VW to CKD three models, roll out by first quarter of 2011

VW to CKD three models, roll out by first quarter of 2011Here’s more news on the Volkswagen-DRB-Hicom local assembly project. There has been lots of guessing and counter guessing in our previous post revealing the deal, but we now know that there will be THREE models assembled at DRB’s Pekan plant. Bernama also quotes Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak as saying that the CKD VWs will roll out by the end of the first quarter next year (Q1, 2011).

“I’ve always been monitoring the developments involving DRB-Hicom and during my recent vacation, I took the opportunity to meet the Volkswagen officials and ask them whether they were till keen to establish cooperation with DRB-Hicom,” Najib told DRB-Hicom management and staff at a Ramadan gathering over the weekend.

“Actually, they were waiting for the indication from me whether they could sign the agreement with DRB-Hicom or not,” added our PM, who is also Member of Parliament for Pekan.

Najib revealed that Volkswagen requested for incentives from the Government to make its Malaysian operations the export base for the ASEAN region. “This needs to be studied and approved by the government,” he said.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Thomas Heng on Aug 16, 2010 at 1:07 pm

WOW WOW WOW! Earlier than expected. Like others forums comment, should be polo, vento and jetta :p

• Thomas Heng on Aug 16, 2010 at 1:14 pm

I will WOW only when polo and vento under 100K, and polo stay TSI turbocharged, DSG and 6 Airbags. Hope yet to release jetta or golf stay @ CBU spec as well

• jab strong fierce! on Aug 16, 2010 at 1:16 pm

Uh, Vento and Jetta, aren’t they the same model ?

• TKLow on Aug 16, 2010 at 1:45 pm

Nope, Vento is from the B segment while Jetta is a C segment contender

• VeeDub on Aug 16, 2010 at 2:11 pm

No.

Vento is super cheap entry level car.

Jetta is a Golf with a boot.

• klaka seram on Aug 16, 2010 at 2:48 pm

jetta = golf with boot
        vento = polo with boot

• alldisc on Aug 16, 2010 at 5:12 pm

refer to wikipedia

a VW golf with a boot used to be called Jetta, but in the 90s they are also known as Vento and Bora, depending on the model and the market.

to sum it all… Jetta = Vento = Bora = Golf with a boot

• west meets east on Jan 08, 2011 at 8:15 pm

take a golf ball to break Golf’s mirrors. Jetta=Bora=Vento=Golf with a boot. The Vento name was reused in India for Polo sedan.

• David Wong on Aug 16, 2010 at 1:11 pm

woot 2nd!

haha, golf, vento and passat?

• longjaafar on Aug 16, 2010 at 1:14 pm

They should assemble the Golf, Polo and Passat.

• west meets east on Jan 08, 2011 at 8:17 pm

crazy… should assemble Passat facelift, new Jetta, and next generation New Beetle.

• jab strong fierce! on Aug 16, 2010 at 1:14 pm

I’m guessing if they were to tackle the SEA market, the 3 CKD models most probably will be the Polo, Golf and Passat

• gunalan on Dec 22, 2010 at 2:09 am

well i guess now i have to wait a little bit longer before i can book the new golf or maybe the golf gti!!

• MoFaz on Aug 16, 2010 at 1:14 pm

would you hold your new car purchase to at least 8 months more..? hurmmm…

• littlefire on Aug 16, 2010 at 6:21 pm

If can save more than RM20k for CKD model why not? I would rather wait longer as RM20k i can make more money from it if i am a business man.. (Rolling money)

• 388900wow on Aug 16, 2010 at 6:29 pm

why not??

just less than one year~ those fellow who just bought GOLF, PASSAT CC might drop a lot …

!!!~~~

• aki_zz on Aug 16, 2010 at 6:42 pm

i think cbu units price will always be higher…better assembled :)

• paragon on Aug 16, 2010 at 11:17 pm

not necessarily…some aircraft component assemblies assembled in malaysia have better quality than those assembled in europe.

• klaka seram on Aug 17, 2010 at 10:00 am

I’m not sure about aircraft parts, but for cars the rule of thumb is CBU cars always have better fit and finish than CKDs.

• My guess,

VW Polo, VW Polo Sedan (Vento in India) and VW Golf, which I would assume to be the 3 main volume sellers in this region.

• autojohndoe on Aug 16, 2010 at 1:26 pm

NAP said
    >1.8L
    >150K

so,maybe
    Passat
    Toureg

• scgtimk1 on Aug 16, 2010 at 1:44 pm

That is for new ML

VW is using DRB Hicom ML… so

<1.8L
      <150K

of VW CKD can apply….

• MoFaz on Aug 16, 2010 at 2:14 pm

it’s still possible, gov might give incentives because VW is not producing cars for Malaysia alone, but for the whole ASEAN, at least.
      Suzuki Swift is assembled here, 1500cc and priced at RM71k+ by the same DRB-Hicom.

• magic wand on Aug 16, 2010 at 1:34 pm

Everything is still sketchy and is still at the drawing board.
    However on the positive side at least with the signing of the MOU
    it shows commitment on both parties.
    The model type is also a big question mark due to NAP as there is mention of a
    1.8 lt and above clause. That is why earlier Berjaya Group failed in their attempt
    to assemble BYD Hybrids here.
    Anyway policies can be fine tuned to the economic condition and hopefully
    the NAP would be reviewed to allow manufacturers of all cc’s to come to Msia.
    Only downside is that it will put tremendous presure on P1 as they will face
    fierce competition in the 1.3 -1.6 category.
    The last paragraph may be a point of concern too.
    nevertheless we are eagerly waiting for a favourable outcome !! :)

• scgtimk1 on Aug 16, 2010 at 3:00 pm

The NAP state that a freeze on new ML

Berjaya wants to built a new factory, hence new ML is needed. in NAP this cannot be…

VW is using existing DRB Hicom ML. so assembling below 1800cc is OK….

the freeze on ML is one way of G saying to use existing capacity.

Here is the list of Assembly plant that are currently under utilized
      1. Naza Gurun
      2. Inokom, Kulim
      3. DRB Hicom, Pekan
      4. Oriental Assebmbler, JB
      5. Proton, Tanjung Malim.
      6. Tan Chong, Bukit Beruntung.

• yippi33 on Aug 16, 2010 at 11:02 pm

thumbs up for you bro…nice to see someone whos well versed of the NAP instead of people who bash without even reading it..

• VW has their own strategy of determining what will be the three models selected for CKD. In my opinion, I think they will select based on the three categories:

1. MPV: Tiguan or Touareg

2. Execultive sedan: Passat CC

3. Premium Entry hatchback/sedan: Vento or Polo

I think performance models like Scirocco, Golf, Golf GTI and Eos will not be chosen, as stringent procedures, demanded technology and precisive methods are involved when assembling the vehicles.

• rossi46 on Aug 16, 2010 at 2:24 pm

My take will be

1. MPV: Touran or Sharan

2. Execultive sedan: Passat

3. Premium Entry hatchback/sedan: Golf/Jetta

4.Supermini : Polo

and pls upgrade to euro 4 nxt year so that we can have those nice TDI engines

• Tiguan and tuareg are SUVs

• are you saying merc and bmw are not stringent?

• torque on Aug 16, 2010 at 8:25 pm

Touareg? That bulky machine u called an MPV? Come on…

• beatnik on Aug 16, 2010 at 1:48 pm

Golf, Tiguan and Passat.
    Passat for the Gomen, replacing perdana.

• Dee-js on Aug 16, 2010 at 1:51 pm

I’m Lovin It….

• The Loner on Aug 16, 2010 at 1:53 pm

If VW decides to make here as hub, please add manual transmission to our local markets instead of just assembling them and export to ASEAN countries.

• rasputin on Aug 16, 2010 at 1:56 pm

Pertandingan namakan 3 kereta VW yang dipasang di Pekan.

• Johnny on Aug 16, 2010 at 3:09 pm

VW bug, VW campervan, and VW pickup

• dickybird on Aug 17, 2010 at 1:18 pm

syok lah kalau campervan mcm Jamie Oliver punya, fitted with a modern TDi engine. VW did a new concept for that vehicle but it didnt make into production.

• scirocco, golf & tiguan?

please?

• mr_3m on Aug 16, 2010 at 2:00 pm

“Actually, they were waiting for the indication from me whether they could sign the agreement with DRB-Hicom or not,” added our PM, who is also Member of Parliament for Pekan.”

I think he is proud to point that VW have to consult him first before signing anything.. he is of course in power…. but then again… WOW WOW WOW… VW asking PM whether they can sign or not?… Is this a business deal or a political deal…. why would anyone have to wait for a PM to give a green light for a business decision? Our politicians also running businesses? No conflict of interests here? No wonder Msia is in this current state of mess…

in any case, VW is already a couple of years of late in their CKD operation… they should hv started years ago had it not for this fiasco…

• azrai on Aug 16, 2010 at 2:36 pm

Maybe the Gov’s Perdana will be replaced by this ‘local’ assembled VW Passat?

• MoFaz on Aug 16, 2010 at 2:43 pm

well, you think Toyota, Honda, & Hyundai can ‘suka hati’ open factory in USA? of course they need approvals, at least by state senates.
      Gov has some share in DRB, and like in any other company, shareholders need to give approval.

• kamal on Aug 16, 2010 at 3:07 pm

what’s with the attitude? of course the pm need to weigh in other factors – impact on local industries etc. You think you can just come in to any country without getting any government’s approval? try bringing a nuclear powerplant without approval to the land of freedom of speech – the USA, see whether they put up red carpet for you or simply send you to Abu Gharib CIA prison.

Don’t let emotion cloud your judgement.

• If you are trying to get/ “squeeze” the best deal out of a business transsaction. You prefer to talk to the people on top or bottom?

• Don’t be too proud PM, we have lost alot of opportunity for better car deals because of certain wait and see, consult me or got to do what I say policies.
      Don’t let this slip like the others, VW may end up in Thailand and Indonesia, remember Rakyat.

• yippi33 on Aug 16, 2010 at 11:07 pm

god…did u even read the whole post??

“Najib revealed that Volkswagen requested for incentives from the Government to make its Malaysian operations the export base for the ASEAN region. “This needs to be studied and approved by the government,” he said.”

stop practicing that pembangkang mindset of seeing negative in everything..

• mufasa on Aug 17, 2010 at 10:05 am

give him a chance aa….

• paragon on Aug 18, 2010 at 1:30 pm

instead of saying “they were waiting for the indication from ‘me’ “, najib should have said “they were waiting for the indication from ‘our government’ “.

in a real democratic country, the PM alone does not constitute the entire government. but i guess it’s not the case in our beloved country.

perhaps VW will have good chance of getting the incentives if they sponsor the PM campaign in the coming general election.

• guest on Aug 20, 2010 at 11:03 am

sounds fishy :-)

• Jedimaster on Aug 16, 2010 at 2:04 pm

most posiblity is Golf, as sell q a lot in local counry, and passat also. now they keep advertis tvc for passat. another one either polo or vento only.

• quattro on Aug 16, 2010 at 2:33 pm

hope they install golf 1.4 L is enuf for CKD. will get one …

• kenji on Aug 16, 2010 at 2:21 pm

*flex* *flex*, time to save up for my dream car :P

actually planning to get vios for wedding next year… but if this news is true… definitely going for VW :)

• honda accord also ckd 140k for 2.0 low spec…
    do u think vw’s cars will go low $$$… another way for them to suck pity RAKYATs $$$

• used car dealer for recond vw soon to sing ”killing me softly”…

• 388900wow on Aug 16, 2010 at 6:34 pm

who care about the used car dealer??

• used car dealer make $$$ or Gov suck ur $$$ with vw… ada different ka??? rakyat d 1 who suffer… do we have choice???

• yippi33 on Aug 16, 2010 at 11:12 pm

remember polo vs jazz???forte vs civic?? dont trust T or H so much..theyre the bloodsuckers too..

• Jaybond on Aug 16, 2010 at 2:30 pm

Vento & Golf & the new Jetta. The new Vento & Jetta are potentially the models for VW to break into Toyota & Honda main territory. Golf should find the buyers, but not as many as the sedans.

• azrai on Aug 16, 2010 at 2:30 pm

Malaysia have FTA with Japan. VW sees this oppurtunity and will make malaysia its main hub for right hand drive VW to penetrate Japanese market and also ASEAN market. I think this will bring more profit to the rakyat in term of jobs creating. The plus things also for the vendor. Stringent QAQC will eventually help local vendor improve a lot their products not only for VW but also for P! and P2 which may eventually shares the same OEM vendor with VW. Better late than never. Meanwhile if looking at the NAP, VW will likely to CKD 1.8l and above models. So make aguess those first 3 models.

• BeemerFreak on Aug 16, 2010 at 3:10 pm

Golf GTi, Scirocco Sport and Passat CC maybe???? I sure hope not for assembling the Beetle, that would be a waste

• FLIZZARDO on Aug 16, 2010 at 7:26 pm

No I’m actually thinking of Bugatti.

• klaka seram on Aug 17, 2010 at 10:36 am

wahh u can read my mind???
        I’m also dreaming that GTi , rocco and PCC being assembled in Pekan
        what a nice dream :)

• umno juara tipu rakyat on Aug 16, 2010 at 2:42 pm

hopefully its golf,vento & passat..but realistically i’m guessing its vento,touran & jetta

• meteoraniac on Aug 16, 2010 at 2:50 pm

“Actually, they were waiting for the indication from me whether they could sign the agreement with DRB-Hicom or not,” added our PM, who is also Member of Parliament for Pekan.”

in simply layman terms:

“Actually, I’m waiting how much I can pocket through the agreement with DRB-Hicom.”

• T4VR-Ralph on Aug 16, 2010 at 2:51 pm

beetle, polo and passat

• intermilan on Aug 16, 2010 at 3:11 pm

Hahaha.. ckd the toureg?? That’s reckless and out of characters of VW. Not so early. But who knows.

Are they asking the same special treatment (or even more!)… that might have been bestowed to a certain European car makers with emerging CKD operations here?

The economic needs of this CKD operations clearly dictates what models should be choose,.. it should be polo, polo sedan (confusingly being called a vento* in india) and i’m a bit not sure about the last one.. it might be jetta or golf (normal golf.. not gti) or even the passat cc (to grab the market share from Accord/Camry).

The polo sedan should be the bread winner / best seller.. that’s so obvious in market that preferred a sedan. but polo might score too, if it’s price are ‘ view’ as near enough to the perennial favourite i.e. Myvi. but don’t think this is realistic.

So far, only polo sedan have good chances to generate the numbers, as long as priced in vios/city models price range. And if Proton position the upcoming new waja at a position that is ‘view’ as over-price by its target clients.

specifications (engine, g/box, equipments etc) will all be determined by the final OTR price of each models, as they obviously want to position it as competitive as possible. they should be highly aware that SEA market is dominantly infliuenced by car price first and foremost. no money how to buy? 12-year loan anyone?

beside, me think there is little or no point trying to be ‘das premium’ when being ‘mass-market’ bring more volumes and along with it .. profits.

CKD’ing premium VW offerings should only possible when the CKD operation is stable and profitable.

*vento = jetta = bora, which should be 1 market segment higher than the polo.
    so it is ‘wrong’ when a polo sedan is called a vento.
    obviously they couldn’t come up with a good name in time.
    since VW always based their models name by the name of winds, monsoon seem to be easily identified in india or SEA.. but obviously its not a nice name..
    VW Monsoon.. hehehe… brings memory of the floods and landslide..
    As such, Vento seems like a fine compromise after all.

• Jaybond on Aug 16, 2010 at 4:12 pm

I think VW products are not really targeted at premium segment. In VW Group terms, that’s the job for Audi. What VW has produced are something of a more mainstream cars but with semi-premium quality, which should be excellent if offered at a more affordable price through the CKD exercise.

• libralcl on Aug 16, 2010 at 3:21 pm

Bravo! My dream may come true like this =)

• I dont understand abt >1.8l only for CKD
    peugeot 3081.6l is CKDed already

• MoFaz on Aug 16, 2010 at 4:54 pm

many factories now are under-utilised. you can CKD any model if you use existing manufacturing line or factories. but you can only build new factories for >1.8l

• agree with Azrai, due to Malaysia is Asean Member, have free trade agreement and automobile agreement in some Asia regions, i think they will assemble Hi-specs car, also low spec cars will threaten local market, so my guess is:

Popular demand in Asia region, those not assemble in China and India:

1. GOLF / Jetta << jetta in india, so likely is hatch
    2. Passat CC << no one buy normal passat, lol … so CC ! , or CC sport … yumm…
    3. Scirocco << note that none of the asia region assemble scirocco

however i hope they will bring in TDI technology and 1.4 TSi … i want scirocco 1.4 tsi

• Jaybond on Aug 16, 2010 at 4:18 pm

Preferably both Golf & Jetta variants will be CKD’ed.

• 388900wow on Aug 16, 2010 at 6:25 pm

HELLO bro~~~

if you are true VW fans, you should know VW just lauch 1.4TSI for Scirocco here~~ and also for the Golf~~

go to VW website la~~~ aiyooooooooooooo…

• hello bro !!!!

paul tan say is here with price doesn’t mean it is launch …
        is not official launched yet, u call the VW center la … aiyoooo

• 1Pekan on Aug 16, 2010 at 3:41 pm

Looks like lots of Proton salesman in this forum
    voting all the comments with thumbs down.
    Are you feeling the heat already !!?

• Jaybond on Aug 16, 2010 at 4:01 pm

Probably lots of T & H & N sales reps hehe. I don’t think VW will compete with Proton, let alone Perodua car price segment

• 1Pekan on Aug 16, 2010 at 4:24 pm

T and H will have their loyal customers – no doubt about it.
        Proton will suffer cos they are sore losers and they got
        outsmarted by DRB into signing this MOU.
        Well P1 you had your chance – in fact twice but you screwed it up big time !.

• acerman on Aug 16, 2010 at 8:16 pm

Not sure Proton will effect. They still got the price well under control. They targets are not high-end cars, but low in-come groups who dream to have car of their own, and able to do a with ah beng stuff within their budget and for the people who don’t want to spend much on cars.
          I read an article somewhere(cannot remember what year), there are two things in this world that we can never see decreasing on values. Wanna now? asks me.

• drMpower on Aug 16, 2010 at 9:02 pm

so this chap, Najib is quite good isnt he?

no thanks to him? nevermind put it to rest asap. if else my arse would be on fire. thanks to these people.

proton has leaped forward, albeit slower than we expect it to. thats a fact. not a proton salesman, nor proton people. i drive a japanese make. i pay big for that car, but i am no like these ungrateful people. i dont moan. i decide to get it over and live my life.

but credit is where it is due. kudos najib

• matjoe on Aug 17, 2010 at 10:37 am

so acerman, what are the 2 thing?

• rexis on Aug 16, 2010 at 6:08 pm

Will P1 salesmen ever bother about foreign cars? They have fences all over them.

• Proton feeling the heat? Kah kah kah, that’s a good one Jaybond. VW can already smack Protong when they were still CBU and second hand import. If CKD, Protong can golong tikar already. Protong Salesman should start updating their resume and send to DRB Hicom.

But here’re lessons that DRB needs to learn;
      1) The Rakyat still sees DRB-Hicom just another rebadge identity (similar to Naza). So do not screw up! Especially with the pricing!
      2) Just make sure DRB-Hicom do not use the very same parts suppliers used by Protong, remember the power window legacy, cheap plastics, terrible FC and etc.? DRB sure doesn’t want that faulty technology to hit German’s quality cars.
      3) Make sure your after sales service and service centers are well prepared with VW quality engineering and not some “jaguh kampung NAP” chap!

Good luck DRB-Hicom, the Rakyat are watching you.

• Tiadaid on Aug 17, 2010 at 5:05 am

VW plastic ain’t nothing to shout about you know. I’ve taken a ride on my friends GTI, and the plastic on his car is peeling….

• SIRROCO!!!!!plzzzzzzz!!!!!!!

wishfulthinking…

• mirror mirror on Aug 16, 2010 at 4:09 pm

This is really good news cause i am so tired of all the Japanese marques. Please assemble something more fun to drive.

• lehman on Aug 16, 2010 at 4:30 pm

Can you afford it ?

• You should test Mazda… not the common T&H

and if some of you think VW is a great car.. you should read and do more research.. read what people have been complaining about VW.. or else wait until you have money for it.
      Talk is cheap..

some comments about Mazda3(yeahh.. it’s a Jap car).. and VW Jetta… http://townhall-talk.edmunds.com/direct/view/.f09b90b

• 388900wow on Aug 16, 2010 at 6:20 pm

this fellow sure Mazda fans~ u only pick the one worm out of many good fruits from VW..

is there any Mazda as good as the legendary GOLF GTI? what about the Truely award winning Touareg?

Jetta is almost at the lower end of VW line up~~

if spec to spec.. can the Mazda 2 beat Polo?? Mazda 3 beat Golf? all the TSI engine DSG gearbox enuf said already , bro~~

ofcos..out of all the japs brand.. Mazda is at the tops..as it mostly doen in Europe~

• dude,
          do you think VW will assemble Golf GTi as CKD here??I think the most possible CKD models are Vento, Jetta and Passat.

I admire alot the Passat CC and welcome if it CKD it here.. but just to neutralise some overpraise VW brand here and to be more rational when give comments..

BTW, Mazdaspeed3 can beat Golf GTi. Go find the video at youtube..

• klaka seram on Aug 17, 2010 at 11:00 am

no need to watch youtube bro, I’ve seen it in KL. the GTi was parked when the Mazda3 overtook it.
            Mazdaspeed3 won!

• quattro on Aug 16, 2010 at 10:35 pm

Goft been award best engine of the last year and this yr oso > did u real what paul post last time???

• Did I mention Golf is a bad car????

btw, chck your GOLF spelling…

• malaysia memang boleh on Aug 16, 2010 at 7:59 pm

Yeah,no doubt
        Mazda can really produce a good car
        and no doubt that they can also produce an ugly car.

• anti mazda on Aug 17, 2010 at 12:12 am

mazda?so so only lah………even tested the mazda 6 2.5…nothing can shout about….slow slow and real slow…..the 2.0 even shittiiyyy….mazda 3 2.0…so slow….even civic 1.8 can tapau back…ohhh no….

• LuvMazda on Aug 17, 2010 at 6:10 am

Great car is not all about speed lar stupid..
          I bet you r just another bunch of people who talk co*k… and don’t even drive honda or mazda…

Driving a car is about stability, control, power, and FUN TO DRIVE.. go and read why Mazda3 outsell Civic in Canada anda why most american and european love mazda3 over civic..

and see how Mazda offers Xtras than the shitiyyyy and overpriced Honda..

Anyway.. I love the Passat CC. will buy it if it CKD here..

Cheerss~

• wait till you own both of the cars and you know why vw pawns the shit out of mazda

• nyan46 on Aug 16, 2010 at 4:32 pm

polo @ scirocco1.4 .ummm very cool..

• dont expect it to be lot cheaper… maybe more parts

• rexis on Aug 16, 2010 at 6:06 pm

The 3 car should be whatever represented the top three best sellers in Malaysia. Namely, compact, sedan, and MPV.

• rexis on Aug 16, 2010 at 6:11 pm

After wasted so much time to do kopi talk with Proton, VW decided to do something practical.

• paparazi on Aug 16, 2010 at 6:52 pm

they give face to P1 at the first stage…. actually VW aimed for others to work with, right?

• paparazi on Aug 16, 2010 at 6:58 pm

reason why P1 screwed it up at the end,
          cause P1 think that they are the BOSS, I’m the boss, I’m the boss, VW you’re fired!!!

• acerman on Aug 16, 2010 at 8:05 pm

Waaahh… so many Nujum Pak Belalang here…. great… lol.

• We welcome you VW! (Althought the idea having you been rebadge by another crony, but okay, we can compromise a bit as long its not another tin milo from Tg. Malim).

• riswanrahman on Aug 16, 2010 at 6:39 pm

just visit WW malaysia website. already have model and price. Can pay the booking also.

• bryan.jones on Aug 16, 2010 at 8:17 pm

dude, that’s the recent offering. i bet they’ve yet to finalize the CKD price.

• matjoe on Aug 17, 2010 at 11:13 am

kita berbual pasal CKD, yg kuar kat website tu yg cbu, yg mahal yang aku sendiri tak mampu nak beli.

yg dok kecoh dalam entry post ni sampai 100+ komen ni bila vw nak buat CBU. eager to know which 3 model yg akan di’CKD’kan kt sini dan how much the price can be lowered.

• huiyoo on Aug 16, 2010 at 8:18 pm

confirm already th CKD car in the tv3 news just now. golf, passat n forgot the other one. hihihi

• Pacman88 on Aug 16, 2010 at 8:55 pm

Like that people will KIV their purchase until Q1 of 2011, won’t they? How will the salesmen make a living between now and then?

• Qwerty on Aug 16, 2010 at 8:22 pm

Just watch Buletin Utama. OSK Research predicts the 3 models will be Golf, Beetle & Passat.

• 308_must_buy on Aug 16, 2010 at 10:17 pm

bettle cannot sell la, 2 door car, this is msia, not usa. and an ugly 2 door car too.

• MoFaz on Aug 17, 2010 at 1:25 am

and very old model too.. already 10 years, right? while Proton committing to 5 years life cycle plan, VW bring old model here..?
        but i don’t think it will be Beetle, according to wiki, VW already have assembly plants for that model in Indonesia and Philippines.

• scgtimk1 on Aug 17, 2010 at 9:36 am

Watch this space guys

The model will be Polo, Jetta & Passat

• Watch One Tree Hill on Aug 16, 2010 at 8:40 pm

CKD, lets get it out and see the model. I like Passat than other VW.

• CarCrazie on Aug 16, 2010 at 8:42 pm

was it golf gti or the new golf 1.4?

• quattro on Aug 16, 2010 at 10:42 pm

whatever the cc is, as long it it vw golf > many2 will get one. 1.4 is just ok since this year is the 1st time malay gov give permisiion this 1,4l enter to malayian market.

• GreenEco on Aug 16, 2010 at 8:46 pm

Just for your information.

VW is going to join Suzuki to produce 120,000 small 1.3-litre cars per year in Thailand plant for local and global exports under eco-car projects approved by BOI (Board of Investment) of Thailand. It will follow Nissan March K13 which 94% of parts are Thai made and sell like hot cake in Thailand and Japan.

http://www.insideline.com/volkswagen/vw-may-join-suzuki-on-eco-car-project-in-thailand.html
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QSFf9Ys5u2A&feature=player_embedded
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IY3croBaP4w&feature=player_embedded

• any malaysian will be willing to fork out the extra 20k for the quality of a vw,they have had enough of proton incompetency,be it in drive train and technology and not to mention reliability.this will stamp the final nail to proton punya coffin la.cheers to the new future of malaysian automotive industry,smart move by vw and drb hicom

• matjoe on Aug 17, 2010 at 11:24 am

dino,
      dont think so, persona about 55k, etra 20k will jadi 75k, i dont think vw sedan gonna cost 75k. maybe sub 100k tp likely above 90k punya.

i remember paul entry on 5 series cbu, only reduce 15k base on the actual price of 500k+ from the cbu

we will wait n see

• 1) A Femily Seden, 2) Mini car, 3) SUV, cause a GOLF GTI ppl still can paid @ RM210K…hehehe….

• niuhje on Aug 16, 2010 at 9:31 pm

last!!

• Oh…. I just put a deposit on Passat CC.
    Wonder if I should wait for CKD now..?

• firefox on Aug 17, 2010 at 10:39 am

bro,
      no need wait for CKD, i get this car 3 week ago, you will not regret to have it…CBU germany
      even better then 325I or A4.
      fuel,
      highway, 660KM full tank, speed on 80 – 248km/h (when test the car), average 140km/h+-
      city drive 550 full tank. speed….hahah..(full tank RM 127+-)
      when u drive above 150km/h, just tune the sport mode, can feel the different have performance, esp from highspeed, u still can get a lot of power, easily drive up to 200km/h.

and for me, if VW CKD in malaysia, i believe VW will still having a good QC, else he cannot become the top on this industry, btw it is good also for VW owner, more easy to get parts.

• the problem is kroni will be the supplier for the part…….then QC no choice to release the part either the part in good condition or no…….

• hasanah on Aug 17, 2010 at 11:53 am

Me too!
      Advise? Anyone?

• CrossPolo anyone? one of my favourites of Vw cars…it really suits me..

• transformer on Aug 16, 2010 at 10:59 pm

guess they won’t be able to intro their best engine(TSI, TFSI) due to our petrol still Euro2…. but i think, there is another reason not letting VW offers its best… all bolehland motorhead should know it…. so dont expect to see 1.2TSI and 1.4TFSI in their CKD units… just dream on~

• euro2 or not, i tot VW Malaysia just introduced polo,golf,sciroco with 1.2tsi,1.4tsi engine recently..what other kind of gasoline would buyers of these cars use then…

• klaka seram on Aug 17, 2010 at 11:23 am

the TSI engine can take our Euro2M RON 95 with slight decrease in performance. but not their TDI engines.

• Anti Proton on Aug 16, 2010 at 11:21 pm

i can afford cbu. ckd is not required

• kaswira on Aug 16, 2010 at 11:59 pm

the tuareg ladies and gentlemans

• 1Pekan on Aug 17, 2010 at 12:02 am

Bro., you got it wrong
    Our Ron rating of 95/97 is more than sufficient for all petrol engines.
    Its only our diesel that is Euro2 – thus limiting the amount of
    turbo diesel engines into Msia..
    Time that we upgrade it to Euro4 comparative to our neighbours North & South.
    Even India has Euro4 too.
    Probably VW has to introduce cars with petrol engine here.

• BeemerFreak on Aug 17, 2010 at 1:08 am

our petrol also euro 2 rating. Thats why BMW are not bringing in thier newest engines for the 5 series. Our petrol still contain way too much sulphur. Stupid G everytime increse price never increase quality.

• KCivic on Aug 17, 2010 at 12:13 am

i bet my last dollar that it will end up vw going to neighboring countries and govt talk only. I pity vw for approaching him. Govt always think of how much they can individually take from vw before thinking of really making malaysia the largest export base for vw. The number of jobs can be created, the amount of export duties the govt can make and infrastructure and branding for malaysia is being once again, outweighted by the amount of greed our famous politicians are already thinking how to monetarily benefit from vw since it is a large auto conglemerate from the richest country in europe now. If vw approaches me, i will speak to my cronies first, set up my sdn bhd companies, prepare these companies to assist the very sincere vw, let me count the ways that i can manipulate vw monetarily, wait, why sell ckd so cheap to malaysian people, lets make more money and lie to the people who think its all worth it, my companies will undertake special projects, since my companies are developing sungai besi airport for the army, maybe i will call my friend who hangs out with paris hilton and other celebrities to convince vw further, and make more out of this collaboration with drb hicom, wait, i need to study more in terms of implementations and instead of govt giving more incentives to vw to expand here in my so called beloved country, vw shud give more ‘incentives’ to me, er sorry, i mean the govt and my sdn bhd companies which u can never find my name and once the world see and believe vw can be successfull here, i will convince other car makes, they can also use malaysia as export base, and from there, billions to be made further and benefit me, er i mean the rakyat… Wait wait… Wat about proton, arrr… Screw it… Cant do anything with it anymore…never my baby anyways… This is better than petronas, or even trengganu oil royalty or half billion organizing moonsoon cup… Wanna see my yacht? I dont know how to sail but i got it free… Oh ya, back to vw collaboration… I am very serious about this…but let me study first…ok i will enable every malaysian to drive the passat cc at rm200k, hows tat? Golf gti for rm150k? Scirocco for 180k a pop? Cmon…not good enuff?.. Just kidding,,, i think u guys shud go back to driving protons… I have spoken and collaborated with mr. Taksane to collaborate further with vw to set up in bangkok instead, i mean thailand, and re-import to malaysia through ap and i get incentives both ways…. Wake up ppl!!!!! Stop dreaming…

• huiyoo on Aug 17, 2010 at 12:26 am

boring. too long comment

• guest on Aug 20, 2010 at 11:43 am

dang just wasted time reading the long comment n know we’ll never get our time back !

• BeemerFreak on Aug 17, 2010 at 1:02 am

Thiss something that everybody knows. Since when did a barisan government work for the people. Its those kampung people that they always bribe that are keeping them in office. They destroyed malaysia automotive industry ever since the day proton was found, never since have we recovered.

• MoFaz on Aug 17, 2010 at 1:38 am

haiyoo.. since when a car blog become political warzone?
      KCivic and BeemerFreak, let me remind you both that you can be sued for millions of ringgit by several individuals you mentioned, for accusing them giving/receiving bribes without any proof.
      if you have a case, please bring it to court. we don’t need that kind of incitements here.

• BeemerFreak on Aug 17, 2010 at 9:39 am

Haha sure, if we have the proof and will still loose….. Anyway not straying away from the topic, Its good to have VW assembling cars here. PLs price it similar to what Nasim price for Peugeots.:)

• sukasukiproton on Aug 17, 2010 at 7:46 pm

want cheap cars? discard the fuel subsidy
      not satisfied with current G becoz of your own economy status?work hard n stop complaining
      this type of person only want to be spoon fed by govt, but never grateful for it
      shame on u

• luckyboy on Aug 17, 2010 at 2:46 am

hope it Scirocco would be 1 of it

• Enginya on Aug 17, 2010 at 6:04 am

Very funny la you all hoping like your own company. The car price will be the same and only their profit will be better for them. lol

• l’m not interested in politic but l swear VW is the brand l’ll getting soon if the price & ownership cost comparable to Japanese marques. VW can’t price it to high if Passat CC 5-door 1.4TSI 160PS should be around RM170,000if Accord or Camry targetted.

• it was predicted in the Buletin TV3 last nite that the models will be GOLF, PASSAT and BEETLE. but i guess VW will ckd POLO instead of BEETLE.

• bystander on Aug 17, 2010 at 2:18 pm

100% agreed with u! if swift oso can ckd, sure polo can because they both plus golf oso hatchbacks tt really open up unexplored market rather than competing head 2 head with especially the national brands. sure polo n lancer will appeal 2 different customer profile!

• Jaybond on Aug 17, 2010 at 8:20 am

That’s just a prediction, we won’t know yet the actual models to be assembled. Beetle maybe not as it’s too old already, and VW is already busy working on the next gen version. Passat possible (although has been produced in Europe since 2005) , but to make an impact VW need to assemble & launch the newer cars.

• azrai on Aug 17, 2010 at 8:39 am

My guess for the 1st 3 models:-

1. Polo Sedan – Currently sold in Russia & India design for emerging market (No CBU has been brought in by VW Malaysia) Malaysia is sedan market
    2. Jetta – Premium Continental car to match head to head with Japanese make(No CBU has been brought in by VW Malaysia) Malaysia is sedan market
    3. Touran – MPV, and it is currently CKDed in Indonesia(No CBU has been brought in by VW Malaysia) MPV is also 2nd largest pie share after sedan

For sure will not make it as CKDed models:-
    1. Scirocco – low volume niche market
    2. Golf GTi – Same as the above

• mokkf82 on Aug 17, 2010 at 8:47 am

Don’t be too serious on the price decrese from the CKD units. They set up the plant here too soon and most supplies still imported from Europe or orther contries. Which means the price will not be reduce that really much.
    Maybe it takes around 2 to 3 years time before we could really see the price change. On the political side, We can’t comment much!
    Just sit tight and watch how’s the directors run the movies.

• Cowabunga! on Aug 17, 2010 at 8:50 am

VW w/ local parts?…gud luck people. hahahaha…
    GPS ?..no
    ESC, TC?..no…
    Airbags?..probably 1…
    i’ll bundle it with NCT-5 there and you pay me 155k for a 1.4…hahahahaha….

• BS. Lee on Aug 17, 2010 at 9:10 am

Don’t expect too much folk. Msian cars will continue to be expensive as long as Proton is still Proton. Petrol price can easily hit US$150-200 at next economic up swinging..Then we’re in the predicament of having to buy expensive car & expensive fuel…

• shooter on Aug 17, 2010 at 9:21 am

from intelligence source, its confirm the 3’s are polo golf and passat.. :)

• dream on Aug 17, 2010 at 9:22 am

methink compact, sedan, MPV
    compact – 1.0-1.5
    sedan – 1.6-1.8
    MPV – 2.0

and most likely to avoid overlapping local models cc-wise…

• rossi46 on Aug 17, 2010 at 10:15 am

For VW…cc does not matters & have no correlation wt the car size…

they have a 1.4 Sharan (albeit wt its brilliant TSI engine)…just imagine, an Alphard’s size big MPV wt just a 1.4 liter engine but wt enough power to shame the Alphard’s 2.4 liter….lower road tax and lower FC…go figure!

• fandango on Aug 17, 2010 at 10:26 am

I will surely buy the Polo 1.4 TSI if it’s CKD…

• j3dfx on Aug 17, 2010 at 10:48 am

Wah… if confirm golf going to be CKD then is a bad business decision. Coz currently golf is market like a up market car and the can sell the car at high price n still a lot of ppl getting golf. Moreover current golf owner will not be happy.

Unless they sell it the same price. Means WV makes more money. hehe….

• MoFaz on Aug 17, 2010 at 12:53 pm

same old story… why do you think it’s a bad decision? you’re better businessman than them?
      when Suzuki swift being CKDed here, current (that time) owners also not happy.
      when Proton rebadge Lancer as Waja.. current Lancer owners also not happy.
      how can we keep everyone happy? first, look at the bright sight, will you?

• azrai on Aug 17, 2010 at 4:02 pm

Maybe beside high duty now under NAP the G try using this method:- Bring the CBU unit at high price, then CKDed it at substantial lower price. So the 1st buyer will be angry. The future situation will be like this, when CBU cars launched in Malaysia people will wait and opt for CKD version. This translate into lower CBU sales. Good idea by the G actually.

• autojohndoe on Aug 17, 2010 at 11:48 am

if VW at the price of 160K ppl are willing to buy…

sometimes i think, will they bother to reduce the price when they can get more profit by making it here?

• autojohndoe on Aug 17, 2010 at 1:03 pm

VW will still expensive!

• deleted on Aug 17, 2010 at 1:21 pm

Huh..what a shame..VW 2nd biggest auto co. also needs incentives from govt. I thought only proton needs it. Anyway all of you can dream VW car price below 100k.

• VW is still the 3rd largest in the world even after the GM fall.

Based on the business strategy and exclusivity of brand, I dont think VW will allow the high end models to be assembled in so call sub cont. plant. So don’t dream of getting cheaper Golf, Passat or even Tiguan from Pekan. I presume we will get locally assembled Polo, Vento/Jetta by then.

• azrai on Aug 17, 2010 at 3:48 pm

Do you mean Merc is sub cont plant product? Pity you..

http://www.motortrader.com.my/Cars/NewsHeader/Highlights/VW-finally-gets-a-partner-in-Malaysia.aspx

• Please check the current VW plants world wide and what model do they assemble, then you get my point..

Innitialy VW want to use Malaysia as a hub for assembly of their car in our Region besides China and to cater for SEA demand. If they were to use our facility you will definately see the “VW” logo on the factory and it will be joint-ventured business.

• BeemerFreak on Aug 17, 2010 at 11:29 pm

YEah, the same plant also assembles the RM 1 mil S500. So thats a sub cont product. I wonder which VW badged car is ever priced that highly?

• Do you know that DRB actually provide the space for merc assembly line and the management teams are all German (This block is actually run by merc.)

• dream on Aug 17, 2010 at 2:21 pm

Give me Caddy Life then!

• GTI Fan on Aug 17, 2010 at 7:06 pm

Today’s papers reported that the Pekan assembly plant will only be ready in 2012. So does it mean we will only see CKD VWs in 2012, and not the first quarter of 2011 as quoted by PM?

• Roger on Aug 17, 2010 at 11:46 pm

who said it will assemble in Pekan?

• azrai on Aug 18, 2010 at 7:50 am

In 2011 we will get the SKD version first.

• GTI Fan on Aug 18, 2010 at 2:31 pm

wat is SKD?

• cordy on Aug 18, 2010 at 5:39 pm

SKD: semi knocked down??i guess
          CKD: complete knocked down

• MoFaz on Aug 19, 2010 at 1:20 am

correct.
            CKD is eligible for AFTA, but need at least 40% asean components. so if VW want to export the cars to Asean countries, they need to produce 40% of the parts locally or source the components from asean countries.
            SKD is not eligible for AFTA.

• John Doe on Aug 20, 2010 at 1:01 pm

The big question is whether there will be any price adjustment in light of this CKD plan. A price reduction of anywhere from RM10K-RM30K is possible for those models. Assuming it’s the new Polo, Golf or Scirocco, those placing a booking now will be crapping in their pants if it happens next year. I suggest holding off the purchase until VW makes an official announcement on whether there will be any change in prices and if any, how much it will be, CKD or CBU.

• west meets east on Nov 20, 2010 at 7:31 pm

i guess golf, jetta, touran