Volkswagen Polo Sedan makes world debut in Russia!

Volkswagen has finally unveiled the sedan version of the new Volkswagen Polo, and the designers have definitely got the styling right, as the new Polo Sedan has none of the awkwardness that’s usually associated with turning a hatchback into a sedan. This is probably thanks to the new Polo’s mostly straight cut lines. Not the nicest rear end though.

The Polo will be produced in Kaluga, Russia. It had its world premiere in front of 200 high-ranking guests in Moscow on Tuesday. The Russian spec car uses a 1.6 litre inline-4 engine that produces 103 horsepower and can be mated to either a five-speed manual gear box or a six-speed automatic gearbox with Tiptronic sequential shift functions.

The engine is designed for Russian fuel quality and is a rather basic engine – unlike modern Volkswagen engines that have FSI, TSI, TFSI, and etc, this engine is a regular 1.6 litre Otto cycle engine, just like the one found in our market’s New Beetle, but Volkswagen’s press release says this engine is new. Notice that there isn’t even a 6-speed or 7-speed DSG transmission to keep the costs low.

The car has your usual safety features are also available on the car for the base ‘Trendline’ model such as two airbags, headrest and three point safety belts for five passengers. Higher spec models will get ABS, ESP and side airbags as standard. The full set of safety features is only available on Highline. It’s a shame that ABS is not a standard feature, only available on the mid-range Comfortline. But could probably be normal for typical Russian vehicle specs.

Just like the new engine with Russian fuel, Russian climate and roads were taken into account when developing the new sedan. Long term tests were conducted in different climate zones along with roads in different regions of Russia.

To counteract tough conditions the Polo Saloon will use a galvanised non-corrosive body and suspension that has been tuned to handle a rough ride. A ‘robust paint’ has been used on the exterior along with high durability chrome parts to cope with the harsh environment.

The sedan will be priced starting at just over 10,000 Euros, which translates to about just over RM 40,288 and likely upwards for the higher spec models. This new Polo sedan is clearly designed to be an affordable car for emerging markets such as most of the ASEAN countries.

Which country in ASEAN will host the assembly line for the new Polo sedan? Trial production in India has reportedly already started in Volkswagen’s Chakan plant, which also makes the Polo hatchback, Jetta and Passat.

Look after the jump for the 4 hi-res photos they’ve released so far.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1165]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Nice and simple… reminds me of our proton saga…

• stormrider on Jun 03, 2010 at 12:38 am

102hp???? n a boring engine…

• u can go ahead and buy the not so boring 200hp++ sciroco or Golf gti mk6, IF you can afford it.

• DonkeyKong on Jun 03, 2010 at 12:42 am

Any likelihood of this being assembled, rebadged and sold in Malaysia after the Proton-VW deal? ‘Cause it definitely looks like something that’s suitable enough to counter the Korean sedans that are getting more and more attractive these days.

• I don’t think so…

As mentioned in the article, this car was developed for Russia.

In Russia, they have temperatures like in KL in summer and like in the Antarctic in winter. In winter, siberian lorry drivers don’t switch off their engines for five months(!). If they would do so, the diesel fuel and engine oil would freeze…

Possibly this is the reason why VW sell this car with a rather simple engine and doesn’t offer DSG?

• This would probably could be the new Proron SAGA if proton & VW went to bed together. Maybe we will even have the 1,4 TSI with DSG!

• theanswer on Jun 03, 2010 at 1:10 am

yeah we need this kind of vw to compete with T & H..no need advance engine..but possible to get max 90k? *but vw beetle 1.6 somewhere around 130k.

• nabill on Jun 03, 2010 at 1:21 am

the rear looks like its totally from another car, word is p1 wil anounce their partnership with vw during this mnth….watch this space !

• hen rou on Jun 03, 2010 at 1:25 am

seriously looks like saga…
    like the front but the rear end i think saga’s is better.

• drgn86 on Jun 03, 2010 at 3:28 am

from which angle look like saga? it looks quite sleek & unique, i bet this vw is wider than the saga and is also from another segment…

• BeemerFreak on Jun 03, 2010 at 8:55 am

Agreed, it is an insult to compare the polo with a saga. Even at its most basic form, the polo is a car from another decade compared to the saga. Haha. And it does not look like the saga, rather the saga looks like it because the polo came into developement before the BLM proton.

• staff on Jun 03, 2010 at 10:29 am

what insult?

to compare is an insult… the german are so great to you?

no wonder malaysia never be a developed country…

• Mazda MPS is a stoopid guy on Jun 03, 2010 at 11:34 am

his nick explained it all..

• german are actually greater than malaysian, admit it.

no need to compare, its just an insult to your intelligent. try google german car and malaysian car. lol

• for me, the Saga is better looking..

• gula-gula on Jun 03, 2010 at 4:41 pm

I agree!

• na….come on proton supporter….u really need a glasses….saga is weird design car….this VW better a lot!!!

• cos u can only afford this one? lol

• kambingg on Aug 12, 2010 at 3:35 pm

errrr.. because u drive a saga?? :P

• Eric G on Jun 03, 2010 at 1:34 am

lets hope this baby will make its way to MSIA!!!

• mystvearn on Jun 03, 2010 at 2:13 am

Not buying into the idea of a polo sedan. Same with Focus sedan, also don’ like that.

• theanswer on Jun 03, 2010 at 10:04 am

hatch beacome sedan will look awful. like focus, mazda 2, mazda 3, latio n sx4.

• See how hideous looking is the mazda 2 sedan….and also the coming Fiesta sedan…both model hatchback are a looker but the sedan falls flat on its backside

• zaff1984 on Aug 13, 2010 at 10:57 am

mazda3 sedan is nice… mazda2 sedan rear sux…

• imo, this is not a great car. not even near great. well, except for the brand VW tho.

proton have better car than this.

• 4G63tDSM on Jun 03, 2010 at 9:31 am

Which one?

If you compare class to class (not price) can the SAGA meet or best the Polo?

I think not.

In fact, this is much closer related to the last Jetta (which wasn’t a bad looking car in itself), and in the 1.9 TDI it was fun to drive and bloody economical.

• agree that this is not a great car.. for me, it is a boring car.. can sell bcoz it is vw..

• hen rou on Jun 03, 2010 at 2:35 am

sport rim looks like persona’s

• drMpower on Jun 03, 2010 at 2:53 am

wow this is quite good

actually it is very good from the outside

the curves and backside designs are to my liking

pretty sure it will reach our shores once they signed the JV thing

• fifteen on Jun 03, 2010 at 6:23 am

Why does VW has to put up with that rear lamp design also seen on the Jetta wagon? It’s an incoherent design and also ugly…

• clemenza on Jun 03, 2010 at 7:33 am

nice and simple..maybe the next sagaaa!!!

• azrai on Jun 03, 2010 at 7:54 am

Maybe will be the next gen Waja after the rebadged Mitsubihi Waja replacemnet this july.

• Neonda on Jun 03, 2010 at 8:16 am

1.6 @ 102HP..? Nasib baik VW…if P1 dah lama kena kutuk with those peeps..hehew

• Call ne cheap but If this comes to Boleh Land, I would definately want 1

• mitlanevo on Jun 03, 2010 at 8:22 am

simple yet nice, hopefully this car will come to our shore…

• lengaids on Jun 03, 2010 at 8:55 am

pls……make it happen in m’sia

• apixz on Jun 03, 2010 at 9:00 am

cool…

• klguy on Jun 03, 2010 at 9:12 am

naza shud take up VW in malaysia and make the polo as affordable as 308. not a good idea for vw to ckd and rebadge it as proton bcoz of the ‘superb’ reputation proton has.

• theanswer on Jun 03, 2010 at 10:06 am

err…what a contradict statement. remember naza bestari 206. and 308 is ckd, thats why it become affordable.

• klguy on Jun 03, 2010 at 10:12 am

yup, i meant for naza to make the polo a CKD (just like forte and 308) and maintain the VW name. not somekind of Proton polo.

jeez i still can’t forgive proton for wat they hav done to our auto industry.

• something is telling me, it has the same taste as a persona. Or is it just me.. hopefully

• farghmee on Jun 03, 2010 at 9:32 am

hmm…i think vw should learn more on butt-extension ;)

• AsianContender on Jun 03, 2010 at 9:51 am

Though the engine is boring but i believe that the cabin is up to standard. Even better than P1.
    Although VW and Proton is in talks. I am still rather skeptical abt Polo being the next Saga as it is still a new model to be refreshed.
    In reports, VW Polo hatch has been reviewed beyond amazing. I am sure that he ride comfort for the Polo will be good too.
    If Proton would be able to get this as its current line-up. Woah! its gonna be better than P2 taking Daihatsu/Toyota Technology

• german interior is way out of league for malaysian car, nothing to discuss about.

• pororo on Jun 03, 2010 at 9:54 am

what’s with your nick dude….. hahahaa….

• NewComer on Jun 03, 2010 at 10:02 am

look like previous model of Honda City

• theanswer on Jun 03, 2010 at 10:09 am

i dont want polo to be the next saga. in fact i didnt like the news that lancer become the next waja. what p1 should do is tech sharing. no need to rebadge with minor facelift. beacuse they can combine the lotus handling with tsi engine. a whole new car.

• dickybird on Jun 03, 2010 at 1:48 pm

p1 dont have the money to produce a platform to combine what you just said, so have to rebadge la. 25 years already still rebadging other ppl’s cars and caling it proton, ish ish. make so much so money from captive malaysian market still no money to produce own platform, ish ish.

• gula-gula on Jun 03, 2010 at 4:47 pm

haha, nissan & peugeot also rebadge lah.. toyota, daihatsu, subaru also rebadge juga.. lol..

• Tiadaid on Jun 03, 2010 at 5:56 pm

You think developing platform costs 1 or 2 million is it? And you think Proton’s profit margin so freakingly large is it?

• rickyll on Jun 03, 2010 at 10:14 am

What sort of 1.6l engine is that. Produces 102hp with that engine capacity is definitely obsolete technology fits for junk yard. But the RM40K price tag is tempting enough. If the VJ of Volkswagen and Proton becomes a reality, a rebadge version of Polo is possible. If it is priced below RM45K, I think it will sell like hot cake.

• Yeah..Keep on dreaming ths car will get 40k++ price tag in bolehland..

If this car comes to our shore..the most basic model like ‘proton baseline’ will be 80k++!

LOL~

• simple and pretty.

i drove VW Beattle and it’s a good car i say.

i hope this Polo will continue its legacy!

• aiyo, typo.

Beattle = Beetle

• brutus on Jun 03, 2010 at 10:21 am

it really makes us wonder how they can sell at around RM 40K and still makes a lot of money and why our national cars like Viva and Saga also need to sell at that price! and they dont even offer that kind of equipment list as this VW!

• Betul Betul Boleh Land on Jun 03, 2010 at 10:25 am

NICE, Can i have one tooooooo, Damn sell RM 40K ++++++++ !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! If sell in Malaysia probably sell above RM 100k++++. Why ??? Conti car mah !!!!!!!!!!

• Honda City owner on Jun 03, 2010 at 10:32 am

I own previous gen City. Yea… it look alot like Honda City. The rims, door panels and overall side profile looks very much like city. Even the color matches…

• Brian on Jun 03, 2010 at 10:37 am

Put aside the technology, i never like vw’s polo/golf outlook.

• Fridz (Member) on Jun 03, 2010 at 10:37 am

I thought Polo is B-segment. Why compare it with Saga?

• 1.6 with 1.3hp only??? not good..

• altimate on Jun 03, 2010 at 11:04 am

Very well balanced design and simple, unlike mutated looks that you get from Japanese brands of the same segment..

VW, please bring it in and price it right.. i’ll be getting one for my wife :D

• Seriously on Jun 03, 2010 at 11:16 am

no interior?

• budleee on Jun 03, 2010 at 11:17 am

i like this, even the spec is very Malaysinize..

but our fuel quality is good enough for the FSI engines, so I think we will probably get a better engine..

nevertheless… i think it could attract more people to the Volkswagen mark…..

• nighttrain on Jun 03, 2010 at 12:52 pm

Kinda pricey for those specs… overpriced!

• JACK HAMMER on Jun 03, 2010 at 1:15 pm

what? RM40,288 only???

Viva better..
    VIVA ELITE EZi RM44,900

GO VIVA..
    GO VIVA..
    GOOOOO…

• nonce on Jun 03, 2010 at 1:43 pm

this should be a great alternative to the vios and city.Low tech it may be but quality and styling is good i feel.at least for me..LOL.

• mfahd on Jun 03, 2010 at 2:05 pm

looks saga-ish

• Alpha on Jun 03, 2010 at 2:09 pm

haiz..the rear end is a let down..hatchback is sexier.

• P4k4bu on Jun 03, 2010 at 3:14 pm

Wow, lots of folks want this car.
    I wonder can fit in air-con or not. :?

BTW, what happend to the proton dropped near the north pole …. Or was it siberia? 8-O

• please don’t compare this to the saga. you guys must have really bad perception of shape and form. the car’s got clean lines, easy to the eyes yet appears robust and elegant. complementing it must be a reliable and frugal engine.

i just hope it will arrive on our shores as a VW, NOT Skoda, and NOT P1.

• gula-gula on Jun 03, 2010 at 4:43 pm

foreign technology is better? same lah.. no need to follow them straight away.. just work harder lah, no need to rebadge.. no need NOKLA , BLUEBERRY , haha.. what a mindset!!!

• teelim on Jun 03, 2010 at 6:06 pm

launch this in M’sia and price it in the region of the Vios & City (up the spec a little also lah) and I am sure it will sell like hot cakes.

• Good design and nice car~!

• niamafufu on Jun 04, 2010 at 4:27 pm

i tot is a dirty latio at the first look

• Even campro is 110 hp and CPS 125 hp.

• sleepy tail lights