Funky Nissan Juke launched to great reception in Japan

This writer just got back from Japan, where the Nissan Juke is the current superstar of the motoring scene. Browse the magazine racks in the land of the rising sun and you’ll find the funky mini crossover splashed across covers and starring in shootouts. We spotted one example in a parking lot, and the group I was with swamped around it, clicking shutters and pointing fingers. Not surprising really, as the Juke is one of the boldest designs to have made production in recent times.

But even Nissan never predicted the response it’ll receive. Since its June 9th debut, the Juke’s domestic orders reached 10,943 units after one month going on sale, more than eight times greater than the monthly target of 1,300 units. The most popular exterior colour so far has been Radiant Red, which accounts for 29% of total orders. The Juke has painted plastics in the cabin, and over 59% of Japanese buyers have also gone for red here.

As a younger sibling to the Qashqai/Dualis crossover, the Juke is meant to be an alternative to the B-segment supermini class, just like how the Qashqai tempted many British Golf/Focus prospects to opt for something less conventional. Europe will get a new 1.6-litre direct injection turbo engine with 187 bhp and 240 Nm, which sounds exciting along with Nissan’s All-Mode 4X4-i system with lateral torque vectoring capability.

The car I snapped in the Japanese parking lot is after the jump. Click here for our Geneva show report and gallery of the Juke.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1314]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Apayipyip!! I’m no. one!!

• Fantastic and bold decision from Nissan with the Juke. I love it!

• What on earth is that?

• It’s a car, and a nice one at that. I like.

• istvan on Jul 12, 2010 at 5:02 pm

nice????errr, it out of box design i think …but nice???? where?? logo Nissan?

• acerman on Jul 12, 2010 at 8:33 pm

Very funny. But I’m not sure it’s the right model or not, the car look rather same to me.
        Here is the link . Anyway, this one look better and related maybe.
        http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=El6OVFhipwM
        Nissan Qashqai

• Nice look.

• Firdaus Yusof on Jul 12, 2010 at 4:11 pm

WTH, really ugly….. Dunno want to call it? They are really go Out f Box…. waka waka…

• Simon Har on Jul 12, 2010 at 4:14 pm

yes, the design is funky, but i’m sure the interior will be cramped like hell!

• gudys on Jul 12, 2010 at 4:17 pm

if they sell here, i’ll buy one. this looks so cool, smaller than dualis/qashqai

• WTH..??

• tempoyak on Jul 12, 2010 at 4:35 pm

wow, apparently this juke is no joke!

• cunnn

• niuhje on Jul 12, 2010 at 4:44 pm

does fugli even start to describe it!!!???
    guess 1 man’s meat is another man’s vege…
    dang!!

• It kinda reminds me of the Toyota RAV4 when it first came out, and before it went all boring.

• pultat on Jul 12, 2010 at 4:48 pm

They should have called it Nissan Puke instead…..

• sochamic on Jul 12, 2010 at 4:54 pm

one word to describe it –> UGLY !!!

• PakAbu on Jul 12, 2010 at 5:09 pm

Nice! I wish more car makers come out with quirky designs instead of predictable designs that are hard to distunguish one brand from another.
    Of course, it’s risky lah. Silap design, habis…!

• alpha999 on Jul 12, 2010 at 5:10 pm

and here i thought hyundai tuscon 2010 was funkier……..

• I really like the lok of this car and would consider getting one, the trouble is i dont seem to beable to find any dimensions or in depth spec information. Im a wheelchair user and want to check out boot size etc but cannot find info anywhere but i’ll keep looking. Have the Qashqai now and love it but just fancy a change

• nighttrain on Jul 12, 2010 at 5:17 pm

I like it since the first time they show it in geneve. And the concept version is almost exactly the same as the production version. Sales alone show that this is a winner..

• Looks like a hyypo

• FIREPOLICY on Jul 12, 2010 at 5:22 pm

i want the engine in my sentra!!

• Ordinary Joe on Jul 12, 2010 at 5:30 pm

Japan and maybe a few other markets would be able to accept the design… i personally can’t!! Nissan Puke indeed!!

• VW_fan on Jul 12, 2010 at 5:31 pm

I think it looks interesting. Very fresh approach to car design.

• VW_fan on Jul 12, 2010 at 9:14 pm

Actually it looks like a murano with the top part molded in.

• It will take Tan Chong Motors 10 years to bring this model over.
    Bravo.. Nissan Malaysia :)

• Icecold on Jul 12, 2010 at 5:40 pm

Not much can be said about Malaysian car lovers. From what I read in the comments here shows how much they have evolve if any…. It’s a bold decision by Nissan to come up with such a design. It’s a refreshing daring look to the boring monotonous car design, just wait and see who will follow suit the design. Looking at the figure stated in the report it’s show that people have been waiting for something new to come out of lately. I supposed Malaysian still loved the frogy look of the Myvi…No wonder Produa decide to came out with the latest facelift, the so call LE…

• Well said bro, malaysian blog commentators are the worst ones on the net, talk cock about design and giving stupid comments only but never research about brand heritage and how much effort it took for manufacturers to come up with superb designs for the future.

• umno juara tipu rakyat on Jul 12, 2010 at 11:09 pm

cant wait what u guys gonna comment if proton came up with this design..i seriously doubt it will be a compliment!

• Icecold on Jul 14, 2010 at 4:41 am

I for one will say JOB WELL DONE! I’ve been waiting for Proton to be bold and daring to come up with something like this. It will set another great mile stone for proton after coming up with their own engine. But it’s a pity that they are yet to go beyond the existing Campro engine. They should have taken Wira long time ago off the road as there aren’t anything new with it. Perodua on the other hand made a bold decision to stop Kancil and came out with Viva which to me is a decent car for the average Malaysian.

• Alpha on Jul 12, 2010 at 5:53 pm

lolz,the design is just too ugly that it’s damn beautiful!!how unique!!

• altimate on Jul 12, 2010 at 6:00 pm

I guess ppl are tired of the same ol’ conventional designs.. this is cool..
    Way out of the ordinary.. good job Nissan.. dare to take risks

• smithkhaw on Jul 12, 2010 at 6:10 pm

nissan can make a difference….TC malaysia…just can’t keep up….

• Jason on Jul 12, 2010 at 7:22 pm

It is a nice car!
    Do you notice…no handle for the rear door.
    I am wondering how the passanger can open the back door from outside.

• farghmee on Jul 12, 2010 at 8:06 pm

did u notice that there is a door handle at the C-pillar :)

• thats because both doors front and back openfrom the central pillar

• Freeman on Jul 13, 2010 at 1:49 am

Alfa Romeo already started the rear door handle at C-pillar back on the 156 model back in 1997….

• GO SAGA on Jul 12, 2010 at 7:24 pm

design subject matter…..- gorilla

• Thinkfirst on Jul 12, 2010 at 8:09 pm

It’s just ugly to me. I guess it’s up to personal taste.

• Ammar Zolkipli on Jul 12, 2010 at 8:19 pm

drool….. drool some more… Damned TC.. just build the car in Malaysia..

• jaguarXJ on Jul 12, 2010 at 8:47 pm

this car is da bomb!
    its damn unique.futuristic look :D

• autojohndoe on Jul 12, 2010 at 9:24 pm

kahkah… what if the brand is national make?

i bet no praise like this…

• autojohndoe on Jul 12, 2010 at 9:28 pm

hahaha…

The car is very lucky because it bears Nissan name…

If it is Malaysian made, sure ppl will F**K it up…

• Luck has nothing to do with it. Nissan has been around for a much longer time and is a true multi-national brand, sold in so many countries in the world. It has a good brand image because of various factors such as having halo cars, participating in racing championships, showcasing technology in cars like the GT-R/370Z and even more brand-building efforts from the company.

All that hard work wins global customers and fans y’know, it doesn’t come overnight or in a period of say, quarter of a century. So when they introduce new products, it is so much easier to gain collective positive effect from people all over the world.

• umno juara tipu rakyat on Jul 12, 2010 at 10:06 pm

ugly as hell!!!

• ismet on Jul 12, 2010 at 11:05 pm

is this Suzuki SWIFT in Transformer appearance?

• shawal on Jul 13, 2010 at 3:14 am

Rear inspired by a panamera…
    Front inspired by Totoro (from ‘My neighbour Totoro’)

• The Black Stig on Jul 13, 2010 at 7:42 am

The Japanese are known to have peculiar taste in things, so this car is not so much of a trouble for them to digest. To me beauty is in the eye of the beholder and kudos to Nissan for being bold.

If Proton did this they wouldn’t have a chance, they will be slaughtered by the “high taste” and “classy” Malaysian.

• razzack04 on Jul 13, 2010 at 8:16 am

Ugly and I hate it. But as always, if the japanese like it some malaysians will also say they like it.

• I like the back… am not too keen on the front, which reminds me a bit of Fiat’s Multipla… :)

• its kinda like u like it or hate it. but i think i will like it. i cant imagine next years tokyo motorshow when the customizing scenes will show up with their versions. vip to rally looking versions.MR16DDT…. 190hp and 240Nm turbo engine…..i wonder how the car handles

• earl jambol on Jul 14, 2010 at 8:08 am

ada DNA suzuki swift lah…..tengok betul-betul…..especially dkt pillar and blakangnyer….don’t you all agree?LOL……projek bersama nissan/suzuki kot….LOL

• loollool on Jul 14, 2010 at 11:23 am

duck!! i getting a japanese gf!

• leonardo on Jul 14, 2010 at 6:41 pm

Well the front reminds me of Paul the Octopus! So is that good or bad? Maybe it is suited more to Japanese love of the outrageous rather than a universal acceptance of a beautiful car from Italy or Germany.

• Shades on Jul 15, 2010 at 5:31 pm

I applaud nissan’s venture to a more bolder design. Just not my cup of tea.

• SG Petch Nissan on Jul 19, 2010 at 11:30 pm

Nissan have got it right with the Juke, they set out to be creative rather than conventional in their design and have certainly done this. Some are calling this car the marmite car but more people are going to love it than anything else. It cannot fail to turn heads and it will be very interesting to see the reaction once you see it in the flesh…………..it is so different……

• J.J. Jones on Apr 20, 2011 at 6:38 pm

What worries me is the name Juke. Apparently in hebrew it is slang for cockroach, and as an exported word from Africa to the Americas it means ‘good time’, as in Juke box and Juke Joint. So, it’s looks bare out the former, and is it the prefered drive of good time….no, we won’t go there.