ETCM launches 1.6L Nissan Sentra tuned by Impul

The Nissan Sentra was first unveiled to the world in the year 2000 and for some reason it is still soldiering on in our market, keeping the latest new style headlamp facelift first shown to the world in 2004, even though its ‘replacement’ the Sylphy is already on sale.

First introduced in Malaysia in December 2000, the Sentra has been around for 9 and a half years and by the end of this year it would mark a decade that the Sentra has been sold on our shores. That’s a seriously long time for a non-Malaysian make to be sold here. A normal car typically has a 5 year lifecycle while more upmarket cars like BMW and Mercedes-Benz have 7 year lifecycles. There are currently over 47,000 units of the Sentra on our roads.

The latest ‘update’ to the Sentra is the new Nissan Sentra tuned by Impul, which equips the Sentra with some Impul bits and pieces. You get a complete Impul aerokit which features a new front grille, front and rear bumper lips, side skirts and a rear wing. You also get an Impul sports suspension system which drops the ride height by around 25mm.

At the rear end you get an Impul Blast II Exhaust Muffler which is made of polished stainless steel. The wheels are 16 inch Impul FS-16 alloy wheels with a bronze finish. Of all these Impul components, only the 16 inch wheels are imported from Japan, while the rest are ‘localized’.

Here’s the prices for the Impul Sentra:

• Impul Sentra 1.6L MT Comfort – RM94,500
  • Impul Sentra 1.6L MT Luxury – RM98,500
  • Impul Sentra 1.6L AT Comfort – RM98,600
  • Impul Sentra 1.6L AT Luxury – RM102,600

These prices are actually quite a margin over a ‘regular’ Sentra. For example a Sentra 1.6L MT Comfort goes for RM86,750 OTR with insurance in Peninsular Malaysia. That’s a RM7,750 premium for all the Impul stuff. But if for some reason you really want a Sentra with an Impul kit it’s cheaper to buy the pre-packaged Impul version than add the bodykit for RM3,000, the grille for RM800, the wheels for RM4,000, the tyres for RM1,200, the wheel nuts for RM250, the suspension for RM2,500, and the exhaust muffler for RM1,800.

But really, we come back to the question of WHY? And how long more do you think the Sentra will soldier on in Malaysia?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• takin on Jul 20, 2010 at 1:02 am

just saw it at the sunway pyramid ;)

• I’m a Nissan fan, but even I think the local Sentra needed to die. 3 years ago to be exact.

An Impul-tuned Sentra is just not necessary.

• torque on Jul 24, 2010 at 10:24 pm

Agreed! I myself, used to work for TC. Don’t get me wrong, I drove one from their PDI. Very smooth and nice car, I love it…infact it’s better than my Vios but SERIOUSLY?!! An Impul Sentra? Another joke like TRD Vios? Come on…f**kin’ change it already la TC…new Sentra model pls!

• impul “tuned” = impul “money cheating kit”
      ah beng’s shop can do a better and real tune job, and cheaper.

ridiculously pricedfor a 1.6, especially for a 10yrs old design, with dead axle rear suspension.

more ridiculously, there are people who actually bought it.

• JKucing on Jul 20, 2010 at 1:04 am

Aduh, still selling Sentra ar? can fight with P1 already… Bring in Teana better…

• lancer2010 on Jul 20, 2010 at 1:05 am

for me it looks boring and outdated. regardless for the engine capacity etc, i much prefer honda city, little in price and strong resale value.

• call me old fashioned but for me sentra looks much more like a saloon with proper saloon proportions, not sumthg tat looks like the front doesnt match the back and henceforth (*hint*) and its look is “evergreen” meaning the look lasts (unlike some shapes at first few glance very captivating but not appealing anymore after a while) and ppl who buy this car buy it for its reliability, durability and road worthiness hence buy it to drive for years to come, not buy it to resell… why sell at all when u are happy with it right (juz like the good ol sunny) and u dun need to waste money changing cars (HP interest is not cheap nowadays)…

• ppp ma man, you gotta be kidding.. I own a N16, i cannot deny the engine is great… but handling is totally out! This is the car that make me never to consider NISSAN anymore! Eff u TCM. I need to buy their absorbers from S’pore to get a decent ride. Those who own N16 would know what i’m talking about when ferrying ppl in their “lovely” Sentra. yes? I drove many cars (my job comes with a company car), i can conclude that any proton handles better than NISSAN. See! i’m comparing a proton to nissan!!! sad…. btw, this N16 lower arm is also another issue… bloddy hell.. bikin lim peh susah nia! My N16 is lucky b’cos my dad loves it.. otherwise, i would have ditch it for a “perdana”!. Cheers mate!

• errr… no, i had driven ppl around in my “lovely” Sentra before and mmm… dunno wat u talking abt? and dun compare proton’s handling lah, proton handles better than any other jap makes (of similar capacity) and i own both a Wira and a Sentra and i’m not sad

• Bro.. i dunno which year is your N16 but all my friends who owns it…. share the same probs with me, and I’m sure you experienced your car bottoms out when you ride over bad roads, railroad tracks or other humps when you carry 2 adults at the back. yes?

• mine is the current model, the Sentra Sport, got it in July 2009, and not really, dun feel the “bottoming out” coz not only i carry more than 2 adults at the back, every week i carry 10x10kgs in my boot or with 2 adults + 5x10kgs in my boot, and i had 7 ppl in the car once and still comfy enuf for all (5adults+ 2kids) and no feeling of “bottoming out”… cheerio!

• yes..the design of Nissan Sentra is so evergreen..
        engine and handling performance is average but reliable.
        and lastly maintainance cost is very low.

• Alvin Ng on Jul 20, 2010 at 1:08 am

Awfuly long car….but still spacious and reliable.

• not spacious la. interior surprisingly small for its size.

• alvin ng on Jul 20, 2010 at 6:52 pm

oh… I used to think its more spacious than older generation vios and city.

• hukaka on Jul 20, 2010 at 1:11 am

something wrong with their mind,this car are almost 10 years old in market,still impul?
    and price are not competitive now days.

• Ericboy on Jul 20, 2010 at 1:11 am

I still likes the 1st generation sentra… more sporty look to me…. :-)

• hahahahahaahahaa

• klguy on Jul 20, 2010 at 1:19 am

mayb sentra wants to beat the saga of the saga

• nabill on Jul 20, 2010 at 1:22 am

is it trying to compete with saga for the longest lifespan of a vehicle ??

rediculous , its not value for money anymore,horribly inedequate in alot of areas , if it was sting like 10k cheaper for stock clearance sake thn maybe ok , bt at those price we jus have to lough at those who are gonna buy this !

• Elton on Jul 20, 2010 at 1:31 am

Wow.Expensive car with no engine or handling performance improvement.For some reason,I find Nissan quality is the poorest compared to other Japanese cars.IMOla

• gila gila kete on Jul 20, 2010 at 3:36 am

Elton says:
      20/7/2010 at 1:31 am
      Wow.Expensive car with no engine or handling performance improvement.For some reason,I find Nissan quality is the poorest compared to other Japanese cars.IMOla

how about skyline, silvia, cefiro etc. ???

• Hurm is stoopid thumb down if agree on Jul 20, 2010 at 1:03 pm

I think she probably a noob

• Elton on Jul 20, 2010 at 2:15 pm

When I said expensive,I meant this Sentra.Skyline and silvia i dono but my friend Cefiro is not as nice as camry.Check it out

• DiscoStick on Jul 21, 2010 at 12:05 am

agreed! skyline or whatever nissan lines are juz out-shone by its competitors. (Japs are still not my choice tho)

• Jeremy Clarkson on Jul 21, 2010 at 3:43 pm

(DiscoStick)

are u Lim Goh Tong’s son?? r u driving a Ferrari?? WoW!!

• mon,,kete ni la, aku rs ok gk

• Please stop it……..!!!!!
    Malaysian have enough of it…….!!!!

• kev, you the bro… i feel you man. I think potential car owner should or everyone in malaysia should try to boycott these carmaker. we start with TAN CHONG MOTORS. let’s see how 3 months without any sale could do to their business.. their shares will plunge for sure. get them a message that who is making them rich and sstupido. if this works, then we do it on any other car maker in Malaysia. ;)

• Continental driver on Jul 20, 2010 at 2:25 am

THey did a marketing survey that shown malaysian r stupid? LOL i can’t think of any other reason.

• grandis on Jul 20, 2010 at 2:28 am

Nissan Sunny legacy

• gila gila kete on Jul 20, 2010 at 3:13 am

the sentra b15 was a nice car, but it’s very old.
    when is the nissan sentra b16 sell in malaysia?
    why others country already have?
    why noy malaysia?

• ericmaxman on Jul 20, 2010 at 3:52 am

still thinking of “new” ways to clear off those old stock. but hey, remember the old formula, if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it.. there was really nothing really wrong with the older Sentra, but why this Impul one? I see Sylphy Impul, G.Livina Impul, which are understandable,as they are new, but trying to “impul-lise” a 10 year old car, is wrong..

btw, to those who doesn’t know, the B13 Sentra is still being sold, in Mexico, parts of Central America and South America. it’s called the Tsuru there.

• TCM got to many stock…..like it happen to sunny before

• TCM got too many stock to clear?? sell it at a cheaper price la… after all, nissan car has no resell value what.

• thomas on Jul 20, 2010 at 6:50 am

for Nissan fans as “collection item”,
    some more they trying to up-selling this “masterpiece” with impul tuning which i believe this will bring down impul image..

• chenslmy on Jul 20, 2010 at 6:55 am

Cannt think of a reason why they r still market this model ?

• K-Man on Jul 20, 2010 at 1:33 pm

there are people who still buy it. that’s why. maybe the readers here are more ‘advanced’ in their car tastes but we should not talk bad about others who prefer older stuff. it is their choice and they have their reasons for it.

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 20, 2010 at 6:59 am

Following in the footsteps of the notoriously long lived B11 Sunny.

Yes, they should let it die since they have the B/C sized Latio, but I suspect, that the Latio isn’t getting too many buyers….all I see are GL and Slyphys.

I for one can’t get comfortable behind the wheel of the Latio, but I feel ok driving the Sentra.

• Armchair critique.. on Jul 20, 2010 at 8:08 am

Yeap.. Tan Chong kept selling Sunny for at least 15 years!. The first model (the smaller rear headlamp) started sometime in 1981 and by 1996, you could still buy a brand new Nissan Sunny.

Now, Tan Chong is at it again. So we can expect another 5 more years for Sentra.

Btw, TC is also still selling decades old Nissan Vanette…

• K-Man on Jul 20, 2010 at 1:35 pm

the thing is, there are still buyers. if i were tan chong, and if there are still people buying my product which has already amortised the costs, why not keep selling it?

• Carneo on Jul 20, 2010 at 9:35 pm

My company still would like to look for new Nissan Vanette but sale person say it was not sold in Malaysia all the stock item was export to India, but finally still get one, it is because the new Urvan ia too big and difficult to go narrow parking lot end up the company van need to repaire so many time.

• redkde on Jul 20, 2010 at 7:00 am

come on…. this ancient car should go 5 years ago… haiya….

• U~ G~ L~ Y~

• Grandisan on Jul 20, 2010 at 8:06 am

ETCM might as well release Nissan Vannette Impul Sports Version as well to spruce up the lives of Pasar Malam traders hahaha seriously this Sentra is a rubbish old car , i owned one before and am glad to dispose of this bugger …. the suspension is horrible and car is very much underpowered ….

• nissan critic on Jul 20, 2010 at 6:44 pm

yea! NISSAN VANNETTE IMPUL SPORT VERSION will ROCK Kuala Lumpur roads…LMAO!!!

• it’s not really ugly…it’s just look ordinary….not outstanding..

• littlefire on Jul 20, 2010 at 8:21 am

I tot Latio is the 1 that replace sentra?!? There is another reason why… Need to clear old stock! Hahaha…

• 4G63tDSM on Jul 20, 2010 at 9:29 am

The actual replacement for the Sentra was the Slyphy.

Nissan products basically moved up 1/2 size, with the normally B segment Latio now in B/C size and that means the Slyphy got moved up 1/2 size class up.

The Latio is much larger than your typical B Segment Fit/City and Echo/Vios.

FWIW, I don’t find much faults with the Sentra. Its reliable, drives decent. I actually like it over the Latio.

• littlefire on Jul 21, 2010 at 8:11 am

Well not really… Slyphy is the one replacing the long time extinct bluebird series in Malaysia.. In the 90’s TCM still bring in the bluebird but due to some chinese if translate is a “faul” word… If u check the net, in Japan they still call it Bluebird Slyphy.. They bring in is to fight againts M.Lancer, Civic 2.0 & Altis.

For Sentra, they have new model both in Japan & USA and consider as cheaper option compare to Latio.. such like entry car like our Saga or Renault Logan.. So i think the actual price should be around RM40-50k for this car without tax.. You can go and ask TCM office in Langkawi and see.. :P

• littlefire on Jul 21, 2010 at 8:48 am

Sentra is call as Sunny in Japan.. Can check for that also..

• bro, this sentra is called BLUEBIRD SLYPHY in JAPAN. OK?

• You know I know on Jul 21, 2010 at 12:10 pm

just checked, sentra is selling at 66K in Langkawi for luxury automatic version, but not 40-50K like you said.

• littlefire on Jul 22, 2010 at 8:07 am

You should ask for the normal Sentra, they still left a lot of stock behind. Last time i in Langkawi, they give me around RM50k for the normal SG Automatic spec. Besides that, they often give a lot of discount until RM7k!

• Faisal on Jul 20, 2010 at 8:25 am

eeeyaaa so old n so not nice!!!

• BeemerFreak on Jul 20, 2010 at 8:34 am

Tan Chong should instead repeat what they did in Singapore, bring in the Dualis and GTR R35, that will get Nissan fans going, thats Nissan for the future. This piece of junk is a very funny joke.

• raybrig85 on Jul 20, 2010 at 9:01 pm

agreed..they should bring in the dualis…bet its gonna be a hot cake in here

• Either “Impul-ized” or “Nismo-nized” will pump up sales, huh?

• TC was saying to P1 .. u got Waja Special Edition.. i also got Sentra Impul :)

• sixtythree on Jul 20, 2010 at 9:00 am

whatever they do to it…its still an uncle’s car….TC with their pathetic Impul n UMW with their pathetic TRD….poor us Malaysian…has to lived with those crap!

• ETCM just want to make money, just please whatever provided to Singaporean and provided the same to Malaysian…

It is not Nissan problem, it is ETCM problem not bringing the latest and greatest Niasan to Malaysian…

• The Loner on Jul 20, 2010 at 11:37 am

ETCM maybe having approval problem for vehicles from JPJ. Like the Nissan Navara and its Navara Calibre. What on earth those authority people doing in approving new vehicles to be sold in Malaysia, Navara 6MT avaiable a year after 5AT launched. Calibre took another year to be available for sale.

• Seriously on Jul 20, 2010 at 9:12 am

Seriously?

• dukeKTM on Jul 20, 2010 at 9:23 am

I’ll buy it with the MT if the price is below 70k… but for 90k > we can get far more better and some more newly introduced car… like the fiesta…

• Trans on Jul 20, 2010 at 9:07 pm

come on man even 70K better you buy waja than this stupid car la!

• zacke on Jul 20, 2010 at 9:27 am

Company like Nasim has been creative and done well when they brought in the 308 at an amazing price for the spec offered.

Now uncle Tan Chong is trying to do the opposite… I think TC is too old to run business…

• Actually, the old man is gone, and the sons are the ones runnning the business, so I heard.

• zacke, i agree… that’s why we shud show TCM who is the boss.. boycott TCM, boycott TCM..

• Hey.. its only a 10 year old model la.. Perdana is far worst! So well done TC! Keep pushing old models for the malaysian market. Good thing i dont buy nissan and it has never been in my mind when choosing a new car. Latio will face the similar fate soon.

• Bronx on Jul 23, 2010 at 8:16 am

because you drive a persona!. They should import the latest sentra that is being sold in north america.

• Paul, you asked “But really, we come back to the question of WHY? And how long more do you think the Sentra will soldier on in Malaysia?

The answer is simple, cos there are still buyers who are still loyal (@ stupid) to buy such a car which has long outlived its shelf life.

The answer to why there are such loyal (@ stupid) buyers is another discussion all togethre.

• have you ever considered durability, reliability, good engine, and i think Paul mentioned before one of the best VTC ever??? hhmmmpphhh! new doesnt mean is good okay, and old basic models with minimum electronics means u worry less abt your car breaking down and dunno what is wrong! you still see ppl driving around in their nissan sunny oredi tells u sumthg abt their worthiness

• so dont call ppl stupid okay for choosing sumthg good tho old…

• what a stupid comment!!

• Wow I still wonder why they’re still selling this. Wonder if there is still a market for this car.

• K-Man on Jul 20, 2010 at 1:36 pm

there probably is. otherwise they wouldn’t continue selling it. or, still old kd packs lying around that need to be cleared off.

• trav_da_man on Jul 20, 2010 at 9:49 am

This could be the nissan sunny for today’s Malaysians. Old tech made worse by pathetic pricing. This supposed to be replaced by Latio but looks like the Latio is not successful afterall.

Shame on ETCM……..

• alldisc on Jul 20, 2010 at 12:24 pm

any wonder why nissan almost went bankrupt in the earlly millenium??

lucky Renault come to the rescue…

Tan Chong is struggling not only to compete with T & H, but also grey importers who bring in Skyline, GTR and Murano at very cheap prices. pity them. The only way for survival is to sell good products at cheap prices – Nissan high reliability is well known after all.

• no. you are wrong. latio is a segment B player. sylphy is a segment C car. sylphy should have made the sentra redundant.

• ETCM are trying to clear their old stock

• don’t understand why they call it “tuned” since there’s is no improvement on performance except for suspension..lol

• New Hyundai Fan on Jul 20, 2010 at 10:23 am

Poor ETCM. Sentra already has a new generation selling at other countries since few years ago but Malaysia is still selling this old generation model. Really don’t understand what their business strategy is. Still got people want to buy this old model which is outdated & expensive?

• timber8115 on Jul 20, 2010 at 10:26 am

nissan sentra = proton wira. :)

• Trinity on Jul 20, 2010 at 10:30 am

TC has not much choice. It faces a lot of contraint in bring new models due to prohibitive policy by the gov with TC being a chinese owned company. Try asking the industry’s insider on this.

• I am glad there are some people who know part of the reason why they are not doing as well as the others.

• wrong! ever heard of berjaya? mazda? ding dong!

• You know I know on Jul 20, 2010 at 2:09 pm

It is true. As a businessman, you are sure excited to bring in new model to boost up your sales. Surveys have shown that the sales for the car will increase when there are a brand new car for a particular model, for example in Honda Civic series.
      But have you wonder why TC didn’t follow this trend by bringing new model, it is not that Nissan never came out with new model?
      Do you think TC is so unwise to keep on selling the same thing even Nissan have new ones? After all, TC have been in this industry in Malaysia for very long.
      They must have noticed the goods and bads in this industry.
      Like Trinity said, it is because of the policy of the government. If they do not approve, what can you do? You think TC do not want to make it better? At the end, facelift and ‘Impul-nise’ is the only thing they can do, at least for now, while waiting for gov to approve for new car to come in.

• Spot on!

• Tiadaid on Jul 21, 2010 at 4:59 pm

Yeah right, it has got nothing to do with the fact that despite already launching a car with similar specs in the Latio they still continued selling the Sentra!They should have stopped selling those Sentra when the Latio came in, instead they soldiered on! Now they’re clearing the old stock by adding more accessories yet upped the price? Really? Instead of blaming the govt. I’m blaming it on poor PRODUCT PLANNING! They can do wrong too you know.

• Tiadaid on Jul 21, 2010 at 5:04 pm

And as for promotion-wise, Nissan TC pales in comparison with Toyota and Honda when it comes to promotions and advertising! Honda & Toyota surely spent more on advertising than them, thus ingraining their brands in the minds of would be buyers. Ask their target audience what Nissan stands for and I guarantee you they’ll say either GT-R for the young ones, or Vanette for the not-so-young ones. The current lineup sinks when it comes to the recognition test. So it’s more than just “Govt going against the Chinese-owned company” gambit.

• Tiadaid on Jul 22, 2010 at 10:25 am

Whoever gave this a thumbs down just simply can’t face facts. Always play the race card!

• PakAbu on Jul 22, 2010 at 11:42 am

And all this while I thought because of in-fighting between the two Tan brothers. Silly me.

;-)

• longjaafar on Jul 20, 2010 at 10:33 am

Somehow I feel there will be some gullible Malaysians who will buy the car. Our auto market is full of such people, and that is why some really good cars are unpopular and some lousy ones are snapped up. The government has a major part to play in this. For example, we tout ourselves as an auto producing nation, and yet we have the worst diesel in the region. On the roads, we have bad signage, poor maintenance, and laws are outdated and even whatever laws we have, are not enforced. We must be the only country in the world with the AP system, where the govt condones car buyers being ripped off by a few well connected people. It’s all so disgusting!

• Matthew on Jul 20, 2010 at 10:34 am

They are just trying to get rid of all these oldies away asap. Try to lure innocent buyers and trapped them in monthly installments. Sad case…

• meteoraniac on Jul 20, 2010 at 10:51 am

Its like giving facelift to a 10 years old Saga, who would be so dumb to do that..

oh wait…

• hukaka on Jul 20, 2010 at 11:11 am

sell it at RM 50k lot of ppl will buy.

• Nice car….. I like it…. I hope ETCM produce Xenon headlamps for Sentra….

• firza on Jul 20, 2010 at 11:24 am

reliable…..but outdated already…..should keep it only in the museum……

• altimate on Jul 20, 2010 at 11:27 am

TC boss to staff : “Squeeze somemore squeezee.. this sentra still got juice.. stop only when you see blood”

LOL

Whenever I see this sentra recently brand new on the road, i thought TC is just clearing old stocks.. how wrong was I.. they’re actually continuing production.. i just cant believe this… just because once upon time it was a best seller in the segment (non-national) ? :O

There could be many reasons why is this so.. who knows what TC is going through.. but inability to bring in fresh models quickly to the market is the fact why Nissan is not able to compete with the T & H..

I’m a fan of Nissan but I’ve lost hope with local dealership.. I’ll get my favourite Nissan model when I’m overseas.. until then, i’ll stick to T,H,P,P
    :P

• alldisc on Jul 20, 2010 at 12:26 pm

ha ha very funny indeed. corporate thinking anyone or just a blood-sucking business-minded organization??

low cost, max profit!!

• altimate san, you are speaka ma language!

• NISSAN needs to remove TC as their distributors and come in on their own..then we get to see interesting and new nissan models,having said that i think toyota must also come here and dump UMW.

• 388900wow on Jul 20, 2010 at 6:27 pm

totally agree!!

Tan Chong acting like typical china man company!! an old fashion one~ sure the family earn wealthy enuf thoughout the years… but hey~~

do something good as a distributor!! Nissan is a good brand… many nice car~~ bring it in and top it up with nice price and … some how … after so many years in malaysia still cannot compete toyota and Honda~~

remember? Nissan Sunny was the best family car last time!!!

• Chaos on Jul 20, 2010 at 11:41 pm

i love the nissan sunny….but the one sucks..outdated for 4 years to say least….product guy should be sacked

• Why are they still selling this old junk? For this price I rather get a Forte or Cruze.

• pultat on Jul 20, 2010 at 11:57 am

TC should stop milking this cow…milk sudah habis.

• alldisc on Jul 20, 2010 at 12:18 pm

Paul, this N16 Sentra used to have 3 engine specs – 1.5, 1.6 and 1.8. Is Sylphy really the replacement when its a 2.0 while Latio also have same engine displacements?

I am confused….

• Anti Proton on Jul 20, 2010 at 12:35 pm

omg…its still around?

• Peter on Jul 20, 2010 at 12:39 pm

Pls remove this from our shores la…

• oh my god! this sentra was supposed to be obsolete in 2007!

Even the 6th gen sentra is starting to look old!

Pls guys, don’t buy this. Lets kill this model.

And if you guys are planning on bringing over the 6th gen sentra, please don’t revise the headlights and tail lamp design. leave it as is. don’t make in another ah beng car.

• mitlanevo on Jul 20, 2010 at 1:06 pm

instead of putting up the sentra with impul kits and increased the price, why not ‘kosongkan’ the whole car and sell to taxi companies or college students at low price?

seriously, this idea by nissan is totally a joke…. for that amount of $$$, many ppl will rather get something else…

sentra is good and reliable, but this idea is just crazy……..

• Sell it at 60K less. leave only power window for driver, the no airbag, abs and others.

• 4G63tDSM on Jul 22, 2010 at 11:15 am

Like I siad,…there must be some form of gentleman’s agreement or price caps.

Can you imaging what whould happen if TC cells a decontented Sentra at Persona prices? Do you think it would be allowed?

• mechanical on Jul 20, 2010 at 1:11 pm

Damn..the suspension is dependent type & the car was tuned??? hmmm..

Need to redesign tail lamp..looks so ugly for tuned car..

Maybe there are so many stock in malaysia, so they came with tuned with hi-price????

• mr_3m on Jul 20, 2010 at 1:23 pm

I pity Impul… how much lower would they want to de”grade” their Impul badge… and only ETCM is the kind of company expected to do such a marketing “exercise”…. no other manufacturer would be brave enough to do this kind of marketing to clear up stocks that have more than exceeded their recommended lifespan…

like someone mentioned earlier about how long ETCM sold the Sunny and Vanette… what else do we expect from a company that brought you these 2 models in the past… surely you won’t get fireworks or much pizzaazzz from them, right? (with the exception of the GT-R and Z cars…)

• x-vios on Jul 20, 2010 at 1:27 pm

TC is like UMW, slap some Ah Beng cosmetics stuff and say Impul la, TRD la, etc…

• 388900wow on Jul 20, 2010 at 6:30 pm

yes! TRD lagi is the joker~~ see the Vios TRD~~ overpriced~~ wat for???

• Chaos on Jul 20, 2010 at 11:44 pm

If want good toyota…might as well get recon….UMW makes are overpriced….TC makes are overpriced…..basically japanese auto in malasia are overpriced….

who to blame….the market for being worshipping asslicking suckers

• Trinity on Jul 20, 2010 at 11:01 pm

impul tuning is not only on cosmetic la

• when u buy this,u’ll get a rear window stickers that says ‘im nissan crazy’.rite,it takes that sort of fanaticism to close eyes and spend 100k for this

• Hey Nissan,

Want to make money please put in some effort. This promotion makes you look desperate. Whoever approved this probably is sitting high up and drawing lotsa $$$$$
    Let me tell you this, that you are not qualified to make that sort of money. Resign!

• leonardo on Jul 20, 2010 at 2:38 pm

Maybe TC should check first with Paul the Octopus if this car will sell?

• ssssss on Jul 20, 2010 at 3:04 pm

old cow wanna compete with young horse….

• UGLY~

• squawk on Jul 20, 2010 at 3:38 pm

How can this be ‘tuned by Impul’ when all they did was slap on some parts to the car? Even then, only the wheels are genuine Impul from Japan. The rest are ‘licensed’/’localized’.

• I find the Sentra to be a very reliable car. Reasonably good service center and decent maintenance cost. But the cat converter and the heavy body made it bad on fuel consumption.

• not really… mine is 2009 model and i’m getting 9.5km/ltr on city driving and more on highways (last i went to JB just used half tank only from JB toll to Sg Besi toll and it was abt 13sen/km @ RM1.80/ltr)… and best is it doesnt “float” when flying down the highway coz of its heavy body

• no wonder i see alot singaporeans whack this car damn fast at NSH

• Manual kaki on Oct 01, 2010 at 2:20 am

yea heavy body wont so “float” when speeding.unlike light car like myvi n others.too light. sentra horsepower is?? i mean 1.6 mt.thx

• 10 years old model lah. Impul Sentra 1.6L AT Luxury – RM102,600? Pui!!!
    ETCM shd give the Impul bodykit for free then discount RM10K for the car.

• 388900wow on Jul 20, 2010 at 6:24 pm

hello~ 2011 is on the way~ still folk out around 100k for this old model???
    so many option in the market now~~

somemore i never like the impul design~ all the impul are uglier than ah beng’s design!!!!

• Old car with new bodykit. Proton saga competitor that selling at higher price. Shame on you

• 388900wow on Jul 20, 2010 at 6:34 pm

sooner or later … korean car will replace japs in local market..aiming for the non-national best seller~~ i give it 3-5 years.. if the toyota, honda and now this joker Tan Chong still doing something stupid trick trying to fool the customer…

and NaZa would be the biggest soon.. and if so, they deserve it.. see how aggressive they are? bringing in new brand, new model with competive price a loads in tons of specs~~
    PUG,KIA,Chevrolette~~ cool~~

that’s call understanding customer needs!!

• Outsider on Jul 20, 2010 at 10:41 pm

try google “Naza Sutera problem” then you will know how good their service are.

• leonardo on Jul 21, 2010 at 11:46 am

388900wow – i think you got a point there. The automotive sector is a very competitive. No company can rest on their laurels. You either lead, follow or get out out of the way!

• longjaafar on Jul 20, 2010 at 7:03 pm

I take exception to someone who said that Tan Chong cannot bring in new models because it is “a chinese company”. Boon Siew, Kah Motors, Berjaya, are all “chinese companies”and they thrived for decades. It’s so sad that we tend to look at things in a tainted racial lens. Not so bad if it’s true but it’s not, in this case. In others, such as contracts, AP’s, scholarships, etc, a big YES. But not for car models.

• squawk on Jul 20, 2010 at 7:42 pm

Yes, ethnicity aside, all these companies thrived. But that’s in the past. Where are Boon Siew, Kah? Tan Chong is the last of the oldies to go, if they don’t move with the times. You can’t count UMW as it’s now a GLC.

• Carneo on Jul 20, 2010 at 9:38 pm

many “chinaman” company prctice this way, not only in automative industry

• Trinity on Jul 20, 2010 at 11:16 pm

You need to understand how the system works here in malaysia; more often than not, it’s either racial and/or politic based. As much as i would like it not to be this way, i ain’t sugar coating it for you. I would be more than happy to be proven wrong.

• Tiadaid on Jul 21, 2010 at 5:12 pm

Yeah, well many “Chinese-owned” company also have similar practice. Sad to say, but the only thing common between all Malaysians are the deep-rooted racism. Chosen by merit? Come on, it’s a joke! There’s no such thing as meritocracy here in Malaysia, not even in the private sector!

• Long run run on Jul 20, 2010 at 7:48 pm

Ugly piece of shit. Enough said.

• 1one country on Jul 20, 2010 at 8:08 pm

haiz…it is because we live in malaysia.
    tats all!! nothing to said.
    malaysia style. malaysia boleh!!
    hahahaha..lolx…

• samkhairul on Jul 20, 2010 at 9:16 pm

personally, although i dont favor nissan’s car, but from previous experience, my late grandpa’s nissan datsun is still going strong and the car is same age as me…27 yr old…hoho

• Carneo on Jul 20, 2010 at 9:41 pm

So many pply don’t like this, but do you think the Proton Persona is better than this ? i mean out of the pricing consideration.

• artworkz on Jul 24, 2010 at 6:45 pm

if persona n sentra is same price, i ll going for persona simply because persona handling is far better than sentra.

• S-Tune on Jul 25, 2010 at 1:57 pm

Interior Persona is the worst among all Proton Car. It is like using cheap plastic. Also can heard engine noise from inside which is very different when driving Sentra or even City which is quieter & smooth sound. However since Persona rear suspension is blessed with multilink, it should have superb handling.

This Sentra (Bluebird Sylphy G10) AT 1.6 QG engine really feels underpowered to drive even with VTC. However the MT 1.6 QG doesn’t have underpowered issue & can easily reach 180kph & can go on to 200kph. Lucky it doesn’t have speed cut.

• Manual kaki on Oct 01, 2010 at 2:24 am

agree with u, Nissan car is totally better than proton. proton is just like pepsi tin car.n persona got lots of problem even tho is new car. interior quality also suck.

• Joke for the day….

• Geez, for once i think my new 308 is cheap! 100k for this?!?!?!

• 1kereta on Jul 20, 2010 at 10:55 pm

sentra….let him die with glory…. R.I.P……

• Ferarri on Jul 21, 2010 at 4:54 am

This car belongs to the Museum! Or they should rename it Nissan Sunny. Maybe they are trying to fight with waja/petronas for the dubious title of oldest moving fossil.

What is the targeted market?

• creator mind on Jul 21, 2010 at 8:34 am

aha! TC maybe trying to generate more business from existing models, put in some tuned up parts here and there, and hope to make the sales. well, this is not going to help much cause for a 1.6 going for abv 100k…. hmmm, sincerely doubt ur marketing plan. forte alone offer a better choice, better design, drawback is the 4 speed auto. TC u need to think out of the box… dun be like a frog under the coconut shell lah

• Dynamike on Jul 21, 2010 at 8:49 am

They should bring new generation sentra instead of some facelift At least few years back it still look ok compare to dugong or flowerhorn……..but now have forte,cruze,and etc……

• Steven on Jul 21, 2010 at 9:20 am

Yeah, TC always brings in outdated Nissan models to Malaysia. Normally, the model is only launched here after 2 to 3 years. No wonder Nissan cars are not popular in Malaysia. Just look at Honda Malaysia. New Honda models are assembled at Honda Malaysia’s Melaka plant only a few months (in most cases less than half a year) after the car is launched in Thailand. We get the latest Honda cars barely half a year after the car is launched in Thailand. That is fast. One good example is the present Honda City. It’s worldwide launch in Thailand was on 9 September 2008, slightly more than 3 months later, it was launched here on 18 December 2008. This is what I call fast and efficient strategy by HM. Why? Because HM is 51% owned by Honda Japan, Honda Japan is the majority shareholder in HM. For your information, the present Vios was only launched here in 2007 2 years after it was launched in Japan as Toyota Belta in 2005 . As far as I am concerned, HM always brings us the latest Honda models. That’s why I have great confidence in HM. I own 2005 Honda City i-DSI and 2009 Honda City i-VTEC.

• squawk on Jul 21, 2010 at 9:45 am

Off topic – how is the 2009 City compared to the 2005 one?

• Steven on Jul 22, 2010 at 10:53 am

Honda City i-VTEC 2009 is more powerful (120 hp) than Honda City i-DSI (2005) (88 hp only). Honda City i-VTEC’s handling is very good especially when cornering. It’s very stable driving at high speed on the highway and the rpm is only 2,300 at 110 km/h. At 110 km/h, Vio’s rpm is already 3,000. Honda The Power Of Dreams.

• squawk on Jul 23, 2010 at 12:46 pm

Vios rpm @ 3000 at 110kmh? Must be driving with O/D Off. Or something wrong with that car.

So the i-VTEC model is better than iDSI, from your experience?

• SE-R Spec V on Jul 25, 2010 at 2:12 pm

Since when City i-VTEC SOHC got 120hp? It has 120ps (88kW) which is roughly 118hp. Also with torsion beam rear suspension I would not be proud of it. Same as Sentra N16.

For performance, I’ll say i-VTEC is better than iDSI which is shine more on FC.

• no… Sentra’s rear is Multi-link Beam Suspension (with stabiliser bar) and front is Independent MacPherson struts and coil springs with transverse links (with stabiliser bar) …

• Manual kaki on Oct 01, 2010 at 2:30 am

hi there,do u know the last version of sentra hp? 1.6mt.. thx a lot..

• Horny_James_H on Jul 21, 2010 at 11:05 pm

HONDA RULES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Paul Tang on Jul 21, 2010 at 9:24 am

Who want to buy an old model with a price tag of so high…?? I thought all the acc are given free, an offer to clear TCM stock. Crazy…!!!

• Steven on Jul 21, 2010 at 9:31 am

Yes, NIssan Latio have very poor sales. Ugly looking car.

• it may be ugly outside but hv u been inside? it is way far better than any vios or city (comparing B-segment cars), the interior materials, the plush seats, the interior space, and aiyo.. let me ask u, do u sit inside the car and face the interior all the time or do u stand outside and look at the beauty of the car? i wud choose the interior and enjoy the space when i am driving it (esp stuck in traffic jams) then be concerned abt the outside look

• FIREPOLICY on Jul 21, 2010 at 11:02 am

i think the price is before discount…
    new sentra can get up to RM11K discount…

• yup! i traded in my 20yrs old proton saga which i bought for 9.5k, used it for 4 yrs, then traded it in for new sentra for 11k :D

• _xXx_ on Jul 22, 2010 at 9:51 am

u think u made 1.5k + 4 yrs free ride? Dream on….U r lucky that u r still alive today with the old unroadworthy junk. U suffered and risked ur life for the past 4 yrs. Also, try trade in ur Sentra today n see how much it worths? Year 1 – 20% gone. 2 years 40%. 3 years – half of what u paid….

• halo.. that car saved me more than a couple of times coz like nissan sunny it had the hardest steel bumper, try hitting ur vios or city against the saga and see who will cry first.. ya, tho it had tons of cosmetic problems but the engine was most reliable and so was the auto gear (mine was the megavalve) and it had a smooth drive too (considering its age).. so if u had not driven a 20yrs old proton saga before u shud reserve ur (awful) comments :P

• Manual kaki on Oct 01, 2010 at 2:40 am

agree with u ppp, old car really durable n hard. especially sunny.those proton,perdua,toyota,n honda car nowadays all look nice but soft,especially perdua n proton car.
            “pepsi tin” car r the new “gelaran” from them. i’m driving a sunny so i do agree with u totally! *cheer*.

• adrianyap on Jul 21, 2010 at 11:58 am

my gosh still have so many backlog.i think not only nissan but other brands too.

• _xXx_ on Jul 21, 2010 at 11:59 am

TCM, keep the cars to yourself. This year is 2010, not 2000. Your are 10 years late.

• _xXx_ on Jul 21, 2010 at 12:01 pm

Hey TCM, I want 120Y tuned by Impul. Got or not?

• What happen to GT-R? why not bring that in here instead? I strongly believe that would do more sales that this one with IMPUL upgrade on a 6 years old model.. Wake up dei! wait a minute 100K for this antique? hahaha dream on to even sell 1.

• Steven on Jul 22, 2010 at 10:58 am

Not 6 year old model. Sentra is 10 years old this year. It was launched in 2000, same year as Waja. Waja is also 10 years old this year so happy birthday Sentra and Waja. Waja will be replaced with rebadged Lancer at the end of this year so Sentra now holds the record. Ha Ha!

• TC…. just roll over & die quietly

• R.I.P. Nissan Sentra……it is time to full model change!!!!!

• ss_user on Aug 08, 2010 at 11:47 pm

yeah… Rejuvenate In Peace Sentra… let others tire out first… :D

• keep on bashing on Jul 21, 2010 at 4:51 pm

?Impul Sentra 1.6L AT Luxury – RM102,600

kanasai… think malaysian got money tree in the house, or can just simply pick up the money from lantai or langit…

better donate it to school or old folk house or orphanage…

• Edaran Tan Chong is make the Malaysia become a stupid market, after in market 11 year, still need to launch the “IMPUL” version, will u buy it, for me, i do not. But I believe it will not sell well, because we already upgrading our spec.

• TC wake up pse…wat a out dated car…now is 2010 la…my god!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• TC, pls phase out sentra…..it’s annoying

• blackjkx on Jul 22, 2010 at 10:32 am

Yeah, looking at TC model brochure recently was like i’m in year 90’s.
    Then came out Sentra Impul??What they thinking eh…
    Sunny 120Y Impul, got or not?haha

• Ab.Ghani on Jul 22, 2010 at 4:10 pm

Any how it ETCM problem not nissan they have a lot new model or change the management refer to honda malaysia did it 10 year model ma

• ETCM was thinking : If P1 can do it with Wira and Waja special editionsss..
    why not try their luck Impul edition Sentra?
    Impul mah!! sure sell like hot cakes!!!

• xavier lert on Jul 22, 2010 at 9:59 pm

what is this? to celebrate a decade of this model?? this model stop globally on 2004…

• Ferarri on Jul 23, 2010 at 5:53 am

Just came back from Teana launch last night. For just below Rm150k, you can buy the Teana 2.0 litre (sylphy engine) with xtronic gearbox. You still want to pay RM100k for a museum pc? and 1.6 litre to boot? Even for a die hard fan, that is hard to swallow.

For Rm100k, I would rather buy an new phaseout Kia Sportage!

• You know I know on Jul 23, 2010 at 2:25 pm

Teana is selling at RM230K in Peninsular Malaysia la… check the website

• Nissan Sentra N16 2008 Sr16VE Neo VVL,too bad many of u cant get a chance to feel NEO power,or even SR20VE……..vtec dont even come close,so no need to compare. Go play with ur idsi or vti…….

• artworkz on Jul 24, 2010 at 6:52 pm

malaysia nissan sentra gt NeoVVL? sure or not?

• all these people complaint .. complaint only … how many of u really have drive the car or owned the car before ? dun just simply blah blah blah if u never and just listen to what other people told u ! i would really wonder what “NICE” car u all drive?? dare to tell everybody here what car u own and see whether u have “NICER” car than sentra !?!?! haha ..

• Manual kaki on Oct 01, 2010 at 2:48 am

n.sentra n16 horsepower is?? and mind to tell me what is neoVVL? :X i would like to ask.if choose a sentra 1.6 mt,satria neo 1.6mt, n latest city,(paddle shift). which 1 is actually got faster acceleration/pick up and higher hp? thx a lot bro.i’m new :)

• impul rokkz on Jul 23, 2010 at 9:59 am

i wonder how many people who make complaint really seat n drive nissan’s car. stop complaining on price. kedai makan yg sedap pun kalau jual mahal org makan juga.
    murano yg mahal n minyak kuat pun kalau ada duit semua org mai pakai jgak.. after we are enjoying money we earn.

• Well….the price tag should be RM 40 – 50K, judging on the 10 years life cycle. Hmm..why don’t we have a Nissan Museum in Malaysia, i’m sure we can compete with the Japaneses in this area. ETCM should consider outsourcing this model to Naza, call it “Sentari” and effectively, you get a Naza Bestari brothers…lol, just my 2 cents.

• SE-R Spec V on Jul 23, 2010 at 9:39 pm

Nice car although not very nice price. This model (based on N16 Pulsar – Wow) is the last original Japanese look car with original Nissan engine before merged with Renault. Love it rather than new Nissan model such as Sylphy (Bluebird Sylphy in Japan), Latio & Latio Sport (Tiida) which has more European look. Can’t blame them since current Nissan’s CEO is Frenchmen.

• Bro, this French Guy is Carlos Ghosn.. he saved nissan from bankruptcy. Without him.. there will be no R35 Skyline GTR!! :P

• SE-R Spec V on Jul 25, 2010 at 1:15 pm

There is no R35 Skyline GTR. Only R35 GTR. That guy already remove Skyline badges. Maybe to show it is also use Renault technology. I hope his next Successor (Toshiyuki Shiga) will also can do better than him.

I hope this IMPUL tuned car still have good FC like most N16 on the road (14km/L). No need for Neo-VVL at the moment if just to use it to balik kg. VTC is enough to run beside small VTEC or CPS.

• Enthusiast on Jul 26, 2010 at 12:52 am

TC thought Malaysian are stupid fools to able used such a lame strategy to lure buyers.
    Tsk tsk tsk…. shame on you TC, you just fooled yourself in front of all Malaysian.

• S-Tune on Jul 26, 2010 at 9:09 pm

It seems ETCM doesn’t have any decent model to replace Sentra’s glory on its class. In Japan, Sylphy (Bluebird Sylphy G11) is Sentra (Bluebird Sylphy G10) replacement. Since it had go 2.0cc with hefty price tag from gvrmnt ETCM might have hard time to sell it here. To bring original Sunny/Sentra B16 from US to our shore also seem impossible. If not they had already done it after B14 & not change N16 to carrying Sentra badges here. I hope Nissan can produce more M’sian taste car below 2.0cc for TCM to bring it here sooner.

• Nicholas on Nov 23, 2010 at 1:22 pm

Tan Choong CEO is a total s*hai.. that’s when it comes to fronting the current line up of Nissans in Malaysia. But that china bastard is certainly clever in making $$.. old car, old stock = cheapo costs.. then sell at new car price to those morons with even smaller brains.

Nissan should really reconsider their partnership with the cheapo company, TCM is bringing down the image of Nissan in Malaysia. If you guys have been overseas, the Nissan models there are really nice.

• Hello people!

I hope there’s someone to response after two years…

I have 2005 accent to trade, which now below marker 10k from settlement amoount.

I find out Sentra would be the best fit since got rm9k discount…to make a high spec loan.

Is it worth for my situation?

Come on guys! gimme me your expert ideas!

• idris on Aug 31, 2012 at 3:27 am

Hello faz,

Go for it, at least sentra maybe can cover u for maintenance plus itu ini around 3 years I guess