BMW 6-Series Coupe & Cabriolet Artist’s Impressions

BMW 6-Series
Click for enlarged image

BMW 6-Series
Click for enlarged image

BMW 6-Series
Click for enlarged image

If you look at the most recent spyshots of the next generation BMW 6-Series and have seen the BMW Concept Gran Coupe unveiled in China earlier this year, you’ll immediately notice that the Concept Gran Coupe was a preview of the new 6-er’s styling, thanks to the test car’s relatively minimal swirly disguise.

Thanks to the spyshots it’s actually quite easy to imagine what the new 6-Series would look like. I’m pretty sure the new 6-er once unveiled will bear a very close resemblance to these artist impressions prepared by Theophilus Chin. He has whipped up both coupe and convertible versions of the new 6-er, and perhaps BMW will add a third “four door coupe” bodytype that’s exactly like the Concept Gran Coupe! That would be sweet indeed!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• very nicely done!!

• such a wonderful design!

• I don’t get it why they make the nose larger, gaint nostril , it makes the car look so hideous and horrible, i used to respect BMW cars but nowadays it’s like someone who loves digging nose designed the car… the butt of the car is already great, just the face…
    bring back the design like the E92

• bigger nose means cooler engine, less drag and brings fuel efficiency.
      Its the only way forward..

• jaguarXJ on Jun 13, 2010 at 12:17 am

all the new generation BMW cars has larger grills!
      it make the car looks more mean,HAHA

• mitlanevo on Jun 13, 2010 at 12:42 am

the 3-series nose is just great, but the new 7 and 5 are totally rubbish…

especially the new 5 aka F10, i felt very disappointed….

whole car is like bmw took 1 step backward…

• Amiran on Jun 13, 2010 at 2:56 pm

I remember one of BM’s tops commented that from F10, they want to link the design back to e39, not e60. Seems like current tops were in big disagreement with Bangle. Anyhow, this one I agree esp the nose remind me to e39 M sport nose. But overall, F10 design is disaster, lots of no-matching-line.

• mitlanevo on Jun 14, 2010 at 12:12 pm

e60 = wow, so nice!!

f10 = wow, who is the stupid designer??

• Calvin on Jun 12, 2010 at 6:19 pm

Vicious front, with the bumper and the back tailpipes look demented. Other than that, I guess it’s a nice rendering by Theophilus. Respect.

• chanteq sgt!

bravo lah!

• NationalPride on Jun 12, 2010 at 9:30 pm

BMW needs to HIRE you !!

You the man…

• greasemonkey on Jun 12, 2010 at 9:30 pm

WOW ! Instantly attracted to it !

• Farhat Haniff on Jun 12, 2010 at 10:56 pm

I love the current 6er because it looks classy yet aggressive and bold.. but if BMW really designed something like Theo, it will look like a slightly oversized M3.. just sporty.. not the current classy/elegant and sporty (thus it looks like em CEO cars who enjoys laid back afternoons cruising in full leather) and with the normal M3 styling: just youthful – abit boring – typical nits and nats.

But i have to agree with everyone, Theo did a really good job of the rendering and it looks awesome, but it has lost the 6series charm that we all grew to love and adore.

Remember how most hated how the 2nd generation of the previously elegant, cute and bold CRV turned out to be.. Utilitarian.

• 1kereta on Jun 12, 2010 at 11:32 pm

the new F10 is a definite failure, at least a few of my rich friends said that. luckily they fixed the ugly look of the 6 series head lamp and tail lamp, thumbs up!

• Amiran on Jun 13, 2010 at 2:43 pm

Agree… esp in M’sian market. Also this car is Bigger, Heavier and Slower than its predecessor. Weight increase ~150kg compare to e60, whereas e60 is lighter than e39! Some more, imagine 523 with 3.0l! engine… slower but has to pay much more Roadtax compare to 525 e60.
      Big shame BM! (Kick Hooydonk out!)

• mitlanevo on Jun 13, 2010 at 12:33 am

6-series, always sweet!!!

• shawal on Jun 13, 2010 at 4:43 am

and Death to the Bangle-Butt!
    Nicely done theophilus chin….whoever you are….

• Theophilus Chin on Jun 13, 2010 at 11:26 am

I’m someone with IMS – Irritable Male Syndrome, some ways similar to male menopause.

I get irritated easily by comments such as this below:

• Shahidan Hazreen of NAZA on Jun 13, 2010 at 6:53 pm

Theo u need help.. u cant be in a work force when u get irritated if someone doesnt like ur job in the designing sector.. how do mr VW Polo Sedan felt when u didnt like the rear and changed it.. people have different opinions. We can’t force ourselves to ‘like’ the design if u get irritated.. Bless u.,

• Theophilus Chin on Jun 13, 2010 at 7:45 pm

Thanks Shahidan.

I’ve had many criticism to some of my designs, occasionally they are labeled “ugly”, but I’m fine with that. While I agree design wise, one man’s meat may be another man’s poison.

Just don’t like it when people say, “just cut & paste from M3 & 5 series…”

• Farhat Haniff on Jun 13, 2010 at 9:16 pm

Theo, ur designs are great. I completely agree if you do get irritated from comments such as “just cut and …” since rendering (the right word for it? correct me if im wrong) takes huge effort and you are, from what i see, is a professional at it and loves the automobile industry.

People have different opinions and they are there to get feedbacks and see what consumers/public have in mind and like, even if they are really harsh feedbacks. But to make things better, know that you are the professional, you are the one that can make us see a different light in design since most of us cannot sense or see in our minds how it can look with different approach to the design. A Civic SUV? A Myvi Cabrio (i loved what uve made)..

So dont get irritated or stressed out, ur helping us to see. See beyond and see the future.

Id love to see the possible 4th Gen CRV..

• redkde on Jun 13, 2010 at 8:44 am

ugly…it just cut & paste from M3 & 5 series…

• now all the 5,6 and the new coming 3 series all looks same design! all adopt from the current 7series front!

• Tezza on Jun 13, 2010 at 12:20 pm

Imho,it somehow looks kinda alike with the vw passat cc…a degrading itself propositon..?

• Front is seriously awesome, but the back is abit ugly. (no offense)

Bumper at the back is too big.
    And the rims at the first image is cool, second and third…. Err, not so.

But great job Theophilus Chin! Love your designs.

• ujang on Jun 13, 2010 at 8:26 pm

Theo,

At least your artwork featured in Autoblog.com
    Just ignore the basher.

http://www.autoblog.com/2010/05/14/rendered-speculation-audi-rs5-shooting-brake/

• Dr. Kervokian on Jun 14, 2010 at 11:49 am

Folks in Proton should not only hire people like you. But put you to good use.
    What happened to all this PM talk about getting good people… bahhhh… until the day Theophilus’ design is not on a Proton car… i say.. Baahhhhhhhh

• TheophilusChin on Jun 14, 2010 at 12:48 pm

There are many talented people (not saying I’m among them) who were not given the opportunity in Malaysia, and has since left the country. Some don’t even intend to return.

• Amiran on Jun 15, 2010 at 11:27 am

Theo,
      Thats why we’re now left behind 3x the distance as it was in 70s~80s compared to Korean & Taiwan.
      If there’re opportunity given, it’s just ‘melepas batuk ditangga’- not seriously thought/plan.
      I heard great number of RnD people involved in realizing GX model 10~15yrs ago are in Australia (or elsewhere) since then, really carried away by how they were ‘rewarded’ compared the top brass up there (kinda ‘Lembu punya susu, sapi dapat nama’).
      Imagine, if these people were intact in P1 RnD, P1 should have been standing as tall as Korean today, or at least not being left this far.

• a person who is from iran on Jun 13, 2011 at 2:52 pm

its end of the life………..