Volkswagen Scirocco 1.4 TSI with 160 PS – RM188,888

volkswagen-scirocco

If you really really like the looks of the Scirocco but can’t afford to pay the RM243,888 price tag, Volkswagen will soon be making available a 160 PS version of the car for RM188,888 which is cheaper than both the current Scirocco and the Golf GTI models.

The 160 PS Scirocco is powered by the award-winning 1.4 litre TSI engine, which is twincharged. It basically means both a supercharger and a turbocharger is used to wring out the most horsepower and torque out of the 1.4 litre engine – its displacement may be small but it makes 160 PS and 240Nm of torque – that’s just 40Nm of torque less than the 2.0 litre TSI Scirocco, which has now been renamed the Scirocco Sport.

The new Scirocco model also gets a new dry clutch DSG gearbox with 7 gears instead of the 6-speed wet clutch model in the Scirocco Sport. 0 to 100km/h is reached in 8 seconds, which is about 1.1 seconds slower than the 210 PS model’s 6.9 second figure.

Of course the engine and transmission is not just the only differentiator between the two cars – the cheaper model is missing some features that’s available on the Scirocco Sport such as adaptive chassis control DCC which allows the changing of Comfort, Normal or Sport suspension settings. The 2.0 model also gets the RCD 510 touch screen radio while the 1.4 TSI gets the RCD 310 unit without a CD changer, but both audio systems feature 8 speakers. The interior of the 1.4 model also features Merlin fabric instead of the Vienna leather, and wheels are smaller at 17 inch compared to the 2.0’s 18 inch wheels.

I’ve embedded a PDF brochure and price list after the jump so you can view in detail what the differences are between the Scirocco 1.4 and the Scirocco Sport 2.0 – anyone here booked the 1.4 model yet?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Nice, affordable , but , still out of many people’s reach, all the best in sales …

• outofreach on Aug 09, 2010 at 12:57 am

wow…pocket rocket….like it very much indeed…
    but again out of reach as pocket not deep enough….in this country….sigh

• Very nice. Now what about the 5 seater passat cc?

• ray_jay on Aug 09, 2010 at 1:03 am

muahahaha… im SOO BUYING THIS! Now.., any taker for my left kidney??

• Kudos VW since this read: more people can buy VW machines. Paul, any news about Golf GT 1.4TSi? If we use same rule of thumb; new 1.4 TSI with 160hp will be price around RM163,888 while slightly lower bhp 1.4TSI shouldn’t more than RM125,888!

I think VW dealer will be happy if VW also cater for sub-RM130,000 car.

• David on Aug 09, 2010 at 1:32 am

Karl,
      Apparently indeed they are!! They are offering the new Polo 1.2TSi with the 7-speed DSG gearbox and 6 airbags for just RM108, 888 which would be coming soon. This car could just be the one which would cannabalize Jazz sales!!

• David,

Not only Honda Jazz will be culled by Polo but Civic too if VW decided to price new Jetta lower than Golf 160ps at RM115-125k. By the way for the sake of driving hatchback seems better choice than sedan brethren.

By the way, Southeast Asia like Americans still value sedan over hatch. At last, VW listens to customers/dealers to add more lineups in their offering.

Do you think VW dare to price new Jetta within Civic-Altis territory? A CBU VW better off than CBU Thailand.

• David on Aug 09, 2010 at 9:20 am

Totally agree with you. The Polo needs to be VW’s bread and butter car in Malaysia in order for them to succeed. Guess they need to sell at least 150-200 units a month to be the volume seller. And it should be, as the specs, pricing, and driving experience are just convincing enough for me to take one over a Jazz, or even the antiquated Yaris!!

• …knowing & working with germans, i’d say that is less likely :P

• Kwing on Aug 09, 2010 at 3:07 pm

they are doin it with the new jetta in US at the civic/corrola price territory! think they will do the same in asia too.

• Tiadaid on Aug 09, 2010 at 10:43 pm

Jazz will never be culled, because of its brand factor. Yes VW’s brand just as good, but the perception on Continental cars of yesteryear isn’t good and to change the perception of Malaysians aren’t easy. Just ask the Koreans.

But with the spec they offer, VW’s product offering is a steal. Not many cars offer 6 airbags and DSG gearbox at that range. Will we see more VWs on the road?

• Thomas Heng on Aug 09, 2010 at 1:16 am

one of my dream car other than A4~ still cant afford it yet but hope soon :)

• budleee on Aug 09, 2010 at 1:39 am

lol

AMEN, again to small turbo charged cars :D

volkswagen with its turbo supercharged 1.4 and mercedes turbo direct injection 1.8 plu mini/renault/citroen/peugeot with its turbo direct injection 1.6

hopefully the ministers will still be blind as a bat, when it comes engine CC size and the power or consumption of fuel

• Kwing on Aug 09, 2010 at 3:12 pm

that’s the whole purpose of putting turbo (& diesel turbo) so in city driving (most of the time), fuel consumptions is much lower and when u want the power turbo kick in. govt will still treat it as 1.4 w or w/o turbo! is the whole green initiative thingy car manufacturer working on!

• Seann on Aug 09, 2010 at 1:47 am

Volkswagen Scirocco vs Peugeot RCZ… ?? I would prefer the looks of the RCZ but performance wise, it’s the Scirocco…. I would love to have the 2 of them, drive each one on each day of the weekend…. Choice of chosen one would be the practical Scirocco, as the RCZ is rather small-ish as seen overseas.

• Kwing on Aug 09, 2010 at 3:04 pm

but RCZ should be at least 1.5 times more expensive than Scirocco! can’t comepare these 2 together!

• You totally commented on the whole different thing. The review is about Scirocco and the reduced price tag for the upcoming model. No such thing as Scirocco vs RCZ. You talked rubbish…and no one ever wants to know which one you would really love to drive on weekend.

• c14man on Aug 09, 2010 at 3:37 am

omg… it makes making VW a first car closer to reality~!

• Vincent on Aug 09, 2010 at 8:53 am

Great Job VW….another choice for sport car range in boleh land..

• dizzy on Aug 09, 2010 at 9:57 am

What about Passat CC 1.8TSI @ RM 198,888???
    5 Seater???

• any news for R line ?

• Baffled on Aug 09, 2010 at 11:04 am

What’s the difference between a wet clutch and a dry clutch?

• torque on Aug 09, 2010 at 12:25 pm

A wet clutch has better reliability since it could stand abuse better (engaged without overheating exp. GTR35) and last longer compare to dry clutch but the dry clutch has very efficient power transfer and the partical metal dust doesn’t contaminate the engine! Cheers.

• gracke on Aug 09, 2010 at 12:45 pm

dry clutch is lighter in weight (around 23kg), more economical and smoother. from research.

• alamak on Aug 09, 2010 at 5:55 pm

Wet clutch requires lubricant which needs to be changed every 60,000 km
      Dry clutch doesn’t use lubricant and it is completely maintenance free (like manual gearbox)

6 speed DSG is rated for higher torque (up to 350NM) and usually used in high performance model.

7 speed DSG is designed for mass usage and bringing the DSG technology to the masses for efficiency and economy.

• A ‘wet clutch’ sits in a cooling lubricating fluid (oil), a dry clutch not…

A dry clutch of the same dimension can transmit more torque and eats less engine power, as the dry clutch doesn’t sit in an oil bath and splash the oil around. Disadvantage: It has to be designed in that way, that there’s enough airflow to cool it down.

Anyway, both designs work perfectly. I.e. all japanese Motorbikes have wet clutches while all manual cars have dry clutches… ;)

• Kevin on Aug 09, 2010 at 2:56 pm

Remap this baby and u should see 200hp.

• price very near of the golf gti……
    wat to pick?…..
    a rocco 1.4 or golf gti???

• i’ve choosen roco 1.4. coz with the $$ difference between the 2, i could spend it on the ecu remap, rims, intake, and exus. achieve a better feeling compared to GTI, and look more handsome.

• I hate it when you guys break for a few days then splurge us with news.

scirocco. helluva looker. lower specs to cater to Malaysia’s retarded cc tax system.
    there are people with brains in vw after all.

• hinder on Aug 09, 2010 at 10:34 pm

finally 1.4tsi be here price around civic-r who better performance, but Scirocco look smoke honda face out in no time!!!

• Farhat on Aug 10, 2010 at 10:54 am

Well most people in Malaysia will not really look at performance, they will look for outer beauty. So a 243K Out of Reach rare-ish beautiful VW for 188K is already a great deal. I would get it, but i just got my new car last 2 weeks..

• RAZMAN MAJID on Aug 10, 2010 at 3:11 pm

this scirocco sport is beautiful machine and cheap only RM245K. if country economy as good as 2008 (at least), could afford one for wife anytime.

VW Audi and Porsche are VW Group of Quality Cars, but 2011 will be on Audi Q7 3.0TDI V6 RM570K but hell everything is rising – interest rate% petrol diesel etc.

2011 should be okay… let’s hope!

• humanz on Aug 10, 2010 at 9:47 pm

oh no!!!!!………….now more ppl can afford a Scirocco???..hell no!!..that ain’t good… there will be more Scirocco on the streets!!!..then it wont be special if everyone has one……i hope it wont be like civic where u can see one almost everywhere or worse still…proton…..=_=……

• phas3r on Aug 11, 2010 at 2:51 am

worry about that too.

• Andrew on Aug 11, 2010 at 8:49 pm

well not everyone will pay RM189k for a two door car… I think RM168k would be the sweet spot for the car to fly *heaven forbid!* out of the showroom like hot cakes

• i agree with you
      now my gti (bought 3 years back) seems SO many on the road
      with DRB-HICOM partnering with VW will make this beauty machines even more on the road
      haiyaaaaaaaaaa
      putting costs down will hurt my feeling lor
      need to change brand to aston martin for god sake
      hahahahahahaha

• hafiz on Nov 09, 2010 at 12:37 pm

HAHAHAHAHAHA. let drb hicom partner lahh, my dad is with that company. and thanks to that im gonna get this 1.4TSI lol

• shahzane on Aug 12, 2010 at 11:44 am

i’d love it if paul can do a test drive review for this model. u had a review of the 2.0 in driven 1st season. if i remembered correctly, harvinder said that the adaptive chassis control DCC settings is more like hard,harder n hardest than Comfort, Normal or Sport. to me that sounds like something i can’t live with for a car to be used in daily commute.. if this car is more ‘civil’, than it might be a very good proposition ;)..so,when’s driven season 2 coming out??hehehe

• Bro
      This car never meant for “civil” drive lor
      I just love this car man, last year booked but cancelled due to $$$
      Now with 190 but 1.4litre with 160hp, mmmm, not too “mean” machine anymore
      Haiiyaaaa i’m screwed … hahahaha

• E Bear on Aug 12, 2010 at 4:04 pm

It looks so much hotter in real life. Went to the showroom recently and the curve lines are just great.

Very low sporty seating with paddle shifters on the steering.

The Golf looks plain next to it!

• any idea when this baby reach our country??

• mmmmm
      according to sources it will be IN this end of Sept
      i guess thats just the demo car
      let’s go and fire this baby to check out the difference (1.4 vs 2.0)
      heheheheh

• Just wondering….what the resale value would be like? Haven’t seen any of the 2.0 in the secondary market yet…

• farizio on Oct 20, 2010 at 9:33 am

i have driven the 1.4 liter Scirocco and all i can say is… it makes the 2 liter look overpriced. It’s very torquey, likes to be revved, and will hit 180kmh without you realizing.. It does not feel like a 1.4 AT ALL. It feels like it has a way bigger engine in fact.

The power difference compared to the 2 liter isn’t enough to justify the 50k premium.
    30k maybe, but not 50k.

• hafiz on Nov 09, 2010 at 12:40 pm

you’ve driven it ? NICEEE. uhh, if you don’t mind me asking, did you floor the baby ? what’s the tops ? i really wanna know the top speed.

• ANTI-VW on Nov 24, 2010 at 3:30 pm

THE TO SPEED IS JUST 220 KM/H…NOT SO FAST, S DON’T BUY T. THERE’S MANY CARS THAT ARE MORE CHEAPER AND AFFORDABLE…

• I test drove it twice and this is not a car for petrol heads. But it has the looks and the handling elements not to mention sleek 2 door hothatch design that I always have a softspot for. Waiting for bonus and will get 1 as soon as possible

• Kitty on Dec 08, 2010 at 9:11 am

I got the 1.4 Scirocco, though I love the 2.0 for the extras but due to the difference, I decided to get the 1.4, which is I decided to not do anymore shopping (unnecessary) to have this babe.
    Yeah, it needs a kick to pick up as compared to 2.0, on D more, just a tad slower without the fierce roar in 2,0 . Lovely , this baby is fast. A lot of gadgets for me use for this car. seriously, headlights have a wiper? I have three wipers, front , back, and headlights? Demist function for side mirrors,ok, I dont see it in Benz 180. Definitely sound systems sounds better than 180 Benz. (am I over praising it)
    Du
    I still cant find a chance to go beyond 120km due to heavy traffic. Was Just able to make short spurts of speed driving (in view of many cars and animals running on the road, have to be more responsible). becareful, this car attracts other cars to race with u
    RM50 fuel on Ron 97, around 1.85 per litre takes me to around 220km before fuel warning sign. Good ?
    Dual aircon controls for driver and passenger. ( I m freezing at 19-20 degrees),sound systems quite good ( I dont need to upgrade)-damn they dont give me auxillary cable for Ipod/MP3 player, but I can charge my IPOD with the USB port :). Bucket seats not in leather, still snugs my BIG butt nicely with good back support :).
    My mum said, that doesnt look like its that pricey…. looks like a proton Satria!! Well, Its not a flashy car, only for those who recognises VW logo.
    Love it…

• Test drove the 1.4 three times and the only thing standing between us is bonus payout!
    I have strong conviction on the ride and in Malaysia I don’t find a need to drive something with big hp. So the torque sure came in handy for short sprints. Look wise, I am still deciding between white or rising blue. Any consensus here?

• Just Booked scirocco1.4 viper green tdy!!Can’t wait this babe to get it 3 weeks time but the golf 1.4 2011 head lamp LED is nice tho!!

• For a long time I was deciding between a 1.4 Scirocco or a 1.4 Golf.

Eventually I decided on Scirocco, because even though it’s around RM40k more expensive and the engine is the same as Golf, it just looks SO FREAKING SEXY!

But then I checked out the VW websites in UK and Singapore. In these countries, the Scirocco is the same price or even cheaper than Golf.

That’s when I learned that the only reason Scirocco is more expensive in Malaysia is because of the extra import tax on 2 door cars.

So in the end, I went for a Golf instead. I still prefer the Scirocco but it just feels unwise to me to pay RM40k extra just because of the government’s stupid tax bracket.

• sirjacob on Feb 15, 2012 at 3:38 pm

booked the 1.4 b4 the chinese new year and taking delivery tomoro, its pearl white and reg wvw 1144….walla

• I hate on May 24, 2012 at 10:22 pm

Dumb ass, The 50k is not only the engine diff. (which can be upgraded to R specs) It’s also the ACC (adaptive chassis control) which is only found in BMW 5series and beyond So for the Tec, at under 250k is considered very reasonable. But hey we don’t expect ppl with ur intelligence to understand. Go drive a Japanese car as that’s all the tech u prob can handle.

Ps. U also get Vienna leather, 18″rims and tire to match(which cost more)

• anono on Jun 17, 2012 at 1:06 am

I have 1 on order but there is a super long wait for the DSG auto version ! :-) the wife loves it and i cant wait for it

• Amanda on Aug 25, 2012 at 2:18 pm

Anyone interested please contact me! :)

• sayid on Jan 31, 2013 at 3:17 pm

is it driving this scirocco 1.4 feel better than all new civic 2.0???

i really need your opinion.

thanks guys.

• I’m currently driving a 1.4 scirocco auto transition. Bought it end of 2011.

As most of us, its was the design factor that made it appealing. But here is when the good stuff end.

For the pass 2 years I’ve been experiencing this very irritating ‘juddering’ effect which is coming from the clutch/gear (transition) when ever my car is slowing down (for example slowing down if there is road bump) and escalating back from first to second (this is when the juddering happen).

Just this year I had a major problem wth my Mechatronic which end up being replace wth a new updated one. The experience was very frustrating and unbelievable because the car was only 2 years old and problems are emerging.

But any way I was sure tht after the replacement my car would run smoother. But as now in its third month (or something like that) after the replacement I’m still having problem wth the gear.

I remember being told by one of the mechanic in VW glenmarie Shah Alam (where I bring my car for servicing) that the problem is because of the dry duel clutch. How come? Was this meant to be n expected when they (the engineer at VW) created the system for this car?

I had better experiences wth the transmission from my previous proton Gen2 car compare to this one. I’m thinking of selling or trading this car for a new different brand.