Dagger GT with 2,000hp chasing supercar top spot!

When VW-owned Bugatti introduced the Veyron, they worked hard on combining what its prospective customers would want from a high end bullet on wheels, which was ultimate luxury garnered with extreme power.

TranStar Racing is trying to do the same with the release of the Dagger GT, which produces a record breaking 2,000hp from a 572 multifuel (petrol/methanol/hydrogen/ethanol) twin turbo racing unit. Produced by Nelson Racing Engines, the monster car puts out an equally spine tingling 2,710Nm of torque which is paired with a TranStar/Mendeola 6-speed transmission.

If figures are to be believed, the car can explode from 0 to 96km/h in just 1.5 seconds whereas that infamous quarter mile (400 meter) drag is accomplished in just 6.7 seconds. Believe it or not, this goes on to reach a claimed top speed of 483km/h, which is higher than the 425km/h official record just set by the Veyron.

The car uses high-strength 4130 Chromoly Steel for the chassis while the outer body is covered in carbon fibre which brings weight down in the supercar. Handmade to prospective customer’s specification, they will have the option of a hard-core racing model, a street-legal comfortable-riding sport model, or a soft-riding, luxurious GT-X model.

The cost of this luxury sets you back a measly US$450,000 which is a bargain when you consider that the company is trying to make a car that looks like it’s worth a million dollars. Contributing to that unique supercar persona is the fact that only 5 units will be constructed for 2011, while a further 10 is being planned for 2012.

It’s a little hard to say what kind of car this is just from specs and pictures. The Veyron may have a huge amount of horsepower but it’s crazily heavy as well thanks to all the insulation to separate the driver from all the rawness. I doubt the Dagger follows the same formula.

Look after the jump for a picture gallery.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1282]

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• Mayonaise on Jul 05, 2010 at 12:13 pm

Looks nice… The overall shape reminds me of the Lamborghini Cala…

• Faster than the veyron… and look better than the veyron too :)

• crazy…even f1 car would not reach that figure..
    they build this car for what??
    to kill human is it?

• mujahid on Jul 05, 2010 at 2:25 pm

if u wanna suicide, u can do it with honor by driving this car as far as u can…..

• acerman on Jul 05, 2010 at 8:16 pm

Than become sardine in the car…nice…the fastest way to die rich

• littlefire on Jul 05, 2010 at 6:23 pm

Maybe killed by the G-force itself… Hehe..

• PakAbu on Jul 05, 2010 at 12:34 pm

Bullet on wheels indeed.

And a very beautiful one too.

• nebula87 on Jul 05, 2010 at 1:10 pm

The body r so damn wide…

• shiftSpank on Jul 05, 2010 at 1:26 pm

I don’t understand the need for 1,xxx increments in hoursepower. Can the average human being even maintain control of 2,000bhp without being made part of the concrete barrier? You’ll need a parachute to stop.

That aside, it’s a gorgeous look car. It’ll look real nice with 650bhp.

• takeo1070 on Jul 05, 2010 at 1:36 pm

US450 gran, LFA is gonna hv a tough time…….

• drMpower on Jul 05, 2010 at 1:49 pm

450,000usd is consider not so luxury, compare to one japan made so called super car that they sold to u but never let u really ‘owned’ one that u can drive daily. and also that japan made car is 300,000 usd and they dont make money out of it.

• holy smoke…its a convertible? doubt it will run long…maybe after few miles the body rigidity loosen due to too much power ^^

so with mixture of fuel it means its damn expensive to run too ^^

• Waa KL-JB less than 1 hour. If no traffic jam along Nilai-Seremban la..

• This is what we call ‘porn on four wheels’!

But with all that ridiculous power on a convertible?? You have to have a strong enough A-pillar to withstand the sheer front wind force similar to a jet!

• shawal on Jul 05, 2010 at 2:57 pm

2,000 bhp…? for a car that small , im sorry but we’ve seen far too many ‘headline-grabbing’ claims by manufacturer especially from the US that failed to live up to the expectations , even FORD’s GT was unreliable, imagine a small volume manufacturer.

So far, only Veyron (1000 now up to 1200), Zenvo (1000+) and Venom GT(1000+) have proven their cars are capable.
    And Veyron was built by the best engineers in the world utterly without compromise (zenvo’s sterring wheel is asymetrical , venom is ugly..its a stretched elise), and the veyron is as reliable as ever.

Lexus LFA sold out oledi btw…

• mystvearn on Jul 05, 2010 at 3:22 pm

Looks like ferrari’s newest car?

• muuse on Jul 05, 2010 at 3:39 pm

0-96km/h in 1.5 sec? impossible..the wheel might just roll off and the tyres will melt in a instance. the technical spec just doesnt make any sense..
    but the design is nice tho..alot better then veyron and for 450USD, is CHEAP!

• Lancermania on Jul 05, 2010 at 5:50 pm

bro,its USD450K……

• Mazda MPS is a stoopid guy on Jul 05, 2010 at 6:22 pm

many people said like yours when VW announce the veyron (i remember jeremy clarkson even said ‘it’s impossible’) but then it still rolls…so i don’t think this is not imminent

• Seriously on Jul 05, 2010 at 4:11 pm

concept I presume

• mirror mirror on Jul 05, 2010 at 5:03 pm

Would love to see this babe racing with a FI car on the circuit.

• Thomanic on Jul 05, 2010 at 5:18 pm

1.5 sec to 96kmph is just impossible. Even with F1 car. massive power and low weight..with super wide racing slick tyres..also only manage to get to 96kmph in 1.7-2.0 sec range.

The reason behind is that there is only so much traction when you are on planet earth with the same gravity pull. The wheels will just spin and spin. Unless the car is strap to the track…there is no way to reach 96kmph in 1.5sec with limited traction.

• rageaccel2 on Jul 05, 2010 at 5:26 pm

production ready i reckon

• If this is real, we are closer a few steps to build a car which can travel back to the future….heheh

• 1.5 seconds, 0-100 km/h?
    To put it into perspective, the Proton Saga is 13 seconds.
    A Honda Accord ’09 is 9.6.
    GT-R35 is 3.2 secs.
    The Bugatti ’06 is 2.6 seconds.
    I suppose this massive breakthrough is due to the fact that’s they’re freaking cheating by using 4 types of fuel?

• Thomanic on Jul 07, 2010 at 1:03 am

nope…it cant do 1.5sec if it is using tires….traction is limited with tarmac.

this car is just full of hype….EVEN it can do 483kmph …. i wonder it can even take a corner or not…

• 1kereta on Jul 05, 2010 at 9:30 pm

nice record on paper, pls prove it!

• DaveDiablos on Jul 05, 2010 at 9:56 pm

can reach 483km/h with a convertible?

cannot be one la… lots of drags plus our heads will be like swinging around in the cabin…

• c14man on Jul 05, 2010 at 10:31 pm

ridiculous!
    those pictures are not real.
    look at thumbnail picture no.1, 2, 4, 15, 21. same car, same angle, different colour.

rumors~~
    prank~~

-_-lll

• c14man on Jul 05, 2010 at 10:33 pm

2000hp, century sprint 1.5 sec, and the brake disc in non-ventilated? =D

• Cars4Life on Jul 06, 2010 at 1:15 am

Would u be seen dead driving something else?

• Cars4Life on Jul 06, 2010 at 1:16 am

Would u rather be seen dead, driving something else?

• no need lah on Jul 06, 2010 at 1:49 am

Every potential(or non?) supercar maker these days are really racing to have the car that has MORE kudapower… no sense at all LoL…
    sigh…. -_-lll

• rexis on Jul 06, 2010 at 10:24 am

1.5secs… how many G is that?

• it is only a 3d model for now

• Jaas torre on Jul 08, 2010 at 5:27 am

What? 5 units only? Niamah, now how else am I gonna spend my winnings from the world cup?