Proton Saga 25th Anniversary Edition features dual front SRS airbags and 4 power windows!

Like the 25th Anniversary Edition Exora, the Proton Saga 25th Anniversary Edition is also limited to 25 units and comes at a premium price of RM 54,500, considerably higher than the both the top of the line Saga SE’s RM44,548.00 price tag. As a reference, a Saga M-Line is priced at RM41,548.00.

But the premium of close to RM10,000 brings you something else other than your usual 25th Anniversary ‘look’ which is the nice brown Nappa leather, bodykit (looks the same as the SE’s), alloy wheels unique to the Saga 25th Anniversary Edition, grey instrument faces (Saga is black face and Saga SE is white face) and the ‘tiger’ stripes running the length of the shoulderline.

If you look at the photo of the interior you’ll see that the hole on the passenger side of the dashboard that was previously a storage area has been ‘filled up’ by a passenger SRS airbag. The car also has power windows on all four windows.

In this sense the specs seem quite similar to the Australian market Proton S16. I’m hoping that with a future facelift or specs update we’ll be able to get dual SRS airbags in regular Proton Saga models as well. I also hope that ABS brakes are in the works as this is even missing on the Australian S16!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Anti Proton on Jul 11, 2010 at 10:17 pm

wow??? hahaha

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 11, 2010 at 10:21 pm

wow……10k for tiger stripes?

Wonder if a discounted Gen2 CPS Highline might have been better.

They could have least put the taxi 1.6L in for that price……..

• learner on Jul 12, 2010 at 7:16 am

blind. dual SRS airbag, 4 power window, and high quality leather seats is what?

• lkf0512 on Jul 12, 2010 at 10:39 am

But extra 10k for these?…makes me think twice before booking…
        1st thinking…
        2nd thinking…

I guess I won’t pay the extra premium for these, after all!

• Littlefire on Jul 13, 2010 at 10:54 am

Australian spec if not mistaken is the same above..

http://www.proton.com.au/s16/specifications

See the highest spec, almost 14,999 Aus * 3.6 = RM53996.. Almost the same price here…

But why in Australia selling as high spec, but here selling as limited edition?

• Littlefire on Jul 13, 2010 at 10:58 am

By the way, from Australia they get high spec S16 is 1.6L Campro, while our limited edition is still 1.3L Campro? Are we rip off again?!?

http://www.proton-edar.com.my/25anniversary/saga.html

• someone on Nov 03, 2010 at 3:35 pm

Do you guys think Australian will buy cars like this, with those price, they have a lot of other options. Proton pricing is really ridiculous. Not only they think Malaysians are stupid, they thought the whole world are stupids.

Definition of Insanity is that people keep doing the same thing again and again and hoping for a different result. Proton is INSANE.

• proton fanboy on Apr 25, 2011 at 9:25 pm

i dont know if thay did,but I must disagree with your opinion of saying that this car have very ridiculous pricing.why?because ithave the lowest prices ever in sedan category there.ridiculous?you are..

• proton fanboy on Apr 25, 2011 at 9:37 pm

tak ade la ridiculous mana harganye.mcm la dekat australia tu kereta murah2,smpikn proton ni terlalu mahal bagi diorng..x ad nye..proton s16 kt australia tu kire kereta paling murah dlm kategori sedan..ridiculous??kt sini mungkin la,tp dekat sne x..

• Barkcrack on Jul 11, 2010 at 10:22 pm

Proton belang

• Wallawehh.. smart… nasib jauh kalo dak aku dah book sebijik…

• they should make 2500 units for their supporter, and they can say this is myvi killer!!!!

to me its just another rubbish car.

• Thats why they call this Limited Editon… Edisi Terhad, 25 buah sahaja… peace~

• pomen_gtr on Jul 13, 2010 at 12:11 pm

no..soon u’ll se this car too many to count on the road….

Limited Edition fake…

• 1Malaysia on Jul 15, 2010 at 3:09 pm

Better 25 unit Saga Anniversay Edition for RM 25K only for those still used Saga for past 25 years.

• ViosUser on Jul 11, 2010 at 10:26 pm

I am speechless …………………….

• love1 on Jul 12, 2010 at 10:04 am

25 units.

they think they are ferrari?

better dun sell at all. who can buy? fren and relatives of higher management?

but, they know this car will embarrass the owner, so they just sell 25 units, becos they cannot sell 2.5 units.

• learner on Jul 12, 2010 at 12:42 pm

read the article again, together the recent exora article. don’t be too lazy, read them. then only you know why just 25 units. please don’t act like kids.

• at least they not being u (go build your own car and sell it..see if u can sell 1) and Perodua..almost all model are SE..LE..ManyEdition..bla..bla..bla..by-the-way..The SNR3LE is selling fast..23 out of 25 has been sold..

• If they can sell the car and the owners not embarrass then how?? think before u talk my fren…

• How bout u wait n see… speechless…

• hahaha.. bro, the point to make this 25 LE is because of their 25th annivesary… and i think more than 25 people will have a diff taste (like or not)… so i think there will be a buyer for those 25 units.. LOL

• U think there will be nobody to buy it? think again..even the RM115k neo r3 lotus already sold 23 units..tinggal 2 jer.. inikan Saga LE yg RM54k jer.

• claxxion on Jul 11, 2010 at 10:37 pm

I want those grey dashboard meters and rear power windows for my saga!

• Matchy on Jul 11, 2010 at 10:37 pm

The Nappa leather is very outdated…

• frossonice on Jul 12, 2010 at 3:25 am

i guess baby seal skin would be the latest must have for car seats, eh?

• dickybird on Jul 12, 2010 at 12:39 pm

that must be what is decked out in your car since you are so up to date! proton troll!

• Philip J. Fry on Jul 12, 2010 at 5:48 pm

Whale penis leather actually.
        http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/worldnews/article-1221947/Revealed-The-1mn-bullet-proof-SUV-thats-cheap-compared-vodka-comes-it.html

• acerman on Jul 12, 2010 at 8:36 pm

Must kill this person who bought this model. Nature killer!

• how about alcantara leather?..hehe

• nazri on Jul 11, 2010 at 10:41 pm

dual airbag, 4 power window.. hu hu..
    other spec??

• cam.shaft on Jul 11, 2010 at 10:42 pm

wow

it actually takes 25 years to install these in as “standard”?

way to go proton =)

//cam.shaft

• MangO on Jul 12, 2010 at 12:29 am

Its not standard bro. Its limited to 25 units =)

Not sure when standard is coming.

• cam.shaft on Jul 12, 2010 at 11:43 am

note my inverter commas on the word (standard)…

well…we could prolly wait another 25 years for that to happen

//cam.shaft

• dickybird on Jul 12, 2010 at 12:40 pm

sub standard la tu! lol! biasalah!

• They should put all of these features on standard model..40k is quite expensive for ‘national car’..

• Motorhead on Jul 11, 2010 at 11:34 pm

Exora LE 90+K very expensive for local car
      Nauticar 90+K also very expensive for local car… ooppsss sorry. not local car actually. is CBU with local car emblem.

• haha..
        im agree with you.
        Malaysian should deserved get the expensive one!

• dickybird on Jul 12, 2010 at 12:44 pm

as some ppl here love to say, improve yourself lah dont blame others for your predicament! LOL!
          maybe they should tell it to proton and ask the govt to liberalise the car market so we can benefit from proper quality cars at reasonable prices. if proton cannot survive then they have not improved themselves and cannot blame anyone but themselves.

• ok
            im quite agree with you but not only cars price to be down but all the goods should be reduced for the rakyat respectively.

The TAX is the biggest obstruction for all the things in MALAYSIA!

• teratakpakwok on Jul 11, 2010 at 10:46 pm

for 10k premium, Proton should throw a touch screen radio with DVD player…

• mangkok on Jul 11, 2010 at 10:59 pm

totally agree…better audio system than std should be included as well for 10k extra…aishhh…always want a big margin…

• mkrafz on Jul 11, 2010 at 11:00 pm

nice one. but do the color scheme look rather weird?
    but a good move by proton!

• Jimmy on Jul 11, 2010 at 11:02 pm

Not ‘expensive’, it is ‘TOO expensive’.

• frossonice on Jul 12, 2010 at 3:29 am

LIMITED EDITION badge + only 25 units available. Which part of it you still do not understand? Do you me to explain why LIMITED EDITION do not equal a million pink color MyVis?

• cbkar on Jul 12, 2010 at 10:06 am

it is more expensive than myvi, and it all all the myvi features!!!!

airbags la, abs la, power window la.

this kind of features can only come for limited 25 units edition? hey i did not ask for a car that can fly, are those features so expensive that they can only afford to make 25 units?
      hhahahahah

rubbish car.

• learner on Jul 12, 2010 at 12:43 pm

another one, please read the article again and again, so that you know why only 25 units.

• myvi is unlimited.. that is the different and plus, myvi is such a boring car and it is a junk… what making it worst is, the pink color! muahaha

• MyVi pink LE mean MyVi Ladies Edition.. coz its not Limited.. its unlimited… hohoho~

• when myvi have its own features?? hahaha it is ToYOta Features bro.. if the Myvi is good for you just buy it, no point to compare with the others model that have a same features, and i think myvi use semi leather (PVC) and not fully one.. have fun with u myVi bro..

• techart touch on Jul 11, 2010 at 11:13 pm

proton should put these “special” onto their standard cars…nowadays all car were equip with all power window and SRS airbags…without these those the car was totally crap…how malaysian want to be proud…the chinese that known as copycat are more better than ours car…that all are compulsory

• Lihan Ding on Jul 11, 2010 at 11:40 pm

How bout P2 cars without those stuff?
      Example : Viva 660, 850, Myvi 1.0, 1.3 basic, Alza 1.5 basic.

P1 and P2 was the same… Malaysian car maa….

• umno juara tipu rakyat on Jul 12, 2010 at 6:21 am

and u know what??..all the cars that u list out is not top of the line spec unlike this saga!!!

• Slumber on Jul 12, 2010 at 2:26 pm

The point is.. some one wanna those thing for their standard feature on malaysian car. Don’t care la is SE, LE, EE or whatever E. Even basic car, all the malaysian want AIrbag, 4 point pwr window and EBS as standard feature.

• acerman on Jul 12, 2010 at 9:43 am

Also viva basic got no power steering and radio. And whats that?

• PakAbu on Jul 12, 2010 at 11:10 am

The basic Viva is also known as DSE.

Driving School Edition

:lol:

• Agree with that… ViVa Basic DSE…
            peace~ ;)

• 1Malaysia on Jul 15, 2010 at 3:04 pm

So Saga should have Saga TE (specially for taxi used)

• mr. wiseGuy on Jul 11, 2010 at 11:28 pm

no ABS n EBD ??
    aiyo proton..

• u cannot drive car without ABS and EBD ke?? aiyo …

• dickybird on Jul 13, 2010 at 10:43 am

you would expect a car from the 80s not to have these safety systems but not a car from the 21st century.
        unless of course you are champion got F1 superlicence but last sunday punya British GP pun tak nampak nama you pun. bangang? aiyo…

• leonardo on Jul 13, 2010 at 8:39 am

Buy the Persona!

• wow, airbag and power window… wow…

• rooster on Jul 11, 2010 at 11:44 pm

Wow, the features of any car not made in the third world, standard! That almost makes up for Proton raping Lotus and misappropriating the F1 name!

• paparadzi on Jul 11, 2010 at 11:45 pm

I’m still waiting for a basic Saga 1.3 with airbags and ABS. Only then it will be suitable for the kids.

• probably have to wait for next saga replacement, erm.. maybe 10 more years later~

• 4 power window? daihatsu charade tahun 80 an da ada 4 power window.what so F exsclusive with that? for that freaking price we hypnoticed..HAHA!

• Leonardo on Jul 12, 2010 at 1:25 am

RIPH – which Daihatsu Charade model? I happen to buy one in 1984 but it’s all manual window. Don’t BULL!!

• maybe that charade is ….. RIPH special edition…haha

• dickybird on Jul 12, 2010 at 12:49 pm

dulu kan ada Charade yg 1L engine with turbo and almost 100 BHP! fuyoh!

• alldisc on Jul 12, 2010 at 4:42 pm

ya lorr…

maybe Charade Aura 1.3 has but that was launched some time early 90s (the 1.3 spec, not Charade G100)

better example would be even Tiara has 4 power windows! and it was based on 1980s Citroen AX!!

• It’s a joke. Coz any non-national ‘entry level’ car (without those ‘brilliant tax’) has far more features than this. $55K to feel ‘proud’ of something… well~

Proton might still need more multiply of ’25’ to learn what consumers actually want…

• Petrolhead on Jul 12, 2010 at 12:53 am

As a rewards to its supporters for 25 years, P1 should have
    included all these features w/o extra cost !!
    Additional 10K for power windows and airbags is a RIPOFF !!
    Abang shop power window only a few hundred ringgit .

• Leonardo on Jul 12, 2010 at 1:28 am

Only 25 units will be build as collector’s edition. You can STILL buy the standard version! Hello.

• tompok on Jul 12, 2010 at 11:53 pm

Collector’s edition my foot.
        Nobody with a sane mind would want to collect this.
        Depreciates by 10K the moment you buy it .

• pantaat2 on Jul 12, 2010 at 10:08 am

nak beli, beli.

tak nak, sudah.

• rookie on Jul 12, 2010 at 11:29 am

manableh mcm tu la bro..

walaupun 25unit je..
        duit sape yg diorg habiskan utk siapkan 25unit tu..?

fikir sket bro..

lagi buat malu proton sendri aje..baik tak payah ada pun 25unit yg ntah apa2 ni..

at least, masukkan la enjin 1.6 tu..baru la bleh kata Limited Edition!!
        (lebih best kalo proton masukkan 32bit ecu yg baru tu skali, baru padan!)

saga 1.3 iafm kalo manual aku tak tau la..tapi auto dia sucks big time!!

kita mmg byk idea nk bg kat proton..
        tapi proton dgr ke kita ni?
        bila org bash tak dgr, tu la dia hasilnya..sighs…

• Eyesore on Jul 13, 2010 at 10:03 am

tak abis abis isu duit rakyat… ko ingat byk sgt ke kerajaan bagi duit kat proton? tu RND grant je bro… perodua pun dpt…. lagipun tah berapa byk duit proton habis buat apa yg kerajaan nak.. esp developing the stubborn local vendor to be a global one…

• yeah, still hav for standar version.. this is 25 saga limited edition…

• what a joke ! After 25 years you get the dual airbags and power windows and with 10k more ! Hahaha…we msian still the sucker after all these years…

• check out the leather seats ! 80’s style..

• ya man..i’m not a basher but hey the color scheme doesn’t match just like the old daddy merc seats color. But hey if there are 25 uncle out there who wants to have it so be it. Anyhow, my 2 cents.

• kelpa32 on Jul 12, 2010 at 2:40 am

If only Proton sell the S16 to Malaysian for RM40k.

• umno juara tipu rakyat on Jul 12, 2010 at 6:16 am

all this while proton saga dont have rear power windows???…WTH!!!!

• 4 power wat!? It ain’t standard!?

• standard got 2 front power window only. Behind “hand” powered window

• Viva La Alza on Jul 13, 2010 at 2:34 pm

power window also need ‘hand’t o operate what. It not just via your voice, ‘wnidow open’ then window open and ‘window close’ then window close.

Ala Vios J pakai manual window pun x da orang bising. Harga pun 70+K.

Peace, no war bro

• The_King on Jul 12, 2010 at 7:24 am

Now we can take parking or toll ticket much easier using back power windows. We pay maa for more 10K.
    I agree proton should rewards us for this limited units w/o extra cost.

• Proton is not mean for making a success, its a place for those “supplier” to making living…this shows how this extra accessories cost, and why this car is so expensive.

• omanjedi on Jul 13, 2010 at 4:55 pm

let us proposed that it is a must for the term of employment for Proton’s BOD, CEO, Chairman and Suppliers to buy LIMITED EDITION car with your own money.

I knew a few millionaire suppliers which don’t even own a Proton. Its must be made compulsory for these pampered millionaire to drive these cars to any Proton meeting. What’s the point of producing the parts for car models that you do not intent to buy or have any pride to drive with.

For Proton’s management – it makes you think twice before approving this kind of LIMITED EDITION model. If you approve a good car then there will be no issue for you to drive it. In contrast,if you sign and approve sh*t then you must drive the sh*t.

• Izhar on Jul 12, 2010 at 7:55 am

proton should offer those things more cheaper than abang shop…why abang shop can give lower price and the quality level are “same”……
    for me….it is better to make this saga as a h-line standard model and m-line for ordinary seats….
    hope proton takes all our comment to improve their cars….

• thebugbud on Jul 12, 2010 at 8:19 am

rubbish..

SE is 44k
    LE is 54k

what you get in extra..

1. leather seat, 2k
    2. srs airbag+2 more power window for 8k???!!@#$@#$

what a bull shit..

• Tiadaid on Jul 12, 2010 at 10:37 am

Well, what you get too is limited to 25 cars. SE can produce by the thousands, but LE only have 25. And no amount of modifications can turn the SE into LE.

• rookie on Jul 12, 2010 at 11:20 am

actually u can..
        besides the additional airbag that is..
        (and i doubt u can ever deploy the airbag in a saga anyway, its not that fast :P)
        its just nappa leather plus rear power windows..

and to me that just doesnt justify the rm10k upgrade..

25 units only..? u are really underestimating our very own malaysian ah bengs/abang’s shop ;)

• learner on Jul 12, 2010 at 12:48 pm

and another one, please read and read again the article, only that you will know why 25 units.

• so dont talk to much la.. get ur basic saga and turned it into LE edition.. u want cheaper u get cheap stuff right? this LE sound insulation definitely better than basic saga i guess…

• acerman on Jul 12, 2010 at 8:42 pm

One airbag will cost u around 3K, two airbags 6K, leather seats around 1K, pearl white paint 1K++, bodykit 1K (at least), power window don’t know.
      I don’t know about u guys, those things don’t come cheap unless u really know the tokey of the shop.

Think first, comment later, okay bro.

• joker on Jul 12, 2010 at 8:20 am

pengsan!
    with additional $10k, the owner can choose other car model instead!

Proton! quickly release EMAS ….

• Jumbsuck on Jul 12, 2010 at 8:33 am

This is how Proton treat car buyers after 25 years of cheat huh. Instead of making all the safety and extra features as standard item, it become unnecessary luxury for items that is common and stone-age on global standard except to Tok Arab markets.

How about 25 years warranty? Now that’s what you call anniversary and gratitude to car buyers being cheated many times left and right hidden taxes duties crazy unfair loan rates.

Sell of these craps to Tok Arab lah they deserved it better treatment than local buyers.

• No offence, but while i c d purpose to have a black roof to mimic a huge tinted moon roof, tat black boot wit body-colored spoiler makes it look like a half done post-accident-repair job.

Brown Nappa is nice but please harmonise it wit d colors of d rest of the interior, reminds me of d local Impul Sylphy.

• skiborne on Jul 12, 2010 at 10:26 pm

true, but to harmonise that interior by color the panels would cost more, another 5K over that ridiulous 10K maybe for each car, xpensive because its only limited to 25bilion units. haha

• rookie on Jul 12, 2010 at 8:54 am

who would actually want a Saga at that price..?
    better get a Persona or a Gen2 for that asking price..

4 power windows..? even the existing 2 having a hardtime working properly..

airbags..? if safety is protons main concern..
    they should have install it as standard on all models they have even for the baseline in the first place..

ABS in the sub rm40k car from proton..? it might take another 25 years before they actually made it available…

i’m not bashing, just wondering when will proton grow up already..
    proton is so slow..

p/s: pls do not even compare with the likes of perodua or naza or watever else that claims they are the “national” carmaker..pls compare it with the good ones if u want proton to get ahead..at least, pls compare to Kia/Hyundai..they already have their very own gearbox damnit!! need i say more about their supercar? at least they have it..more n more of their car is made 100% from their own technology..so proton pls advance urself faster..its 2010 already, technologies should be shared and learnt together..so cope faster!!

-the one who is sad

• Proton once again “kecoh” with standard spec such as 4 power windows and 2 air bags. Why only stop there? Why don’t tell the rest of the world, they’re providing 1 unit of car steering, 4 car tyres +1 spare tyre, 1 gear knob and etc. As if other car makers are not providing similar spec too (with superior quality).

Furthermore, Proton should provide extra Power Window units just in case in breaks down. Owh yeah, don’t forget to provide UHU glue as the rubber sealant along the door panel always peel off. And the list just goes on.

Thank you Proton for sucking the rakyat for 25 years! It’s a mockery to see you celebrate the 25 years anniversary, the rakyat wonders what did Proton actually achieved?

• they give u a ride, job for many ppl..owh..i forgot..u are just typical Malaysian always want a very nice, high quality stuff comes with many free give at very ultra low price..yeah..brainless ppl..ok..i get it..go away..drive ur T, H, N or whatever..just dont be malaysian lar..aiyoo..only 25years old..not 250..or 2500..

• proton never kecoh on the spec, it is the title written by the owner of this blog lol

• V70T5 on Jul 12, 2010 at 9:27 am

Nappa leather? whoaaa… nicee

• Aiyo you guys. always bashing proton blindly la. Give proton a chance la. only 25 years making cars. what do you expect?…..give proton another 100 years la…. :wink: :wink:

• peter on Jul 12, 2010 at 10:05 am

Paul, this model comes without ABS and EBD based on the Proton Edar link.

• molala on Jul 12, 2010 at 10:08 am

color scheme is not right!

• matmalizik on Jul 12, 2010 at 10:24 am

What so special/new about( in year2010) “4 power windows”.. Tiara long time ago already equipted with it..

• Even this model sold in SG also without REAR power window… shame… :(

Guess those single driver I saw on the road will have tough time ‘winding down the rear window’ when being requested by ICA…

• Tiadaid on Jul 12, 2010 at 11:57 am

Haih, with Proton being slagged for the old power window problem, one might think that having wind-up windows going to soothe those bashers!

• The Gomen shd set a safety std for all new cars sold shd have 2 SRS airbags

• PakAbu on Jul 12, 2010 at 11:29 am

From the comments, I get the feeling that most people here expect Proton to be generous when celebrating their silver jubilee. Maybe some freebies thrown in at standard prices. After all they are celebrating their coming of age together with the whole nation isn’t it?

However, going by Proton’s track record, that’s not one their characteristics — whatever you say lah: new management?, dare to change? new direction? etc etc.

After all they are a business entity. Business needs to make money. No money, close shop — or bail out. Whatever patriotism, nationalism and other ism’s thrown in into the mumbo jumbo, that’s just to sell cars. If you like what they are selling, buy. If you don’t like, don’t buy. Do NOT decide based on the fact that it’s Proton. Just like most car makers, Proton produced come good cars and some crappy cars. That’s all.

Generosity is not their game.

• nyan46 on Jul 12, 2010 at 11:33 am

P1 should put campro 1.6cps for this 25 units limited edition+ recaro seat previous gti, instead of nappa seat and 4 power windows.add another 10k for this 25 anniversary is really too much for P1 supporter.(the truth is nothing specials with this project).

• squawk on Jul 12, 2010 at 11:37 am

It really is ugly with the diarrhea-colored seats.

• illumiricon on Jul 12, 2010 at 11:53 am

i drove a Saga myself..excellent fc (but not when exceeded mileage for service)..nice engine sound (smooth, only slightly rough when hi-rev), love the handling, and i didnt have any single problems with the power window, only some rattling sounds especially at the glove compartment..and that is all…

if all of em are standard (dual airbags, 4 power windows), this car will be much more appealing..i’m getting only one airbag n front power windows, but still i’m satisfied with what i get and how much i’m paying for it…

i dont know how much of a car most of these bashers want, for them to say that “it is the right price”…30k? 20k? FOC? huhhhh!!!!

• fasgen on Jul 12, 2010 at 10:50 pm

agreee with u bro… i dont know what they want from proton…. free car for everyone in mesia.. aiyyooooo… german also bankrap if like this… better you basher critic other news in this site.. why you dont bash volvo ke, citroen ke, bmw ke, merc ke, ferrari ke, why? may be DSZ pening kepala with theese bashers…

• PakAbu on Jul 14, 2010 at 12:34 pm

Nobody’s expecting free cars. Maybe they are expecting P1 to “say” something like this:-

“We are so happy with all your support all these 25 years. To show our gratitude, we offer you RM 2,500 worth of accessories just for RM 999. Offer limited to 5,000 sets only. First come, first served. Thank you.”

But what we get instead, is P1 “saying”:

“We are so happy that we have survived 25 years of producing so-so cars. Now are going to sell you some extra accessories at “special” price of RM10,000. It may not worth that much in real price, but it is limited to 25 units only. So, hurry up. If not, you won’t get it. Oh yeah, we also paint it in special colour and some special looking stripes too. Remember, 25 units only. Very special. Even got power windows at the back.”

P.S. I could have used more “colourful” words, but there are young people surfing this blog too. But I think most people got the drift.

P.S.2. I’m not proton basher, nor proton fan. For me, it’s just a car company.

• Sylar on Jul 13, 2010 at 1:06 am

agreed! me 2 own saga..auto m line..very satisfied.. handling, nvh, FC, comfort- for me it was very superb.. even without twin air bags.. its ok, coz pre tension belt is working..i myself never trust that airbags..likes buying a condo with earthquake resistant warranty- as long not exceed 1 scalar richter..

• biggie on Jul 12, 2010 at 12:08 pm

For the 10k price difference then you be paying at Ah Beng workshop for:

new Sport Rim : 1500
    Napa Leather Interior : 2880 (1880 for SE + 1000 nappa)
    Extra Airbag : 4000 (estimated)
    Extra Power Window : RM600 (switch rm25, gear-rm48, motor-rm85 x2 + wiring)
    stripes : 250
    warranty : 2 yrs (priceless)

• Tengokaje.. on Jul 12, 2010 at 12:23 pm

The interior colour scheme not matching. P1 sould make dual airbag and ABS as a standard features in their line up.

Salam..

• carcamarba on Jul 12, 2010 at 1:00 pm

no rear disk brake, haiya, annivesary model shud comes with rear disk brake laaa

• Raymond on Jul 12, 2010 at 1:04 pm

25 anniversary of Proton, It seem nothing improvement doing in cars R&D, If for other car makers in this 25 years would be able to flying high to another level. Proton is still remain in the basic level :-( Let us talk about this 25yrs edition of Proton saga, dual SRS and 4 power window is a standard features for the car. some more why this such special car only produce in 25 units? As for me this black and white baby is not worth to buy, if compare these H-line proton saga.

• subhero on Jul 12, 2010 at 1:15 pm

wasting money to have this.

• not_ah_beng on Jul 12, 2010 at 1:31 pm

Hey why are you guys complaining??

It is true to POTONG legacy what – 25 years of ripping off hard-working Msian with sh@t cars!

RM10k for leather seat and power window – WHAT A JOKE! And only 25 of these to be produce instead of standard equipment.

LOL. No wonder Singaporean all laugh at us.

• keep on bashing on Jul 12, 2010 at 1:35 pm

we should be proud of proton. at least they have try their very best to install 4 power windows into these so called 25 units Saga LE, and don’t forget the passenger airbag as well, only for those willing to pay. if you wanna continue to buy the standard version, wind down the rear windows manually, treat it as exercise.

and Saga standard driver, u can drive fast if u are alone. but if u carrying other people, slow slow abit ok? bcoz only u are protected by the airbag, not other people.

and for proton and its die-hard fans, if u feel proud just to comparing your achievement with p2, then u can continue syok sendiri. and we are expecting 5 years later u still come out 30 units of Saga LE, but with ABS and EBD, and maybe touch screen DVD.
    if you really want to grow, pls look at other global players, not only p2.

• Sylar on Jul 13, 2010 at 1:18 am

so u think u can speeding with 4 others onboard just only coz u got dual airbags huh?
      what a brainLESS..

• waimak on Jul 12, 2010 at 1:47 pm

If only Proton could do that “plastic diffuser look-alike” at the rear skit more stylish like in the vios TRD or mazda 2, it would make this Saga a bigger hit!! It’s not that P1 cannot do I think but rather how it’s designed.. P1, you should by now lift Saga standard.. everybody is lifting their entry level models… all the best!

• wait for saga facelift. this is the last saga before they show up with the facelift version

• Freaky555 on Jul 12, 2010 at 2:06 pm

Aiyooo you all people still can understandla…Live in Malaysia only two option if want local car.either P1 or P2. This is proton..man. Do a bit changes but price is damn high.U need ABS.must add RM5K.need EBD add RM5K. Need auto econ need to add another RM5K.They think who malaysian. Money make from dry leaves???

• paul, is that real leather?coz the so called leather in myvi se is actually PVC!grab the steering wheel and it feels like paper wrapped

• Seriously on Jul 12, 2010 at 2:20 pm

this is the Proton we all are suppose to “love”.

• learner on Jul 12, 2010 at 2:38 pm

not me, i don’t love, i just like p1 little bit more than p2 only.

• The real thing is… all malaysian car is money sucking….

• dream on Jul 12, 2010 at 2:55 pm

Proton loves the local market what…what they make, we buy..all coz it has that Malaysian name
    …actually it looks like the locals are just the testing ground for the good things Proton makes for the export market
    …and if can make more profit locally oso, why not…after all foreign consumers not that easy to be blinded by cosmetic touch-ups

• O……… ME GOSH!!!!!!
    is that the ‘STANDARD’ saga with add on accesories??????
    RM10K over normal saga?…
    since Lotus and Proton are 1 gang….. why not make a more ‘Driver Focus saga’?
    25 years, 25 difference in that car…. start wit a 1.6cps manual plz….. suspension, airflow system, strut bars, racey seats, sport steering n knob, and so much more…
    but they spoil the party with things like……..erm……what we see now…..disappointed with what came out…….

• skiborne on Jul 12, 2010 at 10:38 pm

proton is proton, lotus is lotus. if lotus is truly under proton, then i wonder why the heck lotus cars are darn xpensive, like evora for instance

• Tiadaid on Jul 13, 2010 at 9:18 am

Because Lotus cars are CBU from England, that’s why! If they give special dispensation, then Toyota’s going to ask for dispensation for its Lexus cars because they are part owners of Perodua! Don’t think Lotus as a local car company, because it’s OWNED by a local car company but built in a foreign company!

• pojie7 on Nov 03, 2010 at 6:11 pm

aiyo kawan…that is called market segmentation. lotus is in a TOTALLY different market segment than proton hence the price differentiation.

• moonier on Jul 12, 2010 at 4:35 pm

RM 54,500? the price like that should be 1600cc lah.. baru ngam

• alldisc on Jul 12, 2010 at 4:51 pm

not even rear disc brakes?? common Proton – you could do better. these 25 units of Saga LE should get alldisc brakes set-up…

• I think its a introduction of Proton S16 GXR.
    Come with dual airbags, 4 power windows and ABS/EBD on sale this month!

I waiting PROTON.!

• KlonB on Jul 12, 2010 at 6:27 pm

psst myvi offer abs+ebd+4 power window+2 srs.. at -RM10k price… why laa must all these peeps here bash proton/perodua.. if you can afford better.. JUZ SHUT UP..

• Cars4Life on Jul 12, 2010 at 6:43 pm

why not 1.6? If 1.6 still can consider lah… swt..

• nebula87 on Jul 12, 2010 at 6:50 pm

still no ABS…haiz…

• anti proton on Jul 12, 2010 at 7:08 pm

kete dh lawa kt luar tpi bonet wrne hitam.. mcm kete tmpal je… ad 4 power window pown nk kcoh ke?? viva dh lme kuar.. viva ezi 44k ad srs airbag..,auto side mirror,4 power widow….walupown cc 1.0 dn kecik.. aq mmang hrap proton wat yg terbaik.. tpi hampih… aq hrap2 proton yg bru nie akn maju skit…

• 10K FOR 2 extra power windows, 1 airbag, and NAPPA leather.
    When i saw the word 4, i was thinking, 4 wheel drive!!
    4 Power Windows.
    FML.

• acerman on Jul 12, 2010 at 8:45 pm

Do u know how much an airbag cost? 3K, and that’s one. Two airbags 6K.
      How about the seats? Do not just judge. Even a Naza Ria 2.4 Quadcam MPV has cheap leather seats that easily thorn off.

• acerman on Jul 12, 2010 at 8:47 pm

And don’t forget about the paint. ITs more than 1K to paint the whole body like PEARL WHITE. I repeat, PEARL WHITE.

• skiborne on Jul 12, 2010 at 10:41 pm

my friend acerman, the normal saga has an airbag(h-line), here has two, so upped to only AN AIRBAG. so as u speak only 3K increase la, why 6K

• acerman on Jul 13, 2010 at 6:50 pm

That’s what I said two airbags cost around 6K

offtopic: why are all honda civic drivers are sombong? I’d tested driving a kancil for a week, and they like to overtake people without care. Almost hit my friend’s kancil too.

• JACk LIm on Jul 12, 2010 at 9:28 pm

Just don’t get it… elegance~ limited~ special~ what else??? Where is Lotus tech apply??? In what sense they purchase a tech stuff instead of apply it??

What up to next?

Limited edition which different color???/ Ishh… when they would get improving??
    E-mas??? not so soon…. ==!!!

• skiborne on Jul 12, 2010 at 10:08 pm

with that 10K premium, why not a bigger 1.6L engine, adoih, im sure all of us here “want” to be proud to drive proton if they’re good, but they’re not, sorry, with this ‘things” exist, it literally shows that our engineers dont know anything about making and providing the best for the people, long way to go lah, dont dream about getting a partner here and there, they’re not even interested in u proton, oh if they do, the boys at proton would reject it anyway

• fasgen on Jul 12, 2010 at 10:27 pm

what the difference between this with myvi… for me myvi se also more rubbish than this car.. nothing… just plus cover like that rm 55k.. tongok…

• skiborne on Jul 12, 2010 at 10:33 pm

i remember proton people chided perodua by calling them “a company with rebadged engineers”, true, but at least driving a perodua would provide peace of mind, less problems, good sales service, fuel economy and best thing is, ada toyota DNA… but as we see of what proton is doing, they’re not any good either! cakap besar proton ni, ko x kemana jugak

• leonardo on Jul 13, 2010 at 8:35 am

Haha…you must be a Perodua Engineer who is still working on yet another facelifted bumper?
      Why don’t you demand from Daihatsu/Toyota for engine and transmission training? At least you guys can upgrade the powertrain locally, assuming that Daihatsu/Toyota trust the local engineers.

• Tiadaid on Jul 13, 2010 at 9:15 am

Toyota DNA? Really? That explains Myvi’s warped brake discs problem. Toyota’s DNA for problematic cars!

• Hup Holland Hup on Jul 12, 2010 at 10:44 pm

Just curious, did “proton” really improved themselves for the past 25 years for introducing “Quality” car to us???

• arroncyl on Jul 12, 2010 at 10:58 pm

Very Nice Black News!!!!!
    :)

• arroncyl on Jul 12, 2010 at 10:59 pm

Very Nice Black Roof!!!!!
    :)

• fastd on Jul 13, 2010 at 8:49 am

Seems most of us complaint about the price tag… I think if Proton produce more, should be can make the price reasonable… Agree this model significant for 25yrs anniversary, but can Proton make it more?; maybe 250, 25 00, 25 000…. 25 also what?… Just numbers matter only….

• badduck on Jul 13, 2010 at 8:58 am

Walau eehh… 2 air bags and 4 power windows…. fulamak… power!!!
    54K is ridiculously expensive. Malaysian must be high to buy this.

• learner on Jul 13, 2010 at 10:56 am

though i dislike the white spoiler on the black boot lit and no ABS added, but by giving half baked info and claiming expensive is no right at all. saga LE got nappa leather seat, new sport rim design, and some interior touches here and there too.

• aibar on Jul 13, 2010 at 10:25 am

The combination of brown nappa leather & grey interior was really a bad idea…the interior of saga SE looks better. 10k more for these type of modification? at least they should change the engine to 1.6 litre…please lah PROTON…haish…

• Green Fuel on Jul 13, 2010 at 11:19 am

Why need to pay 10k more for the so call accessories? No CPS engine, no ABS, not worth the price

• omanjedi on Jul 13, 2010 at 2:59 pm

I cannot understand the sense of this. Of course its a limited edition which is much fixed to the figure 25 units. There is nothing you can change about that.
    But a more grandeur spec should be fitted with – such as Lotus Racing Satria Neo or even better. Make it more appropriate- no cheap plastics, better safety. Somebody please change that ugly steering wheel. Airbag or not, the steering shouldn’t be that ugly. Make it the best out from this platform..Its 25 units LIMITED EDITION anyway. Treat like one.
    If somebody says its a cheap platform-we cannot do this and that, so WTF Proton make a limited edition out of this platform. Concentrate on your more premium models instead.
    Disappointing.

• Oh oh oh oh ~~~ oh my god~
    proton getting crazy and crazy…LOL
    They thought consumers are stupid?
    lol…54k to get a Low Quality Car? it’s the funniest joke !
    dun tell me it’s wat limited edition .
    Too much limited edition become no edition.
    Just a trick to cheat consumers.
    please lar, for how many years ed,
    show something Professional and Quality to us lar.

fed up wif tis mamaboy company.

• _piko on Jul 13, 2010 at 4:48 pm

cause 25 unit, for sure limited, proton sure want make profit with the market for people hunger to get unique style. only 25 unit, What do you feel drive special unit car in the road?? for sure this car comfortable drive with this price. Dont expect high.
    You are not the persons that cant buy this car. not enough money or this not your taste..

Think about market?????? 25 unit. For sure for the peoples have unique taste..

• JACk LIm on Jul 13, 2010 at 5:12 pm

by the way, what is the point for being black roof? to warm up ur car for being cold at night time???

• LotusLover on Jul 13, 2010 at 5:25 pm

To Proton and Proton Edar manage Management Team:
    I don’t agree with this Anniversary Edition at all!! who care??

I think it’s better for u guys to manage how to take care to your customers and don’t simply cheating on customer for any reason of SUPER LATE DELIVERY to customers.
    I don’t even and never heard about MORE THAN 3 WEEKS time of delivery since my DOWNPAYMENT PAID !!!
    For sure , i already get the chassis number nearly month end of June and REGiSTERED the car on END OF JUNE!
    But what i don’t agree was my car still in the stock yard of Proton and still didn’t manage for any trailer to send the car.
    PLEASE REPLY ME here for this fxxxking matter and don’t ask me to call your stupid I-CARE which never solute problem!

• Fraz006 on Jul 13, 2010 at 6:42 pm

well, i don wnna say the 54K is too expensive coz i know it is justified somehow.

but, plesae man… i have no degree in art or what so ever, thats not the best la. but if u give me 7 K, i can turn any saga into RED concept design successfully. plus 2.5K cnvert to 1.6 some more.

-whats with 14″ rims, still? aiyaa, >16″ lightweight multispoke la… come on.
    -lower that bitch la, it is too tall man.
    -color of seat, well… not matching at all.
    -still with black U shape bumper? come one, golf gti already change to wider look. thats the biggest coontributor of narrow tall look of saga, well, to any car so to speak.
    -why so kedekut one? give 1.6 can shut up many mouthes already…..

as a summary, it is not up to my expectation. wonder when they wanna release the RED concept as R3 LE. itu baru betol pakai mata nk design.

• tell me why on Jul 13, 2010 at 7:17 pm

why haa so damn expensive for this tiny car….why proton tell me why somebody…

• Elvis on Jul 13, 2010 at 8:56 pm

AIYOO!! You guys bash so kaw-kaw…no chance for senior basher like me anymore!!! Hahahaha…never mind, at least a good sife like myself (broad smile with inflated false ego) produce so many junior bashers here. Just that the hardcore Proton supporters no longer DEFENDING so kaw-kaw…last time senior bashers sure kana hantam…..

• Malaysian on Jul 13, 2010 at 9:14 pm

Proton needs to change. 54k for this kind of unit is considered overpriced!!! Proton is lucky that they produce only 25 units, not 25k units!

• Omahabojan on Jul 13, 2010 at 9:47 pm

This is crap!!!

• Inteam on Jul 14, 2010 at 9:08 am

Better buy Gen 2 CPS. More powerfull.

• how much it cost for
    1)Premium tint?
    2)Premium nappa leather with custom stripe including leather steering and gear knob finishing?
    3)new meter cluster with backlit light(some cases called optirion)?
    4)new custom made alloy wheel?
    5)dual rear power window mechanism?
    6)additional passenger airbags?
    7)double coating pearl white paint?

can somebody enlighten me the cost and tell me where i can get it with the price stated. tq

• sapa la gila nak beli keta saga harga bapak punya mahai + dekat 20k tuh

• Wonderful achievement by proton in 25 years in automobile industry by installing 4 power windows and SRS Airbag for SAGA. Proud to have a Proton as our national car manufacturer, hahahha !!!!

• raman on Jul 14, 2010 at 11:48 pm

is there any proton engineer out there? pls read my comment:

1. please produce more “logical” model, rather than producing and reproduce the same old model with some minor changes, and after that start to call facelift, limited edition, special edition and stupid edition!! what’s so special with the new facelift? so “funny” and ugly!!! i dare the CEO itself dont want his family to buy proton’s car..

2. i’m proud to be malaysian, proud when looking at proton to be standing at almost the same standard with other car maker companies, but please dont blame us if someday no more malaysian wants to buy proton cars. the quality? everybody knows proton cars have problems from the day one you buy it. try ask your friend lah who had been “cheated” bought proton cars….. power window lah, stereng lah, itu lah, ini lah..u think i tipu ka??

• shahrul on Jul 15, 2010 at 9:00 am

watever u all say here.. proton is proton.. SYOK SNDIRI!!..CEO n all family pn tarak pakai proton car but they want us to buy a rubish car.. when customer have a problem with power window, power steering, engine etc.. what will they say?? just call proton i-care n the problem will be solved hahahaha bgitu sng n mudah sbnrnya nk jadi car makers ni.. salute 2 DSZ.. hang lebih bangang dr tengku mahaleel!!!

• Haha, surprisngly you’re right brother. Saw the boss of one of ProtongServiceCenter at D’sara area, driving Toyota Camry!

• someone on Nov 03, 2010 at 3:43 pm

I’m wonder what car is our beloved Tun having??? hmm…

• komeng on Jul 16, 2010 at 3:00 pm

letaklah enjin 1.6 cps, barulah gempak!

• super white on Jul 16, 2010 at 5:18 pm

The leather seat color is just so wrong. Black/dark grey would match it much better. If they want to keep the leather brown, at least have the decency to change the interior color to beige. But then that’ll probably jack the price up even more.

Anniversary edition? Salah-colour edition la bro.

• MC Hammer on Jul 20, 2010 at 1:25 pm

10k extra boleh buat pegi haji tuu… laaagi baguih dok ada!

• YUCK!

• JonLing on Nov 03, 2010 at 3:47 pm

dun wanna comment on how good or bad those 3 cars are, i have few questions regarding the three of the cars though. Since they are produced to celebrate 25th anniversary of Proton, which is a big thing for proton (or any company who had reached 25 years mark. they would have celebrated the anniversary as well), then why proton’s information seems so scarce?? so far the only 2 official photos of Saga being released, and no more. the rest are all the photos during the gala dinner. Persona doesn’t even have official photos. And the spec is like………sigh~ the information is only here and there, never can get a full picture of what those 3 models are about or what’s the difference. I would have imagined some major car manufacturer would have come up with many good looking, hi-res photos, and do some press release or release every detail to the press (very well prepared some more).

so why proton is treating the 3 limited edition models in such a “low profile” and “ordinary” manner is beyond my comprehension…….

• setsuna on Nov 03, 2010 at 4:17 pm

so ugly

• ismazri on Nov 03, 2010 at 6:48 pm

My friend bought new persona WUF**** and had to be sent to SC the same day he took the car. Due to ECU problem. Then wait another 3 days for SC to repair. All of sudden his joy and smile changed. He totally don’t expect this could happen when he left the showroom.

U need a bit of luck when buying p1 and also their so-called anniversary edition.

• uzumaki naruto on Jun 02, 2011 at 11:51 am

tu lah proton…..macam2…..anak emas kerajaan….tak pandai-pandai…hanya pandai copy and paste….sikit pencapaian dah mengada-ngada….orang hampir 100tahun buat kereta usaha buat yang baru..yng kita nie…dahlah monopoli market…kualiti seperti potong saga dn potong sawi….entah pa2 lagi….tengok kereta korea…da p international….kreta kita kampung je….