Proton and Volkswagen partnership gets the red light!

Volkswagen LogoThe results of Proton’s most recent round of talks with Volkswagen are out and the verdict is NO – there won’t be any cooperation, collaboration or partnership of any form between the two companies. This is the second time that a potential partnership between the two companies has fallen through.

According to a media release sent out by Proton just a few hours ago, Volkswagen confirmed that it has other priorities and could not pursue a potential collaboration with Proton. Proton says it acknowledges this decision made by Volkswagen and will continue to work on its ASEAN Multi-Local OEM strategy and pursue its other ongoing projects such as the EMAS project and its Mitsubishi product collaboration deal. It also has other new model developments in works.

So yes, as the Chairman promised not too long ago, the company did reveal the outcome of talks in one to two weeks, unfortunately the outcome is not one that is positive. But nevermind, there is still alot to look forward to from Proton without some form of collaboration with the German giant Volkswagen Group such as the turbocharged Phoenix engine as well as the next generation Persona replacement and the EMAS project, both which are currently being worked on by both Proton and Italdesign Giugiaro.

There is another side to this which is the question – how will Volkswagen setup their CKD assembly in Malaysia now, or do they even still have any CKD plans for Malaysia at all? A CKD assembly deal was one of the potential collaborations rumored to be discussed between the two companies. Back in March 2010, VGM MD Andreas Prinz told the press at the Volkswagen PJ 3S center that it would be finalizing its CKD plans by the first half of this year, with the first CKD models to be rolling out in 12 to 18 months after the announcement.

As for the ‘other priorities’, I have a feeling it’s something to do with attempting to fully assimilate Suzuki and use that brand to both get a very strong foothold in the growing Indian market as well as achieve whatever Volkswagen intended with Proton a long time ago when they were in talks the first time.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• oh well. no more proton golf.

• Damn…there goes my future MPV…..Proton Sharan 2.0 TDI or 1.4 TSI

• mystvearn on Jun 07, 2010 at 2:02 am

Hmm, result of buruk siku from Proton in the past?

VW will own proton, but on their terms. Maybe a total takeover, or wait proton bankrupt, then VW will buy.

• Their ‘other priorities’ is an euphemism for “F*** OFF”.

• guess they want to concentrate wt their recent purchase…ie suzuki and read somehwere that VW bosses are interested to go into motorcycle using suzuki tech (bmw rivalry cont on 2 wheels)…..VW superbikes anybody?

• nabill on Jun 07, 2010 at 2:33 am

According to THE EDGE newspaper , deal fell through bcos VW wanted to assemble low budget cars in tanjug malim and proton felt it could jeopardize its own products….basically VW jus wanted the factory for its own good and noting else…

anyway this deal had fallen through so manytimes in the past that it wont matter much anymore …not the end of the world

• “VW jus wanted the factory for its own good and noting else”

Yes, of course they do. VW is a company, what else should they do? Give away free platforms and engines to Proton? ;)

But this shouldn’t be a problem for VW, as Toyota has a factory to sell near Bangkok.

And Proton could now continue with the ‘Lancer’ project.

• acerman on Jun 07, 2010 at 11:47 am

I agree. Proton should collaborate with Mitsubishi again. They done it before, they can do it again. They’d been “up there” on the pole position, I think they can do it again.
        Anyway, Mitsu is a good partner, and Proton technicians and engineers now Mitsubishi engines better than VW engines.

• but don take old engine again.

• dickybird on Jun 09, 2010 at 10:35 am

wei, before you talk cock and memalukan diri, just do lah some research in this blog for the engine of the year and car of the year here. when you find out you try lah pakai otak sikit and maybe change topic to maybe, mitsu will give better interior plastics than VW.
          another sign of kepala lembus unable to deal with failure again of talks with vw and hence trying to rationalise with “mitsu is always better” illogic.

• Tiadaid on Jun 07, 2010 at 5:57 am

VW wants to bully Proton. Proton fights back. Malaysians bash Proton to no end.

• I second tat

• Vezeroth on Jun 07, 2010 at 11:01 pm

haha… maybe VW dint wanna pay cronnie money, therefore they called it off, 2 independent directors pissed with all the politicsness and stupidity so they resigned too… sounds more likely… then, there’s the selling off of 40% lotus to internals and danny bahar even though they have better deals, sounds to me like something fishy… From personal experience, i find that this is what usually happens in malaysian companies… let it be submarines, sukhoi’s or car vendors…

Hey just my 2 cents, but ya’ll can’t argue that the hypothetical scenario can’t be true! we’ve got many past experiences

• Quattro (Member) on Jun 08, 2010 at 10:11 am

it all about profit to some berkepentingan E.g Vendor Development progam….(EDP) which it make proton as a testing lab for their product. trust me > if this true > proton quality will never been improved!!

VW fro sure will select their own vendor tranparently…..

• Seriously on Jun 08, 2010 at 3:00 pm

Oh so plausible :)

• Surprise, surprise…. Proton do not have the competitive advantage needed to leverage, hence VW simply says “take it or leave it”.

Besides our auto industry is a close market i.e. AP sys, Tax sys & Non-AFTA sys. VW would rather support the Indian & Indon local industry and increse their socio-economic status.

Before long Indian workers will be demanding minimum wage before even coming here to work. Sound familiar?

• dickybird on Jun 09, 2010 at 10:36 am

it is all good since it raise the basic income of the majority factory worker in this country, no? tqvm VW!

• oh well. just hope the lancer 2.0 is rebadged to a proton and the world is already a better place :D

• Lem0n on Jun 07, 2010 at 4:07 am

Maybe Proton should try GMC…. so we can enjoy some American cars in Malaysia, like Camaro, perhaps?

• So why is Proton looking to collaborate with VW anyway. Are Proton having problems ?. Just as an outsider I could never imagine the 2x merging.

• Malaysia Bulleh! on Jun 07, 2010 at 5:21 am

I believe lots malaysian would prefer proton to close down instead of keep on burdening ppl!

• if they close down then we as m’sians malu la? Cannot keep a car company… See the koreans, they used to be like us and see where are they now? I have a very strong feeling that Proton will be on top one day if they let the right person control their company…

• I more malu when they rolled out Waja and Savvy. When I was abroad in uk, there’s sure someone that says, hey, look at that ugly car, produced by msia, wat crap. Thanks.

• I prefer to be ‘malu’ than to pay excise duty just because Proton needs to be protected. Come to think of it, what pride do we have in the first place, looking at the line of cars Proton produces compared to the Koreans.

• Notify on Jun 08, 2010 at 4:42 pm

Err… what’s wrong with Waja, at least the original 4G18 launched in 2000-2001? I think Malaysians should be very proud of that design, although the quality was not up to par. I don’t see how you could classify it as “ugly”.

• I see P1 share tumbles even more. XD

• Why am I not surprised?

A nicer way of saying it is VW is gonna jeapardize Proton with cheap and reliable cars.

A not so nice way of saying is Proton insisted on their crony part manufacturers and VW said no.

• Terence on Jun 07, 2010 at 7:30 am

Wise move for VW for not taking Proton.

Malaysia will go bankrupt!!!

• what ever,,,,,,

just wait for campro turbo, i hope campro turbo not only for exora,
    it ll good for persona and neo as well , if not its another waste of excitement.

• dickybird on Jun 09, 2010 at 11:15 am

turbo ah? who buy? campro already famous for high fc, tambah turbo lagi many ppl die in more ways than 1, petrol going up and road deaths also will to!

• mitlanevo on Jun 07, 2010 at 8:03 am

no satria neo gti turbo…. sob~sob~

but nvm, proton lancer 1.6 cps turbo is coming soon, hehehez…

• partner with VW? VW didnt make partner with anyone. they own them.. of course it didnt go well.

• azrai on Jun 07, 2010 at 8:10 am

VW can easily go ahead with DRB-HICOM. No need to worry. They should emulate Cherry move by CKDeing their cars in malaysia to take advantage of AFTA and Japan-Malaysia FTA. Create more jobs for malaysian please.

• frossonice on Jun 07, 2010 at 8:21 am

Honestly, I don’ really prefer VW as partner. They are too large for their own good. Look at Seat and Skoda. I assume Proton will end up like them too. VW with all their intention will always prefer VW brand first to penetrate any market. It would be good if Proton could get some tech know how with a collaboration with VW.

In a long run, Proton should consider other big carmakers to partner with. The one which will not use Proton solely as an assembler, nothing more.

• najibest on Jun 07, 2010 at 8:24 am

oh well…it’s not like the result is unexpected….

• Probably VW’s priority is only to capture the ASEAN market after China.

• HirumaKecil on Jun 07, 2010 at 8:36 am

vw ni tamak.. semua syarikat keta dia nak take over… dah berapa banyak syarikat keta dia ambik.. x cukup lagi… hebat jugak la proton ni… sampai vw pon nak take over.. mesti dia dah dapat lihat potensi yg ada pada proton… ye la.. kilang proton pon antara yg terbaek didunia… dah la tu, semua robot pon beli bayar tunai… honda ngan toyota pon buat kilang beli robot bayar ansuran…

• fasgen on Jun 08, 2010 at 10:42 pm

setuju… mungkin dia tamak.. proton pon dah pandai pikir… mesti ada udang disebalik batu..

• firefox on Jun 14, 2010 at 9:29 am

haha, not really, on business point of view, proton is cheap and got market compared to japanese or korean car maker, somemore, proton still got a lot of space gap in the market, i thing this is the main reason.

• Mujahiddin on Jun 07, 2010 at 8:42 am

Another option is by collaborating with DRB-Hicom plant at Pekan, but it could lead to conflict of interest with Mercedes. How will Volkswagen setup their CKD assembly in Malaysia now – build one CKD plant!

• littlefire on Jun 07, 2010 at 8:49 am

Well.. Look like some still caught the flip flop decision of the previos management…

Or there is another rumour that P1 use VW issue to get their share price up! When the news break off, P1 share suddenly shoot up!

Anyway even VW use our plant to assemble low budjet cars, we also untung coz we will have cheaper VW on the roads. Why now? Proton still can sell it’s own car if it is profittable. In business world, if u can earn profit u will survive.. But the problem is can P1 survive another 20 years without any support of foreign help? Besides that, i believe at that time China made cars may even cheaper & better than us if still so stubborn…

Oh maybe at that time, Malaysia already bankrap de..

• g-spot on Jun 07, 2010 at 1:35 pm

later their will use up proton just like what toyota did to perodua.

• bangmo on Jun 07, 2010 at 6:19 pm

That’s better than keep churning out shit quality goods and make rakyat to pay through their nose.

• go ask perodua car user, ask them are they satisfy and will they recommend their family member to buy perodua?

There is a reason for perodua car to be on top, even if they are not the cheapest and they are only hatchback.

P1 should burn in hell!!!!

• rodimus on Jun 07, 2010 at 8:50 am

Well; things turn out to be in this way it’s not end of the road yet, the r still a lot potential collaboration or partnership out there. But just how n where they wanna stand out against the rest of the big guys out there. Still got long way to Proton…..

• pelams on Jun 07, 2010 at 9:01 am

serves them right

• proton patut kerjasama dengan mana2 pengeluar kereta utk tembus pasaran dunia dan backup kewangan proton kalau x sampai kiamat kereta proton mahal dan xde kualiti.. apa guna kita ada pengeluar kereta tapi kereta kat negara sendiri mahal nak mapus..

• acerman on Jun 07, 2010 at 11:53 am

Hello bro, how about Mitsubishi?

• umno juara tipu rakyat on Jun 07, 2010 at 2:02 pm

yup..the mitsu partnership involving Exora is a great move from proton..they need to continue this kind of partnership with other platform in future

• g-spot on Jun 07, 2010 at 1:41 pm

keputusan ini dibuat oleh ahli lembaga proton & ahl2 profesional yang berkelulusan tinggi dan berpengalaman. sudah tentu mereka lebih mengetahui kesannya samada mndtgkan faedah atau tidak.
      better guna mitsubishi sbb kita sdah lama kenal dia n lpas ni dia ssah nk tipu kita lagi.

• p-spot on Jun 07, 2010 at 5:17 pm

mitsubishi pnah tipu kita?????..what do u mean??

• S.Roma on Jun 08, 2010 at 1:42 am

Ya lor… when did they cheat us?

Info that i got is that, when it comes for us to discover their tech, they will be so stingy… when our turns, they will be so kind to us… Japan is not so stupid la…

• S.Roma on Jun 08, 2010 at 1:44 am

From Wikipedia, Proton blame Mitsu because the Juara did not go well… because we are not ready yet by that time to receive that kind of car… even now maybe?

The looks so weird… but at Japan, the Mitsu Town Box aka Juara goes jus nice there…

• emm.. something is not right here.. what would it be huh..? forget already..

• mufasa on Jun 07, 2010 at 9:35 am

i didn’t notice about “ASEAN Multi-Local OEM strategy” before…i think that would be better idea ….and make proton as ASEAN brand,,rather then malaysian brand…

• mnazri.tan on Jun 07, 2010 at 9:36 am

i was frustrated, but have been dealing with many german in life, i think i know what it worth….proton may be a crap, we maybe a small market, we maybe a small nation, but we can do well without em…proton seem to have enough on the pipeline, the new generation has been putting more ideas of what proton should be, give and take despite a slow one, i think we can be successful… no point of having the deal if they only care to use Proton Factory…

• theanswer on Jun 07, 2010 at 9:37 am

oh no tsi engine for neo.. ;p

• trav_da_man on Jun 07, 2010 at 9:38 am

Looks like Volkswagen and Proton are not meant to be fated after all. Well there still mitsubishi, not the end of the world though!

• thought so…..i believe many of us know the jv not gonna happen..too many tidious factor to overcome with….

• morondetector on Jun 07, 2010 at 9:43 am

why don’t you all hope that Proton die off. the world will be a better place without Proton. this is the definite certified God honest truth.

• frossonice on Jun 07, 2010 at 12:24 pm

Are you going to feed all the workers in proton plant and its vendors? If you can afford it, by all means, let Proton die.

• ismet on Jun 07, 2010 at 2:51 pm

you’re exactly right bro!

• morondetector on Jun 07, 2010 at 5:20 pm

this is a cruel business world. if Proton couldn;t survive because the management is incompetent and couldn’t compete with other car-makers, the workers should blame them. why are you so proud of the fact that Malaysians continue to pay high prices for substandard cars in order for a few thousand people to have work ? you sounded like a naive and ignorant kid who think that world owe every one a living. it is the stupid govt policy which pampered Proton for many years and make them uncompetitive and if its fail and the workers cannot work, the govt is fully responsible for the current state of affairs. and let’s not get me started on the manufacturer of OEM parts that supply only to Proton as though they cannot survive without Proton. they never bother to enhance their quality in order to expand their market to overseas.. who can they blame ?

i suspect you are a business owner of one of those leeching OEM makers or else you won’t be talking like you owe them a living. nobody owe PROTON a living or owe PROTON survival. blame Mahathir, blame the govt for pampering them and making them uncompetitive..

• x proton on Jun 08, 2010 at 4:17 am

its too late now, too much to loose.. after billions of investment.. anyway we need to look at the contributions of the proton workers to the economic activities around the area, proton have about 10k direct employees and more than 100k indirectly.. let say each of them spend min of rm30 per day.. it’s rm 3.3 millions a day all together and we are talking about almost rm100 million changing hands every month..well.. thats huge…among the beneficiaries are including makcik nasi lemak, grocery store, petrol station, ah beng accesories, kedai tayar, mamak stall and many more…i think it will affect a lot of people if proton do close shop.

by the way, i dont think it’s hard for the engineers and executive to find other job out there.. i pitty the factory worker la..

• ccb11 on Jun 08, 2010 at 11:15 am

the factory worker can work in other factory la, b0d0h, i’m sure none of you guys are engineers or technician, you all talk and think using a brick.

Factory close, change job la. Honda toyota all got facotry here. Even merc.

go work for perodua la.

Or go papaya farm to work la. If proton bankrupt you wanna hang yourself?

Hey malaysia will bankrupt soon, u can prepare your rope then.

• dickybird on Jun 08, 2010 at 11:25 am

are cars in the uk expensive now that they no longer have any large indigenous carmakers? the money we saved from subsidising proton can chanelled to retraining any retrenched workers. we car buyers would also have more disposable income to drive the local economy instead paying thru the nose for car loans! .

• oldwira on Jun 08, 2010 at 7:33 am

let’s just hope that u die first before proton does

• Neutral on Jun 08, 2010 at 10:12 am

Fully agree with u bro, the really lack of competition in our car industry have made Proton and Perodua not making any drastic strategies for improvement whether in the quality field, management and etc. STOP pampering the two Ps already so that the two Ps can realize the harsh real world and make improvement just like the KOREANS !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• scgtimk1 on Jun 07, 2010 at 12:26 pm

Let say if no proton ……

No need for car maker to set up plant here because we have expensive labor….Thailand is cheaper anyway…..

No more auto industry….. we all import cheap car…..

It is a better world ……….. is it?

• morondetector on Jun 07, 2010 at 8:12 pm

yes. that is infinitely better. and no, you are wrong. car-makers have always been interested in setting up factories in Malaysia due to the relatively higher skilled level of our workers and our more advanced market for cars. many factories that are in Thailand now were once supposed to be located in Malaysia but due to the extreme protectionist policy of our govt under Mahathir, who must protect his fucking pet project Proton at all cost, most companies decided it is not viable to locate the factories in Malaysia.

and Thailand labour cost is not really that much lower than in Malaysia. there are a lot of misconception and ignorance among Malaysians that stuff in Thailand and labour is cheap. Malaysia wages is pretty low too and Malaysia buying power is almost the same as Thailand too. just check out the fucking currency exchange of Malaysia Ringgit to Thai Baht. Thai Baht is actually of higher value than Ringgit, although just by a small margin and therefore, in some border towns, the vendors are willing to accept one to one. but in some hotel, they demand a surcharge because Malaysia Ringgit has less value than Thai Baht in the international currency exchange market. THIS IS FACT.

stop looking for excuses.

• x proton on Jun 08, 2010 at 4:35 am

yes i agree, infect, honda was about to setup a CKD factory in malaysia but shift it to Thailand when proton launch.

but morondetector.. do you really think the car will go cheap if proton close down? do you think the government will do so? malaysia is the largest passenger car market in SEA.. its one of the venue for the gov making money… even now i really think that all the taxes and duty for each car are not solely to protect proton, but to make money for the gov…

• dickybird on Jun 07, 2010 at 8:22 pm

yes infinitely better! then all malaysians would really need to get off their asses and work for a living instead of thinking that they are entitled to or owed a lving by the govt.

• minnow on Jun 07, 2010 at 9:44 am

rebadged lancer wil nevr equal to the real deal….sensible ppl will always laugh at those lancer wannabees…

• narmia on Jun 07, 2010 at 12:36 pm

And those who bought the rebadged lancer will laugh at your ori price.

• ribut on Jun 07, 2010 at 2:29 pm

i wonder why ppl not laugh at those T wannaabees

• linear_system on Jun 07, 2010 at 4:55 pm

and for sure the rebadge lancer will get much better handling than the original lancer.haha..

• dickybird on Jun 07, 2010 at 8:23 pm

how sure are you? for all the vaunted “lotus handling” they can barely sell 100 cars a year.

• linear_system on Jun 08, 2010 at 5:00 pm

i’m sure as i’m having neo n new honda city, i also drive pesona’s company car..and i can tell the different..and for sure i’m more into the handling in proton than honda..

• dickybird on Jun 09, 2010 at 1:17 pm

so why did you buy a new honda city for, sicne the handling is not to proton standards?!

• x proton on Jun 08, 2010 at 4:44 am

re-badge lancer will outnumbered the ori lancer, and will see are they dare to laugh the the wannabies…hehe

• BeemerFreak on Jun 07, 2010 at 9:50 am

Haih what a sad result. Proton has been wasting too much tax payers money and it is not surprising that VW pulled out because all proton is going to do to them is leech their technology with nothing in return. Chances are VW might follow the footsteps of Toyota and Nissan and start assembly plant in Thailand.

Another huge missed chance due to some stupid policy by some stupid company. Foreign investment gone in the dustbin.

• p4k4bu on Jun 07, 2010 at 9:51 am

And now…. Perdana will be replaced by….. ?

;) 8)

• No need to talk again, dont know how many times get ‘FAIL”, again & again, ai..

• E Bear on Jun 07, 2010 at 10:12 am

We have already come so far, might as well finish the journey ourselves.

We can always licence technology, not necessary to invent a new wheel when the costs are not logical. Make less and progress rather than take a long time to make something which holds back advancement.

VW too big to become a partner, end up eating Proton.

• ummmm0 on Jun 07, 2010 at 10:24 am

its takes two to tango but as for now no more honey no money.

• No need VW la… Mitsubishi re-badge good enough.

• Lancer (4B11, hopefully) – 1000 unit will be CBU-ed, then the rest will be CKD-ed
    cheers

• Ahmad on Jun 07, 2010 at 10:54 am

It would be better for Proton not to have any collabration with VW which only benefited of one party only and I believe that the Proton management had made a decision based on several factors and areas. Proton now is not like a Proton 2 decades ago. Proton now have a very clear vision and mission to be followed and we can see how Proton is progressing under their new management.

• Why not? VW make low end cars using Proton plant and Proton make use of German Quality. Btw how low could those cars go for 45k? 35k? The new vento could atleast fetch 100k above. I think Proton made a mistake. When will they ever learn from the german’s to make quality cars. I guess they will never!

• acerman on Jun 07, 2010 at 11:56 am

I think they have not. VW intended to build cheap cars. Imagine what would happen to proton cars after that. Eventually Proton will go bankrupt and VW will take over. I have foreseen these…its true actually.

• littlefire on Jun 07, 2010 at 12:03 pm

But if become Skoda how? I dont see Skoda now bankrupt? But even more accepted in Europe..

• g-spot on Jun 07, 2010 at 1:47 pm

haha mula2 mati2 suruh buat joint venture, nnti bila saham proton habis vw pegang majority, semua maki2. hahaha..jgnlah dah terhantuk baru nk terngadah.

• kimi_ on Jun 07, 2010 at 10:59 am

Nation pride strike again……Proud to be malaysian !!!!!!

• wochomi on Jun 07, 2010 at 11:17 am

VW is on a global munch fest on car manufacturers. Could it just munch up proton and no more ‘cheap-becoz-of-govt-tax’ cars for you folks? Just think, no more waja, saga and persona. You want car, buy a VW which the gov will tax your butt out. Sure the rakyat will suffer. But we well know that gomen doesn’t really think bout the stupid spoon-fed rakyat, and that if the deal doesn’t give them the money,… heck it’s just plain business.

Question is…. why aren’t we getting Lotus+Proton offspring (instead of just the spring in a plastic logo called Lotus Handling)? Maybe Proton should just BUY up VW.

It’s good to talk nonsense.

• dickybird on Jun 07, 2010 at 11:37 am

u think the rakyat is not suffering now? paying a big portion of their gaji for an underspecced proton car when the same car abroad has better spec and is cheaper too! wtf!
      if it was plain business then an underperforming company like proton would have been sold long ago but to save face and spare some cronies and dealers, we are stuck like this.
      please dont talk nonsense, proton doesnt even enough money to buy you and me nasi kandar at pelita! LOL!

• Ahmad on Jun 07, 2010 at 2:30 pm

Please compare between Vios J price, their specs with Persona H Line. Let say gov scrapped off all the taxs and duties, you think how much Toyota will sell the Vios J? 30K? You dream larr.. Otherwise, go and live overseas, i would like you to update in this blog what type of car you use and how good your living outside!!!

• not_ah_beng on Jun 07, 2010 at 3:22 pm

Go to check Toyota and Honda website and see LABUAN price. That is the realistic price of non-taxed car, maybe add 5-10k more for profit taking and comissions.

Still well within reach of everyday Msian instead of the P1 deathtraps we have rolling around due to spoonfeeding mentality to the bloodsucking company known as P1.

• dickybird on Jun 07, 2010 at 4:27 pm

only kepala lembu logic would compare the base spec vios with the high line persona coz they only see that the 2 is in the same price range. so in their kepala lembu logic they are getting value for money from p1.
          if you dont like the socalled p1 bashing here, you are welcome to go elsewhere on the net or migrate to where no criticism is allowed like myanmar or north korea. no criticism, no cars either.
          we are still the largest sedan car market in the asean region. the market will decide the price of the goods we want to buy such as cars, so while it may not be 30k it would be a fair market price unlike now. my main ride is a livina 1.8 which is a damn better mpv than a exora and a steal at 94k!

• Totally agree to what dickybird said……us Malaysians deserve better…….collaboration is just another way of moving forward….nothing beats German engineering……
      plus, we are paying more for our national cars than the people in Dubai……Proton Waja for example, we are paying (for the basic model) give and take; about RM60k while in Dubai a Waja cost only RM45k.
      The question at hand, why are we paying more for our ‘beloved’ national cars?
      Bloody politicians (and yes, and most of them are using German cars while we, the people, the tax payers, had to settle with Proton)…….

• dickybird on Jun 07, 2010 at 11:24 am

kerana nak jaga muka dr m we ALL have to suffer. never mind, let proton continue to be the car of choice for the poor and uncompetitive masses while the enlightened and ready to compete rest of us make enough dough to buy asean imports.

• imbhotep on Jun 07, 2010 at 1:19 pm

i’ll never feel proud with our P1 Kereta Keranda…i want full statistic fatality in Malaysia’s accident cases..i bet 98% fatality in Malaysia’s accident in national’s car..
      i can assumed our ‘pembunuh nombor satu’ maybe national’s car accident in front of CANCER and AIDS!!

• Kakikudimukamu on Jun 07, 2010 at 1:54 pm

Why don’t u report to the police? File a case. Hire a lawyer. Sue the company. Get rich. Then migrate to Uganda. Neva come back here again. They’re, as u CAN assume, Die Factor, No. 1 Killer. Why don’t? Bcoz lack of money, and bashing is the only way, without facts.. :D

• umno juara tipu rakyat on Jun 07, 2010 at 2:20 pm

bro…toyota vios also got bashed left right centre not only proton…dont get so worked out laaaa :D

• LOL!

“pembunuh nombor satu’ maybe national’s car accident”

dude, kalau ko bawak kete dah feeling2 mcm bwk F1, sure la ko mati. we have a speed limit, so ikut je la.

ape punye mentality la. aku gelak je bace statement ko

• imbhotep on Jun 07, 2010 at 5:50 pm

seems p1 and national’s cars can make their passenger die in 40km/h collision while other imported cars can protect passenger up to 100km/h collision..

i just agree with Jeremy Clarkson that scrap and destroyed perodua Kelisa…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wI2MpcIiO6A

• imbhotep on Jun 07, 2010 at 6:50 pm

maybe we Malaysian can stick to Naza from Kia and Peugeot rebadge models..seems only our hope..

• 98% of fatality are national cars…

didnt the Tan Chong’s son died in a Nissan Xtrail? so that’s the 2%.
        c’mon man. cars are all safe if you drive it safe.

• Seriously on Jun 08, 2010 at 3:17 pm

I beg to differ, a car is SAFER if it is built with the interest AND safety of consumers in mind, most obviously something Proton has no clue of. In an fatal accident, you could just be the victim and being in a Proton definitely increases the chance of fatality

• kopi-man on Jun 07, 2010 at 4:00 pm

thats not fare to P1. They at least give a seat belt! P1 will say its all drivers problem. Not product problem. When the services guy also said, want a better car, buy H & T la. What you expect from P1 car la. You know how hopeless it is.

• x proton on Jun 08, 2010 at 4:55 am

98%?? wow?? that bad?

• exactly….recently, the was and head on accident involving a brand new Mercedes and a Proton, the Mercedes driver only suffered a broken leg while the Proton occupant, died on impact…………collaboration can act as a sort of catalyst for Proton to improve their cars, especially in terms of safety (considering us Malaysians drives like they own the road)……

• imbhotep on Jun 08, 2010 at 1:53 pm

yeah…proton only considering;
          a) large boot for bringing durian went balik kampung,
          b) fuel efficient engine
          c) low mainainance
          but they left:
          -hard chasis and safety…that’s make proton’s accident victim died b’cause of ‘mati tersepit’

pity Malaysian

• imbhotep on Jun 08, 2010 at 2:50 pm

my advice is for p1 and p2 cars drivers:
          a) do not exceed 85km/h on federal roads…
          b)never commit to overtakes when you’re sight any vehicles at the opposed road… overtaking when all clear
          c) at hiway, start thinking to drive no exceed 100km/h..

or ur life in threat

• beamer28 (Member) on Jun 07, 2010 at 11:33 am

Sigh …. Here they go again ….

A deal between them will never go through if the interest of P1’s cronies (including suppliers) and shareholders are at stake ….

this is the real problem of cronism, ie. the only thing in jeopardy is their own progress & development (not on VW but P1).

CKD VWs … well .. guess we would have to keep on dreaming … they will just end up investing in a more friendly country after all the frustration / anxiety went thru here.

And also, bare in mind, Emas is merely a “concept” so far.

• dickybird on Jun 07, 2010 at 11:39 am

a better concept would be to get off that comfy sofa and park it on a bicyle saddle! LOL!
      we have loads of palm oil and the talk about B5 biodiesel but NATO! we accuse other ppl of NATO, but it looks we are doing the same.

• beamer28 (Member) on Jun 07, 2010 at 11:48 am

thats what happens when u still have someone without prior automotive experience being the “advisor” to a car company ….

• klguy on Jun 07, 2010 at 12:01 pm

expected. good for VW though.

• mirror mirror on Jun 07, 2010 at 12:10 pm

This is so sad, we have to continue protecting Proton till God knows when. This is not just about getting better quality cars at lower cost; don’t you people know that our government has to give away favourable trade concessions just so it can continue protecting proton. For those of you who are adamant on protecting Proton, please spare a thought for people in other industries who are indirectly hurt by Proton.

There is nothing not patriotic about bashing Proton because Proton is doing more harm than good to the country and its people.

• you think they are serious for the people who can get a job if we open market? dont be silly, its about the “expenses to own people’s pocket” – the supplier. can sell or not? doesnt matters. company can sustain? doesnt matters.

• Citroen DS3 on Jun 07, 2010 at 12:12 pm

hhhmmm… wonder if Naza will offer the CKD option to Volkswagen… or would VW walk the same line with BMW and Mercedes.. a partial-knock-down route??? that would still be interesting…

• Peter on Jun 07, 2010 at 12:25 pm

VW doesn’t need Proton for rebadging at all…..BMW has its local Semi CKD, in our shores….

I would be happy that VW did not partner with proton. One of the main reason is we would not get outdated and expensive models through Proton….Thats one of the reason why VW want to partner Proton. They want to dump their old models at our shores, i just cant understand why some people think that VW will let us rebadge all their new models….

Never and Never at all………..

• Elvis on Jun 07, 2010 at 9:33 pm

But Peter, Proton has been doing that for decades with Mist…

• najibest on Jun 07, 2010 at 12:35 pm

the key here is economies of scale. that’s why proton really needs a partner. the tg malim plant is severely under utilized which is a waste of capacity. proton should be able to alleviate that slightly by shutting down the shah alam plant though.

then again, in the long run they would still need a partner for new platform development etc…..for the past 20 odd years they were running unopposed as the only local car company. but then came perodua (which is now only around 50%+ malaysian owned but still considered as a national car company…i wonder why) which is giving proton all sorts of problems as they are now malaysian leading car company and they spent less money than proton as they got their platforms directly from Toyota/Daihatsu. proton however, would need to spend all their hard earned money to do the same….

whether they can continue on their own remains to be seen….however, with the global car industries going towards consolidation and tight technical collaboration, i wonder how proton is going to survive. i mean BWM and PSA is collaborating on their engines, heck mitsubishi hyundai and chrysler (now they pulled out) collaborated for the engine of the latest generation lancer and used in many new hyundai and kia cars…PSA and Mitsubishi sharing platforms (used to be for SUV and now going into small cars as well) and many more. these companies sell more cars in in 1 year than proton can see in 2-3 years yet they are collaborating to minimize cost and increase efficiency…

so proton is going to collaborate with mitsubishi again, they’ve tried that road before and now going there again…how well can it work this time around? we shall see in the future…mitsubishi is however a weak car company now and seems to be strengthening their partnership with PSA and PSA already have a collaboration here in the form of Naza….oh well…it’s a complicated world…just hope that Lotus Engineering can provide cool new technologies that they can commercialize in the future and let’s hope we can get a hand in that in future proton cars…

• Genki on Jun 07, 2010 at 12:42 pm

one thing malaysians need to understand that your better equipped and cheaper proton overseas is not selling that well as proton is telling you. in fact sales are so bad that it doesnt justify them being in the market apart from the fact that they can tell malaysians they are still successfully exporting protons overseas

a bad overflow from this situation is that toyota or other car makers can shove underpowered and underequipped and overpriced cars into the malaysian market without any fear because the standard is so low.

• dickybird on Jun 07, 2010 at 12:59 pm

that does not explain why our protons are expensive and underspecced!

• Elvis on Jun 07, 2010 at 1:32 pm

You are rite Genki, Toyota and Honda are underequipped their specs to Malaysia market knowing very well how consumer in Malaysia are. After decades of low quality local cars, consumers cannot or not aware of how quality cars should be, therefore these foreign brands are taking advantage of ‘KATAK BAWAH TEMPURUNG’ mentality of local consumers.

• Elvis on Jun 07, 2010 at 1:40 pm

Just look at those imported used cars from Japan. Even do used in Japan 5 years back but the specs are still out of range of local Toyota or Honda are selling here. Even local mechanics cannot fix because the spces are too advance for our local repairers!!!

• Amiran on Jun 07, 2010 at 3:34 pm

So you think you can fix Arab/Japanese/Russian version of Microsoft Office mate? (Of course you do if you know to write/read the language)
          I think that’s inaccurate way to brand the mechanics out there.

• Elvis on Jun 07, 2010 at 5:02 pm

Yes, i know about the software part dude. I am talking about specs lah…

• Amiran on Jun 07, 2010 at 5:36 pm

Indeed…
            Its about spec and special tools/program needed to fix it, which you wont get anywhere you like.

• Elvis on Jun 07, 2010 at 9:32 pm

Yes, Amiran. Exactly!! I am talking about the need for special tools/program which our local mechanics dont have and also dont know how to use too!! Which remind me of a joke about how those who bought Hummers end up putting their Hummers for display coz no one know how to fix them. Hahaha…buy half million car only to drive it for less than a month already endup in garage for life….

• The Loner on Jun 07, 2010 at 3:16 pm

I totally agree. Toyota and Honda always bring the lowest spec vehicles here and sell it at high price.

• not_ah_beng on Jun 07, 2010 at 3:24 pm

When they compete with POTONG, the lowest specced City still seems like a technological marvel!

Thats why they can get away with such practices.

• Vios User on Jun 07, 2010 at 11:13 pm

Totally agree with you that Vios and City are underspec car. Toyota and Honda did these because of the high duty tax. You pay more than 20k for tax for a Vios and City. With a low budget and underspec car they still can get a substancial share of the medium price car market. Proton is finished when Malaysian Income double in 2020.

• the people is proud as long there is a car TRYING to sell in overseas regarding the RESULT. that is our problem. NOT RESULT ORIENTED, but day dreaming and using others $$ for own pocket. Period. Wonder how much they spend in overseas spending of those operation cost.

• dickybird on Jun 07, 2010 at 12:51 pm

sigh…

• Unknown on Jun 07, 2010 at 1:26 pm

I simply can’t be bothered anymore. Next.

• Jumbsuck on Jun 07, 2010 at 1:28 pm

A lost chance for Proton to rebadge VW Amarok pickup and maybe SUV version of it like Fortuner, Pajero Sport. Looks like the ancient Campro will continue past 2020 which by then the world using electric cars while we still stuck with internal combustion engine tech. Keep on selling Waja Gen2 Pesona at RM36k in Saudi Arabia lah Proton!

• Come on laa P1. VW doesn’t want to collaborate with you. Then, please have open discussion with P2. Who knows, maybe it is a good idea to join P1 and P2 together. Our national market is quite small. No need so many “national” car manufacturer.

VW wants to open CKD assembly plant! To whom shall I submit my resume?

• dapper on Jun 07, 2010 at 7:59 pm

I agree with you on making P1 and P2 or more ideally , have all car manufacturers/assemblers in Malaysia into one big car manufacturer in the region. This would completely remove the nonsense competitive among them in the Malaysian market.

Having a competitive environment is no doubt healthy in the business world and would benefit the consumers. However, competition among these Malaysian manufacturers in the Malaysian market is not sensible from the beginning. Malaysia is too small to have that kind of competition.

Let these companies team up and compete with the other international car makers in the Malaysian market. With this approach, I believe with this one big team, they could compete in the international market without a collaboration with any global car manufacturer. Look at South Korea for an example.

It is just time for these national car makers to team up. Put an end to the competition among them and look at the big picture.

• x proton on Jun 08, 2010 at 5:07 am

P2 own by toyota la… need to start talking to toyota?? i dont think they will layan la…

• Kakikudimukamu on Jun 07, 2010 at 1:46 pm

Why so damn many Dr. IR. Prof. Dato’ Tan Sri Economic Experts BASHER still lurking and waiting to hear bout p1’s news?… Ooo..maybe they wants to start-up their own company, but didn’t have enuff money..so they act like own it and they’re experts bout it.. Whilst they devour NOTHING in their life for the p1’s.. Except for bashing.. And buying their cars bcoz lack of money.. :D

• ccb1111 on Jun 08, 2010 at 11:32 am

So, i suppose you only finishes your SPM??

What car do you drive actually? care to share? you seems to look down on the others?

SO, the judges for Miss Universe must be the prettiest lady out there?

So the judges for olympic must be the best athlete?

Go and get a degree in economics if you can afford, if you cannot, work harder. I know you probably working hard to pay your car installment.

• Siemens on Jun 07, 2010 at 2:58 pm

Remember earlier talks between P1 n VW? Why the proton keep on want and don’t want? Yet if i not mistaken, earlier the P1 shows no interested to have them as partner as P1 is capable having their own 100% locally design BLM with good sales volumes?

Watever d deal is.. it has confirmed no… from the VW, I could say is a sad case for P1,
    due to:-
    1) may d agreements n terms VW would want P1 could not take it,
    2) stakes of shares could not be “distribute” evenly to the related “departments” or “vendors” ——-> think of this point… u’ll find up why!

Sorry for P1:-
    Current m’sian market ain’t no more like Year 1985! technology n method in car manufacturing ain’t no slow n steady… be it daring, innovating and creative! yet RELIABLE and Quality Control!… not “besok lusa… n boleh la!”

VW has great ppl n experiences:- if u think (bentley, lambo, bugatti, Skoda, VW, Audi) none of d brand which own by VW is consider lower standard than d Mitsu.

VW can provide great solutions definitely better than any other so called mitsu partner… if VW seriously would wanna bring P1 to become a strong m’sian brand!

(look in details for Kia Forte – features n compare to any same range of japs model”) u’ll see… if you know who is d Forte designer n compare to other kia current available models!

Mitsu is always no problem… they always provide good parts to everyone… n they will I can provide you d solutions… i can even spoon-feed you.. but I guess P1 has no other choice but to take it! as Mitsu so called long time partner since 1985! n drop-out in between n resume lately right?>

• big name wanted to come our country and do business, is good for our ppl and bad for P1 interm of sales. So tell me, who should we blame? P1 or VW? very obvious P1 is protecting their sales but not for our people just because they know their technology and reliability is not even close to par with VW. P1 is being selfish mentality stuck on a stone age and keeping us away from getting cheaper cars. damn proton, pouring our country’s rice away..

• waimak on Jun 07, 2010 at 3:28 pm

Some just forgot that Proton as a business entity has got its plan and direction, be it in the medium term or in the long run, e.g the AMLO thing.. By now proton has got its hands full of future models and innovation, the way I see it, so why waste them.. the only thing I’m wondering whether Proton or its staff is serious enough in producing good cars or pushing the company to the international front.. the mindset have to be changed..

• Squawk on Jun 07, 2010 at 3:52 pm

VW just gave Proton the finger. :-)

There’s Indonesia and Thailand to consider and let’s not forget Vietnam which is coming up fast. There’s a lot of S$ flowing there.

• kopi-man on Jun 07, 2010 at 3:54 pm

Proton: I will work with you unless i use my own supplier for local or export market

VW: You mean we have no control of parts supplier? How if the classic Waja Windows appear?

Proton: We need try our best to make it not happened. We promised.

VW: Thats what you promised years ago to the Waja buyers. We are target for Global market! You think other country consumer to stubborn like Msian?

Proton: I only want to make sure our suppliers can survive

VW: How about the car? Arent we want to make sure it can accept globally?

Proton: Thats our secondary priority. We want to make sure local buyers keep buying regarding the quality.

VW: mmh…(stand up and walk away)…we are not under-water manufacturers.

• Amiran on Jun 07, 2010 at 3:56 pm

My advice to many proton executives (and above) there…
    Keep playing golf and/or have karaoke outing with your dear suppliers more, and more and more…

Do you know about Korean companies here, IT’S A SERIOUS DICIPLINE ACT TO EVEN GO FOR A MEAL WITH SUPPLIER/POTENTIAL SUPPLIER?
    See how serious they’re to combat corruption.

• tikus on Jun 07, 2010 at 6:15 pm

That is Korean…. Here is Malaysia,so must have Malaysia culture. Makan ,minum, Karaoke,Nite Club is a must to client and corruption is in Malaysia DNA from Top to bottom. Be real Amiran !! Malaysia Boleh !!

• they dont do that no more. they just…Everyone can fly! u figure it out.

• kerelbort on Jun 07, 2010 at 4:16 pm

Let see, VW out. Proton stay put. 2 model in progress. 1 engine readying itself.
    VW want to assemble budget car in Proton plant. Can anyone really bet what kind of car they wanted to assemble there? Heck, they assemble the original bettle until mid of year 2004 in mexico plant. What comfort does we have that they going to assemble their best seller here?
    Do you really want the indian VW Vento as ur next car? I guess u just really desparade to own a VW do you?
    Anyhoo, Proton direction is clear, model lineup are there and entering indian market alone could be a scary situation but hopefully Subbu will deliver. Slowly phasing out the sport-young-executive car model from TM era. Once new model that follow market needs come out, you can see lor…. go on basher, bash.
    Proton share doesn’t tumble down, it just hover on corrective figure for the past few weeks.
    proton – mistu collaboration now is very different from earlier as we have more decisiding power on the design and spec. Do not suprise to see in Japan, the convert their car to look like Proton .. hehehe.. :P

• Henry on Jun 07, 2010 at 5:01 pm

Didn’t VW recently invest in a plant in Indonesia? That would be a gateway into ASEAN. Why do they still need Proton in Malaysia?

• kerelbort on Jun 07, 2010 at 5:20 pm

they commision a plant to assemble their MPV if not mistaken…

• pimpT on Jun 07, 2010 at 5:23 pm

bcause PROTON got LOTUS…..there must be “smething” VW want from LOTUS actuallyy……think again people….DO NOT LET OTHERS USE YOURS….

• You know what, you may actually have a point with the Lotus thing. Spare capacities in factory aside; I think Proton’s engineers/ facilities are not anywhere near world class except in theory. Getting Lotus will give VW access to F1. I dont think VW needs Lotus for chassis/ suspension tuning since this is the group that has produced the Bentley Supersports and R8. But they have expressed intention to enter F1 (Audi’s success at other campaigns notwithstanding) and Lotus may be the key. Lets watch…….

• Lotus!? Nah, VW just want potong’s camtakpro technology only. Best class in world muh!

• nobody wants lotus la, pls la. If proton can afford to buy it, it must be something nobody wants.

Are Proton so rich and big compare to VW? think la.

you think RM is bigger than Euro? lol

• Quattro (Member) on Jun 10, 2010 at 12:40 pm

VW NAK MASUKKAN LOTUS UNDER IT SUBSIDIARY..SAMA MCM BMW DID TO ROVER 1 > DIA AMIK MINI COOPER DAN JUAL MG ROVER…SAMA STRATEGY…..

• This time, nobody spoke about a takeover. They just spoke about technical collaboration: Proton would have to build cars for VW and would get paid for it.

Malaysia btw. have skilled workers & engineers and is still the biggest market for passenger cars in ASEAN. It makes sense to build the cars where the cars are sold… ;)

• but the gomen direction hasn’t changed. You can make VW cars here, but they will sell at RM150,000 which not many ppl can afford and ended up they treat you like an idiot, a fat sheep to slugther . BOmba inspection need kopi money, lisen need kopi money, everythin need kopi money.

hahaah. mampus la kita kali ini

• usoff on Jun 07, 2010 at 5:43 pm

proud to be malaysian…cause car price in malaysia is so high…

• raixa on Jun 07, 2010 at 5:48 pm

Just get the tech partner for the advanced diesel, fuel cell and alternative engine building design and hopefully gov would make move to remove the crap euro 2 diesel and replace it with euro 5 like in the europe.

• Squawk on Jun 07, 2010 at 6:26 pm

Just how good are the new Mitsubishis?

• Gunner on Jun 07, 2010 at 7:10 pm

VW is like playez of the games. While proton is like a nice virgin girl. The nature of playez is only want to F##k da puXXy ma. Coz proton want to get marry not only to f#ck ma..Coz marry comes with commitment ma..haha

Anyway, I think crony-ism did not involved in this kind of decision making for partnership with VW. I think whole automotive industries i.e. suppliers or vendors are waiting the deal to get the green light. VW cars will be sold in greater margin than proton. Parts quantities supply will be increase exponentially. More profit by for them.

I believe proton doesn’t like the idea of VW wanted them to be a small cars assembler while they also sell small cars. Direct competition will finish off proton.

• morondetector on Jun 07, 2010 at 8:13 pm

Proton must die. Proton should die.

• think on Jun 07, 2010 at 10:15 pm

actually we have a lot of oppurtunities been hidden,,like a apple hidden in the branch of a tree…not only proton can have good partnership,,other companies which wants to collobrate also have no chance in malaysia…it’s all because of the unknowledged people who leads the automotive sector in malaysia…our tax is high,unimaginable protection to proton and the goverment is just keeping silent…but anything related to price increase they will do immediately but lessening just keeping quiet for years………the fuel price increase which going to happen soon will show how malaysian’s going react as 1 malaysia….may be next election BN will be phased out if they took the wrong step………………….think………..

• More like a rotten apple that wont fall off the tree:)

• oldwira on Jun 08, 2010 at 8:11 am

think so many times, still find out PR is not reliable.

• dickybird on Jun 08, 2010 at 11:31 am

BN is the reason why we are in the very lousy situation, THAT is reason enough to give PR a try.
        it is a like mamak shop (let me try put it in terms you can understand), if the one you always go to cheats you, spits in your food and gives you diarrhoea why would you want to keep going back there? why dont you give other mamak shop a try?

• PR is not reliable and inexperience

• dickybird on Jun 09, 2010 at 8:50 am

bn is corrupt, incompetent, arrogant and believe they are to rule forever.
          oh and i suppose you were born with a Phd degree and a f1 superlicence.
          so from your kepala lembu logic, dont blame anyone if you cant find a job coz u have zero experience.

• hehe….the truth hurt…u know, ’bout PR being unreliable and stuff…hehehe

• dickybird on Jun 09, 2010 at 2:59 pm

i never said they were, but they are still a damn sight better than any bn govt. is it any wonder bn would use underhanded tactics to try and bring down the PR state govts.

• Proton's fan on Jun 07, 2010 at 10:19 pm

this is globalization

• Yong Tofu on Jun 07, 2010 at 10:34 pm

Padan muka!

• Proton's fan on Jun 07, 2010 at 10:38 pm

look like 2019 will be end of the day for our 1 nation. Good ! they quite confident there will be subsidiary to them. They have enough of guts to say “NO” to foreigner

• Elvis on Jun 07, 2010 at 11:16 pm

Jala Idris forgot about Gomen huge subsidies to royal families and cronies. Minus that, we are still rich country.

• Proton's fan on Jun 07, 2010 at 10:45 pm

tak boleh harap ……no more harapan……..elek harapan ….on our kampong biz-niss

• VW has learn a lot about cancellation of VW-Proton few years back. Despite of over RM200M profit Proton made in the few quarters never impressed VW.

The unfruitful deal has a massive blow to the poor Malaysians as we’ll tanggung Proton predicament and diseconomies of scale. VW Vento definitely better than Vios, City and of course BLM.

Pity Malaysians.

• proton facing a tough challange, of course internationally. infact invisible,,,

even in local market, produa will later launch its 1.5 myvi, this compact ,will smack direct into proton car market, not just proton especially the just 1.3 saga blm or satria neo.
    but it will make the the potential buyer of suzuki swift, vios or city might opt to a more exciting power to weight ratio and a low engine speed for economy run.

this is just a local fight,, proton should act fast toward goreng pisang panas kind of model.
    and for the rest of the model range ,engine modernization is needed now.

• they should tabao now. Perodua is having better customer satisfaction and better after sales service. kesian P1,kesian, Juara kampung pun bukan dah, ppl go to thailand and indon already.

Malaysia boleh, 1 malaysia!!!

• Eric G on Jun 08, 2010 at 12:26 am

the reason VW want Proton is because of Lotus. i think.

• Tazio Nuvolaru on Jun 08, 2010 at 9:49 am

Yep..i fully agree with you, Eric.

• ccb1111 on Jun 08, 2010 at 11:42 am

why last time nobody wans lotus and only proton wants it?

why lotus will go bankrupt?

you think only lotus can tune a car?

Remember? Impreza? Remember Evo? Remember Ford focus? Remember Skyline GTR???? Remember Lexus LFA? wait, i dont remember Lotus elise, becos you wont drive your kids in that car, and your mistress prefer to sit in your Golf GTI, so…..Lotus bankrupted,ahahahahahahahahaha. Company bolo.

padan muka. And Proton bought it, but, Lotus elise is selling at RM400k in malaysia, so we never see lotus too often also. hahahahhahaha

• montana on Jun 08, 2010 at 1:54 am

ANY1 NOE WHO LEFT WHO?VW DUN WAN P1 OR P1 DUN WAN VW?

• why dont u guess? LOL
      LOLOLL

P1 dun wan VW? lol., ahahahahah.

Guess u dump Megan Fox or Megan Fox dumped you?

• Yes, I agree, VW tamak and Jual ikan.

• Seriously, Proton will never find any big manufacturer as partner cos they lay down to much of terms that as if others very “hadap” on proton. Once flip their books and see the real stuffs (staffs), no need to diccuss further, typical Malaysia (tak) Boleh!!!

• p4k4bu on Jun 08, 2010 at 9:58 am

Proton is surprisingly … or rather unsurprisingly … quiet about this DEAL OR NO DEAL. :o

Maybe they prefer the rakyat to speculate rather than to know the truth.

But then, who are we to expect things to be any different.

:roll: :roll: :roll:

• Elvis on Jun 08, 2010 at 10:41 am

Last time a lot of hardcore Proton supporters here. Where are they? Not so fun without them actually, making bashers having field day kasi bash kaw2 punya…hahaha…

• dickybird on Jun 08, 2010 at 11:16 am

maybe they took their own advice and got lost since they didnt like what the rest of us were saying about proton. maybe they suah migrate to north korea or myanmar since there is no criticism or cars there. LOL!

• Seriously on Jun 08, 2010 at 3:44 pm

because the truth hurts and they can’t handle the truth :)

• ccb88 on Jun 08, 2010 at 11:49 am

i think they spend their time now at the garage fixing their exora and persona, so, they dun have time for this, wait till the garage is close, then they got free time to defend their thunder cat.

Its not pity to drive a proton, but its really pity to defend their action/arrogant/irresponsiblity/bad product/bad after sales service/ bad design of proton.

• Elvis on Jun 08, 2010 at 1:49 pm

Well, they going to wait for a long time coz theres a long quece at all Proton service & REPAIR centres all over Malaysia. Theres a lot of vacancy for front service officers coz cannot tahan Proton customers complaints oledi..

• Jimmy K on Jun 08, 2010 at 1:57 pm

eleh. bila dh tk jadi .. all parties like .. “mitsu is better partner whatsover”. b4 this everyone is like .. “proton-vgm partnership is gonna be awesome”.

Prffff … peyno .. what’s your say bout this ?? The readers are eagerly waiting your proton-a**-licking comment.

Rgds,
    Jimmy K
    Berlin, Germany.

• Seriously on Jun 08, 2010 at 3:45 pm

The hopelessness… when will they ever learn, put down your pride, you’re dying in your own mess.

• Apanama on Jun 08, 2010 at 3:57 pm

wait lah , proton hardcore supportors are not in garage , they are busy working on project to rebadge Vios and City to become Proton Vios and Proton City . The best part is selling them with proton prices , say 50k for Proton Vios and Proton City . Like Proton Lancer (new waja ) , these 3 models will sell like Ah Soon Ko’s shark’s fin soup .

So , G is happy — huge success for the National Heavy Industry Poicy ,
    P1 is happy — huge profit to G and share holders
    Proton Bashers happy — now they drive Vios and City at Proton prices
    Proton Hardcore Supportors happy — no one cares to kick their ass.

XD XD XD …… just kidding

• Quattro (Member) on Jun 10, 2010 at 12:57 pm

IT IS GOOD IF PROTON CAN HAVE NEW 1.5LITER ENGINE…..LONG AWAIT ALREADY….PROTON VIOS IF IT TRUE > ALL MALAYSIAN WILL HAPPY!!!

• Dear all,

Do you think VW (which have existed even before World War II and have contributed a lot of technological advancement to German’s military might especially during the Nazi’s era) gonna suddenly, bow their pride German head to Proton people, saying “we want Proton’s secret power window technology?”. Proton, dream on! Keep on dreaming with rakyat’s money expense!

• Whatever on Jun 08, 2010 at 9:13 pm

Proposal

P1: I plan to produce Milo tin car and sell it high price so both of us can get more profit from all this malaysian citizen, what do u think ?

Vw: sorry there, I’ll never produce such a low quality car Or sell it at a unreasonable price and treat my consumer as a stupid goat. Our mindset is totally different. Walk your own way then

• Agree with zool, VW tamak and selfish. When Waja came out, a UK magazine says that Waja had precise and better handling then Golf. Dugong and City, I would consider them equivalent to Saga. New City could not even overtake my mum’s Gen 2 1.3 (A) up karak highway…. Cheers

• limsh on Jun 09, 2010 at 8:45 pm

Snippet quote “I have a feeling it’s something to do with attempting to fully assimilate Suzuki and use that brand to both get a very strong foothold in the growing Indian market”

Since both VW and Proton desire to capture growing Indian car market, Of course VW using the T.Malim plant for manufacturing it VW cars for ASIAN export may definitely affected Proton Global expansion and Proton EMAS plans.

Proton may collaborate with Mitsubishi deal, it just a solution to the replacement Proton models (domestic market )

• Yes Waja was the first car made in house by Proton with help probably from German’s EDAG while campro is Proton’s in house engine with help probably from Lotus and Ricardo.

• firefox on Jun 14, 2010 at 9:44 am

ai, proton have to learn walking, rather then take care by gov, then this deal might be sucessfull..else, ‘side income’ for proton is not enought cover where follow the policy of the gov, ‘make some malay people rich among the group of malay, then cover the rest’, but this make really ‘some’ people really really rich, but did not cover the rest of malay group or others races, this policy start since from long time ago, believe or not, if this policy not end it, proton will never let go.

please compare a new company BYD, a new car maker, from china, local sales not much, but export is very good, 5 years company, the market value is better then us.

• limsh on Jun 15, 2010 at 11:46 am

Volkswagen Up!

Smaller version of Polo for Indian auto-market

http://www.worldcarfans.com/110060126587/volkswagen-up-mule-makes-an-appearance