Chevrolet Cruze launched in Malaysia by Naza Group – 1.8-litre engine, 6-speed automatic, RM99K

It’s been a long time coming, and the Chevrolet Cruze is finally here in Malaysia. Unveiled hours ago at the KL Convention Centre by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak, the C-segment global car by General Motors is a fresh start for the Chevrolet brand in Malaysia, which is now handled by sole importer and distributor Pavilion Crest Sdn Bhd, a Naza Group company.

The PM also read out the much anticipated price of the Cruze – RM97,888 for the 1.8-litre sole variant imported CBU from Korea. The on the road price excluding insurance is RM98,767.60. Where does that price stand in the segment? At below RM100K, the Cruze easily undercuts Japanese rivals such as the Altis, Sylphy, Lancer and Civic, but is slightly costlier than the Kia Forte 2.0, which retails at RM93,800 OTR plus insurance. The Forte is also marketed by Naza.

The Cruze is powered by a 1.8-litre Ecotec engine with 140 bhp and 176 Nm of torque at 3,800 rpm. The twin-cam 16-valve unit with DCVCP (Double Continuous Variable Cam Phasing) and VIS (Variable Intake System) is paired to a six-speed automatic gearbox with Shiftronic. The benchmark 0-100 km/h sprint is completed in 11.5 seconds while top speed is 190 km/h. The Chevy is the first in class to have six forward ratios.

Unlike the old Chevrolet Optra, which started life as a Daewoo before assuming other badges, the Cruze was designed as a “world car” that is meant to appeal to all markets, from Europe to China and India. Testing and development were spread across continents, with Korea being just one of the few global production hubs for the Cruze.

Underpinnings and construction methods are the best that GM has at present – the Cruze sits on the Delta II platform that also underpins the current Opel/Vauxhall Astra, while its body structure is said to be very stiff; torsional rigidity is up by 140% over the Optra, with 65% of the structure made of high-strength steel.

The suspension comprises front MacPherson struts and a rear “compound crank axle” unit, which is GM’s way of saying torsion beam. Disc brakes are at all corners, with the fronts being ventilated. The steering is a rack and pinion unit with hydraulic power assist. The Cruze rides on 16-inch wheels with 205/50 Hankook Optimo rubber.

Safety kit includes ABS with EBD, dual airbags and Traction Control. The equipment list also lists a six-disc in-dash changer (factory stereo reads MP3 and has AUX jack, steering buttons), climate control and telescopic steering wheel.

Size wise, the Cruze is 57 mm longer, 42 mm taller and slightly wider than a Honda Civic, while its 2,685 mm wheelbase is only 15 mm short of the Honda’s class leading 2,700 mm. Luggage capacity stands at 450 litres and there’s a full sized spare under the boot floor.

At the event, Martin Apfel, President of GM South East Asia, was full of praise for its new partner Naza, which aims to have over 20 Chevrolet dealers by the end of 2010. A three to four year network expansion plan will see 40 outlets across Malaysia, all 3S centres.

Apfel seems to know that Chevy’s brand image needs some repair though. Recognising that the car is a major purchase in life over here, he said that “it’s not about a sale, it’s about a relationship, and we have to earn back confidence from customers.” Naza boss Dato’ SM Faisal also talked about “repairing” relationships.

I drove the Cruze in Shanghai last year, although it wasn’t a comprehensive test drive in proper conditions. Click here for the brief first impressions.

More images from the launch after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1188]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• me 1sttt…………….

• Great, hope it can get the spare parts easily in the future.

• Wo hen wuliao on Jun 10, 2010 at 7:46 pm

ho liao

• That’s one more choice for the C-Segment.

Hope the after sales service from Naza is good lah.

• HAHHAHA….u think they do so many different brand can provide good services? how many people they hired under each brand? they just wanna make money only la.

• Actually it doesn’t matter. As for their Bestari 206, you can just went to Peugeot service center to service your vehicle. Chevrolet I’m sure you doesn’t need to bring you car ONLY to Naza service center too.

Its the car brand that I trust not the company that bring it in. The main point is back to the pricing XD

• fantastic

• dagaro on Jun 10, 2010 at 7:54 pm

nice…is the engine from Daewoo too?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jun 10, 2010 at 9:34 pm

Ecotec 1.8 is a global GM engine

• Mike Lok on Jun 10, 2010 at 10:04 pm

Hmm… Ecotec sounds really familiar. Could be the newer engine compared to the Nabira engine. The engine output is totally different.

• alldisc on Jun 11, 2010 at 1:03 pm

yes, ecotec engines can find in Opels and Vauxhalls too, as they are all under GM group.

nice one Chevy!. at 99K, this is even much more better purchase than Kia Forte.

• kimi's fan on Jun 10, 2010 at 10:39 pm

danny,

does this engine fuel efficiency

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jun 10, 2010 at 11:44 pm

We will need a proper test drive to find out

• normal_user on Jun 11, 2010 at 8:21 am

when will that be danny? ;)
            can’t wait.

• The oneshift website in SG says the Forte kick the ass of Forte in FC… maybe a shootout can be done in MY also…

• typo… I mean Forte better FC than Cruze…

• Cergazam + naza = poor service on Jun 11, 2010 at 12:48 pm

U sure ah? Cuz Cruze is 6 speeder, whereas Forte is a 4 speeder, more gear ratios more means more fuel efficient? Btw, i’ve read the korean shootout previously between Forte, Avante and Cruze of SG on Torque magazine. Was an interesting comparison n they concluded Forte offers the best value for money.

Btw, just came back from the Cergazam showroom in PJ, boy their sales ppl are all stuck up and judge customers by their ‘covers’, they didn’t even bother to serve us. Furthermore, they will be under Naza group of companies so expect their after sales service to be equally bad as well.

• Danial on Oct 27, 2010 at 12:09 pm

I am going for a test drive of the Cruze later today. I haven’t done so for the Forte as i am looking at either this car or the new Altis. The sales person there seems to be ok only. I worked in and someone came and greeted me after about 5 mins as this was enough time for me to go through the car before i ask a hord of questions. I am trading in my old Merc E280 because i need something new rather than paying a frequent visit to my mechanic every month.

Any news on the quality, maintainence cost is like in their 3S centre. How is it comparable to Toyota Altis maintenance?
            Cruze quality wise?
            I intend to use the car for the next 5 years and i dont expect to have issues like aftersales service

• zahril on Jan 31, 2012 at 10:53 am

hi guys

i would like to know any info regarding cruze engine? is there any turbo ???

• minnow on Jun 10, 2010 at 7:54 pm

wow…good price for a 1.8 conti….6 speed??…man

• exora1 on Jun 11, 2010 at 9:09 am

its not a conti, its an american car/ korean car, lol.

this world is not only jap car and conti car, lol. there are american shitty car, and korean ( getting better like forte ) car.

• its an american/europe/indian/korean’s car…..hmm, .world car…no source of origin,…design in Germany and manufacture worldwide…we got the one coming from Korea..yeap, logistic wise logical ; )

• Zhafri on Jun 10, 2010 at 8:01 pm

Beautiful car! Naza doing the right thing

• .. the sub-RM100k price will be a good point to consider the car considering it’s a C-Segment and packed with some cool specs. Will probably check it out one of these days

• interesting…

• I love the interior..e dashboard is amazing….

• vbkcheng on Jun 10, 2010 at 10:57 pm

Ha? Interior look mer? blue color one ler….Imaging if you get red car with blue interior..

Anyway, SA say that Naza is consider to give 2 more alternative interior, the Red and black.

• shocker on Jun 11, 2010 at 10:30 am

gosh, hope they offer all black interior though… the blue makes it look like a toy car.. :(

• Cynical on Jun 11, 2010 at 11:36 am

The blue trimming makes it look cheap

• Danial on Oct 27, 2010 at 12:13 pm

Actually, it depends on the person if they like the interior or not. Depend on taste. Some like Toyota, some like Honda. I think the interior is ok. Different from the Merc E280 i have. I can describe as dashing, abit futuristic, sound design. I do not expect the interior to be every bit similar to other cars, or else it will be just too boring. I guess Toyota and Honda play it save and kept it simple. Proton is just too simple. Not much tought was put in to it but they you go on the price. You pay with what you get. Proton has a different market all together.

• the blue thing really a turn down.. awwwe

• austin_cipan on Jun 10, 2010 at 8:16 pm

groovy…

• cruze on Jun 10, 2010 at 8:19 pm

the power plant on par with civic 1.8!!not bad the price..

• With extra gear ratio…6 vs civic’s 5 speed

• paultan fan on Jun 11, 2010 at 11:42 am

so now we know that Civic is overpriced in Malaysia

• all car is overprice in Msia.

• bodohly protonized on Jul 28, 2010 at 9:15 am

lol…. that’s for sure.
            protect the proton….

proton persona is only RM30k in UAE, how much u get in M’sia?

• Danial on Oct 27, 2010 at 12:18 pm

Hi Paul Tan. Kudos to the information here. I guess all the cars are truly over priced here in Malaysia but what the heck, we have to live with it. I know prices in Australia which i just came back, the Toyota Altis 1.8 is priced at only RM 64000. Big difference ain’t it!

I guess the Honda Civi 1.8 is over priced here due to demand. So Honda takes advantage and priced it higher. If Cruze has what it takes to match CIVIC then it is going somewhere. If NAZA was to up the ante on its 3S, then Toyota and Honda has a competitor to watch out for. My worries is quality from NAZA especially on its cars as what we buy is different from what has come out of the 3S after many services. My worries is the quality of parts. Where do they come from?

• hmmm.. about 12 k cheaper than equivalent civic 1.8L. but with extra traction control and 6speed gearbox. maybe the civic 1.8L doesnt have 6 cd in dash changer too. Hmmmm looks like accord front weight about 60 kg more than civic 1.8…. hmmm not bad but not overly good bargain

• BSLee on Jun 10, 2010 at 10:24 pm

Features and spect aside;I think the overall drive experience is utmost important. Go and drive a CiVIC in MRR at higher speed will certainly scare you off.

• Camry lover on Jun 11, 2010 at 12:51 am

whats wrong with the Civic? i drove my Civic 2.0 to 200km/h. not scary also.

• DiscoStick on Jun 11, 2010 at 12:58 am

That’z why our accident rate is high.

• Camry lover on Jun 11, 2010 at 7:35 am

speed does not kill, stupidity does.

• DiscoStick on Jun 12, 2010 at 12:49 am

otherz’ stupidity will indirectly/directly cause u who r in high speed in trouble. u may not be stupid, otherz are. and when u thynk u r not stupid, u tense to over confident

• Camry hater on Jun 13, 2010 at 8:11 pm

drive 200kph is stupid.. so speed does kill..

• DonkeyKong on Jun 11, 2010 at 3:06 am

Try driving a C200 at 200km/h, then get back into your Civic and do the same thing. Then you’ll see the difference bro.

• Camry lover on Jun 11, 2010 at 7:36 am

of course diff la. even my Camry is diff.

• exora1 on Jun 11, 2010 at 9:11 am

try driving a ferrari in 200km/h and get back into your mercedes, and then you’ll see the difference in your IQ. lol.

• Seriously on Jun 11, 2010 at 9:14 am

Although I fully agree with your statement, Civic isn’t even in the same league as a C-class.

• cybermaster98 on Jun 11, 2010 at 10:14 am

I cannot understand why ppl love making silly comparisons like this. Why bother comparing a Merc with a Civic? Its really illogical if u ask me. U pay for luxury then u get luxury. If u dont pay for it then why compare with a sub luxury model? Just like comparing a Kancil with a Camry…does it make sense?

• errrr… nothing wrong… Civic cost RM110k+… C-Class is gonna cost double of that at least… but seriously, all will die if the car crashes/skids at 200km/h… no matter its Cruze, Civic, C200 or ferrari…

• Ei Bear on Jun 11, 2010 at 2:44 pm

Maybe he has good quality shock absorber……go 200km/h Jap car with German shocks, who knows, also very stable.

Don’t need to crash at 200km/hr, half of that dangerous enough.

With TCS, EBD, ABS….who knows maybe still able to avoid trouble? Airbag quite useful too.

• fort minor on Jun 14, 2010 at 10:30 am

I’ve driven Merc E200…to me, xshiok pon dat car…not enuff pick up…just feel really comfy..but dat’s is wut the is supposed to provide i guess..diff poison for diff people……pick wutever suits u.cheers!!

• mickey7926 on Oct 03, 2010 at 11:24 pm

nah civic is not that impressive!i drove my brothers civic in kesas!192 hmm shaky d …zzz

• cucukman on Jun 11, 2010 at 12:40 am

still cannot beat my persona se……

• johnny on Jun 11, 2010 at 8:10 am

totally right..

• protonlousy on Jun 11, 2010 at 8:20 am

do u see Malaysia team in World Cup FIFA?
        but u see US and South Korea in World Cup right..

your persona and chevrlot cruze is like above statement.why never reach FIFA…
        only one answer,not quality, not capable and full of BULL……………SHEEP…

• dumbfucks on Jun 11, 2010 at 9:41 am

wah, bangga-nya. MAde in Malaysia, engineered by Malaysian, driven by proud Malaysians.

• paultan fan on Jun 11, 2010 at 11:49 am

aiyoo. jgn la buat lawak disini. 1.8 vs 1.6, 6 speed vs 4 speed, 5 star EURO NCAP crash test vs dont know star crash test.

kalau sekalipun suka Persona, banding lah scr logik dan adil sikit. wat malu company jer

• Squawk on Jun 11, 2010 at 8:51 pm

It’ll be better if Persona had a steering wheel that feels & looks like the Cruze’s.

• Squawk on Jun 12, 2010 at 1:26 pm

This is a ultimately a GM world car. I’ve driven 100% and almost 100% American cars and unless you’re driving a Corvette, which is a beast to drive (but new one’s great I read), they’re really not that great. They’re mostly about looks, straight line speed & horsepower and suffer on interior quality, reliability and driving finesse.

So if Daewoo has absorbed some of these GM traits, I wouldn’t put it in the same league as Hyundai or Kia.

• wahahaha…rugi sape sudah beli forte!

• umno juara tipu rakyat on Jun 10, 2010 at 9:39 pm

2.0 forte for 93k..1.8 cruze for 99k…so tell me who rugi now???

• carsut on Jun 10, 2010 at 10:01 pm

if we look at the features given, i rekon this car is the better choice..

• sutheshkumar on Jun 10, 2010 at 10:36 pm

you sure? wat about 6 airbags in Forte, and 2 airbags in Cruze?

• umno juara tipu rakyat on Jun 10, 2010 at 11:09 pm

and dont forget…forte 2.0 got leather seat too vs fabric in cruze!

• You aint got 6 speed autobox in the Forte.

• sutheshkumar on Jun 11, 2010 at 12:43 am

to Name, lets see this: Forte will be updated this year, with a six speeder. Amacam? :D

• DAPtuanPAS&PKR on Jun 11, 2010 at 1:55 am

wow..way to go forte.. !

• Seriously on Jun 11, 2010 at 9:16 am

Given a choice, I’ll take the Forte.

• cybermaster98 on Jun 11, 2010 at 10:16 am

Im a Toyota fan but comparing the Cruze against the Forte at a glance, i would go for the Forte. Specs wise both have their up’s & down’s but i think interior & exterior looks wise the Forte wins. The coloured dashboard in the Cruze looks ugly.

• johnny on Jun 11, 2010 at 8:17 am

ive read a review in singapore. cruze is better in terms of build quality, material and handling. forte is cheaper and better in spec.

• xenogearz on Jun 11, 2010 at 11:49 am

you must have read the review from oneshift website right…i read it too..they prefer cruze over forte

• DAPtuanPAS&PKR on Jun 11, 2010 at 1:59 am

no bodi rugi liow..diff people diff taste.

• DonkeyKong on Jun 11, 2010 at 3:08 am

The ones who rugi are those still being fooled by Honda and Toyota with sub-standard lowly-spec so-so quality high-priced cars.

• ahmad on Jun 11, 2010 at 7:43 am

i always wish that naza can initiate a good car to kill overpriced honda, toyota n nissan cars instantly. this car and forte seems a first step to ensure the h, t n nis to cry foul. last but not least, my wish also the same to p2.

• DimSaleh on Jun 11, 2010 at 7:52 am

Rakyat rugi! We all rugi…. car tax stil high! Loan interest rate increase…
            We r petrol exporting country, why fuel price still expensive than other petrol exporting country?

• get_real on Jun 11, 2010 at 9:20 am

This is true.

• cybermaster98 on Jun 11, 2010 at 10:18 am

So so quality? HAHA. Suits the name: Donkey

• Cynical on Jun 11, 2010 at 11:41 am

Somebody’s butthurt

• paultan fan on Jun 11, 2010 at 11:53 am

change gov to reduce tax especially for low emission car, low fuel consumption car. If they cant reduce tax, so another next election, we will change to BN again. apa susah.

• Kapparo on Jun 12, 2010 at 2:24 pm

rugi? chevy cruze 1.8 litre can only hit 0-100kph in 11.5 sec, top speed 190kph. Honda City only had 1.5 litre engine…0-100kph in 10+ sec, top speed also 190kph…city’s fc is much better at 17km/litre…price is cheaper, although different engine size and segment…WHAT’S IMPORTANT: OUTCOME, NOT OUTPUT….think technically..not emotionally..thank u.

• Nutty Dad on Jun 11, 2010 at 9:44 am

Those rugi are those who still being fooled by Honda, Toyota & UMNO

• lanwm on Jun 11, 2010 at 12:23 pm

Umno? LOL

i like this car
            but knowing Naza, kills me off

Maybe will keep my Waja CPS for yrs to come

• exora1 on Jun 11, 2010 at 9:12 am

camry 2.0 also get 4 speed gearbox, why no body complain?

only rm160k Camry 2.4 get 5 speed gearbox.

• paultan fan on Jun 11, 2010 at 11:55 am

yup. Toyota and Honda overprice. Even Honda Accord 2.4 assembling in Malaysia, the price remain higher side. At rm 175, 000 compare to gulf country at only below RM 75, 000. We Malaysian always cheated by Honda also I thk by Toyota and Nissan

• Ei Bear on Jun 11, 2010 at 2:47 pm

We have special excise duties here.

It is not just the number of gears that count, engine flexibility and also efficiency of the gearbox itself also very important.

• iLOVEfifa on Jun 11, 2010 at 1:27 pm

hahah…i ask your question b4~

with all these good buy car coming out from NAZA….. the PUG,KIA,and this new Cruze … NAZA is hammering the long time taiko toyota & Honda…

so now we know TOYOTA and HONDA malaysia sell us ‘kosong car’ so let’s see will they do something not??

for example!… i never see a toyota or honda car with sunroof over here…but i see every honda & toyota comes with sunroof as standard in ShenZhen!!

ducker toyota… sell us cheap vios with high price… sell us unreliable camry 2.4 with only 2 airbags!!

• ppCCqB on Jun 11, 2010 at 5:10 pm

becos ppl believe camry 2.0 is very fuel efficient.

come on la fren, you expect your boss and taukeh all complain to you about fuel consumption?? if you can drive rm140k car, you wont complain about fuel la.

seriously, how much do you pay for Myvi a month on fuel, rm 500 for instance. You think camry one month is RM1000 on fuel? but look at the car price, its 3 times more expensive.

camry 4 speed gear box is a rip off and its not about efficiency or engine, they just wan to make money. Forte 4 speed gearbox is going to obsolete, 6 speed coming.

• Shaekey on Jun 11, 2010 at 10:14 am

Beli Forte ke… Cruze ke… yg untung Naza!!

• scgtimk1 on Jun 11, 2010 at 2:46 pm

At least they are a family business … a much better company then a company where gov. do business like the other Distributor like DH & SD..

• finally..nice car!!

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 10, 2010 at 8:26 pm

Perhaps tough sell against the Forte 2.0…but the 6 speed auto in the Cruze might just be worth the tradeoffs. No smaller turbo powerplant?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jun 10, 2010 at 9:36 pm

Unfortunately, no. We’re also not getting the 1.6-litre

• dont think the powerplant can be any smaller… wif 0-100 at 11.5 secs, its alrdy losing out to a Vios J manual… 10-12 secs are very common numbers among common cars and 11.5 seems like its at the slower end… bet the Forte 2.0 is better buy. just dashboard not as cool as Cruze…

• 6 speed autobox helps to reduce fc. If Chev tuned it properly, tat is…

• DiscoStick on Jun 11, 2010 at 1:01 am

why want to mention Vios? cant stand that car and those Vios J owners. bought the car and rip off the “J” and change the rims and so. C’mon, u ripped off the “J” and no matter how u modify, ppl out der can juz tell it’z J.

• DonkeyKong on Jun 11, 2010 at 3:09 am

Anyone who buys Vios dugong is a laughing stock on our roads, because every non-Vios owner are thinking “What the heck is wrong with that guy??”

• Wow, Vios averaged about 2000+ shipment a month since its release, there must be a lot of laughing stocks on the roads then.

• ahmad on Jun 11, 2010 at 7:49 am

i believe eithr all or one of you own p2 car, i guess. you have been cheated high and low. hehh..

• exora1 on Jun 11, 2010 at 9:14 am

seriously, the new facelift vios is a little bit better la, at least the steering looks nicer, other than that, rm90k looks like an idiot. can get forte 2.0 for that price already.,

what TRD la. hahahhaha

• specpac on Sep 28, 2011 at 1:45 pm

spec to spec,apple to apple,RM to RM……waste of time talking bout comparison to ppl who only knows toyota & honda.can a buy rm80k cars which floating on the road,but still can condaim a only rm50k mid segment malaysian Persona…????????????

• johnny on Jun 11, 2010 at 8:23 am

my yamaha 125z is better to 60 compared to the dugong. does that makes my 125z better than dugong? vios is a good car. but compare the price n spec u get from forte n cruze, its a rip off.

• And dun forget…. Honda City too is a rip off!

• iLOVEfifa on Jun 11, 2010 at 1:33 pm

ya!! why wanna compare to the stupid Vios ?

go and survey, the main issue of Vios is not only its expensive but the safety level is totally out.! i could say this car is so light…. so unstable… its just get better than driving a VIVA only~

and u for those stupid enuf to but the TRD model is really ….aiii…sohai…

• Ei Bear on Jun 11, 2010 at 2:48 pm

u mean “so high’ ha ha ha.

ego mah……very important factor in choosing car.

• DiscoStick on Jun 12, 2010 at 12:59 am

there are two types of vios owner, one is budget-oriented, second is blinded-followers, aka Laughing Stock. They refuse to take p1 and willing to take higher loan to buy a J spec. seriously, a TRD should not be priced higher than the existing J spec’s. TRD at 90k? you_M_W earning easy money from those brainwashed consumers. pathetic.

• Type F on Jun 22, 2010 at 11:20 pm

Vios is just plain stupid car…

• Fed up Malaysian on Jun 12, 2010 at 12:21 pm

Please compare Automatic Gearbox with an Automatic Gearbox… Not Manual.. Your Vios is not in the same segment as Cruze.. Please get your comparison right… You are definitely comparing example of man compare with a woman.. you don’t want use to call you a bimbo right? So compare wisely first before say anything.

• Danial on Oct 27, 2010 at 12:30 pm

I heard in Canada that the Cruze also comes with a 1.4 litr with a light Turbo, something similar to the Golf 1.4 with light turbo. Is NAZA looking to have this also here in Malaysia. I will assume the price should be abit lower than the 1.8, but maybe only slightly by maybe 10k.

• where can i get a comparison between Kia Forte & Chervolet Cruze….both are so tempting…I ain’t sure which to get…

• http://www.caradvice.com.au/33990/comparison-honda-city-holden-cruze-kia-cerato/

• Bro Joe,

All of the reviewer/tester vote the Honda City in last position ; )….while all are divided between the Cerato(Forte) and Cruze.

• Wo hen wuliao on Jun 10, 2010 at 9:40 pm

bro u can click http://www.oneshift.com/articles/article.php?artid=578 for singapore forte & cruze comparison..

• alfarabi on Jun 10, 2010 at 8:27 pm

much anticipated car. rm98k is not bad IMO.

• Great pricing… those who are still waiting for Forte 2.0 can just stretch your budget a bit and go for this..

• techart touch on Jun 10, 2010 at 8:32 pm

GM group finally introduced the Cruze…model that already in racing tournament,WTCC (World Touring Car Championship)…

• Not just racing in WTCC….in fact currently Leading the WTCC manufacturers points ahead of Seat and BMW!!

• cikmie on Jun 10, 2010 at 8:32 pm

smart

• m4xspeed on Jun 10, 2010 at 8:36 pm

Hope Chevrolet will gain an interest with local ppl with this new model and back up with NAZA wide resources and service centre as their selling point.

• mystvearn on Jun 10, 2010 at 8:38 pm

Whoever wants to buy this, buy this quick. Few months down the road, the price will increase as it is eating into P1 sales…

• rally_fan on Jun 10, 2010 at 10:11 pm

i wonder how an RM98k car can affect P1 sales? unless i have misinterpreted who P1 actually is…?

• will affect future waja replacement since it will cost around 90k also…

• impossible laa wei waja replacement 90k… current persona is 55 – 60k, if p1 put new waja 90k… what the f 30k gap doing there?.. current waja only 65k…

new waja will be around 75k only laa..

• ppCCB on Jun 11, 2010 at 9:17 am

why everytime they come out new car in P1 they have to increase the price?

is our money value dropped or the car are getting better? the last time i check, waja din even have airbag.

how come the car in other country did not get more expensive everytime a new car launched?

rm75k buying a WAJA is plain dumb, rm75k can buy a kia forte which is a global car. the proton batch discount the car by 30k already.

girls look down on you when u drive P1, and your wife will be sad.

• paultan fan on Jun 11, 2010 at 12:00 pm

ya it’s true, Waja lancer will be around rm 70 k to rm 80 k. You can choose 1.8 engine or 2.0 engine. I thk in Malaysia, is a worth for money

• adynax on Aug 13, 2010 at 11:08 pm

waja lancer clone will be around 90K, duty excise RM30K from ur PM.Believe me, he sure malaysian will buy lacer clone even its expensive same as perdana,the problematic car.

• mystvearn on Jun 11, 2010 at 4:14 pm

Perdana cost more, slightly bigger engine. But then people will opt for this car. The Forte already being told to increase prices cause eating into P1’s Perdana. That car is 1.6-1.8 so not much different with this one.

• buy this quick as it is still CBU from Korea, few months down the road, maybe become Gurun CKD (will they?).

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jun 10, 2010 at 11:50 pm

GM and Naza are evaluating the viability of a CKD program, but it won’t be so soon

• it was never P1 competitor…
      forte,civic,altis etc.

• DiscoStick on Jun 11, 2010 at 1:04 am

heard from Chevy salesman that for the first 300 units will be priced at rm103,888 (with Insurance). the following badge will come with leather seats and the dashboard fabric parts will be transformed into the same leather materials. Priced at RM113,888.

• ppCCB on Jun 11, 2010 at 9:28 am

The 1.8-litre Cruze came in at 9.3L/100km, the 2.0-litre Cerato returned an impressive 6.2L/100km, and the Honda City’s 1.5-litre engine drank only 5.6L/100km.

• paultan fan on Jun 11, 2010 at 12:03 pm

1.5 ma. mesti la jimat. Tp saya suka Cerato 2.0 6.2 L/ 100 km. kalau betul2, memang berbaloi2

• Fendi on Jun 10, 2010 at 8:42 pm

let see how many will be sold…quite cheap…

• akupunya on Jun 10, 2010 at 8:43 pm

murahnya.
    berbaloi ka?
    resale value mcm mana?
    spare part macam mana?

adakah berbaloi beli?

• theanswer on Jun 10, 2010 at 11:26 pm

bro,
      bru dilancarkan dh tanye macam2. resale value tunggu la org jual nanti.

• DonkeyKong on Jun 11, 2010 at 3:13 am

Unfortunately in Malaysia, resale value depends on 2nd-hand market demand and not the standard of the car or the insured amount. If Naza is stupid like Cergazam and sell services + spare parts at 300% the market value, the 2nd hand value for the Cruze will be no different from the 2nd hand value of the Optras! Poor Optra, it’s a very good car with excellent comfort and soundproofing, but thanks to Cergazam’s greed and stupidity they have royally screwed the Chevy name in Malaysia. Hope Naza can turn it around!

• cybermaster98 on Jun 11, 2010 at 10:23 am

The brand itself means that the resale value will be poor. if u buy this car then dont plan on selling it. Keep it for a long time and take only a minimum loan or buy cash if u can. Most of the Naza models have poor resale values not to mention poor service standards.

• paultan fan on Jun 11, 2010 at 12:05 pm

In Malaysia as I know only Toyota, Nissan and Honda are good resale value bcoz our rakyat suka sama itu keleta jepun

• kimlkt2 on Jun 10, 2010 at 8:43 pm

This car give a lot of pressure to honda civic new version.

• agree….

• yea… honda have no choice… public is expecting HUD unit (on top of 2 layer dash) or 3 layer dashboards for new civic… if not, ppl will not have the ‘wooo-waaah’ a few yrs ago when civic is launched…

• I dun think Honda care much….the weird Honda Freed at RM113K, ppl still buy…saw a few already on the road, conclusion is as long as it got a “T” or “H”, ppl will still buy it ..welcome to wonderland

• paultan fan on Jun 11, 2010 at 12:07 pm

of coz la people in Malaysia just look at H, T and N. Murah ke mahal ke tetap beli, janji Jepun bang. kan ini bolehland. Bolehland means boleh terjadi segala2 nya yg pelik2

• kazos on Jun 10, 2010 at 8:43 pm

welcome home chevrolet cruze, colouring our automotive industry, get the T***** & H**** worry!

• Slum In Bolehland on Jun 10, 2010 at 8:45 pm

cruzy….like alot have seen one on the road SG plate very cun wor….

• what? korea?

• acerman on Jun 10, 2010 at 9:18 pm

ya…I thought Chevrolet is made in US?

• jab strong fierce! on Jun 10, 2010 at 9:40 pm

american branding, korean technology, hence the cheaper pricing

• DonkeyKong on Jun 11, 2010 at 3:14 am

It’s not Korean technology anymore. It’s a global platform, unlike the Optra. The Optra was an excellent car for its price anyway, and it’s a really excellent value-for-money buy in the 2nd hand car market now

• yeap…design in Germany…and called Holden Cruze in Australia

• will the emblem shows ‘NAZA’?

• DiscoStick on Jun 11, 2010 at 1:05 am

dude, if ever it’s Naza emblem, price wud be lower :P

• johnny on Jun 11, 2010 at 8:27 am

haahaaha.. i would buy it for the naza emblem.

• Cynical on Jun 11, 2010 at 11:45 am

Yup, it’ll be cheaper compared to Chevrolet emblem. The car will be exactly the same what.

• Geforce on Jun 10, 2010 at 8:54 pm

Finally it is here after so long. Between, what an affordable price with decent specs.

• wow very nice

• mati katak on Jun 10, 2010 at 9:17 pm

what??!! Just 99k????

It should be priced at least 120K!! Or just round up to 150K, please…

Afterall, Malaysian love cars, willing to pay through their nose, sell their limbs, pay installment for 15 year,etc just to own a car….An expensive car is a mark of their achievement. The more expensive, the better….

Chevy, please revise your price so that it reflect Malaysian strong buying power….

Well, quite the contrary, of course

• what’s wrong with you??if its overpriced, you’ll get angry. if it’s underpriced(good news for potential buyers)you ask to increase the price. people are enjoying the price..except YOU!!

• drMpower on Jun 11, 2010 at 12:13 am

i believe it is a type of PERLI.

but yeah, in term of pricing i guess this may drive honda to overlook their price system.

• dear lh..
        relax… sarcasm la….. cannot understand meh?.

• ppCCB on Jun 11, 2010 at 9:30 am

honda and toyota is now a premium brand, like conti already, lol

• shocker on Jun 11, 2010 at 10:45 am

guys, he’s just being sarcastic.. chill

• ahmad on Jun 11, 2010 at 7:57 am

really like your joke..but hoping our policy car maker not taking this seriuosly, otherwise they wil f***** the car price

• nice car~

• Denfire on Jun 10, 2010 at 9:36 pm

Cheated by the salesman, last weekend go for their sneak preview, the sales man told me is 102k. But now it is less then 100k with insurance…
    A good price. Good work naza..:D My another choice of car..:D

• Aaron Isaac on Jun 10, 2010 at 9:37 pm

nice car. I’ve driven it. Better value than Vios or City. Perdana killer

• nobody is going to buy perdana either…

• perdana is a old model…P1 need to change the car fast…very fast…

• vbkcheng on Jun 10, 2010 at 11:00 pm

P1 to come out with new perdana? It is like buang duit into river…better say our tax payer money lar…THis segment is red ocean…P1 won’t survive one…

• theanswer on Jun 10, 2010 at 11:30 pm

yeah thats why p1 still trying to hold on to the old pv6. i think the only 2.0 car in msia without airbag..crazy..

• ahmad on Jun 11, 2010 at 7:59 am

hey you, vios j (old) also have no airbags. what they have only cloth bags..hah hah

• DonkeyKong on Jun 11, 2010 at 3:16 am

Perdana is dead in the water for so long, bro. Only govt agencies buy it. No regular consumer buy Perdana anymore. Ask any insurance panel workshop about the Perdana, they can tell you that Perdana’s safety level is very, very poor!! The chassis is so weak, the rigidity is not even half of the Persona’s chassis, and it doesn’t even have airbags!

• motberg on Jun 11, 2010 at 11:29 am

They are still selling the Perdana??? talk about flogging dead horse…

• this is not city or vios competitor….
      perdana was not in the picture long time ago…
      just to fulfil govt quota only…
      wait till new perdana launched, then we should get private/corporate registration, instead of for govt fleet only..

• umno juara tipu rakyat on Jun 10, 2010 at 9:37 pm

the interior looks way better than forte..but rear end not that cun though

• thumbs up for tis Cruze……

• umno juara tipu rakyat on Jun 10, 2010 at 9:52 pm

if i’m buying it..i’ll choose the red one…looks fierce & garang from the front!

• DAPanakbapakpunya on Jun 11, 2010 at 1:51 am

v.. attractive price. all the best naza.

• DenFire on Jun 11, 2010 at 9:54 am

If you check on the real car, red is not that attractive but a white 1 looks stunning …

• umno juara tipu rakyat on Jun 11, 2010 at 10:33 am

really??..too bad..i think red would be awesome on cruze

• sip0tsed0t on Jul 13, 2010 at 12:06 pm

yeah.. it’s t0tally 0utrageous.. compared t0 m0r0n dug0ng..!

• sip0tsed0t on Jul 13, 2010 at 12:08 pm

suits me very2 well.. it is so manly…

• David on Jun 10, 2010 at 9:53 pm

Just went for a quick test drive at the Cergazam showroom along the Federal Highway, and first impressions were definitely convincing.

The exterior design may be odd to some people’s tastes, but it’ll eventually grow on us as well. The same goes to the interior, which looks good, and most importantly, feels well screwed together. I should go on to say that it even beats a Camry in terms of feel-good impressions as well as build quality.

However, there was one minor problem:- the sports-like seats and driving position may not be to everyone’s tastes. No doubt it’s actually very supportive, but the low-slung position may not suit everyone.

So, a test drive followed immediately after that. The brakes were the first thing to impress, with good stopping power, and coupled up with sharp steering, and a flexible engine, it is sure to be a winner.

But, there was one thing that let down the whole thing:- The 6-speed gearbox. In auto mode, it is smooth and responsive, but take control of it manually and the flaw comes out of hiding. When changing up a gear, it took too long to do so and i had to press the throttle more to make it go faster.

Gearbox aside, this car is definitely one of the best mid-sized sedans ever tested. Distinctive, edgy design, spacious cabin, really enjoyable handling, and to top it off,

• hmmm… good comments… i actually like low-slung seats… gone were the days which i could sit as low as the wira… i actually think wira is the benchmark… the civic in the 90’s used to be very low slung, but now… manufacturers sacrificing sporty positions to accomodate more knee length…

• DonkeyKong on Jun 11, 2010 at 3:18 am

I’m sure an ECU or TCU firmware update at the service centers will eventually solve the gearbox problem..

• Hm… somehow I don’t think so, it’s a torque converter. I noticed that the lag in “manual” shift has been in every torque converter car for ages.

• Seriously on Jun 11, 2010 at 9:29 am

sports-like seats? O.o

• David on Jun 11, 2010 at 3:53 pm

what i’m trying to say is that the seats are quite low, reminding me of a sportscar. Still, different people have different tastes.

• rosdi on Jun 10, 2010 at 9:54 pm

No thanks, I will wait for the new Polo GTI 2010 thank you.

• bro, polo gti different class from cruze la, price wise also cannot compare d…

• theanswer on Jun 10, 2010 at 11:30 pm

kah3..trying to act smart..but nope.. sorry.

• what do you expect from a 4 year old commenter (look at his pic)… sigh…. :)

• ppCCB on Jun 11, 2010 at 9:40 am

dont be a cheapo, buy a proper car, buy Golf GTI.

Polo gti for below 25 years old kid, ok?

or buy passat CC.

• iLOVEfifa on Jun 11, 2010 at 1:47 pm

another sohai comparing car in different segment~

go buy ur POLP baby-T at one-utama now~

• kimi's fan on Jun 10, 2010 at 9:54 pm

Can anyone explain below this statement ?

“The suspension comprises front MacPherson struts and a rear “compound crank axle” unit, which is not independent.”

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jun 10, 2010 at 10:04 pm

It’s GM’s way of describing torsion beam or twist beam

• if it is not P1, then nobody will condemn torsion beam.. else, die die die…

• DonkeyKong on Jun 11, 2010 at 3:21 am

Torsion beam has its merits despite having a poorer geometry for aggressive driving compared to a rear multilink setup. It’s easier to tune a car for comfort with a torsion beam setup, and it frees up more flat space at the floor pan. There are less bushings for wear-and-tear. Even a big car like the Sylphy uses a rear torsion beam to good effect, with excellent legroom, boot volume and ride comfort.

• ahmad on Jun 11, 2010 at 8:08 am

agreed with you but some of the people still thinking the torsion beam is outdated.

• ppCCB on Jun 11, 2010 at 9:41 am

a lot of european hot hatch are using torsion beam.

• japs are way2 btter than that fuel sucking chevy
    honda civic are 5 years newer than this ‘new; chevy
    not aero dynamic, ugly interior

• Denfire on Jun 10, 2010 at 10:32 pm

dun just judge by looking at the pic. go see the real thing, test it before you put ur own opinion. Design is a very personal thing. Some says it is good and some says it is not. U just act like a pure basher and Honda Fan Boy only..

• David on Jun 10, 2010 at 10:37 pm

dude, you really need to change your mindset of ‘japs are better than other stuff’ mentality. I used to drive and buy only Japanese care until i finally bought a Hyundai Accent this year. And i had no regrets, ’cause it’s actually more reliable than it’s competitors, cheaper to service, not to forget being such a nice place to sit in, actually.

• David,

Yeap, agreed wt u….my slanted H is more reliable than my straight H

• David on Jun 11, 2010 at 3:51 pm

speaking of which, a friend’s Honda Civic had starting problems immediately after coming out of the showrooms, not to forget having G/B problems too. When i told her of my Korean H, she was like ‘OMG….i wish i had bought a Korean rather than Japanese’………..which Hyundai do you have anyways?

Mine’s the MC Accent, the current one. It’s actually alot more stable than a Vios at 120 km/h, and managed to corner tidier than it as well. Servicing came to just over Rm120 which includes semi-syntethic oil. I’ve actually had a lot of my friends mocking me for buying a Hyundai, saying that i’ve wasted hard-earned money on a ‘lousy in their eyes’ car, but to prove them wrong, i took them out for a spin in it and they were shocked with how comfortable and spacious the car was, not to mention a smooth ride, as well as extras like leather seating, a USB/AUX ready stereo and most importantly, the immaculate finishings of the materials. And, at 68k, what more can i say?

• DonkeyKong on Jun 11, 2010 at 3:22 am

Please come out of the cave, bro. It’s not 1995 anymore, the year is 2010. Please wake up from your coma. The Koreans are trashing the Japanese marques everywhere around the world in terms of design, technology and innovation.

• sureshking on Dec 31, 2010 at 5:32 pm

I totally agreed Korean car is cathing up in the market with their good perforamance and beautiful design cars.

• shawal on Jun 10, 2010 at 9:57 pm

Its a left-field choice , those who wants something different ( and probably optra drivers before )
    It will probably give proton drivers an upgrade if the Forte is too small, but it wont convert nissan , toyota , honda worshippers. If you’re going to blow 100K on a car during a course of 9 years, let it be a civic, its slightly expensive…but… its proven, with service centers everywhere..

The car looks nice, but it doesn’t look like a 100K car… not with those wheels and all black steering wheel (a silver insert would be nicer to match the dashboard)…

• JKucing on Jun 10, 2010 at 9:57 pm

Paul/Danny,

Is the blue color interior optional? what is the default color then? TQ…

• takin on Jun 10, 2010 at 10:01 pm

the back reminds me to the honda civic!

• Najibest on Jun 10, 2010 at 10:07 pm

does it come with only 2 airbags? i read on the website that 2 front airbags and side airbags comes with L version only…however as far as i know what was launched is the LT version…kindda weird since the LT version should be the higher spec’ed version…hmmm can you clarify plz

• odi862 on Jun 10, 2010 at 11:43 pm

If you want more airbags with the price around that,, get the Lion brand……the Frenchmen sure are generous in fitting extra airbags in their cars.

• DonkeyKong on Jun 11, 2010 at 3:23 am

Yup. Only a Peugeot 308 and a Forte 2.0 come with 6 airbags at that price range.

• najibest on Jun 11, 2010 at 8:21 am

yup a bit disappointed with the airbag count….i wonder if it is still rated at 5 Star EURO NCAP after removing all those side airbags….

• Yeap..safety wise, Naza’s Pug will always be better (euro more concern wt safety…maybe they value life more than asian and japs..hehehehehe) and the Forte too!

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jun 10, 2010 at 11:55 pm

There is only one trim level in Malaysia, and this is it

• the_noble_mind on Jun 10, 2010 at 10:19 pm

Again, the best car sold by Naza, see what happen to Forte, being a good car but maintenance wise you need to see their track record in providing their services. If you know what I mean

• johnny on Jun 11, 2010 at 8:37 am

give em a chance. we all know they sucks but surely they are improving.

• paultan fan on Jun 11, 2010 at 12:31 pm

in malaysia we didn’t have an enough of choice. If want buy T and H its overpriced. so Naza car (Peugeot, Chevrolet, Kia etc) is a good option

• Cynical on Jun 11, 2010 at 11:50 am

No, I don’t know what u mean. U mean word of mouth, or auntie’s talk?

• Gary Pang on Jun 10, 2010 at 10:24 pm

Cheaper Than a Civic 1.8!

• trav_da_man on Jun 10, 2010 at 10:26 pm

Good value for money but the looks is plain and not as nice as forte. Btw this car performed well in WTCC too.

• Grand car that can compete with Japanese cars.

• Naz@AE111 on Jun 10, 2010 at 10:46 pm

habis la altis.. ada saingan sdh ni.. hahaha..

• theanswer on Jun 10, 2010 at 11:32 pm

T & H mmg boleh bungkus kalau ikut price..tapi msian maseh beli tanpa tgk spec..janji ade logo T & H. Tgk harga city n vios..bleh dapat forte 2.0 dh kalau high spec.

• johnny on Jun 11, 2010 at 8:40 am

T & H are already established n known for their reliability n aftersales. some ppl look for that instead of spec. give others some time and they should be able to be at par with T & H.

• paultan fan on Jun 11, 2010 at 12:32 pm

malaysian mentality. beli ikut nafsu dan ikut orang. Bukan ikut akal dengan membandingkan spec dan harga

• bobdbilder on Jun 10, 2010 at 10:47 pm

Why does 176Nm of torque only gets you 0 – 100 in 11+ secs? Must be heavy? 1.3 tons…hmmm… not really that bad…its the 205 R16 tyres? Or could it be the auto? Answer on a postcard…

• slow&heavy on Jun 10, 2010 at 11:14 pm

It’s actually a turtle in disguise.

• a fancy turtle…

• bobdbilder on Jun 10, 2010 at 11:40 pm

How ’bout a combination of all:

1.3 tons of NCAP steel, 16in (5 hole) rims, 205 wide tyres, gawdowful tranny, power sapping Euro 4 compliant emission,

• DonkeyKong on Jun 11, 2010 at 3:25 am

Probably nothing that an aftermarket extractor and cat replacement can’t fix. Throw in lightened crank pulley, free-flow drop-in filter and other simple mods, and I’m sure the car will come to life.

• my guess is its heavy….its a worldcar which need to have the minimum safety stds for those euro’s mkt….

• omg!

the design is so civic-ish!

only uglier.

lol

• Maserati on Jun 10, 2010 at 11:29 pm

Saw this car in real life.It was a Sg registered car in KL.Back is hideous ,and based on the pictures above,the interior is indeed damn plasticky and cheapo.

I test drove the Forte 2.0 and it felt like driving a 1.8l car.It was least engaging and fun to drive.Steering was stiff like hell and hated every moment sitting in that car.

For this Chevy, 0-100km/h takes 11.5 sec? That is freaking slow for a 1.8l car lah.Even my Honda City can get that kinda timing.

Nah,this car will not sell well in Msia..

• johnny on Jun 11, 2010 at 8:43 am

hahaa.. another envious victim of the H brand.

• ppCCqB on Jun 11, 2010 at 9:53 am

unless you’re driving a maserati or you’re driving a Vios, otherwise, you’re insane.

i test drove forte, and my fren drove like a test driver, the car performed so so well. and if you’re looking for light steering, go for myvi or vios, high end car or conti will comes with a heavier steering for more feedback and feel.

you must be a small car driver, lol

OH U DRIVES the cheapest car in honda, no wonder.

try civic and type R steering. :)

• shocker on Jun 11, 2010 at 11:04 am

aiya, another Honda fanboy….. sigh…

• Cynical on Jun 11, 2010 at 11:54 am

Honda City only? With that kind of comment, I thought you’re driving an Audi R8

• Barotha on Jun 10, 2010 at 11:31 pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7jmSnWT7gAs Look at this cruze review. Any comments on the engine and gear box? Is it same like here?

• mmm..saw on the website that this car got side airbags..

http://www.chevrolet.com.my/cruze/index.html

can anyone confirm this?

• 6 years ago I bought a Chevy, Optra 1.8. I said, “value for money, nice design, Nissan, Toyota, Honda mati-lah”. Looking back, I should have gone with the Japs. Chevrolet do not have resale value. Used car company offered me only $20k last month. Good car but costly on depreciation…..good to buy second hand, cheap, much cheeper

• Andrew on Jun 10, 2010 at 11:41 pm

Naza… pls CKD volkswagen or rebadge a VW :D

• Cheap Forte on Jun 10, 2010 at 11:42 pm

Good, better than Forte in term of CBU, and hanging it’s own batch. No need to rebadge to NAZA.

And 6 speed is economical?? If not just another sluggish one.

For 140BHP, 176NM, if match with DSG, sure under 10 secs.

• 6 years ago I bought a Chevy, Optra 1.8. I said, “value for money, nice design, Nissan, Toyota, Honda mati-lah”. Looking back, I should have gone with the Japs. Chevrolet do not have resale value. Used car company offered me only RM20k last month. Good car but costly on depreciation.

Checked on-line and this model starts for USD16,995 in the US almost 50% off after converting!!!!

• odi862 on Jun 10, 2010 at 11:53 pm

That’s the way it is in our used car market. Only the Japs brands have good resale value. Others are not so good even for local brands……the Conti brands are even worse……

• I am not sure about continental brands, but my brother bought a Waja in 04 and his resale is higher than mine!!! I lost an extra 40+K on depreciation…..now I am waiting for the new Waja to be launched and will than change to that….save some RM

• Seriously on Jun 11, 2010 at 9:36 am

correction: some Conti brands…

• Cynical on Jun 11, 2010 at 11:56 am

If you’re so concerned about resale price, buy a house instead.

• Maserati on Jun 10, 2010 at 11:43 pm

Cannot lahh,once you sit in Jap cars,you just cannot DRIVE a Korean or American + Korean car anymore.It will feel inferior and weird.

Just by looking at the pics alone already have no mood to see this car further.YUCKS!

Just bcuz it has won numerous awards overseas ,doesnt mean its gonna sell well here.Just look at the MONDEO,until now,I think i saw like 1 Mondeo on the road.

This car is for ppl who got a tight budget but want to be different from other ppl,but regret later on.

CIvic or Altis anytime man!

• Chris on Jun 11, 2010 at 12:04 am

it is because all u ah bengs like toyota and hondas for uncle who dunwan or kedekut to repair and service cars…
      people oversea can change car every 3 years…thats why they like this car…this is one good looking car just like the forte…

im sure that u are 1 of the ah bengs or uncles who drive T & H…and you are surely a boring person with little friends…

• Tiadaid on Jun 11, 2010 at 9:14 am

Urgh! As an owner of a Japanese car I’ll say NEVER AGAIN! Of all the cars my family ever owned, the Jap car’s the ONLY car that needed a gearbox transplant! And that includes several P1 cars!

• tHe^CuLpRit on Jun 10, 2010 at 11:47 pm

light colors looks very unflattering….. but i think in darker colors or black it’ll look awesome

• Richard on Jun 10, 2010 at 11:54 pm

I personally drive a ‘S-plate’Chevrolet Aveo, and saw this Cruze in Ubi showroom 1 year ago. IMHO, it really looked nice at the first sight but slowly you’ll discover that it’s still – a typical Korean car, and doesn’t really look that nice as it’s nor elegant in size and not zippy enough on the roads, after some times. It’s like a ‘much smaller Malaysian-version Camry’ from the back.

Bear in mind that we’re no getting any ‘WRC’or ‘WTCC’version here. All ‘Korean’ cars come with general ‘problems’ as below:

– Underpowered engine
    – Unreliable QC
    – High FC (especially during jam, I drive one ‘siblings’of it which claims to be the most fuel efficient écotec’engine’ everyday so I know)…
    – etc.

Read this as from SG starting 2nd half 2009: http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_reviews.php?CarCode=10753

Now in SG the 1.6(A) version (base model, meaning émpty’) sells almost the same price as an Aveo 1.4(A). I can still see ppl buying new Aveo regardless on the high COE price. So, there’s something to think about here.

One last thing, the rear lights are not appearing in 4 ‘bulbs’, meaning it’s like an Altis (or any other normal rear light with brake lights), not like civic/city (4th generation) / even Aveo itself! Making it a bit ‘old’. Anyway, can be ‘modified’ by doing something on the back fog-lights (if any? for malaysian version?)

Just my 2 cents.

• reuben how on Jun 11, 2010 at 12:14 am

I think that if you investigated a little more thoroughly, then your views would be worth a little more than two cents. Korean car makers have made significant improvements and brands such as hyundai kia rate very highly in respected industry standard surveys such as those done by JD Powers and associates. Malaysians should be embarassed by the fact that Proton used to be a much better car maker than Hyundai – Kia. Well, its just like the advertisements in Astro, saying how Malaysia used to defeat the Koreans in the 1960’s and 1970’s in soccer. I think Malaysians don’t understand how to be embarassed.

• You’re just another Proton basher. I’m not talking about Proton here.

Btw, what car do you drive? Korean? Great! Me too as I mentioned! At least proton cars are not fuel thristy, even Singaporeans agree with that! :)

• Also, you mentioned Hyundai + Kia. Not Chevrolet (mostly daewoo in this part of the world). Which Hyundai or Kia are you driving???

• malaysian views of cars are highly distorted.
        so to look at surverys on cars by average malaysian..
        it would be the general belief or trend, but the views might also distorted.
        much more distorted, if their survey pools are mostly T&H “faithfools”..

• You have a highly distorted view on Malaysians, Malaysian, if you are. Or even worse, you’re not!

Own a Japs & Korean car at the same time, I believe both “reuben” and yourself will AGREE with the so-called ‘average Malaysian!’

Do you own both?

• jaguarXJ on Jun 11, 2010 at 12:01 am

cadillac look alike,haha

• HI PAUL TAN…. i want to hear a test drive from you and giving recommendations wit the sub rm100k cars and maybe put it against the altis 1.6 also. hope to see one soon bro….

2) any news of chevy colorado coming in?…. since NAZA, chevy looks more active in bringing in new cars…. thats my point of view…..

• look at the numbers of Forte on Malaysian road. Still not popular althougth so much of huraah on any Malaysia Car magazine. Malaysiaan still buys dugong even if they increase it by another 10k

• DonkeyKong on Jun 11, 2010 at 3:31 am

No wonder Toyota can pay off their lawsuits and fines in the US with no problems.. the costs are all absorbed by dumbass Asian buyers

• johnny on Jun 11, 2010 at 8:51 am

bro, im not sure where r u staying but in my place i can already see a lot of forte. easier to find compared to altis, latio n even new city.

• Yeap..seen a lot of Forte lately and look very nice…few times i tot it was an Audi!

• Genki on Jun 11, 2010 at 12:23 am

yea. its a dated design. and will look korean after a few days. fuel consumption is horrible. you wonder how did they ever manage to achieve bad fuel consumption. while its true too many people buy honda and toyota in malaysia. but this is a bad choice if you choose to buy it.

they’ll replace it in a year or two. u can count on that. if u base your reviews on australian reviews. be careful. they are biased and are always biased when it comes to gm rebadged cars be it korean or not. give it one year and you can tell the truth from sales and second hand prices. these biased reviews are always proven wrong.

• DonkeyKong on Jun 11, 2010 at 3:35 am

2nd hand prices of Hyundai in the US are higher than in Malaysia. Honda USA CEO says that “Hyundai is awesome”, and that Honda’s threat in the coming years isn’t Toyota.. instead, Honda and Toyota’s threat in the coming years would be Hyundai-Kia.

But only in Malaysia and other Asian markets, with T&H worshippers and a highly immature car-buying public, can T&H survive and absorb their losses in other parts of the world.

• All Hail NAZA. Why not we push for the 1.4 eco tec engine? THAT would give room for more features and a lower price point. Lets hope.

• At 99K, it’s definitely overpriced and overrated.

Ppl buy ‘Korean’ in SG due to lower price (like myself). But with this kind of price in Malaysia, even Vios/City is ‘better’ in terms of overall package for longer term.

Many Japs car contender tend to offer ‘more features’ as wow factors to lure us buying. I have to admit that they are indeed very catchy. However, we don’t just use a car for 3~5 years and I believe there are still more ppl keeping their cars for many years to come. So, in Malaysia, sad to say that but still, 100K for something way better. :)

• is it??

Hyundai Avante 1.6(M) in Singapore $55,999 ~RM131,809
        http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_overview.php?CarCode=10356
        Hyundai Avante 2.0 in Malaysia RM 90,888
        http://www.thecar.com.my/car0009289/hyundai-avante-hd-2.0.html

• Vios TRD Sportivo in malaysia RM92,000
        http://paultan.org/2010/04/15/facelifted-toyota-vios-launched-rm72k-to-rm92k/
        Vios 1.5 E LX (M) in singapore $64,988~RM152,952
        http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_overview.php?CarCode=10397

• who say cheaper?

• the plus part is that singapore does not hav national car

• Ahmad on Jun 11, 2010 at 10:24 am

dei..learn economy first..don simply change the rate. u thing singaporean work in malaysia? how much their income? you should know that $S1.00 in singapore is equivalent RM1.00 in malaysia.

• The thing is you CONVERT the SGD to MYR, and you’re comparing different Avante to Vios.

Yes, you’re right, that’s the thing Malaysia should love and hate at the same time: We love it as we have national car, and we don’t as well!

If you know the structure of how a car is priced in Singapore you wouldn’t say this. Most $$$$$$$$ goes to SG Government! Worse than in Malaysia! That’s the latest COE price hike again.

Let me rephrase it: ‘Ppl buy Korean car in SG than Japanese car in SG due to cheaper’ price, NOT comparing to buying one in MY. Dude.

• then y r we comparing malaysia with other country…? actually i did learn some economy in my uni days (minor subject) im chemistry graduate…i know how structure car price in singapore work…even japan, US n euro structure i hav done read n search..i read do a lot n do some research(kinda…)..a bit lazy to write bout that…i hav said it in this blog before…how the car price in every country have its pro and con fr wat im understand

• i just compare with avante of cheapest price in singapore n the priciest in malaysia…same with vios…same model diff spec….if u read n not bias u will see malaysian comparing malaysia auto n other country auto system….so y i could not compare with singapore

• Hyundai and proton….

fr the start hyundai founded by private sector n run by privateer…
            fr thew start proton founded by the G initiative n G own it….malaysian big private company to coward to invest in any area (not include GLC ok) n we all know run G cannot as efficient (several r gud eg petronas) as private company coz the best people r in private sector ….if u look closely hyundai start as construction company!! now it is the fourth largest car maker…only my opinion n i do not know u all agree or not….

• Research AND buying ONE is different. Have you bought in 2, or 3 different countries at 1 time?

Whoever can research anything, but in the end is day-to-day travel that gives all sort of feedback in terms of car quality, service, FC, etc.

You should do more lab test than ‘reading’ CH3C00H, if you have the chance.

• dude..u don understan wat u wan to say

• You don’t either at the first place.

CHEAPER Korean cars compared to Japs in SG.

Potentially higher priced Korean cars compared to Japs in MY.

Continue your research, chemist.

• i just wan to be factious here n not just pop in the head..don angry la..im merely answering ur Q maa

• Before you can say “you understand what you’re trying to say”, … …

buy cars in MY, in SG, and perhaps you can too in US, UK, Japan, as you mentioned. Compare all the exchange rates, SURE you’ll end up screwing everything you see and saw on net and end up, still typing pathetically on screen looking at the price to pay, without driving ANY.

Btw, I own cars in MY & SG. Japs and Koreans. I pay everything including TAXES and INSURANCE in both countries. I pump the petrols so it goes thru my nerves when one actually cost more to maintain than the other, on daily basis.

• that ur prob that u created……don angry la bro..tru that korean cheaper than jap car…but its cheaper to buy korean and jap car in malaysia compare to buy in singapore..the car in singapore way too pricey

im just comparing the fact…u should angry other people here who like to compare

• I’m not angry with you but the fact that you naively compared price by exchange rates.

I don’t buy cars because I’m fancy of the make, model, accessories, CAUSE I NEED ONE.

I need car in Malaysia so I buy 1, I need car in Singapore so I buy 1, or more. If I need car in more countries which I’m able to buy I will too. If I don’t need I will sell everything off and enjoy those $ for some travel for instance!

So, the idea stands still: MY is “2nd most expensive” country to own a car in this region, but due to tax structure some price of the car may “alter” the way we expect on the quality of the car. Buy a Japs if you want a better overall package and long term assurance.

SG is “Most expensive in anything in this region!”. So, no choice but to go with Koreans, or CRUZE for instance. CRUZE is here in SG for 1 year+, and look at the numbers on the road, still little.

Why ppl in SG buy cars like Lancer MR even if it is outdated no feature whatsoever? More expensive than CRUZE in SG? ANS: “More problem free than other cars ESPECIALLY the koreans!”

• cybermaster98 on Jun 11, 2010 at 4:02 pm

U only do rate conversions when u go as a tourist! Not for other things as the scale of economies are different. U have to compare dollar for dollar. For instance an Engineer in Uk earns about 5K pounds. U can buy a really good salad sandwich in UK for about 2 pounds. Can u get a good salad sandwich with thick roast beef inside for RM2? Yes u pay higher taxes in these countries but at least u see your tax money being used for good purposes. They have good transport systems, higher public safety standards, efficient government delivery system and better quality of live for all. Ive worked in UK for about a year and i would have stayed on if not for family.

But yes Singapore does have much higher priced cars because the Gov there discourages cars. But in doing that they have a world class MRT system. So even if u dont have a car in Singapore, ure perfectly fine as well. I worked in Singapore for 1.5 years and i didnt feel insecure without a car. The MRT worked fine for me.

So dont compare exchange rates when u wanna compare cost of living or prices of vehicles.

• ppCCqB on Jun 11, 2010 at 5:04 pm

hey, cars in UK only 10k to 20 k la…..hahahahahah

ferrari in uk only 100k ++ la. here ferrari is 2million ++ la.

• donno on Jun 11, 2010 at 8:43 am

this thing is HUGE. not in the same league as the vios and city. Try the size of the Lancer GT.

• Good job taking in the Cruze, but when will Naza bring in the big guns ?

• Cynical on Jun 11, 2010 at 12:02 pm

Camaro? Muhahahaa… As sweet as it is, I don’t think it will ever come in because of the price factor.

• Tiadaid on Jun 11, 2010 at 3:03 pm

What’s the size of the Camaro engine? More than 3 liters? Who in their right mind would pay huge amount of road tax for a car like the Camaro? It’s not a supercar like a Ferrari.

• VW_fans on Jun 11, 2010 at 12:43 am

damn!!! rear light looks like current Honda Civic!!!!

• tadoc on Jun 11, 2010 at 12:45 am

depam mcm honda accord belakang mcm honda civic…..

• gosh.. this car has been here for ages in india.. here’s way cheaper i suppose

• How does it hold up on Indian roads?

• ppCCqB on Jun 11, 2010 at 10:04 am

india is so advanced

• FTO_95 on Jun 11, 2010 at 10:15 am

yea tell me bout it…their parts are more qualified and reliable compare when its being localised in malaysia and that where you’re getting shit out of it, despite of having so call 1st class road infrastructure…..

• ppCCqB on Jun 11, 2010 at 4:57 pm

india, you mean bangalore or new delhi? do they even have a traffic system? lol

they are so happy to have tata nano? lol. why la compare india here, lol …..

• the traffic sucks of course.. i mean bout chevy specifically… u see the market for chevy cars is much larger in india… but yeah it’s funny to have that chevy on shitty road.. many ppl drive fiat linea also.. anyway, proton boleh… lol..

p.s: why every car launchings only by naza… haih.. monopoly thing..

• dodgeviper88 on Jun 11, 2010 at 4:24 am

Nice to see different options available in Malaysia. However, T&H brand still wins because the average user are concerned of after sales service as to how whether it has key-less start or 6-speed gearbox. I feel that GM or KIA themselves should come in rather than giving it to NAZA as it will give an impression that they will be here to stay and not just sell for 1 or 2 years and then disappear from the scene. Even at higher priced cars like Mercedes & BMW they are more expensive & have less features than for example a VW Passat CC and yet you still see more Mercedes & BMW. I think the key here is reasonable and good after sales service.

• dodgeviper88 on Jun 11, 2010 at 4:30 am

Another point, in the US Toyotas (and recently Hyundais) are perceived as more reliable & preferred over their Chevy and American car brands. It’s funny to see their comments are similar to Malaysian commenters that Toyotas offer so little for higher prices and yet they are more popular than any other car makers.

• Firdaus Abdullah on Jun 11, 2010 at 5:40 am

No thanks, I’ll stick with my C200 Kompressor Avantgarde. Aiming for the W204 next.

• KitKat on Jun 11, 2010 at 6:42 am

Saw one in Miri with the Brunei plate, almost the same size as the Altis though.

Still prefer the Forte butt.

• timber on Jun 11, 2010 at 6:49 am

This car in USA called Daewoo Lacetti. Naza only assemble it. Nothing new. Why need PM to launch it??????????????

• finally..this car has arrive at our local market…good spec at this price.we cannot get the same spec with japanese brand.

if you guys noticed the tailight is like civic, i just noticed that it side mirror shape like proton waja.hehe

• Aiyooo…don’t talk about price laaa…it will and always be overprice in Me’sia. What to do…we Malaysian are richer than the rest of the world. That’s why we need to help our “poor” government (which on the verge of bankruptcy by 2019) by giving them a large chunk of our hard earned money so that they can go meeting around the world, flying first class, staying at 6 star hotels, driving luxury cars, etc. That’s what Me’sia has been since independence….thank you for voting…hehehe…

• ppCCqB on Jun 11, 2010 at 11:37 am

malaysia boleh!!!!

we can do anything, we can satisfied greedy politician!!! no problem man, we can work harder and harder and harder!!

• paultan fan on Jun 11, 2010 at 3:48 pm

ya.. agree with you. pemimpin kita hanya pandai guna wang rakyat, salahguna GLC, salahguna kontrak untuk kepentingan diri dan kroni. Banyak projek yg membazir. Baru2 ni ada cadangan nak bina parlimen baru. RM 800 juta? KNP MAHAL SGT? kmdn apa guna bangunan parlimen sedia ada. 1 lagi projek pembaziran BN

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Jun 11, 2010 at 4:50 pm

Typical Malaysian!!
        They can only talk bad about gov here,pity to this site,from automotive to politics,
        yeah you know la Malaysian!
        Semua BOLEH maaaaa!

• dickybird on Jun 13, 2010 at 8:23 pm

so what good has the govt done for you lately?! blind bn loverboy.

• azrai on Jun 11, 2010 at 8:01 am

Nice and solid car. The feature is awesome too. I like the interior design very much. I read the Chevrolet website and it stated in the do you know part :- “A Chevrolet logo is a bowtie and not a cross as many might mistake it to be”. Yeas, most Malaysia mistakenly see it as a cross. So how do the GM rectified this mistake by ‘many’?

• of cozz, every car and model must have pro and con ..even the good car in the world have critized by the other people (that why you see lot of car review magazine )hahaha…

• hewyk on Jun 11, 2010 at 9:28 am

Great looking car at a great price. The only ominous thing is the statement that Naza is looking into local assembly of Chevys with GM. When that happens are early adopters of the Cruze going to cry all the way home when the Naza boys unveil the Naza Kruze at a steep 20% discount like what they famously did to the Ria?

• ppCCqB on Jun 11, 2010 at 11:29 am

how to local assembly?? where got local vendor? this is a bullshht to change the batch, and lower the price la, you think its s o easy to setup assembly line to make a car only sell a few thousand a year?

look at P1 and P2. they make 100k car a year, and its not easy for them to launch new product.

• paultan fan on Jun 11, 2010 at 3:50 pm

KILANG NAZA di Gurun kan ada. kalau tak boleh cover, kilang DRB Hicom pun boleh tlg. Lg Oriental Assemble

• Black-Clown on Jun 11, 2010 at 9:42 am

REALLY UGLY interior.. wont pay even 80k for it

• NationalPride on Jun 11, 2010 at 9:44 am

Why is Najib launching NON-NATIONAL cars ??

So much free time issit ?

• ppCCqB on Jun 11, 2010 at 11:27 am

ppl give angpao, so he must go la, side income ma.

• Super Bear on Jun 11, 2010 at 2:52 pm

No lah, this one considered 3rd national car……….

• ppCCqB on Jun 11, 2010 at 5:06 pm

ya la, naza ma.

i love naza,
        with naza, we can drive car at cheaper price.

308,407,206, naza forte, now CRuze….

Naza is better than nothing. GOod good. Value for money.

• Seriously on Jun 11, 2010 at 9:57 am

Hmm… a dated, underpowered car which has already run most of it’s course in other countries, it’ll be a hard choice between the Forte 2.0 and this. But hopefully, it’ll open doors to more Chevy models here… however this, wont sell well I believe.

• ppCCqB on Jun 11, 2010 at 11:36 am

just make more money and buy a better car, like a new C class or 320, then you wont feel so bad about dated car that other countries do not drive.

• busybody on Jun 11, 2010 at 10:07 am

exterior = ok
    interior = very korean design, espcially on the vertical style of aircond vent (hyundai prefered) and also the silver-coloured finish centre console (too heavy apply)
    price = ok

• FTO_95 on Jun 11, 2010 at 10:09 am

THis damm car has been noticed in China long time ago and why do we malaysians has always been monopolised to be the last ones to get something which is good……..

• ppCCqB on Jun 11, 2010 at 11:26 am

well, try to stay in china then, and see if you can afford this car, lol

• paultan fan on Jun 11, 2010 at 3:53 pm

aiyoo. in China Swift only cost U below RM 43 k. In malaysia? just check by urself. also the handsome Buick much cheaper than our Waja

• paultan fan on Jun 11, 2010 at 3:54 pm

Volkswagen Golf GTI only cost u less than half price in Malaysia. Also Nissan Grand Livina below RM 50 k. You can own a car in Cina with 1.3 engine at only cost U below RM 12 k. and this car have more gadget than our Viva.

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Jun 11, 2010 at 5:18 pm

Then go migrate to China la,easier right,cheap car,cheap stuff,but the only reason why you don’t want to migrate there is because of cheap salary.

• Peter on Jun 11, 2010 at 10:10 am

I prefer Cruze to Forte more…

Even though both are assembled in South korea where quality will not be an issue.

But for Looks wise, Forte is slightly more sportier while Cruze is more for some small Executive class.

But for engine wise, Cruze is actually a 6spd quto transmission while forte is just merely a 4spd auto.

For performance wise, forte edged out cruze easily. No doubt that cruze is actually more heavier thus slower in terms of picking up. However, i would prefer a cruising comfortable car than a sportier car.

Overall: I will prefer 1.8 Cruze than 2.0 forte

• najibest on Jun 11, 2010 at 10:43 am

the forte is assembled in Malaysia if i’m not mistaken (only the earlier batch is supposed to come from Korea)

• ppCCqB on Jun 11, 2010 at 11:35 am

not assembled in msia la.

u imagine how many cars naza asssembled in msia?

peugeot 308, 308 turbo, 407, 206, forte, naza ria.

Those are all more model than P1 and P2 combined, you really believe they do that?? come on, get real, they only change a batch la wei.

Where got so many vendors to supply parts? u go ask naza salesman properly, dont straight away ask la, ask after you make fren.

Those cars are all imported la wei.

you mean our malaysian can do cheaper than korean worker do? lol . they are efficient.

• Peter on Jun 15, 2010 at 9:47 am

Forte will be coming with CBU from South korea first before assembling in Malaysia by Naza as CKDs…..Most likely, by next year. Naza will start the assemblying process….

While Cruze are still CBU units from South korea……

• 4G63tDSM on Jun 11, 2010 at 12:42 pm

Its going to be tough.

Remember KIA still has a 5 speed automatic being offered in USA.

The Forte looks smaller and more compact. But its going to be close competition, especially with the baseline 308 coming in at the same price range. They are both equally good looking cars.

all 3 would likely be horrendous on depreciation with the Forte being the speed demon, but lets face is, none of these 3 are anywhere close to being quick.

I am dissapointed that the Chevy omited a few airbags. Wonder if they would offer a Wagon variant as with the current Optra.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jun 11, 2010 at 12:55 pm

A wagon would be interesting. I wouldn’t mind a poor man’s Dodge Magnum

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 11, 2010 at 7:42 pm

I actually sampled a SRT8 Magnum…. cheaply made and horrible drive, but boy does it put a smile on your face when you floor that Hemi……

• nonon on Jun 11, 2010 at 11:11 am

nothing compared to my current GTR………..

• E Bear on Jun 11, 2010 at 11:31 am

Let’s just wait for the Waja replacement………should be below 70k.

No need to stress out.

If cannot wait, pay a bit more and go for Sylphy. Don’t take my word for it, go for a test drive.

And nope, I don’t own a Nissan, my fren and brother does. Got other fren who test drove it last year, all impressed.

• eadgez on Jun 11, 2010 at 1:25 pm

when camaro come to Malaysia? haha. yeah..i know it was a prototype.

• Citroen DS3 on Jun 11, 2010 at 1:38 pm

so is this car fighting the Vios/City market or the Civic/Altis market?? cause in singapore here.. some people consider this to be the Vios/City market contender.. .i test drove the car a couple of weeks back… not bad la.. .cheap somemore… the build quality has defitnitly improve.. just out of curiosity, does anyone realize that the back is very close to a camry look???

• nice car, but they should have a 1.6 option auto-4 speed sub 85k,
    sure laku in malaysia,
    affordability still reigns.
    many will skip boat if price at 85k range.
    too many vios and city on the road nowadays

• iLOVEfifa on Jun 11, 2010 at 1:50 pm

HONDA go down !!

TOYOTA go down!!

NISSAN go down too !!

we like the car…just dun like the dealer here sell it so expensive!!!
    why you wan earn so much from us !!!???

HONDA go down !!

TOYOTA go down!!

NISSAN go down too !!

• You are the one that should GO DOWN! Or take bus 11.

• Ah Bear on Jun 11, 2010 at 2:24 pm

Hmmmm actually they price it way below Altis/Lancer/Civic already, maybe if keep 2 years cannot clear stock then drop lower like what happened to the earlier Chevys.

If Nissan Sylphy too expensive, Latio cheaper..ha ha ha.

Waja at 80k……….wow………WoW………WOW.

Vios/City selling well becos of their new lean economical engines/transmissions and positive history.

With petrol prices looming higher, bread & butter folks like us cannot afford not to consider this aspect.

Some more, many had lousy experience with their proton cars earlier….takes time to forgive and forget.

• saiful on Jun 11, 2010 at 2:28 pm

more tax more income to gov… that why najib is there

• paultan fan on Jun 11, 2010 at 4:00 pm

betul betul betul. also maybe CIMB will making more money when people get a financing from CIMB

• FLIZZARDO on Jun 11, 2010 at 5:34 pm

more moooneh for my father, since he is konekted to the gohmen!

• Mayor on Jun 11, 2010 at 2:31 pm

Test drove the car last week when they invited us Chevy club members. I must say that the car is quite a looker. Driving dynamics is not out of this world but better than the more pricier Honda and Toyota rivals. The engine may not be spectacular but more refined and does the job very well. The gearbox is good in Auto but doesn’t like to be pushed in manual mode. Overall package is good but Kia Forte offers better. Euro NCAP rating of 5 out of 5 star is for models with 6 airbags and ESP installed. The result is better in overall than the current Merc C class (go to EuroNCAP site to compare this). This car IS a continental car. Engineering was done by GM OPEL and designed by GM Global. If you say it’s a Korean, it’s because it was made there. Do you say a merc C class made in pekan pahang a Malaysian car? Grow up.

• nighttrain on Jun 11, 2010 at 3:16 pm

good point, Dato’.

• NCAP or plenty of airbags will not matter for most careful driver, ONLY for those initial-D thought youngsters… (challenging Japs car… hahaha)

Btw, the “old” Optra 1.8 also uses Ecotec II engine. Ask any of the owners which is still having, or have sold their Optra, about FC.

I can tell you Ecotec II engine is STILL not efficient, may it be 1.4, or 1.6 that I drove before. Loud, underpowered.

Nevertheless, Handling of chevrolet cars (due to it’s heavier body and euro-design) do give a better handling over common Japs car, especially when cruzing at high speed.

• Vezeroth on Jun 12, 2010 at 12:50 am

Dude, careful or not, no matter how careful also… malang tidak berbau… accident no smell…

• Brief comparison IMO:

1. Forte’s local assembled by Naza (except for those first few hundred units), Cruze is currently fully imported from Kimchiland.
    So Cruze might have an edge in terms of build quality.

2. Forte 4 speeder, Cruze 6-speeder, but getting comments here especially from SG
    based on their drive experience and SG websites saying that Forte is more fuel
    efficient than Cruze. Theoretically, higher gear ratios means higher fuel efficiency.
    Concluson: Drawlah until official test drive reviews r released for the Cruze.

3. Forte 2.0 SX got side & curtain airbags and dual front airbags. Cruze has only the
    latter. ABS, EBD, ESC, TCS are present in both. So Forte wins here.

4. Desirability wise, both are equal. Forte has its Audi’s DNA design through Peter Shreyer’s pen while Cruze; Corvette-inspired blue coloured interior seats (though the materials felt rough, not comfy especially when ur contact wif it often) and centre console has a bit of Transformer symbol there ( to me looks like Naza Citra’s shield design). Audi’s DNA wins my heart.

5. Engine 1.8 ECOTEC vs 1.6 CVVT and 2.0 GEMA (correct me if wrong). Not sure abt this.

6. Forte does not have NCAP rating but instead opts for NHTSA (obtained different rating for different types of crash; 4 – 5 stars?), Cruze has 5* overall rating by EURONCAP)

7. Forte 2.0 costs RM93k w 2 yrs warranty while Cruze 1.8 costs RM102k w 3 yrs warranty. Forte is cheaper in price but not sure abt spare parts.

Personally, between this 2 korean models (after sales service issue aside), I would go for the Forte as it offers the best value for money in Bolehland.

But, if Honda City comes into the competition, doesnt matter whether it’s grade S (RM86k) or the grade E (RM90k), i wud pick the City or even cash out extra to get the Civic instead of the duo of Forte and Cruze because of one main reason which is very important in maintaining customer’s loyalty to the brand and customer satisfaction + worry free in car maintenance in long run: “THE AFTER SALES SERVICE”

Pavilion Crest, Cergazam or whatever Naza group of companies should improve on their poor A – Z service to avoid from losing potential customers. Ya ya their the sole importer for Peugeot, Kia and recently Chevrolet but still service sux to the max.

Just came back from the Cergazam showroom in PJ (same row as C&C, Mazda, facing the Federal Highway) boy their sales ppl are all stuck up and judge customers by their ‘covers’, they didn’t even bother to serve us. Though my whole family was there first and waited patiently for the sales guy to finish entertaining 1 current customer, another new family came in and he straight away ‘salam’ wif them right after he was done entertaining that 1 particular customer and pretend as if we were not there. We even asked for the brochure from them and not the other way round. How materialistic and **cist, well…. dun wanna bring out sensitive issues here. 1 Malaysia konon.

So in nutshell, my family will still stick to Honda because of their good service from purchasing to maintenance journey process. Just my opinion.

Btw, cant wait for Wajalution as well. ;-)

• cybermaster98 on Jun 11, 2010 at 2:54 pm

Yes i agree with you. You can walk into and Toyota or Honda showroom and u will be attended to fast. Havent been to all showrooms but the ones i went to were good. I went to Nasim last weekend in TTDI and the salesman merely passed me the brochure and told me to call him if im interested! Can u believe this kind of service? I told him even if i decide to get the Peugeot 3008 it surely wont be from him. I then walked out.

Its the same case even with the Mazda showroom next door. They prefer to sit on their ass and wait. If they have a brand like Honda or Toyota which sells by itself, then i can understand but they’re selling brands which are sooo difficult to sell and yet their attitude stinks!

• Go to the Pug Blue box at Glenmarie…very good service, i went there just to have a look but end up test driving the 308, salesman really insist that i have a go…

• Agreed. I stick to Honda even though they charge me exorbitant prices for service & parts simply because of most of the time, the experience is hassle-free and you feel you are being treated as a customer rather than a beggar.

I heard BMW treats you well even if you wear casual to their showrooms. Is it true? If it is, it shows how forward thinking they are. The person might not be able to buy one at that moment, but he might be in the future, or he might know somebody who might buy one. Good word of mouth never hurts.

• That shows exactly the NADA group is for trading car and not in services or intention for a long run of those brand, UNLESS it autosale good for itself.
      Want a better services? HA HA HA.

That is a problem of closed market competition and controlled resources (so we have not much choice of the brand from different party)

Imagine if we are open market, and all manufactures come do their own sales and services like the early 80s! (dream on….until I die wont materialize)

• BrakeFader on Jun 12, 2010 at 1:47 pm

Agreed with ya. The cars are great but what matters most is the people backing up the brand. The forte and cruze are excellent cars with very attractive price tag. But their warranty is pathetic and heard a lot of horror stories when dealing with Naza.

Sometimes we gotta look long term and perhaps forking out extra of compromise with a smaller model with established brands like Toyota/Honda is a sound decision.

For KIA and Chevy being a new contender brand, having only 2-3 years warranty shows how much “confidence” in their cars and willingness to cover its products. KIA and Chevy should give at least 5 years warranty or even Malaysia’s 1st 7 years warranty to really boost confidence of customers in their brand.

• checked spelling in the 3rd last paragraph:

Ya ya their the sole importer for Peugeot, Kia and recently Chevrolet but still service sux to the max.

*They’re*

• cybermaster98 on Jun 11, 2010 at 2:49 pm

Whatever it is, all these cars with good specs and lower prices will surely give Toyota & Honda a run for their money. They will still be the Top 2 foreign selling makes in Malaysia for some time but they cant afford to take things easy anymore. IM just waiting for next model from either Honda or Toyota. Honda has already screwed themselves with the Freed. Lets see if Toyota will make a similar mistake.

The Camry is due for a replacement next year rite?

• Maserati on Jun 11, 2010 at 3:21 pm

Lolz,just because its a 6 speeder you think it is fuel efficient?

It also depends on the pick up also,which depends on the low end torque.So if the low end torque is shit,then its gonna suck up alot of petrol too which actually defeats the purpose of the 6 speeder.And being new,doesnt mean its good.

Heard alot of BAD reviews about this gearbox.You know something is wrong when the Japs have not come out with a 6 speeder for Civic,yet Chevrolet already has a 6 speeder..

This car is gonna be a disaster lah..GOODLUCK!

• ppCCqB on Jun 11, 2010 at 4:59 pm

hey, wait, i remember american invented car/ make it mass production right?

that time jap are still using horses and toyota is making sewing machine.

you dad smart doesnt mean you are smart.

jap din do it doesnt mean its not doable.

VW got DSG 6 speed, a few years ahead of jap. So it must be not reliable becos Toyohonda did not invented it right????

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Jun 11, 2010 at 5:21 pm

Japanese didn’t create any of technology related to automotive industry,but they improvise the European technology.

• ppCCqB on Jun 11, 2010 at 5:03 pm

so, they put a 6 speeder in the car, and they put in big lousy engine.

i guess with your IQ you cannot design anything, you sounded like a kid.

Just enjoy your honda city with CVT or 5 speed la.

Wait, ferrari did not have CVT, so honda is more advance than ferrari, huiyo. My dream is to own a Honda City also la.

HONDA CITY!!!! wakakakakakakakakakaka the best car with good steering feel, big engine, VTEC, and smart owner. lol

• blurpp on Jun 11, 2010 at 3:56 pm

nice car..

drove once in australia last Jan, under Holden Cruze brand name..

personal feeling – handling sikit better than yaris/vios and city

personal drawback – GM choose wrong partner in Malaysia, had a very bad experience with NAZA operated service center.

• cardreamer on Jun 11, 2010 at 3:57 pm

JK & Cybermaster,

It is marketing strategy…they intentionally ignore you because they are subscribing to a marketing strategy called ‘aloof snob’…..thay will make you feel unimportant so that in return you will react by trying to prove yourself to them, that “who say i can’t afford this?”..then you put your downpayment just to prove yourself…

By the way, after all the waiting, why there are so many negative comments?…thought all are soooo excited to this car?…weird malaysian!

• cybermaster98 on Jun 11, 2010 at 4:20 pm

Haha! If it really is a marketing strategy, i dont think its working for them. When there are no new launches most of these showrooms are empty. I think they need a major revamp of the marketing strategies.

• Like I need to prove myself worthy of owning a Chevy or Pug and Kia so they will entertain me? Girlfriend, please! It is acceptable for Lambo or the Prancing Horse or RR or whatever to adopt this method – but definitely not those three. If they are waiting for a wealthy customers to come knocking at their door then they are going to wait for a long time. The one who drives a Kia does not earn RM100k per annum.

I tell you my experience with Honda. I called up (just call, not intention to come to the dealership) a dealer Jalan 222 PJ to ask about a new model that was to be launched in the next 2 weeks in August 2008, and the SA who picked up my call was more than happy to come over to my workplace the next day to give me details and insights to that particular model. And boy she did come to my office in the heart of KL all the way from PJ!

• Saw the chevrolet adv and went to the Naza TTDI (since it was stated that the new company is under the Naza Group of Companies) to check out for further enquiries.

As usual d customer service and sales pp gave an invisible attitude, i have to go up to them for enquiries of which they were not of much help and information update.

Went back home, check d internet n made my way to d PJ showroom. Saw d cruze, nice car, quite impressive but very very disappointed, service was bad and horrible, no one came to assist me (or is it becos i wore casual?) help myself to d price list and brochures and went back. Second thought, I will NEVER go for tis brand, becoz d first impression on the sales service has already proof to me d kind of “AFTER SALES” service I will get. HONDA or TOYOTA will be my top priority. NAZA – u have just lost one potential customer. GOOD SERVICE before and after sales matters and is important to me.

• rickyll on Jun 12, 2010 at 10:36 am

Couldn’t agree more with you. Those SAs really suck. The problem with NAZA is they never take custmers’comments or feed backs seriously. NAZA just wants to be Jack of all trades and ends up as master of none. Chevrolet , Peugeot or KIA are all top brands of the motor industry but I doubt NAZA could provide the good and satisfying 3 S services expected from the customers.

• BrakeFader on Jun 12, 2010 at 12:52 pm

These salesman people attitude is their own lost. They often forgotten that customers are the one with the money and if they don’t give a hoot, customers can take their money somewhere else. I had similar encounter with a certain electronic goods chain. Wore only shorts and T-Shirt, but out of 30 sales people in the branch, only 1 took the initiative to ask me if I needed some assistance.

That sales guy got what he deserved and I bought RM30K worth of various stuff from him alone. Padan muka other salesman who can get commission if only they perform their actual sales duty and not look down on customers.

• now i want to see the management of Chevy, Kia,Peugeot who signed with NAZA regret or not after seeing all this comments?

The sales number says it all. I can hardly see NAZA car top any chart even Peugeot seems their prime focus now.

• squawk on Jun 13, 2010 at 1:11 pm

If this is their attitude BEFORE they got your sale & money, imagine what kind of attitude you get AFTER they get your money.

• Maserati on Jun 11, 2010 at 7:30 pm

blurrpp,if the handling of the CRUZE is SIKIT better than City or Yaris,I would highly DOUBT you can FEEL the difference since its SIKIT.Having said that,why in the world are you comparing handling between b-segment car and c-segment car.Its like saying Altis has better handling than Vios..DUHHH!!

ppccqb, the way you reply itself already make you sound like a small kid.haih…kids nowadays…

• Lol, are you a T or H salesman? People said the facts but you said childish? It means that you are not childish?

• andre on Jun 12, 2010 at 11:11 am

nice front view, rear view look like too simple (not smart), interior color is weird

• Alifz on Jun 12, 2010 at 11:41 am

I can smell something related on this Cruize to Forte..oops~

• Sparc on Jun 12, 2010 at 12:13 pm

Chevrolet is a good car, but lack of after sales support will kill the brand in Malaysia. Spare Parts and service have to be reasonable price for typical Malaysian to maintain. Electronic thingy will also a big big headache after warranty period finish.

So the dealer here have to do more on the after sales instead of new model, as typical Malaysia bank loan will go up to 9 years.

• Orange bear on Jun 13, 2010 at 9:40 pm

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

Any new car also ok one lah, this one can forget about resale value or excellent service …… just enjoy the car as itself. Got big macho grill in front.

Better than Pesona, Saga, Forza . . . . . . other cars comparable.

Vios or City will not lose by big margin. Smaller in size only but better in FC.

If u like it and don’t mind the low numbers and spare parts limited stock, get one and if you don’t then choose something else.

• Mohd Qadyarizwan on Jun 14, 2010 at 3:45 am

Why Naza didn’t sell Camaro,Corvette,Tahoe and other Chevy USA models?Oh,by the way,GM don’t call it Chevy anymore,it’s Chevrolet.

• bukapintubayartol on Jun 14, 2010 at 10:24 am

What is the connection between the PM and the Cruze?
    I know Obama endorsed the Cruze on the other side of the globe… but what is this, a case of monkey see monkey do?

and where is the 1.4L engine, that’s the car I’ve been waiting for (for what feels like donkey years already)

• I'm just a farmer on Jun 14, 2010 at 1:44 pm

No thanks, I’ll stick with my 350z. Aiming for the R35 next.

• cruze_power on Jun 15, 2010 at 11:00 am

Then you shouldn’t be here. Go back to your dreamworld.

• I'm just a farmer on Jun 16, 2010 at 9:10 pm

Dream..? Do you really think so? Haha..

• cruze_power on Jun 17, 2010 at 3:39 pm

you are rich, you have lots of money, you can make any dreams you like in your world.

over here, we ain’t rich ppl, we just need a transport which quality is reasonably good with reasonable price.

so we are different class, just leave us alone and go back to your dreamworld.

• cybermaster98 on Jun 23, 2010 at 8:58 am

Yes i agree with u Cruz. I dont see why someone who has a 350z would even bother commenting on a thread for a car which is like 2.5X cheaper. It doesnt make sense and it normally means he is lying. Either way, its a silly comment and doesnt deserve the space it takes up on this thread. Ignore him.

• You are a “genius”, I dont even know Cruz can compare with 350Z in term of (price, spec, class)?? You are so “clever”!!

• cruze punya centre console ade rupa mcm elantra 2011 punya centre console

• M5POWER on Jun 15, 2010 at 12:34 pm

The car is actually good. Doing well in WTCC and i this also owkey in safety… But I would rather take a Forte over this.

• Why just compare cruze and forte only? why no comapre the T.Altis and Civic with it.. i wish know more abt it. Anyone can help??

• new comer on Jul 08, 2010 at 1:07 pm

i think, they compared just cruze n forte bcoz of the price n secondly features are almost the same …under 100k.

• Helda on Jun 15, 2010 at 3:24 pm

Tested the cruze last week with full of expextation since the look so impressive, however really dissapointed even just press the pedal, totaly underpower…..the car just wont move unless u press harder. No doubt amaze with Interior and exterior and even better than altis, but the 1.8 power plant really shock…..if u drive a civic or altis all the while, I can assure u wont fo for cruze if u r particular in torque and speed.

• Captcha on Jun 19, 2010 at 3:14 pm

ITs Daewoo Lasetti rebadge!!

• But lousy civic. price higher only.

• The Titan on Jun 25, 2010 at 4:50 pm

i was going to look at that chevrolet cruze last saturday,for me it’s look ugly from the out but looking good from inside and feel really nice and comfortable.But the engine maybe not suitable in Malaysia,because the type of Opel engine(europe) is quite expensive in spare part and not all workshop have those tool for the skrew,so it’s have little leceh went got problem

• p_nik on Jun 27, 2010 at 12:35 pm

booked one myself….tst drive it the other day.no car is perferct in this world.value for money is important….should be getting mine in mid july

• Superb performance….

• cruze on Jun 30, 2010 at 9:57 am

which is better?cruze or forte or civic or city or vios?confuce????@_@

• cruze_power on Jun 30, 2010 at 5:08 pm

Cruze,

don’t be confused at all, find where is your stand point and think what you are really going for.

High resale – Vios, City, Civic
      High performance – Civic
      Economy with good features – Forte
      Big and affordable – Cruze
      Lots of money to spend – Civic

• Paul Tan on Jun 30, 2010 at 5:10 pm

If you are looking for big and affordable may I also suggest the Kia Optima with the Infiniti sound system, aluminium trim and leather, etc. Tremendous value for money and drives well.

• cybermaster98 on Jun 30, 2010 at 5:15 pm

When do u expect the Kia Optima to be launched? Pricing?

• new comer on Jul 12, 2010 at 7:30 pm

heard that forte will come with 6-speed gearbox…is it true?
          i think it is worth to wait…with price tag around 90k..

• David on Jul 15, 2010 at 12:49 am

Paul, it’s the soon-to-be-replaced Optima right? I was quite dead set on buying a standard LX version which lacks the leather/suede seats, the Infinity audio system, the real aluminium bits in the car, climate control, ESP, chrome bits and so on which was going for just 75k but ended up not commiting to it after my dad was extremely concerned about the number of units sold last year- 150 units!! Shame, ’cause i really adored that car which showed i could go for a family saloon for the price of a small sedan.

• new comer on Jul 07, 2010 at 2:52 pm

wahh,.it is hard to choose..

..city? ppl sayz not very comfortable…damn
    ..forte? looks good, features okey..FC dunno??
    …cruze? looks,no good..but i think,it is overall is good enough..
    …vios? try to avoid..
    …persona??..of coz No..
    ..new waja? is it reality or not..hate to wait
    …civic?? way to pricey..

• James on Jul 12, 2010 at 11:29 am

Dear all, heard Forte & Cruze all spare parts very expensive compare to Civic & vios. Cruze is really cool, but, heard the 6-speed gear box are terrible. Response are too slow & making a lot of noise. Which 1 to go for? Forte 2.0, Cruze 1.8 or Civic 1.8/2.0??? Headache…

• cruze_power on Jul 13, 2010 at 5:36 pm

Civic has got the most expensive parts and services. Vios has the cheapest.
      but. vios 1.5, Forte 1.6/2.0, Cruze 1.8, Civic 1.8/2.0. Vios is out of the class of comparison.

Go do some homeworks, search thru the web. Don’t just hear from others.

• The Titan on Jul 14, 2010 at 4:17 pm

yeah many time i heard from the commenter about this car got terrible gear box,the price really reasonable compete with Forte.one think i affaid of about the spare part because the engine is made from Opel that’s meant all the spare part would expensive

• The Titan on Jul 14, 2010 at 4:21 pm

I’m still waiting for Kia K5,hope will launching in malaysia soon

• Kunta-Kintir who likes cruze on Jul 16, 2010 at 7:34 pm

Just watch me on the road…..

• E Bear on Jul 23, 2010 at 3:18 pm

Tested it today as the sales guy persuaded me to have a go.

Nice handling and comfort. A bit of tyre rumble. Didn’t like the seat at first but felt good on the move.

Drove it over some broken roads, gravel and the results were good for this price.

Not taking after sales portion into consideration, worth considering,

• kamall on Jul 28, 2010 at 12:22 pm

i’ve been using Chevrolet Optra 1.6 about 6 yrs and hope to change for Chevrolet Cruze because i love it. and i just test drive……..

• The Titan on Jul 28, 2010 at 3:58 pm

in my mind if me take this cruze,i’ll make it more sportier look for example in white or black colour must fix with white colour alloy rim. It not suitable make it in VIP style.mmmm am i right?

• Cruze owner on Aug 02, 2010 at 8:25 pm

Alloy rim very difficult to find for Cruze. Only black available bcoz of different wheel spec. Not much choice or no choice. Ya, it looks sportier and fuel consumption also higher compare to my ex-Vios! I think triple!

• Cruze Lover on Aug 03, 2010 at 3:46 am

u all r damn moron who only know how to speak… go kerja la earn money then buy whatever u want…. dun make silly comments only… dats why ‘Malaysia’ never maju one like the Japanese… comment must be wise and pls dun condemn others…its all because of u guys!!! btw, worth to buy Japanese than Koreans… if got more money go buy Conti car… it’s all about comfortness and efficiency, not only after sales service… Naza services very2 bad… Cruze looks very2 nice but afraid of spare parts too expensive and the service is damn poor by Naza n Cergazam…
    cheers!!!

• gaL who loves car on Aug 24, 2010 at 10:40 am

To Everyone

I tested, driven and seated on Cruz for 2-days.. I feel it great car to go for.. the sound proof inside the car is super excellent.. you hardly hear any noice from outside but at least you can hear horn lah.. even when you are outside while the car engine is running, the noice is completely low.. compare to my bro 1.8 civic, from far can hear the engine noice and while driving on the road, the noice coming frm outside is terrible.. going thru bumpy roads, you hardly feel anything.. the car just went thru so smoothly even when Im driving 60km-80km compare to my own car honda Jazz or my bro car 1.8 civic or my father’s car 206 or my lover one car persona elegant; completely no comparison.. The entire car are solid.. As for Forte, Yes indeed they are giving good price but what you pay what you get loh, no extra/more.. and the car isnt it solid as Cruz… go thru bumpy road especially holes on the road, you will hear “bang” sound.. or you can just go try bang the door of both cars, you will see the different.. 1.8/2.0 civic can consider but toughness of the car not there and maintenance wise is costly.. if Cruz maintenance affordable and parts easy to get and cheap why not go for Cruz + this is one tough car.. Pay for this price with such great car I will definitely go for it…
    Only hoping that after sales service is good enough unlike bestari 206 by Naza is damn sux.. Really Really regret buying the car..

However, just get a car that suits you.. Depending on how you drive a car (rough nor polite) how often you use the car…

Just my 2cents.. Cheersss ^_^

• The Titan on Aug 26, 2010 at 9:06 am

let us waiting for the latest model from proton this end of the year (i think it’s a model from Mitsubishi)

• Grey-Neutral on Oct 26, 2010 at 3:24 pm

yes….i read so many comment about chevy-cruze, but why stil nobody outside there give the real fc in malaysia 1.8L type?
    it doesnt make sense the SE from cergazm told me that it consumes RM0.13/km by such heavy machine (cruze)…
    anyhow, my bro driving 1.8L civic as he kept complaint about the fc that going to suck his blood from the very 1st day onward…
    and now im considering of buying civic/cruze/forte…..
    please get me some feedback on these matter if possible as im taking it as my priority as well…..thanks….

• mee mee on Jan 19, 2011 at 2:42 pm

is naza want to take over cergazam ,is true
    i heard the jb branch want to close

• Robin Hood on May 30, 2011 at 3:13 pm

I dont really think that Korea Car is good. In my mind…korea car look better but quality is poor.

• Now Cruze come out with Limited Edition model. New face lift, leather seat, 18″ sports rim (Falken 522 tyre) and few more thing i cannot remember. now its only rm102k OTR….
    what do u think Tan?