Mitsubishi Lancer EX – a very different kind of Lancer

Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia (MMM) has unveiled a new variant for their C-segment Lancer sedan. Called the Lancer EX, it’s not exactly a “low spec” Lancer that a first glance would lead you to believe, but a different kind of Lancer appealing to a different set of buyer from those of the Evo-styled Lancer GT. Here, out goes the sporty bits we love about the GT and in comes some nice equipment and a more pleasant cabin.

Let’s first look at the exterior. The most obvious change from the current Lancer GT is the deletion of the single chrome frame “jet fighter” grille – the EX uses the old split into two version of the pre-facelift GT. Also gone are the GT’s 18-inch alloys, replaced by 16-inch items wrapped with 205/60 Yokohama touring rubber. At the back, the trademark huge wing makes way for a slim, subtle spoiler on the boot edge, and there’s a strip of chrome below the badges. Chrome also appears on the door handles.

Inside, it feels almost like a different model. The main change here is the use of grey leather seats, which brightens up the cabin considerably. It’s not the “Nappa” leather found in the GT and the shape of the front seats also differ, focussing more on comfort than support. The main piece of trim that spans the dashboard has wood grain imprints in a classy grey tone.

Probe higher and you’ll find the 2-DIN touch screen ICE system, which also incorporates a GPS system (maps by Mapking). iPod and AUX jacks are in the glovebox, while the USB jack joins two SD card slots (one for GPS) on the interface. There’s a list of all Mitusbishi showrooms and service centres installed in the GPS and one can drag and drop to customise his/her four favourite functions.

The Lancer EX’s other highlight features include keyless entry and start – no start/stop button, but you twist a knob where the key hole normally is, like in the Nissan Latio hatchback and Suzuki Swift. Cruise control is also here, and its controls on the steering wheel make the wheel look better and full functioned.

With all these added kit, something’s got to give, and it’s the magnesium shift paddles that control the INVECS-III CVT. One can still access the 6-speed sports mode via the shift lever, though. Under the hood is the now familiar 4B11 2.0-litre engine with 153 bhp and 199 Nm of torque.

The Lancer EX is priced at RM117,676.10 (OTR without insurance), which makes it slightly cheaper than the RM120,598.10 Lancer GT. Available in two colours – black and white – the EX is covered by a 5-year/100,000 km warranty and comes with a 2-year/50,000 km maintenance free program.

Live images from the launch after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1336]

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1337]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Anonymous on Jul 16, 2010 at 10:37 am

kinda weird without the spoiler

• Motorist on Jul 16, 2010 at 2:23 pm

But old man like me like it very much.

Understated but refine.

BTW, the models / promoters are wayyyyyy much prettier than the Audi launch. Well done MMM

• arejacks on Jul 20, 2010 at 11:26 pm

even wajalancer might lauch soon but cannot la compared with quality of lancer GT..proton amik shape lancer bleh la..campro engine as well manufactured local & QC..difficult la with all that..thats why price maybe different RM 50K++ (maybe)..nway..not bad for the lancer EX..cheers..

• komen on Jul 21, 2010 at 12:47 pm

nice models, thanks paul :-)

• nazri on Jul 16, 2010 at 10:44 am

finally they bring it here.. congrats mitsu

• akupunya on Jul 16, 2010 at 10:46 am

rugi la beli keta ni kat mesia…
    the proton want to introduce this kind of car in the end of this year.

wasting money to buy ‘so cheap’ car like this, bcz ‘the expensive’ onw qill come out later.

buying a car not a good investment like property or get a wife. but when u buying a car over tha rm100K in Malaysia, you are very rich. akekekeke…

but, lot of wealthyman now buy proton bcz they said no body know they are rich and want to robe them.

akekekeke…..just buy a cheap car and use it until you die or the car die.

• Wealthyman also buy exp car because of safety and of course la not good investment compared to house.The only investment is quality and comfort.:D

• Wealthyman don’t even look/ care about the price, just bring their finger & point I want this model~ Then Cash it~ ha ha ha~

• Hideaki on Jul 16, 2010 at 10:48 am

Not so futuristic design… but nice as family sedan

• dukeKTM on Jul 16, 2010 at 10:50 am

I wish there is a manual transmission available…. I miss the fun of shifting and heel and toeing with all this auto or CVT gearboxes now in most new cars…

• talking bout manual, remind me of a guy who say a bunch of things that there is no such things as torque converter in a CVT from last lancer post.

wondering if hes(or she) here…

• _xXx_ on Jul 16, 2010 at 10:50 am

The same old CVT sh!t again….cummon MMM, I am waiting for the 6MT!!!

• What makes you call CVT “shit” when you see an increasing number of new vehicles utilizing this technology? Change the gearbox if you want!

• _xXx_ on Jul 16, 2010 at 5:07 pm

Hey, take a look at my posting vote now, 4 vs 3.

• greasemonkey on Jul 16, 2010 at 9:34 pm

CVT is shit because of cost of repair,giving u a heart attack! DSG is much more
        complicated compare to CVT.

• theanswer on Jul 16, 2010 at 4:24 pm

old cvt? now i wonder whether u came from the future. n btw, some of us still didnt understand why imported cars didnt come in manual tranny here.

• Not a bad addition considering the 1.8 Civic just came up with an L version.

• donno on Jul 16, 2010 at 10:53 am

Wait for the new proton in 2 months time, or get the way cooler Kia Forte.

• theanswer on Jul 16, 2010 at 4:25 pm

i think new waja will be using 1.6 engine. p1 dont have new 2.0 engine.

• alldisc on Jul 17, 2010 at 9:13 am

in my knowledge… 1.6 and 1.8.
        1.6 is campro. 1.8 is sourced from mitsu

• proton KGB on Jul 16, 2010 at 9:10 pm

new waja also look like this :-) with 40k cheaper :-) go buy proton :-D

• Imran on Jul 16, 2010 at 10:56 am

1st post..heheh

• _xXx_ on Jul 16, 2010 at 5:14 pm

Can’t believe still there are idiots who thought their posting is 1st when they see nothing is posted.

• dukenborg on Jul 16, 2010 at 6:35 pm

So not, sucker! Heheheh

• Black Dog on Jul 16, 2010 at 10:56 am

But some news report says that the new Waja might be based on the Lancer, no?

• waterman on Jul 16, 2010 at 7:48 pm

i’m thinking the same way.. will this lancer design are more closer to the new waja replacement?

• proton KGB on Jul 16, 2010 at 9:11 pm

true…it is confirmed

• wochomi on Jul 16, 2010 at 10:58 am

For RM3000 more… I think the GT version is a better choice. The missing stuffs is what makes the Lancer more attractive than the Altis or Civic or Forte. Well, Lancer is definitely not the kind of car that strips down and makes you excited.

• waterman on Jul 16, 2010 at 7:53 pm

since they can put keless entry and go… how much it cost for a push start button to make it more complete?? seriously get in to the car keylessly and start the engine by rotating the key-alike to start engine is like “f-king but canot get orgasm”

• is this going to be the waja replacement look in Oct 2010 with much lower specs?

• linear_system on Jul 16, 2010 at 11:03 am

is this lancer model will still be sold after proton produce their wajalancer later?

• proton KGB on Jul 16, 2010 at 9:15 pm

mitsubishi know that after new waja release in market…Lance GT n Lancer EX will go tak laku..thats why they release this car early 3 month than new waja…desperate move :-) so ppl that cannot sabar and buy this car will menyesal laa 3 month later :-D

• alldisc on Jul 17, 2010 at 9:18 am

i dont think so it will be like that. the mitsu will serve as premium ‘waja’ having all higher specs like 2.0 and CVT and or cos the evo version.

• littlefire on Jul 16, 2010 at 11:08 am

Bro, Also gone are the GT’s 18-inch alloys, replaced by 16-inch items wrapped with 206/60 Yokohama touring rubber.

I think they have 205/60 tyre only, where got 206 size?

• michelin on Jul 16, 2010 at 11:11 am

very nice car.. and models too..

• WTF? Selling old model as new is blasphemy.

• Lancer EX in SG is 1.5 version. This version makes the price difference minimal.

• kurikuri on Jul 16, 2010 at 11:16 am

twin brother for waja replacement i guess…

• azrai on Jul 16, 2010 at 11:16 am

So it’s uncle’s Lancer? Wonder what will happened when proton debadge this lancer become 1.8l engine version.

• alldisc on Jul 17, 2010 at 9:20 am

wonder no more. there will be many and many waja owners converting to evo X bodykit.

half cut shops can already start to bring in them!! ha ha ha good business!! :D

• azrai on Jul 19, 2010 at 12:10 pm

But starting next year no more chop business. The g already cease the imported part from other country.

• emeline on Jul 16, 2010 at 11:24 am

Price OKAY, but…design…

• generalhoho on Jul 16, 2010 at 11:26 am

Forte’s keyless ‘key’ is nicer than this! hehehehe

• mohd hafizzul dorifuto on Jul 16, 2010 at 11:29 am

Yak bok tam…harga boleh blah laaaa…

• nice changes. at least the Ah beng factor is a bit tone down….stock standard GT is too ah beng lehh……

• lance on Jul 16, 2010 at 11:37 am

wow…nice car with nice price…

• Seriously on Jul 16, 2010 at 11:39 am

more for the ladies eh?

• alldisc on Jul 17, 2010 at 9:22 am

actually, more for people who doesnt bother so much with big alloy wheels and sport body kits but rather just a decent drive.

MMM is targeting people who buys Nissan Sylphy and the likes. Its just marketing strategy.

• White Jack on Jul 16, 2010 at 11:40 am

This is the best car choice at this price point. Lots of goodies and features pack in this EX variant.. 2.0 engine with 16″ rim pick up must be very good la :)

• BEAUTIFUL GIRLS PLS!!!

• WinterAngeLs on Jul 16, 2010 at 11:42 am

Nice sets of equipments added, but there is an opportunity cost. Choosing either the GT or EX will force owners to give up some equipments since there is no full spec Lancer. May be MMM should come up with a full spec Lancer. By the way, owners could always install aftermarket parts. Good job!

• jerami klaxon on Jul 16, 2010 at 11:45 am

i have been waiting for something like this since it first appeared… must go see it in the flesh now! the package sounds good!

• wajalution on Jul 16, 2010 at 11:51 am

Why mitsu still introduce new model at the time when Proton will introduce the Proton Lancer?

• Peter on Jul 16, 2010 at 1:50 pm

Of cos wad….Since Proton gona release Proton Lancer…Why don’t they come in and sell first….Then when Proton Lancer comes in…..They will most likely pull up and sell them as rebadge to Proton wad….Guess it might make more money???

ahaha

• PakAbu on Jul 16, 2010 at 4:17 pm

I think the new arrangement with proton is NOT “exclusive” anymore like Saga and Wira. That time, Mitsu couldn’t bring in the same models so as not to compete with the local variants. Then they realised that so many people want the ‘original’ thing — wiralution, wajalution ;-)
      Some even willing to buy recond ones through the gray importers.

So, there’s money to be made.

Why not grab the chance, yes?

• nak laku cepat jual la rega mcm forte 1.6 sx hehehe

• 47ronin on Jul 17, 2010 at 1:34 am

if new lancer price is set at the same level with Kia Forte, it’ll degrade the mitsubishi brand. In other words, “tak ade rase mahal la” for those who bought lancer.

• alldisc on Jul 17, 2010 at 9:24 am

i see more of forte 2.0 rather than the bland 1.6. still, forte was not a real success. i heard sales had slowed down.

• otobott on Jul 24, 2010 at 5:25 pm

susah 4 other brands to sell here bcos most malaysian still coward, buying car still needed to think resale value la tu la ..want cheap like kancil at same time want quality like Beemer and Merc. Maybe thats why car makers not interested to give best spec for malaysian market.

• looks beautiful…and the seats look pretty comfy : )

• gavin on Jul 16, 2010 at 12:08 pm

very sayang the tranmission is like a scooter, i think there needs the most improvement

• Same as proton lancer… what they thinking?

• Hopefully Waja lancer dont look like this!!!

• proton KGB on Jul 16, 2010 at 9:29 pm

Same as proton lancer (new waja) but rm40k more expensive…better buy new waja…

• Water Kulas on Jul 16, 2010 at 12:12 pm

Waja Lancer , when ?

• proton KGB on Jul 16, 2010 at 9:18 pm

maybe this oktober…whatever it is ..it must be this year…confirmed :-D sabar sikit jer..pasni u mesti puas hati…

• 4agze on Jul 16, 2010 at 12:17 pm

i can smell the new waja is probably more or less like this

• jerami klaxon on Jul 16, 2010 at 12:29 pm

just wondering, is the mivecs engine a “single VVT” of “dual VVT” equivalent? Paul’s posting sometime in 2007 mentioned it as “dual VVT equivalent”, Mitsu website tho mentioned only the intake is variable. Clarification appreciated.

Cheers

• PakAbu on Jul 17, 2010 at 10:48 am

According to wikipedia:

The 4B1 engine family is the first to have the continuously variable valve timing MIVEC system applied not only to its intake valves but also to its exhaust valves. The intake and exhaust cam timing is continuously independently controlled and provide four optimized engine operating modes

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mitsubishi_4B1_engine

Hope this helps. :-)

• jerami klaxon on Jul 19, 2010 at 1:56 pm

Thanks PakAbu, I agree with you, many info elsewhere says dual-vvt kind of set-up. The mitsu brochure though doesn’t clearly confirm this (or rather makes a confusing statement about it… at least to me).

NEway, I think it doesn’t matter now because I actually test drove the car (GT though) for a short distance yesterday and simply put, it doesn’t suit me. The main reason is the engine which tends to be vocal while picking up and moving off from stand still. I am the type of driver who prefers low NVH from the engine and this Lancer just doesn’t suit my taste… and yes, I am “uncleish” by nature. If u r wondering what NVH levels I am talking about, well I had the pleasure (and good fortune) to get a brand new Perdana as a company car many years ago and the quietness of its engine still lingers on till today.
        I didn’t bother assessing other factors of the Lancer once my gut feeling tells me … “Naah, this just isn’t for me”.

Cheers everyone.

• bayern on Jul 16, 2010 at 12:30 pm

i heard waja will be replace by lancer fortis not lancer gt

• carsut on Jul 16, 2010 at 12:41 pm

wait for the new waja lancer, hope it comes with the manual shifting.. yum yum

• proton KGB on Jul 16, 2010 at 9:31 pm

new waja b-line will have manual transmission…and h-line will have paddle shifter like lancer gt…cool :-D

• Its just a knee jerk reaction from mitsu and honda due to launching of forte and cruze…people should realize their price is exorbitant!

• geronimo on Jul 16, 2010 at 12:45 pm

This will give Honda Civic 1.8 VTi-L run for its money.

• 47ronin on Jul 17, 2010 at 1:38 am

how come run out of money, Malaysia got so many Uncle H worshipper, need proof?
      see on the road itself.

• pultat on Jul 16, 2010 at 12:45 pm

Nice interior. Wait for Honda_Civic to come in and say Honda’s are the best in the world…

• Thirtyone on Jul 16, 2010 at 12:47 pm

Probably MItsubishi Malaysia wants to push off all its existing stocks before the Proton version comes out. Mitsu,is this the way to treat your loyal customers by rebadging your Lancer. Guess making money is more important customer loyalty.

• _GHOST_ on Jul 16, 2010 at 1:19 pm

CAPITALISM AT ITS BEST !!

• x-vios on Jul 16, 2010 at 1:52 pm

Loyal customers are willing to let them make the money. Welcome to the real commercial world. Test your own loyalty first.

• this car is not meant for a family sedan. if it is, the seat shouldn’t be in white or light color because the kids are really naughty, they can spill everything on the seat.

• Ed Norton on Jul 16, 2010 at 2:55 pm

Ok kids.. bring out the crayons :-)

• alldisc on Jul 17, 2010 at 9:27 am

for a 100K sedan, this is actually more like an executive sedan. erm, the junior execs laa… senior execs go for lancer GT. and directors go for lancer evo!!

• having the 16′ rims makes the cost ow ownership much lower. Anyway, to me the previous 18′ was a bit of an overkill.

• New Hyundai Fan on Jul 16, 2010 at 12:59 pm

May be want to clear the old stock by doing some minor modification before Proton launches their new Lancer? Those who still want to buy the Lancer are either not aware of new Lancer coming from Proton & regret later for paying so much money or they don’t mind paying more to get the original model which they think is of better quality than the one made by Proton. If they really don’t mind paying more, then should wait for the new Avante which looks more attractive & sportier than Lancer.

• i think avante look ugly…

• cannonball on Jul 19, 2010 at 4:07 pm

don’t simply said something is ugly la…
        there’s no 100% accuracy to judge what is beautiful and what is ugly..
        u can simply said “not ur taste, or not so good looking”
        unless u r totally mad of the looks and makes u canot say things politely..

if u r ugly.. ppl walk on the street and tell u, hey u r ugly.. u will cry for that..

• Phoon on Jul 16, 2010 at 2:07 pm

Under the hood is the now familiar 4B11 2.0-litre engine with 153 bhp and 199 Nm of torque.

Paul, here is wrong typo. is 155 not 153.
    Thanks.

• Vincent on Jul 16, 2010 at 2:07 pm

3 K diff with for a new model that target normal sedan market instead of the sporty look sedan?

I don’t think it justify this kind of move….

RM117K, people will consider civic and altis

• Motorist on Jul 16, 2010 at 2:26 pm

Beg to differ.

I rather have this Mitsu than a Civic or Altis (not just based on price point).

• KL fella on Jul 16, 2010 at 3:53 pm

second that.

i own a 1.8 civic year 06. then came the mitsu lancer 2.0 GT. if only i had waited longer, i wouldn’t mind forking out extra 7k to get the lancer (lancer 2.0 GT when it was first launched was priced at RM120k as far as i remember).

• Vincent on Jul 16, 2010 at 5:28 pm

In general, market go for Lancer because of the Evo look. Most buyer will make the car be evo 10 wanabi ….

To have Lancer EX, and cheaper by RM few K… I wonder it is a right move…

Let the sales qty speak.

• yippi33 on Jul 16, 2010 at 2:34 pm

its nice to see that dealers in msia are starting to bring in ICEs with GPS built -in..starting with nissan and now MMM..in other words, great improvement in the spec sheet..not to forget Forte (bundle of features)… but ill bet T & H wont include the higher spec in their product lines..premium price with cikai spec is their policy…cekik darah punyer olang..

• Saddy on Jul 16, 2010 at 2:44 pm

I am a fan of lancer GT but honestly this one is ugly.

Look at the combination!! Grey seat + grey door trim + blackdash ? Look at that door…what were you thinking MMM?

I guess the good things about this version is the Touch Screen Sat-Nav + KeyLess Entry + Cruise Control.

Lookwise? GT is way better…even civic, altis, forte, mazda 3 are better…

SadSad MMM

• i agree w you that the interior colour combi is out but i dont think the exterior is ugly. GT is nice but difficult to accomodate the taste of all segment of drivers..dont u think GT is too ah beng? side by side stock std comparison w civic fd2 & u will notice the ah beng look of the GT. it is different if u r refering to evo or type R civic….there it caters to a selected segment of “drivers” w that oommph factor..& passion.

• Jason on Jul 17, 2010 at 1:39 am

Well Saddy I agree with you that interior of the EX does not provides us the smooth combination feeling.

As for KK, the subject is about the look of the car not the taste of different segment customer.

the GT gives people the feeling that it is a sport sedan without trying too hard to be one. I dont think the look is ‘Ah Beng’..the ah beng factor is a different story, i think it is safe to say that ‘ah beng’ cars are more for those who pimped their rides (I am sure you have seen an Ah Beng BMW or Merc too)

• JASON, mind sharing why u think it doesnt look ah beng in RELATIVE term. we compare cars before buying, dont u? dont u agree the EX is a bit tone down on the ah beng factor? it certainly appeals more for the ladies now RELATIVELY. look doesnt involve taste for a car or vice versa?? BMW & MBenz ah beng? ah beng tendencies towards / = jap cars. just my 2 cents worth.

• 47ronin on Jul 17, 2010 at 1:45 am

hmmm, frankly speaking, lancer is DEFINITELY meant for ah bengs.
        If they cant get the real lancer, they’ll definitely “ah-beng it”.

need proof? see a lot of wirabeng on the road. so sad. later this year, wajalancerbeng. XD

• 48ronin on Jul 19, 2010 at 10:42 pm

aiya people cant afford a real lancer can only admire…dun laugh at people leh

• sundayman on Jul 21, 2010 at 11:47 am

kind of agree with you

in US, if you drive a car with a big spoiler, u might ended up in ICU with hundreds of stitches.

the people there will beat you up in the name of anti-ricer / anti riceboy

ha ha ha

• Barkcrack on Jul 16, 2010 at 2:57 pm

ahahaha many people hoping Proton will release Waja-Lancer. Imagine if Proton change mind and then rebadge Vios. Sure Malaysian will burn Proton factory

• jaguarXJ on Jul 16, 2010 at 8:42 pm

HAHAHAHAHAHA!GOOD POINT

• proton KGB on Jul 16, 2010 at 9:24 pm

not that uglu-baloon-dugong vios.. even saba blm is better looks that vios…please laa :-D ppl pay more for ugliness!!!

• 47ronin on Jul 17, 2010 at 1:48 am

not only they burn the factory, they even kill dugong the mammals which frankly speaking got no relation at all with vios dugong. hahahaha.

• Kwing on Jul 16, 2010 at 3:09 pm

seiously, y bother bring in ES @ 117k when GT @ 120K, not sure who would buy this version, this is a much cheper version than GT in every other country. In Aust, this shld be VR & GT is VRX,.

• nighttrain on Jul 16, 2010 at 3:20 pm

wait for the 1.8 walan lor.. RM80-85k.

• naiklg on Jul 16, 2010 at 3:28 pm

I think, this is mitsubishi`s strategic before new replacement waja coming.. good =p

• i believe the center unit is the same with the one i”ve bought from China before, look exactly the same except a little bit different with the user interface.

• imexa on Jul 16, 2010 at 3:50 pm

RM3k difference w/o GT ‘Nappa’ leather seat, 18″ alloy wheel & wing spoiler…..don’t think it’ll impress & attract…majority will still go for GT….

• Maserati on Jul 16, 2010 at 3:57 pm

Sorry this car sucks.. Test drove b4 , materials all cheapskate with a terrible engine but at least its better thn fortes 2.0 . The good thing about this car is handling. Other thn that, nt worth da monies

• Since the day I get to know about Lancer, i do not feel anything special from the exterior..not even this latest version. so bored design…look at the front..so damn bored

• sunilbathan on Jul 16, 2010 at 4:48 pm

bro, new waja will be based on current chevy aveo

• corolla_KE70 on Jul 16, 2010 at 6:40 pm

this car suits the boy-racer who is going to become a father.. more subtle, kinda relaxed appereance..

• clemenza on Jul 16, 2010 at 6:56 pm

For this price..better go for sylphy..more advanced tech..xtonic cvt

• 47ronin on Jul 17, 2010 at 1:54 am

bro, different target market la, sylphy for family oriented. Lancer is for “Gila-gila Remaja”

• vertigo on Jul 16, 2010 at 7:40 pm

drop the CVT lahhhh

• proton KGB on Jul 16, 2010 at 8:45 pm

mmber aku from proton ckp mcm nie la waja replacement model….dorang dah siap dah kereta waja tu tuu…tp mmg based on lancer..itu dah confirm x sabar nak beli :-D

• looks like this new waja? ooh no…. go buy ford fortie…. ha ha ha…. ;p

• akupunya on Jul 16, 2010 at 9:13 pm

this version is suitable for old man and women like the british called proton car in 80’s.outdated model

• MITSUBISHI WE WANT MANUAL VERSION NOT CRAP AUTO TRANSMISSION CAR!!!

• kiasu on Jul 17, 2010 at 12:33 am

Proton new waja, lancer re sale masuk longkang, but again, this is CBU with Japanese QC, not Proton “janji bokeh jalan QC. So, its the price you may need to pay. Yes, Lancer shld take in 6MT, sure jual habis…….boring, Civic, Altis, etc all auto. Apa ni?

• 47ronin on Jul 17, 2010 at 1:57 am

you got any share in mitsu ka? bandwidth narrowband saje mau dictate itu ini.

• true!!!

• alldisc on Jul 17, 2010 at 9:38 am

encik S16,

try to get in auto business (by selling new car with warranty & after sales service) and your research will show that the number of people capable and wanting to buy a manual spec is rather low. very very low indeed.

shall i say 5 out of 100?? the percentage is just too low – its not worth it from franchise holders to sell the manual spec.

its like selling sate ayam and sate kambing only the price is a lot higher. At over 100K, majority buyers and prospects are those who are living in big cities (KL, JB, P, I) and are often caught in jams and prefer thinking while driving rather than shifting.

dont believe me? do some research at how many manual cars are there in the 100-200K segment??

• none in Malaysia!!! ha ha ha

• Grandpa alldisc,
        Only uncle & auntie,lazy drivers wan Auto car.

do some research at how many manual cars are there in the 100-200K segment??
        Many Manual cars within the range,did u do your own research?
        More & more accidents occur nowadays thanks to these lazy driver to rely on brake & acc.
        If the car design look sporty,then shall follow sporty concept,manual shifting.
        S’pore road also always jammed,y they still import manual version?Auto Car M’sia nowadays think only profit not safety just liked our Gov.Tink…

• but still got rich ppl buy….. u can c Camry & Accord more than bicycles here …..

• S16, perhaps you can enlighten us as to the cars which fall under this price range (RM100K to RM200K) with a manual transmission but exclude the Boy Racer cars like the Evo, Subaru and Civic R

• 2ndStage on Jul 17, 2010 at 7:49 am

i wonder, how many chicks will attach to me if i afford to get a car like this??

yum yum~~

but in reality, i’m just a lame guy without car. ufufufufufu..

• wochomi on Jul 18, 2010 at 12:47 am

Don’t worry. Lots of guys here comment how ugly a car is, but they themselves don’t and can’t own one. Guys who think SAGA BLM is a full sized sedan and there are genius who can compare numbers from brochures like some debate team captain. Better own the chicks instead! Cheers, dude.

As for Waja replacement model…. you’ll get to peek at it through a hole in a box like the last time around. Unless you rip the box apart.

• takhabis2 on Jul 19, 2010 at 3:27 pm

those who gave lame comment and critisized blindly are stupid and no brain at all! they just see the cons on the car without thinking is the car they are driving rite now is better or not…entah2 diaorang tu just naik kancil or something like that…huh…bodoh!

• blackJKX on Jul 17, 2010 at 11:11 am

16inc rims not good

• I own a GT and I don’t think EX is cheaper even with extras given,the missing 18in rims and tires,front grille and back spoiler will cost at least 6k and extras given are not expensive and we don’t really need….guys go for the GT! EX looks “UNCLElish”…..

• Lancer007 on Jul 17, 2010 at 2:06 pm

rear brake ventilated only???not so cun la

• Jules on Jul 17, 2010 at 9:19 pm

What happened to GLS?

• 1kereta on Jul 18, 2010 at 3:21 am

instead of calling it new variant, they should call it minor facelift, nothing much new to get excited with….

• I am currently shopping for a replacement for my Vios. I went to have look yesterday .. but was left wanting. Reason

1. Customer Service : MMM needs to buck up. The salesperson at SS2 branch was less than interested (and i was the ONLY person in the showroom) to attend to my questions. He looks sleepy and was just quiet almost through-out the short test drive. By the way, the showroom wasn’t even lit at that time ..

2. Test Drive – I asked for the EX and was told that i could only try the GT … this is pure nonsense and unacceptable. This was the same problem with Kia and their 2.0 Forte. Worst still, the car was utterly disappointing picking up from 0km/h and the engine was literally screaming (for mercy??) while being floored.

Note; test drive IS CRUCIAL before buyers decide how to part with their hard earned money. People don’t just buy based on what’s on the specs sheet and how sweet the sales pitch was. It may not be the deciding factor to some people, but to some, that’s as important as the car itself.

3. The car : I wasn’t impressed at all save for its size. The resolution of the screen looks low and buttons fiddly. The grey leather seats already had stains (and it was only day 2 of the car… imagine one year on). So basically the new EX offers a different proposition. I don’t see the point in the end except for the few cosmetic changes from the GT.

out of my shopping list …

• manulovetohate on Jul 18, 2010 at 11:34 am

piece of advice for those who keeps on saying to go for waja lancer

• manulovetohate on Jul 18, 2010 at 11:42 am

DO YOU STILL BELIEVE IN PROTON?

n for those keep on asking for MT, GT’s shift paddle gives you F1 driving feeling, way better than manual gear knob shifting – n the feeling you get is totally different

test drive it, n you’ll be amazed.

btw, the best part of EX variant is touch screen 2 din ICE with GPS. Anybody know where can i change my GT’s player for the touch screen?

• want manual bcos cheaperfor few K only…. not bocs really want manual~~~ ha ha ha

• want manual bcos cheaper for few K only…. not bcs really want manual~~~ ha ha ha

• Kiang on Jul 22, 2010 at 1:27 pm

manulovetohate: I know where u can get the ICE. Please drop me an e-mail =) Thanks!

• bazet on Jul 18, 2010 at 12:21 pm

i outrunned E39 525i + steptronic with 18’s GT and paddle shift @ Karak Highway

Still I prefer my 5mt manual from NEO, but the CVT on 2.0 GT is fun, way much fun than 5 speed Steptronic in E39

• never have chance to drive E39 525i not comment….. i also like hatch or satria Neo type cars, but my dad don’t like it “Old Man who pay”…. so cannot but it…. If P1 can work with WV, produce Goft GTi/ Scirocco sell it at Less than RM90k no matter how my dad complaint i also save move to buy one from P1…

• Jimmy on Jul 18, 2010 at 6:57 pm

120K and yet no telescopic steering, just like Nissan. Zzzzzz

• i like this one

“bro, new waja will be based on current chevy aveo”

hahahah, it made my day,akkakaka

• Went to see this car in a showroom. Impressive. Since i dont like those spoiler and staff, and this car in Black is real cool.

The downside, its high chance that proton will re-badge this car in 1.8L and lower the price to like RM80K, and the 2.0L at RM100K.

After all this years, it shows Proton really cant make it, and why not they just become a dealer of Mitsu. What national program? so many people bankrupt due to car loan. Its time to free up the market so the car price and dropped drastic, and the consumer noneed to pay so much in car. Cant believe our car price is more expensive than an Island of HK!

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Aug 23, 2010 at 3:48 am

it looks like a great white shark

you like ? i like !!

• anand on Aug 31, 2010 at 9:33 pm

The new Waja will not be the same with Lancer. Will it have the 1800KG for more safety body. We buy cars for safety not for racing. Why don’t try to bang the new WAJA and LANCER head-on and see which one has the most defects. Don’t think Mitsubishi will give everything to Proton. If not they will be at the losing side.

• oh no … my lancer ex ……………
    i guess only lancer ex owners will understand my feelings ////