Kia Rondo EX and EXS gets 300 unit equipment boost

If you’re looking to buy a Kia Rondo (called the Naza Citra II Rondo here in Malaysia) sometime soon you’ll be pleased to know that both the Rondo EX and EXS will have their equipment level boosted temporarily – limited to just 300 units.

The price points of RM86,088 and RM90,088 for the Rondo EX and EXS respectively will maintain the same but these 300 units will receive the additional following: new front skirting, side skirting, rear skirting, rear spoiler, door protector visor, wheel arch moulding, rear bumper pad and chrome tail pipe.

As for interior enhancements, the 300 units will get a 9.5 inch overhead LCD screen equipped with a DVD player as well as leather trim covered seats, and new solar tinting. In addition, there’s also an emergency kit bag, first aid kit, fire extinguisher and a tire inflator for free.

Naza Kia has sold 264 units of the Optima platform and engine based Rondo MPV in the first four months of this year so far so I am guessing that the 300 units will be gone in the next three months or so, or perhaps faster if many people are enticed by the offer.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Any plan to bring the 2.0 diesel crdi?…test drove my friends diesel rondo in brunei recently, very powerful, can feel its pulling power low down. Easy for overtaking and climbing hills. Furthermore, was informed by him that FC wise is very good.

• Eric G on May 26, 2010 at 4:38 pm

maybe the Diesel Quality in Malaysia is still not good enough for this car.

• subhero on May 26, 2010 at 11:21 pm

should be.

• Maybe next year they’ll bring the diesel…..we’re suppose to be euro 4 compliance in 2011. Oil burner, here we come and let kick those asthmatic and guzzler petrols

• altimate on May 26, 2010 at 4:33 pm

Souped up version.. i think the soup has over-boiled. Always loved the original look of this Rondo. I think moulding on the wheel arches are way too unnecessary.

Nice goodies on the inside though.. sweet

• mohsin on May 26, 2010 at 4:34 pm

Interesting additional fautures but sorry, I’m not interested.

• razee_hussin on May 26, 2010 at 4:35 pm

i think its time for us in malaysia to have a diesel powered mpv due to low end tork and low fc..like in brunei and indonesia they have disel version of innova, ronde unser but in malaysia is hopeless…is it due to higher tax or something ?can anybody care to anwer my curiosity?

• Abraham Tawi on May 26, 2010 at 9:10 pm

I think its due to the low quality of diesel and majority of Malaysians think that Diesel powered vehicles are for lorries and 4×4. Hope that will change though, as manufacturers such as BMW is trying to sell the ‘d’ cars here.

• Tiadaid on May 27, 2010 at 5:54 am

Diesel not up to standard bcoz
      1) It’ll cost more
      2) Then trucking businesses have to raise transport cost
      3) Then other businesses “affected” by tranaportation cost rise will raise prices
      4) Then schmoes like us have to bear with expensive everything.

• Whatever it is, luv the huge torque of a diesel and u be saving the planet due to lower co2 and less fuel consumption….. while having fun!

• p4k4bu on May 27, 2010 at 9:48 am

Maybe now is the time to introduce better diesel while world oil price is relatively low (USD 70 per barrel).

Come october, price most likely will go up again.

Of course the ‘pihak berwajib’ must act fast laaaa…. as fast as getting rid some piece of land somewhere south of the penisula ….
        ;-)

• 300 units only? for those surveying for mpv u got to test drive this underrated rondo. so much better than brand N, T, C and of course… P.

• theanswer on May 26, 2010 at 4:44 pm

value mpv..bigger engine..better interior than livina.

• paultan fan on May 27, 2010 at 11:55 pm

i thk for it size and engine, its much better than nissan grand livina. also it spec

• Squawk on May 26, 2010 at 5:50 pm

It’s a nice ride. The stocks must not be moving fast enough. Wonder if the CKD rear seats are still the same crappy ones. Liked the CBU seats more.

• danialdecruz (Member) on May 26, 2010 at 6:30 pm

interesting…… but who thinks this is better than exora?

• The Rondo is streets ahead of the Exora.

• acerman on May 26, 2010 at 7:54 pm

I thought Exora is a Mid size MPv and this Rondo is a full size MPV.

• Squawk on May 26, 2010 at 9:08 pm

Renault Espace, Citroen C4 Grand Picasso, Kia Carnival… those are full size MPVs.

• Citroen C4 Grand Picasso is midi MPV….the Citroen C8 is the full size MPV from citroen

• yahoogirl on May 26, 2010 at 10:15 pm

The power of Rondo way better than Exora. Rondo seems to be as or more powerful than toyota wish based on my test

• acerman on May 27, 2010 at 12:30 am

U must be a lucky man to be able to ‘test’ both cars at every level!
            Congrats!
            How long did the company gave you permission to ‘test’ the car? A week? A month? A year?

• If you want power…try test a diesel Rondo, its streets ahead of these petrols…but u need to try it outside msia ; )

• mari test rondo,exora & wish…..isi brg penuh@ dlm kete,try naik bukit….tgk siapa kuat…pasti rondo bg uuu surprise!!!!!

• Ill take exora

• paultan fan on May 28, 2010 at 12:05 am

in term of price, of coz la Exora is a winner
      but in term of spec ( good engine – also use in Mitsubishi Lancer GT, tripronic gear, all disc brake, roomy comparable to Exora ) its good compare to Exora. Exora ok but Rondo much more better in term of spec.

Proton Exora = 125 hp, 150 nm and weight is 1422 kg. so kg/ nm is 9.48

while

Naza Rondo = 145 Hp, 189 Nm and weight is 1563 kg. so kg/ nm is 8.27

so its means Naza Rondo win interm of perfomance

Rondo VS Exora

Length = 4545 mm VS 4592 MM ( Exora win by 47 mm or 4.7 cm )
      width = 1800 mm VS 1809 mm ( Exora win by 9 mm or 0.9 cm )
      height = 1650 mm VS 1691 mm ( Rondo better because it lower )

I thk in term of size, not a huge diffent. Different only for specification offered and pricing

• cardreamer on May 26, 2010 at 6:44 pm

Well, tested the car a year ago…very good quality inside out..but the turning off point is the look….why don’t Kia Rondo be re-newed with the looks of Forte or the new sorento or the optima?…surely people will buy them inhesitantly with all the goodies offered!…we want a totally new look Rondo, and plus a new Diesel engine please…

• paultan fan on May 28, 2010 at 12:08 am

i like it rear design. and if they use front shape design like Forte, surely it will beat Toyota Wish and Honda Stream sell

• mati katak on May 26, 2010 at 6:47 pm

the design looks like still in the 90s…..

• My sentiment, exactly.

I suppose Rondo is going to be the last Kia models from the old design wave together with Picanto and Rio. Designs from the new wave like Forte, cee’d, new Optima and new Sorento look promising though.

• tamaki on May 26, 2010 at 7:23 pm

my friend own this rondo and i could say value for money, every single aspect better then close price range vehicle.

• 4G63T DSM on May 26, 2010 at 9:01 pm

I will bite if they fixed the 2nd row seats. Regardless of whatever stupid add-ons they included.

I would have bitten long time ago if they had not screwed the seats up.

Its real stupid for a 7 seat MPV that you can’t get to the 3rd row if you’ve installed a rearward facing child seat…..or have to get all the 2nd row pasengers to exit the vehicle to slide the seats….imagine if it was raining….

Only an idiot would re-design a properly working seat….just to make it worst.

• Bro 4G63T DSM,

I think you need a full size mpv and not midi mpv (rondo/GL/Exora/stream/wish/msian ODC..etc). cheapest and good value will be the Nissan Serena with a sliding door (very practical if you need to maneuver the child seat or putting your child in their seat at tights parking esp at those malls). Further more its 2-2-3 seating configuration with walk through area will spot ON for a family vehicles since yr missus might need to keep on moving from 1st all the way to 3rd row to attend to the kids. And it got rear air-cond too for those grumpy little kids at the back (shame on you stream/greed/wish)

• 4G63T DSM on May 26, 2010 at 9:09 pm

Just noticed in the pictures, it shows the original 2nd row seat configuration….did they fix the seats?

I was very impressed with the Rondo with a test drive on the first day. Couple months later, I was ready to buy….literally with checkbook in hand for the downpayment at the dealer when I realised they fuxked up the seats…..

I hope some Naza Kia guy is reading this.

• nope.. thats not naza citra II rondo pictures… those are original kia rondo pictures. naza interior is fully black.

i own the fu**ed up version. i still think its value for money thou. most mpv user rarely use the 3rd row anyway. thats why alza is so popular.

• 4G63tDSM on May 27, 2010 at 9:07 am

I agree its a good value choice.

I tend to hold on to cars well over 10 years so depreciation don’t really sting.

But what erks me is usability has been compromised because of some really stupid cost saving measure.

Maybe thats why they are not moving off the lots. I’ve heard similar complaints from other potential buyers and from the sales people themselves..

• Squawk on May 27, 2010 at 11:31 am

Yup, same here. Noticed the showroom car had different seats than the one I saw earlier (1st batch, CBU), asked the salesman about it and confirmed the change by checking the brochure too. Said ‘thank you’ and walked out.

Those who were sold by the pictures in the brochure and didn’t check the CKD seats… oops. Stupid salesman also kept quiet about it until I asked.

• Nice effort from Naza Kia but no, thanks…. :)

• subhero on May 26, 2010 at 11:29 pm

bro, its just the strategic to finish the OLD stock. Dont get into the TRAP.

• hmm, getting rid of the old stocks?

or trying to clear the body kits away.

either way, its a good deal for those looking for a value mpv.

• Slayer on May 27, 2010 at 2:56 pm

Yess, i’m totally agreed with you….think thousand time before you buy Naza brand…my past experienced really gave me good thought..sesal dulu pendapatan, sesal kemudian tak berguna..

• Mad Cat on May 27, 2010 at 4:09 pm

Honda’s Freed might be the right vehicle for you.

• paultan fan on May 28, 2010 at 12:19 am

yang saya hairan kenapa jualan Naza Rondo ni tak baik sedangkan

1) value for money ( powerful engine compare to Mazda 2.0/ Honda Stream/ Toyota Wish )
    2) rich with spec ( triptonic gearbox, disc brake )
    3) 1/2 price compare to Honda Stream, Mazda 5, Toyota Wish ( CKD factor )
    4) roomy compare to Honda Stream and Mazda 5

• jualan tak baik mungkin byk persaingan mpv skrg ni…..tp yg pasti cuba dulu baru tahu….surprise!!!!!!!!

• kaikai on May 28, 2010 at 5:32 pm

Using Ron97 ,FC 13.2 lit/ 100km, = 27sen/km.

Who has the exora fc?

• Abraham Tawi on May 30, 2010 at 9:36 pm

Using Ron95, FC is 10.8 lit/ 100km, = 17cents/km

But this is due to city drive. Would be much better if on highway :)

What about yours, is it highway, city or mixed driving?

• CE owner on May 31, 2010 at 12:00 am

chery eastar the best lah…

• oldwira on May 31, 2010 at 12:30 am

I’ve been driving citra for more than 5 yrs, so far no major problem, maybe because it was 1st batch (which i supposed a cbu model). In terms of reliability, its a superb mpv, its a good cruiser on highways, but only so so on city streets. The only problem with my citra is fc, so guzzling. Anyway, i still love the citra, never intend to trade it for other mpv. Its gonna be a weekend transporter when new saga/persona/waja RM comes. I believe this rondo is better than citra in term of value for money. The only think that rondo cannot beat citra is the automated sunroof. And why people still go for exora and alza, i think because of fc issue and in future maintenance. However, for some reasons, I prefer korean than japanese cars.

• Rondo the best…..better then exora,alza,eastar,avanza & livina.Try first……….surprise!!!!

• Jaih Jimmy on Aug 05, 2010 at 9:29 pm

I just bought naza rondo a few days ago. I found it worth value for the money. The engine is very quiet and powerfull. I test drived our national mpv but nothing compared to rondo. You wouldn’t be regret if you own one. naza Kia really had done their homework to market this product. The price is affordable but not in East Malaysia. We have to pay RM 87 000++ for the EX and RM 91 000++ for EXS. Limited edition RM 89 000++. I think Naza should look into this matter if they want to share the market with nationals car and non nationals cars mostly in Sabah and Sarawak. Kata org putih size does matter but money make it different. Tahniah naza.

• kak noni on Aug 17, 2010 at 7:04 pm

thank naza or kak kiah for the oper…you should cut the price down as well..sure i consider.

• caveman on Sep 03, 2010 at 1:46 am

i like this rondo v.much but uncertain the 2nd value….like what happened to my spectra,bought for 70k in 2005 sold at 15k last month..takutla pakai kereta naza ni…rugi besar…nyesal tak habiss…

• Bangala on Oct 05, 2010 at 5:55 pm

Rondo will smoke Exora anytime … Besides, Exora is underpower for its size !!

• najib ghani on Jan 03, 2017 at 2:50 pm

im of picking up this car..so surprise wht the price drop so big..and looked thru mudah, not a lot is available , does this mean its a great vehicle to keep…should i buy it or not…