Peugeot 3008 Test Drive Review – French crossover SUV

Local Peugeot distributor Nasim Sdn Bhd is among the busiest car companies in 2010, with a few new models up their sleeves. An MPV is on its way; the RCZ should make it here by the end of this year and a “207 Sedan” codenamed T33 is scheduled for a Q3 debut. But for now, the 3008 is the latest lion badged car to hit our market, a mid-sized crossover/SUV type of vehicle pitched against the popular Honda CR-V (Peugeot prefers the SUV term for our market, as it’s more widely used).

To be launched this coming Monday (June 7), the 3008 should be able to make some CR-V prospects think twice before committing, as it gives the Honda a proper trashing on paper, both in terms of technical spec and equipment count. The actual price will be revealed at the launch, but we understand that it’s around RM150K, right smack in CR-V territory.

UPDATE: The 3008 is now officially priced at RM143,888 OTR with insurance, with an extra RM1,500 premium if you pick the Pearl White body paint.

We’ve already driven it, and our impressions are after the jump.

The 3008 is yet another model spawned from PSA’s Platform 2 that also underpins among others, the 308 family, the RCZ, 5008 MPV and the Citroen C4 range. The double zero in the name represents an extension of the classic Peugeot range, a new type of vehicle beyond the traditional supermini, C-segment hatchback and D-segment saloon types.

Upon first glance, the 3008 appears compact and less chunky than a CR-V. It’s actually 200 mm shorter than the Honda and lower too, but the Peugeot’s 2,613 mm wheelbase is just a fraction short of the CR-V’s 2,620 mm. The 3008’s footprint actually sits in the middle of the 308 hatchback and the seven-seater 308 SW. Think of it as a higher riding 308 with more space and a bigger boot and you’re not far off.

With three journos to a car, I started off the media preview drive seated at the back. Compared to the same seat in the 308, the ambience here is much more airy and pleasant, thanks to the taller roof, higher ride height and light interior colour (our tester had grey leather seats). Legroom is not as extensive as the CR-V, but more than adequate for this 175 cm writer, and there’s good space under the front seats to tuck feet under (in fact, I got more comfortable here than in a recently tested big luxury saloon).

There are also retractable blinds for the rear windows. The seats are of the firmer variety, which is not an issue, but the rear bench could be more sculptured. Similarly, the cupholders in the fold down armrest could go deeper.

It was a cloudy day, so we took the opportunity to open up the panoramic glass roof for some natural light. Peugeot says it measures 17 square feet, but all you need to know that it’s seriously huge and in one piece, without any bar connecting the B-pillars. Like in the 308 Turbo, this will be one of the star features of the 3008.

Another highlighted feature is the Multiflex interior. This consists of a boot floor that can be set to three different positions, flat folding rear seats and folding front passenger backrest. This means a flat floor from the tailgate to the dashboard, which is 2.62 metres long – very useful for trips to the home improvement store. With all seats in place, the 512-litre boot is large, well shaped and easy to access with a low lip height. This is thanks to the split tailgate; the upper part swings up like any hatchback while the lower section flips down like in pick-up trucks. The latter can withstand 200 kg evenly spread, so go ahead and use it as a bench! There’s also a built in torchlight that auto charges when you dock it.

Peugeot 3008 Test Drive Review – French crossover SUVAll very useful, but one of my favorite parts of the 3008 is the cockpit. Now, the word “cockpit” is often used by road testers to refer to the driver’s area, but Peugeot actually calls the 3008’s aviation inspired driver area a cockpit. Backing this notion are a row of toggle switches below the central air vents, a high centre console and a head up display (HUD) in the driver’s line of vision. Displaying speed and cruise control status, the data isn’t projected on the windscreen like on some other systems, but on a transparent panel that’s retractable. Brightness and height can be adjusted. This is another star feature that’s bound to impress many at showrooms.

For me, the cabins of recent Peugeots have been brilliant, both in design and quality, and the 3008 follows form. It’s probably a good thing that the dash architecture doesn’t share the generic “308 style” (too much of a good thing can be boring) instead going down the driver focussed route with all controls “wrapped” around him/her. The high and wide centre console effectively cordons off the driver, which is left with a powerful feeling and cozy workspace, not unlike that in sports cars. The leather lined grab handle for the front passenger may see little use, but it looks cool.

Also nice are the simple dial markings, black (more like very dark grey) inserts and just the right amount of brightwork. For the driving position, you can choose from car-like low slung or SUV high perch, but I found everything to be slightly skewed to the left. My left knee was perpetually in union with the centre console while there were plenty of room on the right. Bear in mind though that ergonomics vary between people; what’s awkward to me might me perfectly acceptable to you, vice versa.

Throughout the drive, I also noticed poor off the shoulder rear vision and a cumbersome to use cruise control stalk; the latter is completely unsighted behind the steering wheel so I fumbled and guessed my way around. Of course, it won’t be a problem once you’ve learned the system. Another “wow” gadget is the electronic parking brake, which works as intended and saves space.

Peugeot mentions MPV versatility, so let’s look at storage ideas. If the first thing you discover is the super small glove box (despite its large opening) don’t worry, you’re compensated with a very, very deep 13.5-litre storage box between the front seats, wide door compartments and another cubby below the steering wheel. But with both cupholders utilised, I hoped for more small cubbies to hold my keys/wallet/mobile. Perhaps Peugeot forgot to convert, but the cover of the centre box opened to the right (to the driver) which is an oversight for right-hand drive cars.

Peugeot 3008 Test Drive Review – French crossover SUVThe 3008 is powered by the THP 156 engine, a member of the modern Prince engine family. With twin-scroll turbocharging and direct injection, it produces 156 bhp and 240 Nm of torque from just 1.6 litres. While there’s 16 horses more than the 308 Turbo here, the 3008 feels less forceful than the hatchback, which is expected as it’s is a larger and heavier vehicle.

On its own, few will complain about lack of pace and getting up to highway speeds is quite effortless. There’s a little bit of boominess from 4,500-6,000 rpm, but our test car had a factory tight engine with only 40 km on the clock. Road roar and wind noise are well isolated from the cabin, even at speeds way beyond the national limit.

The more significant drivetrain partner here is the new AT6 six-speed automatic gearbox, which sends the previous four-speed unit to the history books for good, throughout the range. From now, there won’t be good Peugeots handicapped by poor auto boxes anymore, because this co-developed with Aisin unit shifts smooth, fast and most importantly smart. This drivetrain pairing is the exact same combo that will go into the entry level RCZ.

Dynamic Roll Control is a system that combats excessive roll when cornering. Not as complicated as Adaptive Drive in the BMW X5, DRC is essentially a passive hydraulic system with a central module connecting the two rear shock absorbers. Built into the rear crossmember, this module consists of a floating piston and hydraulic compensation reservoir. Pressure is 20 bar.

And it works. The 3008 feels agile on winding roads, and corners very flat for an SUV. The light steering (hydraulic, not EPS) is accurate and quick, while the low rolling resistance 225/50 R17 Michelins offer good grip and wet handling (it was pouring in parts during our test drive). Push really hard and the front will gradually wash wide, but lift off and it’ll tuck back neatly – safe and drama free. The 3008’s handling ability is certainly more than what a typical SUV driver would need, but the high speed ride over the more undulating highways stretches could be a wee bit more settled. A pleasant drive overall.

When it comes to equipment, one can expect a Nasim new model to be filled to the brim, and the 3008 obliges. Besides the abovementioned highlights (glass roof, HUD, DRC), this Peugeot SUV comes with six airbags, ESP, ABS/EBD/Brake Assist, auto headlights/wipers and leather. Being a French car, the 3008 is also five-star Euro NCAP rated.

Considering what you get, the 3008 is good value if the indicated RM150K price holds true. The first 100 units are fully imported CBU from France, before local assembly starts in Gurun.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1171]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• waaa…… speechless. the main problem with french cars ( the gearbox) has been addressed. now no more issues except that i cant afford it..

• Maybe except Renault? Renault still much in manual..

• Never say “i cant afford”
      if u really want it, i can show u a step by step way ‘lay of attraction’ to get it.
      works on me all the time.

• I think the Citroen C4 Picasso 1.6 turbo looks better and offers better value.

• Najibest on Jun 05, 2010 at 10:52 am

has the C4 picasso 1.6 turbo launched in Malaysia? haven’t kept track on citroen for a while now. then again this peugeot seems nice as well and the dealer support should be better than what brooklands is offering for citroen

• Squawk on Jun 05, 2010 at 1:34 pm

C4 Grand Picasso is a true 7 seater MPV. This Pug is a 5 seater crossover SUV.

• Wait for the coming 5008 if you need a 7 seater midi MPV….actually, both C4 Grand Picasso and the 5008 are identical twin

• Evonne on Jun 15, 2010 at 10:49 pm

The side view & back view looks good. No complain on the performance for this price range. The interior quality is good. The only thing is the front looks ugly. =(

• henry on Jun 05, 2010 at 1:22 am

As usual with Pug, the glovebox is USELESS.
    When will they ever learn to convert LHD to RHD properly ? sigh

• What? This beauty will eventually be CKD? If like 308 or 407 or Forte, OK-lah, but if like 206, emm…..

• hairilrizal on Jun 05, 2010 at 1:42 am

It’s already known that 3008 is very impressive in its class. I just hope that Nasim pay careful attention on the local assembly as it can go awry if low price triumph over quality.

And there again comes the question of loyalty to Japanese brands against non-German continental makes..

Can’t wait to see the RCZ on our roads though.. Tired of seeing 370s and TTs already.

• you guys really believe naza locally assemble the car? i think they add a naza logo on it only.

look at the model line up offer this year, compare to proton.

are you guys all so naive to believe naza is more capable than proton and perodua to offer so many local assembly on cars that hardly sell? look at the numbers they sell, you can tell they cant afford to start so many production line.

So basically, all naza peugeot car( except 206) is fully imported :)

beli la tanpa was was. ^^

the same goes to kia forte. So easy to local assemble a car? hahahahhahahah.

• iLOVEkimchi on Jun 05, 2010 at 7:38 pm

TRUE!

I agree with you bro!

so no harm getting local assembly from NAZIM. it’s just their strategy to handam HONDA, TOYOTA! and it did very well!!

so, the only reason those buyers still hold back from PUG is only the resell value part..and for this reason.. they will die die to PAY MORE TO GET LESS for honda or TOYOTA… what a joke!!???

life is short… i rather start enjoy now… sure pay the best for now… and right now in the market.. the only two brand that very worth to buy is the PUG and the lower range KIA …

this 3008, the ix35(TUCSON) both surely best buy anytime compare to CRV!!
        correct me if I’m wrong!!

btw… I so envy the new PUG user can get 6 speed!!!!!
        wat to do… can I Upgrade my 308T gear box later????

• pororo on Jun 07, 2010 at 11:54 am

CBU and not CKD? hmm…. looking at the nos. of their cars on the road, you got a point there….

as for the new GB, does that mean the new 308 Turbo now comes with 6 speed GB?

• callenish on Jun 08, 2010 at 10:23 am

to be declared as CKD, naza only need to assemble the bumpers and wheels, that’s enough to follow the regulation of 30% local content and assembly.

in other words, the quality is not a question. They need to stregthen the customer service and after sales service.

• Bobby on Jun 06, 2010 at 12:32 pm

@p2

So you mean you don’t like pseudo-local-assembly-cars that’s actually from overseas? I mean if what you said is true.

Malaysians:

Local assembly they complain
      Price like a local assembly but fully imported they complain

• bobby on Jun 05, 2010 at 1:44 am

good looking car

• feel more like a mpv…

• ignas on Jun 05, 2010 at 2:01 am

my only complain is the rear light. but hey its very subjective as others might like it…

• ANONYMOUS on Jun 05, 2010 at 2:53 am

nice…. i wish that i could afford this,.. can anyone suggest a good SUV or cross over?? how about VW Toureg??

• Toureg. i think that is a full sized SUV. different league. the one that is comparable with 3008 from VW stable is Polo Cross

• Paul Tan on Jun 05, 2010 at 12:06 pm

Not really. This is much bigger, c segment while polo family is b segment. I guess this is a half suv half tall roof hatchback kinda vehicle like the Nissan dualis.

• The Touareg is much bigger (the smallest engine is 2.5l diesel or 3.2l petrol). It’s a full 4WD and not a crossover btw.

VW’s contender to the 3008 would be the “Cross Touran”:

http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:VW_CrossTouran_Heck.JPG

• shawal on Jun 05, 2010 at 4:14 am

Malaysian likes alot o car for the money, crossovers would be useful…
    It looks funky and i think the panoramic glass roof + HUD is enough reason for some..

• mystvearn on Jun 05, 2010 at 5:40 am

So, in order to get the best deal of any Naza car, be the first 100 to buy the car and you will get a CBU car with CKD prices. Same with the Forte

• whats the fuel consumption?

• raixa on Jun 07, 2010 at 5:57 pm

how much the fuel been used for a length of journey depend on how you compare them.

• allen on Jun 05, 2010 at 7:21 am

Will consider this or Tucson if I really want to buy a SUV. Value for money.

• Samuel on Jun 05, 2010 at 8:04 am

The 3008 is awesome. Now I know why we fall in love with French cars :)

• bandit on Jun 05, 2010 at 8:22 am

test drive first!

• super4 on Jun 05, 2010 at 8:37 am

i prefer vw toureg.if same price tag.

• iLOVEkimchi on Jun 05, 2010 at 7:42 pm

brother,

TOUAREG is totally different range~ you should compare TOUAREG with CAYENE, Q7,X5…

do u get it??

• VW Tiguan price RM250k.. and Toureg costs a lot more than Tiguan. 3008 is expected to be around RM150k. Mana ada sama price tag? Macam langit dengan bumi.

• Stupid guy, dreaming Toureg to be at the price at RM150k

• k_man on Jun 06, 2010 at 5:59 pm

its the same as saying “i prefer an A4 than a Waja….if same price tag” hahahah…..

• eisyam on Jun 05, 2010 at 9:07 am

looks more like a mpv compared to a suv

• Aaron Isaac on Jun 05, 2010 at 9:30 am

french cars… they don’t take abuse very well

• beamer28 (Member) on Jun 05, 2010 at 9:48 am

Well done Pug & Naza , finally a good spec product in our market.

Thank god for the new 6 speeder gearbox!

Paul i- is the engine the same as the one in 308 / mini ?

• traditionally if pug design by pininfarina it will be a beautiful car,but who did this?

• Civic 4688 on Jun 05, 2010 at 10:15 am

I love this car. Better than CR-V… and other competitive…

• Grandisan on Jun 05, 2010 at 10:25 am

Yesssssssssssssssssssssssssssss!!! I’m gonna buy one as a 2nd car ….CRV nailed for good !

• compared to CRV 2.0 ivtec engined…..these 1.6 THP sure eat the CRV for lunch!..plus better equipment too

• wolfsburg on Jun 05, 2010 at 10:32 am

Wow!! Naza is always so generous in providing car specifications. They always raise the game to another level, first with 407, 308, Forte and now with 3008.
    With both ix35 and 3008 on sale, they should give the CRV some pressure. All the best to Naza. Looking forward to the Peugeot RCZ, 5008 and also Kia Sorento XM, New Optima and New Sportage!!!

• maxchock on Jun 05, 2010 at 1:15 pm

not completely true. The Grip Control is not available. Maybe is not necessary but i believe is good to have rather than regret.

• endre on Jun 05, 2010 at 11:08 am

nice

• I cant help but to keep telling myself how ugly it looks.

• rodimus on Jun 05, 2010 at 11:26 am

I want one…..

• lolypop on Jun 05, 2010 at 11:32 am

Leather seat in light colour is cool , but in dark colour should be more preferred.. small family with kids will avoid this colour.. hope it comes option.

• kopi-man on Jun 05, 2010 at 11:41 am

i saw a singapore plate 308CC in KL. coming soon? it looks much better than 207cc

• kopi-man on Jun 05, 2010 at 11:43 am

spare tyre under the car? or inside the car?

• klx (Member) on Jun 05, 2010 at 12:43 pm

Interesting question, when i saw the car 2 weeks ago during pre-launch preview, i dont recall seeing a spare tyre, but again, many of the cars nowadays are equipped with run flat tyres or pump and sealant are provided as alternative, just like the bmw, mini cooper and even the civic type r. so, shd be ok. i’ve been driving cars without spare tyres since 2004, touchwood, so far so good – the sealant works!

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jun 05, 2010 at 3:16 pm

Inside the car, full sized

• dr lambo on Jun 05, 2010 at 11:46 am

if its true the price gonna be around 150k, CRVs going to have a hard time…much2 better in terms of equipment n design….if only the front end could look a bit better…btw, other contender would be hyundai tucson…

• overall the design is quite weird. but i like the equipment level. what is the FC of this car?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jun 05, 2010 at 3:21 pm

For these kind of 2D/1N media test drives, we do not get the opportunity to gauge FC, as the limited driving time will be used for ahem…faster driving

• Alan Wong on Jun 05, 2010 at 12:40 pm

No matter how much better the 3008 is, compared to the CRV, the CRV will still do better than the 3008 because, Malaysians are generally followers, not leaders….

• iLOVEkimchi on Jun 05, 2010 at 7:47 pm

YES, agree.

for the meantime, i believe H & T will still do good…
      but i guess only for 2 years MAX !! IF THEY STILL SITTING THEY LIKE ‘TAIKO’!!

H & T is good car no doubt… but why can’t they start cherish us for good..for our supports for so many years… stop offering “empty” car to us… Accord 2.4 170k++ only 4 air bags!! no sunroof!! they only know sell us the “kosong” car!!!

• Jimmy on Jun 06, 2010 at 4:56 am

Why didn’t you ask: Hey why toyota camry 2.4 only got 2 airbags and much smaller in size and has no sunroof??? BTW this 3008 is short and low, with cosmetically small wheels –> ugly. Even if it is sold at rm120 000, few people will buy, for sure.

• k_man on Jun 06, 2010 at 6:09 pm

wat makes u think ‘ugly’ car doesnt sell well in here malaysia? I believe toyota rush sells in good numbers too…;) btw looks are subjective..i dont like the 3008 exterior too, but it will be as common as a crv in coming years, esp after the ckd model comes in…for sure!

• Haha, Toyota salesman wannable. Want to talk about ugly, the Avanza wins all time!

• kopi-man on Jun 06, 2010 at 7:15 pm

you can put ur own hard earn money in the car and be a leader. every consumer has own choice. its our hard earn money. you put that as follower? its a joke :) u either has too much money that u can spend on anything as u like or u have not earn a single cents yet.

cars in other countries as so much cheaper in the ratio of their income, so they can afford to change.

we have no choice to put our hard earn money in products that is reliable, and higher ROI.

• H & T rules here..

• enduser on Jun 05, 2010 at 12:41 pm

got “drift to the left” problem? :)

• KCivic on Jun 05, 2010 at 12:58 pm

they could have designed it to look more agressive. Too soft looking and gentle. More a ladies car. Mothers to chauffer children around. Well Peugeot has to look Peugeot.

• Eric G on Jun 05, 2010 at 1:00 pm

Paul, no diesel engine?

• Squawk on Jun 05, 2010 at 1:37 pm

Hope there won’t be any issues with the battery dying prematurely.

• Amiran on Jun 05, 2010 at 2:00 pm

Another SUV (derivative) with loooong overhang. Not really going anywhere.

• letstorque on Jun 05, 2010 at 2:02 pm

When is 5008 (if it is the ‘MPV’ mentioned in the article) coming here?
    Already asked Nasim dealers, they can only confirm it will come, but don’t know when.

From what I’ve read and see (on youtube), it looks better than 3008.

• Yeap,…waiting for the 5008 too coz i need a 7 seater or any news of a 807 replacement?…prefer a full size mpv wt sliding door

• That is one ugly looking thing…

• littlefire on Jun 05, 2010 at 2:35 pm

I think Naza now will be big in the court as the first wife will battle with the second wife regarding of financial issue… Stay back for a big opera! Well said for RPK a few months before regarding of Naza…

• beamer28 (Member) on Jun 05, 2010 at 8:56 pm

Yea think thats gonna be in the news on Naza too besides the cars….

When ur that big someones always out to get u … look at MJ

• SA said will be better price than CRV. Have to wait till Monday to see how much better.

• Now is CBU, but will the price change under CKD, price cut ?

• this car is great, toyota and honda are now in defensive.

• Lack of built-in GPS like “407 premium type” is a bit down side

• iLOVEkimchi on Jun 05, 2010 at 7:53 pm

GOOD point!

maybe you should try to compare what CRV offerring in their specs~

its always near empty and yet no one will complain~~ !!

• Totally agreed…compared to a CRV, these is way better…safety wise too, full euro ncap, stability control, 6 airbags..etc..

• Black Dog on Jun 05, 2010 at 4:40 pm

IMHO I think most ppl will still go for the tried and tested CRV, compared to European brand. I will still wait for the Sorento!

• HirumaKecil on Jun 05, 2010 at 7:35 pm

Sorento suck…. stupid car….

• new Sorento….wt the 2.2 r-series diesel will be good if naza price it lower than the 3008

• iLOVEkimchi on Jun 05, 2010 at 7:51 pm

wat u mean by tried and tested CRV, compared to European brand???

mm…. then maybe you can ask those fellows , why they pay so much to get those re-con porsche cayenne ……..Q7….

• Black Dog on Jun 06, 2010 at 11:47 am

U can’t differentiate an apple from an orange. How can you put Cayenne & Q7 in the same league? Pug brand is way lower grade than Porsche, BMW, Audi etc.

Know your stuff before you comment!

• iLOVEkimchi on Jun 06, 2010 at 2:18 pm

Mr.Dog in BLACK,

PUG sure is way lower grade than Porsche, BMW… but still better than your tried & tested HONDA ….right? you always can stick back to your CRV…but i support u to get Sorento. nice design dude!!!

if you drive that new sorento, the car sure attract more attention than you yourself . :)

• the best thing about buying the CRV is that you can sell it anytime for a decent price when you decide to change for a new car.pugs need to be kept for many years to be worth it.I sold my 308SW for RM63K at 3 years (bought at RM130K)

• crazy bout CRV on Jun 06, 2010 at 3:43 am

You are definitely right S6OT,brands like Kia,Hyundai,Inokom,Mazda,Mitsubishi etc look at the resale value.Compare to H,T.H still tops.Its the reliability and fuel effeiciency i would go for,next looks.Unless one changes car every 5 years then H is the better deal.i was initially interested in the hyundai ix35,but..there is a factor called resale value.A friend had this hyundai accent of 5 years(bought for 68K plus),now he couldn`t get it for 20K.Good car though thats what he said,i never test drive it.Nway I`m into SUV around 150K-170K thats my budget.Thinking of getting CRV next year before CNY 2011.I had browsed through reviews after reviews,you can see what I mean regarding CRV.The ix35 high end 2 litre version is priced around 138K lets see in 5 years time…i bet you its going to sell at around 38K.If one doesn`t mind losing 100K in 5 years then go for it.I`m not a car dealer ok..i`m just trying to put 2 and 2 together.The price for this PUG i estimate around 160K.Btw do you actually need sunroof?Malaysian weather Hot Hot Hot.The cockpit doesnt look refine compare to CRV.Rear seating appear crampy.Look at the window from the rearseat resembles in a train carriage?The green bottle looks like its going to fall off soon after the car moves,hardly can put anything but a small teacup.The dials in front look like equalizer for sound.Hey,Paul,is the new Nissan X Trail coming soon?Last was 2007.

• Bro…how about the safety equipment offered by the 3008 compared to a CRV. If you have the budget, your life and family is more precious than the resale value. Based on the 5 star ncap and lots of safety equipment, i think the 3008 a safer car for a family man.

Just my opinion….if i can afford it, will give top priority for a safer car (changed my perception after seeing lots of video from www.euroncap.com )

Cheers

• iLOVEkimchi on Jun 06, 2010 at 2:22 pm

I understand your story.. that’s why only now I get my PUG.

believe me, all your story will not be repeat again… simply bcos the market penetration.. right now, NAZA is doing so aggresively on selling PUG… many models coming in…

you can realize the no. of 308,407 running on the road now as compare last time your bought ur 307sw?? and the amount of car will increase when some more new model coming in… the 207, RCZ…206+…

one thing… at least you are not those stupid fellow… PAY MORE TO GET LESS !!
        buying HONDA & TOYOTA is always PAY MORE TO GET LESS !

• Danny, please refer to 1:46 of this video. http://www.youtube.com/v/Vo0NOnXPDwg

do it have the ala fighter jet HUD? what are the info available on the HUD?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jun 06, 2010 at 2:54 am

Yes, HUD is included. It displays digital speedo and cruise control status

• E Bear on Jun 05, 2010 at 8:15 pm

I think some overseas magazine had already reviewed this nice car but did not score very high marks.

Should add some Malaysian input by making the nose more classy as a premium vehicle rather than just another french product selling at a lower price than it’s competitors.

The new Kia Sorento would be a better buy but remember to change the shock absorbers.

• Bro E Bear,

Why the new Sorento need to change shock absorber? If the old Sorento maybe due to its ladder on frame chasis which an advantage for off road usage but i believe the new sorento monoque chasis is suitable for “on the road”

• Isaac Cheah on Jun 05, 2010 at 9:29 pm

As a sidenote, the 3008’s a 2WD.

• busybody on Jun 05, 2010 at 11:51 pm

Finally it arrives..
    need to test first before deciding.

• Maserati on Jun 06, 2010 at 12:31 am

The problem with French cars and some other Conti cars is well,they still do not have the durability to handle Msian weather.

It may look nice and good to drive when new,but start driving it hard ,and problems will kick in.Normal for conti cars.

So basically,Jap cars still are the most “HARDY” yet.Can withstand constant thrashing with minimal problems..

• beamer28 (Member) on Jun 06, 2010 at 2:14 am

aiyah …. the usual statements of Jap vs Conti :

CRV – Resale still like hot cake / Durable

Let not forget that Conti : In general Drives better / in this case, alot better spec than a hollow CRV, hand down ….

And some more :
    http://whatcarawards.net-genie.co.uk/Awards/395846/peugeot_3008.html

• How many of you had ever thaught, who made the resale price worst? Was you all, scared about the resale price and decided not to buy it and others thaught the same so not one would buy the car anymore. These were a serious problem!

• iLOVEkimchi on Jun 06, 2010 at 2:24 pm

yes bro. totally agree!

if actually… I have a better thoughts..

just earn more la ~ right?? then just buy watever car you like… wat for thinkg of resell it??

its like now you get a japs car.. a very durable girl friend..and u foresee she can do better in future…a good house wife ???

but getting a conti car, a model like, well- balances, nice feature… syok syok now…rite?

• crazy bout CRV on Jun 06, 2010 at 10:35 pm

yes,kimchi,everyone wants to earn more and buy whatever car they like.the question of resale value will never be in ones head at all if you got loads of money.you can`t quote car=wife lah.how can you do resale value for your wife?do you see reviews of girls on the internet like cars on 5th gear?if you do,please give me the web address,i want also.(better not let my wife see this,its a joke ok)well,diffrent minds,diffrent opinions,some look far,some can see near.some want to syok syok now rite?I`m still buying a Honda-Pay More Get Less Still Happy its still got good fuel efficiency and resale value in 10 years down the road.leng gu, you had better sell the PUG after 2 years cos resale value is going down down down.check comments on aftersales for NAZA.S60T has the story to tell.Go for CRV you won`t regret.thats my opinion.But you still want to live diffrently..you are prepared,respect your views.I`m the char koay teow seller who knows what is an airbag.Its a bag you keep your fart in and let others know you have one stinky little fellow who packs the punch.

• beamer28 (Member) on Jun 06, 2010 at 10:22 pm

yes … in fact , I came to learn that ….

RESALE VALUE is determined by POPULARITY of a particular car, regardless of make.

• maxchock on Jun 06, 2010 at 11:59 pm

i copy a sentence from a drama:”How many ten years you have in your life time???”.

I’m a 1989 alfa romeo 75 owner and a Honda City 2009 owner too, and ofcoz the Honda is problem free and low maintenance but the alfa romeo 75 is kind of headache car in terms of spare part and reliability. For some people which love the design and comfort provide by europe’s car, and some may feel very lucky when he decide to trade in his toyota or honda to a better car while getting a good price for his used car.

But the thing is, life is short, i would rather explore and enjoy myself on a continental car rather than worry about the 2nd hand value.

Some people may not agree with me, but seriously honda car has never satisfy me in terms of the ride quality as I’m owning a City, and i drove a Civic for 2 days and have chance to drove a Accord for a week. The best japanese car which give comfort ride quality is Nissan (be it a Latio or sylphy) and the resale value is the lowest among 3 big japanese brand.

• Bro,

Your alfa 75 sure drive better than the city/civic..i really like alfa’s car since those days when alfasud rule the road. anyway, will 1 day get a 155 as a project, like its design….look very tough and boxy (muscular maybe)

• mati katak on Jun 06, 2010 at 12:40 pm

can I get spareparts from half cut shop??

• sonyman on Jun 06, 2010 at 4:08 pm

i personally think honda crv will not suffer a great competition, not at the moment. Not for another 5 years or so, why, because, the crv serves the current generation 35 to 50 year old brothers and uncles. These are very large group of people in the market, plus peugeot only came into the picture lately, again because of resale value, these kind of previous jap car generation mind set is still around, only time people like the sub 35 and below new generation car buyers will appretiate this value, tell the 8 airbags to the char kuay tiau seller, he probably think he dont need them, thats because the rest of his peers will asked him why he buy a orang putih car, not a jap car or a german range, you get what i mean, probably in 5 years to come the group of modern car buyers becomes larger, than the resale value discussion will die down, till then, jap car sellers will use resale value to threaten the car buyers, untill then naza and the rest got to hang on there, although

• valandil on Jun 06, 2010 at 5:30 pm

looked at the picture yesterday and looked at it again today..

still ugly to me.

• sonyman on Jun 06, 2010 at 6:36 pm

when is naza going to bring in the 1007? thats a super cool car to drive, you guys must watch the promo video
    http://www.peugeot.com/en/products/cars/peugeot-1007.aspx

this one really teach every urban gals why you need a sliding door instead

• leng_gu on Jun 06, 2010 at 7:52 pm

i just booked one today, love at first sight.
    SA told me the price will be lower than CRV, my guess wont be very much lower, probably 1-2k. i have actually booked a CRV, 2 weeks back, going to cancel that booking and ask for a refund…. i guess both are leng zhai cars in different ways, but 3008 has way more features.

i know 3008 will lose out in terms of resale value, perhaps more difficult and expensive ( nver own a pug, nver know how is NASIM/NAZA after sale service is), but i guess i want “live differently” ( pug 3008 slogan :P)

• beamer28 (Member) on Jun 06, 2010 at 10:27 pm

first “sight” only? got test drive or not, how is it?

• kayel on Jun 06, 2010 at 8:50 pm

if the people here said this car is as not good as crv, therefore I’ll say better get chevy captiva….it is much better than crv…

• maxchock on Jun 07, 2010 at 12:01 am

the people here?? who you meant?? i think you better go test drive urself then u’ll get a better answer.

• Believe me, You’ll never regret to get Conti if you’re Jap lover, once you get a conti you’ll never look back to jap or korean badge! Lot of ppl in boleh land are skeptical of conti becoz most of them never dare to get one & that the reason T&H are selling like hot cake?

150K for the specs & nicely designed suv! you’ll look like a idiot to spent 150k for a jap suv & not this.

• not always true.I have owned 3 conti’s out of the 14 cars that I have bought so far.(1 nissan,1 mazda,3 protons,2 hondas,3 toyotas,1 peugeot,2 volvos)

while I admit that the conti’s have nicer driving characteristics but they are generally less reliable( all 3 of my conti’s were bought brand new and serviced at original workshops). consumption and maintenance were also much higher. I know some people say that we shouldn’t be looking at resale value but sooner or later we will have to sell and that is when you have to practically beg the dealers to take it off your hands for pittance.

for the record I lost RM67K for the peugeot(3 years old),RM122K for the volvo S40(8 years) and RM146K for the S60T(8 years).that’s a cumulative total loss of >300K,not to mention the thousands in repair bills.

japs make cars that are economical to run,reliable and relatively fuss free.If the car is to get you around then japs are for you. If you want style,handling and don’t mind the running costs and depreciation then by all means take the conti.It all bils down to what a car is to you.

• I second this. I bought a second hand 2010 3008 6 months ago for 97k and today, i just sold it for 68k :( In this 6 months, i have spent no less than 6k in repair bills…not to mention the upcoming bill such as tires, timing chain, disc brakes replacements….easily another 5k. Its a great ride, i will definitely miss it….but….i need to be a millionaire to own it.

• wow~! the interior juz brilliant…..i like it!

• wrongturn on Jun 07, 2010 at 11:14 am

guys……
    the crv is boring….and life is too short
    anything with 4 speed or less gearbox are boring

• frenchie on Jun 07, 2010 at 11:58 am

This weekend they have test drive event at their outlets as seen in their ad in the star today. Can test out the torque, power and, that 6-speed box!

• If the exterior and the rear aircond vents look better, this car will be prefect!

• allen on Jun 07, 2010 at 5:02 pm

Any one know how much is it selling????

• leng_gu on Jun 07, 2010 at 8:28 pm

rm143,888 OTR…just announced check the website

• kevinator on Jun 07, 2010 at 9:07 pm

for me i think it looks absolutely brilliant.

• 1kereta on Jun 08, 2010 at 12:28 am

out of all peugeot, only 407 is considered a normal looking car, the rest of the models all look funny :)

• The kind of car to open Malaysian eyes on many possibilities.

• Arvin on Jun 08, 2010 at 12:42 pm

Good to hear Nasim is bringing the best out of the PUGs.. My main concern is their service up to the standard. I fnd it rubbish.. I had enough of their Glenmarie Service centre. They want 2 full days to do a major service for my 407. Why do you need 2 days? Something i really cannot understand. This is what MBF did and now NASIM is following the suit. Don’t just sell the car but after sales service is very important as well.

• Simon Poon on Jun 08, 2010 at 3:23 pm

The problem in M’sia is that nobody knows how to service/repair Conti cars cheaply… compare to japanese car,u can buy potong parts cheap cheap.

If a major part broke down and Foreman said the part need to order from oversea… then it will be very expensive.

I already saw several Vios/altis/city engines on the floor in Klang…

• Is the local spec include WIP Plug option with USB port in the armrest?
    If none, can this option be obtained in Malaysia?

• Cosmos on Jun 14, 2010 at 11:07 am

Was at the test drive event yesterday. The gear shift is so smooth. Much smoother than the 308T BUT, it was so smooth that I didn’t feel the raw pull of the 308T anymore. Well, different models for different purposes. Quality was top notch though.

There was an auxilary port inside the centre storage compartment cover though. Not sure what connects into this. Didn’t see any USB plug in option or IPOD connectivity.

• lpwots on Jun 09, 2010 at 12:11 pm

we shud pressured H & T be a smart buyer too dont let them pressuring us with the prices as Nassim has offer us a good deal now. going for test drive!!!

• Astonish on Jun 09, 2010 at 7:26 pm

I tested the car today.. The looks I feel ok ok only. Once you start pressing hard on the pedal, you will be amazed by the power for a suv. I booked my Hyundai Tucson last week and planning to cancel and get a refund tomorrow. The feel of driving is on a whole different level compared to Korean or jap car. The steering feel and the dash board quality is tip top. I suggest you test drive the car, sit behind the wheels and ge the feeling first before condemning and comparing with jap or Korean cars. Heaven and earth… No fight at all.

• marie on Jun 10, 2010 at 2:02 am

I also test drove the car already. Fully agree with you. This 3008 is no joke.

• zoomzone on Jun 10, 2010 at 8:39 am

visited their showroom yesterday, and the 3008 is fun fantastic. the cockpit is so good, u can just sit n drive all day. being suv 5 seater is good enuf for me, small family. guess the price 148k is a bit stiff, but being continental car 1.6 turbocharged, my mind n heart r fighting over the price… ah, let them fight it over while i garner up my RM. it is a good 90% i am going for this… yup. also managed to chk out their regular service schedule, every 10k…. unlike other makes at 5k service. regular service abt 300 to 600 depending on milage, but every 60k the major service shoot up to 1.7k, that is the only draw back iam facing…. then again, hv to consider the fact it is a continantal car. well, for those who hv not seen the car up close… do drop by, u wun regret it. just keep an open mind, remembering it is continantal… not jap or korean or fr the boleh land. with 5 star ratings, 3008 gets my vote. just a matter of time it is mine. lastly, the finishings inside is extremely good and is expected from the range it comes from. no cheapo plastic feel and solid door shut sound.

paul, i hv ask the salesman why only 100k warranty compared to hyundai 300k, they can’t give me a good answer. care to comment on this? being continental, surely the parts r of better built n quality, right? then, why not the 300k warranty?

• kakakak on Aug 20, 2011 at 11:11 pm

why jap did not give 500k warranty then? we all know T&H are very reliable right?

• It will be great if this 3008 comes with a projector headlights and not this low-tech reflector type which is also a disappointment in the new Accord. (Even Waja has projector type headlights).

• Thinking to upgrade to 407 this year, but after saw & sat inside 3008 at JJ, I fall in love and dream about her every night. The front look make me feel more confident to her capability.

• The automotive industry in Malaysia is now flood with good quality cars. Pug, Citroen, VW, Vauxhall(Opel in asia) are very popular in UK & Europe countries. As we look back our current auto market in Malaysia which only know about T & H, sadly to say those cars are offering low spec & old tech but selling at premium price. 3008 is a value for money and pratical SUV that u can find in the market, it’s not only a transport but is something more on lifestyle. Cheer for 3008.

• 240NM, 6 speed, 6 airbags, European standard safety drive terrain, glass roof, HUD, rain sensor and many others…
    I am currently driving 2 latest Japanese cars and a 14 years old continental car. This week I will dispose one of the Japanese car for this three thousand eight. I have tested drive the car yesterday together with the 308. Short conclusion:
    1. 3008 was much better then Japanese SUV for soft roading, probably Xtrail is a better choice for off-road ability.
    2. 3008 engine power was outstanding if passing 4000 rpm. Despite the weight, it can easily make civic 2.0i suck its dust. 308 power deliveries was instantaneous.
    3. 3008 handling was supple and soft, poor feedback from steering
    4. 3008 occupants room was smaller than most of the Japanese SUVs
    5. 3008 interior was a special to be in not a boring one of Japanese
    6. 3008 direct competitor now is Tucson 2.0

143+K is not a cheap one, but with this engine performance and full loaded with features, you can’t find elsewhere. Bad about Malaysian when talk about Toyota and Honda (I own one of them), their cars seem last forever and sure the best in the world without knowing the Lexus also made faulty cars now. Do you know that Hyundai Kia is now 5th largest car manufacturer even bigger than BMW + Merc.? Do you know that Hyundai Kia R&D facility in Korea is the largest and most modern in Asia now.

Don’t pay for extra if it is not in your purchase list…

• john doe on Jul 08, 2010 at 1:51 pm

YES BRO…welcome to the club…its time for us to drive great looking cars filled with value for money features plus the latest tech powerplant and transmission for once, rather than the same old japs that neither have the looks nor the specs and still maintaining dinasour age techs…

• How about new coming nissan xtrail ? Which one is better ?

• skywalker on Jul 09, 2010 at 7:45 am

Your comment was hilarious :)
    Hi there, Congrats on your booking. I am so close to doing the same but very sceptical. Hope I can hear something that will make me take the plunge. MORE input please? Naza after sales service…seems to be bad? any personal experience here? Thank you!

• COMMITTED on Jul 12, 2010 at 3:09 pm

I have been looking for a car to buy to repalce my current CRV and was closed to signing up for the new facelift Honda Stream until i came across 3008. Went for test drive last weekend and just love that car. The interior is unbelievably class and it gives me the feeling like I am driving a much more expensive car like a BMW. For driving performance, the car has power and is also very responsive. Now, i am 90% going for that car…… but appreciate if someone who has own a peugeout before to comment on what problem you have faced with the service centre as well as the reliability of the car.

• ChanSC on Jul 15, 2010 at 3:20 pm

would appreciate if someone who has taken delivery of 3008 give feedback/comments.
    on the brink of a decision to make a booking on this model.

• potong1 on Jul 15, 2010 at 10:07 pm

seems like everyone is going for this car.

I only have experience in Hyundai tucson and CRV.

To be frank CRV feels like Myvi to me. Tuscon has the expensive feeling, and the whole package looks good.

T & H are going to be very very worry over this, esp in malaysian market. Where there are loop holes for Peugeot and Kia to be cheaper than T & H. GOOD for us buyer.

my next car is either conti or kimchi^^ bye bye sushi!!

• someone who had got the 3008 can give a feedback?
    tq

• This car is so ugly but the interior looks good!

• RIKGoh on Jul 26, 2010 at 3:46 pm

My present CR-V is my 2nd one & has been for 3.5yrs now. Couple of months ago I nearly traded it in for the facelift unit. Having now seen & test drove the 3008…Wow…..like tnx God..! No way the cr-v can beat the 3008. Resale value? Well, consumers perception are changing with quality. Soon resale value will follow suit. 3008 full specs has class & super quality. While Honda CR-V dash is so so plastic & not even leather seats….. I have down paid for the 3008.

• nishant on Jul 29, 2010 at 1:24 am

i so want citroen ad peugeot in India

• Just got the car, surprised to find out that the interior colour has changed to black instead of grey. Leather seats are in black as well.

• matjoe on Aug 19, 2010 at 1:36 pm

really? but i dont think it’s a big deal. so how is the performance and overall experience? case to share?

• Not really try the performance yet as the engine still feel tight, will definately try once the clock is over 500km. Fuel consumption is around 10.5km per liter in town area, long distance will give you around 12km per liter. Overall the car is still new and feel solid, hope it will remain solid after 50,000km.

• matjoe on Aug 23, 2010 at 9:25 am

@3ks – thanks for sharing your experience, 10.5km per liter for town area is a low fc. i did went for a test drive, terus jatuh hati!, so many features, brilliant design, the HUD impress me, the acceleration and handling. what stopping me is the monthly installment, 1.6k, adoii still has to wait 2 more years to afford it.

• jojoba on Dec 07, 2010 at 3:20 pm

can share ur driving experience after few months driving??

• i dream for the 3008 too! can you share more experience after few month driving it, something like the car maintenance cost, fuel consumption, the car performance etc. TQ

• give me compare with hyundai and honda crv,,,

take review from customer who had use peugeot 3008 ,the feedback

thanks

• Good car must come with good after sale service. No point if want to have minor repair also need to order from Europe & took week to complete …..

• how about the feul consumption rate for 3008?

• heard the engine oil leak issue still not yet solved…. any comments?

• heard the engine oil leak issue not yet solved…. any comments???

• mohamad sharir on Jan 11, 2012 at 6:04 pm

center console with 7 switch, 2 no picture, why ?, seems all full in the hybrid version. Hurt my eyes la, even the suzuki vitara also seems to have the same issue, 2 big hole closed with rubber when the 2.4 version have the holes with function.

• Cosmos on Mar 22, 2012 at 10:28 pm

looks a bit like an angry egg on wheels ;)

• Very disappointed about this car & after sales service.

• outsider on Sep 11, 2012 at 9:15 am

I feel the service its better now. At least at plentong jb.