs.. :-( anyways… saga complements proton’s civic responsibilty in producing affordable transport for the rakyat. Its just time for Proton to trim up.

• uda salleh on May 22, 2010 at 9:39 pm

I just realised… when Dato Syed Zainal came to Proton what really was under his wings were Persona, Saga n Exora.

The Gen2 n Savvy was already in production when he came in so can’t blame him 100%. That is why Proton needs to TRASH the Gen2 n Savvy. Retire Waja. Replace Perdana with new model as an executive sedan. Build crossover vehicle based on Exora platform.

Dato!… u’re hearing me?

• paultan fan on May 23, 2010 at 11:42 am

agree.

but dont trash Saga. Saga give bigger profit to Proton and suprisingly its beat DAIHATSU/ TOYOTA rebadger. apa namanyer. Produa Myvi.

Crossover dah ada cuma lum produce. Ada 2 versi satu Proton MSX ( Lotus APX ) dan 1 vesi lg ala2 SUV ( depan macam Exora dan belakang macam Toyota Harrier )

Waja akan replace dengan rebadeg Mitsu Lancer GT. Price will be between RM 70, 000 to RM 80, 000 depanding to the spec. Have 2 option engine which is 1.8 NA and 2.0 NA.

Perdana will be replace by using Volkswagen Passat CC model as a rebadge.

• uda salleh on May 23, 2010 at 11:11 pm

weii.. but that doesn’t count.. its just a concept car. Haven’t heard any real news about production on suv / crossover yet. I’m telling u… just retire the Waja. Replace the Perdana n selling well below Camry / Accord price range would be good enough.

• aaronc on May 22, 2010 at 11:43 am

Proton designers still don’t learn. Why put a black top? Don’t they know that black absorbs more heat?nothing sporty there.

• earth is slowing down on May 23, 2010 at 11:12 pm

Kelisa yellow with black roof and pillars. Maybe P2 is learning.

• my name on May 22, 2010 at 11:45 am

lol Look at the fuel gauge. Half tank is 1/2, ok nothing wrong. But full tank become 1/1, yes nothing wrong actually but why not make it 2/2 ??

• ford_ton on May 22, 2010 at 8:52 pm

2/2 makes it a dual tank. It has got only 1 tank. This is proton not XJ6 or Mini Cooper S (BLMC version not BMW version)

• my name on May 23, 2010 at 1:35 pm

nobody will think it’s a dual tank ok? smart people will think 2/2 is full since 1/2 means half.

• eposuer on May 22, 2010 at 9:09 pm

why not make it 2/2? …???

why don’t you ask ” why not make it 5/5?”

• 2/2 if simplify then it’ll become 1/1 lol simple kiddie maths. maybe Proton just want to show their awesome calculating skillz xD.

• Anti Perodua on May 22, 2010 at 11:48 am

Ask perodua to do that to its myvi and alza..

• So dissapointed, idiot proton! Still Doing these kind of things, no improvement at all ! Please go to learn from KIA & Hyundai !!! Learn how people success & keep growth!

• they are trying to drop the price, but a bit more styling at the same time. its better than that Vios, whenever there’s a styling update, the price also updated higher lololol.

Proton is now developing more replacements for all of its car models. just be patient.

• Proton Supporter on May 22, 2010 at 1:18 pm

Really very nice. Dun care about the bad sales among tis 2 years. Juz 4get about it! Start from now obtain a good sales for Gen.2!!!

Put more effort on every models. Every Proton models have their potential, keep their potential always and forever! I believe that Proton sales can pull ahead of Perodua soon!

• Meluat on May 22, 2010 at 1:38 pm

Tak nampak baru pun semua recycle.

• _xXx_ on May 22, 2010 at 1:41 pm

WOW! Non-transparent panaromic sunroof!

New tech kononnya….

• normal_user on May 22, 2010 at 1:58 pm

Paul, any pics of the M-Line AT?

• Lem0n on May 22, 2010 at 3:58 pm

I always think p1/p2 designers are unable to design a nice set of rims. For examples, first gen myvi rim is similar to porcher, first gen satria neo is similar to mclaren SLR, savy is similar to subaru….. Where are the creativities????

• ViosUser on May 22, 2010 at 4:42 pm

Okok, since every body like Gen2 so much, let me talk something good about Gen2…

First, look the spoiler, which is totally different from the Ah Beng’s design. Perfectly aerodynamic, enhancing grip at the rear wheels.

The engine, with the power of 124hp. Only a little lower than the Mercedes C 180 CGI with the output range of 154hp. It is the head-on rival to the C.

The wheels, Silverstone, only 6 alphabets different from Bridgestone. Quiet, steady, giving the Gen2 enough grip while performing high speed cornering.

The honey comb grill, neat but provoking, even the bees dare not build a bee hive on top of them……………that’s Gen 2

• For all kinds of cars in the world: you got what you pay. No need to gaduh-gaduh. I you think can can produce/make/design a better car..go to www.jobstreet.com.my. :)

• Yea, right! If P1 took in “proper” people, they would have a “proper” car now and everybody will buy proton.

• yer la tu….orang pandai sume sepak keluar negara…tinggalkan yg bangang bahlol sume kat sini…pastu buat anak beramai ramai…stupid ppl applying for wat job oso like tht wat tht la…pls la..this is Malaysia dun ask for the impossible…meaning being fair to all, to the talents k…impossible..pls kiamatkan this nation jer la…proton..damn waste of time

• yup..agree but must include other maker also

• the good point of proton car is handling. its the car i enjoy to drive.

when it comes to the question of low end torque, peaky horsepower, rpm / speed.
    very quickly i would think of the cvvt campro turbo to answer this question of course.
    supposedly proton should at least cvvt engine for its even an entry level model. i think its compulsory to have this for 2011 and this will put proton at the top.
    people even who are a well to do person will opt for proton since the engine is not much different of what the toyota have to offer.

good engine ,cheaper, fun handling.,,,,,what more. proton dont have to wait, peoples today have the knowledge now, the selling point of other makes are vvt, or v tech and consumption. if proton at par with that i STRONGLY belive proton is on the top of shopping list. i belive many would not want to spend too much on a car. but they put themselve to pay more simply for that tech which would save them interm of consumption although monthly insallment is sooo big.

so the decision maker is the one who can it come true.
    every lay man would detect the good car for him when he/she say something about the feel for the car on the road as well as how instant surge of the car , that translate the word ‘sedap’ even they dont have any idea of what torque or horsepower or suspension is. the word ‘sedap’ will change the whole impression the car.

i hope one day proton is not that what people think ,a no class car.
    good enough if people label it as a ‘rational national’ car engines is on par.

i hope proton can make a jump on its engine tech. instead of follow the sequence,
    elimnate that (kerja dua kali) , because we have to be on pace.

• _xXx_ on May 22, 2010 at 8:19 pm

a car with no waiting list, so what does that imply? No thanks until u put in a good engine

• autojohndoe on May 22, 2010 at 5:42 pm

where can i get the seat and door trim?

I just want those…

• auto sucls on May 22, 2010 at 6:12 pm

persona se can beat fd1 , u must be joking , campro 1.6 with AUTO can beat 1.8 AUTO?
    if u say 1.6m with 1.8auto maybe people will believe u LOL.

• troy weight on May 22, 2010 at 6:35 pm

just spend about almost Rm 600 ringgit fixing my 1 1/2 years persona h-line breaks problems last week…..

Break Master pump faulty than effected these break pistons until jammed..

• fasgen on May 22, 2010 at 8:27 pm

lorr… u got much money… kan ada waranty.. kepana tak guna… salah u jgak… pastu nak komplain2… gi je lah sc…

• waklanproton on May 22, 2010 at 9:04 pm

persona came with 5years waranty. 2 years factory waranty. why must u paid lol? unless u maintain bawah pokok workshop cannot claim laa…

• ford_ton on May 22, 2010 at 9:14 pm

I bet you don’t wash your car yourself. Those cuci kereta guys just plain lazy to clean those tyres properly. They just spray chemical solution and wash off with water and later kilatkan tyre. What the chemical does is hardens the rubber seals and O rings on the brake assembly. When the seals harden it will be torn thus exposing the delicate O rings to rain water and as more chemicals sryayed each time the car is washed, the piston will start rusting and jams. It,s not much of a quality issue here but wrong maintenance. As for the master pump; I think you,re being fleeced by an unethical mechanic.

My 22 year old Corolla never jams the brakes, so does my 15 year old Iswara and my 3 year old FD.

• uda salleh on May 22, 2010 at 9:22 pm

Yeah. U shoulda went back to proton becoz of the waranty bit. No car from any manufacturer is perfect but this about being a smart consumer.

• bobdbilder on May 23, 2010 at 1:24 am

Trying your hand at Logical Fallacies? Sounds plausible, but doesn’t really make sense. Try again. Some say it gets better with practice, especially if you get the details a bit more wound up. A for effort. F for trying to lead people astray.

• this confirm that this fellow does not own persona….

• fasgen on May 22, 2010 at 8:24 pm

i can beat civic at bukit genting sempah from KL to terowong.. mine just 1.6 std, auto.. the civic sound like brommmm… but gave him asap…

• Mazda3 on May 23, 2010 at 1:16 am

Trust you.. I drive gen2.. great handling. easily can negotiate with the steep road there and tight corner. Still keep my gen2 eventhough got my Mz3.

• minnow on May 23, 2010 at 1:56 am

of course la…your crap Potong car made from milo tin….soo light…pick up good la….try driving on wet road….whole family will die….

• Leonardo on May 23, 2010 at 3:04 pm

Hahaha…Minnow…you are from the ice age or what…Milo Tins?? So light cars light Honda, Toyota, Nissan also made from Milo tins?

• Louya on May 23, 2010 at 3:28 pm

u stupid or wat..

• IMAM MUDA on May 23, 2010 at 12:19 pm

fasgen maybe he don’t like race with u la… his car more powerful… if he push little bit more, u cant beat him… unless it is honda civic stndrd 98′ version…

• carzlover on May 23, 2010 at 9:25 pm

biar betul….

• ponorogo on May 25, 2010 at 8:48 am

when you overtake other cars on the highway or public road, it doesn’t mean your car is faster, it is just they did’nt want to drive faster than you…did you get it?…to get the real test, just go head to head on the circuit la bro…

• Jeffrey Chew on May 22, 2010 at 8:27 pm

Well, with my three years of bad experiences on Gen2 still not vanish, still, NONO for Proton car… I’m still happy with my humble Vios, not giving me any of problems since two years ago…

• subhero on May 22, 2010 at 9:54 pm

im who experienced on the CPS engine. superb. less consumption.

but the design of proton. still older. still 90’s.

anyway this new gen2 myb not much buyer. better go to persona. new name more saiz boot.

• fasgen on May 23, 2010 at 9:59 pm

for me gen2 boot is enough for me.. a can put anyihing untill fully loaded.. have 3 children.. imaging when balik kg… still enough..

• gen2lama on May 22, 2010 at 10:56 pm

6+ years now…hohohoho still going strong…not giving me any major prob…tear & wear biasala….nearly 300 000km tuuu

dulu….RM40 …270km….15cents….now even lower…RM12 for 270km…NGV maaa…

got 2 more campro now…very…very…very happy with my gen2, exora & blm (4 my mom)…..

• Shah69 on May 23, 2010 at 1:19 am

i’m using gen2 cps almost 2 yrs.. no prob also.. everything working great!
      fc is low than other proton model…
      boot size is not big different compare to persona.. big enough and bigger opening…

• bobdbilder on May 23, 2010 at 1:29 am

You’re not worried about your 2 times facelifted dugong image are you? Good for you. Who cares about your personality right? Did you know UMW made a 100% more profit this year than last year? They must sooo adore you.

• well i think this Gen 2 CPS looked and performs tons better than that overpriced dugong.

damn that thing is overrated, there’s like 15 dugong’s in my school at one time. god that hurts my eyes.

• Kambing Gurun on May 23, 2010 at 12:50 pm

Did you see them swimming in school pond eating seaweeds?

• asahiyakuza on May 23, 2010 at 11:14 am

better being seen in Proton or even bicycle than being seen in that ugly Vios

• fasgen on May 22, 2010 at 9:09 pm

nampaknya… proton memang boleh di calonkan sebagai jenama paling disukai dalm paultan ni.. sebabnya banyak komen sampai beratus2..

• Shah69 on May 23, 2010 at 1:22 am

mmg disukai ramai.. kutuk2 beli jugak… but, I based on my experience, proton is ok. if reduced the price, is will be better for malaysian.

• my Wira SE still ok until now on May 23, 2010 at 7:19 am

Wira Sedan = Persona
      Wira Aeroback = Gen 2..

Basically, Proton announced already, Gen 2 are the replacement of Wira..
      Still remember, last time wira like hot cakes??? this happen to Persona!!! But Gen.2 still got it’s lovers since it’s more sporty…

if i am familyman..i will choose Persona.. but
      if i am “cucukman”.. i will choose Gen.2 .. hehe

but i dont understand why they comes with old side mirrors…it should be bigger one since Persona elegance already use that!!! please change la the side mirrror..!!!

• paultan fan on May 23, 2010 at 11:53 am

bukan dalam ni jer. mana2 forum orang malaysia punyer, kalau ada topik Proton termasuk di driven memang akan jadi hot. hehe. kalau I ada produk I iklan di sini SURE2 SURE LAKU MACAM GORENG PISANG PANAS. ha2. supporter vs basher. Yang neutral tak ramai

• abzaja on May 23, 2010 at 12:09 pm

Hoho that’s very2 true…
      Ada seorang member aku siap bersumpah2 tak akan beli kereta proton. Dia nak beli Japanese je…know what? first car dia kenari, then second car dia waja cps…

• theanswer on May 23, 2010 at 2:46 pm

yg bersumpah xmau beli tuh mesti la die pernah pakai..sbb tuh die insaf dh. jgn salahkn die..mak aku yg x pandai hal kete pon cmtuh. pernah pakai satria n iswara..die pon taubat wpun suke tgk design persona.
        tapai kalau berduit ape salahnye x mau pakai p1..dh mampu..biar je la.

• abzaja on May 23, 2010 at 11:15 pm

a’ah aku pon rasa dia asyik dengar kwn2 dia yg taksub sgt ngan kereta Jepun. dah try baru laa tau improvement P1 dah buat…nak kata tak mampu beli keta lain keja engineer petronas…apapon tiap kali jumpa mesti aku provoke psl sumpah keta proton dia biar terkulat2

• earth is slowing down on May 23, 2010 at 11:24 pm

Proton dan Preodua memang calon juara. Tunggulah model perodua keluar.. tengoklah berapa ratus komen keluar….

• This is all that the proton r&d could come out with,change the color of the rims,body color and interior color scheme,how sad for a 25 years car company,your progress brought shame for the country

• ahmed on May 23, 2010 at 1:15 am

proton needs people like you,come and join proton bro..

• Pork Pard on May 23, 2010 at 1:47 am

nope.. you’re the rubbish for our country… know nothing, then act like a professional…

• someone needs to learn what a ‘minor facelift’ means

• this means full model change will be introduced in the near future, that’s why they only do minor facelift to minimize the budget as the model life is too short.

• KAKITANGAN PROTON on May 24, 2010 at 3:45 pm

Mr fard,
      Come and join us now!
      We need your advise for our future model.
      Please visit our website for more contact detail.

• bobdbilder on May 23, 2010 at 1:17 am

Did they get the weight down? Coz, it was heavier than a Waja. It’s the long glass bit at the back. Nope, Neo CPS is still king on that Power to Weight ratio and it comes with a manual version. Not very bright to have the CPS only available on M Line AT only.

Why do Proton Edar keep posting brochures that sound like they were meant for internal release only? E.g. usage of the term ‘USP’ as part of customer brochure? Swallowing too much powerpoint bullet points lately?

• IMAM MUDA on May 23, 2010 at 12:24 pm

ala. kalo tukar design sekalipun, org tetap bashing gak .. betul tak anti proton oiiiiiiiiiiiiii……… ahhahaha… sume anti kat sini tak pernah puas…

• Where is USB port and audio jack?

• SayNoToProton on May 23, 2010 at 4:17 pm

Quoted from The Edge 3rd May 2010:

‘Proton was earning 216.3 million in 2009 while a small car assembler Tan Cheong earns 153 million. ‘

Listen carefully, it’s the tiny china man company Tan Cheong Malaysia not Nissan Group.

Comparing the ROE, Proton is single digit while Tan Cheong is DOUBLE DIGIT !
    Eh friend forget about Nissan or Toyota. I am talking about Uncle Tan punya ‘assembling’ company saja mah.

Proton is finished !

• nazri on May 23, 2010 at 6:24 pm

simple maa.. your car actually tax a bit only.. ‘small car assembly’ ambek untung banyak sgt.. then when proton topic came out they put flame everywhere

• they only assembling only no other thing….proton full car maker…

• SayNoToProton on May 24, 2010 at 12:16 am

That’s what I said. Proton is a National Car Project. Last year baru untung 200 lebih million.

Bila lauch Waja pada tahun 2000 sudah labur RM 1billion dengan R&D sendiri. Sekarang duit dah tak da apa bolah buat ? CUT and PASTE la. They are going to rebadge Lanser and Passat to become Waja and Perdana respectively. Ini saja yang bolah buat. Duit dah tak de macam mana ?

Another quote from The Edge 3rd March 2010 page 71 by reporter SIOW CHEN MING:

‘Unfortunately, the Gen 2 failed to make a cut, suffering from poor feedback of design and build quality….. With the dissapointing response to Gen 2, Proton earnings decline further…..’

Baca buku lah kawan. Proton habis cerita lah

• carzlover on May 24, 2010 at 3:48 pm

tak payah baca buku. ia memang belum buka cerita sudah habis cerita.

• fasgen on May 23, 2010 at 4:58 pm

i use gen2 1 batch 2hand 2005.. have 3 children. for me gen2 is good for family. for me it has a big boot to fill anything u want. i was shopping at nilai 3, got everything in my gen2.. toto, tikar buluh, comforter, smooth carpet, plus my bags.. bakul for my baby, from nilai to kuantan..so big boot.. i went to sintok. full passenger with xxl size.. using kuala lipis-merapoh-gua musang – cameron highland.. and fully loaded boot… and the suspension is very2 good.. no terjongkit ant the back.. but the suspension go down perfectly.. i love my gen2…

• alldisc on May 23, 2010 at 5:32 pm

for a 6 years old car, the design is looking tired… changing colour schemes was not enough to refersh its looks.

• Rilek sekejap… kalau lah Gov. tutup PROTON nie, apakah agaknya kemampuan rakyat dan negara kita ni di mata dunia. Perkerjaan yang tinggal hanyalah:-

1. Kakitangan Gov, i.e guru, polis/tentera dan etc..
    2. Kakitangan di syarikat asing (Japan, korea dan us/eroupe)
    3. Kakitangan industri kecil/sederhana, i.e. kilang kerepek pisang
    4. Petani-petani di luar bandar dan Felda/Felcra – padi, kelapa sawit / getah
    5. kontraktor kecil/sederhana – Projek besar tender to syarikat asing
    6. lain-lain (bank, guaman & peruncit kecil).

Sedarlah warga malaysia, kita amat jauh ketinggalan dari segi kemampuan terutama di bidang teknologi. Cuba tanya diri sendiri, apakah kemampuan diri kita. Adakah kita mampu mendahului orang lain..

Mungkin kita tak menyedari sebab kita makan gaji dengan syarikat asing..

• fasgen on May 23, 2010 at 9:49 pm

setuju sgt..

• carzlover on May 24, 2010 at 3:46 pm

singapore tidak ada kereta nasional tak nampak mereka ketinggalan.

• Malaysia is a trading country. Our main income has always been to attract FDI (foreign direct investment). Even foreigners doesn’t want to throw their cash to Malaysia (now that FDI concentration is shifting to Thailand, Indonesia, Vietnam and etc). This due to heavily subsidized/protected company such as Proton is eating away the market by the means of unhealthy monopoly. Terrible cannibalism!

Pampering one children is different from bringing up the entire family. Proton is a loss and a shame to us. Time to close shop Proton! Save us the time and money (and it has been 25 years).

• Martin on May 23, 2010 at 8:54 pm

Anyone with more information regarding replacement perdana or waja. Heard that it is coming soon? Approximate time frame? Proton still selling waja and perdana?

• anak dato' kk on May 23, 2010 at 10:33 pm

kalau proton tutup, agak2 kete IMPORT apa yg boleh dipakai oleh org2yg berpendapatan rendah dan sederhana dgn harga semasa skrg ni? Honda civic, city, accord, toyota vios, altis, camry, nissan sylphy, sentra?Think wisely bro….

• Biskut Lexus on May 23, 2010 at 11:30 pm

Daihatsu sirion, Toyota pasoo sette.. Dahaitsu Terois…mungkin? Yalah kalau proton tutup, perodua pun kenalah tutup jugak kan….sama2 GLC maa…Jadi x adalah kita pakai myvi atau alza tu.. huhuhu….

• JULIAN LOO on May 24, 2010 at 9:28 am

kalau proton tutup, aku akan bawak masuk tata nano, mesti laku..hahaha… dah kete lain mahal2…

• anak tengku on May 24, 2010 at 9:56 am

wahai anak dato’ kk….

Think wisely???haha…bagus sgt ke pkai brand luar?memg proton mahal kalu dibandingkan dgn kualiti yg spatutnya diorang bagi, tp kita patut bsyukur, at least kita ada kereta sndiri…tak byk negara asia ada keta sndiri..entah2 yg xda duit pkai motor atau naik bus aje…orang kat negara lain keta je cantik..tp living cost tinggi..sini gaji sribu dua pun bleh ada bini dah..kalu kay europe, 250 euro, bleh beli pe sgt bro..jersey liverpool pun 5-60 euro dah..haha….so dun compare sgt la whai smua proton basher..maybe anak dato’ kk tak kot..hah

thanks

• Wak Kreta on May 24, 2010 at 6:59 am

sama-sama kita naik Public Transport n less conjestion ma!!!

• Proton always repeat the same old mistake — NO FOLDABLE ARMREST at the rear seats. How can a sedan don’t have this feature? Is it so expensive to have this thing factory fitted other than the exterior cosmetics????

• Tiadaid on May 24, 2010 at 11:19 am

Vios don’t have it, City don’t have it. I don’t think cars in the compact class have foldable rear armrest, although I could be mistaken.

• Seriously on May 24, 2010 at 9:00 am

it’s 15mins of public interest is over.

• Zulkien on May 24, 2010 at 9:17 am

nahh.. nothing special at all.. (sigh)

• firefox on May 24, 2010 at 10:49 am

emmmm…..errrrr……agreed with Zulkien, really nothing, this is proton, 1 model need to be run for min 5 years in market…maybe 10 years too…but try to think how’s proton run the market…really sad…….

• khaix19a on May 24, 2010 at 10:57 am

proton can be better than this…why always new face lift…time 2 come up with new model….

• Louya on May 24, 2010 at 1:42 pm

u r loyal paultan reader or not??? there have many news about it even in newspaper….proton will come out with new model in 2012..

• p4k4abu on May 24, 2010 at 11:13 am

I wish there’s an upvote/downvote feature.

;-)

• sick&tired on May 24, 2010 at 11:47 am

why the fck they can’t change the back lights to the one used in the new persona!? already charging people RM60k and still using the same back lights!!!??

• alpha999 on May 24, 2010 at 12:57 pm

hey….what a joke…..stop making unprofessional bashings…..just becoz others can afford a jap or european make…..up to them be lah!!!!……..

• when they used the same light, people will say that no difference in persona n gen2 appearance, when they choose a different light, they will say, why not used persona e one’s? i love malaysian.
    the reason it is only minor change compare to persona e is simply because of its sales target. where persona e target sales is 4000 units permonth but this gen2 only 300 units permonth. so let say that gen2 n persona life cycle will end up in 2 years time before the higly rated persona R coming out in 2012, persona sales for 2 years shud be around 96000 units but for gen2 it is only 6000 units. so the persona e justify its cost to have a medium change inside n out while for gen2, only minor change will be sufficient enough. if they make change like persona e, they have atleast to sell around 20000 units to cover up the rnd cost.
    even gen2 have a modest change like persona e, people will choose persona over gen2, so why need to spend much for such car that have only a small number of fans.

• Annoy-nimal on May 24, 2010 at 6:35 pm

This should be the Gen@ when it was first launched…
    I hope that next time, Proton gets it right the first time…

• keretasorong on May 24, 2010 at 9:32 pm

Tertawan dgn enjin CPS tapi blom mampu…..

• ok bash if anyone want to,
    care to bash again after pheonix project engine on the road when the most torque is at only 1800 rpm,
    thank u

• nazri on May 24, 2010 at 11:05 pm

how much bandwidth

• molala on May 25, 2010 at 8:54 am

Untuk lebih selesa/luas pilih persona,
    untuk lebih praktikal pilih gen2.

x caya? cuba korang beli body kit 1 set dan try letak dalam persona/gen2.

• abcde12345 on May 25, 2010 at 1:07 pm

it would be better if they use elegance rear lamps
    this gen 2 look like so yesterday to me
    the seat also still not the adjustable type (head rest)
    aiya
    i talk a lot also proton never take note about user’s oppinion
    can say gud luck only la

• selipar on May 25, 2010 at 8:53 pm

if any proton guys read this..if the pheonix project is an upgraded campro, please reduce the booming sound..or just ‘spread’ the noise like other cars so that it would not be so obvious. Anyway i think the gen2 have reach its full potential here. I would congratulate. nice job.

• they should put the panaromic sunroof instead of blackpaint roof.

• kolve on May 26, 2010 at 12:19 pm

i can send my Gen2 to any ahbeng bodykit / paint / accessories shop for a more “Refresh” look…hahaha at least its a fresh look to my eye.. rather than change the tiny2 things

• roslen.jb on May 26, 2010 at 6:36 pm

Nasib baik x tgu. Ingat byk berubah still sama jea dgn yg lama… silap hari bln klu oder kna tgu perang dunia ke III baru dpt.

My Civic I-vtec 2.0 juga best. Walaupun mahal tpi kepuasan drive. fooohh!! Tnya la siapa yg penah test drive.

Hidup proton!!!! he! he!he!

• flyingMan on May 31, 2010 at 2:38 pm

i just went to proton showroom to see this gen2….then i take brochure n see ‘keyless entry’ feature but when i ask the salesman…no body know bout that…and i look myself into this feature at the car but no other device such as key remote or start n stop button…so my intrested just end at that way…i don’t know either this feature for incoming gen2 or this facelift gen2…or have another han2…don’t ever lie customer…

• Wo hen wuliao on Jun 01, 2010 at 11:43 pm

aiyo bro even myvi also have keyless entry… if like Forte that called keyless entry & go

• Mrs Kiekey on Jun 01, 2010 at 9:40 am

thx for the info’s…

bertambah2 pening dan confuse aku dbuatnyer…

ok..kepada yg ada pngalaman..pls…
    New Gen2 CPS ni teruk sgt ker?

mane yg lebih elok?
    New Gen2 CPS atau Persona Elegance?

keliru la…

my budget is Rm65k below..
    expertise in Car’s pls advise me…

• Alamak..salah tempat ar bro..unfortunately sini lagi ramai “basher” dari “car expert”..

you should try ask people in Gen2 club’s forum..

• Wo hen wuliao on Jun 01, 2010 at 11:41 pm

bro u pernah dengar perkataan ni?? perkataan ni dipanggil PANDU UJI/TEST DRIVE.

• ahmed fathy on Jun 08, 2010 at 11:33 pm

hi everybody can i ask a question . will proton sell the new gen 2 with cps engine outside Malaysia for example in Mideast this year ?
    thanks a lot

• Ahmed on Oct 19, 2010 at 2:31 pm

how much this car?

• mnazri.tan on Aug 09, 2011 at 1:04 pm

as proud owner of 2005 gen2, i still prefer the original design…bumper and light….all….owh, the R3 design is better but the new facelift…not really my cup of tea….same goes with persona….luckily my wife’s persona is the orginal design that i love :)