25th Anniversary Proton Saga Snap & Win Contest

The Proton Saga ‘Snap & Win’ Photo Contest with the theme ‘Ease your Life’ is one of the activities that Proton Edar have planned in conjunction with Proton’s 25th Anniversary celebration.

The contest is broken down into 2 categories – Old Saga and New Saga. The Old Saga category includes the 85-91 Saga, 92-08 Iswara and the 03-08 Saga. And of course for the New Saga category, all new Saga of all specs can join.

Basically what you have to do is snap an original and creative photo of yourself or your family with any Proton Saga and submit the entry online at the Saga Snap & Win microsite, or via snail mail (address can be found below). You also have to submit a creative caption to describe how the Saga have eased their life in less than 140 words.

VIDEO: Proton Saga History

There is no purchase required and you don’t even have to own a Proton Saga to join. You can use your neighbour’s, friend’s or family’s Proton Saga. Each person is allowed to submit a maximum of 5 entries but of course you can only win once. I’m probably going to try to join using Danny’s old Proton Saga ;)

The criteria to win is 70% judging and 30% public voting. The judging will be based on relevance, originality and creativity among other judging criteria. The following are the prizes:

Old Saga New Saga
Grand Prize RM25,000 Grand Prize RM25,000
1st Runner Up RM8,000 1st Runner Up RM8,000
2nd Runner Up RM5,000 2nd Runner Up RM5,000
Consolation (10) RM1,000 Consolation (10) RM1,000

Click to enlarge – an example entry?

Winners will also be invited to the Proton 25th Anniversary Gala Dinner. The judging panel will shortlist 50 entries for public voting, which accounts for 30%. There is also a reward for public voters who consistently voted for the grand prize, 1st runner up prize and 2nd runner up prize. Each individual can vote once a day for their preferred finalist. There’s three prizes to be won – RM2,500, RM2,000 and RM1,000 for the voter category.

Head on over to the Proton Saga Snap & Win Microsite to find out more about the contest and how to join. For those who want to send in their entries via snail mail, you can send it to Proton Saga Snap & Win Contest, PG-15A, Ground Floor, Jaya 33, No.3 Jalan Semangat, Section 13, 46100 Petaling Jaya, Selangor. Remember to send your 140 word caption, your full name, your IC number, your contact number and your email address.

Basic editing of the photos are allowed such as color correction, sharpening and etc but no heavy Theophilus Chin style photoshops are allowed :P

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• kimi_ on May 31, 2010 at 5:38 pm

It should be exclusive for saga owner lah…..What is this???

Sorry Paul, i want to COMPLAIN the banner ads which is blue colour that APPREAR in the below of this site is IRRITATING TODAY……It CRASH my browser few times when i access your site…..lead me need to restart the browser.

I thought this paultan.org means a profitless site as it is–.org WHY there are ads here?????

From a loyal readers.

Thanks

• tokmoh on May 31, 2010 at 8:40 pm

Paul Tan also need extra income to prepare for fuel price increase. Tu la…undi lagi Bini Najib!!

What browser are you using?

The funny thing is, the blue bar appeared as just that in Google Chrome: an empty blue bar!!

• acerman on May 31, 2010 at 8:57 pm

Off topic!

I think you should update your browser. Anyway, what browser are you using?

• Louya on May 31, 2010 at 10:18 pm

then if u dun wan distrubance, u pay paultan and his colleague lor…

• Phrase on May 31, 2010 at 10:27 pm

Every malaysian can join, owner or non owner of Proton, stated in terms and conditions at the microsite..

• Paul Tan on May 31, 2010 at 10:59 pm

Yes, every Malaysian can join :)

• paultan no1 fan on Jun 04, 2010 at 4:39 pm

wait..! Mr Bean is the real winner… golf balls in the Saga’s exhaust…… remember?? hahaha….. :-)

• staff on May 31, 2010 at 5:50 pm

Will some people become hypocrites about this?

I think, i have a very good picture to send to them.

• mystvearn on May 31, 2010 at 6:07 pm

Nice video there, almost documentary material. Missing bits from the slump era :P hehehe

• nabill on May 31, 2010 at 7:18 pm

nice video , almost inspirational !

• bugbear1986 on May 31, 2010 at 7:54 pm

wow.. tht red saga… looks so new??!!

• kalau bukan saga owner boleh masuk tak pertandingan ni?

• Petikan artikel di atas:

“There is no purchase required and you don’t even have to own a Proton Saga to join. You can use your neighbour’s, friend’s or family’s Proton Saga.”

• Phrase on Jun 01, 2010 at 1:26 pm

All Malaysian can join the contest. Owner / non-owner of Proton models. No purchase required. Its a snap to win RM25K.

• thanks!

i think i have read all the article, my bad, i missed the important part.

:p

• so pictures doesnt matter using which generations of proton saga?

• Katak on May 31, 2010 at 8:42 pm

I have a sweet idea. Picture of me flashing the bird while poking my head & body half way out from my 1999 Proton Saga Iswara driver side window^^
    Accompanying the photo will be : F**K! I am still stuck with this!!!!!!!!!

• boloq on May 31, 2010 at 8:43 pm

for sure p1 bashers will join this contest by hiding their face inside own pants heheh

• teamsleepnine on May 31, 2010 at 8:52 pm

i like the video!!……

• tokmoh on May 31, 2010 at 8:54 pm

That video… was it originally broadcast during Saga BLM launching? Very interesting, although it’s very low quality (even the newer scenes especially when Pak Lah was launching the Satria Neo) :D It’s 2010, any video to come out from Proton should be in 1080p Full HD!! Yeaaaa

• kangaroo on May 31, 2010 at 9:26 pm

i hav an old picture of my family members helped pushing the power window UP outside the car n driver inside at the same time at the emergency lane of seremban highway on one Balik Kampung Trip when it started to rain n the window just quit working.

• cikgu wan on May 31, 2010 at 9:52 pm

i like this…!!!!

• 1malaysia on May 31, 2010 at 10:10 pm

1. Nice video and way of appreciation…
    2.But this video uphold 1Malaysia concept?…..real hypocrites….

• spike on May 31, 2010 at 10:43 pm

i love the video.fantastic trip back in time…best part was when the Brits were commenting on the car …how good it was etc…..whilst the rest of us suffered humungous taxes on cars to help maintain our national car company as a viable concern.

• low Quality video…but that red saga is awsome larr,… bonnet shining crystal clear…

• Jumbsuck on Jun 01, 2010 at 12:20 pm

Stand before the old crappy Saga crushed, shredded to bits in scrap metal yards and wear T-shirt ‘Good Riddance!’.

• Barry Waine on Jun 01, 2010 at 3:31 pm

the video should also include a caption ‘Remember before 300% Import Duty Tax’…’the time before Protong’.

• That is when we don’t care if we must have constant electricity…no internet or what so ever…
      No toll
      No Highway
      No proper infrastructure…
      I bet…without that 300% Tax, you still have to use lampu ayam during your study…
      and you know what…yes you will still babbling why the Gov dont build proper infrastructure for your cheap ass just to study…
      Tax is not bad…it will return to us.
      The question is…do you really pay tax???? or your salary is not even close to pay tax because you r too lazy or stupid???

• ali bin abu ahmad on Jun 01, 2010 at 6:09 pm

Honestly, Proton Saga was in fact a real hitter in UK during that time, and right after that Proton’s quality and reputation decline like a falling rock. I hope Proton will catch back the pace of modern car engineering and…
    oh yeah the fucking 300% taxes!

• paultan no1 fan on Jun 04, 2010 at 4:39 pm

wait..! Mr Bean is the real winner… golf balls in the Saga’s exhaust…… remember?? hahaha….. :-)

• Rhys Millen on Jun 07, 2010 at 1:43 pm

Looks exactly like a Which Hyundai R U? contest……

• how to view those photo that posted up last sunday

• Abdullah Bin Kasim on Jun 26, 2010 at 12:34 pm

Kenapa PUBLIC VOTE itu di guna untuk mencari gambar terbaik ?
    Kilang saya diKulim, ada seorang name Kim Chong Keat tiap tiap hari buat email palsu menerusi I/C & alamat rakan rakan dan senarai nama H.R department.
    Seorang budak melayu perempuan dalam tahap Top 3 ITU JUGA PALSU kerana gambar Kim Chong Keat juga.
    VOTE tak sepatutnya diguna kan untuk mencari gambar terbaik kerana macam kes dalam kilang kami….oleh kerana E.Kim berpangkat tinggi, semua nama senarai peribadi pekerja disapu untuk buat vote .

Saya bukan cemburu, tetapi sebagai seorang Islam dan pangkat rendah dalam kilang yang sama dengan En. Kim…saya patut buka suara !

Kalau Proton tak percaya, cba sekarang juga buat satu name palsu, dan masuk nama nama dan I/C orang umum…tentu anda dapat VOTE juga.
    Bukti ini adalah benar.

Tolong jangan guna vote results sebagai bukti gambar itu adalah terbaik dari pilihan umum….disebaliknya gambar vote yang terlalu banyak itu semua nya rekaan sendiri.

Untuk yang terbaik…guna 3 JUDGE untuk buat pilihan dan selepas pilihan dari judge….computer vote punya orang akan dapat undi sebagai pemenang bahagian vote.

Harap Proton segar betapah seriousnya kes dalam selimut ini.
    Tolong guna 3 judge 100% bukan vote results langsung…..
    Kalau tidak, En.Kim dan rakan nya telah MONOPOLY 30% dari bahagian VOTE itu.

Sekian,
    Abdullah

• Siew Kim Hong on Jun 26, 2010 at 12:40 pm

YES….I just try do a few fake name & put a few my office staff I/C, name through my company name list just now…it really works ! OMG !

This proff taht totally true that Vote is not accurated, not fair.
    Proton must know and understand this matter.
    They must use invited judge do 100% judging, cannot let 30% been stolen away !

My husband just test another registeration using a few name random found in internet…it works !
    oh my god…!

I also hope someone must tell the Proton as soon as possible cannot use 30% in results. Must let judge & management choose best photo !

Fair to public.

Kim Hong

• Wondering on Jul 27, 2010 at 12:17 am

Hey,
    Anybody knows why isn’t Proton publishing the winners list for the Voters category? If you check their website http://www.sagasnapandwin.com/ and try clicking on the darkened ‘Voters’ button right at the top, next to the ‘Winners’ button, you will see the message “Coming Soon”. This is definitely way overdue!