Subaru Legacy 2.5GT tS by STI – everything but the engine

Subaru’s tuning arm STI has released a tuned version of the fifth generation Legacy in Japan. Called the Legacy 2.5GT tS (stands for tuned by STI) and available in both sedan and wagon bodystyles, it will be the performance flagship of the range with only a limited number produced. How many units is not mentioned.

On the outside, STI adds a front lip spoiler on both models. The sedan gets a boot lid spoiler whereas the estate gets a roof spoiler. All very discreet. The bonnet vent is already standard on turbo models. Perhaps the most desirable addition are those 18-inch multispoke STI alloys wrapped with 225/45 R18 tyres.

Inside, there’s a revised instrument panel, sports seats dressed in alcantara and leather with contrasting red seams, decorative carbon trim in a titanium finish, STI leather steering wheel and gearbox lever with red stitch along with STI-branded floor mats. Handling should be improved thanks to the Bilstein suspension along with strut tow bars. There’s also a new sports exhaust system.

However, the engine has remain unchanged from the 2.5GT, which means a flat-four with 261 bhp and 350 Nm of torque, good for 0-100 km/h in 6.2 seconds. Top speed is 245 km/h.

Gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1190]

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• 1st!!Cool Car!!

• this is fantastic car..
    makes me want to work harder to own this car..
    its a mean family machine..

• such a nice nice nice car!!!

• but im afraid the children might puke at the back lol

• Toyota is trying very hard to convince us that this is a proper STI, showing STI badge everywhere. Yea yea its a proper STI and we know you can do it. Unfortunately it looks ‘tame’ than the previous version, I mean try change the badge to Toyota its instantly turn to be a slightly cool Toyota rather than boring normally and the STI soul instantly blown away no matter how powerful the engine is….BTW just my humble opinion

• antimyvi on Jun 15, 2010 at 9:59 am

Bro, Legacy from SUBARU, not Toyota. Pls dont show that u r know nothing but still want to give a comment.

• Toyota???

• section 14 popia on Jun 15, 2010 at 10:58 am

care to elaborate??? Toyota?

• Subaru owned by Toyota dude

• antimyvi on Jun 16, 2010 at 10:58 am

Bro, Legacy still made by Subaru even though Toyota own it. Just like Myvi,

• Fed up Malaysian on Jun 16, 2010 at 12:27 pm

Correct, but only to design only. Owning a certain percentage of shares does not mean own everything. You can buy the technology, safety, design or whatever it is copyrighted, then you can buy.

This legacy does not mean that Toyota design it, or Toyota owns it. Please get your facts right and comment on the topic that is relevant. please do not talk mix Toyota and Subaru cause this is Subaru and there is no Toyota logo in it.

• PakAbu (Member) on Jun 15, 2010 at 11:31 am

I think he’s saying that because Toyota ada share dalam Subaru.

It could be also because there are too many Vios on the road ;-)

• Haha tats funny…..vios, legacy…alza?! confused already to see they share the same door handle design

• All the rice, none of the speed! I can see how this would appeal to asians.

• Machi on Jun 14, 2010 at 8:37 pm

this sedan baby is one of those I am eyeing now..! OTR Rm250K or more?

• i prefer this car rather than c class or 3 series..
    always have special attention on subarus

• The headlamps seemed to be a bit high, but overall the design of the legacy looks pretty fresh and attractive, i think a family that has a hardcore daddy would love to consider this ride, or maybe someone who loves to be different would want to check it out…

• nabill on Jun 15, 2010 at 1:31 am

looks abit like the mazda 6

• a 10hp increase would be suffice

• antimyvi on Jun 15, 2010 at 10:00 am

I love Legacy in wagon, im a big wagon fan..

• Tungau a/l Punat on Jun 15, 2010 at 10:26 am

Honestly I love much Subaru especially Impreza STI version 1 to 8 but when come to version 9 it is begin and not impress me anymore.Worst to version 10. Look at version 11, when toyota involved, where is originality of impreza???Where is big spoiler, big scoop and gold rims. Look at Legacy this version seems Caldina and Vios (dugong).

• I second u bro. Perhaps this legacy sti is the ‘coolest toyota’….haha.

• apooo samy on Jun 15, 2010 at 11:09 am

i like ver. 9 look sexy like silvia S15 but still maintain his macho look….

• Littlefire on Jun 15, 2010 at 11:25 am

If i not mistaken Subaru Legacy win the Car of the Year 2009 in Japan..

• Tungau a/l Punat on Jun 15, 2010 at 12:24 pm

nmh, you said is right..even those 1 big stars with 5 little stars will be placed with 2 ovals it is also not impress..TO YO TAk mengagumkan…

• Finally some knows bout toyo-suba relationship and thanks 4 your understanding. Well thats is …..toyo ruins or sacrifies Subaru …perhaps for its homegrown Lexus LFA supercar.

• Freaky555 on Jun 16, 2010 at 9:13 am

Siapa telan siapa??? berita ini dah lama dude…Ada yang dah tahu tapi masih ada yang tak tahu tapi buat macam tahu..TOYOTA DAH TELAN SUBARU..Pasal tu new desigh SUBARU ada iras-iras TOYOTA..
    NMH…engkau bagi lagi satu das kat budak-budak tu..masih tak faham-faham..

• Naz@AE111 on Jun 16, 2010 at 9:16 am

the body just look like an accord.. but the engine is out of this world.. huahuahua…

• tanasi on Jun 16, 2010 at 5:36 pm

Toyota ada share dalam Fuji Heavy Industries laa…Subaru is Fuji brand name.

• tread ni citer pasal kete legacy, korg dok gado pasal toyota& subaru lak..