Peugeot 508 info released – hybrid model has 200hp, AWD

After the image leak of its new 508 sedan that we carried earlier, Peugeot has officially released pictures and some details on its D-segment contender. It will get a debut at the Paris Motor Show in October and will go on sale in Europe at the beginning of 2011. Next year will also see production start in China to serve what is now the world’s biggest auto market.

The 508 will be available in two body styles – saloon and wagon/estate. Based on PSA’s Platform 3, the 508, which will replace the 407 and 607, will be 4.79m long whereas the wagon is longer at 4.81m. The 407 is 4.69m long, so there’s a substantial increase in footprint here. Cabin and boot volume is up on the 407, although it’s not revealed by how much. For comparison, the big sized Honda Accord we have here is 4.95m long.

Peugeot 508 info released – hybrid model has 200hp, AWD

We see the 508’s cabin for the first time here, and Peugeot says that it combines hi-tech with high quality materials. The French brand aimed for “indisputable perceived quality” for the interior, both visually and to the touch.

The 508 range will include a hybrid with HYbrid4 technology. It’s capable of 200 hp and has an all-wheel drive setup. On electric-petrol mode, the 508 hybrid produces 99 g/km of CO2, which is unheard of in a big car like this. Standard engines are all “well positioned in their categories in terms of performance and driveability, fuel consumption and CO2 emissions”. The 508 will feature Peugeot’s e-HDi stop and start system, the first of a new generation of stop start systems which offers improved driveability and 15% better economy.

Pictures are after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1318]

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• moha3774 on Jul 13, 2010 at 12:52 pm

nice..

• lagerrreerrraa on Jul 13, 2010 at 12:55 pm

Handsome looking

• Jaybond on Jul 13, 2010 at 1:09 pm

Overall, nice! Two coloured dashboard should be better than all blacks.

• Paul: Everytime i clicked at the gallery it’s a hassle to get back to the original posting could you add a “back to post” button to make it easier for user ?

• squawk on Jul 13, 2010 at 1:22 pm

Like the wagon. Why do the lights remind me of Accord? The lines and dash too.

• Jaybond on Jul 13, 2010 at 2:13 pm

Yup I noticed too. That’s because the headlamp is very similar to the last generation Accord. If only it could used a more slender & stylish headlight design a la Peugeot 406 Coupe.

• nebula87 on Jul 13, 2010 at 3:13 pm

yalor…combination of accord and maserati…y? peugeot!, u no more idea ar?!!

• Good looking saloon. Naza / Nasim, please bring them here in Malaysia.

• cIT.... on Jul 13, 2010 at 2:44 pm

Yes… Please bring it to Malaysia.. Put the price reasonable also ya… If not we all will stuck with P1 only… Interest rate for non national maker already high… :(

• motorist on Jul 13, 2010 at 3:00 pm

Wont be so soon, bro. CBU maybe but dont hope CKD so soon.

The Gurun CKD plant will have it’s hands full with the T33 207 sedan, the 308 sedan & the current 407 sedan.

Does anyone know if the Kia’s are also CKD assembled at Gurun (or is it -ahem-ahem- rebadged “CKD”?)

• sonyman on Jul 13, 2010 at 1:52 pm

i just getting so in love with it. i wanted A4, and this one . the interior is like an A4

• estimate price please..

• IMHO, most likely will be priced as same level as 407. else not many people will buy this car.

• Peter on Jul 13, 2010 at 2:06 pm

Both of these models look nice and great!

• likehondanotsomuch on Jul 13, 2010 at 2:22 pm

yes we like plain simple functional innovative ,hope the price is attractive to lure us away from accord camry or whatever class it is in

• The interior is very “German” taste, and classy. Add some dark in color and shining wood panelling would even feel good then.

• Peanuts on Jul 13, 2010 at 3:02 pm

Nice looking car, stunning. The dashboard looks clean and neat.

• Anti Proton on Jul 13, 2010 at 3:08 pm

its very nice seriously i like it. don’t get me wrong, but that steering wheel looks like the sport steering wheel of the bmw. not that its bad. its awesome.

• Vincent on Jul 13, 2010 at 3:13 pm

Pls bring it at the price of current 407…

• jolly_idiot on Jul 13, 2010 at 3:31 pm

Somehow it looks abit like the BMW Concept model. But a Camry size with a 1.6? Will it be way underpower?

• skiborne on Jul 13, 2010 at 5:13 pm

dude, its force inducted engine, just like VW’s 1.4TSI also powered in VW Touran MPV, that VW engine produces 160bhp if im nt mistaken

• nice but no moonroof like 308 leh……problem

• fuyoh.ada gayalah.looks much better than the gaping oversized front grilles of the recent pugs.sleek and stylish,with a nice interior as well. hope the build quality won’t be a letdown,and pls use the 6 spd auto gearbox instead of the 4 spd in 407

• mohairi on Jul 13, 2010 at 4:57 pm

I love the ‘back-side’ more that the front…most of us have grown to like to “wide-grin” and this one….well… lost in the crowd of germans and japs…

• shawal on Jul 13, 2010 at 4:57 pm

Handsome car that should age well…
    Interior looks like a renault laguna but no biggie…
    Unfortunately Malaysia won’t be getting any of the Hi-tech engines, the standard 1.6 turbo will be more likely

• Shaycoat on Jul 13, 2010 at 5:01 pm

The length is much shorter than Honda Accord. But I wonder what is the wheelbase for this 508? Is it similar size of Accord. The interior looks quite refreshing with Mercedes-to-be knob console at the middle. Its design is quite new to peugeot’s malaysian

• Dr. Kervokian on Jul 13, 2010 at 5:07 pm

weird, the lights macam Honda accord.
    The buntut macam Hyundai Tiburon.

First time that an european marque looks Asian

• The new design language are way better. Good styling and hopefully will be price reasonably when it arrive. Naza can do it… There are still plenty if space in Gurun’s plant.

I definitely will buy this car if it is available and reasonably priced.

• skiborne on Jul 13, 2010 at 5:11 pm

wow the interior, juicy looking

• Horny_James_H on Jul 13, 2010 at 5:37 pm

Like or Dislike

• Tommy on Jul 13, 2010 at 6:54 pm

Interior looks nice… Nasim, bring it in… Lower than camry and accord, will be another H and T killer… hahahaha…

• french motor on Jul 13, 2010 at 8:07 pm

Engine shall be a 1.6-liter turbocharged and direct-injected inline-four making 150-hp. I expect the price not to change much from the 407, save for the hybrid which may ask for a hefty premium.

• beautiful car, inside out…except for the front end. the grill looks like a china made car.

• 1kereta on Jul 13, 2010 at 9:45 pm

hmmm… not bad, start catching up with the japanese made design… if priced below 170k, people might consider..

• Jasper on Jul 13, 2010 at 10:34 pm

This car so so truly amazing! The interior is marvelous!! It has a very up-market feel. Subtle, yet classy. If they can make the interior feel as high quality as a VW, I think we have a winner here. Love the interface knob and side buttons. Also, hope the steering wheel will maintain like the one in the photo instead of the usual bare and plain Nasim Peugeot’s one.

The exterior, again, subtle yet classy. And Hoffmeister Kink. I love the “Peugeot” letterings on the top of grill, below the logo. The grill looks quite sporty. Actually, what does the “GT” letterings on the grill means? Will they try to make a GT version using 1.6L THP (156bhp) or using the engine + electric motor hybrid? I find it hard to accept the fact a performance hybrid on a medium large sedan. The rear is something fresh. Good concept. But, the rear side, the rear light frontmost, cut off at the separating line from the C-Pillar downwards, some what hints that there was a design compromise with parts/manufacturing cost saving. Well, I hope there will be a option for panoramic roof because I just like the to look upwards, the sense of spaciousness and because it is black top..

Somehow, I feel Nasim will not only be providing the lowest range for this model in Malaysia. Hopefully, there is a top range option for us. And, cross our fingers that this baby will carve less than RM150K off our flesh..

Bravo, Peugeot!!

• actually, if you have been following the offerings by nasim, you WOULD have noticed that the specs are near the highest and by no means the lowest possible.

that is, if you have been following what nasim has been doing with peugeot. but, if you have not, then it would explain your rather uninformed statement.

• jaguarXJ on Jul 13, 2010 at 10:50 pm

i like the back,woohooooo!

• this car has got Accord cum Audi DNA… i guess!

• today i decided to like this car

• Neonda on Jul 15, 2010 at 3:20 pm

erk….y look alike new Accord ni..hmmm

• loollool on Aug 20, 2010 at 5:02 am

i like the wagon version !!!!

i want one !!!

• for PUG owner…its only a peugeot not same or similiar with another brand…its only the lovely peugeot 508…yeah have to wait another 2 years for it to land in malaysia…sempat la simpan wang….