Audi wants you to build the car of tomorrow!

If you’ve ever looked at an electric car and thought “I can do better”, well now you can. The big boys at Audi have issued a challenge to budding scientists and students to create the car of tomorrow.

Prospective entrants are encouraged to send their creative concepts to Audi and must contain “the current situation, the proposed solution and a path to that solution” of the production of the aforementioned car. Out of this, eight finalists will be invited for a two day workshop at Ingolstadt. Their concept will then be presented to a jury followed by a further session in the workshop with Audi production staff.

The candidates will have another two weeks to revise their concept before Audi announces the winners in early November. The deadline for entry is on the 31st of July. It would be good to see what designs and solutions the general public can produce.

Do you have automotive designs that you think will benefit Malaysians?

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• venven81 on Jun 11, 2010 at 3:30 am

anyone up for the challenge? those people who have been commenting/ condemning on cars’ design over the years? well i guess this is the time for you to show your creativity if you’re really that good :)

• P1 @ P2 designers should up to the challenge…
      Lets ask Datuk Haji Syed Zainal and Tuan Haji Aminar Rashid…

• FTO_95 on Jun 11, 2010 at 11:06 am

Yea come on Proton guyz……show some credibility tat u can do it…perhaps u need to get some help from LOTUS i guess…

• botak on Jun 11, 2010 at 4:10 am

ya loh.. malaysians always condem their car.. now let proton open this competition n create ur own.. :D…..

• devan on Jun 11, 2010 at 4:37 am

Build Your Dreams…… My ass………..

• FTO_95 on Jun 11, 2010 at 10:02 am

this is massively a beautiful marque….well, i wonder will there be any malaysians to take up the challenge to come out with something better than this…..!
    REmember you do need a lot of ethusiasm & inspiration to build such a unique machine….!

• is-it true? design the cars to contest? wow~where the more info? hmmm..~can i try it.? but i’m dont modeling skill, just hand drawing front & side view only..haha!

• alldisc on Jun 11, 2010 at 12:55 pm

where are all the design bashers?? no idea?

• Littlefire on Jun 11, 2010 at 1:04 pm

I have a good idea to be shared.. Since we live in hot climate country.. Why not Hybrid + Solar Technology Haha..

Besides that, built also some wind tunnel in the car vents and also heat exchanger in the exhaust or engine bay to exchange into power.. not bad leh.. All these technology can be found in the net..

• Solar technology: VW Passat has this for years (optional). A solar panel on the roof powers the aircon-blower (not the aircon) when parking the car in the sun.

Wind tunnel in the car vents: Doesn’t make sense, as the air resistance is higher. You would have to pay this electricity with higher fuel consumption.

Thermo element in exhaust, which turns heat into electricity: BMW patent…

But you’ve got nice ideas… ;)

• Citroen DS3 on Jun 11, 2010 at 1:33 pm

suggestions for the designers (since i don’t really have much designing or engineering skill here) + minimal fuel consumption (better if zero like Tesla) + lighter then Tesla (did you see how Jeremy Clarkson push the heavy ended Tesla?? funny how the car ride along the way) + nice creature comfort, but minimal sacrifice on sportiness + can sit at least 4 average size adult + able to provide incredible ride comfort even with multiple potholes + aircond must be super cold (like proton.. hahaha) + if must be fuel consumed.. can take RON 95 or Diesel.. better if can take Kelapa Sawit oil + cheap to maintained + cheap to buy

• carsut on Jun 11, 2010 at 3:16 pm

this competition are for those always complaining and bashing all brand new car that jz came out.. pls show ur cretivity on the designing the new future car for us!!! especially P1 & P2 related cars.. come on guys, show ur talent, or jz “shush” next time.

• pomen_GTR (Member) on Jun 11, 2010 at 4:53 pm

they are running out of ideas….

since this,all submitted copies will be their references and later come out with those proposed concepts and claimed created by audi engineer…

but…if take precaution by registering the design..then u’ll get royalties for life…

• FutureTech on Jun 23, 2010 at 1:38 am

Well, before designing, hope our government stop looking at their own ways to pinch us off our money, let us bring in overseas cars at lower Tax & Duty so everyone in Malaysia can drive and experience Greener and Batter cars. So that we can start designing our own.
    Hybrid was suppose to be Duty Free, why is ours more expensive then other country.