Mazda 8 MPV now officially available from Bermaz!

Now this is one car that I’m pretty sure a lot of you are already familiar with. Way before the Proton Exora was launched, Photoshopped photos of the Mazda 8 were floating around the internet with its Mazda badge replaced by a Proton badge, and the styling actually looked pretty believable as a Proton.

The Mazda 8 is a large MPV, much larger than the Mazda 5. It’s wheelbase of 2,950mm exceeds that of the Toyota Alphard, but the Alphard is slightly longer. In general the two MPVs are in the about the same size. They are large with a tall roof and feature sliding doors, though the bodystyle of the Mazda 8 is more similiar to the likes of the Kia Sedona (Naza Ria). The Mazda Biante is more similiar to an Alphard.

Although it has been available since 2008 from Naza World, this time it is available officially through Bermaz, the Mazda dealer. Naza World’s price for the Mazda 8 was RM198,888 back in February 2008, and the new official Bermaz price is slightly cheaper at RM195,404.20 OTR with insurance.

Under the hood is a normally aspirated 163 PS engine with 203Nm of torque at 3,500rpm. It’s a version of the 2.3 litre engine in the first generation Mazda 6 but tuned differently – as you can see peak torque is achieved at a lowish RPM, but unfortunately torque seems a little on the low side for something that has to pull all that weight and people around. We’ll find out if this is the case if we ever manage to secure a test drive unit from Bermaz.

Now this is where the difference between the Bermaz model and the Naza World model comes in – the Naza World model features a turbocharged version of the 2.3 litre engine instead, but it’s been two years so I’m not sure how much Naza World is selling the Mazda 8 now. Of course, the Bermaz car comes with a warranty from the official distributor.

The 2.3 litre engine is mated to a 5-speed Activematic transmission. There are two airbags at the front, and curtain airbags for the rear passengers. The third row splits 60:40 and the second row seats are captain seats which are able to slide back and forth by about 80mm.

If you want to check out the Mazda 8, you can head on to Mid Valley this weekend where the Mazda 8 is on display until Sunday. Look after the jump for some pix of the Mazda 8 from Japan – there are a mix of the pre-facelift and post-facelift model in the photo gallery just in case you want to compare.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1301]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• CH805 on Jul 09, 2010 at 2:57 am

Nice but over priced – similar to the Estima.
    If only Exora had a 2 litre engine. :)

• Alpha on Jul 09, 2010 at 6:10 am

overpriced??really??i don’t think so.as stream,wish,mazda5 n such are all abt 150-160k.and this 8 is in another segment.large MPV.the price is just right.

• Rhys Millen on Jul 10, 2010 at 1:22 pm

They are overpriced too… with that pricing stream and wish just completely died in the market .. without volume you won’t get any good used car value on those vehicles as well..

• phahmeen on Jul 13, 2010 at 7:12 am

what wif all the OVERPRICED thingy???…ALL cars in MALAYSIA ARE overpriced……………….not only stream, Mazda 8 …..what laaaaaaa…………..

• sylar on Jul 09, 2010 at 8:09 am

i believe this 1 is match to alphard not estima..

• Alpha on Jul 09, 2010 at 10:47 am

somehow i believe this is more a competitor to odyssey rather than alphard/estima/elysion.

• jaguarXJ on Jul 09, 2010 at 12:18 pm

estima is overpriced?
          maybe u are living in a cave.haha
          estima more sporty,faster.haha

• vigoss on Jul 09, 2010 at 1:14 pm

estima is fakin reckon car, not brand new.
            get your fact

• M Rafidi Abdullah on Apr 01, 2011 at 3:02 pm

I agree its overprice…….to get fair price, together we change Barisan Nasional to Pakatan Rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
    • acerman on Jul 09, 2010 at 8:45 am

It might have if it shares the same engine as mitsubishi grandis. Hopefully they would.

• more practical & spacious than grandis…sliding doors & 2-2-3 or 2-3-3 seating config

• theanswer on Jul 09, 2010 at 8:59 am

mpv will price higher than sedan..even mazda 6 2.3(or 2.4?) will cost u around 170+k. yeah..but i prefer exora 2.0 using the 4g63 engine…6A12 a bit heavy lah.

• Anonymouse on Jul 09, 2010 at 10:06 am

Huh? Where do you buy a brand new Estima for around RM200k? I would like one too.

• MINI FREAK! on Jul 09, 2010 at 5:31 pm

Are you insane? This price is so cheap compared to rivals such as Estima…. And Estima is recond! No offence! PEACE OUT!~

• William Wong on Jul 23, 2010 at 4:31 pm

overpiced? yes, abit juz by looking at the market……. but compare that to RM300k Estima… NON HYBRID!!!
      This looks of this new MAZDA8 MPV Rocks. i’m using the 2nd Gen Mazda MPV, 2.5L for 5 years now…. FANTASTIC…. Reliable, Very low maintenance… high quality finishes
      It may not look much like the Grandis but at least you can differentiate from the thousands of Estimas on the road… Haha…
      Wonder if it has the 9-Speaker Audio system in the earlier MPVs…

• erwan billy on Mar 05, 2011 at 6:51 pm

what la people comment for the sake of commenting

• estima 2.4 is around 300k and you call this overpriced?

• MINI FREAK! on Jul 09, 2010 at 5:32 pm

It’s only RM170k to RM230k now. Go check for urselfler. PEACE OUT!~

• khaix19a on Jul 09, 2010 at 3:56 am

prefer this than the alphard

• shawal on Jul 09, 2010 at 4:00 am

styling is not as ‘IN YOUR FACE!’ like an alphard /elgrand or whutever washing machines out there , im not sure malaysians would go for it, it does not reflect the price tag, maybe if see it in the flesh i’l change my mind…
    better get a CX-7 or CX-9 they look like nothing else on the road..

• Just_Once on Jul 09, 2010 at 5:34 am

Oh please not exactly Alphard class. Why don’t you say same class as current Kia Carnival, US Odyssey, or Toyota Seinna. Perhaps upcoming Nissan Quest?

My eyes see Alphard nose not in the same class as MPV I mention above.

• Just_Once says:
      9/7/2010 at 5:34 am
      Oh please not exactly Alphard class. Why don’t you say same class as current Kia Carnival, US Odyssey, or Toyota Seinna. Perhaps upcoming Nissan Quest?

My eyes see Alphard nose not in the same class as MPV I mention above.
      ———————————————————————————————————————-

SPOT ON bro!…These M8 is more towards those US minivans styling

• you’re right man.. Alphard nose is more like Hyundai Starex.. maybe it’s in the same class… LOLLL

• The Black Stig on Jul 09, 2010 at 7:14 am

Interior is a little letdown, have the feeling the dashboard is too angular. shouldn’t it mimic the curvaceous exterior? I loved the one with dark tone though, kinda mystery and sensual. The price is a rip-off!!

• Saw it at midvalley last night. So many people flocking to see this one. A key feature that attracted me was the button to auto-close the rear door – normal for European cars but not available even in my Honda Stream, damn.

• thinkfirst on Jul 09, 2010 at 10:52 am

saw it at Midvalley too.. I am impressed with the features…. the auto sliding door can be controlled remotely.. how cool is that.. with 6 airbags, front and rear sensors, this is worth it.. just that I don’t have the money to buy it.. :-(

• jaguarXJ on Jul 09, 2010 at 12:20 pm

estima oso can.hahah
        jk jk

• Meaning Estima has electronic rear door button too? Fine, but in european cars, this is available even among normal hatch back cars like Audi A3. So I’m really pissed that Stream didnt have it. This is for org tua tak larat tutup pintu berat.

• why the front grill looks familiar huh???

• Cyrus on Aug 05, 2010 at 12:19 am

long back ago there is a photoshoped of proton mpv like this

http://lh6.ggpht.com/Lawyer.Joshua/R-CwxLC9-AI/AAAAAAAAAhY/n5x8h49CJCs/Proton+MPV.jpg

so you might see it again :)

• Horny_James_H on Jul 09, 2010 at 7:49 am

Nice one!!!!!!!!!!

• sianglee on Jul 09, 2010 at 8:34 am

Just check the car at mid valley yesterday during lunch hr (just below my office hehe). Very nice interior, even equiped with eletric hatch door at the back which is quite unique design. However just for autmatic closing , u still have to lift up the door when opening it. Third row seat also have auto folding up function. But the oddessy one still better. Plenty of space left empty in the engine bay, may be reserved for turbo chage parts.

• fauzi on Jul 09, 2010 at 8:51 am

Nice… an option for estima lovers

• Yeap, I agreed,overpriced mainly because of the AP.Could it be around RM120K if we didn’t pay for the AP?

• Cyrus on Jul 09, 2010 at 9:08 am

Overpriced? i thought recon estima already 180k…. this is new. How much is new estima?

• thinkfirst on Jul 09, 2010 at 10:46 am

2008 recon Estima is about RM275K. Mazda 8 has more value in terms of features and comfort. Just count the number of features, I think the price 195K is worth it with 3 years warranty and service.

• jaguarXJ on Jul 09, 2010 at 8:00 pm

but estima maintain the price

• ken292 on Aug 06, 2010 at 9:45 am

but estima maintain the price
          —————————————————————————————-
          talk only, i sold my Estima after I used for 1 year , lost RM40k , can estima maintain the price???

• pee pul on Jul 09, 2010 at 9:10 am

haha, 195k… for this? gosh, they think we in the bolehland print our own money from our home pc, using normal paper and inkjet colour printer. hah, think we need to print some RM250,000 currency note to distribute to them. give them a truck load also no problem. oh yeah, delivery not included…

yeah, proton should consider bigger cc capacity for exora, some of us hv large family and some are “better built” than others, due to the late nites nasi lemak and roti bomb at the famous teh tarik stalls.

• PakAbu on Jul 09, 2010 at 10:21 am

RM250k is nothing for some people. Or a few people, rather.

I heard that one chap got rm300k cash stolen from his house. How much got in bank, is anybody’s guess.

• Also heard some guy buying penthouse at Binjai KLCC for RM38m. Obscene…

• Rhys Millen on Jul 10, 2010 at 1:27 pm

Chances these people have more money at home in comparison to their bank account.

• Gary YAP on Jul 09, 2010 at 9:25 am

The front of the car reminded of an Opel model, couldn’t recall if it’s the Opel or…

• dagaro on Jul 09, 2010 at 9:46 am

the 2nd row seat can comes out of the car, nice feature!

I’ll wait for the new Mazda5 bcoz she got 6 transmissions & newer engine

• BeemerFreak on Jul 09, 2010 at 10:10 am

Maybe we should start using USD in Malaysia instead of Ringgit. Then cars would be cheaper:)

• some pics reminds me of escalade!

• I saw this test drive unit in Taman Megah (along the LDP) Mazda Showroom. You may head there for a test drive.

• thinkfirst on Jul 09, 2010 at 10:55 am

saw this on the road few times before this launched, i can tell you this car turn heads. If you see this car on the move, it’s gives a different perceptive. hope to kena lottery tonight….

• youngbags on Jul 09, 2010 at 11:02 am

almost 200K for this? i pity the salesman/woman in this case. good luck hitting your quota.

• Gary YAP on Jul 09, 2010 at 1:36 pm

Bermaz won’t sell the target as how they would for Mazda 2, 3 or 5 but instead may placed it alongside the CX9, different market. Even with that kind of pricing they still have their target group abeit smaller.

• nice one from mazda!!! this is way way better than estima and alphard!!!
    zoom zoom…..

• paul, looking forward for your review on the engine performance. to tell truth, quite disappointed that bermaz didnt bring in the 2.3 turbocharged.

looking at the specs, 195k for 2.0 with 163ps and 203Nm at 3,500 na petrol.
    starex is 150k for 2.5 with 150ps and 392Nm at 2000-2500 turbodiesel.

correct me if i am wrong on the specs above. i am not sure whats bermaz objective, hope they know what are they doing.

• williaml on Jul 09, 2010 at 11:14 am

Mazda8 is a full size MPV for family that in the same class with Toyota Estima or Honda Odyssey / Stepwgn, Alphard or Elysion should not be in the same battle as there are categorised luxury large MPV.

What Naza selling is JDM model from Japan, mainly year make of 2006 or 2007, all recond unit.

ZOOM ZOOM…

• Sean Lim on Jul 09, 2010 at 11:24 am

http://www.mazda.com.my/mazda8.aspx
    http://www.mazda.com.my/mazda8/prices.aspx
    MAZDA6 2.0 SDN 5EAT (GGS6 RAH) NEW 2010
    1999 CC OTR RM148,933.00 without Insurance
    MAZDA6 2.5 SDN 5EAT (GGS8 RAC) NEW 2010
    2488 CC OTR RM174,877.00 without Insurance

• cantik sgt!

• I dare Toyota having Estima around this price if someone said, this is overpriced. Buyers should forgo four years used Estima pegged at over RM200k for reconditioned from Japan. Teach used car dealers a lesson for their greedy; price never come south when RM appreciate.

Kudos BerMaz.

• you’ll be surprised if you find out the mad margin these ultra greedy grey importers are making from recon jap MPVs ( estimas/alphards/vellfire). but the best part is it is still selling like its being given away for free.

2 year old recon alphard selling at 400k++ over here when a new one is cheaper than a 320i in singapore and other parts of the world. only in malaysia ppl pay a brand new 523i / E200 price for a second hand alphard.

malaysia really boleh!!

• sazalik on Jul 09, 2010 at 11:38 am

Nice to see nice to hold but I can see only

• Waaay overpriced.

Interior looks rather cramped and certainly doesnt feel as sapcious as an Estima. Might sell if it was priced closer to Mit Grandis at 160k.

• at last a full sized jap MPV with sliding doors and captain seats under RM 200K for a brand new unit. the estimas and alphards at RM 200K are all reconds only. mit grandis is RM 165 and Honda odyssey RM 240K but no captain seats and sliding doors.

korean large MPV’s have a reputation for engine and transmission problems after 5-6 years(such as naza ria).Peugeot 807 was RM 180K but also had some auto transmission problems.

One thing though,the space between the 2nd row captain seats are too close to walk through like estima/alphard. is it becos the car is narrower or the seats are too wide?

So I think there will be a market for this car if you see beyond second hand value etc.

I would definitely consider this if I were looking for a full sized MPV.

• jaguarXJ on Jul 09, 2010 at 12:30 pm

the design of the car is just….
    can compete with all the mpv such as estima,alphard,oddysey and many more?
    i dont think so

• altimate on Jul 09, 2010 at 12:36 pm

Nice.. dont have that big smile :) .. would choose this over alphard.. i think this one will have more car like driving experience compared to others in the segment which are more like a big van.. but at the expense of cabin space i guess..

Price ?.. compared to how other cars are priced.. this is very very reasonable.

• Gary YAP on Jul 09, 2010 at 1:30 pm

Mazda’s are like the underdogs in the ‘Asian’ category, just like Kia & Hyundai as like Audi in the ‘Continental’ side. Good to have competition.

• whats with Mazda using an almost decade old 2.3 L engine???

• williaml on Jul 09, 2010 at 2:36 pm

Almost decade old 2.3L engine? You know what you typed or not?

Just now managed to view a new Honda Elysion from USF-Hicom, a 2.4L MPV similar size with Mazda8 but only comes with 2 airbags, without sunroof, half leather seat, unknown brand headunit, without auto light & auto wiper, full auto trans only, rear manual aircond and price at RM273K.

• Mr Honda on Jul 09, 2010 at 3:04 pm

it’s like that lo…branding in business mah….consumers are blinded just by the brand name…the underdogs have to offer more..accesories , free service & gifts lah etc etc to stay competitive. that the rule of the game. wont change in business world. 273K for H Elysion so what? ppl still go for H…The Power of Dreams…Dreams in Sales..

• ..and only 1 year warranty for the Ely….M8 looks more attractive

• Jonnie on Jul 09, 2010 at 3:00 pm

The 2nd row roof is super low. I am 5’8″. The aircond vent is just 5cm directly over my head. Sure cooling….

ROOF too low lar!!!

• williaml on Jul 09, 2010 at 3:07 pm

Height is low to build the MPV more aerodynamic, I’m almost 6′ and I have no problem on seating.

• Georgie on Jul 09, 2010 at 4:30 pm

Well there’s a saying: If you’re asking for the price, then most probably you can’t afford it.
    In this case, if you can’t afford it, just admire it from far, and shut up with your silly rants about cars being overpriced, etc. Get a job.

And what’s with all the comparison with T’s estima, alphard, etc? Have you ever owned one? Other than the plush interior, the fuel consumption is terrible, and not to mention the maintenance and owning cost. I say Mazda 8 offers quite good package to the price being offered and also the service and maintenance warranty.

• All these MPV need a turbodiesel engine to move those weights and to lower yr fuel bills…..but our diesel quality….

• namawee on Jul 09, 2010 at 4:51 pm

for a 2.3 litre car harnessing only 163ps and 203Nm of torque is very low.

even a korean 2.0 litre can harness power almost as much as that.

• Thinkfirst on Jul 09, 2010 at 5:59 pm

Sometime power figure is not everything. At the end of the day, the total package counts e.g aerodynamics. I bet this 2.3 will pull away from a 2.4 Estima anytime. Try the twist road, Estima will probably see smoke only.

• WooGoo on Jul 09, 2010 at 8:56 pm

I own an 2003 Estima, bought from Naza at RM165K few years ago. I tried the new Hyundai Sonata 2.0L and 2.4L recently. On paper they are superior, on the road even my kids tell me why the Sonata so noisy one. So don’t look at paper, try it out to know.

This Mazda is a steal when compared to the recond Estimas or Alphard as they are in the same class. Can’t wait to try one before commenting…..

• Anonymouse on Jul 10, 2010 at 10:15 am

Agreed.

I wonder if there is even a standard for quoting power figures. Are they at the wheel or flywheel? Some cars have a lot of parasitic loss (e.g. SX4 4WD loses 20%!) so on the dyno you’d be shocked to see the WHP figure.

• a turbo diesel like the 2.5 liter diesel in the Starex will be perfect…wt almost 400nm available at low rev to pull these weights

• IS this MPV come with cruise control, bi-xenon lights, free service packages deals or anything extras???

• if P1 Exora design similar like this & price RM80k I sure buy it….

• long live mazda!!! this is better than estima and alphard!!!
    zoom zoom boleh…

• hangmedan on Jul 09, 2010 at 11:39 pm

It only costs you RM106,190 in Japan… damn with government taxes in Bolehland..!!! check it out dude..
    http://www.batfa.com/newcar-mazdampv.htm

• Thomas L on Jul 10, 2010 at 1:40 pm

Typical shallow minded Malaysian attitude. What you pay for your car taxes compensates for the nations very cheap education, cheap health care for the poor, lower income taxes, building infrastructures in the rural areas, to subsidize for commodities, etc.

An average person buys car maybe twice or three times in his life. If you can afford more, then you should be able to contribute more to the community and the country. Get a job. If you can’t afford it then stick to avanza’s / livinas. They’re not bad anyway.

• BSLee on Jul 10, 2010 at 6:50 pm

Thomas L is too idealistic and naives, You think government is so kindhearted?
        It;s all started to protect the damned Proton then the huge amount of tax became an “addiction” to the government that they cant get rid off:after that those well connected people pressured the government to continue high tax policy so that they can live in luxury with the AP that they have in the pocket. Subsidy the poor? just the usual excuses…

• BSLee on Jul 10, 2010 at 6:56 pm

In country where car is cheap the petrol is usually expensive; In this bolehland car is expensive but petrol is cheap. But all this will change in 5 yrs time. You have expensive car to own and expensive fuel to run the car.

• hangmedan on Jul 10, 2010 at 10:32 pm

even Thomas Cup back to China! Proton is premium sponsor for it.. you’ve been cheated like a dull..!! Proton sold here more expensive than oversea… thanks to our bloodsucker government… protect Proton for nothing!!! Thomas, you’re poor guy + miserable… LOL!

• nocrap on Jul 12, 2010 at 11:28 am

We don’t need cheap things if we are all able to afford good stuff like developed nation. We need high income not low cost craps.

• ken292 on Aug 06, 2010 at 9:57 am

Typical shallow minded Malaysian attitude. What you pay for your car taxes compensates for the nations very cheap education, cheap health care for the poor, lower income taxes, building infrastructures in the rural areas, to subsidize for commodities, etc.
        ————————————————————————————————————–
        Thomas L, you are right but may be 20%only, what we pay for our taxes are used to buy submarine, tanker. to fund the lost project like PKFZ. don’t dreamlah

• Brazil kalah dohh on Jul 09, 2010 at 11:57 pm

It is obvious from all the comments above that there are Bermaz SA promoting the MPV. Went to mv to have a closer look… very..very nice MPV but left wondering why the second row seats doesn’t have karakuri seats… if you fold the 3rd row seats to put things you will have a 4 seater car…

• Gary YAP on Jul 10, 2010 at 12:31 pm

Mazda is on my wish-list. They are a strong brand during the 323, 626 & 929 in the 80s. Now they’re making a strong comeback giving the Top 3 Jap brand a run for their money.

• erwan billy on Jul 10, 2010 at 9:41 pm

went to look at the car with the missus. She really like the car and so do i. The only drawback that there wasn’t any test drive unit. Personally, its a very well equiped mpv with alot of gadget on offer.

• Ayoyo, no auto cruise la…very very important on highways.

• nyan46 on Jul 11, 2010 at 10:25 am

look like ISIS platana

• Consider Mazda 8 is a new car with full accessories and also an officially imported version, RM190k+ is reasonable for Malayisa standard.
    The same specification in Singapore is selling at SG 139k+! (RM 320k)

• Jus Mate on Jul 11, 2010 at 9:25 pm

I went to Bermaz Taman midah today to see mazda8 in live….such a great MPV!!! those who want to buy estima or alphard record, you have to consider this Mazda8.

• Jon ck on Jul 11, 2010 at 10:34 pm

this MPV (suspect it is the naza version then) turned my head in most morning when it came from the opposite direction. Somehow this MPV have some influence over me in owning the new M6 now :).

• squawk on Jul 12, 2010 at 3:37 pm

Perhaps one might consider the Citroen C4 Grand Picasso? :-)

• My friend recently purchased a 3 years old 3L Estima for RM220K. The documents stated the car value as RM22K, Tax was RM42K. Total RM64K. Gross profit RM156K.

• As such,I believe that RM190k+ for the brand new Mazda 8 is value for money.

• PH, if we compare to the recond Estima price, yes it is value for the money.
    I intend to purchase for my wife. There is no car to test drive at the branch facing the Federal Highway.

• Try this site, you can see the review on the Singapore version.

http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_reviews.php?CarCode=10859

• Neonda on Jul 15, 2010 at 3:38 pm

Estima? Alphard? Elgrand? dah macam exora je aku tgk…

• Teighlour on Jul 23, 2010 at 1:16 am

Saw the launch at Mid Valley, went to test drive the car at Bermaz Shah Alam and wah lah, I booked the car. Was considering the Honda Elysion recond 2005-2006 for about 180-195K, cant afford the 2009 model from USF-Hicom @ 240K. While considering for the Elysion, the Mazda8 was launched. Good handling and the ride is really smooth, would consider a good buy for the Mazda8.

• I am In Japan Now!! on Jul 28, 2010 at 1:16 pm

Good mazda MPV already launch in Malaysia and known as Mazda8.
    I did not test drive yet or even enter the vehicle myself but i am really interested on this MPV. Since I arrived in Japan last year and for the first time encounter this car, this car never caught my eye. Plan to bring back Toyota estima ACR50W next year before i notice that this Mazda MPV has a TURBO version!!
    Since I am searching for a quite performance car but my wife want a big MPV!!! So this Mazda 8 Turbo version (23T grade) come on my mind…why dont go for this car??
    Performance & comfortable… heard that Turbo version have 235 bhp..quite good for a MPV…Honda Odyssey Obsolute have 200 bhp…. better that Odyssey in term of performance and spacious…plus the secondhand value in Japan for Mazda MPV is lower than Toyota estima (never considered as performance car – myself)

So , next year confirm i will buy a Mazda MPV 23T over Toyota Estima… estimated value 1,500,000 yen or RM55,000…..hopefully the next not exceed RM40k…….

Anybody have a test drive Mazda MPV 23T? turbo version…

• I am In Japan Now!! on Jul 28, 2010 at 1:18 pm

oppss typo error….

hopefully the tax not exceed RM40k for a 6 years old MPV.. :)
    return to Malaysia in 2012…..

• just want to wait for Peugeot 5008 before I made decision on which MPV to buy!!

• Just collected my Mazda 8, spacious interior, nice headlights and rear cluster lights.
    Very happy and satisfy with the car!

One point is the acceleration can be further improved.

• Glad to hear PH is happy with the MPV. How do you intend to improve the acceleration? I will be collecting the MPV tomorrow.

• Regarding the acceleration, don’t think much can be done? Anywhere, I will check with the technician during the 1st service. But can’t expect a MPV will drive like a sport card!

Overall, Mazda 8 is a good looking and comfortable MPV. If you have kids, they will definately like the car very much.

• Hi PH,
        No kids. only 2 old folks, my wife and I. Wasted the 2nd row. Cannot enjoy the comfort.

• Teighlour on Aug 04, 2010 at 11:07 pm

Hi PH, Hi Yeoh
    Congrats on yr purchases. I guess you guys didn’t wait for the launch and booked the MPV correct? How long was the waiting period. I booked mine in mid July, was informed 2 months waiting period.

• I booked mine early March. Wanted to buy Camery, but cannot understand how I ended booking Mazda 8.

• Teighiour,

I have placed my booking in March this year!!
      only 30+ cars in the first batch.

• Teighlour on Aug 06, 2010 at 9:50 am

Hi P & Yeoh
    Both of you booked the car without actually seeing the car. You guys must have read those forums and took yr decision from there. We should start a forum for Mazda8 owners somewhere for all owners to share their new drive and technical concerns. Enjoy yr new ride, I still got 2 months to wait.

• Nope, I did not read those forums. Just saw the photos from the internet the sales person showed us.
      Anyway, no regret.
      It was worth waiting.

• Did you booked with the 2 headrest dvd monitors as your optional accessories?
      I did not, but got it free.

• They charged me RM1,200 for the monitors!! Only give me the reverse camera.
        You purchased your car from which dealer?

• next to Federal H’way. Yes, it cost RM1,200.00 if you say yes. For me, I told them I do not require. But when I collect the car, it was fitted. So the salesman called his boss to give me free.

• First, noticed from the advertisement in the net by the sales rep,did some reserach from the Mazda’s Japan and HK wed site.

Agreed with Yeoh, no regret.

• just booked .. any feedback so far for the performances do update if anyone iced it to the max

• Anyone getting their booking for this month ? suppose to be 6 weeks waiting right.. or all of us taken for a ride by Vincent Tan again

• Teighlour on Sep 06, 2010 at 9:41 pm

Hi Jazz, 6 mths waiting period? I don’t think so my bro. I’m supposed to get mine this month (booked in July) but I doubt it. Better say Oct to be sure.

• Bro;
          Let me know when u get yours… if it is supposed to be 6 weeks, then should be end of this month.. funny they have not even call me up for registration of number plate or insurance transfer.. normally by now the dealer / agent would have known what stocks are coming in and how many units, at it takes about 2~ 3 weeks to get the cars from factory to Port Klang, another week to pay taxes and puspakom ( if i am not mistaken).. till now no one know.. looks like they wont be able to delivery the car as per promise..

• That was the same waiting period they told me, but had to wait extra 1 month. If they say 3 months, some will not book.
        Anyway, happy waiting and you will not regret your choice.

• Teighlour on Sep 08, 2010 at 7:56 pm

Yeap, that’s why they promise me for 2 months which is targetted mid of this month. I will give them another allowance of 1 mth, mid of Oct. I doubt so that they can deliver this month also.

Nevertheless, I have not seen any M8 on the road so I guess that delivery might be delayed.

• Teighlour on Aug 09, 2010 at 12:07 pm

PH & Yeoh, you guys got good deal….even got the optional accs thrown in. Nevertheless, I also opted for the DVD monitors and reverse camera. Booked mine from Glenmarie. Cant wait for the car to come.

• I think the camera comes with the car if you read the specification from HK. Someone is trying to make the extra RM500.00.
      You will love the ride.

• The Mazda 8 is not overpriced. If you minus the taxes and shipment cost, it is close to Perdana. Remove all the electronics accessories and it will be same with Exora. Now, which car is OVERPRICED??

• Yeoh,

How is your new car?

Any experience to share?

• I find the handling very stable. I was thinking to replace the plugs with IRIDIUM to boost the power. So far Denso chart do not list Mazda 8 MPV. Have to wait for Mazda to recommend.
        To sum up, I give 5 stars for the workmanship and gadgets.

• Dear PH,
        Did you taint the glass? If yes, how much?

• I paid the RM3,800 for the v kool secure. However the workmanship is bad, the sales rep promise to send back to rectify during my 1st service.

• Teighlour on Sep 19, 2010 at 11:31 am

The windows look like the MPV has been tinted. The SA has thrown in a 1k voucher RayTech tint voucher for me. Heard of this brand before?

• I’ll personally advise insist invoice and install by V Kool directly, located at PJ Section 19, not the dealer.

• Kimich on Aug 26, 2010 at 3:47 pm

anyone know if Naza bringing in the 2.3L turbo?

• Understand from a sales rep from Naza that they are bringing in the turbo version, the estimated price is RM240k+. You can check with them for more details.

• kimich on Aug 27, 2010 at 2:58 pm

Thanks.

~50k more is very significant for the turbo. hmmm… get me thinking again

• Teighlour on Aug 27, 2010 at 1:32 am

I was in Singapore earlier this week and now in HK until the weekend. Surprise havent seen any M8 on the road yet in SG but M8 is all over the road in HK…..looks elegant and classy.

• Just perfect!freaking nice!

• Love the M8 and want to make a booking but after I try the Estima 2006 3.5L, notice that it cost me RM110 full tank for 440KM from Shah Alam to Jerantut, average speed 140KM/H at H/Way & 120KM/H at trunck road, I’m really enjoy the overtaking part, my family don’t notice & my wife asking why I drive so slow.
    Tested the M8, prefer with Turbo. If M8 Turbo price at RM240K+, I think Estima 2009 3.5 shall be aroung RM260K+, New car vs Recond.
    Any advise?

• Should also take into account of the 3 years warranty and free services for a new car.

• I was also in the same dilemma like yours. After much thought, I went for M8, mainly due to the warranty issue.
      As for large CC vehicles above 2800, it is very difficult to dispose in the future due to hefty road tax. Like the salesman said to me. Those have money will buy new, the middle income cannot cough out RM2,000++ for the road tax and insurance.

• Teighlour on Sep 17, 2010 at 11:36 pm

I think most buyers of M8 before considering buying the MPV have always looked at Estima as comparison. I did but I chose the Honda Elysion being that Estima is too common car at sight while Elysion is lesser seen on the road. I was about to go for a recond 2006 Ely pending the choice of colour when Bermaz launched the M8. Yeah, the deciding factor for me are (1) new car (2) 3 yrs warranty & maintenance. Was inform by SA that the car will only arrive end of month and delivery in Oct.

• Hi Teighlour;
      I have not seen any on the road yet.. I am just thinking of canceling the order, ( if they cant commit next week exact date).. will take my business somewhere else.. next thing we all should think about is spare parts.. If they cant get the car in time, think of the spare parts in future.. It will be another KIA or Alpha Romeo.. All this has to do with the local distributor.. when they cant deliver based on commitment think about spares… that will be worse, it will be “esok lusa”… The Estima looks better now ..

Sad but very true right !,

• Dear Jazz,
        When when my supplier bought the Estima, I asked him to check out M8. When he surfed the internet, he commented that he should have book the M8.
        Like he said, paid RM220K for recond, and no warranty.
        Specifications nearly the same, accept the M8 front is SO OUTSTANDING.

• Teighlour on Sep 18, 2010 at 1:51 pm

Hi Jazz, I think it is a supply problem for Mazda Jpn. In SG, I also don’t see any on the road. Just came back from BKK, not launch there yet I guess as no chance to pass any Mazda showroom but nevertheless none on the road. As someone commented before that the actual 2 months delivery promised by SA is a bit optimistic. 3 mths to be sure.

Unless u really need to buy an MPV urgently, then you can cancel the booking. As I don’t and have 2 more cars at home, I’ll just for for next month to decide. I already missed USF’s discount weekend where they knocked down the Ely to 220k for 2008 brand new model. Patience my fren as PH and Yeoh already said worth the wait. Not so worry about spares as SD promise to give 3 yrs warranty.

• Before changing to Mazda 8, I was driving Mazda 5. Do not face any serious problem on the services and spare parts.

Did see a few M8 in PJ recenlty, mostly white and silver.
      Not sure whether AP is the cause of limited supply?

• proper on Sep 18, 2010 at 7:34 pm

Yeoh,

I’m taking delivery anytime now. How’s the ride thus far, any regrets? Any tip for the 1st 1000kms?

• Yes, do not park too close, when the door slide out, it requires atleast 8″ free space. My wife hid the dustbin. Just completed the 1,000km service and the MPV is currently at Mazda for panel beating. My wife banged the side when turning up those narrow parking. So just take extra care when turning.
          Actually the M8 is for my wife. She was driving a 2.8L car and when I changed it to M8, she did not complain much about the power. I only drive it during weekend. We give the M8 4.5 stars.

• Dear PH,
        The AP is not the problem because the company is connected to the Pahang Royal family. It is due to demand and the quota to Malaysia.

• proper on Sep 18, 2010 at 7:37 pm

I got mine within 2 months booking only after a guy can’t come up with the deposit.

• You are lucky and I am happy for you.

• Teighlour on Sep 19, 2010 at 11:19 am

Hi bro Proper, that’s the best outcome. Wait for someone to pull out and you can jump the queue. Just like bro Jazz who wanna cancel and it will be to another persons advantage. Which dealer did you go to?

• proper on Sep 19, 2010 at 11:51 pm

Jalan Ampang……… was offered twice. Rejected their 1st offer which was pearl white

• Dear Proper, now got new color available, very nice & it used to available for CX7 only, you may check with Glenmarie.
    Reverse camera and additional LCD display become a stadard accessories now, mean price increase to RM197K++, just make a booking for my wife.

• Teighlour on Sep 25, 2010 at 6:31 am

Is that colour the dark black/purple colour? I wanted that colour coz it looks nice on the CX7 in the Glenmarie showroom. 1 batch of shipment coming in to Port Klang on 28Sep. Delivery in mid Oct.

• For all M8 owners,

Need some advice.
        The monitors behind the the head rest will automatically on whenever I start the engine. Anyone face the same problem? any solution?

Thanks

• Same here. The installer fault or the set is not intelligent? Another common safety feature missing is auto central locking when the car on the move.

• Teighlour on Oct 15, 2010 at 11:57 pm

Gents, good comment about the monitor. Will ask them when I pick up my car next week.

My friend owns the CX-7 and it also does not have the auto central locking system when the car on the move. Just be discipline and lock the doors when you get into the car.

Any other problems? I suggest that we go to the autoworld forum to start a topic for M8 owners.

• Interested on Nov 01, 2010 at 3:54 pm

Anyone out there has a good salesman for Madza 8 to recommend. Must provide good service lah. I called a few but not responsive and seemed not interested.

I am keen on getting the Madza 8.

Thanks.

• alicehks on Feb 15, 2011 at 4:09 pm

wish to change my 9 years old toyota ipsum to mazda 8. but worried about the power and fuel consumption cos mazda 8 is 300 kg heavier. any advice?

• erwan billy on Mar 05, 2011 at 6:53 pm

estimated fuel consumption is about 14/13 liter per 100km.

• smallciku on May 19, 2011 at 10:28 am

anyone know what is the RPM reading when the car crusing at 110 KM/H with this 5 Speed auto.

• Narendran on Nov 05, 2012 at 4:20 pm

Thinking of buying a mazda8 in jan 13. Any comments / advise.it has been about 3 years since in Malaysia. Do not see many on the road. But lots of recon estima on the road. Why?

• If you are concern abt resale value. A estima or aplhard/vellfire is a better bet. Mazda 8 does not hold its value as strong as toyota. For a brand new car this car is relative cheap compare to its rival except for Mit Grandis