Ford Fiesta with Malaysian spec on display in Penang!

The Ford Fiesta has not had an official launch here in Malaysia as of yet but there’s already been a huge amount of information on the internet about the little Chilli Padi which features a very interesting equipment list.

It’s the only car in its class with ESP stability control, a feature that’s omitted from even some D-segment sedans. The range topping model is the 1.6 litre Sports 5-door hatchback with a Ti-VCT engine producing 120 PS at 6,000rpm and 152Nm of torque at 4,050rpm.

This engine has a rather high 11.0:1 compression ratio and Ti-VCT allows variable valve timing on both the intake and exhaust valves. This engine is mated to a 6-speed dual clutch transmission, which makes this the cheapest car with a twin clutch transmission in Malaysia at RM84,888.

0 to 100km/h is reached in 9.9 seconds but what’s interesting is you can take this down to under 8 seconds with a kit from Mountune that boosts power up to 140 PS. Other features include ABS, dual SRS airbags, ISOFIX child seat points, a 6 speaker sound system with MP3 support, and a system called “Voice Control” which allows you to control certain functions.

The mid-range model in terms of pricelist has a sedan body. The Ford Fiesta Sedan LX 1.6 Ti-VCT has the same engine and dual clutch transmission as the 1.6 Sports hatchback but curiously there is only one driver airbag on the sedan model, and the audio system has been downgraded to a 4 speaker system. But ISOFIX child seat points, ESP stability control and ABS remain as parts of the safety feature list. This one goes for RM79,888 OTR with insurance.

The cheapest Ford Fiesta model is a 5-door hatchback with a 1.4 litre engine and a 5-speed manual transmission. Peak power is about 96 horsepower at 6,000rpm and peak torque of 128Nm kicks in at 4,050rpm. For RM73,888 you also get ABS, a driver airbag, ISOFIX child seat mount points, as well as a single CD player with MP3 support and 4 speakers.

The manual car is only available in four colours – Metropolitan Grey, Mica Black, Cool White and True Red. The sedan body can be had in either Sparkling Gold, Highlight Silver, Cool White, Mica Black, Metropolitan Grey or a very nice Phantom Blue colour. The top of the range 1.6 Sports comes in a different hue of blue called Aurora Blue, and this colour is supplemented by Chili Orange, True Red, Highlight Silver, Metropolitan Grey, Mica Black or Cool White.

Look after the jump for live photos from Ford’s roadshow in Gurney Plaza Penang happening right now until the 18th this Sunday. There’s a Chili Orange 1.6 Sports and a Metropolitan Grey 1.6 LX Sedan on show there. You can also drop by the Ford Fiesta in Malaysia Facebook Fan Page to ask a Ford representative any question you would like to know about the Fiesta.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1341]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ehem.. on Jul 16, 2010 at 8:41 pm

erkkk……

• Thomas Heng on Jul 16, 2010 at 8:48 pm

wow~ chili padi~ it really impressing~ i been view the car in real at sunway pyramid few months ago~

• mohsin on Jul 19, 2010 at 5:11 pm

Yeah! the hatchback is cool compared to the saloon version…
      Even it is better than Mazda2.
      Er, i also had a hatchback so called iswara aeroback 1999

• Hope this will beat the Myvi’s sales.

• theanswer on Jul 16, 2010 at 9:58 pm

naah..dont dream. different price range. these car should compete with mazda 2,vios or city.

• Dont forget Kia Forte too!

• hazri on Jul 17, 2010 at 9:18 am

really? what about the size? this fiesta got similar dimension with City & Vios?

• theanswer on Jul 17, 2010 at 11:44 am

even tho the size of myvi more or less fiesta..the price range is way too different. both cant be grouped in the same market.

• hatchback = jazz/yaris
          sedan = yeap …vios/city

• Yes, the Fiesta 4-door sedan is about the same size as the City and Vios.

• umno juara tipu rakyat on Jul 17, 2010 at 9:44 am

with the rear space as cramped as viva,dont even dream to beat myvi! :D

• Myvi not even PAR with this ok ?

• Walau!!! P1 Coming Lancer 1.8 sure dead? the price, bank loan interest, Fuel efficiency, 6 speed gear box Kill new P1 lancer…. So what will P1 do/ offer then?

• nice pricing

• good price pair with superb spec, H and T should learn from them.

• trav_da_man on Jul 16, 2010 at 9:00 pm

I now soo regretted with my vios……sigh!

• Thomanic on Jul 16, 2010 at 10:45 pm

same….i wan this…….i wan this..i wan this

wanna trade this with my 2010 vios…..

• trav_da_man on Jul 17, 2010 at 12:22 am

I want the hatchback, i want 6 speed dual clutch gearbox!!!!!!!

• sell 2 me 50k? ;p 2nd hand cannot pay u so much… he he he~

• James Lee Yik Hon on Jul 17, 2010 at 11:17 pm

Yaaa my Vios very sucks one too, regretted lo………….

• vios is a junk compared to dis beauty…

• Eric G on Jul 16, 2010 at 9:08 pm

Finally, FORD redefined distinctive driving experience n value for money!

• MINI FREAK! on Jul 16, 2010 at 9:09 pm

Ford Fiesta smoke kao Mazda 2 liao!

• wolfsburg on Jul 16, 2010 at 9:14 pm

Other than the driving dynamic offered by the Fiesta, there is no reason not to choose a Forte over the Fiesta. The 1.6 sedan only have one airbag!!

• With ESP and dual clutch transmission will make this car safer to drive but sad to know that car manufacturers are still reluctant to put in more airbags. We as consumers should be more concious of passengers safety especially traffic volume is increasing and having a car with ESP and curtain bags do help when in a major accident with larger vehicles.

Between car collisions, fatalities are normally low. If involving lorries, trailers and buses, those inside cars will be either badly injured or killed instantly.

We should start buying safety cars especially those with NCAP 5 star rating. Not just for us drivers but for our loved ones are equally important.

• Thomanic on Jul 17, 2010 at 4:51 pm

Between more airbags…..and ESP….i choose ESP anytime…

ESP can make u avoid an accident in a first place…especially those evasive maneuver…without ESP…u can spin easily….doesn’t matter you is an elite driver or not.\

Don’t believe me? See this
        http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j-hHWSQhKuc

• ehem.. on Jul 16, 2010 at 9:14 pm

bye2 vios and city but can malaysian people accept ford for its resale value?

• redwings on Jul 17, 2010 at 2:34 pm

With some many new cars coming to shore and attractive pricing…we hope it will balance well the market in Malaysia, this will make the resale value well balance…

• BOOOOO~ FREAKING UGLY~

• its really a nice machine…there are plenty of this good lookingdesign here in melb….
    and seriously worth it to have one…

• Impressed with the design and its features. A good deal for our Malaysian

• from the start Msians have always been ripped off by our government.. no such thing as good deal for cars in malaysia..

• hazri on Jul 16, 2010 at 9:37 pm

how big is this car actually? similar with Gen2?

as in india, i’ve seen a lot of fiesta here…but it’s small

• wolfsburg on Jul 16, 2010 at 11:43 pm

india doesn’t have the same Fiesta as ours. Their Fiesta is one generation older than ours.

• Arcane on Jul 17, 2010 at 9:33 am

Agree..India’s Ford is Malaysia’s perodua – always one generation behind

• wolfsburg on Jul 17, 2010 at 10:47 am

Ford India is not as clever as VW and Fiat. Fiat and VW can bring the Grande Punto and New Polo into India with very low price but Ford have to make do with the old Fiesta based Figo.

• The Ford Figo (updated old Fiesta) in India is priced in the same range as the Hyundai i10 and Chevy Spark which is a segment lower than the VW Polo.

The new global Ford Fiesta is expected to be launched in India soon. Here’s a forum thread with some spy photos of the new Fiesta hatchback being tested in India. http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian-car-scene/74936-scoop-pic-euro-spec-ford-fiesta-spotted-testing-edit-new-pics-pg-6-a-6.html

The Figo is positioned below the “real” new Fiesta.

• hazri on Jul 17, 2010 at 5:50 pm

yeah.. 2 variants of fiesta here..sedan and hatcback..but both of them not nice at all…and it’s smallll….

• umno juara tipu rakyat on Jul 17, 2010 at 9:46 am

it is small..lets just say that myvi interior is bigger

• in uk…its under supermini category…same group wt Jazz/yaris

• Ultraman on Jul 16, 2010 at 9:52 pm

Max 2 airbags, min 1 airbag, why skimp on the safety aspects?

• littlefire on Jul 16, 2010 at 10:35 pm

Better than others.. At least they provide esp which can reduce accident rate.. Dont believe see this link…

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Electronic_stability_control

I still wonder when can Malaysian produce cars can have all these safety standard? As other countries like in Europe is going to standardize all these safety technology…

• totally agreed…must next car must have ESP and all airbags (include curtains)….my family life is more important than re-sale value ( ….duit boleh cari…)

• theanswer on Jul 16, 2010 at 11:06 pm

at least better than local brand who offers car without airbag or abs..

• We should all start to buy only cars with NCAP 5 star rating and those with 3-5 year warranty. Support these car manufacturers that offer these features.

Value your loved ones especially your kids. If you are using a car for at least 5 years don’t worry so much of resale value unless you are buying a manufacturer with bad records. Most cars depreciate about the same after 5 years except a few.

• wolfsburg on Jul 17, 2010 at 10:49 am

NCAP 5-stars doesn’t applicable for Fiesta sold in Malaysia as we only get 2 airbags while the standard 5-star car got 6. In Malaysia, for cars under 100k only Forte 2.0 can meet the NCAP standard.

• WOW !! SMALL SEDAN with ESP and STABILITY CONTROL… A MUST TO BUY !!

• bonceng on Jul 16, 2010 at 10:20 pm

spot 1 unit fiesta at KESAS highway this evening..maybe there will be official launching soon

• notakosong.com on Jul 16, 2010 at 10:23 pm

nice! last time i viewed it in mid valley, but then that was the thailand specs.

they say that we have better specs!

beautiful!

• In Thailand, the mid-range Fiesta Trend (equivalent of the Malaysian spec Fiesta LX) comes with dual-airbags.
      Both the Thai spec Trend (LX) and Sport can be had as a hatchback or as a sedan

I guess if there’s enough demand Ford may add more trim and body-style combinations missing in some markets.

So far we’ve seen the specs of the Thai spec Fiesta and the Malaysian spec Fiesta.
      I’m still not sure about the Philippine spec Fiesta, details will probably be out next month, most likely before its official debut at the Philippine International Motor Show.

• wow…the hatchback is one very sexy car.
    definitely much more good looking than mazda 2.
    with manual transmission some more it’s going to be a really fun drive!

• shawal on Jul 16, 2010 at 10:35 pm

Aww , we don’t get the luminescent green paint job, nevertheless, orange is fine by me!

1)The top range is the way to go… cheaper than a honday city by 5k!!! tho it comes with a smaller boot, but DUAL CLUTCH GEARBOX MAN….but no shift paddles…

2) Did they demo’ed the handphone bluetooth function? can we really dial numbers on the dash? or even access the phone’s phonebook? or only use the handsfree function, its still awesome for a car at this price level. (if im not mistaken Myvi SE and Waja merdeka race edition got bluetooth functions too but only handsfree)

3) with new petrol prices, RM11.10 gives you 100km (6 litres) according to the broschure

4) Is the ‘Follow Me home is the function to let the lights be turn on for a chosen period of time until we safely get into the house?

5)4)Simply awesome for this price , even the basic models gets keyless entry system
    Ford got a winner on their hands!

6) How bout you guys do a shootout between the basic fiesta and a Myvi SE , see which one comes out at the top and is more value for money. The top range fiesta vs vios and city.

• 388900wow on Jul 17, 2010 at 12:58 pm

follow me home lighting~ PUG308 also has it~ wat u said is right.

but then pls dun compare this car with myvi~ its surely no way to compare with a milo tin~~

• fazron80 on Jul 17, 2010 at 1:39 pm

myvi se should only be compared to the nissan sunny

• ppl compare it with vios, city, mazda2? & coming P1 Lancer…. If coming lancer don’t have Lancer GT looks…. hard sell for my opinion…..

• …include vs jazz vs its sibling mazda 2

• Impressive value-for-money package. My pick would be the top of the range hatchback.

• what does esp do? traction control? hurm..does it really affecting the safety, performance of the car?

I like the 6 speakers thingy though

• Ford’s ESP (Electronic Stability Programme) is a type of Stability Control.
      Traction Control is usually used to control wheelspin, Stability Control goes a step further by helping the driver maintain control of the vehicle when its at a skid/slide.
      The system can control the brakes individually and can reduce engine power if needed.

• Arcane on Jul 17, 2010 at 9:35 am

Yes it does..it works in conjunction with other safety-devices implemented in a car.

But if you like to burn your wheel to smoking rubber and drift2 here and there, ESP is not for you..

• 388900wow on Jul 17, 2010 at 1:02 pm

see. we support proton. that’s y we dunno much about ESP!!

its not ur fault. almost all the car has it in oversea~ its nothing new or fancy…its just a very basic safety feature now….for wat?

to protect people from accident!!!

that’s y high sum of malaysian die in road accidents !!!!

1) public transport very very not convenient, that’s y force to drive a car..

2)and bcos car price is high, most car come with cheap specs.. no air bags..and dun mention all those ESP,ABS or watsoever…

that’s y we dun worry about the AH1N1, bcos the road killer is much more dangerous!!!!!!!!

• Tiadaid on Jul 18, 2010 at 1:02 pm

Yeah right. And the fact that Malaysian drivers are a menace on the road driving like a man possessed has got nothing to do with it? I mean, see how many accidents happen involving cars WITH all the safety features? A lot….

• imagine if Mr. A got into an accident, with safety features, his survivalship stands at 50%? Without safety features… maybe a lot less lower. Safety features are meant as protection against mishaps when and if they happen. It is NOT in any way a guarantee that any drivers wont get into accident by having these security features installed.

Don’t you think having extra armour in your car protects you and your loved ones from those possessed man behind the wheel? Think commonly and reply sensibly Mr Malaysian.

• Arcane on Jul 19, 2010 at 6:38 pm

These so call safety features, when installed, will make Malaysian drivers become over-confident and pompous.

They think it’s their free license to speed like nobody’s business.

The problem is that most typical Malaysian are backward thinkers – when airbags were implemented, they take it as an excuse not to wear their seatbelts.

Change the mentality, then we can change a lot

• Srotong Stoopid on Jul 18, 2010 at 4:09 pm

It as same as VSA in honda, VSC in toyota, DSC in BMW ,CST in ferrari …and the list goes on…

• how big is this car? closed to myvi or persona? anyone has any idea?

• finally have a good car maker with manual transmission.no more auto please!

• acerman on Jul 17, 2010 at 7:32 pm

But in japan, people would asks, were there still manuals in the world.
      Come on… asks me guys, how do I know…

• wmws57 on Jul 16, 2010 at 11:12 pm

saw it b4 in 1U during road show… very sporty looks (exterior) and nice interior but the leg room (for back passenger seat) is quiet short… also the back seat is “stand” straight…. not so comfortable for family use and long journey driving

• the sedan version looks weird isn’t it? something is not right with the design.
    but the hatchback is really cool!

• acerman on Jul 17, 2010 at 4:15 pm

It has high butt. How can someone see with that high butt?

• Agreed.

the sedan design looks half-baked. something just isn’t right with the way the rear end connect to the middle section.

but it’s not surprising because Mazda 2 sedan is equally weird (or a bit weirder than the ford). one more car that has the same issue is Peugeot 206 sedan.

i guess all this is because the Fiesta is orginally design as hatchback and the sedan is just a modified hatchback (added boot) to appeal to consumers who prefer sedan over hatchback.

not many car makers successfully came up with hatch-covert-to-sedan design. but among the few that succeeded is Persona (converted from Gen2). it doesn’t look weird like those models we talked about.

• Jaybond on Jul 19, 2010 at 1:02 pm

The rear end of Ford Fiesta & Mazda 2 sedans would not look so weird, had the designers used much bigger wheels. Currently it’s just look out of proportions (for the sedan version) with those weedy wheels.

• Jaybond on Jul 19, 2010 at 1:04 pm

And maybe a bit lower ride height should cure the look a bit.

• Fuyiopo on Jul 16, 2010 at 11:17 pm

I was there about 5 hours ago ^.^. Have to say that is a nice looking car. GoodSpecs, reasonable price tag of 8xk and the interior is quite classy as well. The only draw back is that it does not have sequence gearbox.

• scoobydoo on Jul 16, 2010 at 11:20 pm

Paul, is the Mountune pack offically from Ford with warranty or aftermarket? How much is it? Btw, you forgot to bring your camera??? pix all look grainy…taken from hp?

• Paul Tan on Jul 16, 2010 at 11:46 pm

Sorry, I’m not in penang hehe. Got someone from There to take pix for me.

• pororo on Jul 17, 2010 at 10:55 am

yeah…… please elaborate more on the Mountune package please?

cheers…..

• Cardy on Jul 19, 2010 at 7:41 am

agree… please give more details on the Mountune package in Ford Malaysia.

• scoobydoo on Jul 16, 2010 at 11:21 pm

im sure someone’s gonna do a Ken Block replica after this….

• mitlanevo on Jul 16, 2010 at 11:30 pm

nice pricing and the hatchback version is HOTTT!!!!!!

• alldisc on Jul 17, 2010 at 9:05 am

yeah! and 0-100kph in 8 seconds?? thats as fast as a Satria GTI!! this could be a better buy than Satria Neo Lotus Racing Limited Edition. and save 30K too!!

• theanswer on Jul 17, 2010 at 1:45 pm

did anyone say that neo lotus is fast? sgti faster.

• john doe on Jul 18, 2010 at 1:45 am

Not everyone buying a car to do 0-60mph in 4 freakin seconds. Grow up…

• alldisc on Jul 19, 2010 at 9:41 am

read.

understand.

its not about how fast the car is, its about value for money we are getting.
          it seems that you read, but did not understand. its just too bad. not much i can help you.

• always got some ppl like speeding…. crushed so many times still want speeding….

some ppl want save fuel & comfortable….

some ppl crazy with speed~

Malaysia Boleh!

Seen Mvyi with 1.8GSRT? for Macau or F1 slowerest car? speechless…. Myvi not save fuel vehicle?

• rookie on Jul 19, 2010 at 6:33 pm

true..

but instant acceleration is always appreciated..
          it can save lives too..

• how much to paint and become like this —->>

http://paultan.org/2010/06/24/ford-focus-rs-le-mans-classic-recalls-the-glory-days/

• Great! Good pricing for Sedan. Eager to view one physically. ;)

• Maserati on Jul 17, 2010 at 12:25 am

Hatchback exterior design is good.But once you step inside,you are just disappointed.The interior lacks a feel good factor.

Good try but still not good enough

• enthuasist on Jul 17, 2010 at 12:55 am

love this car,, gonna tke the myvi and neo aside, i’ll get this car later..!!!

• Tiadaid on Jul 17, 2010 at 12:59 am

This car’s gonna be a best seller I bet. It’s time to sell my City!

• campro TERuBOk on Jul 17, 2010 at 1:07 am

the hatchback one is mine…

• nolan on Jul 17, 2010 at 1:21 am

correct me if i’m wrong….i see mazda2 styling in fiesta….coincident perhaps…?

• Honda Civic on Jul 17, 2010 at 1:43 am

this gonna be hot cake!!!better buy this over those overprice jazz..even better than swift…thanx ford..

• libralcl on Jul 17, 2010 at 1:56 am

Hatchback will be a better bargain instead of the sedan. Btw how Mazda 2 will survive comparing these features offering by Ford? Perhaps Malaysian mindset, Japs car has better resale value?

• Honda Civic on Jul 17, 2010 at 2:51 am

but honda civic still the best!!!

• Littlehui on Jul 17, 2010 at 5:31 am

engine is rather weak for the low end models

• I think the base 1.4 model’s 96PS and 128Nm of torque is decent for a car of this size.

• Srotong Stoopid on Jul 18, 2010 at 4:16 pm

still don’t get the idea ahh…any automakers will pushing for the high end model..low end is just a bait so people would think twice but then buy the high end model anyway..

• freddie_mercury on Jul 17, 2010 at 6:31 am

Oh my god, look at those spec! Dual clutch transmission, 6 speakers, ESP for under 90k, take that Japanese car!

Dual clutch > CVT transmission

• rajaiskandarshah on Jul 17, 2010 at 3:05 pm

dual clutch is not cvt transmission : it is a whole lot better
      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dual_clutch_transmission

cvt uses the torque converter in an auto transmission
      dual clutch uses dual transmission in a manual transmission engine

the previous honda city uses cvt, so does the mitsubishi lancer

the proton savvy amt uses a single clutch automated manual transmission

the humble kapcai uses something similar : no clutch manual transmission

my wife and i drive the proton savvy amt – it is a lot of fun but the renault df4 engine requires regular maintenance and with only a 1.2 liter engine, it is grossly under powered for cruising at high speeds.

i am definitely looking forward to upgrade to the ford dual clutch models : still thinking between the tdci (cheaper mileage in the long run) or the sedan (more luggage space for balik kampung).

• Srotong Stoopid on Jul 18, 2010 at 4:00 pm

that freddie_mercury guy mentioned Dual Clutch > CVT (not Dual Clutch = CVT) means the initial better that the later…don’t learn math in school eh..

• freddie_mercury on Jul 18, 2010 at 5:48 pm

I never said dual clutch is the same as CVT. Look a the math symbol. Dual clutch transmission is better than CVT.

• rajaiskandarshah on Jul 18, 2010 at 6:36 pm

oppp… sorry my mistake. mix up between the symbol in mathematics (> meaning the former is better than the latter) and programming ( > meaning to echo an output / variable). hahaha… me getting to old with all this … ;p

• alldisc on Jul 19, 2010 at 9:38 am

its not about getting old but simply because not reading properly…

• they should put a bigger rims.. :(

• 4G63tDSM on Jul 17, 2010 at 8:13 am

Hmm…this engine isn’t direct injection is it?

I would be a little concerned running a 11:1 compression ratio engine on our Ron95. Any word from Ford what fuel it takes, wihout getting all that timing retarded…..

Otherwise…damn good value for the top of the line hatch.

• tomyamkung on Jul 17, 2010 at 10:33 am

if is frm Thailand, it’s suppose to take RON91.

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 18, 2010 at 4:19 pm

Yeah, but will you still get the same power/performance on RON91/95. Usually some form of ignition retardation occurs running “lower grade” fuel.

It would be really impressive if this little fiesta can get all its horses running lower octane petrol.

• pororo on Jul 17, 2010 at 10:53 am

yeah….. my question is also will the Fiesta take RON95?

• junaidi on Jul 19, 2010 at 1:20 pm

Mondeo can take Ron 95 according to the manual book. I presume the Fiesta can.

• European Fords usually recommend that you use Unleaded RON 95.
          Even the current Focus assembled in the Philippines, it says Unleaded RON 95 (E20 capable).

PS: Unleaded RON 95 is the regular fuel in many parts of Europe.

• Its time so say bye bye to Honda and Toyota !! Man it is equipped with ESP and TRACTION CONTROL !! 6 speed dual clutch.. FORD’s DSG

• Bye bye P1 new lancer~ Fuel price will go up…. who want to spent more?

• like mazda 2 saloon its ugly

• No sunroof! I want sun roof!….Ford cheating after coming to Malaysia everything removed!

• bobby on Jul 17, 2010 at 10:08 am

If they include it, the price would have changed.

• Tiadaid on Jul 17, 2010 at 10:30 am

Well that’s one feature I’d gladly forego.

• sunroof is useless…. after the rubber harden water will go in~ if u want just add in a few RM3~4k?

• MangO on Jul 17, 2010 at 5:57 pm

The go buy a Toyota, Mazda, Honda, Proton, Perodua with the same amount of $$$. Happy shopping.

• Barkcrack on Jul 17, 2010 at 7:10 pm

why need sunroof in Msia? Get motorcycle lah, same sensation with sunroofed car

• @jojo, which of the Fiesta’s direct B-segment competitors (Vios/Yaris, City/Jazz, Mazda 2, Aveo, Swift etc) offer a model with a sunroof in Malaysia/ASEAN market?

• mazda 2 saloon. makes me feel once when the launch of the previous honda city, its an instant weirdness and dont like the look.

anyway the rear for this ford hatch quite a mean look

• Geronimo on Jul 17, 2010 at 2:49 pm

Gosh, with all this goodies, I would want to trade-in my Civic too. Eventho, it is in different class.

It’ll be a joy to drive. I bet it can make me smile from ear to ear on twisty B road.

• Kwing on Jul 17, 2010 at 11:32 am

this is a gd car, for the price esp the turbo version!

• ppl gonna trade their dugong for this. looool.

• 388900wow on Jul 17, 2010 at 12:55 pm

another HOT player in the game!! good news to us!!

definately a much much much much much much value buy compare to VIOS or CITY!!!!~ !!

ESP! Twin Clutch !!! and 120hp!!! Wei!!!~~ sleep long long la honda, toyota!

• Keevster on Jul 17, 2010 at 1:03 pm

Finally we have a manufacturer that put in ESP as standard in this segment! Something that I have always hoped for that all cars in the future comes equipped as standard. I believe ESP is more important that airbags.

• 388900wow on Jul 17, 2010 at 1:04 pm

you all can compare this with PUG207 ~

• zin azman on Jul 17, 2010 at 1:21 pm

fiesta hatch dimension comparision:

golf gti = 4216, 1759, 1466.
    fiesta = 3950, 1722, 1475.
    polo gti = 3915, 1650, 1459.
    getz = 3825, 1664, 1494.
    swift = 3850, 1695, 1510.
    myvi= 3720, 1665, 1550.

looks bigger….

• umno juara tipu rakyat on Jul 18, 2010 at 3:42 pm

dimension looks good..but wait till u sit inside…its not as big as we tot…but the boot is huge for a hatch!

• zin azman on Jul 18, 2010 at 7:55 pm

fiesta = 3950/1722/1475
      mazda2 = 3885/1695/1475
      honda jazz = 3830/1675/1525

• How about the Alza’s one? Near with Golf?

• same with mazda 2 laa….

• fazron80 on Jul 17, 2010 at 1:45 pm

Amazing car, one that I will look at when it’s time to change my car. Looks very good, safety feature is better with esp equipped compared to other competitors, overall in car feature is good too, performance is better than even higher priced car. FC should be competitive, and the price is just amazing!!!! I thought it was going to be closer to 100K. Great job ford, another choice for a car at a great prize and amazing value. The hatchback looks better than the sedan definitely.

• vincent on Jul 17, 2010 at 2:46 pm

wow.. a very nice comeback for Ford. very very tempting fiesta, if only my bank account allows it….. if only…

• Thomanic on Jul 17, 2010 at 5:02 pm

For anyone what ESP do and how important ESP is…check this testing video by fifth gear

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j-hHWSQhKuc

and for those who are impatient..the ESP testing starts at 6:09

• Thomanic on Jul 17, 2010 at 5:03 pm

For anyone ‘don’t understand’ what ESP do

minor correction there

• meteoraniac on Jul 17, 2010 at 6:08 pm

More choices for the middle class income group !

hopefully we could see more of this beauty on the road other than the boring T and H…

• can u open the door from inside when the door is locked?..i read somewhere else stating that the purpose of the lock is to avoid the door from being open from the outside..but this is dangerous for especially for children..

• quattrolizard on Jul 17, 2010 at 6:16 pm

WHATT??? NO REAR DISC BRAKE FOR FIESTA SPORT? >.<

• Average Joe on Jul 17, 2010 at 7:46 pm

A car that I like and also afford. I have to say that is quite rare here in Malaysia.

• bryan.jones on Jul 17, 2010 at 8:45 pm

is it larger than forte? I know they’re not in the same segment, but well, knowing M’sian.. between that price bracket, they will put on straight consideration.

• The rear of sedan version looks like rear of mondeo..it must be mondeo lil’ brother i guess..

• Just_Once on Jul 18, 2010 at 5:13 am

Seem that P1 have good output power engine, but I thought P1 have problem with power delivery system to tyres. If you search test drive review from Indosnesian folks, usually P1 have slowest and cosume more petrol for the same class mobile in the categories.

Hope this aspect will improve later after quality aspect quite good now days.

• kaiser on Jul 19, 2010 at 7:44 pm

Power output doesnt tell the whole story. I’m sure the japs and europeans can beat the proton power output easily but they sacrifice it to get something else, such as lower rpm power (so the car feels lively in town driving), higher torque, better fuel economy, quiter engine etc. Although the campro cps has 125hp, it feels really slow because it has no lowdown pull at all and you have to rev it to the max to get it going. This will in turn affect fuel economy. Not to mention the ancient mitsubishi gearbox proton is still using makes the whole package terrible.

• Amiran on Jul 18, 2010 at 6:41 am

As far as the spec concern, this must be better bargain than Jazz/City and Vios.

• the Vios J manual can chase the 1.6 Fortie even with lower horse power…. depends on the driver… normally just keep it under 3k rpm to save fuel….

• i can also use my kapcai to chase the Dugong, depends on how i ride it!
        Even 1 tortise can win a rabbit depends on how the tortise going on

• ya… rabbit …. he he he Nothing is impossible,,, depends on Luck?

• bystander on Jul 19, 2010 at 5:22 pm

forte heavier n the 4 speed gear spread wider lah…satria cps oso faster than ur vios manual lah, so wat? y dun u get 1? dun talk cock to flatter ur own drive, i’m oso driving vios myself, so i no how suck the car is! a good car does not equal the fastest car in straight line, only a lousy driver is good for!

• i don’t have a vios….. i want to buy 1… but in the end, bought alza manual~ poor ppl no $$$… i just drove my housemate auto vios~

• 1.5L vs 2.0L in straight? just give up lah~ maybe 0~120km can chase only, after that good bye…. but always got jam infront….

• Satria Won in Thailand race if no mistakes? 1.6 vs 1.5L, if slower than that will be funny~

• william on Jul 18, 2010 at 1:37 pm

with more affordable american/european cars entering malaysia, could this be the start of the decline of japanese cars?

• ANDREW on Jul 18, 2010 at 1:47 pm

When is it going to be officiall launch in Msia? The 3 years free service is really a good deal with this prices range. If FORD is really serious in making a come back to Msia market please give 5 years warranty also lah then have chance to fight with Honda City and Vios or even the Forte

• Maserati on Jul 18, 2010 at 6:24 pm

This wont even touch jap sales a bit. Most probable buyers wud be first time car buyers who never hv experience owning a ford or kia or hyundai.

• ya, ask china men… ha ha ha…. bcos most of then anti Jap then a lot of them bought Korea cars (cheaper there)…. just go China traveling & ask around u know is it really that good these Korean or Ford cars… I saw most are China made WV, Audi at China, Yue Yang (a small place where i think no ppl know)….. Mazda got also…. tone of China Brand & Korea cars….

• john doe on Jul 19, 2010 at 1:29 pm

most probable buyers are those who knows real value of international cars like what Ford, Kia n Hyundai are offering….not those frogs under shells who buy cheapo 3rd world country jap cars which are not even sold overseas and has uncle designs and dinosaur age old techs n specs

• VW Mania on Jul 18, 2010 at 8:44 pm

The reason this car is so much fun is because of the independent rear suspension system – control blades. How come nobody mentioned it?

• Wo hen wuliao on Jul 18, 2010 at 11:08 pm

ur wrong its torsion beam…

• Yup, like most cars in this segment.
        Ford did a good job tuning the suspension of the Fiesta, even with just a torsion beam rear suspension it still handles well.

• scoobydoo on Jul 18, 2010 at 9:14 pm

long list of specs but……rear DRUM brakes??????

• Anonymouse on Jul 19, 2010 at 9:49 pm

It’s a small car with a small engine. What do you want disc brakes for? Car too cheap for you? Too big for you?

• AHMAD on Jul 20, 2010 at 12:38 pm

Have you check on NISSAN SEPHYL ?

2.0L ENGINE WITH REAR DRUM BRAKES , EVEN SUCKS !!!

• feisal on Jul 18, 2010 at 10:19 pm

If only the also put keyless entry/start and ESP on the Mondeo, the flagship of Ford in Malaysia.

• The two “bling bling” below the car number plate at the front bumper for HB really spoilt the look, definitely remove this if I got this car.

• bystander on Jul 19, 2010 at 5:28 pm

couldn’t agree more! i wish can get the pre facelift or another version of sportier bodykit without the useless eye disturbing toy like “pattern”, dunno wat else i can call it…

• Jaybond on Jul 19, 2010 at 8:42 am

Just like Mazda 2, the Ford Fiesta is only looks right in hatchback version. Avoid the funny looking sedan version..

• bystander on Jul 19, 2010 at 5:33 pm

then again, i have seen a handful of m2 sedan in flesh, but not even 1 m2 hatch just yet! guess malaysian market is a totally lost world isolated from the global market due 2 one of our kind government policies…

• Jaybond on Jul 20, 2010 at 12:30 pm

Because the majority customers in Malaysia, they don’t really go into detail/care much about the overall looks, (but a handful do). For them ample space is the number one factor.

• nighttrain on Jul 19, 2010 at 9:10 am

Cool specs for RM85k. The 6 speed dual clutch alone is the dealbreaker for me.

Did anyone notice the specs of B & C segments are getting better with new models at normal prices(RM75-RM85K)? Is this how the G is levelling the playing field with WaLan’s price coming in at RM80-85k? Spec for spec, wonder how WaLan is gonna beat this. Well maybe different segments lah..

• nighttrain on Jul 19, 2010 at 9:49 am

http://www.carbodydesign.com/archive/2008/10/16-ford-fiesta-design-story/

• I’m looking to be a sedan car. Waited to see how forte vs fiesta sedan specs…but..a bit disappointed …

How come they don’t have the hatchback sports specs on a the sedan??
    Only driver air bag only on fiesta…come one at least give 2!

Anyways the hatchback sports version is really the best at the moment compared to overprice price H&T models…

Other than that, any positive or negative feedbacks/review about the Ford Service Center in PG island? (or do they have one there?)

• I’m looking for a sedan car. Waited to see how forte vs fiesta sedan specs…but..a bit disappointed …

How come they don’t have the hatchback sports specs on a the sedan??
    Only driver air bag only on fiesta…come one at least give 2!

Anyways the hatchback sports version is really the best at the moment compared to overprice price H&T models…

Other than that, any positive or negative feedbacks/review about the Ford Service Center in PG island? (or do they have one there?)

• New Hyundai Fan on Jul 19, 2010 at 10:16 am

Both Sedan & Sporty models definitely will beat Latio Sedan, Latio Hatchback, Jazz, Yaris,I30 & Mazda 2.

• 4G63tDSM on Jul 19, 2010 at 10:39 am

I don’t think the price is getting “better”. Its that some marques are getting less greedy and want a bigger piece of the pie. I have a niggling thought that prices are still “controlled” somewhat so they make the package more interesting by giving you more equipment.

This price strategy isn’t really going after P1’s “WaLan”‘s market share….but more so the rather de-contented models from Honda and Toyota. 85k is right in the middle of the City and Vios’ sandbox. It would be interesting to see how long Honda and Toyota can hold on to its premium market price demographics with so many well competitively price competition coming online.

What this would definately kill would be its Mazda2 stablemates.

Competition is never a bad thing for the consumers.

• imexa on Jul 19, 2010 at 10:47 am

cool…luv the superb color, style, spec & best of all… the price….

• Fiesta on Jul 19, 2010 at 1:31 pm

Hi Bro,

I’m the first in Penang booked the car with downpayment RM500 (entitle RM500 Free Voucher upon delivery the car). No question to be ask. By the time i seen the car, i just change my mind and paid my deposit. I will get my car by Mid of September… So what else you guys thinking?

• Great! Which model you book? btw, do you know where is their service center in pg island? izzit good?

• fiestacool on Jul 19, 2010 at 5:29 pm

i’ve booked the car since june, the interest rates is the main concern for me now.. how about you ?? any ideas for better rate ?

• i’m not in a hurry … still don’t know what which sedan to buy now..fiesta or forte. if you got june rate, then i think it is the best.

• khairuddin on Jul 19, 2010 at 4:40 pm

forte can easily beat this car..forte rock!!

• raybrig85 on Jul 20, 2010 at 11:07 am

forte???for your information..this is one of the best car in its class…it is the class leader..

• 2.0 ma~ Drink Minyak also like drink water…

• No multifunction steering wheel or cruise control?

• Ooops, just saw it has MF steering wheel. Sorry y’all..

• LordSatan on Jul 20, 2010 at 12:21 am

SHould look at the rear sedan model… i canot believe it! ugliest car I ever see

• Fiesta on Jul 20, 2010 at 10:07 am

I booked Sedan 1.6LX metropilitan gray color. I really interested with this color. My sales lady promise me to get the most lowest interest rate which is 2.75 from Public Bank. Compared to Forte (4.25). I am not sure about the service centre in highland but there is 1 at mainland (Indrawasi). According to her no need to go and wait, all the service will book and go..1 time dealing…..

• TipsCafe on Jul 21, 2010 at 5:57 pm

Its (Fiesta Sport) pricing is very competitive as compare to Toyota Yaris, Honda Jazz and Suzuki Swift Sport.
    Anyway, If those premium accessories is available for optional, I not mind to pay extra 10-15k for some premium upgrade (such as heated trim leather seat, 7 Airbags include driver’s knee, cruise control, side mirror integrated with blind-sport mirror, front parking sensors, auto-dimming rear view mirror, paddle shift, rear disc, and smart keyless entry with start/stop button ) lol… :P

This baby did not come with paddle shift, but how about manual shifting (m + and m -) on on gearbox?

• Checked at the PJ showroom today. No manual shifting (m+ and m-). Also, the dashboard is hard, not soft dashboard as displayed months ago in 1U and Kelana Jaya (unfortunately). ‘Keyless entry’ still needs key to start the engine, but with chip (but they term it as keyless!).

• rajaiskandarshah on Aug 02, 2010 at 1:14 pm

many thanks for the info. very disappointed on the said limited features.

• Worse is, the salemen said, the price as given in the brochure which is downloadable from the website, is estimated, they are going to add the price, for skirting on the body once the cars are here, means the skirting to be done locally. Same here, disappointed. I made the booking, but now i am thinking twice, whether to proceed.

• GIMEABREAK!! on Jul 21, 2010 at 10:58 pm

Luckily Toyota went and slap an ugly chrome grill to the new facelifted Vios and prevented me from buying it, or else i would have sooo regretted it. I WANT THIS !! Topgear spoke very highly of this car no ?

• taco21 on Jul 25, 2010 at 8:52 am

guys n gals ….. anybody knows whats’ the best hp interest rate currently for fiesta? car looks interesting but da interest rates r killing all the interests …… :s

• hey guys, correct me if i am wrong. photos #18 and #19 dont seem to show that the car comes with dual clutch function. I thought that the car comes with dual clutch supposes to look like this :) http://media.onsugar.com/files/ons1/333/3333137/25_2009/ca/Ford-Fiesta-Auto-4.jpg

• Paul Tan on Jul 29, 2010 at 11:47 pm

No that is the normal 4 speed auto as it has the + and – tiptronic function. Oddly the fiesta powershift has no manual shifting ability.

• Obtained the SMS from the sale agent that the latest Ford Fiesta will be available for viewing in the PJ showroom starting tomorow, the 31st and 1st Aug. I think and hope that the confusion can then be clarified.

• Inteloutside on Jul 30, 2010 at 6:16 pm

Paul, what’s your opinion on the likelihood of the Mountune tuning package being made available to the Malaysia market?

• ferox on Aug 10, 2010 at 12:49 pm

More information on the mountune package:

http://www.mountuneperformance.co.uk/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=141&Itemid=58

• mikechin on Aug 16, 2010 at 10:19 pm

This is definitely a good car

But are there sufficient service centres in Malaysia for Ford?

And how much would the maintenance be fro this car…

these things will determine how successful the car will be in this country

• Lachesis on Aug 22, 2010 at 4:43 pm

I Definitelygoes for it???

• Syafiq Syukri Ghani on Aug 28, 2010 at 11:58 am

Paultan Ford returns to penang…. Ford Fiesta Penang????

• takNakBN on Oct 05, 2010 at 7:56 am

this defines good pricing car

• Mr.Chan on Dec 07, 2010 at 8:57 pm

May go for it???
    im tired of comparing Mazda2 and fiesta sedan….
    Which 1 win my mind???

• nimbus on Aug 24, 2011 at 12:16 am

Hey Paul, im a totally noob about cars, but are they Fiesta tuned by Mountuned available in Malaysia?

TQ

• Guillermo on Oct 22, 2012 at 4:07 pm

9 girls do all? of this… <3