PSA Peugeot Citroen may rebadge new Mitsubishi 1.0L to 1.3L compact car

Mitsubishi Outlander

Apparently Mitsubishi and PSA Peugeot Citroen are working again on another project together, this time to produce compact cars with engines of between 1.0 litre to 1.3 litre capacity. An agreement is said to be announced by the end of this year.

Apparently Mitsubishi will start making this new compact car in Thailand by the end of Q1 2012, likely under Thailand’s eco car incentive program. Production will then expand to China, India and Brazil, which are widely hailed as new fast growing emerging markets that will save the bottom line for many fat auto manufacturers while they continue to trim their operations. The European markets are where PSA will come in – they will likely be sold as Peugeots and Citroens there.

Peugeot 4007
Peugeot’s rebadged Mitsubishi Outlander

Are we looking at a new Colt which will then be rebadged under the Peugeot and Citroen brands? The Japanese and French companies already have existing partnerships based on the Mitsubishi Outlander SUV and the Mitsubishi i MiEV electric car, both of which are rebadged and restyled into Peugeot and Citroen counterparts for the European market.

PSA’s relationship with Mitsubishi falls under the supervision of newel appointed Head of Asian Operations Gregoire Olivier. A big part of Olivier’s job will be to help the company shift the focus of its business away from Europe. He will also take care of the South East Asian market. PSA Peugeot Citroen is generally said to be over-reliant on the European market, where it sells about two thirds of its cars. Europe is already pretty much mature, however most of PSA’s products are tailored for the European market, where sales volumes aren’t expected to increase anytime soon.

Citroen’s rebadged Mitsubishi Outlander

PSA Peugeot Citroen has to develop strong products for emerging markets in order to increase its volume and using Mitsubishi’s “Asianised” products are a good stop gap measure to get a good emerging market vehicle to sell quick without incurring high development costs of developing these products by itself. An example of a Peugeot product that it developed for the Asian market recently is the Peugeot 408, which is a lengthened sedan version of the 308 that was unveiled in China recently.

Other than the car deals with Mitsubishi, PSA also cooperates with BMW and Ford for its petrol and diesel engines respectively, and with Fiat SpA for commercial vans and Toyota for the French versions of the Toyota Aygo. Rebadging to save development costs is happening all over the world and we shouldn’t take Proton rebadging a Mitsubishi product for a Waja replacement too negatively as it will help free up development funds for other segments with higher volumes.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Tiadaid on Jun 06, 2010 at 5:15 pm

See Proton bashers, even Peugeot’s rebadging Mitsu cars!

• I still like to bash proton “management level”. But I support Lancer-Proton rebadge. :-) Don’t screw this up (which my instinct tells me that they will on something…).

• beammer on Jun 06, 2010 at 6:39 pm

erk…..Lol….long life proton lancer!!!kih3…….rebadge is a trend nowadays..no doubt…

• Hope this time it will work

• valandil on Jun 06, 2010 at 5:24 pm

woah, now this how people RE-BADGE !!!!!!!

• Srotong Stoopid on Jun 06, 2010 at 6:02 pm

this will mean easy spare part and easy services as well..I suppose this gonna be good move by one party but trouble for the other if they decide to sell on same place at the same time..

• T.ALPHARD is P.JUARA on Jun 06, 2010 at 8:40 pm

LESS R&D, LESS THINKING & LESS KNOWLEDGE
    BUT!!!
    CAN MAKE FAST MONEY
    CONCLUSION WIN/WIN
    I THINK MALAYSIA SHOULD GO FOR 3RD,4TH & SO ON NATIONAL CAR
    BRILLIANT SHORT CUT : )
    NOT ONLY MALAYSIA BOLEH
    FRANCE ALSO BOLEH BONJOUR : )

• Shooter on Jun 06, 2010 at 8:41 pm

p1 does Mitsus-no good, others do Mitsus – good………typical biased, uneducated M’sian motorist BS floatin around guys, You have been warned…..

• Black Dog on Jun 06, 2010 at 11:45 pm

Just look at the 3 pics and see the big difference of the Outlander, how much time and effort goes to creating an entirely different car. They also have world class materials and workmanship.

P1 just change the ‘sarong’ and lights, give us shit materials inside and out, and called it a National car!

Unless you’re blind, everybody knows the difference!

• the only look that i see r diff bumper, diff headlight, diff rims, diff logo n diff bonet…same as p2….did u remember saga n wira…do it same as old lancer

• Yeah, me too, it looks identical if you look it from the side, the windows, frame and etc

• Squawk on Jun 07, 2010 at 6:31 pm

The window frames and profile looks the same but all 3 cars look very different with their own identities and design language. When you look at a Myvi, you can still very much see a Boon or Passo.

Of the 3, I think Citroen’s the best although Mitsubishi’s has a more masculine stance.

• howitzer on Jun 07, 2010 at 9:49 am

ohh man… you’re stuck at what? in the 90’s eh… did you know proton did not rebadge anymore except for its perdana which will be replaced in a few years myb… citroen and peugeot did that design which i dont think that much diff from that mitsu as you said create entirely diff car? r you blind??… but you still bash proton for what? doing the same thing as theirs?… now its the trend for manufacturer either rebadge or collaborate in development of the cars which i see proton did that long time ago… so proton did set this rebadge trend… hehe

• acerman on Jun 06, 2010 at 9:06 pm

Even big giants re-badging eachother, but when Proton rebadging another manufacturer, bashers will say Proton not creative lah, and so on. If you’re people so smart, why not build your own car and name it PB (Proton-bashers). No brain…kepow!!

• shafiqalias on Jun 06, 2010 at 9:22 pm

Re-badge. Not -ve since world car maker do it. SAVE development cost.
    Now I see what PROTON do it for WAJA-LANCER

• Y slow comment from rebadge basher…malu suda ka

• Scania360 on Aug 04, 2010 at 1:54 am

who pay them (Proton bashers) to bash Proton time to time?? seem they work so hard to kill Proton…spent much time, squeez their brain to -ve…hahhaa…this kind of ppls with ‘masalah hati’…and SAKIT HATI…

go PROTON!! AMINNN!!

• pelams on Jun 07, 2010 at 12:31 am

d citroen is cool

• littlefire on Jun 07, 2010 at 9:09 am

Yeah.. Long time no smell Peyno already which support Proton to built own cars… Maybe he like the new Proton Lancer already.. Hehe..

• howitzer on Jun 07, 2010 at 9:50 am

btw.. i love citroen design, look more elegant that peugeot did…

• morondetector on Jun 07, 2010 at 9:56 am

acerman, ,my moron detection confirmed that your level of moronity is high. nobody has problem with carmaker rebadging models from other carmakers. we also don;t have problem with Proton doing that, if only Proton will maintain the same quality as the original models. but what Proton did just give us the same exterior look but inferior components, ranging from the fucking power window, cheap seats, dashboard, steering, engine components… from top to bottom, left to right.. none of the past Protons, ie Wira, Iswara, Satria are as reliable and durable as the original Mitsubishi they rebadged. they are essentially selling to Malaysians cheap pasar-malam quality imitations that only have the same look but with inferior quality components at non-competitive prices that are higher than prices of the original models in the open market. they produce cars that cannot compete in the world and and in the open market. there is nothing wrong with rebadged cars from other makers. but there is something inherently wrong in the quality of the rebadged from Proton and this is a fact. and therefore, it is also a fact, the sooner Proton disappear from the face of this face, the better the world will be.

• no issue here. lots of malaysian re-badge their car. I even saw a myvi with nike emblem instead of p2.

• peyno on Jun 07, 2010 at 12:10 pm

this still nothing, my bmw betta!

• Cosmos on Mar 22, 2012 at 10:28 pm

nice cars. too bad can’t be sold in malaysia.