Peugeot 3008 launched in Malaysia – RM143,888!

READ: Peugeot 3008 Test Drive Review

The Peugeot 3008 crossover, or SUV, as Peugeot prefers to call it in Malaysia, was launched hours ago in Kuala Lumpur. With big ads all over the papers today, all that was left a secret was the price, and it has been revealed that the 3008 will cost RM143,888 on the road inclusive of insurance. Pearl white is a RM1,500 cost option. That’s lower than the previously indicated RM150K ballpark price and undercuts the Honda CR-V by about RM6,000.

That sum will buy you a long list of equipment. The 3008 is five-star Euro NCAP rated and it comes with six airbags, ESP, ABS, EBD and Brake Assist. The two star features that will wow showroom visitors are the huge panoramic glass roof and Head Up Display (HUD). There’s also Dynamic Roll Control which helps combat body roll.

Drivetrain wise, the 3008 is powered by the THP 156 engine from the Prince family of direct injection four-cylinder engines. The twin-scroll turbocharged unit pushes out 156 bhp and 240 Nm and is paired to a new six-speed automatic gearbox with Tiptronic. Power goes solely to the front wheels. Other goodies include leather, 17-inch alloys and an electronic handbrake.

We’ve already driven the 3008, and if you missed our test drive report, click here to read it and view the gallery.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Mat terew on Jun 07, 2010 at 6:57 pm

Wow! Good pricing, in your face over priced & low specced crv ( Honda too! ) .. Would definately consider getting this car if not dir my recent conti purchase..

And in for first here !

• tHe^CuLpRit on Jun 07, 2010 at 6:58 pm

quite competitive pricing there…. is this considered CBU or faux-CKD/SKD?

• Good price! Thanks Nasim : )

Any other goodies like free service or something?

• terry on Jun 07, 2010 at 7:02 pm

Wow… very good price

• wow..dirt cheap

• wow
    pretty cheap eh?

• 4agze (Member) on Jun 07, 2010 at 7:07 pm

wow..a CRV killer

• Maserati on Jun 07, 2010 at 7:10 pm

Seriously ugly but very good specs compared to CRV.

But why couldnt they design the car a bit nicer?It looks like a deformed pig from the front…zzzz

• ugly at your view doesn’t mean the same for others. To me this suv is one of the best looking car ever produce by peugoet.

• marie on Jun 07, 2010 at 8:14 pm

I totally agreed with pug1.

At its first sight, it looks ugly but the looks grown on you over time. In my personal view, if a car looks too pretty at the very first instant, it will gone out of fashion very very soon.

• alibaba on Jun 07, 2010 at 11:12 pm

And if you chrome line the front grill and put four rings, you can upgrade it to an Audi!

• But still thoroughly outclassed by the handsome Hyundai Tucson from all angles.

A French car that looks worse than a Korean effort. Boy! Times have really changed :)

• iLOVEkimchi on Jun 08, 2010 at 3:12 am

yes. the new Tucson look really nice.. but the quality part sure lost to 3008.

3008,Tucson,CRV.

the worst buy goes to CRV!!

for japs supporter: go buy ur honda and play safe with your resell value~ or watsoever.. and pls dun go test drive any of the 3008 & Tucson, cos no point for you to do tat!

• get_real on Jun 08, 2010 at 9:02 am

Look is subjective. Test driven both 3008 & New tucson. 3008 is totally different class in terms of driving and build quality.You can expect good handling rigidity of a european car in 3008.

Tucson? i can say that its better than CRV. that’s all.

• The Tucson lose on the safety and lots of equipment……furthermore its underpowered 2.0 and 2.4 engine…..unless Hyundai bring the 390nm torque R-series 2.0 turbo diesel….CRV, hmm…lose on equipment and pathetic 2.0 engine (can’t even reach 200NM torque…somemore at 4K rpm ….sure FC suffer) and unless they retaliate wt the 2.2 idtec turbo diesel

• umno juara tipu rakyat on Jun 07, 2010 at 9:52 pm

not as ugly as CRV! :D

• marsaila on Jun 07, 2010 at 7:10 pm

A better price than expected.

• andre on Jun 07, 2010 at 7:35 pm

good looking, price cheaper than other but i won’t buy it bacause it’s Peugeot

• pacifictuna on Jun 07, 2010 at 8:43 pm

why not?

• Why…? Please share with us…..

• For any reason u can think off other than some1 stealing and the brand it carries.

• iLOVEkimchi on Jun 08, 2010 at 3:13 am

yes. this guy no money to buy conti car… somehow now got so affordable Conti car to choose…also no money …sigh…..

but then…u might rich enuf to pay more to get less for the CRV???

• Rhys Millen on Jun 08, 2010 at 6:16 pm

Interestingly many people who originally cannot afford to buy or maintain european vehicles (obviously parts and design cost more as they pay europeans to do the job) . But becasue of Nasim/Naza Now many more people can buy better cars than they could afford .. but none of them have enough money to maintain the vehicles after that … it’s like people who can affort only an Avanza now wants to buy the Ria .. subsequently they curse the brand for being to high maintanence or parts are expensive etc …. then the brand goes down the drain …

• Spain 6 - 0 Poland on Jun 09, 2010 at 7:32 am

That’s the reality of Malaysian third world mentality man, they bite off more than they can chew.. cars like this is symbol of status in society , where the fact it is just a regular family vehicle. sigh

• waiting for 2nd hand after 3 years.. Sure cheaper.. Hehee…

• busybody on Jun 07, 2010 at 8:44 pm

you will get tire for wear-n-tear part changing for 3 years or 60km car..
      better get new n enjoy it

• Jason on Jun 07, 2010 at 8:49 pm

Expensive if you compared with the ckd price for the 308. The difference between 308 and 3008 in UK is about UK pounds 2,500 (about RM12,000) but here the difference is close to RM45,000 ! So the price isn’t really that reasonable.

• theanswer on Jun 07, 2010 at 9:24 pm

yeah since the suv shared the same 1.6 engine with 308. shouldnt be too much diff. but still better than others.

• frenchie on Jun 08, 2010 at 8:14 am

The engine is the only similar part. Everything else is different. Body is different, it is larger, has a larger panoramic roof, better gearbox etc. So the price difference with the 308 should be justified. Plus, it is a CBU vs CKD, so there will be a big jump in price over the 308.

• Black Dog on Jun 08, 2010 at 12:36 pm

And the farking TAX between SUV and saloon cars is a BIG difference.

• taphie78 on Jun 08, 2010 at 12:54 pm

Engine or CC similar? 308 classical 4 speeds but 3008 whooping 6 speeds…

CBU for this price is good c/t CRV.

• xenogearz on Jun 08, 2010 at 2:21 pm

yeah, and CRV is CKD right? but is priced higher than CBU 3008…

• Rhys Millen on Jun 08, 2010 at 6:17 pm

Don’t worry when they cannot sell lelong time …

• someone on Jun 29, 2010 at 2:09 am

Please go test drive the car before you say anything about not too much different.

• alibaba on Jun 07, 2010 at 11:06 pm

Yeah, I too was hoping it would be like 20k-25k more than the 308. That would it make very attractive.

• What to do… We are in Boleh land

• frenchie on Jun 08, 2010 at 8:12 am

There’s something called compounding effect of our taxation system. Can’t just take British Pound and convert to RM directly. Many factors involved. It is like saying ‘duck’ to mean ‘take cover’ and directly translating to ‘itik’!

• sonyman on Jun 07, 2010 at 8:58 pm

thanks to honda that is why the price is like that,…

• Vezeroth on Jun 07, 2010 at 10:46 pm

yeah, honda and toyota really took us for a ride! Keeps uping its prices although providing poor quality and inferior specs…. And only cause we belived in them and trusted them… They got too greedy…
      Its likely that they sort of killed themselves by being too greedy… uping the price to a level where other makers can sell for cheaper with more kit……
      If they kept they prices at a more reasonable level, i dont think this might happen…
      I dont know whether this comparison may be accurate but a CBU lancer, mazda 3 is cheaper than a CKD honda civic… where’s the sense in that.. so its because they’re too greedy… imagine if they sold the civic for 100K instead of 130K with better sound proofing and some kit, i’m sure this might not have happened…
      Now they will have trouble competing with the next gen elantra, current forte as well as next gen forte, peugot, mazda, upcoming proton lancer….. unless they come up with something super for the next gen civic…. maybe lower its price…. but knowing them they wont and we’d still be suckered

• honda is ckd?is it true? y i didn’t know this?

• iLOVEkimchi on Jun 08, 2010 at 3:17 am

that’s y lah!! if not wat u think??

one who buy Honda & Toyota will never ask CKD or CBU…
          as their salesman would never use that as selling point to you !!!

u dunno toyota & honda salesman earn a lot meh??

• momo, where have you been staying all this while??? Honda have been CKD’ed for quite a number of years already.. LOL!!!!

• It's Spain this time on Jun 08, 2010 at 7:33 am

Honda Pegoh plant in Alor Gajah has been there for years man, where have you been man? Almost all Honda major models came from that production line.
          Don’t tell me you also have no clue about BMW, Mercedez Benz, Toyota etc.. being assembled locally in Malaysia.

• Naughty on Jun 08, 2010 at 12:59 am

Ya….the JAP really took us for a ride. Though we ASIAN still believe JAPs engine are still much more reliable, HONDA & TOYOTA really needs to think about their pricing here to make them more competitive instead of just keep increasing their price just because there is face lift or new successor.

N also needs to buck up their services response TAT too.

• iLOVEkimchi on Jun 08, 2010 at 3:19 am

i think its not the Japs..

its the local dealer of HONDA & TOYOTA !!

they r playing hand to hand sucking all our moneys~~
          for many many years… never offer us car with nice specs..
          u just choose lah… if u dun buy honda then u will buy toyota… or vice versa~’
          so no point they competing..

if civic add sunroof as standard..then altis have to add too…
          but the two taiko choose not to do anything… so..they win lah!!

• its the whole import tax and AP that cost us the price of the car. Not H & T company. They are business man making max profit. You can choose not to buy them either.

That is what we are lacked, the consumer market, since we are controlled market by those in charge. You think 3008 is cheap? look globally.

• cybermaster98 on Jun 08, 2010 at 10:24 am

Well the truth is Toyota and Honda are still frontrunners. They did not kill themselves. Their sales are still sky high and nobody else is anywhere close (except Proton). But im glad they’re getting more competition from the European and Korean makes. Competition is always good for the consumers. But sadly despite the high spes and relatively ok price, this Peugeot 3008 will not sell well. Ppl are still haunted by the after sales service and price of spare parts. Hope the scenario has changed.

• the only way we can really be fair and have competitive market is minimum import car tax, and NO AP.

You will put your hard earn RM150K to CRV or 3008? The selling figure I think speaks majority people’s thinking.

Just buy 3008 if you like it instead of some other people cursing H & T buyers which is so childish.

• IDRIS TWIT on Jun 08, 2010 at 11:47 am

I SUGGEST 3008,,,,3008 IS BETTER THAN CRV,,,,

• ST Chong on Jun 08, 2010 at 4:20 pm

Buying a new car is not the happiest thing. It’s selling it and getting the re-sale value back. We cannot run away from selling the car we buy now in the future. Lets not kid ourselves that it will be passed onto our children (who would prob send it to the crusher by then). We are not talking about buying an ipod which would prob go out of date and we throw them aside and forget about it. This is an investment and resale value is the reality that will hit us eventually. One may wanna condemn H&T but they assure all owners of a high and respectable resale value later. One problem with the newer brands and distributors now is that there’s no regard for long term planning to grow and nurture the brands that they carry. We are not talking about 5-10 years. We are talking about 5-7 generations of new models of the same make. Why H&T is still No.1 & No.2 today? It’s because we grow up together with them. Well, I did and I own an FD today. Loving it!

• murga on Jun 08, 2010 at 9:53 pm

That’s funny, for me driving a car I enjoy is the happiest thing. How sad to buy a car thinking only of the day you can get rid of it. Besides, not everyone wants to see cars identical to theirs everywhere. If you’re happy to just be part of the herd that’s fine, but you should understand that not everyone thinks that way.

• ST Chong on Jun 08, 2010 at 4:32 pm

True enough that the CBU imports are cheaper than the Civic. Well, if they consider themselves bringing more value under CBU to the customers, why not price their cars higher than the Civic for that matter? Why use the Civic as the benchmark in the first place when its CKD in Malaysia? The question is, what is the true perceived value of a CBU car compared to the CKD? Take for example the BMW 3 series which is CBU from South Africa and compare it with the Inokom CKD in Malaysia. Do you think South Africans can assemble or QC better than Malaysians? Coming back to the CBU ‘others’ cheaper than CKD Civic. Well, at the end of the day, the Civic out sells anyone in its own category and say what you want, its still acknowledged benchmark in its class. =P

• someone on Jun 29, 2010 at 2:11 am

You should say thanks to the government that you vote. Because of the ridiculous tax!!!

• Simon Har on Jun 07, 2010 at 9:00 pm

dirt cheap considering its equipment level compared to C-RV and X-Trail!

• better quick for those who want to buy this car. the first 100 units are CBU fully imported from France..

• marie on Jun 07, 2010 at 9:20 pm

could there possibly be any compromise in quality if the car is CKD later?

• alibaba on Jun 07, 2010 at 10:56 pm

Don’t worry there will not be any CKD version.

• marie on Jun 08, 2010 at 4:24 am

how do you know ? Nasim says CKD in September this year.

• cybermaster98 on Jun 08, 2010 at 10:25 am

Wrong Alibaba. The CKD version is due to be launched after the first 150 units of the CBU are sold. Not sure what the price will be but i guess many would adopt the wait and see approach.

• ST Chong on Jun 08, 2010 at 3:57 pm

The only CKD Naza does is put on the number plates! That’s all! Just look at the 308. They claim its CKD but the tires already gave it away. No one with its fair mind would bring in any car with that kinda expensive tires (Continental Sport Contact III) and pay super heavy taxes for them when its meant for CKD. It’s an unfair game to the other brands, but to the consumer, you’re getting a camouflaged CBU more like it! Yay!

• someone on Jun 29, 2010 at 2:14 am

as what I heard, ckd price will be the same as cbu. Like what naza did to Kia forte.
            But 1 good news though, their ckd doesn’t really mean that they are going to assemble the car here, just 4 doors and tires.

• marie on Jun 07, 2010 at 9:29 pm

Look at this photo: http://paultan.org/image/3008-launch.jpg

I think if the front chromed grille take the form of vertical strip instead of many square boxes, it looks much better.

• Rovert on Jun 07, 2010 at 9:32 pm

This is fantastic value! As long as the car is lighter than the CRV, it’ll perform better as well. I hope the build quality is also up to par. All that’ll be left is a good after sales network and you’re set.

Sadly though, Nasim doesn’t perform too well in that dept.

• Fandi on Jun 07, 2010 at 9:33 pm

Maybe I shall wait for 5008…

• alibaba on Jun 07, 2010 at 11:15 pm

If you have a huge family and pets to bring along too, you should.

• paultan fan on Jun 09, 2010 at 11:00 am

apa maksud 3008, 5008, 308, 407, 408, 207, 206

• 3008 – crossover
          5008 – mpv
          308 – hatchback
          407 – sedan
          408 – sedan version of 308
          207 – small hatchback
          206 – 207’s sister

one more thing… (ala steve jobs)

508 – replacement model for 407

• lowpro on Jun 11, 2010 at 8:30 am

all correct! 100%. by the way, the models with double ‘0’ in peugeot speak mean they are vehicles with ‘tall architecture’.

• mr_3m on Jun 07, 2010 at 9:42 pm

the 3008 is 2WD hence easier to be priced lower than CR-V… bear in mind the lower spec CR-V still comes with part time all-wheel drive (likewise the X-Trail)…

in any case good for Naza as this model could be one of its high margin contributor if marketed and backed up properly….

my personal view… i’d probably wait for the 5008 MPV (5+2 seater from peugeot.. looks slightly better, probably handles & rides better than this 3008 and with 2 more seats for occasional use… )

• someone on Jun 29, 2010 at 2:16 am

well, I’ve tested out the car, its handling and power is fantastic. Gear changing is really as fast DSG, maybe just a slight different. Very nice car with very poor distributor.

• marie on Jun 07, 2010 at 9:48 pm

Paul, is the white leather seat the only option available ? I can foresee how difficult it is to maintain it.

• Paul Tan on Jun 07, 2010 at 9:50 pm

Yeah, its somewhat very light grey. I kinda like it.

• intermilan on Jun 08, 2010 at 12:12 pm

what i’ve been informed, after the first 100-150 CBU units, the next batch of 3008 will come with black leather.

but not sure as an option (so there will be two interior colours to choose from) or all will come with black leather.

light grey sound not so nice at first, but after looking at it, its very nice. give the interior a very airy and premium feel.

i think black leather might not look that good in a 3008, given its more a lifestyle vehicle . its not a sporty or executive vehicle.

as for the CKD thing, well…. take that info with a HUGE pinch of salt. ;-)

• marie on Jun 08, 2010 at 3:01 pm

with very light coloured interior, you will definitely end up with stains and marks all around after few year of use. You may do the cleaning when your car is new but after some time you simply ignore it ……

Darker interior is easier to maintain.

• reydtz on Jun 07, 2010 at 9:49 pm

first look, ugly…
    second look, hmm… okay…
    third look, gulp… nice!!
    4th look, handsome!!!

i think it will take ages to age the looks..

• maxchock on Jun 07, 2010 at 11:04 pm

haha~ my wife first looked at the pic few weeks back and she immediately say NO because she said is DAMN ugly. then I showed her the video on youtube about the 3008 and she said looks so so only, she will choose Ford focus TDCI over this. Then we went to show room 26/5 @ puchong and that is the time BOTH of us has “poison” by the car and place the booking after that day.

• barca on Jun 08, 2010 at 10:39 am

hahahaha….

peugeot cars has that wonderful “poisonous” effect on first-time buyers / owners…you’re smitten!

so you can imagine what kind of excitement it brings to current/previous owners…!

• someone on Jun 29, 2010 at 2:18 am

1 advice for you, no matter what, don’t go to their glenmarrie service center, or else you’ll feel regret of buying the car.

• SwiftMatrix on Jun 07, 2010 at 9:54 pm

If I’m not mistake this is a shorter version of 5008 since they are using the same platform..
    Correct me if I’m wrong.

• Paul Tan on Jun 07, 2010 at 9:57 pm

308, 3008, 5008, RCZ, all variations of one platform as well as engine. Smart and cost effective.

• VW_fan on Jun 07, 2010 at 9:57 pm

The interior of this car is first class. In fact it feels much more expensive than it is. CRV doesnt come close. You need to sit in it to feel it.

• E Bear on Jun 07, 2010 at 10:09 pm

Nice fighter cockpit.

Not really fighting against x-trail or cr-v, it’s more of a mini-mpv.

No idea whether the spare parts will be expensive since the car is priced well below where it should be considering the specs thrown in.

Great car, re-sale value……that is another ball game altogether.

• laser on Jun 07, 2010 at 10:17 pm

And what is the purpose of this car if it seats 5? higher driving position to check out neighbouring rides?

• lol so that the rich and famous can use it to go ‘jalan-jalan’

• Frenchie on Jun 07, 2010 at 11:12 pm

Lot’s of use. Can see further to avoid jams, taller to better handle floods, higher safety. So many uses. I’m sure other owners of taller vehicles will appreciate it. And, an SUV doesn’t necessarily need to have AWD. Most SUV owners never make use of the AWD system at all.

• michaelk on Jun 08, 2010 at 8:01 am

mind to share how the so-called taller ‘sitting’ position can be used to avoid T jam and handle floods? that’s is a tall call indeed…

• 4G63tDSM on Jun 08, 2010 at 8:36 am

Not to mention better fuel economy.

An AWD mpv is typically lugging around an extra 150kg or so and the accompanying drivetrain losses.

I don’t think the 3008 is ugly, but I also wont pay the premium over the well priced 308 Turbo, or even the older 407

• hideous

• feisal on Jun 07, 2010 at 11:24 pm

Considering that this is a 1.6l (Turbo nonetheless) FWD CKD, at least it should be priced the same or only slightly higher than the rest of the 2.0l 2WD/FWD SUVs. There are a few good ones around already. Those are CBU somemore. Package is nice. Pricing failed.

• barca on Jun 08, 2010 at 10:44 am

you consider the pricing failed because it’s not on par with other brands in the same class? i fail to comprehend your logic.

this is business, not charity la.

you have to “kill” your competitors before they “kill” you.

imo, the pricing is quite competitive taking into consideration the equipment level for this side of the world.

• feisal on Jun 09, 2010 at 12:14 pm

I’m talking from a consumer point of view but if you really want to consider business decisions, then let’s see how well this pricing gets the sales for the car especially so for this side of the world.

• A safe car with reasonable price, but not look nice.

• Peterwyh on Jun 07, 2010 at 11:59 pm

Don’t simply look at the pic or video and judge it from there. take a closer look on the real unit yourself. I was amazed by the built and quality of the equipment supplied and fitting. Typical continental solid feel ! outlok itself depend on individual. I like the rear design more than the front part. The versatility of the rear boot space is awesome ! moonroof is outrageous cool if compaed with other SUV that only give u sunroof.
    Engine wise nothing to complain as 1.6L can turbo boost 156HP and 240NM as low as 1600~1700rpm, paird with 6 speed Japanses GB. can’t wait to test drive the unit as it is the 1st Pug that equipped with 6 speeder that available here. I was quite dissapointed with the cranky 4 speeder AL4 GB of my previous 407. hopefully 3008 can perform better.

• michaelk on Jun 08, 2010 at 8:02 am

any comment from 407 owners out there?

• IDRIS TWIT on Jun 08, 2010 at 11:55 am

I PERSONALLY DRIVING 407…THE CAR IS GOOD..BUT THE HORSE POWER JUST 126 HP..PEUGEOT 407 AT LEAST 200 HP..JUST LIKE VW PASSAT…

PEUGEOT SHOULD UP GRADE THE OLD VERSION 407…
        AND REDUCE THE PRICE…BUT THE CAR IS AWESOME..AND BRAVO

• Eric G on Jun 08, 2010 at 12:35 am

paul, no diesel engine?

• Paul Tan on Jun 08, 2010 at 12:37 am

sole Malaysian spec engine is the BMW PSA Prince engine with 156 horsepower and 240Nm of torque

• suntharram on Jun 08, 2010 at 2:24 am

hay paul,

just wondering when will be the 5008 will be launched

For any takers 3008 or 5008 is advicable????????

Tq

• michaelk on Jun 08, 2010 at 8:05 am

5008 is a different category all together..Price? probably in the region of Citroen Picasso C4 level or MORE…

• Guys & Gals,

Wait for the 5008…

• barca on Jun 08, 2010 at 10:45 am

the decision depends on your needs (and what your heart says)

• typical malaysian thinking of suv/crossover.

1.6 only ah??
    turbo? makan minyak lo, tak tahan..
    mahal la cause 1.6 only…
    pug? toyota / honda better..

• tikus on Jun 08, 2010 at 4:48 pm

Road tax murah wor..

• someone on Jun 29, 2010 at 2:25 am

fren, 7.7litre/100km makan minyak to you? 6 speed gear box makan minyak to you? When the car reach 110km/h and is about 2000 rpm makan minyak to you???
      1.6 with 156 thp and 240nm with fantastic build quality with the price of only RM144k is expensive? I think you know nothing bout car.

• Hi Paul/Danny,

Is it possible to post a picture of the 3008 beside a CRV perhaps? or maybe beside an ordinary car (Waja/Civic etc) so that i could gauge the size of the 3008…

do not have enough time to go to showroom la… :(

Thanks!

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jun 08, 2010 at 11:26 am

It’s shorter (by 200 mm) and lower than a CR-V. Sorry, we don’t have such a picture or a test car at this moment

• ah beng2 on Jun 08, 2010 at 6:06 pm

it does not really look like a suv instead. the crossover been named. so not so apple-apple comparison with CRV, Rav-4, Grand Vitara, Tucson, etc..

• Heard from Naza staff that 5008 coming in by year end.

• letstorque on Jun 08, 2010 at 11:52 am

Any specific date or month for 5008?
      Any info, Paul, about 5008 coming here?

• LP640 on Jun 08, 2010 at 9:28 am

typical mindset.. peugeot’s have improved over the years and i dare to say their cars are much more reliable these days

• tikus on Jun 08, 2010 at 9:29 am

Nazim Well Done !!!!

• barry on Jun 08, 2010 at 9:38 am

We the poor Malaysian fools are easily impressed with such ‘low prices’ by comparing with equivalent models of other makes. The 3008 is considered ‘cheap’ because it is cheaper than the CRV by a few thousand, but we fail to realise that the distributors (Naza in this case) are pricing these cars not based real world market prices, but how much $$$ they can suck from us.

• oh ya, and people thanking Naza somemore…

• Motorist on Jun 08, 2010 at 11:33 am

What to do, This is BodohLand mah.

Land of who you know.
      Land of cronies di-utamakan
      Land of untung crony di-dahulukan

• crazy bout CRV on Jun 09, 2010 at 8:59 pm

Motorist,got to be careful what you say here,afterwards the cronies put you in `jail` baru tau.lol.like what s60T said earlier `it is what car it is to you`.So leng gu are you buying this car?BTW anyone can let me know recon harrier/lexus sells for how much?any recon harrier/lexus owner here?need your views.

• Is it Naza or the Government thats the cause of high car prices?

• Nice specs, interior and price but the exterior is just plain fug.

• lchan on Jun 08, 2010 at 9:54 am

not bad…143,888 drive away no more to pay!

• CarOnline.my on Jun 08, 2010 at 9:56 am

nice car with nice price. :)

• beamer28 (Member) on Jun 08, 2010 at 9:59 am

Pros : – Cheap & well speced

Cons :- Resale & reliability / maybe even spare parts issue

• The car looks smaller than CRV. any chance to do a comparison?

• ch3d33n on Jun 08, 2010 at 11:39 am

haiya.. my wive already ask 1.. wonder when can i convert my 308t to 6speed :)

• ah beng2 on Jun 08, 2010 at 5:59 pm

my wife ask when can i convert my 308 to open top 308cc :)

• exora on Jun 08, 2010 at 11:57 am

my exora CPS is better. lol

• someone on Jun 29, 2010 at 2:30 am

I drive this 3008 and you drive exora and lets have a drag race, or you want to compete from genting down hill till up hill…

• cybermaster98 on Jun 08, 2010 at 12:00 pm

It is more powerful than the CRV despite its 1.6L engine. It delivers 156HP comapred to only 150HP by the 2.0L I-VTEC CRV engine. Thanks to the High Pressure Turbo. Great stuff! Plus the 6 speed Tiptronic gear system is great too

• ST Chong on Jun 08, 2010 at 4:05 pm

Yeah, wait till you realise that turbochargers needs to be maintained properly and yes, they do break. Find out how much a replacement turbocharger will cost and if it will break your pocket later. Oh, by the way, I’m in the turbocharger business so I know. =D

• Turbocharger will be more exp to repairs but no prob coz normal usage shud be ok for 5-6 years ….ie after u have repaid yr bank loan….after that just sell off the car

• squawk on Jun 08, 2010 at 2:48 pm

When it comes to looks for me, the seats, steering and dashboard are most important since those are the parts I see and feel the most as driver. My passengers can worry about the exterior looks.

• Adilz on Jun 08, 2010 at 2:58 pm

Grrrrrrr.I bought my 308 Turbo Aug last year. Then when I checked out the 3008 pre-launch a couple of weeks ago, somewhere deep down, I had a bit of regret. I like this 3008 better than the 308T. 6-speed, bigger panoramic roof, HUD display, 5-Star EURO NCAP safety and I just love that split tailgate boot. Ohh my damn.

• intermilan on Jun 08, 2010 at 2:59 pm

look like a few T&H lovers have immediately come over to bash the 3008 and anything that stand in their beloved brands way’s.

most probably, the 3008 do have real advantages over the others truly ‘over-priced’ offerings. so its important to ‘sabotage’ the 3008 eventhou the facts are clear for all to see and judge.

the days of total domination by the greedy overlord Japanese automotive giants and their agents is one (or two) step ahead towards reaching its end. sigh..

• cybermaster98 on Jun 08, 2010 at 3:20 pm

Not really. The Peugeot 3008’s specs make the Honda CRV look very small and insignificant. Its really top of the class. Even with the price tag im having some thoughts of getting one. But my only worry is the after sales service. Peugeot has had many bad experiences with the previous distributers. All of them started strong and then withered away after a few years leaving the Peugeot owners in limbo.

This is gonna be a tough call for me for sure.

• cybermaster98 on Jun 08, 2010 at 3:26 pm

Question is: Will a CKD Peugeot 3008 be launched soon? If so when and how would the pricing be?

The worst that can happen would be for a CKD to be launced which costs like 10-15K cheaper. That would totally destroy the CBU resale value (which is already bad enuf).

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jun 08, 2010 at 4:31 pm

CKD operations will start in the third quarter. The price will remain the same, according to Nasim

• ah beng2 on Jun 08, 2010 at 5:57 pm

then it make no perfect sense, means they taking more money even though the price offer to the market should be lower! just like BMW, CKD without price reduce?

• poooodah on Jun 15, 2010 at 5:38 pm

BMW’s not doing it so why should NASIM do it? Should they feel charitable to drop the price even if it’s CKD?

Want to know wht? The same price, regardless CBU or CKD makes perfect business sense. But apparently this car is not for ah bengs like you.

• osh_kosh on Jun 08, 2010 at 9:55 pm

of coz the say the price will remain… Duh…

• lowpro on Jun 11, 2010 at 8:26 am

don’t worry of price drop. it won’t happen for the 3008… even if it were a CKD.

• cybermaster98 on Jun 08, 2010 at 4:37 pm

CKD price wont drop? Never heard of a CKD costing as much as a CBU. If they do maintain the price, my guess would be certain specs will be missing.

• cybermaster98 on Jun 08, 2010 at 4:38 pm

But then again, nasim will surely say that the prices will remain the same. If they were to say that the prices will drop, there may not be many takers for the CBU units.

• someone on Jun 29, 2010 at 2:36 am

fren, this cbu price is actually ckd price like what they did with Kia forte.

• it got the fat cute looks.. cubby and feel like pinching

• Drive it like how you drive the CRV, and you will enjoy with extra mileage and better enjoyment. Don’t complain if you can’t afford the parts and services. Skip those typing and start saving for that dream Rainorshine. LOL

Good package, not totally agreed to the front end look, its too bold for me. just preference. Paul himself should be very excited, with so many replies from him.

• zafedz on Jun 08, 2010 at 8:59 pm

Who is the MC(emcee) during the launched?So gorgeous….

• marie on Jun 08, 2010 at 9:03 pm

If they shift the front bumper bar up a bit, then the outlook is totally different.

• osh_kosh on Jun 08, 2010 at 11:53 pm

what’s with that skinny girl?? yuck..

• hotfootpowder on Jun 08, 2010 at 11:53 pm

checked out this car already… gave a me a huge ‘wow’ factor compared to other cars i’ve been looking at lately (crv,accord,camry)… 2 shortfall though imho… back seat legroom is a bit cramp and the stereo looks like it came from a proton wira… but everything else… wow!!

• cybermaster98 on Jun 09, 2010 at 9:01 am

I just checked out the car at TTDI. Its really good and comfortable. The specs are really good. Everything is within reach of the driver and doesnt look cluttered like the Mazda3. There is ample legroom for both front and back even for tall adults like me. Seats are also firm and comfortable.

But on the downside, the front grill is really ugly. The overall call shape is great except the grills in front. They should have followed the 308 front design instead which is great. Plus when u stand at the side and look at the front side, it has the ‘chopped off’ look. Not streamlined.

The other drawback is the front passenger hand holder near the gearbox. I see no purpose at all in this handle. It looks out of place and ugly to a certain extent. Doesnt go at all with the overall layout of the dashboard.

3rd drawback is the upcoming CKD model. I was told that this model will be priced between 130 – 135K minus a few specs of course. This will be a serious damper on the current CBU sales for sure.

• Don’t think there will be an CKD model. Numbers may not justify. Furhtermore, it was mentioned at the launch that the price will not move even if there is a CKD variant. This is to protect the resale values of those who bought the CBU model.

• cybermaster98 on Jun 09, 2010 at 5:03 pm

Have u ever heard of a CKD model costing the same as a CBU model with same specs? I havent. So even if they do decide to maintain the same price for the CKD, im sure a few of the specs will be missing e.g moonroof, leather seats, Michelin tyres, head’s up display (HUD), some airbags or safety features.

Lets not believe whatever they said at the launch about the prices not going up. If i was Nasim, i will also say the same thing so as to prevent the CBU units from collecting dust in my showrooms.

Whether or not they actually begin production of the CKD is another issue. That will depend on when they actually sell the 100 units of CBU they currently have. But im quite sure they will produce the CKD version soon just like the 308.

• They already have names for more than 100 units ;) and, the CKD matter is well, at this point pointless thinking of as I am pretty sure that they will not reduce the price even if it were locally assembled. Let’s just say I heard it from the grapevine.

Nasim has learnt from the bad experience of other brands that to reduce price when there is a CKD is already a thing of the past and such tactics do not help the brand’s image and value. They may help sell a few more units but damage the brand value in the long run. Imagine if you bought a CBU only to have your resale value wiped out with the intro of a CKD. Not a very nice thought.

Anyway, hope you get used to the idea that Nasim will not reduce prices of CBU models when CKD models appear. Again, I know this from the grapevine ;)

• leng_gu on Jun 09, 2010 at 5:38 pm

all this cbu/ckd talk, its actually pseudo-ckd , you know whad i mean….

• squawk on Jun 10, 2010 at 4:20 pm

Doesn’t Merc or BMW do that – price CKD like CBU?

• marie on Jun 09, 2010 at 7:20 pm

Hi Paul/Danny, I had a short test drive this afternoon and my feeling of the car is great. One thing that did concern me is the driver’s left foot have to stay almost vertical because of the big and high centre console. What is your impression when driving long hours, would you feel a bit uncomfortable/uneasy on your left foot?

• Roderick on Jun 10, 2010 at 1:38 pm

But if this car put another extra seat at the back …it will sale like a hot cake…(7 seater)

• Cosmos on Jun 10, 2010 at 6:24 pm

For that, you can wait for the 7 seater 5008.

• udasalleh on Jun 11, 2010 at 10:26 pm

5008 is coming… or just find the 308sw… fits 7 people too.

• Freeman on Jun 19, 2010 at 10:27 pm

I shall wait for the 5008. Not that I need a 7 seater, but I want the seats at the back able to be reclined so that my three young children can sleep comfortably when we do long distance traveling, since it will be used primarily as a car for the whole family to enjoy.

• WhitePie on Jun 18, 2010 at 7:27 pm

Having driven H&Ts all this while, I personally think this car’s got attitude, the right features with a reasonable pricetag. Package-wise it is unbeatable in its market segment.

Too bad the distributor is so unreliable. This hot model would command a waiting period of 2 months. But then if you are a ‘someone’ with some social standings, I dare say you will get your car really fast. Talk about business ethics.

• marcus on Jul 13, 2010 at 4:11 pm

Engine at 1.6l seems like underpower to me. Need to test drive to check this out.
    Anyway I have seen the real car at OneU roadshow. A bit cramp for my size though. If I sit at the driver seat, then I need to push the seats back, and the backseat seems like cramp already.
    The impressive part I saw is the sunroof. Dunno if a stone hit on it on the highway, how much it will cost to replace.

• ckoan on Jul 23, 2010 at 11:58 am

Please be aware that the 3 years warranty and 100,000km only covered limited parts only. I felt cheated buying Peugeot Made Locally. Peugeot is a GREAT car however with the local dealer who do not answer to customer….. it’s hard to express my feeling right now.

TRUE STORY
    On 15-July-2010, I sent my wife car, for 20,000km routine services. Service advisor called me and said the front disc brake and front disc pads were actually worn out. To my surprise, a lady driver who is only travelling less then 20,000km can actually worn the BOTH the disc brake and disc pad at such a fast time! What surprise me further was actually the price of the spare parts. I was charged at RM490 for 1 set of front disc pad! For your information, I changed my disc pad on a Volvo T5 every 30,000 – 40,000km mileage travelled, and is only costing me RM380 and BMW E90 at around the same price too!

I called up and they said my wife car is 1 year and 2 mths old and the warranty for the rotor is only 1 yr. I made a official complaint, no respond! I wrote in to [email protected] no reply. I guess once i bought the car they do not entertain anymore… May be this is what they called “after sales service” (service meaning you pay bomb for your service)

Some advice for current Peugeot owner, if you find any minor smallest problem please let them know, make sure they have your problem log in the system. In the futurre if the parts faulty you will be able to argue over it. Don be like me, a FOOL!

FUTURE BUYER please make sure you know what is covered under the warranty and the spare parts cost before you get into a frustrated situation like me!

• EyeingCompactMPV on May 15, 2012 at 4:47 am

Ehem…hv u reminded ur wife to always put the auto gear at N everytime she stops at the traffic lite ?

That will surely help you to save the brakepad much longer

• 3008 book now can only get car after 12-14 mnths, I just got this info from 2 Naza’s showroom……….

• i book the car at july 2010, somemore i gave all the loan and company document to them. but they even cant answer me when can i get the car and duno when the car arrived. i am considering cancel the booking

• jojoba on Dec 20, 2010 at 11:30 am

how bout book now? how long got to wait?? y got to wait for so so so long?

• bryan on Jul 08, 2012 at 8:55 pm

i test drove 3008 today, for 1.6 engine, its a very powerful car, very spacious, handling part was excellent and im very happy wt other eccessories.this car is really worth buying. about resell value..i dun care..im buying it bcoz it suits my need.