Lotus unveils 5-year business plan – Lotus Cars set to go against Ferrari and Porsche?

Proton and Lotus LogoThere are some very interesting things in store ahead for Proton’s Group Lotus, and we had a preview of some of it today. Proton hopes that these list of new happenings for Lotus will be able to turn it into a profitable company within 5 years. Lotus has never made a profit in the decade that it’s been under Proton ownership.

New Management

Proton (and Lotus) Chairman Datuk Mohd Nadzmi Mohd Salleh started with bringing in new management – we saw ex-Ferrari man Dany Bahar appointed as the new CEO of Group Lotus back in October last year.

Dany then brought in a whole list of new employees including Ferrari Director of Design Donato Coco (who was also previously at Citroen before Ferrari), Andreas Schlegel from Aston Martin marketing and network development, Andreas Prillmann who was Director of Sales and Business Development at Ferrari, Robert Hentschel from EDAG USA and Frank Tuch who was Director of Quality Management at Porsche, amongst many other new team members.

We were given a full list of new management credentials and the long list was very impressive. Dany Bahar likened the new Lotus management team to the Real Madrid football team. This is the team that will spearhead Lotus into the next five years. Lotus has big ambitions. Be prepared for a shocker here – it wants to diversify from its current niche market positioning and move into the premium sportscar segment dominated by marques such as Ferrari and Porsche.

New Product Line-Up

By 2015, Lotus wants to be selling cars that cost between 100,000 to 130,000 Euro, with annual sales increased from between the current 2,000 to 2,500 cars a year to as much as 6,000 to 8,000 cars a year. Its new motto – “Tomorrow’s luxury sports car, today.” Lotus currently has presence in 30 markets worldwide, and it wants to add another 25 potential markets to this list.

New Lotus cars will move away from its current manual transmission only and bare necessity lightweight positioning. The cars will go upmarket and become more complex. New Lotus cars will have features such as 7-speed twin clutch transmissions, active aerodynamics, continuously variable dampers, hybrid and range extender systems, heads up displays, and something interesting – the option for alcohol fueling.

We were shown sketches of some upcoming Lotus cars in the presentation today but we were asked not to snap photos of the presentation so I respected that. But they looked pretty aggressive and sporty and there were various bodytypes.

There wasn’t any SUV model in sight though, so no indication of any Lotus APX production car built on the VVA architecture. I believe there will be a Lotus concept car shown at the Paris Motor Show this year, as Lotus PR UK have just sent out a PR release advising us to watch out for something unexpected at Paris.

It’s not to say that Lotus will be leaving behind its roots – I believe that the likes of the Elise will continue to be sold, but these new Lotus cars will fill niches that the company is not currently in, segments filled by products such as the Ferrari 599 and 612 for example. It won’t be easy though. The engines of cars such as Ferrari and Porsche very much influence their character and brand. Lotus do not have their own engine – most if not all are Toyota-sourced.

But I won’t say it’s a bad thing if the screaming V10 from the Lexus LF-A (even if detuned) is used by Lotus in a future Lotus Esprit successor – that wonderful howl should be experienced by more and not just limited to the small number of LF-As around! Wishful thinking aside, there are many other engines from Toyota’s Lexus stable that Lotus could use, such as the numerous front longitudinally mounted rear wheel drive V8 engines used in the IS-F, the GS and the LS.

There was also word in the past that the upcoming Esprit would be receiving a BMW engine – the twin turbocharged 4.4 litre V8 in particular. That engine’s output is able to challenge the Ferraris and Porsches that we’re talking about competing with. BMW is not closed to offering the use of its engines in other maker’s products – it supplies a 6-potter turbodiesel to Carbon Motors for their police car, Morgan uses BMW engines in its cars, and the legendary McLaren F1 also had BMW power.

Lotus Cars’ very own Aston Martin Cygnet?

There’s also something interesting in the works – apparently Lotus will also have its own version of the Proton EMAS concept by Giugiaro. At its Geneva unveiling, the EMAS already had a Lotus Range Extender engine fitted in it, or at least that’s what the spec sheet said. Proton and Lotus unveiled today a plan to jointly develop and sell the Proton EMAS.

The Proton version will be sold in Asia and the Middle East and will feature a 5-door hatchback body, while Lotus will sell a 3-door sports city car globally. Both Proton and Lotus models will feature similar combustion engine and/or hybrid powertrains and will essentially feature the same mechanical underpinnings, however there will be a high level of exterior and interior differentiation. The Proton will be a Proton and the Lotus will be a Lotus.

Lotus Engineering

Lotus is more than just cars of course. You also have Lotus Engineering, an engineering firm that competes with the likes of EDAG, LG CNS, Magna Steyr and etc. Even though Proton owns Lotus Engineering, they admit that they haven’t been working that closely with them to use their engineering expertise for Proton cars so far in the decade of ownership. The two companies plan to change this from now on. Thus far, projects awarded to Lotus by Proton has always been on an ad hoc basis only and total projects awarded to Lotus by Proton in the past decade have only totaled up to 95 million British Pounds so we can expect this to increase in the future.

Lotus Engineering is also collaborating with automotive and engine component company Fagor Ederlan to put the 1.2 litre three-cylinder Lotus Range Extender engine into production. They have just completed a joint technical and market study and have decided on the best way to start production for the engine. The engine has been designed specifically for range extender usage – it is tuned for making a certain amount of power at certain RPM thus is designed to be coupled to a Range Extender’s power generator and not to a gearbox.

This is the big picture of the Lotus 5-year plan and we were told that Proton and Lotus management would be “locking themselves up in a room” over the next 2 days to have continuous brainstorming meetings. No doubt there will be coffee and perhaps currypuffs to fuel their thoughts so here’s a toast of Ipoh White Coffee to the future of Lotus and we eagerly await to see what Lotus unveils at this year’s Paris Motorshow!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• MoFaz on Jun 22, 2010 at 11:42 pm

good news, now they’re talking business. GOOD LUCK!

• exora on Jun 23, 2010 at 10:57 am

dont think lotus has experience in luxury cars. Performance/handling car, yes, track car, yes, car tuning, yes. Cars that rich ppl buy, no. Cars that rich ppl’s wife can drive, no. Cars that non-petrol head will drive, no.

If you ever sit in a lotus elise you will know, if you’re rich, you wont drive this to company, and your wife wont appreciate sitting in it. And if you see a big truck coming from behind, you really wish nothing scary will happen.

Thats why Porsche Cayenne sells, thats why BMW/Ferrari/Aston/Audi sells.

Thats why Lotus being bought by a third world country ,Malaysia.

Thats whyt nissan GTR being tuned by lotus, sells, but lotus car, not really sells.

• agree…but that why they appoint a different and more experience group of director to this new project….

• when is the paris car show then ?

• MyDear on Jun 22, 2010 at 11:46 pm

it sound so huge~!

• Good…. Luck…
    Anyway, it won’t be available for us the average msian, even thou it’s own by you know who. But I’ll be happy enough if I can get a 150k new Elise. :p

• Eyesore on Jun 23, 2010 at 8:17 am

bla bla bla…. we have just to think that everything own by malaysian should be cheap… cheapskate!

• Neonda on Jun 23, 2010 at 9:22 am

errr….sorry bro…i think made in china also more cheap and cheapskate than ours..

• Eyesore on Jun 23, 2010 at 12:18 pm

Yeah… but it is not right to think that anything own or made by Malaysia or China (if you prefer that) should be cheap… don’t you think so..?

• exora on Jun 23, 2010 at 5:29 pm

the lotus is expensive becos its taxed like every other import car. i dont have to remind you how cheap it is in overseas. its like Toyota altis price, i mean rm120k.

• exora1 on Jun 23, 2010 at 5:31 pm

its expensive becos of tax, in overseas elise is about USD 40k.

oh, i forgot you never been on a plane

• EH, Bang, 150k is not cheap k, it’s reasonable price, not over, not under. But I believe the only person here that thinks malaysian are cheap is most probably you only. P.E.R.I.O.D

• well u all sees only car price that cheap in europe n US..y don u price of other thing like food, tax, edu, medical, house, land, rent, hooker, car park, toll,

• Eyesore on Jun 25, 2010 at 10:35 am

Yeah they might be cheaper oversea…but u cannot look at the car price only.. u have to look at the cost of owning a car as well….. and btw… insulting me eh? i have been on a plane perhaps more than u have ever been… and i have lived and works in UK for over 4 years… not a pleasant experience if u ask me…

• hihihi…100% agree…

• LikeIT on Jun 22, 2010 at 11:54 pm

very big ambition..

• frossonice on Jun 23, 2010 at 12:03 am

Japanese did that 40 years ago and the Korean did the same thing. If Proton is willing to work hard and do the same thing, then it is a good ambition. And within 5 years, perhaps we could really ask the government to open up the car market here.

• exora1 on Jun 23, 2010 at 5:30 pm

pls dont compare japanese and korean, we have very lazy ppl working in proton and naza. thats why quality bad. what kind of ppl work there, we all know. i’m not being racist.

• botak on Jun 22, 2010 at 11:54 pm

if im not mistaken in tv3 news at 8.. lotus will release a car that reasonable price which is more reasonable to the standard community??
    hopefully sooo!!! for sure malaysians will proud of it.. compete with other exp. evo & subaru :D..
    just a dream… ~~~became the truth..“Tomorrow’s luxury sports car, today.”

• Karipap Panas on Jun 23, 2010 at 1:09 am

Dream on brother !!
      If Lotus produces a “cheap” / affordable car , it dilutes its value as
      a quality rather than a quantity manufacturer.
      It’s like asking Rolls Royce to come down to the level of BMW’s.
      Dream on again brother !!
      – The closest you can ever get is – Lotus tuned P1’s..

• Neonda on Jun 23, 2010 at 8:27 am

Ok what..let them do their work jela bro…dont complain too much. just give a chance who want to feel a better car at better price compared to their Kancil la..
        mostly who got so much complain ni when they initially bought kancil then change to new car which is better than kancil then small small prob complain like hell….even 100k above car got prob..panamera pun ada recall..not much sound from owner pun.

• becos you dunno rich ppl, who around you drives an expensive car? i mean 300k and above, not honda civic.

• 5 years business plan..? nah~ :|

• waterman on Jun 23, 2010 at 12:14 am

good luck proton/lotus.

• What’s the use? We have to hold 2 or more jobs if we want to own any car in malaysia now.

• shawal on Jun 23, 2010 at 5:33 am

I highly doubt this, the current malaysian household has a minimum of 3 cars now ,
      proton & peroduas are dirt cheap and not too mention the booming used car market

• dickybird on Jun 23, 2010 at 11:46 am

dirt cheap? where? certainly not in msia, if you listen to that federal teritory minister, who says you CAN live in kl if you make 3k a mth and if you forgo car and astro?! he certainly dont think cars are cheap!

• dirt cheap, becos on rainy day i still see ppl driving a motorbike. tell me about dirt cheap car pls.

you know what kind of ppl driving motorbike in rainy days? all races.

• shawal on Jun 23, 2010 at 7:33 pm

compare to motorbikes , of coz cars are more expensive, you must be in a certain range of income to afford them ,and when comparing between different brands of cars, BRAND NEW proton & peroduas are cheap, for example a proton saga costs around 40k , you’d probably pay around rm400 a month for 9 years , i dont think a person whos fluent in english and has a viable internet connection to comment on a blog about cars can’t afford to fork out RM600 ( plus petrol) a month for the convenience of a car, its just absurd, and i see alot of houses have motorbikes AND cars, sometimes they ride the motorbikes by choice cuz its cheaper and faster (in KL) . 3k is alot of money even in KL if you spend it wisely , you cant have everything that you want, but certainly all that you need. ( if you need a car, you can always buy 2nd hand)

• gti12 on Jun 23, 2010 at 10:15 pm

so malaysia is a good country, no need to improve.

20 years later your son can go to work in restaurant in thailand, indon, vietnam, mark my word.

• Eyesore on Jun 23, 2010 at 8:20 am

ummm baseles??? the best i can say about ur comment…. i have 1 job and own a car… tho its a proton… my father have 1 job (pemotong getah) and he has 2 cars (a p2 n a mazda) and i believe a lot more ppl in malaysia has only 1 jobs and own at least 1 car…

• richerjoe on Jun 23, 2010 at 9:34 am

what is pemotong getah??

• kamal on Jun 23, 2010 at 11:02 am

rubber tapper laaa..
          normally a felda settler, estate worker or small holder..

• Its rubber-tapper if i’m not mistaken..

• dickybird on Jun 23, 2010 at 11:47 am

rubber tapper so you can have rubber for tires on your imported car and condoms to enjoy! LOL!

• Penoreh Getah kot..how u cut rubber?.. :-D

• tokmoh on Jun 23, 2010 at 11:55 am

Penoreh getah?

Eyesore’s right. I think those Msians who talk about needing 2 jobs to afford a car must be thinking that car as a Mercedes or BMW. Too arrogant to eat humble pie or what… Or lacking common sense to expect luxury goods to be priced at dirt cheap rates…

• dickybird on Jun 23, 2010 at 2:44 pm

cars not luxury item in this country where public transit is stone age standard. pfft!

• Tiadaid on Jun 23, 2010 at 5:49 pm

It’s the “Biar papa asal bergaya” mentality. Kinda stupid really. A car is a car is a car. What’s the point of buying an expensive car when you have to haggle to buy the windshield wipers? What’s the point of buying an expensive car when you can’t afford to service it?

• dickybird on Jun 23, 2010 at 6:47 pm

maybe that is why the PEKEMA fellas are begging for them to be protected by the govt so they can continue to bergaya?

• Eyesore on Jun 23, 2010 at 12:19 pm

umm… rubber tapper?

• Ayam Tambatan on Jun 23, 2010 at 8:53 am

I believe the idea is to promote Lotus as a premium brand. Not to make a cheap Lotus to sell to average guy. Average guy can only buy Proton.

• no rich ppl will buy lotus, will you buy a caterham? you dunno what is caterham? go google you lazy bum.

• dickybird on Jun 23, 2010 at 6:53 pm

would love a caterham as a track day car! woohoo! or just a car to go down to the shops and get my milk and paper! LOL!

• simpz on Jun 23, 2010 at 12:28 am

if msia wants to be up to par, they should set an academy to build professionals in designs, development & engineering. Not relying too much on westerners… There’s alot of young smart & creative brains in our country too! All they need is exposure & support!

• ummmm0 on Jun 23, 2010 at 1:02 am

i support 100 % on your comment, but here in malaysia our gorverment pun mau bengkrap how to support the people, all the money goes to mat salleh bro, Lotus have lots of plan but at the end garbage…………. mat salleh good in talking but not good in working. By then proton already halfway to the no way.

• simpz on Jun 23, 2010 at 6:53 pm

hahaha… these ppl only think of the on-coming success(most importantly $$). Our government here should look at the South Koreans… see how they grow n grow now… partnership is nothing bad. Thus, they make full use of that opportunity to send they ppl to get more experience from the Westerners & Japanese… This is a well planned development on all sectors, if u have more pro & well trained workers. Ur country will certainly rise bit by bit… Look at brands from the Koreans – LG, Samsung, Hyundai & Kia… They were rubbish b4… Look at our Proton… ZZZ still sleeping!!! Hahahah… Compare the product they produced… Luckily perodua is not fully under the government control, they r under UMW. Not a local company… I myself working for UMW Toyota now, i feel proud of the organisation & the management. The OLD mentality has to change… Or else… balik kampung better lar… Dont say till wanna compete wif Mat Salleh, our own Asian oso hard d bro… hahaha… Babies learn to craw b4 walk… Step by step, every plan must be executed. Or else… Wawasan 2020 is just a piece of crap… A fail Vision… Im definitely sure if government still dont change their thinking, which only thinks of earn short-term $… Mind as well dissolve the vision lar… making shame only…

• eh! i tot UMW is GLC company..u sure or not

• TypeR on Jun 23, 2010 at 10:17 pm

NVM La, 1malaysia, 1 kereta cukup

• simpz on Jun 25, 2010 at 7:44 pm

UMW Msia is government funded… By Khazanah… the main UMW is not from Msia…

• Eyesore on Jun 24, 2010 at 8:33 am

Well too bad for you..UMW is a GLC if i’m not mistaken… and they lot a frickin’ loads of AP to begin with…

• dickybird on Jun 26, 2010 at 9:27 am

those are franchise APs not the cap ayam APs that a fat lady MITI minister simply gave to all her friends and buddies which they then sold on for a v good riba! UMW setup 3S centres and do all the hard work but these other AP holders just sell on their APs instead using them for their intended purpose.

• taboogen on Jun 23, 2010 at 1:23 am

but Malaysian people be a malaysian people… dont count on it bro…. got PTPTN loan for study buy new handphones….. i doubt it if we open colleges people are interested…. we do what have automotive colleges… duhhh

• tokmoh on Jun 23, 2010 at 12:10 pm

lol yeah. In the future, those type of people become leaders, got taxpayers money, spend it on new palace, new parliament, new this new that, then give excuse no money to give scholarship, no money to subsidise, tell us our rates still cheapest in the world, ask rakyat to ubah gaya hidup.

• dickybird on Jun 23, 2010 at 7:47 pm

LOL! i am so sokong what you just said! Hi-5!

• its true..petrol one of the cheapest, sugar i think the cheapest, flour one of the cheapest, food one of the cheapest, land one of the cheapest, Malaysia one of the cheapest to live in, medical one of the cheapest, edu one of the cheapest…….i think most of the tax come from GLC and private company not individual payer

• dickybird on Jun 23, 2010 at 9:36 pm

and our gaji too, is also cheaper than cheaper. since nobody pays tax any price hike will kill off alot of ppl lah.

• zukruff on Jun 23, 2010 at 1:38 am

agree with u simpz,

btw, its a very good news here

PROTON! GO! GO! GO!
      PROTON! FIGHT! FIGHT! FIGHT!
      PROTON! WIN! WIN! WIN!

<>

• dickybird on Jun 23, 2010 at 11:49 am

what?! and spend another 100 billion building nice campus and forgetting to staff them with really excellent teaching staff?! just send them overseas la!

• simpz on Jun 23, 2010 at 7:01 pm

u dont need 100 billion to build a good UNI… just proper facilities, experienced lecturers, & most vital part is provide job after grad. No EXTRA wasteful subjects… just a waste of our time n $… going overseas, the government nid to spend even more… y dont bring the experts to our country to teach?

• dickybird on Jun 23, 2010 at 7:37 pm

LOL! u think this govt is gonna go with your no-frills way of execution? LOL! this govt’s real motto id “biar papa asal bergaya”, e.g. “we have no money so we must cut subsidy and oh btw, the new istana is rm800 mil and we need a parliament also another rm800 mil”

• then change la the G…if u think the other side is reliable

• dickybird on Jun 23, 2010 at 9:38 pm

this govt for sure needs a changing. bangang punya pm, nama kucing pun nak kena tanya org benda remeh mcm tu pun tak tahu bagaimana nak handle perkara penting negara?

• rageaccel2 on Jun 23, 2010 at 12:47 am

compete against felali & pochi? u sure? takes a long time to achieve that i’m sure.. good effort though.

• Karipap Panas on Jun 23, 2010 at 1:00 am

All this big talk and ambition is easy!!
    P1 has to focus on what it really wants to achieve.
    Looks like the bulk of their $$ will go to Lotus and the top heavy management
    aka con-sultans – having little or no experience in the luxury car market
    and relying 100% on “outsiders” is definately a big risk.
    Take it one step at a time – how about using Lexus as a benchmark
    instead of the big boys !!! Good luck !?

• Tiadaid on Jun 23, 2010 at 8:12 am

Lotus Cars are sports cars oriented. They don’t do luxury barges like Lexus, so why do they need to benchmark against them?

• Neonda on Jun 23, 2010 at 8:29 am

somemore, lotus already got their Own benchmark. no need others. They used their own secret recipies x)

• howitzer on Jun 23, 2010 at 2:26 am

yeah… they say 1990-2005 the age of japanese, 2005-2020 the koreans and hopefully 2020 > will be proton… hehe… better late than nothing… they need long term planning like this….

• But… i still want a manual transmission sports car.. Lotus was my dream and now spoilt by this ferrari guy… sien

• azrai on Jun 23, 2010 at 7:50 am

How much proton fork out for those new foreign staff salary, bonus, esos, etc? What the projection comeout will be? The new lotus extender engine why don’t produce it at tg. malim plant? So for 10 years nothing much coming from lotus for proton? Haiyaaa…so many question. hopefully the plan will work.

• littlefire on Jun 23, 2010 at 8:34 am

If i not mistaken, all those big cc cars made by Lotus production cant last long.. As it is not so agile and fun to drive compare to smaller Lotus Elise.. People buy Lotus due to it’s handling and the more bigger car, the heavier the weight – more fun… Besides that, Lotus dont have their own engines for their sport cars.. So in the end, those supercars fans will also mock Lotus for no soul or what… Except Lotus came out their own V8 or V10 to prove to others they can also move into Supercar area.. But most probally the Toyota engine will be in Lotus cars from lexus LF-A..

It is sad that the APX cant be produce as Proton first SUV… I am hoping to see that in production.. But..

• anak2 kita on Jun 23, 2010 at 8:47 am

gd luck and just ask money from proton…..
    but can proton ask lotus to ugrade the campro ????
    if can for sure yesterday campro already was a good engine…
    i doubt about lotus ability

• barcelona on Jun 23, 2010 at 10:17 am

Dany do your work first and produce results.
      Don’t boast that Lotus = Real Madrid team.
      Over paid players but did not produce any results in 2010 and only came 2nd best.
      Barcelona are champs and Messi rules.!!!
      Unless Dany , you think you’re the next Jose Mourinho?
      Prove your worth Dany !!
      P1 is a cash cow to this top heavy management team.

• Jumbsuck on Jun 23, 2010 at 8:49 am

2 days brainstorming will never get rid of armno crony suppliers lah. Door handle RM9 cost later pass around many crony ali baba til the price RM30 without spray. With spray total price RM60. Better close shop lah if all about feeding cronies. Global competition for what? Sell car to Tok Arab for RM35k but to local here RM60k? Brainstorming huh.

• tikus on Jun 23, 2010 at 9:46 am

Sad but true!! That the way of how Msia doing business. Malaysia Boleh !!

• exora on Jun 23, 2010 at 10:58 am

malaysian way= Con local poor ppl, to feed ferrari owners.

• dickybird on Jun 23, 2010 at 11:52 am

we need to spend another few million for idris jala to do a lab on this! kekeke!

• pampam on Jun 23, 2010 at 11:48 am

tok arab got 35k bcoz their gomen la.. no/ little tax..
      proton expensive here bcoz our gomen tax so high liao

• setback on Jun 23, 2010 at 3:17 pm

are sure is that price to change a broken door handle? mine persona door handle just broken off last few weeks. The handle still intact on one side.. i fear it will fall off soon and i need to find out is that price for persona door handle?

• those tok Arab countries have a really cheap tax. while in Malaysia here, they got a really high tax lol. Proton or not, they all have the freakin high tax.

don’t blame Proton for the price, blame our government lol.

• Jaybond on Jun 23, 2010 at 9:13 am

That’s quite a tough wall to climb for Lotus. Just look at Ferrari’s & Porsche’s product offerings! But of course, the new Esprit is crucial if Lotus trying to compete with the big boys. So, that it could complete the product range – Elise, Evora and Esprit. Performance of the new Esprit must be at least in the same level as Porsche GT3, Aston Martin DB9 or Ferrari F430.

It will take a lot of persuasion to Toyota, asking to supply the ultra expensive V10 engine. Toyota’s V8 engine (turbocharged) is more realistic I think.

• exora on Jun 23, 2010 at 11:01 am

Not many can make money , without your own engine, and without selling mainstream cars.

Porsche, Ferrari, they has their own engine. So they dont need mainstream cheap car to feed themselves.

Audi,VW,Toyota, they have V8,V10, but they need to sell small cars to do business, fast car as a showcase only.

Lotus has neither engine( not even 4 potter) , or small car to survive. How can they fight with big boys?

Lotus is for petrol heads that know what is a gasket, throttle body, tappet.

Porsche/ ferrari owners can be a clueless auntie, with a fat wallet :)

• ummmm0 on Jun 26, 2010 at 2:11 am

correct, i agree 100%, you know it and the Proton boss know it but he don’t buy it, As they say no risk no gain. Lotus is a back yard engineer. Given another 10 years they still far behind the top guns not to mentions 5 years,

• littlefire on Jun 23, 2010 at 12:54 pm

How about those use in Crown & MR-2? 2JZ or 1JZ.. Damn nice… Got VVT-i somemore..

• Jaybond on Jun 23, 2010 at 1:30 pm

I’m not sure which engine code, but I know that the current Lexus LS is fitted with a 4.6L, V8 engine, which is not really powerful in standard guise for sportscar application. May need to upgrade N.A style or turbocharged.

I think sourcing for the Lexus LF-A, V10 engine is impossible since for sure, the end product will compete directly with the Lexus LF-A itself!!

• Jaybond on Jun 23, 2010 at 1:38 pm

OK, I forgot the V8 in IS-F is another Lexus’ latest high performance engine! :)

• littlefire on Jun 23, 2010 at 2:50 pm

Since Lotus mention want to be into the supercar area, i think the best engine now is the LF-A engine.. If only the 4.6L V8, i think wont create much hoo-haa as people already knew the engine use by Lexus fleet…

• yea, toyota will sell Lotus their best and biggest engine? you kidding meh?

why dont proton go buy honda vtec design la, we got money right?

• Tiadaid on Jun 23, 2010 at 9:17 am

All the talk about Lotus, but many people here are missing one point. Proton WILL bring the EMAS concept to life!

• exora on Jun 23, 2010 at 11:05 am

they can improve their persona a few times first, they cant even make a proper 1.6 engine, talk about emas, perak gangsa for wat????

1.6 engine, which honda/mitsu/toyota perfected 20 years ago. esp honda. But until now, we’re in 2010, but still proton dont have a good engine.

look at myvi. The handling is bad, but look at the engine, who can say their wat proton can tabao it? any 20 years old girl can cut you proton boy ricer. Yea, wait till your campro run up to 5k rpm. lol. There is a reason for myvi to be fast and common. Its just a better car than proton.

Lotus should be a car tuning consultant. thats good enough. Or do like Mpower or AMG or Nismo. but, not for Proton like. sure close shop in 5 years.

• Tiadaid on Jun 23, 2010 at 5:43 pm

Typical Malaysian with their defeatists attitude. Come on la, think! You really believe Mitsubishi, Honda, Toyota etc. perfected their engines in only a few years? It took them a long time to get to where they are now, and their people support them all the way. When did Proton design their engine? Certainly not 20 years ago! You people cry whenever you think the country’s going to hell in a handbasket, but you don’t realize its your defeatist attitude that’s taking us there! How can we be successful if everything Malaysians do is met with condemnation?

• littlefire on Jun 23, 2010 at 5:59 pm

They perfected using their own work, money & sweat…

But Proton is using whos money? Think again…

• Tiadaid on Jun 23, 2010 at 7:06 pm

So just because Proton uses tax money we should just give up? Come on! What, do you think because G money is use things could come fast? We should be realistic. Success doesn’t come easy, and the Malaysian public should spur Proton on BECAUSE THEY USE G MONEY, not telling them to close shop. In addition, Proton higher brass should make it an impetus for them to succeed. The reward for a job well done in the end will definitely be rewarding. Alas, many don’t think that way. How can we succeed? The mentality have to be changed, from the public to Proton’s higher echelons.

• MoFaz on Jun 23, 2010 at 7:10 pm

owh… really by their own money? think again..
            Japanese gov did provide various subsidies, and protection too!

• sorry man, in this broadband world, we cannot wait.

can you wait for your mail to come after 1 week?

thats the way it is, they have to move fast.

nowadays student getting more than 10 A’s, this is a different world.

this is not Tun razak world. You can ask C and I ppl to give you 30%, but the world now dont have that luxury.

in 5-10 years, if proton dun rebatch, they sure tutup ( so now they rebatch lancer, kakakakakaka, mampui la, jahahahahha)

• dickybird on Jun 23, 2010 at 11:54 am

we see when it arrives, as yet all EVs right now are really laughable.

• bmpower on Jun 23, 2010 at 3:06 pm

what laughable?
        nissan leaf sold out even before it sell!

• dickybird on Jun 23, 2010 at 5:31 pm

and i quote
          “Nissan’s CEO Carlos Ghosn has confirmed that the Nissan Leaf is doing extremely well. The US market’s allotment has been fully reserved, six months before the electric vehicle goes on sale. It has to be said though, that buyers can reserve these cars at a refundable fee of only $99. ”
          source: this blog.
          all reserved not sold out. not the same thing.

• again pls do not compare japanese car with malaysian car.

Proton is like pisang goreng, pls dont compare with sushi. pls pls pls.

you can open luxury restaurant and serving pisang goreng, and charge expensive price, but it is still pisang goreng.

• sean ZX10 on Jun 26, 2010 at 11:13 pm

obviously this b43 knows shit about cars…proton is not like japan. y? japan is trying to compete with europeans head on while proton is taking another way of marketing their cars..”.but how imbecile b43 asked??”

proton & lotus is quite a great combination. if u care to research, evry manufacturers are heading towards premium standards. all trying to be the next mercedes, the next bmw….jst look@hyundai & kia…every bit as close to premium OEMs….

if all OEMs making cars as expensive as those premiums…assholes like u with so little cash but XXXL ego would buy what for a transport?

proton will sell as proton & lotus as lotus as said by paultan…which means that proton is using handling & body control performance as their strategy where else other OEMs are with bigger engines, complex electronics, more exclusive parts which hurts your pocket like burned hands on salt…

i believe b43 is the kind of driver that only go fast on straight lane but chickens out whenever the car’s suspension is moving…thus proving his bragging on japanese cars…

put 100kmh limiter to both proton & japanese cars & let us see which is faster …batang kali road to awana….

oh yeah…because malaysia is rapidly producing imbecile drivers…roundabout has turned to intersection with more longer traffic lights…intersections even in housing compounds installed with traffic lights….more highways with more tolls..more roads built with dividers with u-turn at the end of the road…y? because incompetency to negotiate roundbout, u-turn & lane changing…

• corolla_KE70 on Jun 23, 2010 at 9:20 am

wahh pagi pagi got secret recipe and ipoh white coffee… makes me lapar lor…

• Good luck Proton & Lotus. Please make Malaysia n Malaysians proud !!

• dickybird on Jun 23, 2010 at 11:56 am

does pride pay you dividends? lets hope they either implode or succeed, then the govt will have no choice but to rationalise car prices! FTW!

• bmpower on Jun 23, 2010 at 3:08 pm

work harder child.
        stop be poor like now.
        begging for cheaper thing is beggar.
        work smarter for more income.

• dickybird on Jun 23, 2010 at 5:36 pm

really? i am doing my utmost and life would a damn sight better if you lot did that too instead thinking you are entitled to all sorts of superfluous privileges and that proton deserves anymore handouts! who are the REAL beggars in this country we all know.

• Nah… you don’t work hard enough. I never believe complainer who ask for a raise in salary, they either make other staff demotivated or customers run away from the business.

• dickybird on Jun 24, 2010 at 8:39 am

LOL! lets u see do better without all that govt help for the socalled impoverished majority. u obviously dont have a job or a giatmara flunkie.

• bmpower is rite work harder…look how successful tony fernandas, robert kuok, late lim goh tong, azman hashim, syed moktar now………i hope can be hard working like them…still im not whining cause not working hard enough

• vrmchris on Jun 23, 2010 at 10:05 am

hello to all from the usa.

paul tan,

i find the comments very interesting. also the fact that proton has almost never asked lotus to help them develop their cars? after 10 years of owning lotus? now they want to compete with ferrari, porsche, and lamborghini. by being more complicated just like the rest of them.

the fact that proton signed an agreement with mitsubishi to continue in their joint venture agreement says that proton does not know what to do with themselves. proton cannot continue to rely on patriotism to be a success. proton sooner or later needs to step up to the plate and let lotus engineering assist them in developing their own engines, platforms, etc.

proton money + lotus engineering = new and better protons for malaysians to be truly proud of. until that happens proton is going to be stuck where they are now. i personally would like to see proton sell vehicles in north america. but as long as they have an agreement with mitsubishi proton cannot do so.

proton is going to have to be very careful with lotus on this one. lotus worked hard for their reputation as the lightweight sports car to have. despite quality problems, lotus is still desired world wide by car enthusiasts. get rid of their usp (unique selling proposition) and lotus is done for.

all i can say to proton and the malaysian government is i wish you much success in your journey.

regards,
    vrmchris

• exora on Jun 23, 2010 at 10:54 am

dude, proton car cannot sell in US becos US cannot accept this kind of rubbish. the older proton , yes, mitsu barred them selling in US, but the newer Gen 2 or persona, i dont think its anywhere near Toyota small car standard/ Kia hyundai standard.

You’re lucky to be in US, a place where you can drive a boring buick for 20k, or a boring toyota camry V6 for 25k or a fairlady for 30k.

Malaysia has no hope in cheap cars, we can only hope perodua bring in better and cheaper car, thats all. We lost hope in proton.

• Tiadaid on Jun 23, 2010 at 5:33 pm

Yeah, Malaysia may not have cheap car, but we have cheap education & cheap healthcare, among others. I mean, it’s no use having cheap cars if you can’t afford to be healthy now do you? And do you think you can afford to buy a car if you’re not educated? Think. The grass isn’t always greener on the other side.

• the medical here is cheap, becos that is the only thing left.

have you ever seen a cheap housing estate hiring guards?

every month how much you pay for guards? why you pay ? this is the only country in the world that do that.

every month rm100 is enough for a real medical card already fren, for you to stay in expensive hospital. cheap medical my ass. this is a failed nation.

• Tiadaid on Jun 23, 2010 at 6:00 pm

Failed nation? Another defeatist Malaysian! How can we succeed? Because of people like YOU the country “fails”!

As for the security guards, who ask you to pay? Even if you pay it’s not a guarantee that thefts will not occur, why? Because those thieves are people with a similar mentality like yours, always wanting to take the easy street to success. Failed? You betcha. If Malaysia’s free of people with this kind of mentality, things would be different!

• Motorist on Jun 23, 2010 at 6:06 pm

Life is also cheap here.

For about RM2000, you’ll be made superman, thrown out of the window during interrogation.

For the price of a few 9mm bullets, a 15 year old unarmed teenager was shot for failing to obey the MIB.

But the most expensive life would be 114 Million Euro commission for the alleged 1Mongolian

• dickybird on Jun 23, 2010 at 6:36 pm

yes cheap healthcare where hospitals tell you to go buy the meds you need outside because they do not have them, but cheap education certainly is not a great education. dont tell me even with your rose-tinted glasses that you fail to see that the standards are falling and what our schools turn out are soulless automatons that cannot even speak english never mind do anything else. so how are these people going to buy any sort of car?
          what you spew is very typical of those who are actually failing this country, by attacking and trying to stifle those who speak the ugly truth of what is wrong with this country.

• Vios User on Jun 23, 2010 at 9:58 pm

My Physics Professor in local-U cannot solve STPM maths queastions. That’s why it’s cheap studying in this country.

• Dasar tak sedar untung. 1000 orang di Kelantan/Terengganu/Sabah/Sarawak sanggup tukar tempat dengan kau.

• dickybird on Jun 24, 2010 at 8:44 am

ini bukan tak sedar untung, ini celik mata about the state of our tertiary education. this is probably because the lecturer in most local public unis breezed thru matriculation while the non-bumis have to endure stpm. oh btw, your matriculation results are not recognised by any international unis but stpm is.

• vrmchris on Jun 23, 2010 at 6:55 pm

hello exora,

thank you for your response.

from what i have seen, the persona is not even up to hyundai accent (verna) standard. and hyundai has already introduced a new accent at the busan auto show in korea.

it is true that i can buy a toyota camry v6 for about usd 25k. i still cannot believe that many of the asean countries still have high tax rates for cars. a bmw x1 for about rm300.000 (about 100.000 usd) on the road? ouch indeed.

i am of the opinion that malaysia has hope. but as i said earlier, proton has to step up their “game” to produce a competitve product. not just be a political football from what i can tell by the comments on this board.

all things are possible. the question is does the management of proton and the malaysian government have the will to compete with the likes of toyota, honda, hyundai, kia (naza), etc? only time will truly tell.

the only thing i can tell you and your countrymen is to keep putting pressure on your government to have proton produce cars that you buy because they are good. not because they are malaysian. we go through the same thing in the usa. chrysler, ford, and gm are getting it that they have to produce a quality car. because they gave that market to toyota and honda via the camry and accord sedans.

do not let proton get away any more with producing cars that are not of good quality. nor can they stand up to comparison to other makes in the malaysian market.

regards,
        vrmchris

• Eyesore on Jun 23, 2010 at 12:23 pm

well actually lotus did help proton during design and development of their models… mostly in the ride and handling area… BTW if i’m not mistaken Gen2 and Satria Neo was designed by Lotus…

• Lotus and Proton already worked together… they’ve tuned/developed the suspension systems of the 1999 Proton Satria GTi, also the suspension and the “CamPro/CPS” engines of the Proton Gen-2, Proton Saga, Proton Exora and Proton Satria Neo…and the future Proton turbo engines..

“all i can say to proton and the malaysian government is i wish you much success in your journey.”

man, i’m really proud seeing an American who supports other car makes like Proton.. :D much better than these ungrateful Proton bashers lol

i think if Protons were sold in the US, they would sell like hot cakes lol.

• Motorist on Jun 23, 2010 at 5:15 pm

My worry is that the current younger generation of management is M’sia can be con so easily by the white skin fellow who can sweet talk & bulls*!+ This younger generation management were fast tracked promoted due to racial “superiority” rather than ability. They have delusions of grandeur & invincibility that translate to arrogance & egoistical management style.

Look at how the current ruling party is “adviced” by CON-sultants & has PR done by CON-sultants etc. All these CON-sultants dont come cheap.

It may look good on paper to get rid of the USP & go head-to-head with the sport cars big boys but then a CON-sultant can give “statistics” to prove his point. We all know what they say about statistics, dont we? (Lies, damn lies & statistics).

If they are not careful, the current management will drive Lotus to the dogs, bankrupting the company & killing off it’s reputation, just like what the current ruling party is doing to this country.

• moris on Jun 24, 2010 at 12:46 am

buying a car in malaysia, is like buying a house…stay in USA,U.K or Australia.

• paultan fan on Jun 23, 2010 at 10:14 am

good luck guys :-)

• carsut on Jun 23, 2010 at 10:51 am

“Proton will be a Proton and the Lotus will be a Lotus” i like this part..

• Mat Sallehs maybe better in talking BUT Koreans and Japanese already benefited from Matr Sallehs working with them. It’s about management culture and very clear prospect of our motor industry are heading to. We definitely can earn advantage if we can organized these mat sallehs.

Wanna benefit cronies or competitive enough, locally or globally. Or simply close shop.

If we (read Proton) got VW as a partner, no issue in getting right engine though it will clash with VAG product portfolios of sports cars.

• nighttrain on Jun 23, 2010 at 12:07 pm

Yeah.. finally coming together and going into mainstream business. Good luck, people. Just don’t take the general population for a ride, dah. Once people see certain ‘prices’ going up, we’ll blame it on Proton’s effort to keep this 5 year plan afloat… All hell’ll break loose.

• kimi_ on Jun 23, 2010 at 12:44 pm

i will be happy if they bring all this TALENT to PROTON instead of Lotus as P1 now managed by JAGUH KAMPUNG that cant bring proton far……

• MoFaz on Jun 23, 2010 at 1:34 pm

well, you’ve forgotten that Proton also did brought in somebody ‘big’. the guy was with Hyundai in India before. Proton have plan to enter India by next year.

• lancerC on Jun 23, 2010 at 10:29 pm

dont worry,they cant sell in india, india got honda city and fiesta, selling at normal price, you send persona to fight them?

you reallly think india and china ppl stupid? send them stupid car??

hey, even iran or UAE all driving toyota, proton can sell in malaysia, and Thailand ( EXORA MPV only) hahahahahahah

mampu1 la, jaguh kampung, all buy perodua now…..hahahahahahahahahaah

• Jaybond on Jun 23, 2010 at 1:44 pm

To become a full fledged sportscar manufacturer, besides the new Esprit perhaps Lotus should add a new front-engined GT (2+2) car?

• bmpower on Jun 23, 2010 at 3:10 pm

now european ARE comparing evora vs porsche.
    most of them agreed evora is better !
    except build quality is not good enough yet.

• so? u got evora? u got porsche? why u so happy? i dont see a connection between evora wins porsche, and you.

lol.

• Esperto on Jun 23, 2010 at 3:22 pm

lotus is transforming into a luxury sports carmaker? good. but do not throw away their lightweight cars like the elise and exige. these cars are what made them famous all the way back then. people still love these cars even though it’s on the market for ages. they just need to update these models.

• Citroen DS3 on Jun 23, 2010 at 4:00 pm

canggih… as long as lotus stop using toyota engine… want to fight Porsche? Ferrari? using what? Cosworth produced engine? yes, british engineering (with its colony master with back dated technology) vs italian finesse? german technology? proton can’t even kick Peugeot behind and with the RCZ coming up, where is our beloved pending Putra or Satria GTi???

• lancerC on Jun 23, 2010 at 10:27 pm

wait, they now looking at mitsu 2 doors car…..to replace putra and satria. try to rebatch.

but wait, hahahahaha,. mitsu dun have those cars anymore…..hahahaha

maybe mitsu eclipse, but that one is left hand drive, proton cannot rebatch that, hahahahaha

• kemosabe on Jun 23, 2010 at 5:04 pm

was lotus making money before proton took over?

anyways as long as the right people in the right places making the decisions, then things would look rosy.

• MoFaz on Jun 23, 2010 at 6:58 pm

nope, sport cars are loss making business due to super-duper high cost of development. but this division provides technical know-how to car manufacturers.
      Bugatti owns Lotus last time but now, even Bugatti owned by VW already…

• Eyesore on Jun 25, 2010 at 10:46 am

Lotus was in RED when Proton bought them.. now they’re back in BLACK….so..isn’t that an improvement?

• cant say anything about lotus, if we talk about chassis, or handling. others do have know how too.
    if we talk about engine, others have a complete engine, i mean all sort of engine.
    if we talk about consultation, others have their in house.

looks like lotus involvement is more on innovation and pattern. and sell this intellectual properties.

and after reading lotus ambition above, its truely an expensive deal and ,,,,,,,its like,,hmmm???

why not proton concentrate in making a good passanger car capable of a global car

• VW only wants Proton’s Tanjung Malim factory. VW no use. loooool

• littlefire on Jun 24, 2010 at 8:58 am

No use, but still win a lot of the best engine in the world.. Compare to our CamTakPro.. what award we won until now?

• malaysia memang boleh on Jun 24, 2010 at 1:11 am

I read every comments posted by many type of Malaysian above my comment here,now I know why Malaysia is a failure.People such as that will make Malaysia a total failure.Just because you could not afford a Lotus,you bash Malaysia like you’re no longer in Malaysia.Well,even you’re staying in UK,you
    still can’t afford a Lotus,well Malaysian can be call NATO,No Action Talk Only.The tax you paid is not enough for our nation,coz not all Malaysian are
    working,do you think housewives and childrens pay
    tax,and some smart Malaysian even skip their
    taxes,so don’t talk crap here!
    Well we still have Malaysian that waste their money on cigarettes and many useless thing,coz they are acting that they are bloody rich and at the end they
    suffer and blame government for that,sugar price in
    our country is among the cheapest in Southeast
    Asia,so where on earth should gov earn money to
    support Malaysian,of course from tax,but do all
    Malaysian pay tax?
    Even better,some of Malaysian even sell sugar to the Thais and earn a lot of money from that.
    Yes,that’s true!

• dickybird on Jun 24, 2010 at 8:55 am

malaysia is failing because a certain group expects the govt to provide them with a living, jobs and cheap sugar for far too long! tak tahu malu, mahu makan, mahu mewah tapi dont want to get up do the hard work and pull their own weight.
      wei, where in the world got housewives and children pay tax? dont talk stupid lah.
      and if these bashers are in the uk, if i lived in the uk, i probably would choose an evora simply because there are better all-round cars.

• Seriously on Jun 24, 2010 at 2:14 pm

Well, if some MB gets to build a mansion, i think people are paying their taxes.

• Motorist on Jun 25, 2010 at 12:36 pm

All these is the sign of FRUSTRATION.

Frustrated by:

the wastage of our natural resources & taxes paid
      the billions lost to white elephant projects, bail outs, “commissions” etc
      the endemic corruption & wholesale stealing of our natural resources & taxes
      the apartheid like discrimination in the system of government
      the lies spewing out from the mouth of politicians
      the hatred & racially biased speeches from the mouth of politicians & ruling party supporters
      the rising inflation that does not commensurate with the low increase in wages
      the rising crime rate

(please feel free to add some more)

• agreed with awak, why not proton concentrate on good passenger car because most of the population only want to use their car for normal daily usage. For me, if the car able to take cornet at 110km/h without oversteer and understeer is enough already.

• Jaybond on Jun 24, 2010 at 9:08 am

Proton will not only concentrate on passenger car but also sporting car , which in this case is Lotus. I aggree that the lightweight nimble sportscars should be retained, because that’s the heritage of Lotus. But to move on and to expand in current times(remember Lotus is quite a sleepy brand outside UK for the last 15 years or so), Lotus will have to create more product line up, and becoming more upmarket. Because eversince Proton acquired Lotus, there’s not much impact that Lotus has created (or profits :) ) This is what the management want to change, BUT DEFINITELY in won’t be easy task to match the quality, techno wizardry & craftsmanship of Porsche & Ferrari.
    All the best Lotus.

• limsk on Jun 24, 2010 at 5:44 pm

Lotus ambition sales target 8000/year by 2015, as this another way to spice up Proton export sales figures, and this impede Lotus for sales at this moment. Lotus need a budget from Proton to achieved his target .. What the budget figure?

• scottloh on Jun 24, 2010 at 8:38 pm

This is the best what our own country automobile company can come out with? what about eco friendly car? when will we see that?

• mata katak on Jun 24, 2010 at 8:54 pm

sure, Proton….

In your dreams la………

You are such a failure after so many years in the auto business. No shame and still wana talk big. You are a failure of the failure

You are the main reason why all the car prices in Malaysia are sooooo bloody expensive.

• fasgen on Jun 24, 2010 at 10:26 pm

some people wrote like a cleverest in the world.. like this country and world they own.. talking like only they are the best.. common man.. talking like have never feel thankful… aiiyooo yoooo.. dont be stupid.. all decision have been made… want ask you 1 question.. WHY DO YO HATE PROTON??…..

• Eyesore on Jun 25, 2010 at 11:00 am

Because they want to own an imported luxury or supercars but could not afford it… but they do not want to blame themselves for not working hard enough to earn it… so they need something to put them blame to… so they choose PROTON… they dun want to blame P2 becoz its the poor man toyota or NAZA (a poor man KIA / Peugot) that they can afford and change the emblem…. so all blame is on Proton…. eventhough P2 and NAZA also received protection from the govt. and have their parts in spending the rakyat taxes….

They say it is a broadband era where everything must be faster no time to wait.. so i wonder in this so call broadband era..can your newborn baby walk and talk as soon as the came out? since u do not have time to wait for the to grow up… -.-

good enough reason for you?

• fasgen on Jun 24, 2010 at 10:33 pm

i dont think all car are perfect.. recently teh Lexus tester, japanese, died because a car… a luxury car… I bet you … if proton make a perfect car like you want like ferrari.. I believe all of you will condem proton like now… because you want a cheap car, but no any problem, with highestttttt quality… don no lah….

• 10DowningSt on Jun 25, 2010 at 3:09 am

only idiots and morons will believe this latest media stunt by Proton. The share prices didn’t even move after this announcement, meaning the market is not excited, cause the investors knows this is just another wishful thinking by Proton, in actual another scam.

• Amiran on Jun 25, 2010 at 8:05 am

Especially for the white coffee & currypuff portion, just don’t have it with your supplier mr Proton, especially one that they pay/sponsor.
    More importantly, NO MORE GOLF & KARAOKE session with them.
    If you still do Sirs, I pray this time YOU WILL FALL THE HARDEST!

• dickybird on Jun 25, 2010 at 1:09 pm

aiyo! are you really that thick?! coz their products suck but still wanna make empty boasts about being the national carmaker. it is a vanity project by dr M, so it does not really matter it if makes a good car people want to buy, just as long as they make a car, can lah!
    and because of their existence, cars are taxed unreasonably high in this poor country. for other makes to be able to sell their cars in this market, they have to reduce or remove some features that would be standard in any other reasonable car market. so we not only pay more expensive cars, but cars that have fewer features.