Peugeot 207 Sedan (Project T33) spotted in Rawang!

Two units of Naza’s T33 Project have been spotted on the road by our own Danny Tan in Rawang! These two red cars are the latest locally assembled Peugeot cars soon to be offered in Malaysia, perhaps by the end of the year?

These shots are actually quite revealing. There are some minor tape on the car but the headlamps and tail lamps are quite clearly visible. Of course we can’t say for 100% sure if any of what we see here will make it to the final product or not.

The T33 Project is basically the Peugeot 207 Sedan, which will be built in Gurun for the local market as well as the ASEAN region. There has already been news in the Indonesian media that they will also be getting the 207 Sedan, imported from Malaysia in early 2011, so export plans are firmly in place. 18,000 of 207 Sedans are planned to be rolled out of Naza’s Gurun plant annually.

It will be offered with a 1.6 litre engine, which is a welcome upgrade from the 1.4 litre found in the Naza 206.

Look after the jump for the rest of the snapshots.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1387]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ugly……

• azrai on Aug 06, 2010 at 11:43 am

Agree..

• bystander on Aug 06, 2010 at 11:17 pm

definitely going to share the same fate as suzuki sx4 sedan! plain stupid, i dun c suzuki having trouble selling their swift, this piece of crap won’t even beat sales record of naza bestari, their must be thinking with their ass (it shows in the car)!

• If people can tolerate the look of Myvi? Vios and City, I suppose 207 sedan should be acceptable. It does not look great from behind, but is definitely not worse than those models.

• Double that! Fugly

• normal_user on Aug 06, 2010 at 4:56 pm

I believe as a continental make, the main attributes that customers seek when buying this car is comfort and handling. The 206’s interior is not as big compared to Jap’s B-segment competitors.

Hopefully Naza should price it below 206 hatch’s price… RM60K perhaps. It will sell well if it is correctly priced given our perception on the high running & after-sales costs.

• The 206 was sold with a single cam, 8v, 1.4L. it was reported that this car comes with the 1.6L engine. I’m assuming, rock bottom also they will at least have twin cams and 16v.

The 206 was sold as a ‘Naza’. So far nobody knows the badging on this car… Just wondering if it was a Peugeot, I mean real Peugeot that is confirmed ‘Peugeot’ in the registration card, how much can it fetch.

• K-Man on Aug 07, 2010 at 11:42 am

This car should have good ride, comfort and handling. This is one thing that Peugeot is well known for. Should be nicer to drive than 206 too since it has a 1.6 litre engine.

• Antonio Samarache on Aug 26, 2010 at 9:03 am

I think the 207’s maintenance will be a lot lower than the 3 series simply because it uses proven mechanicals. If speculations are correct as seen in other countries websites that also sell this car, it may be using a tried and well tested 1.6L Peugeot engine. No fancy electronics to complicate the car’s operations. So IMHO, this would be the Peugeot to buy for greater peace of mind. I don’t hear 206 owners complaining about matters afflicting newer Peugeot models. So Peugeot fans will soon have 2 choices; Hi tech with performance or proven tried and tested but with slightly less performance. The choice will soon be there.

• vwtoyota on Aug 29, 2010 at 5:21 pm

is it a car?

• paragon on Aug 06, 2010 at 8:53 pm

i disagree.
        its so ugly you cannot even compare with vios, myvi, city, etc.

regardless of this car is continental product, it is still…

x10 uglier than dugong vios
        x100 uglier than normal looking myvi and city
        x1000 uglier than the improved looks of the new city i-vtec

some more it will be downgraded and patched with a naza badge – even uglier than the european model.

• Espresso! Quick! on Aug 07, 2010 at 11:33 am

Paragon,

You so sure it will be Naza badge ah? You got inside info? Can reveal more?

• Katak on Aug 07, 2010 at 1:28 am

Savvy & Juara are the the biggest offender of them all^^ Fugly & Cheap-Looking.
        Make it’s driver look like an idiot……..

• saki77 on Aug 07, 2010 at 12:55 pm

Senang2 saja kata orang looks like an idiot….

• Tiadaid on Aug 07, 2010 at 9:00 pm

Savvy’s hardly ugly…it may be eccentric but it’s not ugly in a long shot. The Fiat Multipla, now THAT’S ugly!

• aryll8257 on Aug 09, 2010 at 10:35 am

He/she a ‘Katak’..
          In nature they are ugly..

That’s why they can easily brand/label others ugly

get a life

• another ugly vehicle…Honda Freeky FREED!

• Antonio Samarache on Aug 26, 2010 at 10:43 am

I think the Savvy looks rather good. Just that I cannot come to terms with the European engine. But then, looks are a subjective matter.

• Espresso! Quick! on Aug 07, 2010 at 11:38 am

Plus, it is a Peugeot, so the ride and handling should be better than the Japanese brands.

• bystander on Aug 06, 2010 at 5:45 pm

freak show….

• agree the butt is the worse look ever!!!

• nighttrain on Aug 06, 2010 at 11:40 am

tacked on boot really not working for me.. something’s off..

• Tiadaid on Aug 06, 2010 at 12:00 pm

I think the only car that doesn’t made a hash out of converting from a hatch into a sedan is the Persona, and even then it’s because the Gen-2 isn’t an out and out hatch (the boot of the Gen-2 was probably designed with the intention of stretching it in mind)

Was thinking of surveying cars to replace my old City. Thought of Fiesta, then Swift, then my friend recommended Forte, now this. So many choices…argh!

• motorist on Aug 06, 2010 at 2:14 pm

Me too. This T33 was a contender until I saw the ugly butt :-(

Looks like Forte is still the one that is at the top of the list.

But the horror stories of Naza Pug’s service is also another factor that’s putting me off. Although Naza Kia isnt that much better either.

• Thanks for the info, fell in love with pug 3008 but if the SC sucks , no point.
          Looks like they are same like proton.

• off tangent on Aug 06, 2010 at 4:35 pm

Maybe for you… try another brand :)

• xenogearz on Aug 06, 2010 at 4:11 pm

replace your old city with the new city lar ;)

• waaaaaaahhh on Aug 06, 2010 at 11:46 am

did wolverine “berserker barrage” your side mirror?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Aug 06, 2010 at 12:33 pm

No wolverine, just Mat Rempit!

• damn rempit! mine been hit so many times already… its still intact though.. but at least just say sorry…dont just take off like a piece of garbage that u r…

• Engdau on Aug 06, 2010 at 11:49 am

Danny,

Better upgrade your old Saga. Side mirror is broken while the driver door has rusty hole.

Since u have tested many new cars around, which new car do u think best for consideration? Any suggestion?

Cheers.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Aug 06, 2010 at 12:37 pm

My car’s exterior is junkyard standard, but it’s in good running condition.

I plan to use it for awhile more, unless someone out there wants to offer me a previous gen (facelifted, pearl white) Mazda 6 at an irresistible price :)

• goproton on Aug 06, 2010 at 11:49 am

and the side mirror…==’

• Look like vios dugong from the back.

• Jaybond on Aug 06, 2010 at 11:52 am

The rear part is not well executed. The rear overhang is just too long, that’s what spoils the styling. The rear axle should have been moved further back, or cut the rear portion a bit.

• wow cool side mirrors, is that like the latest tech in blindspot detection?

• eiyerk…so damn ugly…are they try to imitate vios???

• Fugly car!!!

• Peugeot owners don’t really care about the design of the car. They pay hundred of thousands just for the logo, if it is a Naza logo, they’ll replace it with Peugeot.

• nighttrain on Aug 06, 2010 at 12:04 pm

I mean, it’s been universally agreed this sedan is ugly right, why are they still going ahead producing it? this is not mainland china.. SEA market got better taste.

• trav_da_man on Aug 06, 2010 at 12:09 pm

Its like the slyphy rear embleded to a 207 hatch! A complete mismatch!!!

• all this “sedan pulled fr their hatches” model looks to horrid…. there always something wrong in their outlook……. it was never a good move n never will be….. good luck naza, u r better off in CKDing the 3008.

• Alpha on Aug 06, 2010 at 12:25 pm

oh well…at least it’ll be cheap…..right?

• Danial on Aug 06, 2010 at 12:33 pm

“The rear part is not well executed. The rear overhang is just too long, that’s what spoils the styling. The rear axle should have been moved further back, or cut the rear portion a bit” quote Jaybon

Agree,Ugly looking rear part is a common with cars originally design for hatchback such as Honda City 1st generation (taken from Honda Jazz), Nissan Latio Sedan (taken from Nissan Latio Sport), and last but not least Proton Persona(taken from Gen2 , but the latest facelift managed to tackle the “duck behind” looks )

• Tiadaid on Aug 06, 2010 at 2:17 pm

1st generation Honda City taken from Jazz? Hell no!

And I disagree with your Persona statement. I think it’s fine.

• danial on Aug 07, 2010 at 3:39 pm

Not taken really but the chasis is the same, chasis is originally Honda Stream and if you really take your time to examine the Honda City 1st Generation not City 2010 , both have similarities. Paul Tan can testify the truth of my statement

• Tiadaid on Aug 08, 2010 at 10:47 am

No, I know which generation City you’re refering to, it’s the the model launched in 2003 which is the car I’m driving now. It’s actually the 3rd generation City. Just a nitpick.

• saki77 on Sep 08, 2010 at 8:09 am

I thought the first gen City is the one Jet Li ride in the movie High Risk…the one that looks like a Kancil….

• off tangent on Aug 06, 2010 at 2:40 pm

i think the persona is the most successful design when it comes to hatch to sedan transition. even the mazda 2 and fiesta sedans look weird, ungainly.

• agree…persona looks better…

• normal_user on Aug 07, 2010 at 12:07 pm

mazda 2 & fiesta are B-segment cars. Persona is one segment upper C-segment. Most B-segment hatch are designed with high window level after the C-pillar, and when its converted into sedan it will look weird.

• off tangent on Aug 08, 2010 at 12:31 pm

good analysis. yes, the persona is a class up on these and you are right about the window lines. thing is, it will always be difficult to convert b-segment hatches into sedans. just have a look at the maruti/suzuki swift sedan and you will see how it could be even worse. some good examples are the polo hatch to sedan transition and the opel corsa (old model sold in south america) hatch to sedan transition. even how ford did the ikon in india (previous generation fiesta hatch) is pretty good.

i’m strictly talking about styling here though. nothing to do with performance.

• bystander on Aug 06, 2010 at 12:36 pm

the side mirror profile langsung not match with the extra boot, easily beats mazda2 n fiesta sedan hands down for most ugly sedan morphing. even at 206 old price we oledi can choose m2 or fiesta, i wonder who will buy this mutant-alike, even 308 seem like a better option if this sell for 80k! actually hatchback oso can sell wat, look at myvi n golf, the trick is 2 target the right market n know ur selling point, it was originally cute for ladies, n sporty for guys, now it’s just a pug wannabe tt’s destiny for failure…

• Espresso! Quick! on Aug 06, 2010 at 12:40 pm

Danny,

some care are more photogenic while some others are not so. just like people… some look better in real life than in pictures. since you saw this first hand, how did it look to you? i mean your personal opinion lah.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Aug 06, 2010 at 1:27 pm

The car looked bigger than what I would expect.
      Personally, I don’t really fancy the shape; the boot should be huge though!

• Who-Let-The-Dogs-Out on Aug 06, 2010 at 12:47 pm

Country automotive industry going to the dogs…. no direction, no law

FREE FOR ALL to rebadge to EVADE TAX

Next you will see MOFAZ rebadge and even a Mercedes with a Petronas badge … the new national cars

• K-Man on Aug 06, 2010 at 2:16 pm

But you don’t know what it will be badged as yet… do you? Unless you have insider info lah. Do you?

• carsut on Aug 06, 2010 at 12:55 pm

nice sidemirror:)

• OneCountry on Aug 06, 2010 at 1:02 pm

wah!! the body is like 206. engine use 206. but the face is 207.

then they call Peugeot 207 Sedan?

wtf!!

• prinz on Aug 06, 2010 at 1:02 pm

prince engine perhaps?

• motorist on Aug 06, 2010 at 2:21 pm

Most likely the Prince engine will go into the 308 based sedan (T73) expected next year.

• Tommy on Aug 06, 2010 at 1:13 pm

short: its hideous.

• NoTailPlz on Aug 06, 2010 at 2:46 pm

The name 207 sedan is a little misleading. It has next to nothing to do with the 207 hatchback.

What it really is is a Peugeot 206+ with an add on boot. The Peugeot 206+ is the basic super cheap entry level car they are selling in europe, just a 206 with updated looks.

Therefore, a much more fitting name for it would be Peugeot 206+ sedan.

• 4G63tDSM on Aug 06, 2010 at 2:59 pm

I wonder why even bother doing something like this instead of just doing the 206SW or even the 207SW??

Small hatch backs with a truck tacked on to it never quite looks ok.

• K-Man on Aug 06, 2010 at 4:17 pm

Thing is, cars like this sell better than any station wagon variant. If you don’t trust me, just ask any car retailer. Even cars like what you see above. At this point, many will say this variant or that variant is better but when the push comes to shove, nobody will put down money for the wagon.

Just look at the Honda City before the current generation. Why didn’t Honda sell the Airwave which imho looks better than the sedan?

As for the hatch, as long as nobody can match the Myvi’s price and size, might as well not consider selling it. At this level, margins are low and volume is the name of the game.

• anyone thinks it looks like nissan slyphy? ha

• Johnny on Aug 06, 2010 at 3:23 pm

naza should produce the 207 hatch as well. i think the hatch is nicer. at least we could have options.

• off tangent on Aug 06, 2010 at 4:33 pm

Hatch will probably cost much more then this… closer to 308vti in price perhaps cos they both use same Prince engine. Perhaps Peugeot wants to avoid a situation where they have 2 hatchbacks fighting for the same type of buyer. This car… may not be to everyone’s taste but it opens up a new buying segment for Peugeot.

• anti-first on Aug 06, 2010 at 3:40 pm

as a peugeot enthusiast, i used to hate the car’s exterior a few months back

for some unknown reason, with this spyshots, it ain’t that bad now (from the front, that is!)

can’t wait to see the car in the flesh!

• zanggief on Aug 06, 2010 at 3:51 pm

it is not sexy to have the boot vs the original hatch model in the market…

• edperdana on Aug 06, 2010 at 3:58 pm

what an ugly butt! pity the designers no taste

• jolly_idiot on Aug 06, 2010 at 4:02 pm

this is Fugly!. Somehow, the rear abit look like the current Vios.

• mitlanevo on Aug 06, 2010 at 4:32 pm

the design is ok, but looks a bit dated, especially the rear…

but anyway, lets wait and enjoy the battle, hehez…..

• retro on Aug 07, 2010 at 8:50 am

Yes, I am also waiting to see how the battle turns out. Will be very interesting. There are gonna be 3 hatch based sedans slugging it out soon. Fiesta, Mazda2 Sedan and this. This car will need a good price plus some strong features in the spec sheet to fight the other two and also, proper Peugeot branding.

Will probably ride and handle better than the M2 as well if the test drive between 206 and M2 shows.

• Farhat on Aug 06, 2010 at 5:20 pm

I never saw a 206 Sedan in real life but it does look outdated for Malaysian roads. The Gen 2 was actually restyled from C Pillar onwards for the Persona but this is litterally adding a boot. If it looks like a stretched 4door 206CC is alright, but the big boot and out-aligned rear wheels is not an eye-catcher.

• Ris.. on Aug 06, 2010 at 6:06 pm

Front Nice.. back Ugly

• Supertram on Aug 06, 2010 at 7:38 pm

I like big butt n i cannot lie..! rite i cant! its is huge! XD

overhang much? pity cost it got a “cute” face

• retro on Aug 07, 2010 at 11:47 am

but we still like beyonce, j lo and their friends right? ;) hehehehehehe!!!

• C. Lamb on Aug 06, 2010 at 10:49 pm

Well let’s see how it looks in the flesh. Someone earlier said it could look better in life. Least we can do is give it benefit of doubt because 1) We have not seen it live 2) We don’t know what badge it will carry and 3) We do not have indications of price! If conditions are right, with right spec, buyers may overlook the looks for the brand, specifications and price. It may actually turn out right afterall.

• Anti Proton on Aug 06, 2010 at 11:47 pm

bloody rip off

• lowprofile on Aug 07, 2010 at 8:10 am

Like C.Lamb said, it could turn out better than expected. Engine should be reliable with better ownership costs compared to upper range models like the tech heavy 308. Spec sheet should be competitive as seen in current Peugeot products sold here. All that is hoped for is a price that is acceptable. Plus, it now has that large boot to make the in-laws and the parents happy. Could be better than we think.

• elite on Aug 07, 2010 at 8:14 am

ugly…but nicer than any proton model right now…

if price same as saga, saga is finish..

• sifu chamelot on Aug 07, 2010 at 6:27 pm

You all so racist! when Naza sells this car you said it is crap, when Kia do the marketing, you said it is good. why you’re racist??

• 388900wow on Aug 07, 2010 at 6:46 pm

ok lah~~ the back design is not that nice~~

as ugly as the MAZDa 2 sedan !!

• NAZA FANS on Aug 08, 2010 at 12:16 am

This is better than Waja Replacement Model.

• Er, I wouldn’t go that far. To be fair, these two cars are competing for different customers in different segments. Will like to see the T-33 live though. Wonder when the launch?

• chaos on Aug 09, 2010 at 12:08 am

what do you mean different segment?? and how could the customers be different….

im guessin this car will compete with waja replacement model….along with mazda 2 and fiesta…..

• Peugeot could be looking for customers who put brand name and also simply because they want a Continental brand above a larger car. Those who are looking for most volume at least cost as their main selection criteria will surely look for then Waja.

I do agree that the Waja replacement will be a very well specced car with the size to add too but there’s still the thought that says, it is not a Mitsubishi as a Mitsubishi should be. Whereas, for the 207… well, I’m hoping that it will be a Peugeot as it is meant to be… regardless of how it looks, what sort of spec sheet it has etc.

So that’s what I meant that the customers are different. they have different priorities and selection criteria when choosing their car.

• By the way, those considering the Mazda2 sedan and the Fiesta sedan may or may not consider the Waja replacement model. The fact that they are considering Mazda and Ford shows that they do place some value on brand and are not too concerned with what they are getting as the main reason for them is not to be seen in a local make. Apart from the brand, the other supporting criteria will be how long the spec sheet and how much to put the car on the road. If those don’t fit the bill, perhaps they will consider the Waja.

Just my 2 cents worth lah.

• BRAZBUZ on Aug 30, 2010 at 11:52 pm

u r definitely wrong…
          because waja replacement is c segment and this peugeot is b segment

• retro on Sep 17, 2010 at 11:05 pm

if they compare by price and not segment, the peugeot and the waja could be considered at the same time. it is quite possible.

• off tangent on Aug 08, 2010 at 12:42 pm

the picture of the brown car at the bottom with the black back bumper stripe is better. makes the back part of the car look slimmer. anyone agree with this?

• retro on Aug 08, 2010 at 12:59 pm

the brown car with the black bumper looks nicer!!

• matjoe on Aug 11, 2010 at 3:26 pm

will wait for 308 sedan laa like this

• Espresso! Quick! on Aug 11, 2010 at 5:03 pm

308 sedan will cost almost double this. So, depends on your priorities and how deep your pockets. If you want an entry level Peugeot, this is it! But, it may not be at Bestari price as even the name will not be Bestari. This is a Peugeot (judging from the tiny black sticker used to cover the logo. If it was using Naza badging, the sticker space will be larger) and not a Naza branded Peugeot.

• azirul on Aug 15, 2010 at 10:54 am

i saw 2 this cars painted black with major tape on highway near sungai petani (S) exit heading north.i think they are heading to Naza plant at Gurun.sadly i forgot to bring my camera to take the picture…

• giloko on Aug 24, 2010 at 8:00 am

totally out!!!

• off tangent on Aug 31, 2010 at 10:45 am

saw this car recently in pj. it looks good. much better than in pictures. saw a black car with peugeot badges.

• caveman on Sep 03, 2010 at 1:19 am

Continental cars are enjoy to drive but they don,t hv 2nd value here….that’s why i m afraid to buy cars like peugeot,citroen,fiat…etc

• Espresso! Quick! on Sep 03, 2010 at 5:20 pm

So far the 407’s and the 308’s are holding their value pretty well.

• just bring in the hatch and give swift a run for it’s money !

• jimmi on Dec 20, 2010 at 7:22 pm

I have test driven the 207 today. The handling is superb and very quiet. Engine is responsive and predictable/ Ugly or not I am buying this car

• Laughter on Mar 22, 2012 at 10:19 pm

red looks so good for this car!