Proton Exora MC unveiled – new colour, trim and exterior enhancements

We are at Proton’s Centre of Excellence (COE) now, where Proton have just launched the new Proton Exora MC. MC stands for minor change, which is one step less comprehensive than a facelift for the MPV, which Proton MD Dato’ Syed Zainal Abidin said the company is already working on and will come later.

Back to the Exora MC, which looks much better and somehow “more premium” than the car it replaces. Most of the effect is from the new Plum Red exterior colour, which joins four other hues.

Other changes on the outside include the newly designed 15-inch alloys (now featuring five twin spokes) and a new bodykit.

The latter is most obvious up front, where the front lip follows the look of the Exora Prestige seen at the model’s debut last year.

Inside, the most obvious change is the colour of the trim, which is now in dark grey (from very light grey).

The centre stack used to have a “brushed metal” texture, but is now smoothened out with some subtle graphics in place.

The leather seats in the High-Line display model pictured here are also in black.

The door trim also sports a strip of suede/alcantara style of material, which lifts the ambience a bit.

There’s also a handy boot organiser (divided into three sections), which all trims except for the Base-Line model will get. The updates are small but make a big impact – the new colour really suits the car quite well, the chrome on the bumper complements the chrome on the grille nicely, and the darker interior looks better. Just in time for balik kampung.

OTR prices are up spec-for-spec by RM1,000. Here’s the list:

• Proton Exora B-Line MT RM58,998
  • Proton Exora M-Line MT RM65,998
  • Proton Exora M-Line AT RM70,998
  • Proton Exora H-Line AT RM76,998

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1327]
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1326]
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1329]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• bogaboga on Jul 15, 2010 at 1:06 pm

they release this and the same time stated that there will be facelift version coming by

i mean….what the heck? why they cant just release the facelift version rather than ”minor change” that ok well, is minor (thats fine by me, i’m just wondering why the dont just release the facelift???)

• 4agze on Jul 15, 2010 at 1:59 pm

dude, exora is just over one year on the road..so it’s usual for them to do minor change at this time..facelift usually come after half of the product lifecycle which is around 2.5 years after launch..

• littlefire on Jul 15, 2010 at 3:10 pm

Then why want to realease minor change? Sales or quality related issue? As everyone know in Malaysia here.. facelift often is related of the previos sales dropping… Just like myvi, see for so many years they keep on facelift to keep the sales up.. But Exora.. A bit to fast.. Hmm… Somemore want to mention got facelift in future… Make a lot of people thinking of what happen…

• 4agze on Jul 15, 2010 at 7:26 pm

definitely to increase the sales mate..nothing wrong with that..just keep the model fresh and attracting ‘on the fence’ buyer..but people are still waiting the turbo version which i reckon will roll out another 1.5year which gonna be the major change or the facelift

• it doesn’t work that way la…. it is a marketing strategy to keep potential buyers… just like people, takkan we keep the same hairstyle each and everyday right?

• lkf0512 on Jul 15, 2010 at 3:01 pm

So that P1 can mark up the price with this MC.
      Then more prices mark up when launching the facelift.

Smart move from P1 but too smart…

• HirumaKecil on Jul 15, 2010 at 10:58 pm

you dont want to add money, but want a car with xtra things… mutta shitta…

• rabio... on Jul 15, 2010 at 1:09 pm

Very nice….congra…Proton….

• FInally they can come out with some good product already, ok, time to remove the car tax!!!!!!!!!!!

( lol, and tomorrow you see proton staff all buy toyota and drive to work. hahahaha)

• Winston Lee on Jul 16, 2010 at 12:19 am

lol, and tomorrow you see proton staff all buy toyota dugong and drive to work and make part time prebet sapu just like in indonesia. hahahaha

• hampeh on Jul 16, 2010 at 12:30 am

car tax for other car than p1 n p2 should be increase…let those rich-monkey pay more for gov…improve our economy :-D

• bank interest should be increase & National Car interest should be lower!!! Why buy P1 or P2 interest 4.0+-? but Toyota Dugong 2.98% only?

• ex-proton driver on Nov 28, 2011 at 11:16 am

wow…. this is really self defeating.. you are so sure to remain poor for the rest of your life…for your mindset sudah koyak.. Good luck!

• yes…love proton and proud to me malaysian

• Barkcrack on Jul 15, 2010 at 1:11 pm

FUGLY!! saw this car caused my eyes hurt

• hampeh on Jul 16, 2010 at 12:31 am

u should buy beautiful bubble-dugong-look vios n city….it is more pleasing to ur eyes :-D

• Zahar Zain on Jul 15, 2010 at 1:11 pm

Still…the nice and spacious MPV with a puny heart…..still..the nice chiselled MPV with the underwhelming wheels….still…the underpowered car that needs a more powerful engine and a much improved gearbox……Proton are you listening?
    We, the market are speaking and when heard, shall speak with our chequebooks………provided the price is right….

• waiting for turbocharged engine….

• dream on Jul 15, 2010 at 1:18 pm

FIRST!

NICE!

• mohsin on Jul 15, 2010 at 1:34 pm

to dream says: FIRST! You dream it!
      I’m sick with the first comment syndrome!

• yeah…dun understand why there IS someone who like to do this kinda thing

• We also have kid/ children reading this blog, So give them a break la.

• samkhairul on Jul 15, 2010 at 1:19 pm

still no exora turbo? i need it!!

• gtmaniac on Jul 15, 2010 at 1:19 pm

Haih.. still no leather steering for the h-line?

• Shaycoat on Jul 15, 2010 at 1:19 pm

Proton should have added this dark grey interior cabin into their 25th anniversary Exora model. The dark colour is more matching with brown nappa leather. Curious..why is so many exora models produced by proton within 1 months?

• Why people rate this comment as thumb down? I also think tat darker interior is more suitable with 25th year exora model… p1 fans and salesmen can’t not accept other people opinion is the reason p1 hardly to improve… coz u dont want to listen…

• umno juara tipu rakyat on Jul 15, 2010 at 4:56 pm

its a thumb down coz the die hard proton fanz cant accept constructive criticism :D

• Shaycoat on Jul 15, 2010 at 5:26 pm

Cant accept “constructive critics”? Are u miss type or what?

• azfamy on Jul 15, 2010 at 1:24 pm

1st!!!
    Nice but leather seats would be nicer (esp. for H-line)
    After-market leather seats are expensive.

• kerelbort on Jul 15, 2010 at 1:24 pm

Proton marketing ppl are lurking inside paultan.org.. no ~edition from Proton, facelift would have more changes to be called facelift.. now onli MC for minor change…

anyway, good one of Proton marketing to be down in the crowd

• Damn…nicer than my current H-Line with just an additional 1k….
    damn… Anyway, nice and good job for improvement…

• Nutty Dad on Jul 15, 2010 at 4:33 pm

Buy one more to show your undying support for Malaysia No.1 brand^^

• where’s the $$$$, buy 1 car already nyawa nyawa ikan, buy one more again? the Bank sure the biggest winner!!!

• senjo on Jul 15, 2010 at 1:29 pm

hahahaha
    after myvi ladies edition.here comes the so called MC edition…after this what else……..

we need engine change

• corolla_KE70 on Jul 15, 2010 at 3:34 pm

ask myvi-to where is the k3VeT ??

• hampeh on Jul 16, 2010 at 12:36 am

tukar engine baru?? ko bukan ader duit nak beli pon… :-P

• roti gandum on Jul 21, 2010 at 7:52 am

hahahaha… aku setuju! hahahaha… :p

• beras gandum on Aug 16, 2010 at 2:15 pm

sebenarnya orang yang bercakap macam2 pasal proton, itu ini la.. ntah2 dia pakai moto je.. cakap je lebih tapi tak mampu pun nak beli exora… poyo je lebih…
          klu tak mampu buat cara tak mampu…
          even honda or toyota pun ada rosaknya,…bukannya semua pun bagus..

bangga menjadi anak malaysia dan mempunyai proton…

• ericten on Jul 15, 2010 at 1:30 pm

not bad weii..

• PakAbu on Jul 15, 2010 at 1:31 pm

Isn’t this better than the Limited Edition?

:mrgreen:

• jamal on Jul 15, 2010 at 1:41 pm

lousy engine. no deal la

• jamal on Jul 15, 2010 at 2:00 pm

anyway, when will the 2010 wajalution roll out?

• you don’t know anything about engine, give more technical!. be more specific, make technical comparison!.. Otherwise you don’t deserve to argue our own malaysian’s engine..

• farghmee on Jul 15, 2010 at 1:41 pm

err…
    i think it’s weird. take a look at the aircond dials.
    left: flow direction
    middle: fan speed
    right: ? (temperature ke? humidity ke?)

i know previously some people did confuse with the temperature dial in gen2 (they intended to get cold by increasing the temperature).
    but in this time blue dot represents what? & blue circle represents what?

bluedot = blaupunkt? hahaha :P

• it mean cool-cooler-coolest la dude…proton give manual for all cars they built so read la

• farghmee on Jul 16, 2010 at 11:26 am

haha..thanks.
        fyi, i’m not an exora user, hence i dun hav the user manual.

my pov is,

why dun proton design an indicator that
        satisfy the user’s need by looking at it for the 1st time? :)

i dun expect passerby to read manual :P

• Viva La Alza on Jul 15, 2010 at 1:42 pm

OKlah. Tapi plz la install timing chain kat Campro tu… asyik2 belt.

• mujahid on Jul 15, 2010 at 2:31 pm

correct…..

• ape lagi, asyik dok mintak2 je.. pegi la tolong proton pasang kan timing chain… snng je kot..

• fasgen on Jul 15, 2010 at 8:34 pm

how to put timing chain, the engine was built with timing belt.. but.. wait for turbo engine.. come with timing chain…

• klu campro tu pakai timing chain aku rasa lg lembab la enjin tu….
      lost banyak pada mechanical dia.

• alvin_chan88 on Jul 16, 2010 at 1:51 am

Actually I quite like this car. Seriously but I hope in the upcoming facelift they include electronic retractable side mirror. Quite crucial for a big car like this.

• Eyesore on Jul 16, 2010 at 10:02 am

and.. timing belt is much more quieter than timing chain if i’m not mistaken..

• saga_ngv on Jul 15, 2010 at 1:43 pm

nice , color scheme follow kia carnival, quite famous in s.kr.

• Tiadaid on Jul 15, 2010 at 1:47 pm

Let the bashing commence!

For me, it looks kinda good.

• kayel on Jul 15, 2010 at 1:49 pm

i wait for Exora BC – Big Change….

• Or Exora Replacement Model? =ERM? hehehe

• littlefire on Jul 15, 2010 at 3:12 pm

How about Exora XC – Extream Change.. LOL!

• zinzean on Jul 15, 2010 at 4:41 pm

i’ll wait for Exora TC – totally change……

• Shaycoat on Jul 15, 2010 at 5:28 pm

Now Proton has create new terms on autmobile..hehhe….Exora MC (Minor), Exora BC (Big), Exora TC (Turbo Change), Exora SC (Steering change), Exora LC (Leather Change)..hahahah

• Nakal on Jul 15, 2010 at 6:35 pm

Proton should create another ‘MC’ – Mindset Change

• hahaha… u all got a long wait lah

• Nakal on Jul 16, 2010 at 6:53 pm

Yes..Midset Change edition for the people who keep babling want this and that from proton…but would never buy even only 1 proton car

• kayel on Jul 15, 2010 at 6:55 pm

wow…i got 34 thumbs up for my comment…Proton should take note on this…:))

• what?

• putra_exora on Jul 15, 2010 at 1:55 pm

haiyyyyaaaa…

can trade in my april white exora ka?
    very attractive la this red mc….

very pain inside…..

• zinzean on Jul 15, 2010 at 4:45 pm

Dude,my advise is better save ur money, do u think urself able keep up pace with proton fancy idea. In no time we’ll see another edition pop out.

• Chris on Jul 15, 2010 at 1:56 pm

better looking than before “minor changes” edition…
    anyone who just got their exora recently will be disappointed for sure….
    =(

• gtmaniac on Jul 15, 2010 at 2:27 pm

Yup.. disappointed a bit la for me – got my h-line 2 weeks ago. For extra rm1k only got bodykit, visor, chrome trim, etc.. which will cost more if done outside.

But I will be more disappointed if they put the leather steering wheel & gear knob, which, luckily they don’t!

• Eric G on Jul 15, 2010 at 2:01 pm

bring in the diesel engine la ploton

• asmara on Jul 15, 2010 at 2:02 pm

Another facelift version
    – “MC”- couldn’t they come up with a better name.?
    Another poor marketing stretegy again cos they
    mentioned that another major facelift coming up.
    This kinda statements will put off buyers
    cos they will wait for the newer version.
    In the mean time Alza is taking the lions share of the smaller MPV market.
    Mana engine “turbo” ? :( at least give us some indication.
    If TM has already test driven it so it’should already be in the pipeworks.

• scottloeb on Jul 15, 2010 at 2:58 pm

Its Toyota terms, Minor Change. Vios Minor Change, Full Model Change. DSZ follow its sensei from Nagoya lah, mana lagi

• ALZA is eating the Avanza market lah!! check the statistics. EXora maintain around 2000-3000 per month. Avanza now only 3000 per month.

times to change avanza lah toyota…or afraid of taking theover Alza sales is it?

• Rondowner on Jul 15, 2010 at 2:04 pm

Wakakakaka whats next…..
    After MC than LE after that dunno what……..

• Peter on Jul 15, 2010 at 2:07 pm

I hope the turbo version can come in soon……

I will be anticipating to find it out…

haha :)

• fire1bill2 on Jul 28, 2010 at 8:54 pm

i can’t wait to see it!!!! sure i won’t miss the turbo version!!!!

• Preodua Myvi SE on Jul 15, 2010 at 2:11 pm

Next month proton will launch the Exora MC.. Major change..

• anak2 kita on Jul 15, 2010 at 2:48 pm

yaka.. are u sure??

• Ed Norton on Jul 15, 2010 at 3:15 pm

E=MC2 ;-) Saw it just now at Mutiara Dsara. Very nice indeed but would be better with leather wrap steering wheel and piano black centre console. and ofcoz, turbo-charged engine… sweet!

• hantu gigi on Aug 02, 2010 at 11:34 pm

bangga dengan Preodua Myvi SE die…eja pon x betul

• rookie on Jul 15, 2010 at 2:11 pm

worthy buy for only rm1k price upgrade..

but..
    ppl are waiting on the turbo’ed campro wif the new gearbox plus 32bit ecu exora..

so maybe this MC1 wont sell that much..i think…

• Let see how many people will buy exora turbo if proton launch it..Many people said they will wait for turbo exora, but i’m afraid that they only ‘cakap saja ma’..These people will expect price for the turbo exora is same with the standard model..If the price Rm95k++, then they say better by GL, Innova..Emm, this is malaysian….

• do i miss something….64bit already use in exora rite…really dont know

• Evardowoo on Jul 15, 2010 at 2:12 pm

Give us highLine with turbo engine and captain seat.

• Good looking with the cosmetic change, looking forward for facelift model, well done, PROTON.

• nazri on Jul 15, 2010 at 2:21 pm

so much improvement they call it minor change.. i think if ‘other car manufacture’ did it sure they call it advance version or limited edition

• always-exora on Jul 15, 2010 at 2:21 pm

Good things get better ! cheers !!

• Tengokaje.. on Jul 15, 2010 at 2:30 pm

Hmm… anyway congrats P1.
    BTW, I think all model of exora should have dual air bags and abs as a standard features and also all their current and future line up.
    Nice new colour.

Salam..

• dom perignon on Jul 15, 2010 at 2:31 pm

The aircond controls look really 3x outdated.
    Most cars switched to climate control module ages ago.

DSZ hope you’re reading our postings.
    We would appreciate if you could shed some light
    on what’s happening to the Turbo engine development.
    Lots of cars already coming up with 6 speed transmission
    and yet we are still kept in the dark of Protons R&D progress.
    We are already past mid 2010 and 2011 is a mere 6 months away.

• Tiadaid on Jul 15, 2010 at 4:55 pm

Most cars? I have yet to find a sub-80K car with auto climate control here in Malaysia. The new 308 maybe, but that’s 90K…

• feisal on Jul 15, 2010 at 6:10 pm

Waja X did have climate control before. That’s an RM70k new car during that time.

• yup..really miss it now…but it is really hard to find auto climate control in a car below 80k

• sutheshkumar on Jul 15, 2010 at 10:04 pm

correction, Waja X only had semi automatic aircon. climate control was only available on Impian X in UK along with traction control and side airbags.

• feisal on Jul 16, 2010 at 12:00 am

What’s a semi auto aircond? Thanks for sharing

• sutheshkumar on Jul 16, 2010 at 1:44 pm

its like climate control, where the aircond speeds control itself when it is in auto mode.

• anyyzen on Jul 15, 2010 at 2:33 pm

i hope handbrake like Alphard

• my3cent on Jul 15, 2010 at 2:36 pm

looks okey la…but need bigger engine…

• roadrunner on Jul 15, 2010 at 2:37 pm

hahaha…turbo exora, ‘mungkin’ Proton akan buat ‘sedikit’ kejutan….hahaha

• elite on Jul 15, 2010 at 2:43 pm

i see more alzas on the road than exora, even though exora is launched earlier…

• i see more exora than alza….maybe my eye cannot differentiate between myvi and alza easily..hehe…n also sakit mata coz too much saga blm on the road..

• Eyesore on Jul 16, 2010 at 10:13 am

i think mostly bcoz..ppl treat alza as everyday car…not really as an MPV…most exora owners used exora on weekends or holiday and use normal car for daily usage…. Alza is never an MPV in my eyes..its just MyVi with extra seats and limited bootspace….

• I read Indonesian CAR & TUNING GUIDE magazine, the magazine praised Exora’s suspension system though naturally unimpressed with the “under-power” 1.6. Proton should introduce diesel or at least turbo variant.

BTW, MC is really worth than RM1000 premium. Kudos

• Some of the front pics just look like my previous Honda Accord. Also same color.

• obheng on Jul 15, 2010 at 2:59 pm

Without a proper engine, this MPV will simply not work, I don’t care what the blind followers of Proton say. Just when will Proton bring in the turbo version of the Exora?

• Eyesore on Jul 16, 2010 at 10:17 am

it’s work..has always been working since launched…. the engine might not be really big.. but it is adequate for Exora… I have yet to see an exora owner complaining about it being unable to climb genting etc…. instead they have done it a few times in convoy….

the only complain we have heard is from someone who does not own exora and not even going to buy it eventhough proton put high power engine…..

• Zorro on Aug 29, 2010 at 4:46 pm

Good try Proton with your MPV. First time rite!!! Syabas!! Frens and sedara who bought and been driving it, all very happy and (those anti-proton) cannot complain.. hehehe. the price and relative comfort is so good. I drove it at past 160 kph.. it feels good.

congrats Proton!

Those yg nak complain aje, go waste your time somewhere else !!! huhuhu

• ko malu saje... on Jul 15, 2010 at 3:03 pm

looks so veli-veli yummy-yummy sweet, can i eat it?

• huhu..!!! on Jul 15, 2010 at 3:08 pm

it still same la….

• squawk on Jul 15, 2010 at 3:14 pm

Much better looking now. But this is probably their strategy to keep sales up while they prepare for the new versions.

• omanjedi on Jul 15, 2010 at 3:20 pm

Two versions in a space of few days…
    Today is 17th July – MC edition.
    9th July – 25 units LE editions. Are they trying to beat the world record on this? For me the LE is so-so (with the price). This version is obviously better.
    My guess is majority of Exora potential buyers still patiently waiting for the turbo though and Proton must aware that every minutes delay will cause these potential buyers to become impatient and buy other MPVs in the market. Honda Freed for eg.

• curious on Jul 15, 2010 at 3:30 pm

dear exora owner,
    just wanna know the km/liter of exora…can share the info
    still thinking between exora n alza…

• Abraham Tawi on Jul 15, 2010 at 5:58 pm

Not an Exora owner but my mom is one :)

In city driving or jam, around 7.5-9km/l
      On highway, maintain speed of 90-110km/h, its around 9-10.5km/l
      So averaging out, it will be about 9km/l

This fuel consumption is based on 2-3 adults in the car with some or no luggage

Just beware that the first two thousand kilometres, the car will drink a lot of petrol but after that it will be like as I describe. However, it is also greatly influenced by the driver (either heavy or light footed).

Hope it helps!

• I went from Melaka to Klang and Maran(Pahang) with a single full 50liter tank.. after walkabout for few kilometers, then the warning light appeared.. At Melaka-Klang stretch , most of the time at 140-160km/h
        On Plus, went from Klang to Baling and then to Sungai Petani on a single tank with plenty to spare..
        50 liters at 1.80/liter=RM90.

• acerman on Jul 15, 2010 at 9:57 pm

Actually, the person who owns an exora will know how much he/she will save on fuel.
          Its actually getting cheaper by the day/weeks.

• ppl not concern about petrol, they just hate the batch, thats all, no hard feeling

• acerman on Jul 16, 2010 at 10:23 am

Than why most of us here still talking about the fuel? Answer me that?

• My Exora full tank from Kuala Terenganu to Rawang via LPT.
          Much better than my previous Unser (M)

• pulltea on Jul 15, 2010 at 3:44 pm

MC edition, increase RM1k

FL edition, increase how much ????

• acerman on Jul 15, 2010 at 9:54 pm

Haloo bro, Bodykit already cost u 1K.

• lovely malaysia on Jul 17, 2010 at 10:08 pm

mass production will reduce cost..simple..no need to express like that..but agree production fitted is much better.

• hero86 on Sep 07, 2010 at 3:00 am

adoyai.. if u have big familly and plenty money, go take base line.. if u want a full spec will all the make up, then go with the full spec.. no one force u to buy p1 model.. just buy what u need, not what u want..

• Plum Red exterior colour and rim design make me remind to Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution…jeng3!

• I think most ppl looking for the engine change, not another cosmetic change…

• Just_Once on Jul 15, 2010 at 3:56 pm

Europe style interior colour…
    Nice..

• Tommy on Jul 15, 2010 at 4:01 pm

Kinna gorgeous actually.. wah!! for additional 1K, it makes the current H-lin become M-line already… like this, but looking forward for the Waja-Lancer…

• theanswer on Jul 15, 2010 at 4:22 pm

not my fav mpv..but no doubt still the best value for money mpv.

• madimat on Jul 15, 2010 at 4:29 pm

Sir Paul, .. any other color than red? What about white, or silver. I think red is so… er,..un-MPV like.

• Goniothalamus on Jul 15, 2010 at 4:31 pm

Great. Change exterior colour, change interior colour, enhance the simple things.. and up the simple price. That is minor change.

Wishlist for major change.
    – more powerful / more economical engine
    – sporty bodykit, enhance the head and tail lights
    – electronic enrichment
    – upgrade suspension, exhaust system, bigger rims
    – rise the price as reasonable, and this time give better special name.

..and the exora will sell well.

• die hard on Jul 15, 2010 at 4:35 pm

MPV too large for me now, i’m eager debut of proton waja lancer, on exterior proton did pretty well recently but interior personally i think have to put more effort, exora interior look ‘old school’ compare to alza.

• “Proton Exora H-Line AT RM76,998”

Avanza will have even less new owners now… Good job Proton on Exora. Everybody is just waiting for more features you’d put in.

• drMpower on Jul 15, 2010 at 4:44 pm

wud have to say a very big congratulation to pak syed and his team. the way they are transforming the company very encouraging and a bit shock to our usual sedate mindset.

now people will waiting to see whats more coming from proton. nevermind if they say jaguh kampung or anything, but as far as the market is concern, proton must nail its home turf first, while continuing the exports and those rebadging activites etc etc

the rakyat would welcome every single measures by anyone to make proton profitable and going forward.. may god saves proton.

• Tiadaid on Jul 15, 2010 at 4:57 pm

Some might say god save Proton but others are saying god ruin Proton! I pray that its the former. We’ve invested too much to let Proton fail.

• tok embun on Jul 21, 2010 at 9:09 am

I agree with your opinion , since pak syed manage this company a lots of surprise coming from proton . Good job pak syed …!!!!

• kozekx on Jul 15, 2010 at 4:49 pm

I will wait for either the turbo engine or like the one in EMAS.

• akupunya on Jul 15, 2010 at 5:05 pm

Wasting time. Only a gimmick to attract the market.
    still the exora with 1.6 cps, its nothing more just an elephant after heart surgery..

the exora is ugly at the front. the headlamp, the bumper are sooo childish design.
    proton should upgrade seats in all their model. soooo uncomfortable and feel like sit on the go kart beginner machine.

i have drove exora. the good about exora is even it is a big cabin, but u drive like a small car. but finishing are too badddd……even interior or exterior.

till now, proton are not in my list for valuable thing. i think i just waste my money like I used to have a wira a few years ago.

I like Jeremy Clarkson comment about the satria neo in his Top Gear. kepala tersekat and bila nk pakai sun visor, terus tutup mata. macam man ank drive!!!!

akekeke…

• fasgen on Jul 15, 2010 at 8:48 pm

are you p2 salesman? do you have heart attack with p1?

• acerman on Jul 15, 2010 at 9:51 pm

Nice nickname. “aku punya”. Your punya?? Hahaha!

• akupunya on Jul 15, 2010 at 10:54 pm

haha..many owners of exora here…
      what todo..already bought..so have to support exora la..
      akekek..

• motorist on Jul 15, 2010 at 10:56 pm

-.-“..
      bro, lu tinggi mana?? keta neo sesuai laa dgn org malaysia mcm gua.. gua x tggi, juz 170 cm.. jeremy brapa?? kwn gua, seorg american tggi dlm 190 pun x selesa dlm satria..
      jgn laa duk buh yg bukan2.. kalau rasa exora ataw proton x best, jgn kutuk yg bukan2.. atleast kete proton dh berjaya membantu org berkereta.. kalau org mcm aku ni nk beli Honda Jazz, mmg x dpt laa.. aku hanya mampu pakai Neo.. but dgn neo pun, dh 1Malaysia aku pusing, bwk aku cari duit smpai aku dh mula planning nk cri kete bru yg lebih bgus..
      terima kasih Proton.. walaupun kereta buatan Proton kurang berkualiti mcm sesetengah kata, tp atleast dr proton lah org mula beli kereta utk pelbagai tujuan

• acerman on Jul 16, 2010 at 10:26 am

I agree. Because of Proton, many malaysian are able to travel long distances and have more income.

• akupunya on Jul 16, 2010 at 10:56 am

‘atleast kete proton dh berjaya membantu org berkereta’ ur quote.

please stop la using that quote. cuba tgk balik kenapa kereta proton murah dalam malaysia ni.

i condemn proton bukan i tak suka wujudnya proton. I condemn proton kerana entiti proton diperguna untuk kenyangkan perut satu lagi, kosongkan perut yang satu lagi. proton kalau diurus dgn betul dari dulu, aku rasa aku takkan condemn proton macam ni. sebagai pengguna, aku terasa sangat tertipu kepada proton buatan malaysia selama ini. proton hanya guna label ‘buatan malaysia’ untuk kenakan rakyat.

sorry la bro..mmg kereta proton boleh ronda merata rata, bukan nk kutuk org yg pakai proton, tapi proton dah ramai kecewakan rakyat malaysia.

• farghmee on Jul 17, 2010 at 10:46 am

hehe…akupunya..

dh jemu aku dgr cte yg ko bawa ni.
          dh btahun2 aku follow paultan ni.

ko ingat kete impot ble murah ke kalu xde proton?

• motorist on Jul 21, 2010 at 11:40 am

yaaa.. aku setuju, proton dah kecewakan ramai org.. tapi ko pernah x pk yg apasal proton jahanam?? mengikut cerita kwn aku dlm proton, kebanyakan pekerja dlm proton mainkan isu politik.. jadi, diorg bt kereta sambil lewa supaya kerajaan dikatakan tipu rakyat.. aku xnk sebut isu politik, tp ko nk sgt pk ko BAGUS, aku bukak cerita yg sebenar.. puas hati ko skrg?? kalau ko nk tgk proton jd bagus, ko pegi cuci otak2 udang dlm proton yg dah terhasut dgn politik..
          tp ko pk balik k.. kalau proton xde, kereta murah ke?? mcm bro farghmee ckp kt atas ni.. kalau xda proton, tax akan lebih tggi.. kerajaan akan bt income dr tax kereta import.. tp ada nya proton, kerajaan blh bt lebih income sbb kereta proton dh mmg murah, tp kalau buh tax, maka byk jgk pendapatan blh dibuat sbb lebih ramai akan beli proton.. aku x backup sgt, tp ini realiti nya..

• momok on Aug 28, 2010 at 10:28 pm

org malaysia tapi tak nak berbangga dengan produk malaysia…how is it ?

• ismet on Jul 15, 2010 at 5:14 pm

some said the want/waiting for turbo edition. Soon when turbo is available in the market,the they will shoot out,turbo is ‘old school’ and the demand for the bigger and powerful engine and bla bla bla..

And actually that is not your fault..you just born to be like that..having said that you’re an entertainer..or JOKER perhaps :)

• Shaycoat on Jul 15, 2010 at 5:31 pm

Next Exora model is Exora LCC (Leather Colour Change) ..changed from Nappa (kambing) upholstery to Kulit lembu…

• This exora for hari raya promotion…. M.C sound likes “Cuti sakit” la…

• oomph on Jul 15, 2010 at 5:39 pm

heard waja replacement is coming.
    1.8 CBU. too bad fully booked.

• zaff1984 on Jul 15, 2010 at 6:47 pm

are you sure waja replacement already fully booked…? I still don’t heard P1 open for booking for waja replacement…. and P1 even not advertise their teaser to public…

• omahabojan on Jul 15, 2010 at 6:49 pm

Any clue how it looks like?

• aku noob on Jul 15, 2010 at 5:55 pm

cantik gak color merah nie..:-D

• komeng on Jul 15, 2010 at 5:59 pm

Why they did’nt put the satria 145 bhp/168 nm engine in the exora. That will be ‘BOOM’.

• Chyan on Jul 15, 2010 at 6:35 pm

Paul. I seriously love your YouTube inspired Like and dislike function.

personally, I think this refresh is ain’t half bad really :)

• shawal on Jul 15, 2010 at 6:46 pm

looks more than what its worth from the outside , maybe its the new colour,
    finally proton jump on the darker toned interior bandwagon ,

I still don’t understand proton’s policy of not offering High-line trim with manual gearbox on all their models, campro engine have no pull, thats why we NEED (not WANT) a manual gearbox only SAGA SE has an option for a manual gearbox , persona SE however is stuck with an auto, Manual also saves fuel…

• gtmaniac on Jul 16, 2010 at 8:19 am

Betul la bro. I agree with you. Me and my wife actually don’t really like driving auto, but are ‘forced’ to take that gearbox because we wanted the full spec version.

This thing is not new actually – started in early 90s already. Remember the Megavalve Saga? The 1.5I (istimewa) version – the fully loaded – only available in auto. Wira sedan 1.6? Only in auto when they launched. And the trend continues.

But, maybe based on their prevoius sales, the demand for a full-spec manual is not enough.

• Honda Civic on Jul 15, 2010 at 6:47 pm

honda is the best!!

• fasgen on Jul 15, 2010 at 8:52 pm

good using honda until die…..

• acerman on Jul 15, 2010 at 9:47 pm

So?

• akupunya on Jul 15, 2010 at 11:00 pm

what honda?? A Honda Cup??
      pakai honda cup pun mau bising ka?
      ada aku kisah??

• hampeh on Jul 16, 2010 at 12:17 am

bagus gak beli honda…korang menigkatkan pendapatan negara malaysia….korg bayar tax yg xperlu..accessive tax..ok laa :-D

• Izhar on Jul 18, 2010 at 9:38 am

honda ape ko pakai????
      mujur ada kedai potong….nanti kalau ada problem…trylah ganti barang honda original….

• xvtec on Jul 28, 2010 at 2:42 pm

to some extend Honda is best..not overall. I drive a honda civic FD and there are pluses and minuses compared to other car. It is a matter of personal perception to rate a car ‘the best’. And I would say my 2nd generation Civic still give me the best drive compared to my current FD. And honestly having bought and driven an Exora recently I find it is SATISFYING albeit the decent engine performance. With the Exora I still arrive in style…and quite generous headturns.

• Exora McD edition… hehe..

• best oi all if proton can release its tyrbo. but dont limit it only for exora, proton cars also deserve for power

• fazron80 on Jul 15, 2010 at 7:12 pm

Proton plz add a bit more for the manual version, Some of us are at home with manual more than the auto. Try putting a higher version for the manual since the manual price is very competetive.

• hampeh on Jul 16, 2010 at 12:19 am

betol2…ramai yg nak persona elegance H-line to have manual transmission pleaseee :-(

• mfahd on Jul 15, 2010 at 7:45 pm

supposely they launch the MC version equipped with turbo engine
    surely it can boost up monthly exora sales

• ala lingkup on Jul 15, 2010 at 8:01 pm

waja replacement akhir tahun ni -Buletin Utama TV3

• zamry on Jul 15, 2010 at 9:48 pm

yes. they do come by end of this year.. so.. be patient..
      better start saving ur money.. before it runs out when u need it most.. =)

• hampeh on Jul 16, 2010 at 12:21 am

cost maybe 70-80k but…still ok laa…waja-lancer can belasah vios n city in performance and price…:-)

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 15, 2010 at 8:08 pm

Just launched??

I already saw then unloading them at ipoh yesterday…and saw one on the road with normal plates………(might be demo car) thought it was just a new colour….

• motorist on Jul 15, 2010 at 11:00 pm

r u shock??? i juz see it today morning after pick up my GF.. also thought new colour until i open this site and discover it was new model..

• add the new Turbo engine and this Exora will kick Wish, Mazda 5 and Innova’s ass.

• Zacharov on Jul 15, 2010 at 8:30 pm

Please put manual version for h-line model….

• WhyNot on Jul 15, 2010 at 8:36 pm

Proton need to understand the world arena. Do your thinking fast, learn from top design manufacturer and not stubborn to just focus on facelift and to thinking of mass productions. And most of all, don’t just depend on Malaysian’s to buy your cars only.
    Your headlamps on most versions are ugly. Look at Honda, Mazda, Hyundai and try to design somewhat sporty, sleek and low CG in the future. You will then see more Malaysian’s to replace foreign cars with proton. Buckle up, monopoly will eventually die with a slow and painful dead!

• malaysia memang boleh on Jul 15, 2010 at 11:12 pm

Mazda’s design is ugly,honda’s design is ugly too,but hyundai is improving,but to me proton’s styling is quite good to me.

• ko malu saje... on Jul 17, 2010 at 11:31 pm

tell that to perodua.

• Please realise that they are actually increasing their prices with tactic. Add this and that. Increase 5k. Add this, change tiny weeny unuseful items…increase another 5k. So just bear in mind that when the turbo version comes out, price is just not for the average earner anymore. Kereta nasional? . I hope I am wrong.

• ka_one2000 on Jul 15, 2010 at 9:37 pm

yes you r wrong…. the increase is only RM1k

• maybe after some discount…. the price is just the same but will surely assit potential hirer to secure higher loan margin from the bank :-)

• nazri on Jul 15, 2010 at 10:11 pm

ya lor.. other makes add vanity mirror both driver and passenger side + bag organizer also add 1k ++ what..

• Amorey on Jul 15, 2010 at 9:15 pm

Turbo exora? I prefer 1.8 cps and improved the cps profile. Turbo is costly maintenance la..lagi baik pasang turbo utk satria neo…

• ribut on Jul 15, 2010 at 9:46 pm

enjin 1.8 cps aku rasa tak de…
      tapi campro 1.6 turbo lebih kurang 2.0 agaknya
      maintenance turbo tak dinafikan, klau memang asal enjin bukan turbo
      ambik 2nd hand turbo kereta luar negara masuk kereta kita… memang ada masalah.
      satria neo turbo aku dengar memang nak buat!

• Viva La Alza on Jul 15, 2010 at 9:47 pm

Good news everyone… DSZ now try to negotiate with local banks regarding HP interest rates. It’s seems to high 4.1% for 9 years.

• omanjedi on Jul 16, 2010 at 8:50 pm

Finally, somebody in Proton knows the ‘controlling factors’ which determine the price factor/aftermarket 2nd hand value:

Bank

• Dear Proton, please put in a bigger & more efficient engine… i’m waiting to own one!

• go earn more money, and dont put your family to shame by driving this.

• arroncyl on Jul 15, 2010 at 10:21 pm

Why no back view for the official image???
    :)

• Fair n Square on Jul 15, 2010 at 10:30 pm

The Exora needs all the help it can get. I have driven it compred with the Naza Kia Rondo, and even though I am a miser, for sheer driving pleasure, the slightly more expensive Rondo gets my vote. Still, it’s nice to know that there is a cheaper alternative to the Rondo for those who are pushed for cash, and need a reasonably SPACIOUS 7-seater (that the Toyota Avanza and Alza aren’t).

• rossi46 on Jul 16, 2010 at 12:15 am

MC pun bg orang yg mampu akan tetap membelinya , tapi bg orang yg x berwang akan cakap nk tunggu exora enjin turbo la,apa la ,bla2……….habuk pun tadak

• anak dato'kk on Jul 16, 2010 at 9:39 am

biasa la. bila dah kuar turbo pun nnti still bla,bla,bla….gak. tgk la kalau tak caya tp kalau brand lain kuar spec hampir sama or lebih rendah esp from japan, wow, fantastic, bombastik bla,bla,bla….hmmm…..

• tahniah P1..terus menghasilkan produk utk rakyat mlysia..just add RM1000,banyak manfaatnya..pengeluar kereta yg T dan H add RM5000-10000 than call it “special or sport edition”..tapi masih yg memujinya..what wrong with lalala land people?

• chap_de_x on Jul 17, 2010 at 12:35 am

ada satu lg….national car jugak….tukau kaler taruk warna pink naik harga sampai 1800…ptuih…pastu brani letak limited edition

• dr.sd on Jul 19, 2010 at 12:35 am

P2 dah sedar pun…dah xder org laki yg nak beli my.v..so the best way,create the product just special for ladies..so’kalu ada jgak org laki yg beli..emmmm something wrong inside their soul..

• dickybird on Jul 19, 2010 at 10:37 am

really? well any right thinking man would not even consider proton car let alone an MPV if he really loved his family.

• tok embun on Jul 21, 2010 at 10:15 am

Org2 yang mcm ni memang lalang , Honda Freed yg lampu belakang mcm tah apa-apa dia org kata lawo .. cuba la kalau Exora buat backlight macam tu sure kena hentam punya !!!!!!

• momok on Aug 28, 2010 at 10:38 pm

betol la…jenama kete lain yang ntah apa2 peten pun ada org nak beli…i setia dengan my waja coz for me kalau kita jaga bebaik…touch up cantik2…kita nak bawak pun senang hati…

• jl@ipl on Aug 31, 2010 at 10:14 am

Betui tu.

Pada aku, lampu blkg Exora cantik sangat. Lantak la apa org len nk cakap.

Satu gi, side mirror Persona Ellegance, puh, aku minat tul, tunggu la, aku nak tukar kat gen2 aku.

Kekadang, aku terfikir la, yg bashers suma2 nih sekolah darjah berapa? Len macam tul!

Aku tk sokong suma bende pasal kete proton, yg aku rasa tak bagus, aku kutuk gak. Savvy, boonet die cam tudung tupperware je aku tengok. Myvi, memang cun, tgk dari belakang, cam aweq je (bontot/bumper lebar!!). Seksi………

Gen2 aku, low end tork mmg hampeh! Tapi, handling mmg best. Dah byk kali aku “terkena” dgn jln raya. Penah sekali, aku travel balik dr Kemaman, kat area Jabor nk masuk LPT, ada satu selekoh terlindung (dek tiang dan tembok jejambat), tajam gak, nk drop gear takut tak sempat. Budak sebelah aku (myvi owner) dah gelabah beruk, aku rilek je paut steering,lepas minyak, rilek je gen2 aku ikut, pastu tekan minyak balik, sikit pun tak “buang”! Cuak, memang cuak, kalau ada kete ke, ape ke yg slow2 kt sebalik selekoh tu, nahas!

Kt Melaka, jln tengah repair, haram tarak sign board pun! tengah sedap2 90 – 100kmj, tahu2 je jln batu2 besar tu, nk wat ape gi, lps minyak, paut steering je la…..rasa cam terbang, melayang jek, tapi tak buang langsung! Terima kasih kpd lotus tunned ride and handling gen2, dua kali aku hutang nyawa…………

• nabill on Jul 16, 2010 at 12:48 am

give it an engine with reasonable amount of torque n it will be a winner , that cps in a lighter waja/gen2/neo is nice n responsive….bt in the exora is a very uncomfortable busy drive . very hard to relax n thoroughly enjoy the drive….bcos the rest of the car is up to scratch and commendable…..it jus needs more torque …..turbo ,turbo ,where r u ??!

• Alifz on Jul 16, 2010 at 9:29 am

Do you know last time before there was Honda Stream with 1.7l engine just like Honda Civic?

• henryee on Jul 16, 2010 at 2:06 am

Why is it still lack of rear disc breaks, side curtain airbags like Kia Forte which will protect the rear seat passengers???

But at least Proton heard our comment like the dashboard and seat cover colour scheme that changed to Dark colour.
    Please brush up ur Quality Control P1, coz I’ve seen so many Exora’s head light were flooded by water, and also the 3rd break light that wouldn’t lit up.
    This is what I saw many of this happened in my area!

Good job, P1.

• another ugly car from proton again,when is your proton-mitsu going to announced?

• Scania360 on Jul 16, 2010 at 3:42 am

Exterior nice..gud jog PROTON…but..but..huh

Aiyoo..interior still bad..cosmetics wise..Proton still poor..
    again n again..they just love B/W..hitam putih color..aduii..plss la Proton..
    change la some bit for interior..change design minded..why still in ‘dark ages’..SAGA Orion last time already put alot of color choice for interior..blue..grey..brown..?? now?
    put la some RGB rather than always kusyen hitam, dinding hitam..bumbung putihh??? dull n bosann maaaa..see SAGA BLM..huhuu..weird color n texture!!
    a simple cosmetics will make it amzing..

one more things..why Proton so ‘arrogant’ keeping left handed signal toggling system until now??? few years still i’m thinking..could not find answer..Proton Edar ppls also cant give me the answer!!!! what rationale Proton did this since WAJA??? not comfort 4ease of driving..for Malaysian road system..always confusing..no ergonomics for fast action hand signaling..wiper..high beam..we dont ‘play’ the wiper regularly as left-right signal lamp.. pls put logical features according the human nature la..plss..PROTONNN
    kita makan hari2 dengan tangan kanan maaa….pegi toilet cuci satu dua kali saja guna tangan kiri..!!!
    hate that feature!!

• chap_de_x on Jul 17, 2010 at 12:32 am

As an owner i dun really have problem with the left signal stalk….after u get used to it no problem at all….i never mistaken it with the wiper stalk….i guess u are not proton owner…just like to bash

• xvtec on Jul 22, 2010 at 6:48 pm

bro..u r such a jerk. no problem either left or right. u need to change mindset

• farghmee on Jul 17, 2010 at 11:08 am

ala bro..
      aku drive kete perodua & proton xde masalah pn nk switch on wiper ngn lampu tu.
      lambat pickup ke?

• lambat pickup is the right word for you Scania360…i have no problem using it….drive to work signal right…jalan2 malam signal left…

• JACk LIm on Jul 16, 2010 at 9:01 am

When it stated minor change, it really comes with what it said…. good job…. what next? limited edition with limited accessories ?

• Jumbsuck on Jul 16, 2010 at 9:49 am

“…Proton Exora H-Line AT RM76,998”

If Tok Arab can buy half price of Proton then as well Tok Arab can get it for RM76,998 / 2 = RM38,499 only. RM38,499…Manyak cantek lah you Proton!

What RM38,499 saved otherwise can be used for:

1. Around 8 years of petrol cost. Lets take average annual mileage of 24,000km or 2,000km travelled per month. Take average Proton engine fuel consumption of 10km per litre (yes that’s how efficient it is!). That’s 24,000km / (10 km per litre) = 2,400 Litres of petrol used per year. 2,400 litres of petrol is worth 2,400 litres X RM1.85 (RON95 price per liter) = RM4,440.00 per year. So RM38,499 / RM 4,440 is 8.65 years.

2. But instead of getting 8 years of petrol cost, NAP and banks cost you crazy amount of car taxes duties and best of all for banks to rip you off by factoring that RM38,499 into your total hire purchase loan amount so RM38,499 of maximum 9 years loan at 4.1 percent easily RM1,578 per year or 9 years loan means that RM38,499 become RM14,206 (RM1,578 X 9 years) more or the total RM38,499 + RM14,206 = RM52,705. It’s like a paying tax on top of the tax. Overall the ‘real’ total amount upon loan settlement therefore RM38,499 + RM52,705 = RM91,204. Such a ‘special edition’ price eh?

And lots of other things you can spend or invest with that RM38,499.

So are you happy to lose 8 years of petrol expenses or RM52,705 double cheat tax-on-tax charges for craps you should NOT pay at all? Lu pikir lah sendiri!!

That’s how ‘lucky’ we are here. Ripped off left and right for craps you should NOT pay at first place. Heh, wanna extra airbags cost extra RM2K huh? With total hidden car price you should get almost FREE 20 airbags if you really need that much airbags lah.

And how much that extra two power windows on Saga? Get it FREE lah you FOOL!

• Jumbsuck on Jul 16, 2010 at 9:52 am

“…Proton Exora H-Line AT RM76,998”

If Tok Arab can buy half price of Proton then as well Tok Arab can get it for RM76,998 / 2 = RM38,499 only. RM38,499…Manyak cantek lah you Proton!

What RM38,499 saved otherwise can be used for:

1. Around 8 years of petrol cost. Lets take average annual mileage of 24,000km or 2,000km travelled per month. Take average Proton engine fuel consumption of 10km per litre (yes that’s how efficient it is!). That’s 24,000km / (10 km per litre) = 2,400 Litres of petrol used per year. 2,400 litres of petrol is worth 2,400 litres X RM1.85 (RON95 price per liter) = RM4,440.00 per year. So RM38,499 / RM 4,440 is 8.65 years.

2. But instead of getting 8 years of petrol cost, NAP cost you crazy amount of car taxes duties and best of all for banks to rip you off by factoring that RM38,499 into your total hire purchase loan amount so RM38,499 of maximum 9 years loan at 4.1 percent easily RM1,578 per year or 9 years loan means that RM38,499 become RM14,206 (RM1,578 X 9 years) more or the total RM38,499 + RM14,206 = RM52,705. It’s like a paying tax on top of the tax. Overall the ‘real’ total amount upon loan settlement therefore RM38,499 + RM52,705 = RM91,204. Such a ‘special edition’ price eh?

And lots of other things you can spend or invest with that RM38,499.

So are you happy to lose 8 years of petrol expenses or RM52,705 double cheat tax-on-tax charges for things you should NOT pay at all? Lu pikirlah sendiri!!

That’s how ‘lucky’ we are here. Ripped off left and right for things you should NOT pay at first place. Heh, wanna extra airbags cost extra RM2K huh? With total hidden car price you should get almost FREE 20 airbags if you really need that much airbags lah.

And how much that extra two power windows on Saga? Get it FREE lah you FOOL!

• MoFaz on Jul 16, 2010 at 8:06 pm

Exora factory price is RM32K, after factor in the tax and profit for dealer, price is 76K.
      How many time need to explain ah? no tax in Arab! they produced 10million barrels of oil daily, Malaysia only 600,000 and only 3-400,000 exported.

camry is RM140k in thai but RM70-80k in Arab also.
      can you think for a while before rambling here?

can you be a pm and let us enjoy living here without tax?

• jl@ipl on Aug 31, 2010 at 10:22 am

Agree with you MoFaz.

Too many Malaysian unable to differentiate the tax structures. Every country had their own version. Market price depend on this, not just the good cost alone.

BTW, no way, I don’t clown as our PM, Malaysia sure bankrupt!

• rimbun on Jul 19, 2010 at 3:27 pm

nak kete murah dok la kat padang pasir arab sana tu..
      tak malu kerr? u are always blamming other people?
      actually show who you are?

but, thanks for sharing….

• danial on Jul 16, 2010 at 9:56 am

MC at least should include rear disk brake la.

• razee_hussin on Jul 16, 2010 at 10:04 am

DSZ,

I WONDER WHY THERE IS NO MANUAL FOR ANY H LINE MODEL LIKE PERSONA, EXORA? IS THIS SOMETHING TO DO WITH COST EFFECTIVE MATTER TO BE CONSIDERED?I BELIEVE A LOT PROTON FANS WOULD BE GLAD IF PROTON HAS A MANUAL H LINE SINCE H LINE HAS BETTER COSMETIC AND ACCESSORIES SUCH AS LEATHER SEATS, DVD MONITOR, CHROME EVERYWHERE, BETTER RIM, LEATHER STEERING WHEELS ETC.ETC…SO PLS PROTON PLEASE DENGAR SUARA RAKYAT…SUARA PENGGUNA..SUARA PEMINAT PROTON…RAMAI YANG NAK MANUAL H LINE FOR EXORA AND PERSONA SEBAB LEBIH CANTIK, SPORTY…TAPI TAKDE…SO WHAT TO DO?

• ammar on Jul 16, 2010 at 4:20 pm

please la bro .. do not use all capital laters, pening baca la … good to see, if have HLine manual

• anak dato'kk on Jul 16, 2010 at 5:15 pm

u mean manual transmission la?Ingatkan td buku manual…;-). Tulis bg clear la bro….

• Nakal on Jul 16, 2010 at 6:50 pm

Proton sell the car after done with market survey. Im not sure, but im expecting that the survey found the buyers considering H-Line with AT transmission is 95% of total buyers (MAYBE). So, to reduce production cost, proton produce only H-Line with AT transmission.

Your claimed that ‘Ramai orang nak H-Line with MT’ is actually, very small portion of total buyers for H-Line.

• nice facelift.. also the red colour..mengancam..
    the best down price mpv in malaysia all this year….
    someday it will my turn to have exora.. bravo proton..

• All this changed just cost us RM1000. For me it’s very acceptable.. good move Proton

• motberg on Jul 16, 2010 at 11:58 am

You can dress it up, make it sporty, add skirts, change the looks and more BUT what the Exora REALLY needs is a good engine. Wake up Proton!! The 1.6 Campro engine is the weakest link…

• Faisal on Jul 16, 2010 at 12:12 pm

luv the new interior color! can’t wait for the turbo version!

• nazrin on Jul 16, 2010 at 2:05 pm

very nice :) much2 better than the so-called LIMITED 25 unit exora…

• Lady CarCar on Jul 16, 2010 at 2:17 pm

MC, not Minor Change but more like mariah carey edition. haha. sexy red colour. cool !

• ampai on Jul 16, 2010 at 4:02 pm

hello proton’s guys,
    u alllll don’t talk n proud about your new version that u alll callll MC.

pls look back to the first version exora that faced a bunch of problem, i’m saying this cos i’m one among the exo owner n now facing that problemssssssss.
    first, as early as 3 – 4 months on the road it give me accon problem, they change twice a part called Thermostat.
    secondly ABS warning light appeared on dash board panel, send to SC. 3 – 4 times i’ve to bring in my exo for checking finally they said ABS sencor devices failure. it almost treeeee months ago till now no replacement parts?????????
    thirdly, few weeks ago Parking Brake Light appeared on dash board panel n now i’ve to face either like or not twoooooo warning lights appeared on dashboard panel during driving my exo.
    now i’m woundering n waiting what more kind of warning light will appear on the panel, something like a viruses attacking exo system…..
    COME ON …… PROTON GUYSSS WHAT R U DOING THERE…….

• scgtimk1 on Jul 19, 2010 at 1:52 pm

Brake warning like usually means your brake fluid in the reservoir is running low. This means either :

1. Your brake pad already worn. Thinner brake pads will lower the fluid in the reservoir. or
      2. There is a leak on the brake system.

Usually the former one is the norm.

I had the same problem with my swift at around 50,000km. replace the brake pad and problem solve.

relax la bro.

• Kapitan on Jul 19, 2010 at 3:50 pm

ye ke… dah takut dah nak tukar ke exora ni. apa lain yang tak ok bang… citer sikit…. takkan SC buat tak tau jer? kena panjang ke pihak atasan tuuu

• ampai on Jul 22, 2010 at 7:40 pm

pihak proton dah ambil beberapa tindakan keatas masalah yg dibangkitkan oleh pengguna awal exora,ia itu dgn mengarahkan vendor mempertingkatkan kualiti parts yg bermasalah. Ini bermakna kemungkinan exora batch yg baru telah dipasang dgn parts yang lebih berkualiti….

• temp0 on Jul 20, 2010 at 1:17 pm

been using Exora for 6 months already..
      no problem at all. some people just born unlucky….it’s not the car problem.

• ampai on Jul 22, 2010 at 7:33 pm

hello bro,

it’s not unlucky born, i’m exora club members, i know what’s all exora problems. u just wait until times come to your’s than u’ll suffer dealing with that problem. till now i’ve gone thru 3 problems and there’s more h’v been regtified by other members

• proton.me on Jul 16, 2010 at 8:11 pm

dunno wat to say anymore.. wat a tipikal malaysian.. if proton dun give anytime, they said proton was lousy.. when proton do some change, they said ah-beng shop more better.. WTF..???? hey st***d genius, if like that, buy the basic lah..!!! then go to ah-beng, ask him to do as your taste.. so , dont put your stupid comment say this and that.. go to ahbeng with your basic one, ask ahbeng to change.. haiyoo..

• waimak on Jul 16, 2010 at 11:55 pm

3 things I like in this Exora MC:
    1) New and fresh color
    2) Fron and rear skirt – minimal but big effect, well done, this is what I look for
    3) Darker interior, which runs away from Koreans..

2 Things I dont like:
    1) The floor mat, oh please change it for Proton sake
    2) Tag line is soo copycat

Proton, please be more serious this time. All the best !!

• Kapitan on Jul 19, 2010 at 3:52 pm

kalau belakang direndahkan dan bumbung dilengkung jadi curve sikit lagi ok kot, nampak pelik la tengok dari belakang

• waimak on Jul 17, 2010 at 12:03 am

Proton, for the “not-so-sure-how-many”th time, do not make a silly mistake like head lamp filled with water when it’s rain or broken door handle.. you should move and put more people to manage this..

• nazri on Jul 17, 2010 at 12:21 pm

wah same old stories play again and again.. u should make movie already

• SukaTgkOrg on Jul 17, 2010 at 7:22 am

Typical …..whenever Proton Launch something..all the same issues will be discussed over and over again.. dont believe me?… go read back other Proton related news..funny lah u people..

• lovely malaysia on Jul 17, 2010 at 11:19 pm

all are typical bro..not just the bashing,the support also is same..round and round it goes…:p

• zidane on Jul 17, 2010 at 8:13 am

kerajaan patut nye improve kualiti diesel yg dijual…at least standard euro4…so proton plk buat enjin exora version diesel turbocharge…telah diakui enjin diesel lebih mesra alam,lebih berkuasa terutama dari segi torque dan lebih efisien…xde lagi isu underpower & kuat makan minyak

• thats correct proton should look at todays standard. cvvt or turbo or TD
      with even current 5 cent increase people will think twice proton or toyota or nissan.
      expensive? these people will go for other brand although loan approval is just marginal.

average people dont just can afford to buy car but to drive arround.
      if fuel is heavy, they just might park the car at home. sad isnt it.

proton should accept this, dont blame people for their driving style. not always people are driving on the highway, no people driving at 90kmh. its everyday life. 19 to 20cent /km is normal mode driving a campro. 19cent is per/km is a prince engine 1.6 turbo. with 250 of torque at 2000rpm. go figure,,,,,well im comparing with prince engine is not fait. how about nissan 1.8 with 13cent on the highway.
      how about 1.6 nissan or 1.6 kia(forte) travelling 100kmh only at 2500rpm.
      all this numbers is within my own experince driving those car. i wll not include a 1.5 honda i vteh 3000rpm at 140kmh (feel heavy though with too tall gearing)

that a rough analysis
      IF proton with the same engine capability.
      its proton on the top in shopping list. I BET

• Wan Malaysia on Jul 18, 2010 at 8:28 am

Too plain…not than that

• Wan Malaysia on Jul 18, 2010 at 8:29 am

Too plain…not more than that

• To All Exora AT owner,

I heard from a friend, manual is still ok in term of power.
    But how is Auto because I plan to buy an Auto one.

Currently I am driving an ISWARA Auto. First 2 year, the power and pick up is still ok but now its pick up is all gone.

• Kapitan on Jul 19, 2010 at 3:56 pm

bro,

saya bukan pemilik, tapi semalam try kat kedai bawa tak jauh la, dengan salesman, saya bawa, isteri, anak sorang 3 tahun sorang setahun tanpa barang, agak lembap la… tak tau pemilik dia macam mana kalau kat long istance

• dan dan tu “semalam bawak exora”…

bro, pergi je kat showroom mintak je test drive satu..
        saya pakai Exo manual, tapi mase kat showroom test yang auto..

ok la… jgn risau..

• jl@ipl on Aug 20, 2010 at 12:13 pm

Guys,

I neither owner nor tested the Exora before. I got zero experience with Exora. However, I did own a wira aeroback 1.3. Base on what Paul’s test drive report and informations gathered from the internet, i conclude that, driving Exora AT very much the same with wira 1.3 a/b. On flat terrain, no problem, climbing uphill, different issue.

However, bare in mind, the exora was tested on the road to Genting Highland. No doubt it can climb up, but one must master the technique. Some says, floor the pedal and downshift. Please don’t quote me though. I could be wrong.

Maybe you can joint the exora owner club or spend time doing research on line.

Last time, people said gen2 auto very sluggish. My dear friend, a proton edar salesman said, its not about car, its about driving technique. Try driving the AT like the MT, i.e, start at ‘L’ , upshift accordingly, finally cruise at ‘D’.

just my 2 cent……….

• xvtec on Jul 23, 2010 at 1:45 pm

xcuse me
      please first understand the different between manual and auto gearbox in term of mechanical functions and gearing ratios.
      Jangan main ‘I heard’ jer. Go and test drive both then you will get the different and..
      hopefully some understanding of power delivery in relation to type of gearbox.
      BTW-i test drove both manual and auto and i found both are ok.

• bazet on Jul 18, 2010 at 12:33 pm

1.4 turbo please..

or 2.0D + Turbo + EUR 4 diesel quality

we should follow the european.

I’m actually eyeing E90 320D M Sport for my next car ( another 5 years,till the price around 70-80k )

• hotwheels on Jul 19, 2010 at 11:45 am

nice dark interior..more premium feel..

• Norman on Jul 19, 2010 at 9:12 pm

Dun like dun bash lar,You think every single Jap/Conti makes problem free ah?You get what you pay for.Even Lexus 460 also got problems then why no noise?The Jap bribe you money eh?Relax lah bro this forum for discussion not speculate without concrete evidence.

• i love proton exora tetapi.... on Jul 21, 2010 at 2:42 am

1. masukkan enjin lebih power (aku dah try-berat siot)
    2. body , look, dah ok boleh terima, tambahla sunroof ..
    3. enjin kasi power sikit la..
    4. kalau naik 7 edult .. tunggu line clear baru boleh potong lori…
    5. enjin 1.8/2.0 please!!!
    6. eocm memang gempak , rasa macam nak join…tapi aku takut menang membeli alah memakai….

sekian dan maaf kan aku !!! komen ikhlas yg memang ikhlas !!
    kepada yg dah pakai exora, kalau kita tanya balik adakah mereka berpuas hati dengan enjin 1.6 cps,..? mungkin ramai yg tak puas hati,…harap proton percepatkan keluaran enjin lebih power!!
    (memang la diorang kata puas hati sebab dah terbeli… tapi jauh disudut hati mereka … Tuhan saja yang tahu ))) :))

• Juragan Ketam on Jul 22, 2010 at 11:10 am

kalau harga untuk 1.8 mahal sangat, kuar 1.7 ler pun dah cukup….kan kan…? Ada ker 1.7? ehehe

• xvtec on Jul 23, 2010 at 1:29 pm

kalu dah takut menang membeli alah memakai….tak payah ler beli Exora( wlpun ko suka Exora). Go get other non-proton MPV that satisfy your ‘WANTs’..Maybe masa tu ko memang MENANG membeli tp tak MAMPU nak bayar.

• aku noob on Jul 24, 2010 at 3:35 pm

1.6 cps pon dah rm60k lebih….kalo 1.8 or 2.0 or turbo….mesti la paling murah pon rm70-80k….saper yg sanggup beli mahal mcm tu….proton is about affordable…bukan utk gi racing….dah nama pon mpv…

• xvtec on Jul 26, 2010 at 7:36 pm

well…some people tend to use those premium priced mpvs as their benchmark so no surprise if they expect the exora can perform the same…

• pesaraPro on Aug 24, 2010 at 1:06 pm

setuju sangat2..

• pesaraPro on Sep 21, 2010 at 4:04 pm

setuju sangat bro…pikir-pikirkanlah..

• Juragan Ketam on Jul 21, 2010 at 1:57 pm

Kalau ler exora keluar tuil signal sebelah kanan, in future i will sure buy one!…
    proton please take note this…

Tuil signal sebelah kanan sesuai dengan stereng panduan sebelah kanan.

• jl@ipl on Aug 31, 2010 at 10:34 am

Hek eleh,

Tuil signal pun jadik isu ka?

FYI, siang aku drive gen2, mlm aku drive iswara. Tak dak masalah pun! Bini aku pun ok je! Tersasul sesekali tu biasala, tak rugi kat mana pun………..

Proton, maintain je tuil signal ngan wiper tu, unik ape! Aku suka dgn kedudukan tuil2 tu, dkt dgn jari, sesuai sgt dgn org asia yg jari pendek cam aku. Senang je nk operate, tgn tak yah gerak banyak2, masih boleh gengam steering kemas2.

• xvtec on Jul 21, 2010 at 2:23 pm

well done….

• nukie on Jul 21, 2010 at 7:58 pm

This new Exo MC really makes me itchy to upgrade my MyVi. Been waiting for this exo prime style bodykit for a while. Only the engine makes me hesitate. Test drove one.. and yeah feels quit lethargic la..What to do, have to wait 1 year lor for the turbo version hu hu..

• xvtec on Jul 22, 2010 at 6:35 pm

it tickle me reading all the comments esp the negative comments about Exora. Well i test drove one H-line Exora. ..it is in fact ‘DECENT’ in almost aspects-feel,design,equipment and much-talked engine. It is NOT at all a BAD proposition by Proton against its rivals which mostly priced below RM100k. After all buying an MPV is all about need,affordability,comfort and style. And…for some out there..in any new car made there will always be pluses and minuses because everyone of us is not the same.

• dickybird on Jul 23, 2010 at 11:00 am

well said! i disagree about the engine part though, maybe next time you bring your whole for the test drive especially when buying a ppl carrier like this.

• xvtec on Jul 28, 2010 at 2:55 pm

hahaha
        well I took my whole family(5 adults 3 kids) to Gambang last weekend. And I have no complaint about my Exora…satisfying drive go and back.

• MC Hammer on Jul 23, 2010 at 2:42 pm

Jangan asyik break down dah le…maklumlah kan…MC!

• Avanza,Livina and Alza below 100k with good qualities :) Exo?

• Accord on Aug 13, 2010 at 2:57 pm

At least Exora got 4 Star NCAP crash test. Since when AVanza & Alza have better quality than Exora??? DiD you know that after 4- 5 years the auto gear box of AVanza will be broken…and need to be replace. maybe Alza will face the same problem…
      Is that what you means BETTER quality? A frend of mine also got problem with his auto gearbox of Toyata Harrier. He spend RM 12k to rectify the problem. So, what you gonna said about that?>??

• ni pendapat aku jelah, proton dah buat research yang exo yg ada sekarang target market dia untuk orang yg budget sederhana, so sume kena amik kira, enjin capacity(due to roadtax), tyre( the bigger the tyre, the expensive they will be, and the tyre rolling resistance must mach with the power output of the engine so that it will not drone the power to much and of course fc), in the same time, even it is a budget mpv, proton try it best to give generous equipment to its owner. the engine is not powerful, but it decent enough. yeah, i know torque is important for a carrier, but also the horse power. normally car manufacturer emphasize on power to weight ratio, thats why when u calculate the power to weight ratio of exora, it is the same as kia rondo, innova and alza. but if u put the passenger weight into account, exora power to weight ratio is better than alza. but dun worry, in the near future, the CPS will be replace with iafm+ and new gearbox combo as it is its future drive terrain for the budget segment but if u have the patience to wait for it

if u want 1.8 or 2.0, u shud wait for exora turbo, it will be different segment than the current exora(that is budget segment), now the turbo is the same segment as wish and stream( mid-lux mpv), so the price also will jump up to 80-90k if i not mistaken.

• Tengokaje.. on Jul 26, 2010 at 5:09 pm

Do agree with you. The engineer and the people in P1 had done research so they came up with this MPV and try to meet the needs and demand from Malaysian.

Salam…

• putra_exora on Jul 28, 2010 at 6:36 pm

i think what proton do is to get recognition and confident from the people fisrt, that they can build mpv. And what they do is the best decision by start the price low, so all rakyat can buy,use and judge it..After several years,when the economy is better,and maybe the demand for higher spec come along, it wil be a luxury exora or at least 1.8 version.

if proton produce the highest spec the first time, maybe people afraid to buy with confident or people will say “Proton jual mahal/why so expensive?” or xmesra rakyat whatsoever…

anyway, i bought 1..do u?

• xvtec on Jul 30, 2010 at 1:16 am

Any car maker would have to study market needs before putting any of its models into the market. Understand the target market’s needs is crucial when the playing field is getting competitive otherwise the investment into new model development is pointless. Having said that, Proton needs sustainable ‘volume’ to justify placing any model into the market and that is what it is doing. Proton cant afford to have a ‘niche’ model to cater for a ‘niche’ market due unsustainable ‘volume’ unless there is a well defined specific demand for such a ‘niche’ model. Of course then the pricing will be segmented and the ‘proton bashing game’ will continue….

• yushayati on Aug 04, 2010 at 11:45 pm

why new exora doesn’t have sun roof?

• Sambal Belacan on Aug 08, 2010 at 10:46 pm

why new exora need to have sun roof? Sun roof is definately not a “Must” spec in Malaysia. We are willing to spend hundred and thousand putting the Solar guard or v-cool in order to reduce the damage our mighty sun could done to us. What on earth people want to have sun roof on their car in Malaysia?Are u dumb or something?

• mr IT on Aug 09, 2010 at 12:30 pm

aku dah test drive exora HL dan aku dapati kereta ni lebih power dari iswara 1.3 manual aku yg standed tu. Pelik jugak meka yg cakap keta ni underpower. Power aper.

• Sambal Belacan on Aug 09, 2010 at 10:59 pm

Exora Turbo yang aku anggarkan datang dengan spec berikut:1600c.c Campro low-blow turbo engine,165hp/6000rpm dan 22.5kgm/1800-3500rpm, Mitsubishi Invect ii CVT gearbox with 6 virtual gear,16 inch alloy wheel,Fc slighly 5% higher than non turbo Exora with extra 65 kg compared to the previous Exora. 0 to 96km/h in 11.5 second. Top-speed is 185km/h.Lain spec lebih kurang sama dengan Exora H-line. Price start at RM 88,998.Come with 3 year /100000kmwarranty. No 3+2 year warranty compare to Exora biasa.

• Too much praise for something this ugly,malaysian are stuck with no choice,with the kind of money u can buy a stream awd in japan.
    exora is quite a drinker,13 litre per 100 km in urban driving is a bit too much,as usual,new trims,color,tht was the most proton r&d can do,trust me,we be better off if proton is dead,no more protection,cars will be cheaper

• Sambal Belacan on Aug 11, 2010 at 10:53 pm

Tidak akan ada tamadun manusia jikalau bukan wujudnya segelintir manusia yang suka berangan. Satu faktor yang membezakan manusia dengan binatang ialah manusia ada akal, boleh berfikir dan berangan. Masa Tun Dr Mahathir cadangkan bikin kereta nasional, ramai negara jiran yang ketawakan beliau, cakap beliau suka berangan, tetapi lihatlah skr, Malaysia adalah satu-satunya negara yang berupaya mengeluarkan Kereta Nasional di ASEAN. Ramai yang kutuk P1 ni cap ayam, krt low quality, tetapi kita harus ingat, P1 masih mudah,baru umur 25,Janganlah bandingkan P1 dengan T,H,N atau krt continetal yang berumur berkali-ganda dan jauh berpengalaman.

• Hisyam on Aug 12, 2010 at 5:37 pm

love proton,

• just look at hyundai,seat and skoda,look at the chinese,they started their auto industries in about the same time we started proton,look at their achievement and look at ours? we are pale by comparison.why does this happen? because beside the noble idea of our beloved Tun mahathir in building national car,The real culprit is no other than the suuplier,be it bumis or not,who has been supplying sub standard materials.and we re the one who ended up in the losing end.so please be more rational in your support for this so called national pride,my uncle bought an exora,and he has been having problems with his drum brakes,and u guess what the proton service personnael said?proton has not come out with the solution to this problem.encik guna dulu k,bila brake bunyi kuat,tak per asal brek makan.what a national disgrace

• get ur fact right la bro, when in the world hyundai, seat, skoda and even chinese start building cars the same as proton???aiyo, lu datang dari bulan or planet marikh or baru bangun tido nih…ada gak org malaysia yg mcm ni

• did u read it right?i did mention the chinese…..or simply u speak no english wakakakaka!!!!!

• you did mention the chinese la bro….can see clearly from your comment yet still u want to deny ka…

• yup, i read it, u mentioned hyundai, seat n skoda n also chinese…dont belittle of me,brother, I am a TESL degree holder bro, what about u???do u speak english or what???wakawakawaka…not only that, im also a degree holder, in accounting, with honours of course…dont talk crap if u cant pronounce according to IPA…ha..ha..

• let me drop some info to open ur eyes(or eye if u have only one), this info i just copy n paste from carhistory.com

History of Chinese Motor Car / Automobile Manufacturers

8.3 China

8.3.1. First Automobile Works (FAW)

o
      The First Automobile Works produced their first car, the Hongqi CA770, in 1958. It is considered the first car to be manufactured in China.
      The 5700cc, 220 hp car had a V8 engine and was fitted with a 2 speed automatic gear box.
      It was first shown to the public during the 10th National Day parade held in Tian’anmen Square, Beijing, in October 1958. For how long was the CA770 model produced and how many were made?
      Other Hongqi CA models produced include the CA71, 72, 772, 760, 7080, 7220 and, until 1998, the 7560 model. Information on these models required.
      The First Automobile Works was built between 1953 and 1956 with assistance from the Russian ZIS/ZIL company (see Part 2, The Last 100 Years, Section 8.12.2). It initially produced a medium sized truck based on the ZIS 150 model.
      Tianjin Xiali, a subsidiary of FAW, produced the Xiali model range, cars based on the 1987 Daihatsu Charade. These cars include the TJ7100 hatchback and the TJ7101U sedan. Information required. Dates produced, how many, etc.
      Tianjin Xiali have produced an electric version of the Daihatsu Move called the Miles ZX40. In 2006 it became the first Chinese built car to be sold in the USA. Information on this car required.
      FAW has entered into joint venture manufacturing agreements with Toyota (to produce the Prius/Platz/Vitz); Volkswagen (Jetta/Bora/Sagitar) and Audi (A4/A6L). When were these 3 agreements signed?
      First Automotive Works Audi 100
      By 2004 the company had produced its one millionth car.

8.3.2. Shanghai Automotive Industry

Shanghai Automotive produced their first car in September 1958.
      The car was called the ‘Feng Huang’ (The Phoenix) and is believed to have been fitted with either a V8, 150 hp or 2300cc, 4-cylinder, 78 hp, engine. Which is correct? Both?
      In 1964 the name was changed from ‘Phoenix’ to Shanghai SH760.
      A 760A version was launched in 1968, followed by the 760B version in 1974.
      By the time production of the SH760 series ceased, in November 1991, a total of 79,526 cars had been produced. Confirmation of this data required.
      In the mid 1980’s (when exactly?) the company formed a joint venture with Volkswagen and started production of the ‘Santana’ (Passat), a mid sized/compact car.

8.3.3. Beijing Automotive Industry
      A car called the Beijing BJ750 is believed to have been first produced in 1978. Information required. Dates produced, how many, etc.
      The Beijing Automotive Industry Holding Corporation, in partnership with the Beijing Jeep Corporation, signed China’s first automotive joint venture in May 1983 with the American Motor Corporation.
      The original 30-year joint venture was renewed it with Daimler Chrysler in 2003.
      Between 1984 and 2005 the joint venture produced the four-door Jeep Cherokee (XJ) SUV. How many were produced?
      Note: AMC was purchased by Chrysler in 1987; who in turn were purchased by Daimler in 2003.

o
      In early 2006 a new joint venture company called Beijing-Benz DaimlerChrysler Automotive (BBDC) started producing Mercedes-Benz E and C class cars. Did this new JV also continue producing the Jeep Cherokee – if so for how long?

8.3.4. Nanjing Automobile Group

o
      The Nanjing Automobile Corporation was originally established in 1947 as a repair facility for the East China Field Army.

o
      In 1996 (check exact date) a joint venture called the Nanjing Fiat Company was formed to produce saloon cars. What models, how many, etc? Were these the first cars ever produced by the Nanjing Corporation/Group?

o
      In July 2005 Nanjing Automobile acquired the remaining assets of the MG Rover Group.

THE CHINESE ALREADY PRODUCED THEIR CARS BEFORE WE HAD OUR INDEPENDANCE (OR MERDEKA IF U DONT UNDERSTAND) THEY STARTED AS EARLY AS 1900 N EVEN NANJING WAS ESTABLISHED IN 1947

DO I MADE U LOOK STUPID :-)????

• let me drop some info to open ur eyes(or eye if u have only one), this info i just copy n paste from carhistory.com

History of Chinese Motor Car / Automobile Manufacturers

8.3 China

8.3.1. First Automobile Works (FAW)

o
        The First Automobile Works produced their first car, the Hongqi CA770, in 1958. It is considered the first car to be manufactured in China.
        The 5700cc, 220 hp car had a V8 engine and was fitted with a 2 speed automatic gear box.
        It was first shown to the public during the 10th National Day parade held in Tian’anmen Square, Beijing, in October 1958. For how long was the CA770 model produced and how many were made?
        Other Hongqi CA models produced include the CA71, 72, 772, 760, 7080, 7220 and, until 1998, the 7560 model. Information on these models required.
        The First Automobile Works was built between 1953 and 1956 with assistance from the Russian ZIS/ZIL company (see Part 2, The Last 100 Years, Section 8.12.2). It initially produced a medium sized truck based on the ZIS 150 model.
        Tianjin Xiali, a subsidiary of FAW, produced the Xiali model range, cars based on the 1987 Daihatsu Charade. These cars include the TJ7100 hatchback and the TJ7101U sedan. Information required. Dates produced, how many, etc.
        Tianjin Xiali have produced an electric version of the Daihatsu Move called the Miles ZX40. In 2006 it became the first Chinese built car to be sold in the USA. Information on this car required.
        FAW has entered into joint venture manufacturing agreements with Toyota (to produce the Prius/Platz/Vitz); Volkswagen (Jetta/Bora/Sagitar) and Audi (A4/A6L). When were these 3 agreements signed?
        First Automotive Works Audi 100
        By 2004 the company had produced its one millionth car.

8.3.2. Shanghai Automotive Industry

Shanghai Automotive produced their first car in September 1958.
        The car was called the ‘Feng Huang’ (The Phoenix) and is believed to have been fitted with either a V8, 150 hp or 2300cc, 4-cylinder, 78 hp, engine. Which is correct? Both?
        In 1964 the name was changed from ‘Phoenix’ to Shanghai SH760.
        A 760A version was launched in 1968, followed by the 760B version in 1974.
        By the time production of the SH760 series ceased, in November 1991, a total of 79,526 cars had been produced. Confirmation of this data required.
        In the mid 1980’s (when exactly?) the company formed a joint venture with Volkswagen and started production of the ‘Santana’ (Passat), a mid sized/compact car.

8.3.3. Beijing Automotive Industry
        A car called the Beijing BJ750 is believed to have been first produced in 1978. Information required. Dates produced, how many, etc.
        The Beijing Automotive Industry Holding Corporation, in partnership with the Beijing Jeep Corporation, signed China’s first automotive joint venture in May 1983 with the American Motor Corporation.
        The original 30-year joint venture was renewed it with Daimler Chrysler in 2003.
        Between 1984 and 2005 the joint venture produced the four-door Jeep Cherokee (XJ) SUV. How many were produced?
        Note: AMC was purchased by Chrysler in 1987; who in turn were purchased by Daimler in 2003.

o
        In early 2006 a new joint venture company called Beijing-Benz DaimlerChrysler Automotive (BBDC) started producing Mercedes-Benz E and C class cars. Did this new JV also continue producing the Jeep Cherokee – if so for how long?

8.3.4. Nanjing Automobile Group

o
        The Nanjing Automobile Corporation was originally established in 1947 as a repair facility for the East China Field Army.

o
        In 1996 (check exact date) a joint venture called the Nanjing Fiat Company was formed to produce saloon cars. What models, how many, etc? Were these the first cars ever produced by the Nanjing Corporation/Group?

o
        In July 2005 Nanjing Automobile acquired the remaining assets of the MG Rover Group.

THE CHINESE ALREADY PRODUCED THEIR CARS BEFORE WE HAD OUR INDEPENDANCE (OR MERDEKA IF U DONT UNDERSTAND) THEY STARTED AS EARLY AS 1900 N EVEN NANJING WAS ESTABLISHED IN 1947

DO I MAKE U LOOK STUPID :-)????

• Well,so much so of bragging of yr TESL and degree ,i can bet now that u must be working for proton,such a lame argument for a product this rubbish.at least the chine could come out with a better engine,a better power to weight ratio.i have driven exora,let me tell u,u probably be stuck behind a lorry at karak, xder power nak motong la bro,so stop la all this pathetic patriotism support for proton,we have given them 25 years to prove themselves,still the same old thing kan

• dah la dino, kalau tak nak support proton tak payah susah susah baca artikel pasal proton dan tak payah la komen pasal proton..

• it was u who bragging about whether i can read english or not, thats why i tell u that no need to belittle somebody else if u dunno who is he, why i am harsh to u because u started it first, u talking things without facts. u did mention that CHINA started the same time as ours, so meaning that u r the person who talk without facts.

U mentioned about POWER TO WEIGHT RATIO, that why i said, how stupid u r talking about POWER TO WEIGHT RATIO. eastar power to weight ratio using old mitsu engine 127hp/1635kg = 78hp pertonne, using the new acteco 134hp/1635 = 82 hp pertonne. Exora H-line 125hp/1442kg = 87hp pertonne.

so eastar power to weight ratio is 78hp & 82hp pertonne while exora is 87hp pertonne. So, is it me who stupid or u??? a lot of my friends use exora, no problem potong lori, even can overtake anycar on the road. whats the problem, even highway speed is 110kmh, so dont see any problem for exora.

if u just driving 1.6na car and below, dont dare to cucuk angin or play2 with exora manual, manalah atau, takut yang sebaliknya berlaku. dont believe me, ask them to drag with u head to head.

so Dino, is it me pathetic or u r. its not about patriotism, its about knowledge and wisdom. I never insult even cherry eastar because for me every car has its own strength and weakness, so even cherry produce a good mpv.but me not like u because i cakap guna knowledge n blaja.so, dalam bahasa kasarnya, cakap guna kepala otak, bukan kepala lutut.

• aremere on Aug 17, 2010 at 7:58 am

the rime of tyres like an innova 2.0 e rimes??????

• JerryTan on Aug 21, 2010 at 1:48 pm

new Exora is nice inside out….. but 75% excise tax makes it not worth it.

• 70k~76k AT buy a Proton =.=’ just OMG!if 30k ok lah~~~

• and urself doesnt have value even 1 cent at all. even free, nobody care to buy u mr I

• Mat,that goes without saying how pathetic proton sympathizer could be.low torque with 125 bhp to lug a 1.4 ton masses is beyond norms of the industry.that just shows the kind of achievement that proton so much hu ha about..this is a slow moving bread van that will be a nuisance to other road users.so many of this slow moving van this balik kg rush and i t will be alot of tension if u end up behind one and even worst like en mat and his so called friends.MY ADVICE is that start early,naik bukit jgn push,niar dia merangkak mcm snails k.huhuhuhuhuhuhu geta proper one la if nak beli mpv

• now u change the subject, previously u said power to weight ratio, now talking about torque. why do u said beyond norms???do u know that a lot of mpv out there use 1.6 litter engine and even 1.3. no need to name, search for urself. yes, it has 150nm, but do u know that the gear ratio can cater the lack of torque? it doesnt use the same final drive as gen2 cps or waja cps. it used lower final drive. lower final drive will provide better pickup but in expense of top speed.

name it kia, toyota, hyundai, suzuki n many more, they all have 1.6 litter mpv, with nearly identical weight but less in power n torque.

engine is not only about torque but also power. r u sure merangkak macam snails, my friends exo dont have any problem climb genting sempah, can even overtake other cars.

all ur talks are using kepala lutut, thats why u always change subject. every time u talk, it shows ur stupidity. everytime try to provide facts, every time wrong becoz u didnt provide facts, but bullshit. nuffsaid

• skil2u on Sep 01, 2010 at 10:31 pm

Saya sokong Mat. Hidup Mat, Hidup Proton. Kalau Dino dah tak suka tak payah sibuk2 nak tulis komen artikel kat sini. Sebenarnya dia tak mampu nak beli walau mpv second hand pun. Kapcai cabuk je……

• mat mat mat,keep denying,typical proton supporter in the mind of their own.
    hmmmmmm
    DENIAL SYNDROME. THIS EXORA IS UNDERPOWERED AND SLUGGISH. A BIG YAWN FOR IT TO REACH THE CENTURY SPRINT,THE ENGINE SOUNDS LIKE FISHING BOAT AND LACKS REFINEMENT,ONLY KEPALA LUTUT GUYS LIKE YOU WOULS WANT TO SPEND 70K FOR THIS BAS SEKOLAH

• haha..dino2. apela bebal sgt ko nih. ko ni buat2 bodoh ke memang bodoh?. kalau bodoh boleh belajar. belakang parang kalau diasah, masih boleh tajam.

• its not me in denial syndrome, it is YOU Mr/Miss Dino. You give Bullshit facts about china auto history, I give u the real facts about china auto history, u still DENY it. You give Bullshit facts about eastar Power to weight ratio, I give u the real facts about it, U still DENY it, U give Bullshit facts about torque, I give u the real facts, U still DENY it, so it is U/YOU OR AWAK/KAMU that have denial syndrome.

have u listen how fishing boat sound like???dont make a comparison if u never listen to one. I welcome u to come to tanjung lumpur to hear the real sound of motorboat and exora, is it the same???so another craps facts by YOU.

Have u ever listen to bmw price engine sound in PUG or even merc engine or bimmer engine sound??? Dont give uneducated facts, go back to kindergarden, learn the alphabets back, bro, or shud I call u Sis :-)

I never said exora engine is the best, but it is not as bad as what u said. So, please go to the hospital to check whether ur brain in ur head, or ur kepala lutut ok.

• pomen_gtr on Sep 02, 2010 at 10:01 am

dino dino dino…

keep bashing…

see this avanza 1.5 priced rm74k>> http://paultan.org/2006/10/04/toyota-avanza-15-announced/

i repeat..1.5liter with less torque and less power….

less equipped..less handling like lori tanah…less space inside

only bashers like u bash like there’s no tomorrow…betul2 otak letak dkt kepala lutut…tak guna fakta….even tough i’m not really a true proton fan…still…don’t deny what’s true and what’s wrong….

several hiccups is everyone affair…not only proton…go search peugeot forum and tell me were they run trouble free???go find merc forum….tell me that their car was perfect?even toyota dugong also got troubles…..

yes i not really satisfied with exora…but if u compare it currently with similiar money game….it was the best….i’ve test drive every single mpv or so called mpv wannabe within the price range….still i would give exora higher overall score than others….

u want a perfect car then go make your own…and after finish the production then let me test it….u can cut my finger if i don’t have anything to complaint about your dream ride…

• i have been on a fishing boat lah che mat,the sounds is identical, sounds like DOH DOH DOH DOH,because only bodohan like en mat and other exora supporter would still think this bread van is is a good buy.
    be prepared for a slow and sluggish ride this balik kg rush k,its everywhere crawling up karak or east west highway and PRESERVED THINKING,START EARLY AND TAKE PANADOL AS U WILL BE CURSING IT AS IT WILL MAKE OTHER MOTORIST CURSE AT U FOR BEING A REAL SLOW HUHUHUHU

• pomen_gtr on Sep 03, 2010 at 9:30 am

i think u should start take back your mental-illnes medication pills…

because u’ll die in horrible accident when try to overtake those slow bread van doing 160++ using your “van mayat” so called MPV…..

• dino says:
    2/9/2010 at 12:54 am

agree :)

Trust me Grand Livina is the best MPV!i mean if compared with Exora,Alza and Avanza!

• Proton – what can i say?1 years old car but feel like 10 years old car!

• anak dato'kk on Sep 04, 2010 at 6:25 am

Rasanya tak perlu layan budak dino ni. Lg dilayan lg makin gila jadinya dia. Maklumlah, sales dah teruk agaknya, cari salah org lain aje utk tutup kelemahan diri sendiri. Tak tau la apa masalah dia sampai mcm tu skali nak buruk2kan proton. Takde bende yg perfect kalau dah namanya buatan manusia.Itulah hakikat yg patut kita terima. Kalau rasa berbaloi boleh beli, kalau rasa hampeh beli MPV lain, jgn nak tunjuk lagak kat sini. hmmm…….

• Gonzales on Sep 05, 2010 at 10:07 am

Just can’t wait to see this with turbo engine…gerenti best punya

• GetShorty on Sep 05, 2010 at 10:37 pm

Someone said this site was filled with Proton sympathisers.

Actually it is not Proton sympathisers who are writing it … it is Proton’s own staff :-)

• pomen_gtr on Sep 06, 2010 at 10:35 am

who works for proton??i don’t think most of ppl who comments here also…

i’m using japs car but still….for me exora still have its own special and advantage…..

• Saifulz on Sep 07, 2010 at 10:51 pm

I also did’nt work 4 proton..but i’m really proud of proton.. Proton had changed a lot than before..i’m really sure, one day proton will have name like honda..when people hear proton name, they will hear like they hear honda name now.. for me, exora is the best product from proton..

• I have patiently read from the 1st comment the last.

My comments are:

1) I would like to see the proton put variants in the engine line (1.6, 1.8). Let customer choose their engine as for their budget. In addition, the concept can be shared with others car like Gen2, satria Neo and Persona.

2) For those who are bashing Proton like crazy, here’s my simple statement: It’s my money. Suka hati aku la nk beli kete apa pon… ( i’m not Exora owner but i’m really proud of it)

• ex-proton driver on Nov 28, 2011 at 11:11 am

i was a proton driver…. but not anymore..
      why? because proton cars really do suck. just ask any proton driver/owner why they bought the car? because of price.

does the car give you problems.. yes. but its ok because i got it cheap-er than rest of competitors.

i’m not bashing proton… i’ve supported proton TWICE in my life… its my hard earned money too!!!

first a wira second a savvy….

if now i just think back…. i should have just saved up abit more and not buy my second proton ( the savvy) and get something else…. it will be cheaper in the long term.. especially when my loan is 7-9 years.

• lie santos on Sep 15, 2010 at 3:59 pm

i like ezora… i want new spec engine ezora.pls.sent.tq.

• gerekjer on Sep 16, 2010 at 8:40 pm

ada kereta tayar bocor dekat wad giler, tengah tukar tayar, nut jatuh dalam longkang, tengah dok fikir, org giler sound, hey bodoh, ambik nut tiap2 satu tu letak kat tayar tu. marah la pemilik kereta tu, tapi sebab betul, dia pun buat. sebelum beredar, dia sound pulak kat org gile tuh, kalau ko pandai kenapa dok kat wad ni. org gila jawab aku gile je, tapi tak bodoh, ko tu tak giler tapi bodoh.

kepada yang betul2 nak kongsi maklumat/pandangan baguslah, jgn layan org gila tuh, sebab nanti kita marah sebab kata kita bodoh. sebab layan dia takde faedahnya, kita jadi betul2 bodoh dan mungkin gila. biarlah dia sorang2 menyalak gunung…. begong sorang.

• Faisal on Sep 17, 2010 at 10:35 am

prefer manual H-Line :)

• selamat hari raya and maaf zahir batin to all proton staunch supporters out there.
    how was your balik kg rush guys??? how frustrating it might be once u r stuck behind a lorry on an incline road???worst still if u r driving an exora,engine rpm should shoot past 4000 rpm just to get a descent move going uphill,so painfully slow and poor proton will be cursing as well if they were stuck behind this leviathan van huhuhuhuhu,merayap siottttt
    berat giler siotttt,after 2 years,top overhaul lah nampak gayerr huhuhuhu,alah membeli alah memakai!!!!

• seen lots of it during balik kg rush huhuhuhuhu
    painfully slow hogging the highway,maybe we should implemented a super skow lane for this leviathan bread van.hahahahahahahaha

• you should be dreaming a lot and desperate enough to bash exora until you saw lorries like exoras, pity you, after this exora come with turbo-charged , make sure you you don’t throw the false and stupid comments like that again or others will call you crazy (oh you already bash like crazy)

• turbo charge exora in the making huhuhuhu,and pls tell me how reliable can tht be?where did proton get the expertise to build one???? even with the present cps tht already sounds like a motorboat i bet the next one will sound like a lawn mower,guys care to park this bread van in yr driveway????? not me,only those blind supporter would want one,get a stream,a wish or even a rondo.it will be a better drive,PENNY WISE,POUND FOOLISH.

• Accord on Sep 27, 2010 at 2:09 pm

So what your problem??
      Go get your Rondo.. Dont cry if you dont have money to do maintenance the Korean car.. Not everybody like your wife or girlfrend.. everybody have their own interest & taste.. Its up to u.. No need to influent people here. they educated enough.. Maybe more educated than u… or at least more ethics than u..

• hahaha it seems you have no ideas already, trying to think hard with your big head but tiny brain to come up with other things to bash but ended up rebashing all the things you have come up with before, lol

• proton is not my favourite car n it is not in my purchasing list. but that doesn’t give me a license to bombard the cars’ owners. yes i do agreed that there are some positive and negative aspects about the vehicles but hey it is man made not Heaven made. so to dino, if u are so great and don’t feel to pay a little respect to the car then it is ok with me but pls honour the driver as they are also human..do select and choose appropriate words before u utter them since we are matured enough to discuss any topic professionally.

• dino omar on Oct 05, 2010 at 8:18 pm

i guess those supporters are cotton head,go slow,go exora.soon to be geng bas sekolah in astro huhuhuhu

• Org macam Dino ni lah yang merosakan bangsa & negara
      klw zaman Hang Tuah dah kena pancung dah nih.

• exora will be in turbo version?
      can’t help but seeing it moving so fast on roads despite its size and cc
      dun know how the turbo version would be….

• tomie on Oct 26, 2010 at 10:49 pm

nice cars and great local machines comes from proton…
    cant wait to see more versions of it.
    dun wori people out there..what ever comments ur giving, still cars will be cars.
    just think of this : IF A FACTORY OR COMPANY MAKE CARS THAT CANT BE BROKEN, BREAKDOWN, SCRATCH, CRACK, ETC (WHAT EVER PROBLEMS), WHAT WILL HAPPEN TO THE WORLD? THINK ABOUT THE MECHANIC, WORKSHOPS, DESIGNERS AND WHOEVER SO…
    any brands any type of car is the same, they run on wheels!

• ex-proton driver on Nov 28, 2011 at 11:13 am

ya but proton cars tend to break down more than other cars……
      i have first hand experience with TWO proton cars… yes personal experience. DO YOU?

• enjin kahwin on Oct 29, 2010 at 12:08 pm

WAITING for EXORA HYBRID….???
    THINKING How much it cost…..???

• I am planning to buy a 7 seater for family use. I am ok with proton Exora, but still very worry about the power of the car.

As an engineer by profession, I don’t mind brand name and prefer to evaluate in term of technical. Mainly safety concern, overtaking in highway, going uphill and crossing busy street in KL heavy traffic, power of the car become crucial in ensuring safety. No doubt car is a car, but when talking about the 6 of my love one in a car, it is not just about car is a car !

That is the reason that I am still hesitating…Appreciate if the present Exora owner can provide some good advice.

Thanks

• danielhashim on Nov 29, 2010 at 5:38 pm

my uncle bought one,the first thing that he did was to change the standard oem spark plugs to ngk iridium,using syintium 10 w 40,and the mpv flies.it can reach 160km per hour all too easy.

• enthusiastic on Dec 15, 2010 at 2:24 am

already test drive mc edition, felt superb… maybe not better than toyota wish or so, but again, for the price its being offered, its surely one of the best mpv available… the comfort, noise level, handling, speed (able to accelerate really fast after 50~60km/j, thanks to campro tech)…

only one thing, the initial pickup seems a little bit… slow, but who cares bout it, it’s already compensated by all the other means (comfort etc)… thinkin’ of gettin’ one for myself too ;)

• Steven on Dec 17, 2010 at 11:33 am

Hi to all here, am wanting to place order on this new version of exora but when I heard the announcement of the turbocharged engine coming out by early 2011, I held back. Questions? When? Any difference with the current new version? Prices, features, cosmetic, etc? Tks in advance for your feedbacks

• In somewhere, I noted the selling points of proton exora is space and comfort….I think it is basic for an MPV. Many people start to forget the importance of SAFETY FIRST and RELIABILITY!

In KL, I believe many will feel how frustrated it is if we have to spend time to send our car for repair as we need to busily work for living.

In term of safety, many had also forgotten that it is crucial for the car able to react sensitively in speed when driving in KL’s heavy traffic! In that sense, a car’s power is important in term of safety too.

I am also waiting for the turbo version. Thanks for proton to provide us an affordable MPV especially for people like me who take fix salry every month, but I would not sacrifice my family member’s safety for budget and do not want to have difficult baby to take care due to it’s reliability. I may over worried, hopes to have more feedback from present owner who had used the car for some times. Thanks.

• In somewhere, I noted the selling points of proton exora is space and comfort….I think it is basic for an MPV. Many people start to forget the importance of SAFETY FIRST and RELIABILITY! In KL, I believe many will feel how frustrated it is if we have to spend time to send our car for repair as we need to busily work for living. In term of safety, many had also forgotten that it is crucial for the car able to react sensitively in speed when driving in KL’s heavy traffic! In that sense, a car’s power is important in term of safety too.

I am also waiting for the turbo version. Thanks for proton to provide us an affordable MPV, but I would not sacrifice my family member’s safety for budget. I may over worried, hopes to have more feedback from present owner

• Faisal on Jun 22, 2011 at 2:25 pm

still waiting for the turbo or hybrid version.. faster la proton!!

• Will be interesting if Paultan can restore the photos for this posts.

Like they did with the “Proton Saga 25th Anniversary Edition features dual front SRS airbags and 4 power windows!” post when they created a throwback article in July 2020.