VW-owned Italdesign Giugiaro reveals top management

As previously reported, Volkswagen now owns a 90.1% stake in Italian design house Italdesign Giugiaro S.p.A through its Lamborghini brand. This purchase includes Giugiaro’s brand name, rights and patents. Now VW has named the senior management for IDG.

Living legend Giorgetto Giugiaro will be the Chairman of the Executive Committee, while his son Fabrizio is Vice President. Ralf-Gerhard Willner has been appointed as an Executive Committee of the Board of Directors while Salvatore Cieri will join as a member of the Executive Committee and Managing Director of IDG. Willner is currently head of concept development at Volkswagen Passenger Cars, after previously holding the same position in Audi, while Cieri is a Lamborghini board member in charge of finance and admin.

IDG was founded in Turin by Giorgetto Giugiaro and Aldo Mantovani in 1968. VW and IDG have cooperated on a number of projects including the first Golf, Passat and Scirocco. Giugiaro also penned memorable cars such as the Alfa Romeo Alfasud, BMW M1, Lotus Esprit, Maserati 3200GT and the original Quattroporte. The DeLorean DMC-12 made famous by the movie Back to the Future was also his work.

Most recently, IDG has been involved in projects like the Proton EMAS concept shown at the Geneva show. It is also helping out Proton with the Persona replacement model.

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• akupunya on Aug 10, 2010 at 3:37 pm

ada aku kisah??!!

• The Unicons on Aug 10, 2010 at 3:42 pm

Hopefully, after Proton EMAS concept and the Persona replacement model there will be other models with IDG. Fingers close.

• they have right on patents?? how about Proton Emas and Persona Replacement?? is that include too?? ooh man..

• Of course, they don’t have any rights on Proton’s intellectual property.

Proton paid for it, Proton is the only owner.

Same goes for developments for Alfa Romeo, BMW, Maserati, Lotus…

• MoFaz on Aug 10, 2010 at 3:56 pm

can’t wait to see Emas. if…. all future Proton models designed by Giugiaro, bashers will still bash Proton for not producing own design. haih…

• The Unicons on Aug 10, 2010 at 4:53 pm

Cannot all models design by IDG… do you know how much will cost Proton. No free design.

• Proton defined the design guidelines for EMAS. They will get a weekly or monthly project status report from Giugiaro and they will have the possibility to stop developments they don’t like. ‘Those who pay have to say’…

BTW: I think that Proton’s Azlan Othman made a good job with the current Persona… ;)

• bryan.jones on Aug 11, 2010 at 12:27 pm

really? i think he’s an ambitious designer. imagine his tweet bashing his own boss for knowing nothing about design. look at exora, boxy MPV.. chery is even better.

• hahah..but when design own style they will say our designer has no taste…basher is still a basher..if the car maker gave them a free car, toll, petrol, road-tax, unlimited mod on their car..they will shut up..i just don’t understand them..they want a very beautiful, high tech, very economical, high performance car..all that in a price of tata nano??..WTH!..

• Firza on Aug 10, 2010 at 4:32 pm

VW want P1……..P1 failed VW………result is, VW owned IDG……….IDG design Emas and Persona…….VW suddenly have some right to P1 progress……..at least P1 have some dignity compare to losers under VW…………well, we’ll see what will happen in the future……

• Raja B. on Aug 10, 2010 at 11:26 pm

How do you know that P1 will be a loser under VW?
      The only losers are the present management cos their rice bowl
      will be treatened and they will be booted out.
      So its just about self interest and nothing else.
      What dignity has P1 left when they went back to rebadging the Lancer!
      – all down the drain !!!
      Its a pity that you can’t even type a decent sentence
      -that is why teaching in English in school is important
      -if not we’ll get half past six generation like you!!!

• whitegrandpiano on Aug 10, 2010 at 5:00 pm

Now VW is going to become the biggest and most valuable automobile brand. How many brands and companies does the company own?

Lamborghini, Bugatti, Seat, VW, Audi, Bentley….

• hey they are the biggest automotive maker in the world! from cheap commercial cars to most expensive super car.. VW is taking over the world!!

• HalimN on Aug 10, 2010 at 5:51 pm

That is why from the beginning it would have made sense
    that P1 form some kinda MOU or JV with VW.
    Hopefully we can proceed from here for the betterment of
    Proton and to us motorist in general.
    We also have an expensive lineup in Lotus but so far
    we have yet to hear from them esp on the development of Proton.

• autojohndoe on Aug 10, 2010 at 6:53 pm

if we pay them to do design and the design…. supposed to be the work is ours, right?

we pay to get them…

• Tiadaid on Aug 10, 2010 at 7:56 pm

I think the patents that the article refers to are patents and designs that are under the Giugiaro name. If the design is done for a carmaker, then the carmaker have the right to that design. Just like Lotus tuning up the Nissan GT-R, you don’t call it the Lotus GT-R right?

• bryan.jones on Aug 11, 2010 at 12:29 pm

even they don’t have the “patents right”. but still they can access it right?

• Tak Masuk Akal on Aug 12, 2010 at 1:36 am

pay what? how much? no need lar…just rebadge lar. Let other car maker pay for the design. we are smart people in boleh land. stupid people only spend money n effort making cars. we steal their design, price 2x more expensive for local malaysian and price half of it lesser in other countries i.e middle east. Malaysian bodoh wan, they got no internet to check and such.

They also don’t know how much loss we make over the years and surviving on government grants just to show our books make profit. If they not happy, we give them prototype i.e EMAS, they sure thing we are going to manufacture then after 5 years they sure forget wan…as usual. Between that 5 years we just do re-badge, the next generation will think we are great in making cars then no worries. at the mean time, we still take r&d money fr government and by 2019 if Malaysia goes bankrupt according to idris jala, we close shop and sell the company to Cambodia, by they they would have huge FDI to buy us at the price of a potong ice cream.

HalimN,
      Oh yeah, btw VW deals include the supply of parts for standards issue. If the deal really went through just imagine how many Proton vendors, that produce useless parts, would have gone bankrupt and going against Proton?

• jolly_idiot on Aug 11, 2010 at 7:48 pm

Somehow i felt if Proton do outsource their design, probably we may get better designed proton and increase sales. Just look at the new KIA Forte! if it’s not because of design, i don’t think its sellable.