Mitsubishi Pajero ride and drive with Hiroshi Masuoka

The real Mitsubishi Pajero is coming back to Malaysia, and we’ve been lucky enough to experience the latest generation of the legend both from behind the wheel and being ferried off-road by Hiroshi Masuoka, a two-time Dakar Rally champion.

This ride and drive session happened at Mitsubishi’s vast Tokachi proving ground (said to be the largest in Japan), nestled deep in the middle of Hokkaido, Japan’s northernmost island. It was part of a Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia initiative introducing to us a range of exciting new models that will hit our shores this year. We aren’t at liberty to divulge too much at this moment, so let’s focus on the Pajero, the first of the new arrivals that should be launched sometime next month.

Continue reading the report after the jump.

Original Pajero made its debut in 1982, over 2.5 million units sold so far

The Pajero name needs little introduction, having been on our roads and jungles for decades. It wasn’t that long ago when most 4X4 types were called “Pajero”, almost like how we call instant noodles “Maggi mee” irregardless of brand. Such is the power of the name that Mitsubishi calls its latest Triton based SUV Pajero Sport to ride on the rich heritage (the L200 based SUV used to be called Challenger). While not taking anything away from the Pajero Sport, which is large, tough and comfy, this is the real deal we’re looking at.

But this fourth-generation Pajero, which the world first saw at the 2006 Paris Motor Show, has evolved into a different kind of machine from the V32 model – sold by USF and popular with law enforcers – that was last seen here (the third-gen Pajero skipped our country). While still extremely capable off road and tough as nails, it’s now more accommodating in terms of civility, comfort and luxury – something like a minor Range Rover, if you like.

Third-gen Pajero (1999-2006) looks ungainly and clumsy next to the new one

Mitsubishi Pajero ride and drive with Hiroshi MasuokaLike the desirable Brit, this latest Pajero carries itself with confidence. Although the design isn’t dramatically different from the third-gen car, it manages to look more classy and less fussy. That unashamedly square shape mixes well with those swelled wheelarches (they’re actually less bulging than before) and the bold face, which proud grille and “big eyes” makes the Pajero look intimidating. The latter is apparently inspired by the eyes of a wildcat, but I like the fact that the bumper cuts into the lower outside edge of the headlamps – a unique design cue.

The rear design stands out too, as it does away with the traditional wheel on one side layout. Here, the spare wheel is mounted dead centre, and its hard cover doubles as a number plate holder and “name tag” bearing the Pajero emblem. There’s also a rear fog lamp here, and the wheel is mounted lower than before (by 50 mm) to maximise vision and help lower the centre of gravity.

It’s tough to explain in words, but the design is modern yet “very Pajero” – we’re sure many would have guessed so even if it didn’t come with badges. But as debated in the Nissan X-Trail test drive report, this traditional 4X4 look with squared off edges is not for all – those who find it repulsive have softer looking options such as the Mazda CX-9. If you’re wondering, the Pajero’s natural rivals are the Land Rover Discovery and the Toyota Land Cruiser Prado, the latter only available as a grey import.

In terms of dimensions, the Pajero has about the same footprint as the previous gen Prado (latest version just out this year), but is narrower than the over 2m wide Discovery. Compared to the Pajero Sport, the Pajero is 205 mm longer and 60 mm wider, so we’re looking at one big 4X4 here. Approach and departure angles may be alien terms to the urban SUV owner, but this is a Pajero, and it’s worth mentioning – 36.6 degrees approach angle, 22.5 breakover and 25 departure are useful off the beaten path. For comparison, the air suspended Discovery 4 measures in at 36.2, 27.3 and 29.6.

Speaking about going off-road, Mitsubishi is the manufacturer with the most Dakar Rally wins ever (12 in total), and we can safely expect them to put all that experience and know-how to good use on their flagship 4X4 that shares the same name as the Dakar machine. On this generation, the Pajero’s built-in ladder frame monocoque body is stiffer thanks to more spot welds, a stiffer cowl top, switching to higher tensile strength steel (from 270 MPa to 440 MPa grade), and the strategic use of structural adhesives. The aluminium engine hood saves 9kg, improving weight distribution and making it easier to lift.

Mitsubishi Pajero ride and drive with Hiroshi MasuokaThe Super Select 4WD II system is carried forward from the previous model. SS4-II offers four drive modes for various road conditions – 2H mode for normal driving, standard 4H mode for better traction, 4HLc with locked centre differential (equal power to all four wheels) and 4LLc, which is like 4HLc plus low range gears for you to crawl out of extreme situations. The default torque split is 33:67 front rear and the three high range modes can be shifted “on the fly” at speeds up to 100 km/h.

The difference between SS4-II and SS4 is that the newer system works hand-in-hand with Active Stability & Traction Control (ASTC), which has multi-mode ABS, EBD, Engine Brake Assist Control (EBAC), traction control and stability control under one umbrella. The Pajero rides on front double wishbone suspension and rear multi links. Ventilated disc brakes with 4-pot opposing calipers reside in each corner.

Bear in mind that the car you see here is a low spec JDM “GR” variant with 16-inch rims and a spartan cabin. The Malaysian market will be getting the highest spec available for the Pajero (called “Super Exceed” in Japan but unlikely to be badged so here). That means a 3,827 cc V6 engine with 247 bhp and 329 Nm of torque available at 2,750 rpm. This SOHC MIVEC unit is paired to an INVECS-II 5-speed automatic transmission, which has an ATF fluid warmer that allows for earlier torque converter lockup after a cold start, reducing friction losses.

Combined fuel economy is rated at 7.6 km/l in Japan (10:15 mode) and 7.4 km/l in Australia’s ADR test. Big car, big engine, so it’s thirsty as expected, but that won’t be such a big deal for those who can afford the Pajero in the first place! The price is unconfirmed and pending approval as we type, but shouldn’t be far from the RM300,000 mark. As a benchmark, the 3.7-litre V6 Mazda CX-9 is currently priced at RM 322,404.60. Like the big Mazda, the Pajero will be a CBU import from Japan.

Malaysian spec Pajero will look more like this. Click to enlarge

As warned, the live dash pic you see above is the “kosong spec” car used to trash around Tokachi’s off-road track. The actual model that’s coming will be much more luxurious and pleasing to the eye. We managed to source this image that, while showing a left-hand drive car, accurately previews the local spec Pajero, I believe. Expect black leather seats and trim, dark wood accents (including on the steering wheel) and a multi-info RV meter that sits on the top tier of the centre console.

Mitsubishi Pajero ride and drive with Hiroshi MasuokaJust like how those Mark Levinson ICE systems become the star piece in Lexus cars, the Pajero’s Rockford Acoustic Design stereo is one of its trump cards. The nicely integrated head unit with steering controls is linked to an 860-watt amplifier and 12 speakers including a big subwoofer at the back. The 5.1 channel system can be adjusted to focus on the front seats, middle row or for everyone. By the way, the Pajero is a seven seater, and the rearmost seats fold flat into the boot floor, not sideways.

It’s a slight climb into the cabin, but the commanding view from the high perch is worth the effort. There wasn’t much to fiddle around with (JDM GR spec has no stereo and RV meter) so I found myself a good driving position and proceeded with the slalom course and a short loop that simulated flowing B-roads (almost). Bearing in mind the Pajero’s heft, body roll wasn’t as disconcerting as I feared, and although you do feel the weight shift, quick changes of direction are relatively straightforward without any delayed “tsunami” to catch one out.

Still, for non-pro drivers (like me), it’s likely that we’ll be put off by the lean and the mindfulness of the Pajero’s size way before the car runs out of grip – after we were done, Masuoka-san happily showed us the true limits of the Pajero on the slaloms, which yours truly didn’t reach behind the wheel.

The Pajero’s steering is never going to as quick and sharp as urban crossovers, but the electric assisted rack and pinion unit is quite light and effortless to use. I’m not sure how it’ll fare on Malaysian roads, but the smooth tarmac at Tokachi didn’t trouble the Pajero’s ride comfort. Our test cars were 3.0-litre V6 powered, 66 bhp and 62 Nm down on the 3.8 V6, but they didn’t feel that lacking in acceleration, so the real deal should be quite quick. I still managed to reach 180 km/h down the straights of the oval though, and the Pajero’s stability at those speeds was impressive.

Mitsubishi Pajero ride and drive with Hiroshi MasuokaThe main event was being ferried by Hiroshi Masouka in the Pajero. I’ve rode shotgun with the Dakar champ before in the Pajero Sport on local soil, but this experience was much more memorable for the difficulty of the course. Deep ruts and big rocks were met with increased speed rather than caution, which caused this writer’s mouth to gape while he was swaying side to side. The speed at which we were tackling the rough route was shocking to say the least. There were of course steep climbs and descents plus the obligatory water puddles.

The Pajero bucked and thumped its way through; it sounded so painful that i was wincing all the way. But nothing broke, and Masuoka put the Pajero through at least 10 rounds of this punishment. With us urging for more and assuring him that we weren’t about to throw up or faint, the mild mannered ace driver pushed harder with every corner. From my front passenger’s view, there were two or three moments where I thought he had lost it, but Masuoka managed to keep the Pajero on trail with milimetres to spare, twirling the steering with a light touch and banging through the autobox’s manual mode – all while smiling. I stepped out of the mud covered Mitsu with my engineer’s helmet totally rearranged! I remembered seeing some wobbly knees too :)

Some might think that there’s no market for a big off-road ready 4X4 with a big capacity engine, but we reckon that there will be enough well to do folks who like the Pajero’s image and looks to snap up MMM’s orders, besides the few who will actually use all those 4X4 hardware. Keep your eyes peeled for the confirmed specs/price and launch story. Welcome back, Pajero!

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1429]
Mitsubishi Pajero live images from Tokachi Proving Ground
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1422]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• xtrail? on Aug 20, 2010 at 12:03 pm

good to see ‘REAL’ Pajero back to malaysia..

• BMALOI on Aug 20, 2010 at 12:03 pm

Still keep its aged look. Sigh… they have been done well with evo and others model, but why not pajero? It should deserve better after all it was a dakar rally champion car.

• 4G63tDSM on Aug 20, 2010 at 4:34 pm

So what exactly are you expecting a car like that to look like then?

Its square, its functional, its a truck.

Same goes to the forever green Landcruizer…any idea how much an equivalent one cost nowadays?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Aug 20, 2010 at 4:53 pm

Saw a grey import Land Cruiser Prado TZ in the classifieds
        Year 2005, 3.4L petrol engine, going for RM217,000

• Cyrus on Aug 20, 2010 at 11:55 pm

jerung head on pajero is not good…. dont tell me u want to see that head on every mitsu

• Darius on Aug 22, 2010 at 2:54 pm

What a dumb statement. Want a girly car go buy a CRV or whatever. You are completely clueless about what a Pajero is.

• JonLing on Aug 20, 2010 at 12:06 pm

It’s good to see the return of one legendary car, Pajero, to our shores. Glad to see that it has shrugged off the clumsiness of the third generation, which is still very uneven proportionately to me, but sadly it somehow throw away the “premium” feel associated with those luxury SUV’s as well. The look somehow look a bit too “utilitarian” for me. Still like the 2nd generation the most, in terms of look.

It’s ok to look not so “premium”, but when your price is somewhere near RM300k to RM350k, i think it could be a problem when it comes to decision making time. CX-9 is still the best looking japanese luxury SUV for me. At least it looks bigger than Pajero, and guess what, i think that’s one of the reasons it is doing well here in Malaysia, coz many tauke’s like their rides to be BIG, maybe not in size, but at least it has to look BIG. and CX-9 is really huge too in reality.

Btw, good job, danny and thank you for bringing us so many wonderful test drive articles. It’s not easy to do the job sometimes, but i think you managed to pull it off everytime, so as other writers in this blog.

• my dad used to own the 2nd gen pajero 2.8. love the car. but it’s aging so it was replaced by a Fortuner in 2008. the fortuner is not as luxury as the pajero tho…

• carter15 on Aug 22, 2010 at 1:25 am

CX9 is just BIG for the sake of being BIG.

It isn’t the REAL SUV! as it hardly tackle those muddy terrain and rocky mountain, it is just an urban BIG thingy running on 4 wheels and only can drive in the city.

So can’t really compare CX9 with this REAL-SUV PAJERO!

• danoneism on Aug 23, 2010 at 5:19 am

yup.. cx-9, harrier,crv, murano and simmilar model like that is basically a station wagon on with big wheels… not an original 4wd… huhu.. did u see ppl use it at inner part of sabah/sarawak??? nope.. only on urban u usually saw it…. even the fortuner(based on hilux) also got some -ve comments about its performance in those area…

one more.. if cx9 is already consider as big then how bout hummer??? hehe…

• djomaha on Sep 08, 2010 at 9:35 pm

I’ve seen more Toyota Hilux than these in inner part of east malaysia

• JonLing on Aug 24, 2010 at 8:34 am

Yes, maybe it seems a bit unfair to compare this pajero with CX-9, but seriously, I don’t think many tauke’s who bought Pajero would have taken the car to do serious off-road. Most of them are just driving around in urban areas, and maybe some not-so-good country roads. Unless you are crazily rich in person, or you are a Pajero-maniac, else I don’t think you would like to see your RM300k-plus SUV to do some serious off-road, and send your car for some serious repair jobs. I don’t believe you won’t even feel a bit heart ache just to see your baby got some scratches on the body anymore, after paying so much to buy it.

So in that case, compare it with CX-9 makes perfect sense. Pajero, since last generation, is regarded as a luxury SUV anyway.

• Peanuts on Aug 20, 2010 at 12:16 pm

It’s finally HERE! It seems like the price is beyond my expectation. I initially thought it may be priced around 200-250k. Oh well. By the way, Paul, any info on other variants that will be introduced here, besides the high spec version.

• The Loner on Aug 20, 2010 at 4:13 pm

Agree. Pricing is likely to be very high plus annual road tax with the 3.8L V6 engine.

• kkting on Aug 20, 2010 at 12:49 pm

In Sarawak, government of Sarawak used this model of Pajero. It is a usual car to see on road in Kuching.

• alpha999 on Aug 20, 2010 at 1:27 pm

‘special pricing’ for them ma…….

• same here in kk…silver colour..exactly like this tested model here…hahahahaha :P

• lucifah on Aug 20, 2010 at 1:48 pm

yes. this one been on sarawak road for a few yrs ready. most are for JKNS – in polyclinics

• yeah… i always wondered why only the gov have the new pajero but the civilians have non of it…

• pdvilq on Aug 20, 2010 at 2:34 pm

Not special price la but maybe trial fleet of the pajero to determine either this new pajero is suitable and capable to march in the heart of borneo island surface…;) its a quite rough road in sarawak, the coastal road…more challenging than speeding in the wide n straight highway like PLUS…hehe ;)

• nyawere on Aug 20, 2010 at 1:11 pm

Aiyoyo…!!!
    HOw come this edition of the pajero is sooo UGLY…? I was expecting much moree..!!!

And powerterain and gearbox is such a letdown…!!! They should offer in Diesel version and the gearbox should at least have 6 cogs..!!! Anything lesser, and u will be overpaying for this car..!!! aloo…!!! Its gonna cost 300+..!!!!! Unless they price it something below 200k but higher than the Pajero Sport, then, there will be some takers….(I think)

I was looking forward to this car, now i have to look for another alternative..!!!! NO diesel, NO buy…!

• The Loner on Aug 20, 2010 at 4:22 pm

I undestand your feeling. Remember, as long as our diesel quality not being improved to at least EURO IV standards, many foreign diesel vehicles will be out of consideration to be bringing in unless vehicele manufacturers willing to detuned/downgrade the diesel vehicles to EURO III standards. Then there is a chance to have it introduced to Boleh Land.

As for the specs, if you want 6-speed gearbox, cost of the vehicle is higher, especially automatic transmission (6-speed manual transmission still cheaper than 5-speed auto).

• Toyott on Aug 21, 2010 at 1:52 am

Navara 5 speed auto,, still cheap..

• linear_system on Aug 21, 2010 at 7:00 am

then replace the pajero 5 speed auto with navara one..they are priced not only base on the gearbox..go n look on the spec,engine,fit n finish,stability system…

• The Loner on Aug 21, 2010 at 7:50 am

The duty charged by our G on Navara is based on 4WD vehicle (this includes Triton) whereas Pajero is charged based motor car, so the price gap is quite big.

• This pajero is meant for offroad rather than formula one track. Why do you need the 6th gear for if a vehicle weighted for more than 2.0ton? It is actually has more than 6 gear ratios and serves the purpose for 4×4 well.

• untouchable on Aug 20, 2010 at 1:14 pm

Wow.. how much damage need to be suffered ?? I like this machine and the new Toyota Land Cruiser….

• Still the same old boring look, nowadays it seems the germans & koreans are leading on the looks department.

• This is pajero trademark looks..if u dont like it dont buy it..

• loollool on Aug 21, 2010 at 1:14 am

trademark look?

see the legendary off road king range rover, also evolve in modern design~ looks much better than this~ but maybe this pajero was still few years back design…

a car is a car.. its has a short life cycle~ no matter how…must keep up with the design~~

if u say trademark look~~ who can do it the best? no one but our beloved Proton i guess…… then we could stop make noise about Proton for not doing good in design like as good as the Korean now~~

rite??

• carter15 on Aug 22, 2010 at 1:38 am

range rover is the offroad king?? u got to be kidding!
          its jus a lady boy among the offroader. PAJERO is the real legend that won the 12-time Dakar Rally titles and 7 consecutive wins! So far i don’t think there is any one have surpass it. Please do some googling before u make any comment pls!
          And I think Danny have made it clear in the review, the competitor of this great PAJERO is the DISCOVERY! And i think it still its trademark LAND ROVER design!

• danoneism on Aug 23, 2010 at 5:26 am

i think u dont have basic knowledge of design… well when something is already became an icon and u wanna make another one based on the icon of course it will look similar to the first one….

u just see at range rover… u still know which one is discovery, freelander and range rover is self right.. doen’t it look similar to the previous version… huhu..

sendiri ludah mkn sendiri… i just use back ur own point… huh..

most of the korean design are not iconic.. (if u can understand what i mean)..

take note on kia forte.. does it have a previous model?? nope.. its a totally new one…

or try look at the latest kia sportage??? u still can reconize some elements from the previous model….

than i think that will explain what does it means with ‘trademark look”

• designwiselyguy on Nov 04, 2010 at 8:06 pm

trademark look if u can sold >1mil. or more…than it can be considered as iconic n suitble to be considered trademark,but this dont happen in koreaan car, wht they trying to do now is REVIVE,in terms of design,quality,engrng…dats y they changed so much..both kia n hyundai already set they own design language to be follow by their next model..anyway,trademark doesnt necessarily..why german so good?they dont think so much bout the past,look at great design like citroen, their motto “anti retro” means keep looking 4wrd n changed to future..then look at their c4,c6 etc model..very2 superb design..so wit bmw,merc,audi..they just retain their grill design rite?btw,kia also set new grille design..see it 4urself..as their head designer are one who design audi tt,peter schereyer..,n trademark design or retro doesnt need to almost same like b4,look at rnge rover,just maintain the design language,but still look futuristic,my point here,as one who set design,not ncessarily to look behind,just move on,tke a piece thn build the rest..anywy,im not motoring guy,im architectural base,n wanna know y m’sia house,building looked ages compare to singapore?china?cuz we looked behind so much,cant accpet new idea,tnhgking n just cant let it go :P

• ahshuy on Aug 20, 2010 at 2:15 pm

If its price it right definitely got many ppl opt for this, but breaching RM300k is really really pricey..

• dodgeviper88 on Aug 20, 2010 at 2:28 pm

My dad used to own the first generation Pajero until it got stolen. As a little kid the only thing that i remember was those multi info display situated just above the center air-con vents. Before digital meters come along it was all analog, akin to the ball like compass suspended by liquid.

It used to be a no-frills car back then. Now it is a full blown luxury car where I suspect only 0.01% would use it in the jungle. Now my dad owns a Hilux as it is not so ‘painful’ to go jungle bashing. Buying this car to me is akin to buying a gucci shoe to go hiking. You can bring it into the jungle, but most people would not dream of driving through the jungle with it.

• mr_3m on Aug 20, 2010 at 4:57 pm

The old Pajero was soo popular with thieves!!! My brother’s Pajero also got stolen in early 90’s but later found being dumped somewhere in Kelantan.

Anyhow, no more serious Malaysian jungle bashing with this 4th gen Pajero especially at circa RM300k each, best leave those task to the double-cabs Hilux/Triton/Navara gang as they are cheap (because they are tax-free hence they represent the best value vehicles on sale today in Malaysia, if u dont mind the image, that is). The Tritons (aka L200) for example are sold for GBP16k-26k in the UK (thats RM80k-130k).

However, this big SUV nowadays have become a transport for Boardroom members, politicians, rich mummy’s school bus (doubt they’ll like the latest Pajero looks though) rather than a workhorse like they use to be in those days re: 80s & 90s.

• dodgeviper88 on Aug 21, 2010 at 1:38 am

Lol, at least you found it. Mine never got found and we suspect it went up north to thailand. Even better I still remember it was stolen on April fools day!!!

• Darius on Aug 22, 2010 at 3:04 pm

I still drive a LO47 (1st Generation). Still the best working truck I think – cheap to buy and maintain, totally reliable, not bad onroad and pretty good offroad. Sure its a bit noisy and bumpy, but I think people are too pampered nowadays anyway. The V43 is also a great truck with more luxury.

Pajero has moved upmarket, this new model is to compete with Disco….300k? Phew. They should bring the diesel tho, but then reflects the target market. All those boardroom types and taitais who will sit in it wont tolerate diesel clatter.

Anyway, no one will take this new Pajero offroad, may look tough in the demo drive, but in the longer run theres gonna be lots of damage. In that sense, I would say Pajero Sport has tougher mechanicals….less gadgets, strong diesel and solid ladder frame chassis.

• littleboy on Aug 20, 2010 at 2:42 pm

In Sarawak since few years ago…used by gov……Land cruiser a.k.a. Ninja King…..Pajero…..cruising on the road….

• theanswer on Aug 20, 2010 at 3:43 pm

yeap..i went to swak few years back..unimas use 3rd gen pajero..quite comfortable. but looking at the current design..more likely the design cant compete with others suv such as cx7/9..harrier.because the rest looks more sporty. maybe pajero still wanna maintain its image like land rover..looks tough rather than luxury and sporty.

• nebula87 on Aug 20, 2010 at 3:40 pm

This 1 baru MIVEC baru…not our satria or wira MIVEC…LOL

• UndercoverPang123 on Aug 20, 2010 at 3:41 pm

why mitsubishi motors doesn’t want introduce the new 3.2 diesel engine……..??? this engine more fuel efficient than the 3.8 or 3.0………

• The Loner on Aug 20, 2010 at 4:26 pm

Put on the blame to our high content sulphur of diesel fuel. This will make Mitsubishi suffers profit losses on warranty due to frequent replacement of DPF and NOx trap while the vehicle are under warranty.

• y.c.low on Aug 20, 2010 at 3:45 pm

My friend and i had to go to the orang asli village one day and a good friend of his lend us a Pajero. It was the 1st generation – nevertheless it was so good in its handling once we were in jungle tracks. I think the first generation Pajero was not equip with such big engine and yet climbing slippery hills and terrains was beautiful. In the evening we even slept in the car – comfortable. I really enjoyed the whole trip to the jungle in Kampar and Slim River. Welcome back Pajero – but I will prefer manual gearbox to auto gearbox. With such big c.c diesel will be more economical to run in a long run.

• jacky- jimisar autotrade on Aug 20, 2010 at 3:50 pm

yeah .. finally pajero is coming back to malaysia…

• rossi46 on Aug 20, 2010 at 4:01 pm

High Road Tax and High Fuel Consumption …at that Price, might as well get the Disco, its diesel is gruntier and more economical

• The Black Stig on Aug 20, 2010 at 4:06 pm

No doubt a great car with heritage, but I still prefer CX-9. Sexier and well suited for urban driving.

• Welcome back, Pajero.

• bystander on Aug 20, 2010 at 4:18 pm

another car for the filthy rich n car thieves, haha, just kidding! try CKD this with diesel engine, otherwise mazda still looks more favorable….

• andymervingeorge on Aug 20, 2010 at 4:20 pm

Hahaha.. ‘non-pro driver (like me)’ … you make me laugh, Danny :D My knees went wobbly when you took over the wheel during the Suzuki Swift Sport Manual back then! Well written piece of story, nevertheless.

• nazrin on Aug 20, 2010 at 4:56 pm

no offence, if i see people drive this, just like the government driver :P

• Texas Navara on Aug 20, 2010 at 10:21 pm

yess,, i think police traffic and JPJ will by this… huhu

• akupunya on Aug 20, 2010 at 7:19 pm

Pajero was made by Mitsubishi, not Proton. that why it tough and famous.
    If Proton make SUV, i am sure it will look like potong car, (front exora, rear savvy)..

akekekekeke…

• petra on Aug 20, 2010 at 8:38 pm

still like pajero 1st gen…

• raybrig on Aug 20, 2010 at 9:58 pm

still waiting for new generation of pajero io…

• Jimmy on Aug 20, 2010 at 10:16 pm

Midsize vehicle at full-size price. Can you consider to just buy Fortuner over this? Don’t know about you, but I feel that people spending this amount of money on this kind of car is not someone who is very clever nor prestigeous. Shameful to the driver, got the money but no brain, that’s what I look at them.

• Haha? Fortuner? You know how old that damn Fortuner is? You know the overall of this Pajero? and fortuner? midsize? u meaning fortuner? Think wise before you make any comment.

• merc s class/ bemeer 7series vs honda legend…those who drive and own merc & bmw r rich & brainless… really wondering wut car r u driving??? shame on u to give such comment!!!

• farhan on Aug 25, 2010 at 12:44 am

i own a v6 3000cc 94 model..n till this day,i never regret to have this thirsty monster..pajero is the best..off road,on road..u still can go to 180kmj.use a cbu pajero than ckd one.then u will know he diff

• Alpha on Aug 20, 2010 at 11:05 pm

the look is epic!!too boxy,but still….it oozes machoness all over~!!love the rear so much~~

• Anti Proton on Aug 20, 2010 at 11:35 pm

i like this A LOT

• Nice.. Pajero is such a higly quality jeep.. I love it .

• loollool on Aug 21, 2010 at 1:17 am

btw, why would Pajero disappear for a period on our land ???

since last time was so famous???

why???????/

• E Bear on Oct 07, 2010 at 5:04 pm

Price shot up like crazy then demand tapered.

Now many use pick-up trucks instead.

• This Pajero is a piece of crap. Bought it new for 7000 Dinar in Kuwait (Ringgit 77, 000, 3.0 L Petrol GLS Medium Spec) ) and only used it for a year before selling it. I just could not stand the road and wind noise driving this “truck” around. Sent to Mitsu distributor 3 times and all they could say was ” this noise in normal”, as the door material and glass is getting lighter”. Avoid this “truck” like a plague. Pay slightly more and get either Toyata Prado or Nissan Pathfinder if you cannot afford X5

• E Bear on Sep 16, 2010 at 1:19 pm

Hmmm road n wind noise, tyres & foam insulation could have solved the problem. Big side mirrors tend to roar in the wind.

Or the distributor……..not doing their job.

• Ha Gnih on Aug 21, 2010 at 8:49 am

Paul, you only feature this now ?? In Kuching, Sarawak, I’ve seen this model around since early this year, like from February or March. But it is really a nice car. Not that many yet but I’m expecting to see more after this.

• How come a RM77K car can become a RM300K car in Malaysia?

• mirror mirror on Aug 21, 2010 at 4:27 pm

Maybe Malaysian has higher spending power?

Anyway, I doubt anyone who buy this car will drive it off-road (like those Range Rovers) so petrol engine is more suitable. I think turbo diesel is most useful when you need to have plenty of torque at low speed/low rpm, such as driving off-road while carrying heavy loads.

• 7,000 Dinar become RM 300k ? Thanks to freaking Dr M’s Proton and the AP leeches of NEP/NEM BS. This is what you get in Bolehland !!!

• dodgeviper88 on Aug 21, 2010 at 7:07 pm

if not how does proton survive?

• imsohigh on Aug 22, 2010 at 7:02 am

300k not bad la because it is quite practical for those who needs it

but as for me i have the same money i would rather get a Q5 although it is smaller … but the let down is u have to wait for 1 year to get Q5 ridiculous..

• sr20det on Aug 22, 2010 at 2:04 pm

i think all new murano lagi cun laa

• apada on Aug 22, 2010 at 7:35 pm

ahhhhhhhh…triton enough for me, below 100k. New pajero otai look in mercedes price league? wtf.

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Aug 23, 2010 at 3:45 am

it sells in india under the name of montero

simply cuz the old pajero still sells in huge numbers

and well this actually has less presense than the pre gen model

• Freak on Aug 23, 2010 at 7:20 am

FUgly same old car like xtrail!

• gtmaniac on Aug 23, 2010 at 8:25 am

Paul, if I’m not mistaken, the 3rd gen Pajero (the ‘ungainly & clumsy’!) didn’t entirely escaped our shore. 2 versions (both CBU of course) were officially offered by USF back then – one V6 3.5 GDi and the other one is either a 4-door diesel or a petrol 2-doors, couldn’t remember which version.

But the 4-door petrol version priced almost half-million RM!

• Rulered on Aug 23, 2010 at 8:39 am

Can’t understand why many compares a Pajero to a CX9, Harier or Murano. Pajero is basically a 4WD (or it was used to be known back in the 80s) similar to Prado or Discovery, whereas the latter are mainly towndrive SUVs with minimal offroad prowess, there basically from different pedigree. Thinking back, actually I can’t blame anyone, the 4WDs nowadays looks too ‘pretty’ and are in the luxury category cars that many tend to get mistaken. Gone were the days where Pajeros, Prados and Land Cruisers were ferrying people into the deep jungles/outbacks. I just hope pickup trucks will not evolve into something ‘luxury’, ‘cute’ and ‘pretty’ like the 4WDs nowadays.

• Congrats and Thank You Paul..Nice write up…:)

• from the look of its headlamp, will it equipped with hid xenon?

• Pajeroz on Aug 23, 2010 at 6:28 pm

Guys,

Good news for malaysia(as a start), if i remember correctly, the 3rd generation Pajero 3.5 GDI was sold at RM 440K under USG. A used unit cost around RM 90 – 120K, mostly 1999 model. Well..let’s hope the price of this fourth generation doest start with “4” :)

• Head Hunter on Aug 28, 2010 at 2:13 pm

I heard it from a reliable source that this one will be priced around RM295K-RM315K. Hopefully it is true!

• shawal on Aug 24, 2010 at 2:10 am

Looks like a mahindra scorpio from the side…. not good

• hyprobulksms on Aug 28, 2010 at 8:53 am

That was a special, I need the car.

• J@CK LIM on Sep 08, 2010 at 4:55 pm

This is Disgusting =(

• apamau on Sep 08, 2010 at 5:50 pm

wah if 315k will pit against cx-9.. this one macho and squarish, that one stylish.. .. will people really buy this for off road.. in other part of world ok lar.. price cheap, in our land, pay this go off road really heart broken…haha

• BMW M-Problem on Sep 08, 2010 at 8:30 pm

Welcome back Pajero…..we will surely see them on the road… Good name…

• Reconditioned range rover, or this new pajero?

• good old design Pajero. Is it that’s all? People.. a better choice out there is FOrd Everest. =D For a RM200K car.. From Mitsubishi… Perhaps it’s better if it is design like a Good Tough Hummer? It’s overpriced. yea.. It’s got big engine…
    ehem … For a New Proton 4WD later? good.. good.. then i will support you mitsu. gambate. People let’s cheer for mitsu who is so caring for proton.

• Mini Fanatic FREAK~ on Sep 08, 2010 at 11:38 pm

It’s not overpriced, even Toyota Estima Reconditioned are selling around that price… It is imported anyway…. So.. yea…

• alxand@mitsubishi@ss2 on Sep 08, 2010 at 10:00 pm

well it’s expected to be launch after raya…
    def a good buy if u guys plan a macho car, pretty high spec after the training in shah alam sacc the other day,

• jason.k on Sep 09, 2010 at 2:51 pm

car looks old in kk..but still like it..

• Stevie on Sep 10, 2010 at 11:54 pm

Already saw this model since beginning of the year in Sarawak here. All Sarawak Government Plate No. “QSG”. Why just about to launch it here? Funny?…

• Affandy on Oct 09, 2010 at 12:02 am

I wish i could own one…or Range Rover

• Saw it, seat in it, Love it, cant effort it..