Sydney cops use Alfa MiTo patrol car to “attract attention”

The Sydney Police Force in Australia has taken delivery of its latest patrol car, the Alfa Romeo MiTo. Alfa’s chic baby isn’t the first interesting car to be driven by the coppers from Down Under however; past desirable police cars include the Holden HSV GTO, Fiat 500, Lotus Exige, Chrysler 300C and Alfa Romeo GT.

But isn’t the MiTo a little too tame and dainty to chase down big Aussie muscle? Before you imagine a fashionable, petite lady chasing down a burly beer guzzling guy down the street, the Alfa’s role in the Force isn’t to pursue, but to advocate, although with 155 bhp/230 Nm from its 1.4-litre turbo, it shouldn’t do too badly when duty calls.

“When it comes to visibility, the MiTo has proven to be an exceptional car, attracting attention and interest like no other car, with its primary role as providing a talking point from which we can discuss road safety,” Chief Superintendent Bradley Shepherd explained.

“We see this as practical and highly cost effective way that we can play our role in a safer community for everyone. Our cars assist the Police in making contact with a wide range of people so they can discuss and offer help with road safety and crime prevention, as well as providing the practical assistance of transport. We believe that this is a very positive role that we can play in the community,” said Andrei Zaitzev, GM of Alfa Romeo Australia.

One more photo after the jump.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• shawal on Jun 07, 2010 at 3:19 pm

well… Malaysia got Eagle Squad in Evo Xs baybeh….~!

• theanswer on Jun 07, 2010 at 3:22 pm

haha i thot they like satria gti.

• jaguarXJ on Jun 07, 2010 at 3:28 pm

heck yeah,malaysia use evo 10!

• xtrail on Jun 07, 2010 at 3:30 pm

Nice car…

• mpit3 on Jun 07, 2010 at 3:32 pm

kecik kecik cili padi…

• Peter on Jun 07, 2010 at 3:43 pm

Our EVO10 are much more powerful……haaa…

• like the mito more than a mini cooper,…saw one at SD autoconnexion show at 1 utama recently…very nice and a potent 1.4 turbo engine too (shared wt Fiat)

• Paul,
    Dun forget our boys in blue hv d Kancil as a patrol unit while d Evo n V6 for chasing too.

• Firdaus Abdullah on Jun 07, 2010 at 4:28 pm

if you think that’s cool, check out this:

http://quazen.com/recreation/autos/lamborghini-police-car-in-london-the-worlds-coolest-cop-car/

..and it’s back in 2007!!!

• Mujahiddin on Jun 07, 2010 at 4:37 pm

Better in Red though, with the police stripes of course.

• Germany use Brabus CLS Rocket la…. Even better than our Evo 10… But i dun think those car jackers here in m’sia can afford anything faster than our Evos here…

• raybrig on Jun 07, 2010 at 8:32 pm

agreed..pls dont be too proud of the evo…anywhere else got even better car than evo…

• It’s a myth, that german police use Brabus CLS. It was a single showcar only.

German police use mostly the Passat TDI as a patrol car:

http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Mannheim-Polizei-Streifenwagen.jpg

• raybrig on Jun 07, 2010 at 9:49 pm

dude..at least they use their own sports car like porsche, n i do want to correct u..they use merc as their police car..it is not only vw passat…even those bimmers e.g 3 er is become their police car..

but some of here proud of the evo..which is japanese..and why we want to be so arrogant and proud of that??

why u compare the evo with mito??haih..typical malaysian…

• T4vR-Ralph on Jun 07, 2010 at 5:23 pm

Our Cops have SLK!!
    (Small Little Kancil)… lol

• no longer use Satria GTi?

• Squawk on Jun 07, 2010 at 6:15 pm

A police Gallardo will have more presence. :-P

But then their purpose is to attract attention not break any speed records.

• kimi_ on Jun 07, 2010 at 6:21 pm

I remembered the time when our police use KANCIL which cannot even chase those MAT REMPIT………Even those on bicycle is faster than the kancil

• n then when our police bought an Evo’s or any high performance car, some ppl will said makan duit rakyat lah itu lah ini lah.

• _xXx_ on Jun 08, 2010 at 12:06 pm

it’s not fast or slow, it’s dare or NOT dare.

• akupunya on Jun 07, 2010 at 9:07 pm

In Malaysia, the opposite politic party will said it is a waste when PDRM bought a powerful car. But in sydney, their police can make their brand and high image.

For me, all the branded police car just like a lion circus. just for a display and playing. and it already happened on our PDRM EVO. sikit2 masuk static exhibition and highway model.

• Squawk on Jun 07, 2010 at 10:51 pm

It doesn’t cost as much in Sydney to buy an Evo, does it?

• 1. Mentality, our police will probably vroom vroom for fun
      2. Economy – their government is richer, they have most of the basic needs covered, such as water for everyone, education for the poor and so on.
      3. The opposition part will probably be right, we don’t need evo. With our traffic jam, a crook with ferarri can’t get far, and with our tolls on every highway, these criminals are forced to do ‘pit stop’, mana mahu lari?

• goodaymate! on Jun 07, 2010 at 10:34 pm

NSW Police Aussie also got evo X and the stripe also same live PDRM Helang Evo X

• shawal on Jun 07, 2010 at 11:56 pm

The Blue Police gallardo crashed already…..
    UK police uses the XF……such a schweet ride~!

• jaguarXJ on Jun 08, 2010 at 11:07 am

that day i saw a pdrm evo 10,joy riding like a mad police,malaysian cops are so dumb

• Motorist on Jun 08, 2010 at 11:54 am

Saw them stopping a Nissan C22 truck near Penchala Link tunnel.

“Checking documents”, yah rite.

• jaguarXJ on Jun 08, 2010 at 11:17 am

http://www.concept-cars.org/the-worlds-finest-police-cars.html

• Citroen DS3 on Jun 08, 2010 at 5:39 pm

i wonder what car the russian, indian and chinese police uses…