Nissan Leaf fully booked six months before sales start

Nissan’s CEO Carlos Ghosn has confirmed that the Nissan Leaf is doing extremely well. The US market’s allotment has been fully reserved, six months before the electric vehicle goes on sale. It has to be said though, that buyers can reserve these cars at a refundable fee of only $99.

Nissan has received 13,000 reservations from American customers. In the US, the Leaf costs $32,780, with Government incentives bringing it down to $25,280. In Japan, Nissan has received 6,000 reservations for the Leaf. Pre-orders for Europe start in July.

Ghosn has been very bullish about the sale of EVs, saying that they will comprise of 10% of all car sales within a decade. Nissan, with its Alliance partner Renault, expect to build 500,000 electric vehicles by 2012.

Over in our part of the world, we’ll have to ‘wait and see’ on the relevance and the practicality of electric cars. The lack of charging facilities in many countries don’t help EV introduction. But a market like the US is an indication of the promise of the Leaf has, very much like how they warmly embraced the Prius on a big scale before any other market.

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• Go nissan Go, i wonder will we get it in malaysia ? nice car, looking forward to it :)

• jlooi on May 29, 2010 at 1:23 pm

our gov should reduce tax on green car like this.

• Katak on May 29, 2010 at 5:29 pm

As long as Proton is yet to start selling similar car….rakyat can keep dreaming.
      When Proton start selling Emas, expect blood-sucking tax slapped on this Nissan Leaf to protect Proton “mangkuk emas” literally^^

• Kan Ni Nah, Proton still havn’t develop thier hybrid then so fast u want them to develop EV ah? So funny la u, u think is stupid idiot proton achieve this in so fast meh? THEY ONLY KNOEW HOW TO MODIFY FACELIFT ONLY!! Special Edition la, Elegant Edition la….Only this they can achieve!

• endreyip on May 29, 2010 at 1:29 pm

“Nissan has received 13,000 reservations from American customers. In the US, the Leaf costs $32,780, with Government incentives bringing it down to $25,280”

do our govt give incentive? If yes I’ll go for it.

• selipar on May 29, 2010 at 2:34 pm

The type of response thats vital to move this green technology. And the incentives helps too. Hope we will be able to adapt to it sooner.

• Elvis on May 29, 2010 at 3:14 pm

EV is the way to go. I think Malaysia another 25 years to go…

• ManualHead on May 29, 2010 at 3:36 pm

i can sense that Proton bashers are on their way …

• azrai on May 29, 2010 at 4:35 pm

Maybe Honda will review their policy on EV. Ghosn really a hero especially for the Japanese when he turn around Nissan into profit.

• squawk on May 29, 2010 at 4:59 pm

A refundable deposit…. how weird. Of course, M’sian car sellers are normal and won’t do weird things like that.

• Rinnegan on May 29, 2010 at 5:55 pm

Suppose if we can add solar panel on the EV roof, if possible that is, we can definitely extend the range of the EV isn’t it? Imagine using an EV in Malaysia with solar panel built inside the roof, the EV will keep on charging itself as long as there’s sun light. In Malaysia, sunlight is plentiful. I think an EV is useful in our country especially in the cities. Hopefully we’ll see this EV trend becoming a rage here.

• rexis on May 29, 2010 at 11:03 pm

If not because of solar roof would cost a Gen2 to install, I guess they will definitely put it.

• p4k4bu on May 30, 2010 at 12:49 pm

At the moment, solar cell efficiency not very high (I don’t remember the number :-( ). So, not practical/economical to put on roof.

The cars entered into the solar races are very light and built for one person ‘sitting’ in a very awkward position. And no air-con too. :-(

If there’s a big big big breakthru in solar cell technology, even our cell phones will be solar powered. :-) Just put it in the sun to recharge ;-)

• squawk on May 30, 2010 at 5:02 pm

The Europeans are wondering the same thing about Malaysia. We have more sun than they do but they’re making more use of it than we are. They see us as wasting a valuable resource.

Solar cells are now manufactured in China & even Malaysia so the costs have come down significantly. There’re also now flexible solar panels to fit any surface shape. And China is already selling solar chargers for cellphones. Takes a few hours to charge, depending on charging capacity, just like plugging into the mains.

• Website Hosting on May 29, 2010 at 7:03 pm

Is this the way how a boot of a car is designed. Its a ugly car. Swift is much much better than this. And the funny thing is that Nissan compares itself with the great TOYOTA. Lol.

• Joker The Great on May 29, 2010 at 8:23 pm

This is the time, the G should look into this of vehicle, either is EV or Hybrid..
    Petrol price keep on increasing while Tax, excess and duties nv reduce…

This G getting crazy. G have to admit that they no longer hv fund to operate this country..
    Issue the new Billion Ringgit of Islamic Bond, at the same time, reducing the subsidies…
    Still wanna increase the toll…?
    Who is the person sign the agreement allowing the toll increase price every few years?

Come on man…. Where is the $$$$$ belonging to Rakyat Malaysia?

Do we still need to pay the high price for the car and at the same time for the petrol?

• rexis on May 29, 2010 at 11:04 pm

Gahmen should look into building a bicycle dedicated network.

• rexis on May 29, 2010 at 11:11 pm

Forgot to mention, largely because of the fact that we will not be able to afford to drive pretty soon.

• Our Gov are expert at:
      1. Complaining. Complaining high fuel subsidy.
      2. NOT doing anything to address the complain in the long term.
      3. Quick fix. In this case remove fuel subsidy. DOING something in the short term problem solve in 1 year. THEN WHAT?
      4. Wait and See Policy.

JPJ don’t even have vehicle classification for EV, so how to register? Rakyat no choice but to buy normal cars laaa….. then please refer to item #1 on the above list & move ur way down….

• jolly_idiot on May 29, 2010 at 8:35 pm

Toyota, Honda Etc is all having problem with their Hybrid/EV. Wonder Nissan will face the same problem?

• Srotong on May 29, 2010 at 8:47 pm

Those who look with awe andwonder at EV’s don’t understand the basics of the Law of Coservation of Energy. More into magic perpetual motion machines are you? The only vehicle that can really do the job for a cleaner, sustainable environment would be a fuel cell one, if the source of hydrogen is ‘clean’ . All else is crap. Honda is on the right path. A bicycle would be better.

• rexis on May 29, 2010 at 11:08 pm

Sound like you are the one who failed to understand things correctly.

• Srotong Stoopid on May 30, 2010 at 11:40 am

go and talk to those expert (with Ir. and Dr. in front of their name )..fuel cell is actually is more rubbish that what your thought on EV

• p4k4bu on May 30, 2010 at 12:40 pm

1. Hydrogen fuel cell is not yet ready for practical use. Maybe another 10 to 20 years?

2. Hybrid, plug-in hybrid and full EV are the ones more practical today and maybe the next 20 years.

3. If a bicycle is the best for you, ride on…

;-)

• Srotong on May 30, 2010 at 9:08 pm

pk4bu,

1. Agreed, but can wait, if don’t conk off first. The catalyst sort of a problem, not the so much h2 storage.

2. Hybrids just mean that – smaller cc, but still burn fossil fuels. Better than fake EVs which increase carbon emissions by tapping and storing energy from the electrical grid and thus dependent on coal and NG electric plants. Basic science stuff that simpletons don’t understand. What is the purpose of reducing carbon emissions? Cetainly not for increasing stupidity.

3. Am doing so, good for the heart, thanks.

Oh by the way, I have one of those prefixes in front of my name.

• malaysia will have EVs, but can only run in Putrajaya / Cyberjaya for show…
    use by govt officers
    get global publicity as being a smart/green city / township
    built more EV stations around that area
    cheat more rakyats $$

• Rulered on May 30, 2010 at 6:30 pm

i still think biodegradable renewable energy is the way to go….

• Squawk on May 31, 2010 at 3:17 pm

Maybe in a few years time, Modenas will be bigger than P1+P2+P3+P4.

• would like to have that car….for light drivings…but dang…gomen…would raise the price way higgh…since they are pushing us to consume more on fossil fuel… ahh….good gomen..