Suzuki Alto launched – 3 variants, RM44,888 to RM54,888

Suzuki Malaysia Automobile (SMA) has added a new model to its local range – the Alto, which is an A-segment rival to the Perodua Viva and Hyundai i10. This subcompact is imported CBU from Maruti Suzuki in India, which is the global production hub for this model.

Powered by a 996cc three-cylinder engine, the lightweight Alto (880 kg for the manual, 915 kg for the auto) is pushed on by 67 bhp and 90 Nm of torque. For comparison, the Viva EZi weighs 810 kg and has 60 bhp/90 Nm from its 989cc triple. The Alto’s K10B engine is paired to either a 5-speed manual or a 4-speed automatic gearbox. The latter features a gated shifter, just like in big brother Swift.

I remember seeing the Alto in concept form (it was called A-Star) at the Delhi Motor Show, and it looked nothing like this finished product. While the basic shape is there, crisp and bold styling gave way to a cute and cuddly image that should go well with the ladies, who we presume will also dig the Fortune Rose Pearl Metallic colour shown here. Five other hues are available.

The Alto’s 3,500 mm length is 75 mm shorter than the Viva, while its 2,360 mm wheelbase is 30 mm shorter than the Perodua. The locally made car also has a 60 mm taller roof. All these are obvious when you see the Alto in the metal – its shape is more rakish and “sportier” (0.30 drag coefficient) than the box-like Viva. The Suzuki is also significantly wider. Under the skin, the Alto sits on MacPherson struts up front and a 3-link rigid axle at the back. The front ventilated discs brakes work with rear drums. It rides on 155/65 R14 Goodyear GT3 tyres.

The super basic RM44,888 (OTR without insurance) GA manual variant has a folding rear bench, dual airbags and a pollen filter, but misses out on the automatic GLX model’s fog lamps, coloured wing mirror caps, tachometer, front power windows, 50:50 split folding rear seats and ABS/EBD. The GLX costs RM49,888. There’s also a RM54,888 GXS spec that adds window tint, leather seats, door visors and a bodykit.

Rear windows are self winding and wing mirrors manual in all variants. The Alto has only 2 sets of seatbelts at the back, making it a four-seater officially, but there are two ISOFIX child seat anchorages. Live images from the launch after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1392]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Thomas Heng on Aug 10, 2010 at 12:29 am

good to see more player in the match…for the customer…

• Anti Proton on Aug 10, 2010 at 12:33 am

honestly. yuck. self winding windows? haven’t seen that for a while.

• corolla_KE70 on Aug 10, 2010 at 11:24 am

you can see it now, friend.. :-)

• Beep Beep on Aug 10, 2010 at 1:12 pm

whats wrong with manual windows just because you been riding around in the overpriced import doesnt mean that manual windows are “yuck”. You will find most base model no frill models still come with manual window.

• theanswer on Aug 10, 2010 at 5:09 pm

totally wrong especially when looking at the price!

• Ferrari F40 still comes with manual window :)

• Thomas L on Aug 11, 2010 at 12:54 pm

The logic behind the rear manual windows is that a small car does not take that long to cool down since the volume of the car is small. Hence you will find it rather quite rare to wind down those rear windows, so why bother to spend extra to put up an auto rear window?

• naim jonn on Aug 11, 2010 at 2:21 pm

why bother to hv an openable window if ur argument is true.
          autowindow just cost more. self winding for less cost, nothing to do with the smallness….. its just cheaper.

• Nameless on Aug 23, 2010 at 4:03 pm

I’ll swap the rear auto windows for ABS /Air Bag / BA / and CD/MP3 FM transmitter with AUX anytime man! I dont mind about the manual rear windows.. how often we use the rear window anyway!!

Nice effort by Suzuki..

• 388900wow on Aug 10, 2010 at 5:17 pm

Lotus elise also comes with manual self winding windows~

• nazrin on Aug 10, 2010 at 6:42 pm

and if your power window suddenly get stuck when the rain falls, then you know which one is better

• chaos on Aug 11, 2010 at 9:16 am

Hahaha…you guys just condemn for the sake of condemning…..seriously power windows should be standard equipment unless real low cost stuff…..the trend now is one touch up/down or even better anti pinch

• Tiadaid on Aug 11, 2010 at 11:43 am

Do you know that rear power windows are a 250 pound option on the UK VW Golf (not Golf GTI, just the normal Golf)?

• momocultus on Aug 11, 2010 at 12:25 pm

if you realize only the rear is manual.. reason bcos in uk they put panel glas (the van type) at the rear hence when the car is imported to malaysia they have to make it manual..(btw how many time u open ur rear window)

• ur not alone on Aug 26, 2010 at 3:20 pm

aiya……….this car for ladies…..some ladies got kiddies…….kiddies are notiesss….so manual window dangerous…….those with F40, lotus got no kiddies…..there are yuppies which only can afford to raise puppiess and puppies cant use manual window……

• pretty mommy on Jan 16, 2012 at 2:07 pm

hmmm…. i think manual windows more safety for kids than a power 1, kids may not have enough strange to winding it but power windows just a finger touch, ………. and many ppl dint realise that, “window lock” is actually very very dangerous, if ur car fall into any accident, while ur door is not fuction anymore, then ……..

• If some1 was “regular customer” for toll malaysia will know the effect if Manual window….u gotta roll, roll, roll, bf n after toll, then the worst i suck those waste gas fr traffic if u r slow; imagine how if it was heavy rain?

• klaka seram on Aug 11, 2010 at 10:27 am

with manual window, u don’t have to worry abt burnt motor
      :p

• naim jonn on Aug 11, 2010 at 2:22 pm

in my kelisa, i just chuck my winder out, made it permanently fixed.

• Anti Proton, If you know anything at all about driving a car you will know that the manual winder is good and reliable and much better than an auto winder! Why yuck?! U must still be a kiddo cruising around in that mountain bike your daddy bought u.

• chidori on Aug 10, 2010 at 12:37 am

not bad

• ahhh… i just saw this car in the newspaper… is it good ???

anyone tested it ? haha not my type of car but happy to know haha :)

• This car will have tough fight with i10 with the highest range priced @54,888 and i10 @ 52,688. Personally, I like the exterior of Alto and interior of i10, but Alto’s meter dashboard is better. haha

• an ugly car! at that price better get a myvi for better features. first impression is just the brand

• myvi interest rate is damn high, doens’t worth the price to pay at all…suzuki alto interest rate is much lower and it’s fully imported though….

• rebung on Aug 10, 2010 at 12:51 am

expensive

• aku noob on Aug 10, 2010 at 12:58 am

apersal mcm kurang cantik jer…myvi lagi cantik…

• naim jonn on Aug 10, 2010 at 10:48 am

adik this is viva competitor…

• MoFaz on Aug 10, 2010 at 2:24 pm

the car priced like myvi, then definitly can’t beat viva… some will argue the price is high because of tax. so why bother import car less than 1500cc if you know tax is going to let you down…??

• scgtimk1 on Aug 11, 2010 at 11:15 am

I test drove the ALTO yesterday…

Once you drove the ALTO you will definitely say Viva is overprice POS with free noise orchestra inside the car…..

• Thomas L on Aug 11, 2010 at 1:03 pm

I totally agree with you, P2’s got no subtlety when it comes to cabin comfort. Especially during the rain, when the “orchestra” will be applauded by raindrops on the tinfoil roof.

• gattaca on Aug 11, 2010 at 9:40 am

naimmm gemmm!! how r u??? mau beli ini alto ka??

• not in my market lah,,,,,, ahaaaa ni sape pulok neh….. jemmm??

• lancer on Aug 10, 2010 at 1:00 am

fuyo..nice and really affordable. hard times for hyundai kappa and myvi. yes, keep it up suzuki, bring more attractive models to malaysia.

• alex tye on Aug 10, 2010 at 1:05 am

yes !! is better than INOKOM i-10 !! SUZUKI ALTO !!

• bystander on Aug 10, 2010 at 1:18 am

this car makes i10 suddenly looks like value for money! Danny, is tt the tachometer growing on top of the dash? doesn’t look very useful if it’s tt small n kind of blocked by the steering? dun bother to comment on the “killing” look of the car…

• Danny Tan (Member) on Aug 10, 2010 at 10:23 am

Yup, it sprouts out from the dash like in the smart fortwo. Whether it’s blocked by the steering depends on your seating position and height I guess

• bystander on Aug 10, 2010 at 10:50 am

thanks for reply, saw it in ur updated pics oledi! really eenie minie tiny moe, old folks need to put on their reading glasses lah, how to c the road? LOL but an interesting sales gimmick nevertheless.

• hinder on Aug 10, 2010 at 1:18 am

wonderful, now malaysia market full of competitive is not juz comparison by consumer but also improvement sign of car manufacture to build quality and safety car.
    GLX sound a good deal with folding rear bench, dual airbags and a pollen filter, fog lamps, coloured wing mirror caps, tachometer, front power windows, 50:50 split folding rear seats and ABS/EBD, direct face to face to MYVI.

• malaysia memang boleh on Aug 10, 2010 at 1:30 am

Looks like it will kill myvi’s and viva’s sales,NOT!!!!
    it looks even uglier!!
    No offence.

• Nameless on Aug 23, 2010 at 4:44 pm

Uglier?? Boxy shapes is uglier (viva and Myvii).. i think its the first curvy sporty 1.0 car… but i think my lancer of course is better lol!

• skatax on Aug 10, 2010 at 1:31 am

a few hours ago i was browsing through mudah.my and was surprised with the new car ad for suzuki alto at just RM44k. i wasn’t surprised because of the ad actually, but surprised that i didn’t get the news from paultan’s site first. i clicked the refresh button and voila!, the alto launch news popped up on paultan. haha~

have to say, you guys are really keeping us updated with the latest auto news here in malaysia, and thanks for that. but the sales boys representing their showroom are sometimes one step ahead into bringing out the news. perhaps due to need to check on typo errors and image uploads? anyways, keep up the good work!

• ong chin aun on Aug 10, 2010 at 12:13 pm

not rm44k but rm44,888. another rm12 be rm45, Expensive

• ong chin aun on Aug 10, 2010 at 12:14 pm

sory rm45k

• Nameless on Aug 23, 2010 at 4:46 pm

I think its pricey because of the EPS / Chain Timing / ABS / BA / Air bag.. no?? But personally i think all car in Malaysia are pricey.. because of the TAXESSSS!!! heheh

• shark on Jan 29, 2011 at 3:03 pm

yes..the TAXESSS make CBU car expnsive..sbab proton N perodua tkut kete x laku d’pasaran malaysia..sbab x de kualiti n kurang safety

• dr mn tau bro y psl kurg kualiti n safety?.,.

• Ever heard Myvi turtled?

• VW_fan on Aug 10, 2010 at 1:32 am

Cute but a bit pricey for this level of trim. I think Myvi which is a higher segment car is a better choice at similar price levels. Is the design and brand worth the premium?

• nebula87 on Aug 10, 2010 at 1:35 am

the interior looks so plasticky..worst than Proton Saga BLM sort of car..yet, expensive..not worth buying (my personal opinion) ..

• harry on Oct 03, 2010 at 10:52 pm

plastic used in alto is quiet eco-friendly type plastic. if interior car build using other type of materials it mybe can cause serious damage during accidents. to achieve euro standard it mean the type of plastic used in alto is a best one for car. kevlar (a plastic) is 5 times stronger than steel but not eco-friendly (my personal opinion regrading plastic used in car interior) ;p

• Can Viva compete with Alto ? Dunno yet..

• jackcity on Aug 10, 2010 at 1:36 am

cute looking car!

• haloo on Aug 10, 2010 at 1:43 am

any crash test standard for this car?

• Ericboy on Aug 10, 2010 at 1:48 am

Cool! Better get one of these rather than the boxy yet expensive local(P2) car….

• theanswer on Aug 10, 2010 at 5:12 pm

hopefully u will buy it..dont just talk. or else still viva will sit 2nd(wow 2nd..even sells better than myvi in june 10) in car sales.

• Myvi competitor is here

• botak on Aug 10, 2010 at 1:53 am

nice brand.. nice price 2.. sure after ths ppl gt ths compare to viva n saga.. p1 n p2 sales will fall down… very sad..

• totoro on Aug 10, 2010 at 2:06 am

Why can’t suzuki made the final product at least 90% resembles the concept car shown 3 years ago.. and very disappointed with the interior, especially the rear door panel design, looks really cheap, and i can’t believe in year 2010 there r still such thing called self winding rear windows…and also gals buyer really Need a proper glovebox with cover to keep things like Whisper or IntiMate sanitary pad, guys also need it for keeping condom boxes or vibrators stuffs like tat…Verdict: Stupid interior.

• keroro on Aug 10, 2010 at 2:13 am

Is it very expensive to have a water temp gauge installed there? I think malaysian need to find out the temp when going up Genting Highland or cameron highland….

Is it very expensive to equip the driver’s side auto windows control capable to control the passengers’ windows up/down? central auto windows control is really so expensive??? beyond me…

• Guylo on Aug 10, 2010 at 2:45 am

Atlease we have rivals to compete with perodua and proton

• Wesley on Aug 10, 2010 at 2:47 am

This is expensive as it is made in india & a very small car.. i prefer buy bigger & powerful jap 2nd hand car instead of this one..

• wiraperkasa on Aug 10, 2010 at 2:49 am

it should eat the viva and small portion of myvi/saga market

• Average Joe on Aug 10, 2010 at 2:58 am

It’s a bloody shame that we have to pay RM50k for an entry level mini. It truly sickens me.

• Lexus on Aug 10, 2010 at 3:23 am

Nice, I quiet like the look of this car, pretty sporty.

• Rockafella on Aug 10, 2010 at 4:51 am

another kancil type… hmfff..

• The Myvi’s tai kor place is getting down. Now people can buy other better car like i10 and Alto! Yeah, no more Myvi SE or Myvi for lady!

• animous on Aug 11, 2010 at 6:08 am

i feels myvi has much more value than this one, eventhough i do not own one.

• hi alto
    u cute, how old are you?
    u cute, yea :)

• gondol 147 on Aug 10, 2010 at 7:04 am

54k for a small car??? not worth every penny… better buy persona or saga

• if too expensive you guys kutuk.. if too cheap still u guys say bad things.
      the most important thing, get your self a degree and work hard for money.
      at that point money is not that concern anymore rather than go clubbing wasting money.

• gondol 147 on Aug 11, 2010 at 11:53 am

so if the car too expensive, u still want to say that the car is worth the price?? oi bro, not everyone can affort to buy expensive car laa…

alto = japanese brand, assembled in INDIA
        p1 n p2 = made in MALAYSIA, assembled in MALAYSIA

use your brilliant head la bro….

• degree don’t promise you lot of money. it only promise u have something to show during interview. ;)

• Automoive_Critics on Aug 10, 2010 at 7:04 am

Overprice..but nice interior

• Automoive_Critics on Aug 10, 2010 at 7:05 am

No glove box like gentut

• nazri on Aug 10, 2010 at 7:13 am

nice.. no glove box?

• neveraproton on Aug 10, 2010 at 7:28 am

Quite a daring step by Suzuki, but expected sa it has carved out a small niche for itself with the Swift, SX4 and perhaps limitedly, the Vitara.

Looks will appeal to the ladies although the blue looks “ok” for dudes. I like basic cars because they serve the basic purpose of getting from point A to point B. This is where if I was in the market for a 3rd car to ferry about the neighbourhood, I’d pick the Alto or the i10 over the local choices of Viva (ewwww) or Savvy (reliability issues).

Alto probably wont dent Viva or Saga’s lead, but hooray to Malaysian buyers. Choice is good!

• PeYn0 on Aug 10, 2010 at 7:31 am

Damn..
    It will kills Viva for sure…!!!

• ambientscape on Aug 10, 2010 at 7:32 am

A bit pricey for a small car like this….

• Doctor on Aug 10, 2010 at 7:38 am

Nice cute car. Somemore got dual airbags for only RM44k..! Overall a better package than viva i think… But in the “budget category” the Saga still has the best space and value for money…

• carlocaraddict on Aug 10, 2010 at 7:41 am

here in the philippines, our Alto is the old generation Alto. The current Alto is badged as the “Celerio” here in the Philippines.

• kabbL on Aug 10, 2010 at 7:48 am

Is this any better than MyVi?

It has ABS and Airbag….

should people buy this or MyVi?

• Tiadaid on Aug 10, 2010 at 7:50 am

If I’m not mistaken, Suzuki planned to position this car among the Hyundai i10. They don’t benchmark it against the Viva. And if I remember correctly, this car was supposed to have ESP as standard. They pulled it out, so that basically shuts my interest in this car.

• momocultus on Aug 10, 2010 at 8:56 am

Its still in A segment .. and why do u need a ESP?btw this car never equiped with ESP .. wonder where do u get the info.. btw why the hell u need a ESP? hahaha

• Tiadaid on Aug 10, 2010 at 4:27 pm

I got the info from Suzuki insiderlah. The UK model high spec come equipped with ESP.

• scgtimk1 on Aug 11, 2010 at 12:06 pm

With only rainy day is the most dangerous condition you can have in Malaysian road i doubt ESP is needed..

If you really need an ESP to drive in Malaysian road, it means that you are really reckless or don’t know how to drive…

• dickybird on Aug 11, 2010 at 6:23 pm

i thought you only had eyes for proton?! ESP? if you want that for not much money, try the ford fiesta. reckless or not, i much rather esp in any car including proton rather than turbo. sei tak yan to, if the claims of a proton turbo are to be believed.

• Arashikage on Aug 10, 2010 at 7:51 am

Err….for ladies not bad actually….. Why are small cars usually associated with ladies?

• lkf0512 on Aug 10, 2010 at 7:56 am

Viva and MyVi killer?

• f1maniac on Aug 10, 2010 at 7:58 am

Hahahaa…split tachometer..real joke laa..most probably Suzuki corporation adapted to Indian designer…awkward!!!

• apexg2 on Aug 10, 2010 at 9:01 am

bro…even mini cooper got split meter la bro..

• tokmoh on Aug 10, 2010 at 10:08 am

I think it originally didn’t have tacho, just like Hyundai i10 when it first came here. That must’ve been quite a turnoff, becoming one of many other reasons i10 didn’t sell well.

• tamama on Aug 10, 2010 at 10:42 am

I think there copied the idea from Peugeot 107 interior, also things like one-window-only auto window….But I prefer the Peugeot 107 exterior design overall.

• welcome younger bro i have a feeling it will be all over the road, but the interior is kinda ‘plasticky’ than the swift, but it’s looks like a fun car. the grill at the front looks massive exposing the radiator inside. owner will have a good time cleaning bugs and debris, hahaha…

i like the cute tachometer, just like smart42

in terms of safety, the lower spec is not dat bad, at least gives us 2 airbags and the higher spec comes wif abs.ebd for another 5k, which i think is worth to spend. also has ISOFIX. the rear can only seat 2. i guess 3 ppl will be cramp.

they should have brought in the model wif the rear passenger mirror fix onto it, which means cannot wind down but can open a bit, looks sporty, but msian sure complaint kaw kaw

• fugly!

• mitlanevo on Aug 10, 2010 at 8:02 am

although the price can be lower a bit, but overall not bad, should sell well here…

• Tam T on Aug 10, 2010 at 8:10 am

Nice…… :D

• satay on Aug 10, 2010 at 8:11 am

nice and price reasonable. P2 in trouble !!!

• mufasa on Aug 10, 2010 at 9:42 am

correct!! why this happen? how come gov let this happen? will this give impact to national interest? or try to reduce daihaitsu market?

• autojohndoe on Aug 10, 2010 at 10:37 am

no la…

this is one of the steps to introduce AFTA… i think la…

• FlamingFox on Aug 10, 2010 at 8:12 am

How’s the acceleration and top speed like?

Looks too cute for a guy to drive btw

• diedout on Aug 10, 2010 at 8:13 am

Nice……Better than overpriced MYVI

• Meh – another cheap and ‘cheerful’ product.

• Kancil_Redbull on Aug 10, 2010 at 8:15 am

Dual airbags and two ISOFIX child seat anchorages as standards are great features on a sub RM50k car.

• wilsbrother on Aug 10, 2010 at 8:15 am

Kia Picanto and alto looks alike

• idiot on Aug 10, 2010 at 8:17 am

super basic with dual airbags! brilliant. With all the tax breaks and preference treatment neither Proton nor Perodua can provide that across the range. There is no real love for the poorer ‘shareholders’ is there?

• kapparo on Aug 10, 2010 at 8:20 am

1st? The tachometer looks unique..price close 2 viva..

• New Hyundai Fan on Aug 10, 2010 at 8:25 am

Hyundai i10 is still better than Alto in term of spec & look for the same price range.

• scgtimk1 on Aug 10, 2010 at 9:01 am

But face the facts….

Malaysian currently will always prefer a Japanese brand car over the Koreans…

ALTO is the cheapest passenger car from a Japanese brand, period…. next up you have to pay extra RM20k for the next Japanese brand car the Vios J

• Expensive if comparing the same specs car as it’s rival, Myvi.

• momocultus on Aug 10, 2010 at 9:00 am

weit its A segment lah ..who the hell ask you to compare wif Myvi?

• scgtimk1 on Aug 10, 2010 at 9:04 am

Hahahah… you are hilarious

comparing a Japanese brand to a local crappy brand Perodua….

• evoskylancer on Aug 10, 2010 at 10:18 am

well, Perodua cars are essentially Japanese cars what…they are merely rebadged Daihatsu cars…

• momocultus on Aug 10, 2010 at 11:24 am

If you have a rebadged Daihatsu I will call it a Daihatsu.. having it built here not as ckd but as a local car thus the chassis strength and the road worthiness is not as the same as to call it rebadged.

Btw Perodua bring dead and phase out models to be build here.. thats how they get to built the Daihatsu its merely a scarp metal for Japanese but in Malaysia some people, proud of it and call it Daihatsu …

now I feel good owning a Suzuki :)

• theanswer on Aug 10, 2010 at 5:16 pm

and then why daihatsu indonesia ask p2 to produced myvi and rebadge it as sirion? now u tell me.

• momocultus on Aug 11, 2010 at 12:57 pm

u need some education here..

1- daihatsu dont have proxy partner like they have p2 in malaysia in indonesia

2- Pt Astra distrbute the same old scarp metal models in indonesia so they dont mind having p2 built the scrap metal for them vice versa p2 olso took rusa from PT Astra (p2 realize that the PT Astra product is so screwed they stop the rusa here evantualy)

3-The daihatsu badge in indonesia is also meaningless badge as they produce same shit and scarp metal form jepung..

go check with perodua people about this :)

• scgtimk1 on Aug 11, 2010 at 11:50 am

Have you ask this question….

Why Daihatsu did not sell the Myvi under the Daihatsu brand in Malaysia then…. afraid ka?

I bet if they sell using Daihatsu brand most of the local vendor cannot cari makan already…. coz cannot supply their crappy part to daihatsu but to perodua definitely can la…..

I don’t to want be seen in Perodua car la… people will always laugh at you.. they say working at city but can only afford Perodua, so lame… but when driving Suzuki sure different perception altogether.

• Matchy on Aug 10, 2010 at 9:40 am

Where got same spec… MyVi 1.3 while this only 1.0. This is positioned against to Viva. The price can consider competitive considering all the taxes.

• tokmoh on Aug 10, 2010 at 10:05 am

Perodua do sell myvi 1.0, although I’m not sure if they still do. I doubt myvi 1.0 comes with airbags n abs.

• creator mind on Aug 10, 2010 at 8:27 am

dual tone dashboard… this is cool, man! the auto gear level is great too, it has levels when u put it into different gears. this brings out some good feel, which viva lacks. cant determine the tyre size but it looks rather small… like the viva’s. being a small compact car, it would go down well for city parking and handling. the front looks a bit plain, not dynamic enuf… doesn’t appeal much. having said that, suzuki here has done pretty well, overall the car should sell decently as interior design and ABS/EBD incorperated in the car. oh yes, is the steering power assisted?

• 2 xpensive……

• scgtimk1 on Aug 10, 2010 at 9:06 am

Name me the price of the next Japanese brand car……

then tell me again is it expensive or not?

• theanswer on Aug 10, 2010 at 5:17 pm

still expensive..enuff sed. the reason we sed expensive because we knew the real price.

• scgtimk1 on Aug 11, 2010 at 8:37 am

who are ‘we’ you are talking about? competitor?

name the price then…….

It is a fact… ALTO is the cheapest Japanese car in Malaysia market right now… Period..

• momocultus on Aug 11, 2010 at 12:59 pm

what is the real price bro? why this suzuki malaysia not selling the price? do u have the p2 and T and H real price as well?

• Hi Paul,

It is stated on their website Suzuki.net.my that the GXS model comes with a 1500 cc engine. Can you confirm the fact or is there a an error on the website?

• whatsoever on Aug 10, 2010 at 6:41 pm

i dont think so la.. just check their website but it states 1000cc ??????

• rexis on Aug 10, 2010 at 8:40 am

45k for little swift! More cars into the sub-50k range, anyone feel threaten? Furthermore, this is none China none re-badged :D, its a pure japs.

• nazri on Aug 10, 2010 at 8:47 am

no its indian … pasang by maruti suzuki la bro

• LengGerBohLengGeh on Aug 10, 2010 at 10:51 am

i was wondering, if this car assembled in India, Will there be any *Indian Perfume* Smell in it when customers collect the car???

• Denfire on Aug 10, 2010 at 9:31 am

FYI, this car is come from India.

• Joyrider on Aug 10, 2010 at 8:42 am

Interesting for a Japan makes CBU to be priced at such level.

• nazri on Aug 10, 2010 at 8:48 am

cbu from india

• adameben on Aug 10, 2010 at 8:55 am

made in india. lol.

• Armchair critiquer.. on Aug 10, 2010 at 9:01 am

This car is more “Indian” than “Japanese”. Made in India with lower cost and specced for developing countries. I won’t consider it a Japanese CBU.

Btw prices in India ranges from 3.1 – 3.4 laks (RM 21K to 24K). See how much the price inflates upon reaching our shores.

• haha..
        its much cheaper than viva basic at Rm24000 OTR!
        when come to our shores its heavily taxed also the Suzuki Malaysia a much commission in their pocket!
        Malaysian should deserve the expensive goods!

• Tiadaid on Aug 10, 2010 at 4:29 pm

You forget about distributor profit margin?

• yeah i didn’t forget it.
            the car prices should be open market to show the competitiveness of car manufacturer to build a high quality cars

• scgtimk1 on Aug 11, 2010 at 8:41 am

This car is the same ALTO body that are sold in Europe…. except for some equipment omission.

Except the fact la… it is a Japanese brand….

• momocultus on Aug 11, 2010 at 1:03 pm

i called suzuki malaysia they said the same car were exported to more then 100 countries around the world..

this is better then he made in china stuff or he so called stupid T brand made in sawadekap land :)

• bystander on Aug 10, 2010 at 9:54 am

it’s India CBU, bro!

• very cute n nice car.

• BaLesta_RX on Aug 10, 2010 at 8:42 am

1st! haha..
    alto??
    more like alBUTO to me..haha XD

• swifty on Aug 10, 2010 at 8:54 am

If you have nothing nice to say, keep your fxxking mouth shut

• Tommy on Aug 10, 2010 at 9:31 am

It looks ok, not that beautiful, but not ugly either, maybe because this car meant for lady drivers? It gives better specs than Viva Elite though…

• HalimN on Aug 10, 2010 at 9:54 am

Mind your language !!
      You should be banned for your profanity !!

• Marshal on Aug 10, 2010 at 11:15 am

Macam budak2.. takde akal. nko ingat kelakar ker??

• ordinaryman on Aug 10, 2010 at 8:43 am

I guess Suzuki’s website falsely states that the GXS spec is equipped with a 1.5 liter engine… :(

• savvy on Aug 10, 2010 at 8:44 am

Proton Savvy is a much better choice than this !

• momocultus on Aug 10, 2010 at 11:36 am

Depends what are looking.. what attracts you.. ur choice may not be the same for the rest .. any wat salute to savvy :)

• scgtimk1 on Aug 11, 2010 at 8:43 am

Maybe…. but sales figure of the Savvy reflect something else..

Renault engine is sweet…

Savvy is poor mans Clio sport… hehehhe

• Chilavert on Aug 10, 2010 at 8:44 am

wow even the basic model got dual air bag. that is very good.
    i think even it is an A segment, it will be a direct competitor to not only Viva but Myvi as well. glad the rakyat can now have another option when buying a car.

• akinaqi on Aug 10, 2010 at 8:46 am

why this when you can have i10 with 77 bhp/119 Nm Kappa around the same price??

• rexis on Aug 10, 2010 at 12:52 pm

becoz its little swift?

• I agree…this car makes the i10 look like super value.

but more choices is always a good thing for competition.

• harry19 on Aug 10, 2010 at 7:36 pm

yeap true i10 manual its only RM44,488 with higher driving position plus its Gas suspension…

• momocultus on Aug 11, 2010 at 1:12 pm

i think i go for suzukibetter resale value and styling .. and also have sama gas dammper ( i wonder they coming up wif the turbo caj unit or not if yes it would be better)

• scgtimk1 on Aug 10, 2010 at 8:52 am

No point if Viva has more rear headroom at the back when the rear seat head rest cannot be adjusted…

Tall person will not be comfortable anyway…..

• Chika.. on Aug 10, 2010 at 8:56 am

Whats the deal with those gayish male models?? Damn..

• dickybird on Aug 10, 2010 at 9:02 am

everyday the market gets smaller for proton.

• scgtimk1 on Aug 11, 2010 at 9:02 am

Well i don’t think proton gonna be affected… its Perodua is shivering right now…

People who are looking for a small car now have a choice… hooorayyy

• dickybird on Aug 10, 2010 at 9:02 am

in white, it does look a bit fiat 500ish. lovely!

• apexg2 on Aug 10, 2010 at 9:07 am

erm..this car looks great…now, people got more choices of car below 50k car…any picture of this car equiped with bodykit?

• matrxe on Aug 10, 2010 at 9:32 am

45K for this? aiyeyai… and I think MYvis are overpriced. but then again in mysia which car aren’t? I don’t think it worth that much, at least not from my wallet.

• Think its way overpriced!

• Fardaus Rahmat on Aug 10, 2010 at 9:44 am

So, this is the car that I saw on the trailer last Sunday.. I thought they were new Picanto… but when looked closely… the emblem says Suzuki…

• evoskylancer on Aug 10, 2010 at 9:45 am

I would rather choose the 1.25L Hyundai i10 than this car. However, it is nice to see that this car comes equipped with the ISOFIX points.

• giler proton on Aug 10, 2010 at 9:47 am

myvi or viva size? no power window at the back.. http://paultan.org/photo/index.php?album=suzuki-alto-launched-in-malaysia&image=dsc_0639b.jpg is’t this quite cacat

• LengGerBohLengGeh on Aug 10, 2010 at 10:57 am

Yea this photo shown the rear door panel looks like shit…japan CBU? lolz…comeon dun embarass the japanese lol….india car it is.

• animous on Aug 11, 2010 at 6:18 am

the plastic quality also really eyesore lah.

• Maserati on Aug 10, 2010 at 9:47 am

LOL at ppl who say MYVI is overpriced.

Then how about this 1.0 Suzuki Alto? Not overpriced for a 1.0???

You think it has the same performance and handling as Swift? Dream on lah!

Its a OKOK car lah,but hah,wont even touch myvi or viva sales lah..

• agreed.

• myvii is a locally made car… while this suzuki alto is not… tax usually is high laa for an imported car and even though this car is a CKD car (in future), the price supposed to be much higher compare to locally made car… right now the price of myvii is more or less the same with this alto… what do you think if there is no tax for this alto car?? and i dont think that you will feel a lot of different for a 1.0 or 1.3cc at this A segment car… plus u get a suzuki brand compare to perodua… hahaha

• scgtimk1 on Aug 11, 2010 at 9:17 am

Which one do you prefer when balik kampung people this raya people will say:

1. You drive Myvi and poeple will say… only drive Perodua aje?… buat apa keje kat bandar mampu pakai perodua aje.

2. Driving an ALTO back to ‘kampung’ ..people say wow you drive Suzuki.. wow expensive car…..

I would rather be the latter….

• Dear scgtimk1 ,

Your statement somehow shows ur age la bro,
            i strongly believed those mentality have gone long time ago.

Buy what u can afford, no need to show off, Alto is good..viva is good..even i love the savvy handling.

• autojohndoe on Aug 11, 2010 at 1:41 pm

who think like a kid la…

you need something big and huha to get people attention… it is kind shame la…

• PakAbu on Aug 11, 2010 at 3:16 pm

I wonder what your kampung people will say when they know it’s NOT made in Japan (?)

:roll:

• naim jonn on Aug 11, 2010 at 3:38 pm

the ppl will say….

kasihan… wanna buy Nipon made suzuki tak mampu, settled for Indian Made jer lah….. the l8r all ppl will say… itulah org tuh, if i, i will sure buy Avanza, toyota meh……

keh keh keh, materialistic mentality

• dickybird on Aug 11, 2010 at 7:53 pm

eh why you ppl look down on indian made stuff?! their bangalore “silicon valley” is so many times better than our so-called MSC cyberjaya. and how about your roti canai at your local mamak you think that is made by a malaysian at 4am?!

• Dylan on Aug 21, 2010 at 3:59 pm

For me driving Atos 1.o and Myvi 1.3, there is the driving speed differences in it.

• momocultus on Aug 11, 2010 at 1:15 pm

did you test drive it ? the myvi only good in ending up in the drain.. i like the handling test drove this babe at aiman almost similiar handling like my swift

• looks cheap.

• eisyam on Aug 10, 2010 at 9:57 am

the real perodua kelisa replacement model from suzuki…….hehehe

nice look….i think its weight to ratio is comparable with kelisa…..good for small city car

• longrange on Aug 10, 2010 at 9:58 am

Design is so so only..exspec’ at the back.

• azrai on Aug 10, 2010 at 10:03 am

Myvi + Viva killer. The price for now is CBU unit. Wonder when they CKDed it at pekan the price should go further down. The plus point is the road tax still RM20 per year.

• Tungau A/L Punat (original people) on Aug 10, 2010 at 10:05 am

dude..plis comper apel to apel loh..or nearest to her..nice car actoli. i like it.suit to gir. gud spec, gud saf T, ok pris.gud desin..not fani fani outlook. If i hav enof mani, I also wan to buy 1..he..hee..

• learner on Aug 10, 2010 at 10:29 am

that is fair comparison, i mean the myvi = viva = i10 = alto since the potential buyers are mostly female.

• Wendy on Aug 10, 2010 at 10:06 am

Im totally in love with this cute car. :)

• ilikeit on Aug 10, 2010 at 10:11 am

it’s because most of the ppl won’t use the rear window la….and even pagani zonda don’t have electric window….
    anyhow maybe they should list it as optional for Malaysia market….
    Mufasa:that’s why they are selling at this higher price….they tax more for the small car market to protect local company made…

• nazri on Aug 10, 2010 at 10:24 am

lenguh woo.. must hv all electric power window and electric seat..

• giler proton on Aug 10, 2010 at 10:26 am

ad plak zonda 4 seater.. ak ckp sbb tym saga xda ad yg byi.. alto xda ad yg defend

• ilikeit on Aug 10, 2010 at 10:40 am

so two seater is ok without power window but not four seater?what you thinking la haha….pagani then you’re fine with it suzuki then must have it ?anyway for four seater then you can check out with most of the car selling in Japanese/european market power window at rear seats is err optional feature too…for the small car segment…..but really mostly ppl won’t use it….but if you want I guess you can ask for add-on….maybe…lol

• naim jonn on Aug 11, 2010 at 3:40 pm

pagani owner would care shiat abt auto window… u wanna air, berenti, bukak pintulah, so tht ppl can see whose driving the pagani…

• Seen the car (Philippine spec version called Celerio), its a decent car for its segment.
        The only odd thing? With front power windows, you’d expect the driver side door to have a switch for the front passenger power window, but unlike other cars the Alto doesn’t have one.

• momocultus on Aug 10, 2010 at 11:39 am

like how often u wind down kat belakang ? btw in eroupe the down have that wind down window ..its fixed mirror like panel van.. having electic window just gonna make the cost up.. thubs up for suzuki making the cost low :)

• perodua on Aug 10, 2010 at 10:12 am

There must be a lot of perodua supporter giving bad feedback to the comment which is not in favour than perodua product. More same category car come out from other car maker means more competition. The customer will gain and not the perodua alone will monopoly the market…Good sign….good sign. To perodua…..now your turn to react or your market share will be eroded slowly…

• leonardo on Aug 10, 2010 at 10:17 am

Obviously it is competing with the Viva in terms of specs and price. Not bad in terms of an entry level car, which should appeal to working lady execs and fresh graduates. The twin air bags is a major plus point over the Viva. This would be an excellent urban car or a 2nd or even 3rd car.
    One thing i notice missing is the glove box. Form the photos i cannot find any enclosed storage areas, so the golve box can keep your smart tag, purse, stationaries, make up or other things you don’t want the public to see. I hope Suzuki will take note of this, as some things which are OK for Indian market is not suitable for Malaysian market, and vice versa.
    As for the rear winding windows, it’s Ok, as you don’t use it very often. It is ‘nice to have’. No mention about security of the car, and anti theft features. Cars in this category are usually easy to steal due to minimum security features.

• learner on Aug 10, 2010 at 10:25 am

what ever it is, this model together with i10 give impact impact to P2 since they have dominating the segment without equal fight, i10 people still skeptic because of hyundai brand but wait and see how people will respond to the alto japanese DNA. with lack of future model from p2 pair with more and more affordable international brands into this segment, i can’t wait reading total 2010 market reports from motortrader. hope P1 also ready as a sign maybe more affordable sedan will enter their market too, judging from the trend now…

• ilikeit on Aug 10, 2010 at 10:29 am

majority if ppl will still buy perodua I guess haha…
    but perodua to me is just a money making company…..car without soul…and over time they will start removing hidden safety features or protection bar here n there one by one to reduce cost….irresponsible company……
    they give you better equipped on the outside…but removing valuables inside…
    and when ppl find it cheap build they will think it’s a D/T car so the problems should refer to these two company….oh well most of the Malaysian just love cosmetic packages than the technology n safety…that’s why perodua keep coming out with many diff edition same car….

• learner on Aug 10, 2010 at 10:41 am

if i still remember, the protection bar in myvi door is glued to the door only, one forummer in myvi forum even shows the bar drop inside the door.

• santa on Aug 10, 2010 at 11:53 am

Ya they call Perodua car – souless washing machine – (mesin basuh)

• PakAbu on Aug 10, 2010 at 12:30 pm

I hope what you say about the safety part is not true. :(

But yeah… brand and styling are two major selling points.

• just open up the viva’s paper-thin door and u will see for yourself what is inside…

• dickybird on Aug 11, 2010 at 7:57 pm

thanks to the govt’s misguided attempt at building a car industry here, that is what you get, barebones cars that are only fit for the 3rd world and priced at 1st world prices!

• perodua on Aug 10, 2010 at 6:39 pm

Some perodua supporters just can’t accept the constructive criticism towards perodua because they already bought the car. So they have to say how good the perodua car they bought in order to protect their own decision to buy it. I see some good criticisms but received bad feedback. Most of the feedback are emotional feedback.

• trav_da_man on Aug 10, 2010 at 10:31 am

As typical malaysian do inmature and unfair comparison based on pricing. The Alto is an A segment car similiar with the Perodua Viva, hence it is not fair to compare with the B segment Myvi.

Priced less than RM50K for a CBU from India makes this an possible competitive car.

• ToyCar on Aug 10, 2010 at 10:35 am

Buy a SAGA SE … in White and Black roof for me

Cheaper, bigger and the SAGA is a car

• animous on Aug 11, 2010 at 6:25 am

saga :
      nice meter panel
      big bonnet. full size spare tyre,
      4 speakers, mp3 (for SE),

potential upgrade and nice looking.

• scgtimk1 on Aug 11, 2010 at 11:26 am

Saga is for people who wants to buy their first car… great value for money…

ALTO is an alternative to people who wants to buy small and efficient car but at the same time don’t want to be seen ‘miskin’ by driving Perodua cars….

• momocultus on Aug 11, 2010 at 1:19 pm

yes saga is a good car .. but alt more like for everyday car in city

• dickybird on Aug 11, 2010 at 8:00 pm

gee, there must be alot of “miskin” ppl or ppl trying to look “miskin” since perodua is the leading carmaker in terms of sales. whatever it is, sales figures dont lie.

• scgtimk1 on Aug 12, 2010 at 3:51 pm

Now people have a choice now….

not forced to look for only Perodua to buy a small car be the same as ‘other’ people…

Picanto and i10 people are skeptical because of korean car
          Savvy people are skeptical because of renault engine..
          Now ALTO comes, what can people be skeptical about? Japanese reliability and Japanese second hand value….

Viva is not the default choice anymore…. hooraaaaay

• Nice car. Good looking with better safety feature

• apexg2 on Aug 10, 2010 at 11:13 am

im waiting any test drive from paultan….if the result is good, sure this car will da boom….

• Marshal on Aug 10, 2010 at 11:18 am

Test drive o.k sangat! lebih stabil dari viva bila ambil corner..

• from all the comments contibuted by the readers here, I would say majority are still prefer our own brands of Proton and Perodua. The thinking of wanting to buy national brands due to thieir cheaper pricing, more specs and available service centres and spare parts are so deeply rooted and it can’t be changed at ths moment.

Wake up M’sian! If we do not eliminate such thinking we would not have chance to see more varieties of cars entering our market and needless to say to own a car of non national brands!

It’s a good news to see Suzuki brings in this variant in direct comparison with Proton, Perodua and Hyundai. I would not say it’s the best spec’ed in the class but at least such an entry will let all of us know that: it’s time to start consider other alternatives, and what we need to do is to put in our action of whether: to say sorry to our beloved but no-improvement national brands or to buy foreign brands to show our support.

• Tiadaid on Aug 10, 2010 at 4:33 pm

Have you driven the new Protons? I have, back to back with the Swift and Suzuki is well overrated. Proton is improving.

• scgtimk1 on Aug 11, 2010 at 9:32 am

Better Suzuki than Toyota…. Toyota cars and its DNA drives like boats.

• autojohndoe on Aug 11, 2010 at 1:48 pm

are you a traitor or what?

it is good to have ppl love own product… then, you come, as a parasite….

• dickybird on Aug 13, 2010 at 1:37 pm

so you are a traitor since you are probably writing your reply from a pc or mac made NOT in malaysia kan.

• leonardo on Aug 10, 2010 at 11:33 am

Paul, where is the spare tyre? Under the cargo floor? Space saver type? Anyone checked it out?

• swifty on Aug 10, 2010 at 2:25 pm

Car will be unveiled in showrooms across the country this weekend. Go check it out.

• Viosuser on Aug 10, 2010 at 11:50 am

I wonder how they can make it, Deducted the the excise duty and sales tax for the 49k varient The price is only 27k !!! Suzuki is really competative !

• MoFaz on Aug 10, 2010 at 4:32 pm

aiyo.. u donno ah? proton exora is only rm30k+ without tax and distributor profit.

• Tupak on Aug 10, 2010 at 12:06 pm

As usual, malaysian will comment…no power windows la, no glove box la, high price la, other cars is better la..blah..blah..blah…….bored

• Maserati on Aug 10, 2010 at 12:07 pm

Wait for the myvi 1.5 , its more worth it. I can foresee myvi 1.5 to sell by the bucketloads.

Suzuki alto? Hmmmm, makes me feel like driving kelisa.

1.0 cars are just too small, city driving ok but go above 100 km/ h on highway then u will start suffering.

• scgtimk1 on Aug 11, 2010 at 9:37 am

Have you test drive the ALTO? I doubt so…. go test drive and you shall see and feel

This car is supposed steal VIVA market share not Myvi.. leave the myvi market share for Proton to steal…

hahaha.. you talk like Perodua Salesman afraid of loosing sales…

I would rather be seen in Suzuki than in Perodua… people will always look down on you driving a Perodua….

• gondol 147 on Aug 11, 2010 at 12:05 pm

you also talk like suzuki salesman.. are you a japanese??? so proud of japanese this n that….

• gonggok on Aug 10, 2010 at 12:09 pm

Make’s me wonder, are car taxes in Malaysia really THAT HIGH? How come a CBU car cost the same as a national car (VIVA MYVI)?

How come a import CBU JAPAN Suzuki SX-4 cost the same as the VIOS?

Hmm…

• Tiadaid on Aug 10, 2010 at 4:35 pm

Profit margin, don’t forget the profit margin! UMW’s profit margin sure fat since so many fanboys around, that’s why CBU SX-4 can cost the same as a Vios!

• theanswer on Aug 10, 2010 at 5:19 pm

wanna let p1 and p2 lives like a baby. nway, what cbu car that cost the same as national car? myvi is bigger than alto..for that price u can get a bigger blm too.

• learner on Aug 10, 2010 at 6:53 pm

kilang in malaysia want to earn more $$$ lah. without cheap CBU coming into malaysia, i think no body will knows forever that they really have cut consumers throats left and right………..

• MoFaz on Aug 11, 2010 at 2:29 am

that’s your own perception. most of us here already know that local cars also would be much cheaper without tax. Waja is just around RM37k, but sales tax and profit for distributors shot the price up to RM65k.

• learner on Aug 11, 2010 at 10:39 am

yup! no doubt about that, but obviously CKD taiko also taking advantage!

• HalimN on Aug 10, 2010 at 12:13 pm

Saga and Savvy also suffering from the intense competition.
    Proton is not a money making co. cos they give money to
    people like DSZ and his Lotus cronys. – now you know where
    your support and $$ goes to.
    Proton has soul? Come-on after 25 years they going back
    to rebadge a Lancer – Is that progress? its outright REGRESS !!

• ilikeit on Aug 10, 2010 at 3:41 pm

I don’t think perodua willing to spend much on R&D….ya they spent..spent time to think how to reduce cost and give us cheap product….as long as the car can move they are ok with it…
      rebadge is ok la but for wajalancer which has only superb minor change is a big NO NO….
      anyway….the rear light has yaris style lol…

• HalimN on Aug 10, 2010 at 6:01 pm

P1 wasting time &money on so called R&D
        cos after spending so much year after year..
        WTH…. they come up with a rebadged Lancer.
        P1 R&D staff are all genius !!! msia boleh !!!

• Tiadaid on Aug 10, 2010 at 7:59 pm

Still don’t want to face the facts. Exora, Persona, EMAS, Persona R, all designed by Proton. They rebadge ONE car, a car that’s not the moneymaker of the company and they got bashed to no avail. Hey, is your brain in your kneecap? (Otak kat kepala lutut?

• animous on Aug 11, 2010 at 6:30 am

they never listen.. even u tell them how many time also they keep their thinking like that.

they never know why proton rebadge lancer.
            they never know mitsubishi will use exora platform.
            they will never know proton has self develop MPV exora, saga blm, savvy, neo
            they will never proud of our neo s2000 archievement.

and all this thru RnD.

• Tiadaid on Aug 10, 2010 at 4:39 pm

Saga probably won’t suffer since they’re actually a different class than the Alto. As for regressing, time and time again I’ve said, just because they rebadge ONE car to capture what is a niche market, doesn’t mean they’ve regressed. So many other carmakers have rebadged, even with little modifications! What about the Persona R, the EMAS? You forgot about those? Come on, if you want to bash, at least bash fairly!

• saki77 on Aug 10, 2010 at 11:32 pm

Let them be la…not everybody use their brain… :P

• MoFaz on Aug 11, 2010 at 2:36 am

bashers here can sell their brains at higher price than Albert Einstein’s… why?
          because their brains have higher % of unused sections.

• autojohndoe on Aug 10, 2010 at 6:46 pm

of course la DSZ got money from proton…

he works for the company… are you stupid or what?

i never heard ppl working for toyota, but honda pays their salary…

rebadging Lancer is to add selection in current line up and to generate easy income… less development cost…

once, the cash from that generated… new model can be developed…

and saga has been on top of myvi for couple of months i think… so, where is the suffering?

• mkrafz on Aug 10, 2010 at 12:57 pm

i’have test drive the car. just yesterday.
    overall is ok. the suzuki alto have lots of features that no other manufactures offered such as ESP(for this price range cluster), ISOFIX child seat and many more.
    but there some issue…

1) if you more than 185cm in height (like myself), better things twice before buying one. if you do so, the back passenger on your side will suffer. but the good thing is, the seat is far more better than the swift although the swift is 5 seated compact car rather than 4(alto). there no option for seat height adjuster.

2) obviously lack of power due to 1.0 K10 powerplan. but not better than viva 1.0 which deliver the ‘kick’ faster than the alto. but the salesman emphasis that this car build not for performance but rather than as a city commuter.

3) sadly, they just offered 5 different colors.

4) lastly, don’t ever think to bring this car balik kampung for Hari Raya. The boot is EXTREMELY SMALL!.. only can hold about 2-3 back-pack.

With a plus and minus points, overall the Suzuki alto is just average. Although it’s not have 6 airbags just like for the European and USA market, Alto definitely, will be rival for Hyundai i10. :)

• mr.eng on Aug 10, 2010 at 1:16 pm

Exterior design quite decent especially the front grill and the headlamp. Performance wise, not very sure still waiting for paul review or a test drive perhaps. Its good to have plenty of compact car to choose from and its an healthy competition for the industry. Since it’s a compact car, hopefully the safety feature will be major concern for the manufacturer.

• Not bad…Definitely better than boring myvi on the roads…Will attract female buyers tho

• whats ur name again? Alto,
    omg u look cute, may i know bout u a lil’bit more?
    would u have a deeper conversation with me, so that i may <3 u bit by bit ,
    i know, maybe theres a lot of peeps out there do not like you,
    but believe me, first impression not always right, i believe in you.
    :P :) :D

• the saga blm guy on Aug 10, 2010 at 4:12 pm

the price is very valuable for a CBU Suzuki…..even though it is a bit expensive then the viva…..

• BestGuy on Aug 10, 2010 at 4:33 pm

I personally think that for the price of 49888, you better get the 1.3 Myvi or 1.6 Persona Elegance. Myvi is very spacious, no hassle engine and low petrol bil and good resale value. And for proton elegance you expect bigger engine, good chasis, long distance performance, good handling and smooth ride. Brand name ‘SUZUKI’ doesnt ensure it better that Produa or Proton. Use your head and think…

• Another typical national brands supporter! If we did not support other froreign brands, we will have no chance of owing them. Continue to support local brands will make us pay more $ of owning them.

• MoFaz on Aug 11, 2010 at 3:36 am

again, that’s just short-minded opinion. you would buy foreign brands just because you think anything foreign is definitely better than local products? and the imported car price is high because of tax to protect proton & perodua?

well, car prices in Vietnam are among the highest in the world. they don’t have own brand to protect, so, why is the price so high? and why Thailand banned car import in 1980s? because they do not have anything to export to keep those imports in balance. in simpler words: trade deficit. imagine you spend more than you earn, how long can you live like that before you bankrupt?

Almost 500,000 new cars being sold and registered in Malaysia in 2009. If all are imported, and the average price is RM50k, that’s about RM 25,000,000,000 (RM25bil) flowing out of our country. What do we have to export to keep that import in balance trade? Our oil export is around RM20bil, but it is depleting fast, and if Petronas didn’t find any new oil field, we have no oil to export after 2017. with Proton and Perodua, we managed to keep 60-80% of that money circulating inside Malaysia and help local industries to grow.

so, in my opinion (again, this is just my opinion)… we should keep supporting Proton & Perodua until they become global players. if they managed to export more than 1mil cars per year, then we could keep imports and exports in balance and probably we could get lower tax for CBU imports. Saudi exports 10mil barrels of oil daily. at US$70 (RM210) per barrel, they earn RM2.1bil daily, or RM766bil yearly from oil exports. that’s why they don’t have to bother about implementing tax there. so for Malaysia to enjoy the same tax-free benefits, we have to support local industries to become global players.

• bystander on Aug 11, 2010 at 4:12 pm

hmm… an economist point of view, but v r just laymen, n v worked our ass off to make our income, v r paying all kinds of ridiculous taxes without seeing any improvements of higher standard of living, so tell me, y should i bother? petronas makes billions only contribute to the government, if they screw up u go n blame the regular citizens? wat does Singapore exporting? u r talking big, national industry had its shot n v had supported them, it’s their own shit they hav 2 clean up now, dun simply go n blame others like those corny politicians. they wan u 2 buy car, tt’s y the poor public transport n super hp loan schemes, it doesn’t matter 2 them whether u buy local or foreign as long as their pocket is always full!

• MoFaz on Aug 11, 2010 at 9:07 pm

I’m not putting myself in ‘economist’ class. I’m also just a layman, like most readers here. In fact, I graduated in multimedia, not economy. My points above were just my opinions, readers could agree or argue about it. I’m just hoping more readers here would take that points into consideration, so they could think more rationally and not just bashing blindly. we’re not a developed nation yet but many citizen here expecting 1st class treatments while their brain still at 3rd class level.

Do you expect 1 country can be a developed nation in just 30 years? Koreans and Japanese took about 100 years to become what they are today. And let me remind you, Korean & Japanese are still protecting their local car market. Try look for Civic in Korea, or look for Forte in Japan, could you?

you mentioned about Singapore… then, have you try looking at Singapore tax system? cars are taxed very high, for example, Exora was declared RM30k+ before tax but it’s RM170k after tax and various other fees. Singapore wouldn’t develop their own car due to very limited market, or high operating cost. so, they develop public transportation systems and implement high tax as a counter measure, to reduce imports. and everything is taxed, GST is 7% there. if your car clamped, you need to pay $100 + $7 for tax.

if you’re not satisfy with current politic, this is not the place. you could try getting Pakatan to win next GE and wait for your wish of getting cheap import cars become true, if they could do it. something gotta give to get it done, maybe no petrol and food subsidies anymore? But my opinion stands, with our current economy, it will bring more harm than good and jeopardizing our economy growth.

• dickybird on Aug 11, 2010 at 9:49 pm

seriously you want to compare us to vietnam! you must be really desperate?! coz that is where we will be in afew years if really dont start rethinking our macro economic policies. we have been protecting proton for so long, that we have forgotten what real cars are like! and do you think when they are good and ready they will easily let go of it without a fight? enough is enough.

• monomania on Aug 12, 2010 at 3:05 am

no wonder malaysia is still a 3rd world country considering of your backwards mentality. C’mon, maybe its time to raise your standard a bit? The 10-20k difference can buy you a life man…

• bystander on Aug 12, 2010 at 3:33 pm

cool down bro, i din said u r wrong, wat i’m saying is as a regular normal citizen, i dun give a damn… cheer up man, u win loh!

• scgtimk1 on Aug 11, 2010 at 11:34 am

People who looks to buy ALTO is people who wants a small 2nd or 3rd car and don’t want to be looked as ‘miskin’ by other people.

The market share of this segment is Perodua Viva, Inokom i10, and Naza Picanto and some can say p2 Myvi.

As for persona… i don’t think people who are in this market look for persona…. Persona is a family sedan and usually bought as an upgrade car from driving their first sedan such as the Saga….

Different market altogether….

• why most of the eco friendly cars are trying to target female audience? Most have some kind of cute looking design . The colour they chosen to advert is also something like pink.

• trimmtrabb on Aug 10, 2010 at 4:48 pm

Pensonic Microwave – Local brand, basic features, cheap
    LG Microwave – Korean brand, more features, fancy design, more expensive
    Panasonic Microwave – Jap brand, most features (mostly useless), most expensive

A typical Malaysia will choose which one?

• milli on Aug 10, 2010 at 7:34 pm

will choose Haier Microwave from china, bcoz, CBU mah!!

• saki77 on Aug 10, 2010 at 11:36 pm

Pensonic…murah…hehe

• gondol 147 on Aug 11, 2010 at 12:17 pm

more feature but dont know how to use, also no good. better buy pensonic. cheap n easy to operate. plus, made in malaysia maa.. support local brand!!

• Tiadaid on Aug 10, 2010 at 4:57 pm

I think the GSX spec is actually a mix and match spec. When I went and enquired about the Swift they told me that the things on the Premier spec Swift can be had on the normal Swift. So if you want the bodykit but not the leather seats, or just the tints without the others you can opt for that on the standard car. I suspect that’s the same deal for the Alto.

• scgtimk1 on Aug 11, 2010 at 9:44 am

they use the GSX spec for mark up loan la……..

• Nameless on Aug 23, 2010 at 4:49 pm

wow.. never thought of that.. good strategy for people who doesnt have cash for the down payment.

• 388900wow on Aug 10, 2010 at 5:18 pm

VW POLO still much better ~~~!!!

so earn more to get the polo folks!!

• Jaas torre on Aug 10, 2010 at 6:54 pm

More cheap cars for the lower income malaysian to die in.

• harry19 on Aug 10, 2010 at 7:50 pm

More on the Girlish side in terms of design…but then its just a like a Viva with a fleshy booty…
    Interior plastic not impressive like the i10 or Myvi and which also the player has USB port
    But the doors feels really good and solid when closed…

Bottom line price could have been around 40K onwards, then it will be more or kinda attractive. Nice colors though …

• Nameless on Aug 23, 2010 at 4:51 pm

USB?? are u kidding me? we use AUX connector for IPOD now.. ;P

• bystander on Aug 10, 2010 at 9:28 pm

had seen it in real flesh, if it is priced like viva, viva sure die! if viva is a kancil, alto is like a super PIKACHU (look like 1 too, only without the tail…lol), alto is far MORE SOLID just like comparing canon 50d to 550d, viva become like toy cart for children. the build is as good if not better than the CKD swift. sadly, the rear oso more claustrophobic than a swift, two at the back is just rite. the front though almost on par with myvi.

on top of price, it really let down on 3 pots engine, luggage space tt can only fit mayb like 2 carton of tiger, n no glove box. seriously, p2 n p1 will never make a car without glovebox take passo for example, we malaysian lives in a car, some ppl’s car look like their bedroom, how can find underutilized glove box kosong in malaysia??

in comparison, i10 really makes more sense, talk about brand hyundai is globally acclaimed, the real problem is the SD fellows, should make an effort to change the distributorship.

• scgtimk1 on Aug 11, 2010 at 5:22 pm

But i10 second hand value is really a suspect.

Suzuki 2nd hand value is awesome…. look at those classified ads…. the value is freaking expensive for the Suzuki especially the swift sport….

• bystander on Aug 12, 2010 at 3:24 pm

wat about vitara n sx4? those price will not sell, ppl still buying new swift!

• scgtimk1 on Aug 12, 2010 at 4:18 pm

Have you seen the classified ads?.. here some example from mudah

Sx4 07 asking 69k when brand new is only 85k diff loss 18% in 3 years.
          Grand Vitara 4×2 could not be found…. maybe owner are really happy?

look at any Hyundai 2nd hand value and most Malaysian would think twice before thinking of buying Hyundai..unless things change like in Europe and US market… I guess ALTO has the upper hand here..

• sucks on Aug 10, 2010 at 9:50 pm

The Australian specs got 6 airbags standard on all models: front, side and curtain airbags.

and the top of range only cost RM45K++ :(

How come Malaysia always get the shitty specs with premium price?

http://www.suzuki.com.au/cars/overview.php?model=alto

• MoFaz on Aug 11, 2010 at 3:47 am

different safety regulations & requirements.
      different tax system… maybe lower carbon emission will get lower tax in Australia. But Malaysia tax maybe based on cc.

• Mr. Roosie (i10 owner) on Aug 11, 2010 at 9:31 am

There are more than 2 airbags in a car ?! Oh gosh shock horror !

• momocultus on Aug 11, 2010 at 10:19 am

How cheap is for you cheap? cheapskate …

• Nameless on Aug 23, 2010 at 4:54 pm

I thought all cars in Malaysia are more expensive than australia?? its more expensive than other countriessss!! hahahah

• droll on Aug 10, 2010 at 10:26 pm

i hope suzuki malaysia sees enough interest in this model (even if not all gets translated to a sale) to translate this into a ckd model in the future. this should bring the price down. i believe they have to take things a step at a time.

• scgtimk1 on Aug 11, 2010 at 5:23 pm

If I’m Suzuki Malaysia, I would not bring the price down if I do CKD…..

I would not want to hurt the second hand value of current ALTO owner…

• gondol 147 on Aug 10, 2010 at 10:42 pm

CBU frm india?? P1 n P2 made in malaysia maa… support local brand la wei

• haloo on Aug 10, 2010 at 11:07 pm

Its a 3-star EuroNCAP on 2009.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rpyWR7x8gOo

• feisal on Aug 10, 2010 at 11:48 pm

Wah. So many comments for a non-Proton.

Does self-winding means it can wind itself up and down? Self-winding is not the same as manual winding.

• “Does self-winding means it can wind itself up and down”….
      wow sound like a ghost car……….terrific……..
      No lah, is Self-winding = Manual winding

• naim jonn on Aug 11, 2010 at 8:32 am

self = sendiri

so u sendiri sendiri lah wind the window if u felt like doing so….

• bystander on Aug 11, 2010 at 12:16 am

nice if come out with a Pikachu edition in Yellow with black stripes, or even better, a whole series of Pokemon Theme so the Suzuki Alto Club can be called the Pokemon Club, LOL…

• MoFaz on Aug 11, 2010 at 3:50 am

would suzuki pay for the right to use pikachu image on their base (and probably their cheapest) car model?…

• Mr. Roosie (i10 owner) on Aug 11, 2010 at 9:32 am

Fantastic idea ! I would like to see some of them running around. Then we can all say, ‘Gotta get ’em all !’. :-D

• Baby G on Aug 11, 2010 at 9:42 am

Just bought this car,
    Straight to the point, I think this car is not value for money,
    because this is only 1.0 and it cost rm51,+++,
    MyVi only RM46,000, auto and spacious design.
    Another things i try to accept is, manual windows adjustment,
    is okay la, I wont everyday go and adjust that one right?

well, why I choose this?
    “Love at first sight” , the rose red was so so breathtaking!
    Add ons, everyday everywhere see MyVi Viva, ..sien…..

Please don’t say this is ugly just because it is expensive.

• scgtimk1 on Aug 11, 2010 at 11:13 am

Congrats on your purchase…..

You are a trend setter type… instead of those sheep herd followers of Viva & Myvi

• Tupak on Aug 11, 2010 at 12:05 pm

Good for you. May I know what is a recommended service intervals?

• pretty mommy on Jan 31, 2012 at 1:53 pm

i agree with u, love at 1st sight without too command on the road…. but …. 2 days before i placed deposit, i found out this car is a no spare part in malaysia car…. so…. i pulled out my mind…

good luck to u, baby g…. pls really take good care of it so that u r not waiting any part tobe imported from japan cost u RM600 – 1000 ++…

• Syafiq Syukri Ghani on Aug 11, 2010 at 11:10 am

Suzuki Alto Is Imported From Japan, Not From India.

• Mohan Nair on Aug 11, 2010 at 1:18 pm

India is the manufacturing hub for Alto and is exported to Europe and rest of the world.

• naim jonn on Aug 11, 2010 at 3:44 pm

kasihan at ppl believing that Alto is a Japan Made Suzi.. It is manufactured exclusively in Haryana, India…. LOLd @ u bro

• budleee on Aug 11, 2010 at 11:20 am

As someone who drives a small city car (Viva), I would say, I love it this car. Price wise, its quite good, but really, no one can compete with the price of national cars okay.. unless you count in Chana Era.

Suzuki Alto is in the ring with Hyundai i10, and Naza Picanto. Suzuki could emerged glorious due to it being Japanese, while the latter two are Korean. (Malaysian mentality)

Not sure if it would eat the sales of Viva, but maybe less Swift would be sold now? Since there is a cheaper and smaller option available..

The size is okay, its wider, which is good, but the leg room will never be as spacious as a Viva. The height and wheelbase of the Viva, makes its a very spacious vehicle for 4 people, even if all 4 people is 6 foot tall (I tried it, people were surprised that it was spacious). I guess if you want to be different, and want someting wider (I think the Viva is too narrow, my leg rubs the centre console), this would be a good choice.

Good job suzuki.

• Baby G on Aug 11, 2010 at 12:39 pm

haha, what is the service interval? i duno wor..
    hmm..i am a lady …i saw it and love it and just buy it,
    forget to test drive …so stupid me.

hopefully it wont spoilt down…..from rumours , their spare parts are expensive too..

to be honest, this car is not a wise choice for smart people who compare this and that..
    maybe I am dumb lols.., take 52k buy a 1.0 small car..

but for me, the design and europe feeling is totally worth.
    could not afford Honda Jazz, could not afford mini cp,
    so this is mini Jazz and cheap mini . lols.

• scgtimk1 on Aug 11, 2010 at 5:15 pm

I already ask my Suzuki Insider…. the service interval is just like swift

Every 10,000km interval with first two at 1k and 5k km…..

Service will be cheaper than Swift coz oil is only 3 Ltr vs Swift 4 ltr

You can see the service interval at Suzuki website at www.suzuki.net.my for the swift.

• DoubleA on Aug 22, 2010 at 3:57 pm

Hi lady, this car will worth you every penny.

• Qi Qi on Aug 11, 2010 at 1:11 pm

tis car can use ron95? or same like swift only limited to ron97? hw bout the cost in term of petrol saving? it’s gd in compare to viva?

• heeman on Aug 12, 2010 at 12:13 am

Swift can use RON 95. It is Swift Sport that requires RON 97 (actually RON 98)

• rear light on Aug 11, 2010 at 1:14 pm

sure can kill Tawon….kekekeke…

• greasemonkey on Aug 11, 2010 at 8:58 pm

like to see more on the road,instead of national cars

• Anti Proton on Aug 12, 2010 at 12:59 am

made in india vs made in malaysia. i go for made in malaysia. perodua viva for the win.

• Nameless on Aug 23, 2010 at 4:59 pm

Hahaha nama pun anti-proton.. go for made in malaysia or go for made by p2?

• oileak on Sep 17, 2010 at 10:02 pm

prfftt. malaysian mentality who think perodua is good are not really thinking. perodua…the only car manufacturer that have 3 cars to sell. no r&d but still..

• gundala1 on Aug 12, 2010 at 5:53 am

i’ve bought perodua BIBA ELITE (with manual gear) recently…..the price is RM 47500…add minus RM1000..discount…so pls do some math calculation here..is it true the price is higher or not with ALTO Rm448888…..for longer time….i do think the ALTO price is cheaper…the percent given to me by the BANK is 4.1% of interest….how bout ALTO…maybe lower…isnt it?PLZ some body do the CALCULATION!…..and also please dont compare ALTO with MYVI…(tak sekolah ker!)…this is about segment A….JGN COMPARE BUDAK DARJAH 6 DGN DARJAH 3….but interm of price you are allow to do so…anyway it is about our pocket money….

• scgtimk1 on Aug 12, 2010 at 4:43 pm

I already ask my Suzuki Insider… Interest rate for ALTO is only 3.1%

Compare that to Viva 4.1 %

ALTO AT d/p 10% monthly RM 547
      Viva Elite AT d/p 10% monthly RM 507

Only RM40 difference with ALTO, with ALTO better fuel efficiency this difference will become a non issue…

• ehhh when i went to suzuki showroom, they said that the interest rate is 3.75% la. where got 3.1%?

• Azzure Grey Alto on Oct 05, 2010 at 5:26 pm

the other day i went to the suzuki showroom, they said the interest rate is 3.5% and can get lower than dat o… Today, i jz booked an azure grey alto! Weee!!! Cant wait to drive the Alto!!! :D

• Tungau A/L Punat (original people) on Aug 12, 2010 at 11:41 am

This forum talks about alto, why you all dragged too far critics and bad comments about p1 and P2. Kesian mereka.haiyer pakai viva susah, pakai myvi pun susah.pakai BLM lagi susah. orang ingat jenis ini untuk orang tak cukup duit…but how many malysian cares about safety. They only want a good looking car. No wonder they go to ahbeng shops even just bought it yesterday.safeyt is third place after fuel saving.

• jong84 on Aug 13, 2010 at 11:04 am

This car had became the Brunei high school Lucky Draw Prize recently, It only worth around B$10K in Brunei!

• Apamacam on Aug 13, 2010 at 9:28 pm

if ALTO can beat Toyota Aigo , then it ‘s a good buy .

• germancarsaresimplybetter on Aug 14, 2010 at 11:22 pm

Somebody say this Alto made in India not Japan. True, but Hyundai i10 also from India mah, not Korea!

Dont expect Japan or Korean made for this price, hiya!

• globalization on Aug 19, 2010 at 8:51 pm

haiya, what do you expect? honda made in melaka. suzuki made in pahang. kia made in kedah. bla bla bla

• alchemist on Aug 16, 2010 at 8:54 pm

like the pink color. i’m in love!

• arulkay on Aug 21, 2010 at 2:56 am

paul can u make the comparison between this alto n i10(kappa)………i juz confuse which one can i consider as my first car as both price quite in the same range of price…..plezzzz

• DoubleA on Aug 22, 2010 at 3:52 pm

Yesterday, i checked this model when I’m servicing my Swift.
      Alto full spec features as ABS, EBD, dual airbag, good handling, very good FC(17km/L), good sound system, V-Kool tinted(depends on your SA). Just initial pickup not really strong.Once reach 60kmh, it will become more stable.
      Its up for you to judge, pick which is suitable for you. its your own hard work money.

• redliner on Aug 29, 2010 at 3:40 pm

i have tested both alto and i10 1.1.
      in terms of stability, smoothness and comfort, i10 1.1 beats the alto.
      although alto has more power, it feels shaky and unstable.
      may be i10 kappa 1.25 is the answer.

• Nameless on Aug 30, 2010 at 8:51 am

Are you sure? Got to test both last week as well.. i think its the other way around.. i10 has more power and Alto quite slow pick up as i think it’s obvious as i10 is 1.1 and Alto being 1.0. However i find Alto to be more comfortable with the bucket like seat and the silent cabin which you can’t hear any engine or wind sound. Also the turning radius for Alto is superb compared to i10 which is great to maneuver. Doesn’t care about the slow pick ups as I’m not testing a Ferrari but Japanese car has not disappoint me for all these years. :)

• redliner on Sep 17, 2010 at 11:44 pm

Yes… Very sure. i10 definitely has smoother engine as its engine is a 4 cylinder one compared to Alto with 3 cylinder engine. Even though Alto has lower engine cc, it is more powerful. Please note that Alto’s small engine produces 67 hp! Please try both cars again but this time disregard whether it is japanese or korean. Some times it is just our perception.. ;-) To me, I’m just looking for a good 2nd car and still looking for one..

• Nameless on Sep 18, 2010 at 5:47 pm

Im just thinking japanese as it has never fail me or my families b4. Also have to take the 2nd hand value into consideration as japanese car have good 2nd hand value. I know korean car is going up but most market dont think so thats y no 2nd hand value, have to accept that fact.

My opinion Alto is less power than i10 but in terms of smoother Alto is better. 3 cylinder vs 4 cylinder? I think i10 have 3 valves per cylinder while Alto have 4 valves per cylinder. Isnt that make it 12 valves which is the same. (4×3 =12)? but ure absolutely right, anyone should test drive to know. I did and i loooove Suzuki handling, they are reknown for their handling.

• why no glovebox??…:(

• Aiyaaaa on Aug 23, 2010 at 3:32 pm

Apapun RM yg u guys keluarkan adalah korang punya…kalau rasa mampu..beli,takyah nak komen byk2….
    Sebenarnya bukan soal kecil atau besar,tapi masalahnya adalah soal kemampuan,kalau mampu pakai…lu belilah,kalau tak mampu dan rasa kecil sgt takyah komen2…..mengabihkan bhorehhh yo.
    Tapi aku memang tak suka MYVI….mana taknya….paklong dgn maklong byk pakai…even mat2 kaki lima pun byk pakai MYVI…boring betulll la sioottt….thats y la….depa suka jadi TOYOTA WANNABE…..kesiannyerr…haha….

• Aiyaaaa on Aug 23, 2010 at 3:33 pm

Konon2nya bila letak emblem TOYOTA kat situ…depa rasa mahal la kot……hahaha……AIYAA!!!kesiannya

• bry08 on Aug 27, 2010 at 3:19 pm

cool ..very simple and affordable….

• Jaren on Sep 13, 2010 at 9:40 am

Just my penny worth, if compared alto with i10 in term of money value, i think alto worth the price because it should have a better resale value compare to i10. All in all, alto still a japanese CBU car and i10 is a korea made. In term of resale value & spare part, alto gains more rating..

• Fraz006 on Sep 26, 2010 at 8:56 pm

the front aihhh. not my type. others ok, simple cheap n cheerful

• Hi, any one are drive the alto, may i know the performance and fuel consumtion ?

• steven on Oct 03, 2010 at 5:59 pm

i visited the suzuki showroom today to take a look at Alto.

– the rear doors windows design looks very odd. it’s so small.

– dash board storage compartment is open without close door, it will look nicer if it have a close door.

– the back boot compartment was just too small not even allow to put in your average height luggage, at least it should design to fit average height luggage.

– the axle beam connecting to hold the rear 2 wheel was so thin

– i was asking the salesman the safety star rating, he mention 4, i was a little disappointed. the actual rating by euro NCAP is only 3. http://www.euroncap.com/results/suzuki/alto/362.aspx

– also australia alto is only around RM45k for the complete spec plus engine immobilzer, traction control system, side + head airbags, electronic stability program (these are all important features) – why is malaysia government imposing less safety in the cars, ask consumer pay more, and then have more accident and more death.

– at the price of RM51,371.20 (model 1.0 A/T GLX) with road tax insurance, it looks a little pricey. if it have a good promotion and bring down by RM5K. I think it will be a hit in Malaysia market.

– from the picture the cars seems to look nice, but in actual, it look so small compare to I10.

– it only comes with 3 years /100km warranty, loan interest is about 3.15%

– compare to I10 1.2 kappa engine, you just pay RM52,913 (I10 GLS 1.25 kappa high spec) with insurance – metallice color, 5 years / 300Km warranty interest is 2.88%

– i suspect that it had a hard time going up to genting highlands or similar roads with 4 persons plus some small luggage. it’s a not for those who want to go holiday within malaysia and want to drive your family with stuff along. if 3 person and use one side of the rear seat for storage then it still fine with less shopping.

– with I10 1.25 kappa engine i believe it should not have much hard time getting up to genting highlands. compartment space looks larger.

– looking beside it, is a suzuki swift – malaysia assembled, the quality it’s just the same as the Indian made Alto. so look like the CBU and CKD version not much different.. i understand suzuki might want to bring down the price by assemble in malaysia, hopefully that suzuki could bring a better competitive price at RM46 full spec.

– currently I10 1.25 Kappa is good hit in the malaysia market where you need to be in waiting line

– if you can afford, this is not family car. of coz don’t go for malaysian low quality cheap cars. consider other brands even if after 3-5 years 2nd hand overseas car, it is any time overall better than malaysian made.

• Hiya!!

Does anyone knows what is it’s Direct Operating Costs and Direct Maintenance Cost?

• RM50k for such a small car! But with slightly more than 1/2 the price going towards import and sales tax it is little wonder. We are being sucked dry. For the same price one can get a reasonably large size car in the US (Nissan Sentra perhaps!). We pay the same amount like the Americans and Australians but drive tin cans haha!

• nice design n saving pertol….suitable 4 alls

• can sombody talk about suzuki sc, aftersale service or sparpart fot this brand..somthing informative..rather about d brand itself

• pretty mommy on Jan 28, 2012 at 10:53 am

no spare parts in malaysia… suzuki owner ( no matter was vitara, sx4, swift…..) they are waiting their part tobe import from japan / singapore in 3 – 4 mths, + shipping / air fees….

i have pull out Alto from my buying list on last last minute ( 2 days before i place deposite & found out thios issue) after long long consideration

• ising on Sep 04, 2011 at 6:16 pm

compare to myvi, suzuki alto is 4-star safety for adult and 3-star safety for children. i choose suzuki alto for long-term usage.

• Proton Users on Oct 20, 2011 at 9:10 pm

No matter la u use P1 or P2, still the same la. doesnt mean using BLM or MYI is miskin! :) Just my opinon.

• i love suzuki alto. can someone using this car talk about the usage for the time u using and service centre or any warranty claims u undergone ?

• Hi, I am new user for Suzuki Alto, purchased it sep 2011,
      Lady… with very little earning, was planned to buy viva, however viva do not have airbag, and the loan interest is very high, so i chose this suzuki alto over peroduo viva or myvi…

I do not consider proton, because my family and friends a lot suffering from proton bad bad quality.,…. (no need to mention, lots peoples know the problems)

This Suzuki Alto pros;-
      1. walao, very save petrol, full tank go 500 km +++. ( i always drive short distances only)
      if go longdistance can up more, etc KL to Ipoh pergi balik… … masuk melaka summore…
      2. and the sound of the door closed really cantik… i do like it rather than the sound like milo tin..
      3. and the drive smooth, the steering light for a lady like me. easy buat u-turn, corner… and etc.
      4. The alarm, can buka satu pintu saja… so very secure when a lady go take car in dark car park.. heehee, 1 pintu only open.

the buruk part ;-
      1. break ada buyi. I went to service 3 kali sudah… it is the suspension got sound… when i break slowly then ” ko ko ko ” …. sometimes it ok, but it will not ok when raining… sure ada buyi…
      2. when traffic jam, i drive slow… and then mati engine..
      THIS IS AUTO CAR… supposed not mati engine like that. so i went to service, it is because of the wire problems…
      now fixed.

Hopefully no any other problems.
      All in All this is seem like a really suitable car for me, If give me a chance to chose again.,…. I will still chose SUZUKI ALTO over perodua or Proton.
      Unless, I Chose Toyota Vios.
      Save more money and get a Vios…. ^^

Or Even more money to have Honda CITY… why?
      Because all in all, CBU or Japan brand car powerful and best than local car..
      even it is CBU INDIA, but you know, India technology..? go see MI4, Tom cruise also agreed India better … lolx.

• pretty mommy on Jan 17, 2012 at 4:43 pm

hi erin, after few months now….

is that the 2 problem still exist or came back??

i thinking to buy 1 & maybe going to place deposit, really need to know more.. now im considering becos of it dont have electronic side mirror control, as i used to use electronic side mirror…

really scare the feeling of regret…

• pretty mommy on Jan 28, 2012 at 10:03 am

after long long consideration of buying this alto….. ( really really like her handling ), but have to change my mine to avoid regret in the coming future after read many reviews of NO SPARE PART issue, Suzuki Owners are waiting their spare parts imported in 3 mths + imported shipping / air fees…..
    it would be sad to see Suzuki brand goes spiral downwards because of your parts policy..
    Paul / Danny, did you have any ideal on this issue???

• Sherlyn on Jul 04, 2012 at 2:18 pm

I have purchased a Suzuki alto last year June 2011. After using the vehicle for just 1 month, it started to have a bad smell (sort of burning smell). I’ve been sending it to their workshop but they don’t have any solution until today! I am totally disappointed

• Deunan on Dec 01, 2014 at 10:03 pm

Everything that is good about this car.. It is true! All of it!!!

One bad thing though – 155/65 R14 Goodyear GT3 tyres are non-existent in Malaysian market. Not just Goodyear, any brands – Falken, Continental, whatever.. Not in 155/65 R14 size!

Suzuki can’t answer if the any other size will work, not officially though! They will refer you to the tyre shop and wash their hands.