2011 Nissan X-Trail facelift debuts with new 6-speed auto

01-xtrail

Nissan have announced that they will be releasing a revised X-Trail for the Japanese market. The biggest change in the 4X4 will be the inclusion of a 6-speed automatic transmission (with manual shift mode) matted to the 2.0 litre “M9R” Clean Diesel engine.

The MR9 engine is a joint venture development with Renault, which was made to meet Japan’s strict emission regulations. A host of technologies such as Piezo-electric injectors, diesel particulate filter (DPF), and lean NOx-trap catalysts are featured in this engine making it more efficient. The standard engine produces 170hp and 359Nm of torque. This figure is comparable to a 3.5-litre V6 gasoline engine, available from way down in the rev range.

07-xtrail

Cosmetic changes to the car include a slightly revised exterior which include a new front grille, front bumper, new head lights, LED tail lights and a sportier front end. This will sit on redesigned 17-inch aluminium wheels with revised tyre sizes.

Moving on inside, larger dials and a vehicle information display system provide the driver with fuel consumption figures and upcoming maintenance schedules while the glove compartment comes standard with refrigeration and heat retention capabilities. Advanced Hill Descent Control system (with a speed-setting function) will be available for 4 wheel drive models, which enables the driver to set their desired speed while climbing up a steep hill.

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• zanggief on Jul 09, 2010 at 4:04 pm

Just wonder when TC will bring in any of this new XT to m’sia? The one that we have here is like decade old and understand our neighbour markets (Indonesia, Thailand) are having fun with this new model…

• pororo on Jul 10, 2010 at 10:06 am

i still don’t understand if this is a ‘new’ model or a facelift over what we have here in malaysia….

if it’s a new model…… to me it looks like a facelift…..

• Chilavert on Jul 09, 2010 at 4:06 pm

when i looked at the first picture, i thought the x-trail is using the same pink color as myvi limited edition LOL

• Looks like china car..

sad..

• Of course China is more attractive to Japanese car manufacturers, due to there are much more packages offer from Chinese gov compare to our 1 Malaysia gov (seems to be moving backward on car industry) & their market is huge!

• chan lan chia on Jul 31, 2010 at 2:28 pm

of course you typical china surely always talk big about anything to do with china.Wake up and be broad minded,be rational and be practical dont blindly say every damn thing is best or superior about them or their product or their policy be fair to others give them the credit they deserve. do you know the the standard and quality of chinese products?

• casey_c on Jul 10, 2010 at 10:55 pm

First … look at the dashboard….Now I think local people should have no problem with Exora. This Nissan Dashboard is like being put together by few designers who don’t like to work together

• Littlefire on Jul 09, 2010 at 4:14 pm

If not mistaken, in Japan they also have the 2.0 SR20DET engine for X-trail.. They call it as GT spec.. Saw it a few times at half-cut shop..

• xtrail? on Jul 09, 2010 at 9:53 pm

wer to saw the GT halfcut? tq!

• X-Trail GT halfcuts ? i’ve been searching for it bout a year already.
      where is the junk shop???

Gonna buy the half cut and transfer everything to my X-Trail :)

• the headlamps are ugly.

• reactix on Jul 09, 2010 at 10:33 pm

agree on that. looks very funny with super duper big front lamp cluster…

• Georgie on Jul 09, 2010 at 4:18 pm

Poor man’s Nissan Murano. Nice indeed.. however the design is quite outdated.
    Anyway, hopefully TCM will bring it to our shores here.

• I’m praying for ETCM to make the decision to bring in this version of the revised/facelifted T31 X-Trail to Malaysia soon. Coz if they do, I’m getting myself one.

• Jerry on Jul 17, 2010 at 10:39 pm

hi DK, the T31 X-Trail is already at our Malaysian soil. What’s ur contact number? Let me discuss further with you.

• Ugly look. Korean car is more attractive now. I am awaiting forn new Kia 2010 and new 2010 Sorento.

• nyawere on Jul 09, 2010 at 4:30 pm

All this is good…..!!! I want this car…!!! The question now is, can it run on our dirty Euro 2M Diesel….???

• park this beside the hyundai tucson and it looks like something from the 1990s

• STMAN on Jul 11, 2010 at 4:29 pm

Agreed. Koran car is far more better now in term of design and engine performance.

• xenogearz on Jul 09, 2010 at 5:10 pm

outdated design….nissan should come up with a brand new x-trail replacement already…

• dream on Jul 09, 2010 at 5:35 pm

where’s the gallery?

• khaix19a on Jul 09, 2010 at 5:50 pm

even better, bring the infiniti

• Jason on Jul 09, 2010 at 5:51 pm

Not attractive….outlook not changed!

• carlocaraddict on Jul 09, 2010 at 6:09 pm

eeekks! Nissan Philippines just launched the 2nd gen xtrail here in the Philippines.

• no doubt on Jul 09, 2010 at 6:15 pm

really no much change!!
    is time to get the year 07′ version x trail from 2nd hand market now.. yeah!!

• theanswer on Jul 09, 2010 at 6:30 pm

thnk god..better dashboard.

• DonkeyKong on Jul 10, 2010 at 1:07 am

HAHAHA!! Absolutely true!! The old X-trail had a horrible dashboard that looks like it belongs in 1982 or 1983!!!

• seancorr on Jul 09, 2010 at 6:59 pm

Wahlau…another facelift…this model looks super dated compared to its competitors

• jugaus on Jul 09, 2010 at 7:03 pm

Still fugly..

• Mauis on Jul 09, 2010 at 7:06 pm

Interior not bad but the exterior still with the outdated boxy type. Hight time for total exterior changes already.

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 09, 2010 at 7:47 pm

Boxy exterior…big interior room….

• crazyboutcrv on Jul 09, 2010 at 8:04 pm

finally a facelift and a new engine.keep it that way.hope to hear from TC soon,very soon.can`t wait to hear the price.a 2.5 petrol version is 144k.170HP for a 2 litre diesel is great.may reconsider this rather than crv.

• the torque at 359nm at low rev is awesome compared to the usual Japs 2.0 petrol gutless torque….but the tucson r-series 2.0 diesel have better torque but not available here…thanks to our dirty diesel

surprising that these diesel version is for the jap domestic mkt…Japs embracing diesel now?

• Jerry on Jul 17, 2010 at 10:41 pm

hey, its a 2l petrol CBU from Indonesia…definitely better than crv…value for money….

• The best X-Trail model that Nissan produced was the 2002 X-Trail GT.
    with a 280HP SR20VET engine.
    only 500 units available.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UgVhlJqAhqI

• transformer on Jul 09, 2010 at 10:38 pm

even ETCM brings it in, i guess it wouldnt sell much as its design so outdated… too boxy…. came too late….

1gen. GT comes with SR20VET(280hp & 309nm) engine… its so cool!
    my dream engine….

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nissan_SR_engine

• nissanNOmore on Jul 09, 2010 at 10:44 pm

poor nissan…ugly looks..expensive parts..

• atifjeelan on Jul 09, 2010 at 11:31 pm

one word…ugly!

• Toyocar on Jul 10, 2010 at 12:55 am

people would still love this design are mostly ah pek !!!
    the China brand Cherry Tiggo has better looking

Tucson has set the new look for SUV… or it should look at least like the P3008…

• good news guys, its coming to malaysia. the new x trail.

cbu and 2nd gen. will cost around 140-150k for 2 litre. once again, its heard straight from the horse’s mouth. (nissan dealer and personal friend)

but still, it’s not prince charming.

• are they bringing this diesel version?…if yes, Superb!

• CBU from Indonesia cost like around 140k to 150k …. And somemore only 2WD available. Better buy CRV or TUSCON or coming KIA SUV.

• Nissan is shortchanging its customers!

Do they think what used to be best seller would be best seller now with minor tweak here and there!

BIG DISSAPOINTMENT for plaing too safe!

SUV design is on a innovation trend now, just reflect what the Korean car has done. Audi is also coming up with great design…sad to say, this Xtrail will be forever trailing its’ competitors back.

Worst than my shoe box!!!

• we have not gotten the new model, suddenly now have a NFL model…TC really sometime A half life slow…….maybe it wont arrive at all….maybe if arrive, crv, rav4 and others change new model….

• I don’t understand why TCM has yet to bring the 2nd generation X-Trail to Malaysia despite already being launched in Japan in 2007.

On a second thought, the X-Trail is horrible. Not much of a difference in outlook between the 1st and 2nd generations. Bring Qashqai / Dualis instead.

• prolever on Jul 10, 2010 at 3:54 pm

I like the front light..
    if you all see at the first pic…. its just like Raptor eye brow or like the TreX eyebrow..
    seriously cool

• facelift after another facelift after another facelift! Boring Nissan design

• atifjeelan on Jul 11, 2010 at 1:24 am

better you take the new tucson

• dickybird on Jul 11, 2010 at 4:23 pm

i drive a livina and think nissans are underated but the x-trail is 1 fugley SUV.

• err…

Still think my 2005 X Trail look more handsome than these 2nd edition thingy…:)

• Seriously on Jul 12, 2010 at 2:29 pm

That is one ugly car.

• xtrail04 user on Jul 15, 2010 at 2:35 pm

The new edition model looks more nice & the equipment accessories more better. My nissan sales man already test drive & he promote to me. I think I want to trade in my old xtrail……However nissan pls give very,very,very good price……

• hi its a good idea u trade in your old xtrail…coz this one got intelligent key and with latest engine…pm me if you wanna test drive….the best part is it is at a very very good price….

• Do remember the new model only come with 2WD. With the price given around (RM135k to RM150k), you should consider other brand like CRV or TUSCON or coming KIA. Their exterior and interior design are latest 2010 design whereby the nissan 2nd generationXtrail is outdated design since 2007. It is like you buying a 3 years old pentium processor and 2.9 kg weight old design notebook compare to iCore 3 processor with 2.1kg weight new notebook design. Which is your choice ? It all depends on price. If nissan tag the price at RM120k for 2WD then I will consider.

• xtrail04 user on Jul 17, 2010 at 9:31 am

Yeah, i’m aggred with SUV says, if the price market around RM135K to RM150K better we take Honda CRV or what equalvilent to 4×4 specification.
    ”It all depends on price. If nissan tag the price at RM120k for 2WD then I will consider.” if not, i think Nissan Agent get a Problem to market this Car :)

• Suzuki Grand Vitara SUV is fully imported CBU from Japan only caused about RM 119k. But nissan X-trail 2nd generation CBU from Indonesia need about RM 150k…. Import Tax higer from Indonesia than from Japan ??? And quality must be better from Indonesia…..???? Somemore 2007 year design for nissan X-Trail 2nd generation. I really can’t believe it….. Ask TC to send back to Indonesia lol….

• kd8800 on Jul 27, 2010 at 8:56 pm

When TCM will launching this ugry x trail? how much it cost? I like nissan but i don’t like this 2nd gen x trail, look like ah pek, TERUK TCM, why not Dualis/Qushqai ,TCM oh TCM oh TCM on TCM oh TCM ARE U weakup?
    this x trail will give your sales man a headdach.

• Izwan on Jul 28, 2010 at 11:29 am

I don’t mind the looks..what really important is the technology. Do you know xtrail is using the same 4wd system in Nissan skyline GTR?

• Nissan on Jul 28, 2010 at 2:04 pm

The technlogy used in nissan xtrail second generation is outdated in (interior) and out(exterior). It was launched at 2007. It is 2007 technology. It has the keyless feature since 2007.

Additionally, the coming new Xtrail in Malaysia is 2wd CBU from Indonesia. The engine is 2WD 2.0-liter MR20DE.

If it is come with 4WD with RM140k, it should be more competitive if compre to CRV. This is only my personal opinion.

• Toyota on Jul 30, 2010 at 9:13 am

I heard Toyota going to launch Hilux 3.0 VNTurbo engine. It is 4WD and price around RM106,000. It should be worth to buy since Hilux 3.0 is latest design in and out, 3.0 litre engine with 4WD and price far more cheaper if compare to nissan Xtrail with lower spec. Any one can comment about this new Hilux ?

• xtrail04 user on Jul 30, 2010 at 5:04 pm

Wah.. nice offer from Toyota, better Toyota from Nissan x-trail…