Citroen Grand C4 Picasso now with 1.6L Prince engine!

Brooklands/Competitive Supreme sent over sometime this month a new pricelist for the Citroen and Ssangyong cars they sell. There have been a few price changes but I saw something that piqued my interest – it looks like the 143 horsepower 2.0 litre Citroen Grand C4 Picasso has been replaced by a new model – the Citroen Grand C4 Picasso 1.6 Turbo with 6-speed EGS transmission. The horsepower increase looks minimal – it’s now 150 horsepower but torque is far higher now and also achieved at a very low RPM thanks to the turbocharger.

This makes it the first Citroen in Malaysia to be powered by the PSA-BMW Prince engine that we can find in MINIs and Peugeots on our local soil. The choice of gearbox is also quite interesting. BMW mates the engine in its MINI to a 6-speed Aisin transmission. Peugeot at first used a 4-speed Porsche Tiptronic transmission but are phasing this out in favor of a new 6-speed AT6 box, which like the MINI transmission is supplied by Aisin.

In the Grand C4 Picasso, the Prince engine is mated to a 6-speed BMP6 Electronic Gearbox System transmission from Magneti Marelli, which is basically a manual transmission with an electro-hydraulically operated clutch, much like Selespeed or BMW SMG. This will minimize transmission losses, allowing better fuel efficiency since more of the engine power can get to the wheels. But certain single-clutch AMT transmission can be notoriously rough, so we only find out how smooth Citroen’s EGS is with a test drive. This 6-speeder also includes steering mounted gearshift paddles. Peugeot has used this gearbox in the Peugeot RCZ Hybrid4 concept car.

The price tag has also dropped from the initial price of RM168,000 when the 2.0 litre normally aspirated model was first introduced to a new pricetag of RM158,740 OTR without insurance. UPDATE: The price is now at RM138k non-OTR – clearing stock? It looks like a nice alternative to your choice of a Honda Stream or what not but you may also want to wait for the upcoming Peugeot 5008 which basically rides on the same platform, has a similar engine (with extra 6 horsepower but the same torque) but a regular 6-speed automatic transmission instead of an automated manual. Compare the two before you decide.

I’n not sure whether Brooklands did a launch for this new C4 model or not – if they had one we weren’t invited. So this is basically all I can tell you based on the price list, international specs, and the info on Brooklands’ website. The other two cars offered by Citroen right now is the Citroen C5 2.0 Exclusive with automatic transmission for RM199,028.50 and the Citroen C6 3.0 V6 Exclusive with automatic transmission, going for RM400,645.

Over to the Ssangyong priceless, I was surprised to see the 11-seater Ssangyong Stavic’s price – it’s now going for only RM102,044.99, powered by a Mercedes-Benz 2.7 litre turbodiesel engine and a 5-speed auto. It’s seriously huge and that price is pretty value if you can get over the post-warranty maintenance and the looks of the monster. The Kyron SUV is going for RM151,113.20. The Actyon goes for RM89,989.20 for the pick-up truck and RM134,089.20 for the SUV. The large Rexton RX270 XDi SUV goes for RM169,828.60.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Freeman on Jul 15, 2010 at 12:02 am

Hey Paul,

So when you think we will have the 5008 to compare with before a wise decision is made?

• osh_kosh on Jul 15, 2010 at 12:46 am

if i remembered correctly, the Stavic price was more than RM150k back then… why the huge dip? ckd-ed? stock clearence?

• The Loner on Jul 15, 2010 at 8:35 am

Maybe it is being beaten heavily by Sime Darby’s Hyundai Starex. Now got quite a number of Starex on the road. Smaller engine, power output similar to Stavic.

For your information Ssangyong Stavic was named to be the ugliest vehicle even designed by Top Gear UK.

• osh_kosh on Jul 15, 2010 at 10:57 am

it was named one of the ugliest man-made thing by me also… LOL :P

• lance on Jul 15, 2010 at 7:57 am

Anyone can tell me the maintenance cost & fuel consumption of Stavic??
    Seem like a good buy now…

• Hi Paul,

Is Ssangyong a safe buy? I heard the company was going under….

• Can somebody confirm the gearbox for the C5? Izzit still the 4 speeder? In the UK, I believe it is now equipped with the 6 speeder, right?

Cheers

• Jason on Jul 15, 2010 at 9:38 am

The C5 will be an interesting buy if they can bring in the revised C5 with the Prince 1.6 turbo engine and price it lower say around RM180k. It’s a very nice car both inside and outside but slightly underpower.

• does anyone know if the 3rd row can be used by normal sized adults? the wish and stream 3rd row can only be suitable for kids.seen a few on the roads,must say it looks rather pleasant and unique

• squawk on Jul 15, 2010 at 11:23 am

This is a better choice of full-size MPV compared to the Mazda8. Bermaz must be fuming now. Lower price, more modern engine (than previous C4) and lower road tax.

But I shudder when I hear Selespeed. Hope this Magnetti Marelli transmission is more reliable.

• WooGoo on Jul 15, 2010 at 4:53 pm

How can C4 be compared with Mazda8, they are different class. Mazda8 is in the class of C8. C4 is competing with Mazda5!!!

• squawk on Jul 18, 2010 at 4:52 pm

You’re right. C8 is about the same size as the 8 but the interior seating space looks about the same as the Grand Picasso. Maybe only the boot of the M8 is longer.

• sixtythree on Jul 15, 2010 at 1:25 pm

The only reason i recently bought my Stream RSZ is just because its looks and resale value. Apart from that, these new models from Cit n Pug wins in term of performance and equipments. The Japs is losing nowadays!

• Darkhelmet on Jul 15, 2010 at 2:36 pm

The Prince 1.6 engine is voted world best engine inits category, used in the Mini Cooper S, Peugeot 308 turbo, and now the Citroen. Perhaps proton shud consider using that engine, that wud boost the appeal worldwide!

• mohairi on Jul 15, 2010 at 3:32 pm

The brought in the model earlier this year. I did drop by at their Loke Yew showroom and have a look. During that time, the old 2 litre one old stock sold for about 135K..

• leonardo on Jul 16, 2010 at 8:38 am

1.6 liter engine – is it not underpowered like the Exora?

• Prashnan on Aug 09, 2010 at 3:03 pm

well, please check the peugeot 508 and 5008… arrival soon to shore, after paris motorshow…..

hhhhmmm! abt engine’s……they have two variants for asian market,
    508- 2.0 – EW10 Non turbo(145HP) but very high spec like C5….but boooo!!! in boleh land price$ 168000+++++no moonroof…..

508- 1.6 Turbo -163HP/Torq 244/nm….super feeling!! but comes sports fabric seats and moonroof…..and no electric seat, but 6speed….. with 17inch wheel..some call it GT VERSION….IN BOLEHLAND….!!! i dont think so…..then tax go up….for TAG!!!.
    price$ 157++++ after Malaysian Motor Show.

• Shahrul on Nov 08, 2010 at 4:30 pm

As at today – Grand C4 Picasso basic spec with 1.6 Turbo and 6 Speed Auto
    RM138k. No panoramic roof.

Citroen C5 Exclusive is also on offer – RM175k. CBU 2.0 litre engine.