Thailand automobile exports reach record high, July figures up 140% year-on-year

Our northern neighbours Thailand were treated to good news when it was revealed that auto exports from the Land of Smiles reached a record high in July. Exports totalled 87,605 units last month, which is 140% more than July 09 figures. These vehicles were valued at 39.8 billion baht, up by 129% year-on-year.

If exports from the first seven months of the year are taken into account, there’s a 116% year-on-year jump to 505,783 units worth 235 billion baht. Orders from all regions, especially ASEAN, are up.

“Last month’s export success was due partly to the Customs Department’s streamlining of regulations and procedures to accommodate vehicle exports,” said spokesman Surapong Paisitpatnapong. In addition, the Asean Trade in Goods Agreement, which took effect in May, has reduced inter-region transaction times and costs.

Thai vehicle sales Jan-July 2010. Chart by Bangkok Post

Thailand’s auto industry is a big winner in the elimination of tariffs under the Asean Free Trade Area (AFTA) since January, Kasikorn Research Center said. According to data from the Commerce Ministry, Thai vehicle exports to ASEAN was worth US$1.49 billion in the first half of the year, which is nearly a quarter (24.4%) of total value. ASEAN is now the largest market for Thai made cars.

Looking at Thailand’s domestic market, vehicle sales stood at 422,364 units in the first seven months, leading observers to believe that a 750,000 total industry volume (TIV) for 2010 is achievable. Unsurprisingly, Toyota is leading both the pick-up and passenger car sales charts, with over 40% market share in both tables.

Malaysia’s Proton is seventh in the passenger car chart with 3,684 units, or 2% market share. Not bad when those above it are all established Japanese players and GM, which has its regional base in the country. Proton, who set up shop in Thailand at the end of 2007, sold more cars than Ford, Mercedes-Benz, BMW and Suzuki.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• gov please remove all vehicle tax!

• waklu on Aug 23, 2010 at 8:22 am

reduce is OK..but not remove..sound stupid!
      there is no country in this world doesn’t have tax on vehicles!

• brunei and saudi arabia the country doesnt have a tax implemented in vehicle.

• alldisc on Aug 23, 2010 at 10:07 am

yes, and proton would be in the same position like in thai.

• Hdriver on Aug 23, 2010 at 10:18 am

Well.. they can’t. They need the $$ for “Mega projects”.
      Have faith on our country, not government.

• MoFaz on Aug 23, 2010 at 1:17 pm

oil subsidy, energy (electricity) subsidy, food subsidy, education subsidy, health subsidy, and even housing subsidy (low-cost flats)….
      lots of people want the car price to be on par with international price, but can they accept if all the subsidies above removed to be on par with international price too?

• haha..
        even our petrol subsidy has been reduced last month but our government still don’t want to removing or reducing vehicle tax! because why? Malaysia is towards bankruptcy in 2019 that mean our government spending is becoming deficit right now!
        understand

• carter15 on Aug 22, 2010 at 2:02 am

So long our lovely gov keep protecting protong, we will always dream that some day we are better than Thailand.

So long m’sia!

• james on Aug 23, 2010 at 5:49 am

we’re better than them..hahah
      I dont have to dream about it.
      It’s the reality..stupid!!

• Foxy12 on Aug 23, 2010 at 2:24 pm

Shhh…. stop saying that..

Otherwise, some secondary school headmistress will told U to leave the country and return to Thailand (though I know U R not thai) :p

• ksthong on Aug 22, 2010 at 2:21 am

I hope, sincerely hope, someone from the Government Officials look at this news! We have all the right resources in Malaysia, but yet this opportunity was taken or worst – given away due to protectionism to national car producer, at the expense of huge potential supply chains and technology transfer which could create lots of employment opportunities, GDP to our economy, therefore taxes as an income to our government…the worse thing is we are being penalised by all the heavy excise duties / sales tax which make up the very high price of a car, that doesnt reflect the real spending power (a better, safer car) we could actually get by global standards, all this due to an inefficient company who hasnt progress much in 25th years…in summary…it is like protecting a small park at the expense of a jungle…WAKE UP PLEASE, and use the logical sense to calculate for the opportunity cost we have been foregone!

• the problem is, nothing arouses blind patriotic malaysians more than seeing or hearing news of p1cars roaming the streets of london, sydney, dubai, etc.

and not one of these blind patriotic ppl dream of p1 roaming the streets in new york. because these ppl actually know that p1 won’t penetrate north america, ever.

• mystvearn on Aug 22, 2010 at 2:41 am

What is the difference between Vehicle sellers and car sales? Vehicle-including trucks, busses, tractors?

• JenggaJengga on Aug 22, 2010 at 2:59 am

not bad for Proton

• KTTeoh on Aug 22, 2010 at 3:30 am

Not bad for Proton. BTW, which cars does Proton sell there?

• alldisc on Aug 23, 2010 at 10:09 am

if not mistaken, the savvy and gen 2. its not easy to sell petrol cars in thailand as the petrol is expensive. unless the cars are economical – like savvy.

• well here we have protected species like proton and kancil so no matter how you look at it we are still no 1 proton or kancil.

• There’s kancil being sold up till today? i tot they are already extinct…

• someone LOL on Aug 22, 2010 at 4:54 am

proton also have market there?? nice move for proton.. keep it up..

• malaysia memang boleh on Aug 22, 2010 at 4:58 am

Wow although this is a good news to the Thais,it is also a good news to Proton,who say Proton is only jaguhkampung,see they are in top 10 in thailand.

• p1 is jaguh kampung until they can make it to the united states.

• autojohndoe on Aug 23, 2010 at 1:41 pm

what makes u think US is so great?

we go to the country that can sell… not to the country where others selling…

simple business also cant understand… haish…

• hongleongbank on Aug 23, 2010 at 3:17 pm

haiyyaa..kita pny negala malaysia bulum sign itu FTA dgn US. mana blh msk itu tempat lagi.. haiyya..

• sukasukiproton on Aug 24, 2010 at 5:39 am

Raf seems like US so much
        mayb he is a supporter of USA dog that barking aloud in our parliament which always delay his case in court.

• kid…
        u watch too much hollywood movies.
        usa is not everything.

• takeo1070 on Aug 22, 2010 at 5:14 am

good to see, proton is making it to the list….way to go proton..

• nebula87 on Aug 22, 2010 at 5:24 am

Proton is in the top ten list?! what a surprise..XD
    way to go Proton…

• mufasa on Aug 22, 2010 at 5:46 am

ada small portion of proton…. better then nothing…maybe coz hyundai Kia not there? is Thailand also have T & H brand mentallity like malaysian?

• if our country has been more straight fwd in its policies to encourage manufacturers set up shop here, this report would have been on Malaysia, and not our neighbour!

• with the upcoming new efficient engine into proton cars ,hope proton would clinch up a bit more.

• adameben on Aug 22, 2010 at 5:56 am

proton sells more cars than ford? wow! that is quite an achivement.

• nazri on Aug 22, 2010 at 6:39 am

superbb

• azhar on Aug 22, 2010 at 6:47 am

PROTON Prove It…

• mkrafz on Aug 22, 2010 at 6:47 am

Well done proton!
    increase your quality and productivity,
    you will be a global player in the next 10-15 years.

• haziq on Aug 22, 2010 at 6:51 am

well done…..proton….

• rexis on Aug 22, 2010 at 6:57 am

We are logging record local sales while people is hiking exports figures.

• imsohigh on Aug 22, 2010 at 7:06 am

i am proud to see Proton manage to placed 7th even above Benz and BMW!

that shows that Proton’s brand presence is strong in Thailand and competitive enough to lead the Germans marque

with all those fancy gadgets , technologies and “German” engineering apparently still fail to sell more cars than Proton

hope Proton will do better and i hope this will shut the bashers up

• wow, you are the most clever commentator ever. Comparing something like Proton to German luxury marques must have really made your day.

• 308_must_buy on Aug 22, 2010 at 1:19 pm

do you know the price difference of proton and Merc?

• rossi46 on Aug 22, 2010 at 1:22 pm

its cheaper there coz funded by you… ; )

• autojohndoe on Aug 23, 2010 at 1:42 pm

so what, the money still flows back to the country isnt it?

• Thomas Heng on Aug 22, 2010 at 2:52 pm

Speechless~ everywhere in the world cheapest car sold more than exp car….no country in the world has more rich population than mid/low income population…..

In your theory, China’s Cherry much more better than BMW & Benz in China……….

At last, TOTALLY SPEECHLESS what you thought.

• bystander on Aug 22, 2010 at 4:44 pm

no 1 toyota sells 10,462 units of cars per month, n no 7 proton sells 526 units per month, n we should b feeling proud oledi? n wat model is selling? savvy? dun think those brands above proton offering anything so basic, cherovlet maybe yes maybe no, this type of ranking in unit doesn’t mean a shit unless u r in the top 3, should have compare this together with ranking in value (Thai baht) in stead of volume to make any comment or judgement!

i’m not proud of proton only mean tt there’s still space for improvements, it should be trying harder n smarter instead of feeling proud n comfortable, tt way our confidence n hope towards proton will not die in vain. who knows, proton might be top 4 when lancer’s released, beware of the jaws….

• alldisc on Aug 23, 2010 at 10:13 am

pathetic actually, bearing in mind that proton is 25 years old and thailand is the nearest RHD country to us. and we had missed the opprotunity selling our cars to them for the past 20 years.

bravo proton!!

• hongleongbank on Aug 23, 2010 at 3:21 pm

AFTA agreenent had just been signed, that’s why we can enter that market. before cannot. that’s why la. haiyya.

• I don’t think that Proton have to look at Benz or BMW, as this cars have a different price tag and the target audience is different too.

More interesting in my opinion is, that Proton sales are only 750 cars behind Mitsubishi and only 818 cars behind Chevrolet.

Btw: Mitsubishi opened a factory in Thailand in 1987 and GM in 1993…

• YeapyEvo on Aug 22, 2010 at 11:51 pm

Proton car is heavily subsidized la, go there and try to find out yourself or else if wouldn’t have appear in the list

• MoFaz on Aug 23, 2010 at 1:29 am

what kind of mentality is that?
        Toyota sell Camry 2.4 for RM140K in Thai, but only RM80K in Arab, do you think Thai people subsidizing Toyota so that Toyota could sell Camry cheaper in Arab?

• YeapyEvo on Aug 23, 2010 at 10:37 pm

Even though they export sell more cars than previous year but their margin errode, financial year ended 30/6/09 Overseas Revenue RM 216.8M Profit 24.4M, but this year 30/6/10 higher Revenue of RM 322.1 but Profit only RM 9M ?? Where the hell did the profit goes? Margin compression from 11% to a pity 2.8% haha… don’t tell me USD appreciated coz Bath also goes up

• MoFaz on Aug 24, 2010 at 2:43 am

but they still have profit, right? you can say Proton is subsidizing exports if they losing money.
            profit could also shrink because of other activities, probably paying the dealer to build more showrooms.. just my theory, and i don’t like to speculate it further. you should ask proton for the correct answers.

• intermilan on Aug 27, 2010 at 12:09 pm

which arab state were you referred to? saudi? make it clear..

and the big difference in the price might be due to the differences in the percentage and amount of excise duty, sales tax and whatever taxes being imposed by the arab state vis-a-vis thailand.

Is that a possibility and hence why the price gap is that big?

this should be basic knowledge when discussing price differences of equivalent car in different countries.

• MoFaz on Aug 28, 2010 at 8:39 am

yes, that was my point.
            they always thought that Proton is selling cars cheap in oversea market but sucking the blood from Malaysians. but they never think, instead they quickly judge Proton for not being fair. their famous accusation is “Malaysian is subsidising export market for Proton”…

Proton cars are also being taxed in Malaysia, and I should remind you it’s not low. For example, Waja is being taxed RM10k, or about 20% of it’s value. But Saudi Arabia is tax free. whatever salary you get is yours. similarly, cars are cheap because there is no tax. That’s why you find Proton cars are cheaper there. Even Toyota cars which are coming from Thailand are cheaper too.

• waklu on Aug 23, 2010 at 8:27 am

bongok..bila proton murah kata proton di subsidised..
        knp perodua yg di subsidise sama mcm proton still mahal??
        goblock!

• YeapyEvo on Aug 23, 2010 at 10:10 pm

Do u know how much grant did Proton receive from the gov or indirectly is tax payers’ money. Look into the latest financial statement if you even know how to interpret it bengong!

• sukasukiproton on Aug 24, 2010 at 5:43 am

atleast our automotive engineer have their job and apply what they learnt during degree’s time by designing a whole car compare to P2 engineer, tinggi2 blaja masuk degree tp bila kluar only know how to design bumper and bumper.lagi la pathetic!

• perodua on Aug 23, 2010 at 9:31 am

I think it is still early to commend the proton quality. I would think given another 3 years to observe than all the hidden problem will surface out. People will rate the after sales & service quality, car quality, repaire cost, 2nd hand value and others. So I prefer to keep in my mind first before buy proton in Thailand if I’m a siamese. It is too early to say proton has done a good job but can’t denied that it is a good beginning.

• perodua on Aug 23, 2010 at 5:58 pm

Today news (23/8/10) indicated that proton has made another history beside no 1 in sales & service rating in Malaysia (from bottom). The news said Lotus company after been bought by Proton 15 years ago with 51 million pound currently has not earned a single sen for proton. Lotus still own proton a lot of money besides that Lotus might need RM50 billion for new car development for coming few years.

So what is the point PROTON got No 7 highest sales in Thailand?????? It is like RM1 you earn from one hand but lost RM10 from another hand……Nothing to be proud off.

So in overall, proton if no support from the government and the ‘forced’ support from the rakyat. Proton already HISTORY by now.

• that’s right. be proud. we also have the most respected legal system, police force, and anti-corruption agency in the world!

• thestar on Aug 25, 2010 at 10:31 pm

Yes…that is the mentality of the so called ‘blinded’ proton supporter here. If the car is good, we praised. If the car is no good, we criticized. Just only one credit (No 7 in Thailand), the ‘blinded’ supporter so ‘happy’ like nobody. I expected I’ll get a lot of bad feedback here, the more I get means the fact it is true.

A car that need so much ‘sacrifice’ only achieved like that. What about we takes off the tax protection, we take off the subsidy and protection. Since proton set up till now…..the overall NET profit is it positive or negative?

Why proton get the worst rating in after sales & service rating? Anybody can explain?

• Pacman88 on Aug 22, 2010 at 7:32 am

Yup, this could have been Malaysia if not for some ole man’s stupid idea!

• autojohndoe on Aug 23, 2010 at 10:39 am

so, what is your great idea for malaysia for next 20years?

Any?

• sigh.. when are we going to enjoy the same level of AFTA

• sonyman on Aug 22, 2010 at 8:01 am

Proton is 7, not bad for a overseas record. Probably they have to work harder in homeland to gain back malaysians trust on their cars and dont undercut malaysian production by giving faulty windows and so on.,

• slumber on Aug 22, 2010 at 8:09 am

Look at those figures… If Malaysia is the chosen hub for Auto industries, imagine how many jobs would have been created! Also, congratulations to Proton, you are doing rather well! Keep it up!

• suresh on Aug 22, 2010 at 8:10 am

and here comes the old mantra choir with their song ‘oh, if it’s not for protection accorded to proton’.

• Miranda on Aug 22, 2010 at 8:17 am

Good for Proton.

• Can you image is this sale happen in Malaysia, how much Malaysis can earn for this???

Too bad, too bad, sign…

• littlefire on Aug 22, 2010 at 8:42 am

Thanks to our innovative NAP policies, all the big automotive manufacturer are all in Thailand…

Paul, can bring out our own vehicle overall sales again Thailand and see which 1 better?

• autojohndoe on Aug 22, 2010 at 1:12 pm

so… are they already become a developed country ahead of us?

they have all of them since 70’s…

• rajaiskandarshah on Aug 22, 2010 at 4:50 pm

malaysia jan-jul 2010 motor vehicle sales 354,559
      source : http://www.auto.com.my/latest-automotive-news/increase-of-sales-of-vehicles-for-july-better-sales-expected-in-august.html

thailand more attractive place for automakers to invest:
      1. cheap labor
      2. better hand skills
      3. cheap land

seeing proton close to mitsubishi and chevrolet (and above suzuki) is encouraging.

wrt to proton being cheapest … i dont understand the malaysian mentality, mahal pun salah, murah pun salah. apa2 pun, malaysia’s percentage of car ownership is still much higher than thailand and indonesia.

at least malaysians have lotus. what does thailand have other than cheap labor ?

i wonder if given the opportunity, would malaysian work in thailand based on thailand salary or will thai work in malaysia on malaysia salary ? going by the number of thai seafood restaurants (and thai prostitutes) in malaysia, i think the latter would be true.

• james on Aug 23, 2010 at 5:46 am

they are like everywhere in Msia..I mean the Thai’s restaurants..
        wonder why they still here working at restaurant instead of going back there and work at the car factories…
        but..I’m not sure about the thai’s prostitution in Msia…hahha

• fazron80 on Aug 24, 2010 at 8:30 pm

low salaries… Even working in car factory doesn’t earn much. Much better they become cooks in malaysian restaurants. I don’t know about prostitutes but there’s plenty of thai massagers here!! ;p

• sad malaysian on Aug 22, 2010 at 9:36 am

wats to shout about having proton in top 10?

it could have been our country rather than thailand…

• 10th!

• BolehlandProton on Aug 22, 2010 at 9:42 am

Those number could have been ours, if 20 years ago, our leadership had a more progressive and open view on automotive industry. Instead, Malaysia choose the beaten path, choosing to ‘invest’ in a national car project which until now looks bleak, unprofitable, no frontier technology etc and won’t seem to be in the ‘blue’ for the next 10 years or so.

• moka2 on Aug 22, 2010 at 12:31 pm

you never thought what Malaysia will be when Proton wasn’t established. Just assembler is not good enough. What if Malaysia import all the things from needle to aeroplanes and sitting here and doing nothing. Millions of jobs couldn’t be created. At least proton has consistently providing jobs for many engineers and other staffs. Be proud of our product!!

• 308_must_buy on Aug 22, 2010 at 1:20 pm

yea, if we dont have proton, we will not have intel, sony, samsung, agilent here? hello.

• rossi46 on Aug 22, 2010 at 1:21 pm

hehehe…wt it….its more like giving more jobs to the northern guys

• 308_must_buy on Aug 22, 2010 at 1:21 pm

i think P1 engineer is rubbish.

• MoFaz on Aug 22, 2010 at 12:34 pm

that’s because you failed to see beyond the automotive industry.
      why would Japan and Korea develop their own auto industries rather than doing assembly for GM, Chrysle and Ford (the Big 3 at that time)? In facts, those Big 3 were kicked out from Japan after a mere 14 years operating there when Japan wanted to develop their own automotive industry. Korea started around 1960s and they also produced terrible cars in the beginning, but look at them now.
      The impact on technology and economy drive would be much greater if you build your own technology. The world would know that Malaysia has talents, not just a mere factory workers but highly capable engineers and inventors. it will encourage more R&D to be done here not only in automotive but also in other industries. Intel is one of the giants that has R&D facilities here. Western Digital would invest US$1.2bil to expand its R&D as well as manufacturing facilities here.
      if they want cheap labour to work in factories, they wont choose Malaysia, but Thailand which apparently cheaper than China. The annual salary for a Honda worker in China currently can run as high as US$4,500 to 5,500 (RM14k -RM17k), which is about twice that of Indian workers, and 33 percent higher than Thai workers. if Honda pay RM700 to workers in Thai, who would work in Honda plants if they open here? I guess Bangladeshi and Nepalese would have more job opportunities in Malaysia.

• james on Aug 23, 2010 at 5:41 am

I once asked a Indonesian cleaner at Pavillion about their salary..
        she said…700 monthly..

• fazron80 on Aug 24, 2010 at 8:33 pm

Thai cooks can reach 1K to 3K salary per month. Not bad isn’t.

• do you really think If Proton do not exist, we will be the HUB? I dont think so. We do not have enough people to justify those Manufacturers to set up their Plants, both market and workers. Affter a while , they will move somewhere else. have you think from this perspective?
      Even now we need to get Indonesians, Bangladesh, Myanmars, Indians etc in the factories. You should be proud that because of Proton, at least we have the expertise to built cars and not depends on the other countries, albeit at higher prices (that’s because our government so greedy). We have the know how, and can sell and produce it the way we want. Its more long lasting for our industries.

• autojohndoe on Aug 22, 2010 at 1:15 pm

and also the numbers will also hold malaysia as thailand…

are they already become a developed country ahead of us?

• Salamander on Aug 22, 2010 at 5:14 pm

I think our leadership 20 years ago is correct as we concentrate more to knowledge base economy rather than industry.

Thailand is a good place for assembler due to their cheap labour and land. But then again these is an automotive blog. You guys surely going to bang the NAP.

There is a limitation for cheap labour. China is experiencing it now. Go figure boy.

• Cowabunga! on Aug 22, 2010 at 10:00 am

..what we lost , is what Thai gained….
    thanks to making certain people fat in profit, and no gain to the citizens.

Not amazed with Proton, since it’s cheaper with the lower tax exemptions , ready cheaper parts and material in Thai.

• peYno on Aug 22, 2010 at 3:40 pm

persona price more less same as VIOS laa.
      dont try cheat ppl la

• equatorial on Aug 24, 2010 at 1:53 pm

but persona is in different category.. persona is a class better than vios..

• Kassim on Aug 22, 2010 at 10:05 am

Proton need to strengthen its presence in this regional especially Thailand and Indonesia.Philippines also. Still lots of potential. Continuous improvement is must. That priority to Proton. Btw, Good Luck Proton,

• malaysia memang boleh on Aug 22, 2010 at 11:44 am

I want ask you something,if you are the owner of a car company that want a factory in southeast asia,what kind of country you want to have a factory,in Thailand which labour cost is lower or in Malaysia with higher labour cost,you know yourself,and some more our country lack of resources which we have to import in and increase the total cost of building cars,that’s the reason why Proton’s car price isn’t that cheap,yeah many typical Malaysian will blame the NAP.Note that Ford has car being assembled in Thailand,and Proton sells more passanger car than them.

• Neutral on Aug 23, 2010 at 9:21 am

Of course is sell cheap, why b’coz proton using our hard earned $$$$$$$$$$$ to offset the low price for oversea market, what !!!!!!!! Nothing to shout about after 30 years of operating !!!!!!!!!!!

• pelams on Aug 22, 2010 at 10:45 am

nt bad for proton….7th place

• Patriot on Aug 22, 2010 at 10:52 am

Proton, don’t be too proud. You sold more cars than Ford, Mercedes-Benz, BMW and Suzuki because yours is the cheapest.

When Proton sell cars overseas it will be the cheapest as usual.

Subsidize by local Proton buyers and the malaysian motoring public.

• BolehlandProton on Aug 22, 2010 at 11:43 am

Agreed Patriot. Proton, cheap-way of gaining popularity.

• Agreed with Patriot,
      We rakyat and gomen subsidise Proton to sell cheap cars overseas at Australia & UK.
      Proton is among the cheapest car there with 5 years unlimited warranty.

• MoFaz on Aug 22, 2010 at 1:16 pm

price from Proton factory is always the same, the difference is the tax system, do you think all countries in the whole world use the same tax system?
      And who said Proton cars cheaper in Thai? Savvy price is RM44k in Thai, unless you don’t know mathematic, the price is higher than Malaysia. same goes to other Proton models, such as Exora. Even though Savvy is not successful here, it received very good response in Thailand. Thai business daily The Nation has picked the Proton Savvy as one of Thailand’s top 10 cars in 2008 as it has a cheap price, good acceleraton, and almost go-kart-like handling. Other cars on the list include the Jaguar XF, the BMW 320d, the Volvo S80 3.2, the MINI Cooper S Clubman, the Honda City, the Honda Jazz, the Ford Focus 2.0 TDCi, the Mitsubishi Pajero Sport and the Subaru Impreza STI.
      Waja and Persona is around RM37k in Saudi because no import & sales tax there. They already earned RM700bil per year from oil, so they’re not bothered to impose any tax in Arab. Toyota sell Camry 2.4 for RM140K in Thai, but only RM80K in Arab, do you think Thai people subsidizing Toyota so that Toyota could sell Camry cheaper in Arab?

We can improve Malaysian facilities to the first class status. But if the citizen still have 3rd world mentality, they may not know how to use them properly.

• dickybird on Aug 23, 2010 at 3:19 pm

which means our tax system is screwed up since protons are cheap in thailand but not malaysia, its home market.

• fazron80 on Aug 24, 2010 at 8:40 pm

Hello!! He said savvy price in thailand is higher than in Malaysia. What are you reading actually?

• hongleongbank on Aug 23, 2010 at 3:32 pm

well said mofaz.
        arguing with fact and knowledge. not like others that know a little but talk rubbish. everyone is at fault except for themselves!!

• learner on Aug 22, 2010 at 1:29 pm

50% agreed, proton cheapest than others that why can sell. but in malaysia, hyundai, kia, alado, and other china makes, and indian such as mahindara also cheapest in market segment after proton, but cannot sell more than toyota, honda, nissan, etc. that are more expensive in the same market segments. proton even can sell more than nissan too.

• learner on Aug 22, 2010 at 1:33 pm

sorry typo, not nissan…. other conti too including from naza.

• Ppl Don’t dare buy cheaper Indian car or china car bos no confidence with these cars (Don’t want to be white rat”. Buy cheap car will being look down by other who can afford branded car. “Chech! cheap & lousy car” Sad… Buy & Drive cheap car already very Sad, then being look down again… Much More SAD)

• Mohan Nair on Aug 23, 2010 at 12:43 am

As usual you rant with little or no knowledge. Tata sells their cars in Europe under Tata brand name in Italy, Spain and Turkey which require these cars to comply with tough European safety standard. Mahindra got their diesel engines approved by US EPA. This is a must if you want to sell in the US. If these are cheap cars with little or no confidence and they sell in Europe and US, why can’t Proton sell their wares in US or Europe. Tata has started to sell their 4×4 in Thailand. It is just a matter of time before they are able to sell in the numbers they want to.

• Peter on Aug 22, 2010 at 11:24 am

Proton has done pretty well….

What Proton needs to do for now is to improve the quality built of the car. And also Proton has many other areas to work in to improve the image of Proton

• unknown on Aug 22, 2010 at 11:32 am

7th place don be so proud first..
    u tot thailand living standard so high?
    if yes, why prostitution all around..

They are poorer than malaysia, since thailand don have their own national car..
    so no choice have to kive with proton lor..

@better than benz and BMW..
    proton less than 100k.. BMW more than 200k.. halo =)

• mirror mirror on Aug 22, 2010 at 11:43 am

Yeah, Proton used to subsidize their overseas sales meaning they actually make losses from those sales. I am not so sure if they are still doing it.

The automotive industry in Malaysia was much more advance than Thailand in the 80’s, but we chose to develop Proton and forgo the chance to turn Malaysia into the main automotive hub in this region.

Proton is a mistake.

• autojohndoe on Aug 23, 2010 at 1:09 pm

how advance it is?

and, what auto industry we had in the 80’s?

i never knew that…

• sukasukiproton on Aug 24, 2010 at 5:54 am

malaysia ever became a auto hub back there in 80’s
        last time mercedes, bmw, nissan, honda, mitsubishi, all of it assembled here for Asia market
        then during 90’s, all of it angkat kaki
        but now, they came back
        if you said malaysia is not advance in auto industry
        so why bmw and merc not choosing Thai as they auto hub?
        why malaysian never being patriotic to proud of their own brand?
        pathetic malaysian coz their mind already poisoned by opposite sex orientation man.

• nahh.. the big slice will still go the automotive manufacturers..hub it is just a hub.. of course u will get some money.. but still don’t forget we have vw on our homeland to come.. that shows our country’s potential

• If not for the flip-flop policies of the bolehland govt with regards to the local automotive industry decades ago till today, it could have been “Malaysia automobile exports reach record high, July figures up 140% year-on-year”, a headline that Malaysians could have been proud of.

• Proton beat koreans in thailand? or koreans dont sell their vehicles there?

• learner on Aug 23, 2010 at 12:38 am

hyundai and kia do exist in thailand and their prices strategies are always below equivalent japanese brands too. however, even at level playing field, P1 still better than koreans. maybe thai just like malaysian, if about motors, all must japan….. but proud to see P1 really beat koreans in international level playing field market.

• MoFaz on Aug 23, 2010 at 1:24 am

no, don’t say that too soon. Proton only exist in few countries compared to Hyundai-Kia. Most probably, it’s just because Proton has better tax advantage in Thai.
        Hyundai-Kia doesn’t have factory in Thai, and Thai require 40-50% local components in order to get tax rebate. so, when they import Hyundai-Kia into thailand, the price jumped because of import tax. Korean is not ASEAN, remember? so, if Kia bring Forte in Thai, the price would be much higher than Vios and would make it harder to sell.

• huh?? does proton have a factory in Thai?? no right.. so they have import oso laa.. what do u mean proton have better tax advantages? prove it lah basher

• MoFaz on Aug 23, 2010 at 11:33 am

haiya.. i’m not bashing here.
            Thai and Malaysia are one of the ASEAN countries, do you know what ASEAN is? import tax between ASEAN member is much lower compared to non-ASEAN. they call it AFTA.. go ask google if you want to know more.
            sales tax is different story, not in AFTA.

• Automotive_Critics on Aug 23, 2010 at 11:46 am

AFTA la. import tariff zero. The only difference is malaysia has excise duty tax regime the price of car inflated like hell.

• koreans don’t need thailand. they already conquered the americas and europe.

• Mangkuk on Aug 22, 2010 at 12:19 pm

Proton probably makes the list since Thai is our neighbour. Probably easy to get spareparts etc. Otherwise I think it will be tough.

• i lol at proton basher….before this they said, proton cant sell any car if there is no tax bla bla bla… just look at their sales outside malaysia… bla bla bla…. right now proton is among the top 10 car seller in thailand…. and they said dont too proud bla bla cheapest bla bla…. later when proton beat toyota sales, they said thai people are too rubish bla bla bla…. they just dont want to admit that proton has improved…!!!!

most of their point is not even a fact ( such as “Subsidize by local Proton buyers and the malaysian motoring public” <—- where did they got this??? and if i'm not mistaken even proton car sold here in malaysia got tax <— am i right??)…. they just want to feel good and condemn proton as long as they live…. and proton export is increasing…. 50% -50% market sales of local and export is not too hard in the next 5 years…..

• dickybird on Aug 23, 2010 at 3:33 pm

what to be so proud of being top 10 in Siam? yes, it is a bigger market for vehicles, but they mainly buy pickups, that is their culture, saloon cars are not really popular. Malaysia still the biggest saloon car market in asean, and guess who is P1? Perodua. Pride should come from the quality of the product and knowing that customers seek out your product not because of your low price but because your cars have something to offer in style or design.

• they are complaining coz they dont get anything from Proton.. just give them money.. they’ll shut their mouth..maybe for a while..haha

• My middle finger to the so called NAP policy, if not for this, maybe we can have half of the pie.

• autojohndoe on Aug 22, 2010 at 1:09 pm

see… even giving good result also ppl cant accept…

Some will never accept….

50 years of Independance is a waste…

• JACK HAMMER on Aug 22, 2010 at 1:44 pm

and basher tot there are only 10 auto brands there… prfthhh..

malaysia alone almost 30 brands,
    can u imagine how many auto brand there in thailand actually ?

one more thing..
    PROTON not just ahead of Ford, benz, BMW, suzuki & ford laa..
    PROTON also BEAT
    Hyundai
    KIA (WTF????.. beat KIA?? is this real?? prfthhh..)
    Peugeot
    Subaru
    Renault
    Chery (what!!! even in thailand also cant beat proton? prftthhh..)
    Citroen
    Alfa
    VW
    NAZA (yup.. u read it rite.. our NAZA was there since 2008)
    Volvo
    Audi
    Lexus
    Mini
    Porsche
    Tata.. and many more…

*like i said before, basher was born stupid, and still..

• So, u very proud?

• malaysia memang boleh on Aug 22, 2010 at 3:29 pm

TRUE!

• nazri on Aug 22, 2010 at 3:51 pm

perodua out of list.. dont forget to mention.. p2 jaguh kampung too… or berselindung di balik nama daihatsu

• Jaguh 666 on Aug 23, 2010 at 1:34 pm

you are right !!! Both P1 and P2 are jaguh kampungs

• learner on Aug 23, 2010 at 1:58 pm

ya lor, not even suzuki is defeated, but daihatsu is also defeated. in malaysia, daihatsu zerox concur the market! even subaru also, but this one sure cannot compare lah because expensive one.

• This one is nice.With so many brands there, wonder why those Thai’s still chose Proton over other brands? Doesn’t they feel inferior driving one like some Malaysian drivers? Like some said 3rd world brands after all.Nevertheless sales figure shows it all.Good luck Proton.

• acerman on Aug 22, 2010 at 6:00 pm

Simple. They looking for something cheap and easy to get sparepart.

• which mean there are more dumb people with egomaniac attitude which cant tolerate anything about proton in here, malaysia than thailand?

• I don’t know about other countries but in Malaysia we tend to have a lot of citizen fond to be egoistic dumb.That’s dragging the country a lot.

• Thomas Heng on Aug 22, 2010 at 9:50 pm

First of all, proton done well there, I’m happy with that.

Second, figure not show all, like the sales is heavy depended on the distributor like what you see in Malaysia. SC, spare part, promotion etc

• lohsantara on Aug 23, 2010 at 1:35 pm

Proton is ready to compete without tongkat already, huuray !!!

• thestar on Aug 25, 2010 at 10:33 pm

I got a question, what place did proton get in term of sales & service rating in Malaysia 2010?

• Zahar Zain on Aug 22, 2010 at 2:05 pm

Well….Could have been Tanjung Malim instead of Rayong. Had we done the right thing with our policies, we would have the “Detroit of the East” title a long time ago, considering we were much, much,much earlier participant in the automotive industry. Now rubbing it in is misguided proud salesmen telling of how much better their Thai CBU Hondas and Toyotas are than local CKDs……

• nabill on Aug 22, 2010 at 2:25 pm

good news all around , it jus shows one thing , moral of the story is that low price sells , if u have a reasonable product , n u price it right n lower than ur nearest competitors , customers will always consider them …..

• watatau on Aug 22, 2010 at 2:41 pm

baru nak naik.. orang dah hentam… proton just can’t win…

• ahshang on Aug 22, 2010 at 2:55 pm

Proton need to develop it’s export market aggressively to make profit for Malaysians who it owe thousands of dollars due to it’s mismanagement before. Have good vision and dream is good but having a good S&M team is a must!

• Commoner on Aug 23, 2010 at 12:02 am

Agreed. Hopefully we are moving towards the right direction. Towards high income economy. More high skilled workers, more income means superior purchasing power. Hopefully the Malaysian automotive policy will establish Malaysia as the R&D hub not merely an assembler.

• malaysia memang boleh on Aug 22, 2010 at 2:57 pm

Yeah,their only job is assemble it,if the sales double or triple,they still earning the same amount,at last they’re the same,but companies such as toyota getting richer and richer day by day.imagine the salary is only about RM 1000 per month,for the Thais maybe that is a lot of money,but for Malaysian…….

• ?

• Salamander on Aug 22, 2010 at 5:24 pm

That is why we concentrate more on knowledge worker than cheap labour. A mere System Engineer can have a salary 8 times than those assembler at thailand.

And yet some of the basher here are still butthurt that it should be Malaysia that should be in this news.

• Yup agreed. The high paid System Engineer over at P1 is only good at re-design front grill and bumpers for the new Proton “Lancer” Waja.

• Salamander on Aug 23, 2010 at 12:55 am

Lancer Waja is a marketing strategy from proton, even other Key Industries player do the similar thing. They exchange the Mitsubishi Lancer Platform with Proton Exora. This will further reduce the R&D cost and good opportunity to gain some revenue. What is wrong with that?

• Neutral on Aug 23, 2010 at 12:18 pm

back to square one mean back to square, re-badge mean re-badge, this is the way how gomen hide the innocent malaysian eyes from the failure of PROTON !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Change the top management and get rid all the STUPID cronies, then reshape PROTON, thats the only best ways to improve PROTON now !!!!!!!!!!

• HIDUP PROTON on Aug 23, 2010 at 1:31 pm

Brilliant strategy ! Proton is going to be number 1 in Malaysia once the market is open !

• jl@ipl on Aug 23, 2010 at 2:27 pm

Agree.

• Tiadaid on Aug 23, 2010 at 6:53 pm

Hello Neutral, how many cars Proton rebadge? Only one right? A car that’s not their best seller. Bashers complain when Proton spend money to develop own cars, now they’re trying to save money by rebadging one car for a small market, doing something that other carmakers also do, and still get bashed! Typical stupid basher.

• sukasukiproton on Aug 24, 2010 at 6:03 am

dont forget, merc also use mitsubishi platform (smart forfour uses mitsubishi colt)
            so whats wrong of the wajalancer rebadge as mitsubishi use exora platform?
            come on la, org yg fikir rebadge is worse adalah org yg hanya layak makan gaji keje gomen smpai mati
            they r born to be stupid, short thinking n egoistic
            also goes to proton basher, why always give negative comment
            why never give any comments dat can be used to improve
            give suggestion la kat proton, not to bash them kaw2
            if i got employee like these people, keep bashing others but never try to help improve, im surely hantar org ini mcm kat jungle
            biar dia tau langit itu tinggi, bumi itu rendah

• True, but don’t you also realize there are ppl here that are in need of that mere RM1000.. Not everyone got a degree you know?

What most are suggesting a co-existence system in msia, not a super bias system for P1 to leech on us. (But i do agree, P1’s slowly getting better again) Then again, it’s a bit too late…

• Tiadaid on Aug 23, 2010 at 5:09 am

A bit too late? If the Koreans think like you, Kia would have never improved. If the Japanese think like you, Honda & Toyota would have never improved. It’s never too late for improvements.

• there are thousands factory in malaysia that only filled with immigrants.. its not hard in malaysia if you just want to earn mere rm1000…

• Thomas Heng on Aug 22, 2010 at 9:36 pm

Totally Agree v you on this policy, but are we on d right route? or are we execute it rightly?
        Maybe yes maybe no or maybe in between…

Maybe we have greatest policy in the world but need a group of RIGHT peoples to execute it…if not…what a waste……….

• helmi on Aug 22, 2010 at 10:44 pm

Agreed. What to proud of? I heard the Thais only get 5%, the rest goes to the autombil company. Thats why in Thailand they wrk really really hard like a dog 15 hours a day, tapi tak kaya2.

• dickybird on Aug 23, 2010 at 3:40 pm

yup! what a wonderful system we have here in msia, get a piece of paper from miti, sell it to a carmaker BANG! PRESTO! TENS of thousands of ringgit goes in the pocket for next to no work!

• peYno on Aug 22, 2010 at 3:42 pm

neway.. what happened to our JAGUH KAMPUNG top selling in Bolehland PERODUA???
    prrrfttthhhh

nobody wanna buy if under perodua name.. so have to change under daihatsu nmae in Indonesia

prrrfthhh

• GO SAGA on Aug 22, 2010 at 3:42 pm

goob jobs ……..but need more improvement

• too sad.. Thailand still dn’t have their own car. one day toyota and others car manufacturing looking others country for cheap labor cost. maybe going to vietnam/loas/kamboja. Malaysia still have Proton.

• farghmee on Aug 23, 2010 at 12:41 pm

aku setuju ngn ko :)
      hypothesis ni la yg org xfaham2.
      kalu malaysia ada core-technologies, apa2hal yg jadi pn still la malaysia punya tech.

yes ford toyota byk pasang kt thai.
      tp anytime diorg ble “cabut”.

proton, usaha lagi! :)

• sukasukiproton on Aug 24, 2010 at 6:06 am

really agree with Rol
      just like b4 we r the hub of IT in asia
      then aftr 2003, suma cabut pg india coz they have more expert n d labour cost also cheap
      aftr that ramai la IT graduate tanam anggur kat malaysia

• mata katak on Aug 22, 2010 at 5:03 pm

Malaysian always feel they are “lucky” and fortunate….especially when compared to poorer and more misfortune countries……..

Only fools compared with poor countries when they should be making comparison with better countries…These make me think if their prefer to be lulled easily and wouldn’t dare to face the reality…

Just look at cases of fuel pricing hikes, toll rates, etc…..Always compared with the wrong countries with different economy.

• jl@ipl on Aug 23, 2010 at 10:11 am

Allo friend.

We are discussing about car sales in Thailand. You’re discussing about comparing it with poor country. Are you saying that Thailand poor country?

Talking about fuel price, in Thailand, fuel price was much higher compare to us. Today, in Bangkok area, 31.84Bath/liter (RM3.16/litre). Farther from town, the price goes up (I’ve been to Thailand, so I know – latest was last July).

Don’t believe me? Check out yourself. http://www.eppo.go.th/retail_prices.html.

The fuel price was one of the good selling point for Proton Savvy over there. Saw a few of it last July.

• an2_keter on Aug 22, 2010 at 5:47 pm

where is daihatsu or perodua? just jaguh kampung @ boleh land….

• peYno on Aug 23, 2010 at 7:12 pm

now we now ordei.. who is truly JAGUH KAMPUNG..
      only can sell and Hot sell in BOLEH LAND

prrrrrtfhhhh

• PutraRocker on Aug 22, 2010 at 5:48 pm

i c proton o_O

• if Proton could make diesel-powered pick-up then the figure could be more higher in thailand

• Arashikage on Aug 22, 2010 at 6:34 pm

After this auto workers in Thailand also go on strike….

• Elvis on Aug 22, 2010 at 7:04 pm

Proton sold less that 4 thousand in Thailand oledi u guys besar cakap. That 4 thousand not enought to break even production cost.

• learner on Aug 23, 2010 at 2:07 pm

if no 1 sold how to get 2? if no 2 sold how to get 3? 4 thousand is good achievement for their appearance of just 2 years in thai.

• Nabelon on Aug 22, 2010 at 7:10 pm

Gen 2 in Thailand comes with AMT instead of auto, if you look at the website, M-Line for 525,000 baht which is RM52k in Malaysia, well that is about the same in terms of pricing.

• Yoong Tofu on Aug 22, 2010 at 8:26 pm

go mazda go!

• trav_da_man on Aug 22, 2010 at 10:29 pm

Despite we losing so much potential investment from automotive companies no thanks to Proton and NAP, it could be a blessing in disguise as as more recently, we see workers in China, India and South Africa are on strike due to low wages.

Furthermore these automotive companies still insist on opening shops and assembly plans in Mysia, just as KIA, Peugeot, and most recently Volkswagen. So not a total lost, although we ended up paying more!

• aldo.rain on Aug 23, 2010 at 12:41 am

Malaysia also has its own share of workers striked at WD/Hitachi HDD plant in JB. unfortunately, is all foreign workers not locals. but think of it, why foreign workers not locals. still a thought to ponder. where r the local workers?

• MoFaz on Aug 23, 2010 at 12:56 am

the higher end marque tend to choose Malaysia rather than Thai. BMW, Peugeot and Mercedes are already here, soon VW will setup assembly line here too. this shows that Malaysia has better technology know-how, better english speaking community and most definitely, we’re not cheap.

• dickybird on Aug 23, 2010 at 3:48 pm

english speaking? i dont know about that, sales and marketing maybe but probably not the guy working on the assembly line.

• MoFaz on Aug 24, 2010 at 2:10 am

you think the manual & instruction is printed in chinese/malay?
          when you communicate with your superiors from German, do you think they speak chinese/malay?
          when you do report or suggestions, do you do in chinese/malay?

most probably is english!

• Geleng Kepala on Aug 22, 2010 at 11:00 pm

Malaysian have lotus? you punyerkah?

• Congratulation to Thailand, (and also to Indonesia, Vietnam and Philippine)!

Behold, the new tigers in the SouthEastAsia block.

These neighbors of ours manage to attract FDI to their respective countries, providing jobs to all levels of workers; from simple labours, engineers, managers, executive and etc. Regardless of their very own political turmoil and hurricane, they still manage to strive better than Malaysia. The investors still prefer them.

In the 1980’s Malaysia has the largest car manufacturing facility in the fringe jungle of an unknown place called Tanjung Malim, today, nobody still knows what and where is it. But now Thailand and Indonesia has taken all the glory (and they do deserve it).

While others strive to success, Protong still having problems getting that right sales figure. Their car models are full with terrible QC/QA issues. The famous legacy of “power window” still haunts the minds of Malaysians up until today. Jobs are getting scarce due to NAP, AP and over protection. The rakyat are paying the price. 27 Milllion Malaysians subsidizing 10,000 lazy workers/vendors/middleman are absurd! Protong vendors, cronies and middlemen are getting their cut of the deal, regardless of the cars’ horrible quality.

Protong will need to change their “pampers” policy if they wanted to be in par with the rest of manufacturer in the region.

25 years seems to be too long for a grown up to wear “diapers”, don’t you think so?

• Salamander on Aug 23, 2010 at 1:02 am

Seriously Proton Power Window problem? I think you are 8 years lagging behind our local Automotive Industries.

• bryan.jones on Aug 23, 2010 at 2:30 am

1980’s Tanjung Malim???

Typical blind basher.. baby boy, go back suck your mum milk!

stop cheating people la, Tjg Malim was built in 90’s!

liar!!

• MoFaz on Aug 23, 2010 at 11:48 am

yeah, i noticed that too.. he didn’t even get the facts right yet he still want to bash like he know everything and could run the whole country.
        but i’m not bothered about him already, no matter how many time we teach him, he’s still behaving like kindergarten kid with his “action kamen”. he already shut his brain. so, he can never learn anything now.
        so, just leave him with his action kamen. probably one day he could be the leader of bashers.

• maybe if proton develop a bike for action kamen riding it, then he will change his mentality

• HIDUP PROTON on Aug 23, 2010 at 1:30 pm

Absalutel ! it’s time to open Malaysian market and let Proton compete.

• autojohndoe on Aug 23, 2010 at 10:37 am

Hey… It is SY0H la!!!

and his POWER WINDOWS story…. AGAIN????

• nazri on Aug 23, 2010 at 11:20 am

best entertain ever by mr sy0h..

• autojohndoe on Aug 23, 2010 at 1:32 pm

“In the 1980?s Malaysia has the largest car manufacturing facility in the fringe jungle of an unknown place called Tanjung Malim, today, nobody still knows what and where is it.”

haha… mengata dulang paku serpih, mengata ord, dia yg lebih…

seems that, you yourself you dont know where Proton actually is!!!

this is really one weird person who claimed he had a problematic Waja, persona… he bought them bcoz he said his salary only allow him those and it is NAP fault that make him buy those cars…

And, in few months, suddenly he became rich bcoz his latest ride is MITSU GRANDIS!!!

SY0H, PaulTan Clown…

• handsome*Dude on Aug 23, 2010 at 6:44 pm

those who deny ur comment or dislike it, are those who dun wan face the fact~~

It is damn true that, bcos of our govt stupid decidion and their big head’s ego decide to build a own car~~ , but since all the while till now still not capable enuf, and dun even put real heart into it…hence has to sacrifice public’s benefits to ‘baby sit’ it for so long …

sure u all know what i meant above…

but just think of the the 2 situation below,

1)mostly Toyota ALtis are for Taxi, and ppl get to drive cheaper car.. tough the oil price is higher, but still worth it when in maintaining a car~~ !!

2)wat the hell is use for our local taxi ? where most time its reflect a country’s image when tourist ride on it?? and bcos of heavy tax, we spend so much for less~~ while not getting to drive a better car, but yet safety is the main issue here… just go check out the mortality rate of Perodua or Proton passengers get kill on the road each years! u will know H1N1 is small matter~

so do we really need own made car to be proud of? if its good, its ok with that.. but then…after so many years..still the same..

dun deny it!!! unless u tell me when u drive a Proton or Myvi, you can easily get pretty chicks than driving a Toyota, or Honda~~or u go tell ur oversea fren how good how best is ur Proton?? ..well at the same time Altis are flooded in bangkok just for the colorful taxi~!!

being a regional car factory hub was and still is always the best choice for malaysia if we go into automobile industry~~

tell me honestly, does anyone here really LOVE proton car??? let’s say given you are rich enough to buy a Mers or BMW easily but you still die die wan to buy a Proton, bcos you say you love it ????

• Initial R on Aug 24, 2010 at 12:11 am

Hahaha… Dam.. Power window again ?. His nightmare stuck at old saga window still hunted him while he play with thailand ultraman toy till now day’s. Also i don’t know that Proton do production at tanjung malim at 1980, since the factory start operate in 90’s.. I think he see 1 of saga do modification at Ah Beng shop… so historical… hahaha

• Cidu Man on Aug 23, 2010 at 12:07 am

Proton?? ha hah ha ha ha nonsense!

• learner on Aug 23, 2010 at 2:15 pm

when there almost 4 thousand units sold, are those buyers don’t use their sense? 2 years on the roads is enough to reveal all QC problems is P1 is really that bad, cheap car? yes it make sense, not nonsense.

• hazri on Aug 23, 2010 at 12:58 am

i’ve seen a lot of blind basher here…pretend to be intelligent but they got nothing…only bash bash and bash,…mereka ini mesti bulan-bulan tak cukup makan sebab bayar installment Vios mahal sangat..hahaha

• Salamander on Aug 23, 2010 at 1:08 am

Most Malaysian buy car beyond their pay grade. Work for 3 months apply loan for dream car, 9 years. By the 6th year their car value already degraded, warranty is expired, spend money to repair car etc. Then suddenly when the finance strike, they will blame other for their misfortune. Mostly they will blame NAP and Proton.

And the cycle continues.

• Tiadaid on Aug 23, 2010 at 5:13 am

The “Biar Papa Asal Bergaya” syndrome. Cars as status symbol is absurd really. That people are willing to spend lots of money on cars when they could have used the money to buy something that in the long term would be beneficial like a house is just illogical (especially those who aren’t that rich to begin with)

• waklu on Aug 23, 2010 at 8:20 am

hurm..that is the scenario..
        kalo nak beli kete…ikut kemampuan la..

• handsome*Dude on Aug 23, 2010 at 6:51 pm

if dun blame Proton, then sure blame Govt~~ one thing for sure is our loving standard here is still so low !!!!~~

i work in Singapore for few years, i never need to drive a car, the public transport so convenient~~!!!

but its sure cannot happen in KL~~!! i dun expect the whole country to be as good as Singapore..as our land is bigger,, but at least within KL, PJ area, could do like Singapore wat, frequent LRT , BUS route~~

i just found out from my staff,, If you were to take bus from PUCHONG to IKEA, kota damansara, your bus has to first go to KL !!!, then change bus again to back!!!
        as for us, we all know , just use LDP, 15-20minuts driving time only rite??

so you see that’s the reason!! why ppl come out to work, if can … sure die die get a car~~ to maintain a car is not cheap~~ half or 1/3 of salary goes, its really very not healthy in term of financial planning!!! but , no choice!!!!

• MoFaz on Aug 24, 2010 at 2:03 am

wahh.. u really handsome la.. haha.
          true, i once stayed in puchong and work in tasik selatan. it’s just 10-15km but my travel time is almost 2 hours because i need to take bus to KL, then LRT to tasik selatan. it’s just 15 minutes by car (if no jam la….)

• Proton do have their share of short comings. However for this article the blame should go to the our beloved Gov. policy makers. With 2 versions of the NAP out & still no auto manufactureres queing to invest here, save to say M’sia’ s auto industry is dead.

• james on Aug 23, 2010 at 4:48 pm

DS7 says:
        23/8/2010 at 10:08 am
        still no auto manufactureres queing to invest here
        ———————————————————————————
        Are sure no auto manufacturers?hmm…BLIND

• Nahh.We still have European car-makers that haven’t set up their assembly in SEA region yet. Notice those at Rayong are only from Japan and US? I don’t see total failure tho.

• elite on Aug 23, 2010 at 1:35 am

proton very impressive 1 percent market share…thats what gonna happen on a level playing field..

• scgtimk1 on Aug 23, 2010 at 8:20 am

Proton has been there only 2 years la Idiot…

you don’t want to ask where is Perodua? do you think Perodua can take even 1% market share… super IDIOT..

• elite on Aug 23, 2010 at 1:43 am

proton very impressive 1 percent market share..thats what gonna happen on a level playing field..

• JACK HAMMER on Aug 23, 2010 at 6:46 am

kah..kah..kah stupid bashers…
    protons sell well bcoz they are cheaper?? kah..kah..kah…

i don’t know where you idiots get that kind of fact but
    the cheapest gen2 sell @ 549,000baht… while
    the cheapest vios sell @ 514,000baht

so which one cheapest?? kah..kah..kah..
    now u know the fact, please scroll back and find which bashers were stupid
    and let put their name here.. starting with:
    1)YeapyEvo
    2) Cowabunga!
    3)Patriot <— this dumbass even tot that thai proton price was subsidized by our local proton buyers.. now, that is pure stupid.. kah..kah..kah..
    4)BolehlandProton
    5)Sook
    and the list will go on, bcoz u can find a lot of bashers here.. and most of them are idiot.

• HIDUP PROTON on Aug 23, 2010 at 1:28 pm

sudah tiba masanya kita membuka pasaran Malaysia untuk membukti keupayaan Proton untuk bertanding dengan jenama Jepun dan Jerman !

• hongleongbank on Aug 23, 2010 at 3:38 pm

wa sutju dgn u. ini olang aa, main ckp saje. habok pon talak.

• handsome*Dude on Aug 23, 2010 at 6:55 pm

So brother,

in Thailand, VIOS is cheaper than Gen2??

Its really sad to know that…

another fact showing that, it make the people suffer in order to baby sit our Proton!!

so u can see.. the govt rips us off a lot u know??

u still happy there throwing ur fact~~ dun tell me the Thai ppl will think Gen2 is better than a VIOS?

• JACK HAMMER on Aug 24, 2010 at 12:17 am

bro..

thai people are not same as malaysian people laaa..
        their thinking are not same like yours..

just bcoz u hate PROTON, it doesnt mean thais should hate too..

well.. all i can say, if u ask thai protonian which is better between those two..
        i’ll bet they choose GEN2…

in fact, you know why vios is expensive here?
        bcos TOYOTA MALAYSIA are TOO GREEDY..
        and bcoz of the poeple like u lor, dont bother to buy TOYOTA CARS even when it is rocket high expensive… prfthhhh…

• JACK HAMMER on Aug 23, 2010 at 7:06 am

the cheapest car in thailand is
    NAZA FORTE… yup u read it rite…

and where is NAZA on the list?
    maybe not on top 20 car brand list either…

how about PEROTUA???
    i cant see any of those dumbass said something like “JAGUH KAMPUNG” to PEROTUA
    like they used to say it to PROTON..

cmon..
    if u afraid to say it here, just say it quietly in yur heart…
    “perodua jaguh kampung”… kah..kah..kah..
    say it again… kah..kah..kah..

• When I look at the sales figures, it reminds me of Tun M has been the father of the automotive industries in Malaysia. In fact, Thailand should granted Tun M as the father for their automotive industries. Thanks to Proton being pampered & protected.

• Thaai on Aug 23, 2010 at 9:55 am

M goverment has made us the Detroit of Asean
    Thankyou Thankyou Thankyou

• hongleongbank on Aug 23, 2010 at 3:42 pm

thailand is detroit of asean. congrats mr tom yam.. lots of investment going in ur country. then u can stop selling ur women. make them work at toyota’s factory. better and AIDS free. many jobs created rite?

• hewyk on Aug 23, 2010 at 10:26 am

okay lah, credit where credit’s due – it’s good to see Proton do this well in the Thai sales charts. Pleasantly surprised. Due mainly from which models though I wonder..

• azrai on Aug 23, 2010 at 12:30 pm

1st Savvy
      2nd Exora
      3rd Persona
      4th Satria Neo

I think so..

• hewyk on Aug 24, 2010 at 8:08 am

cool, tks! Savvy can sell so well there?? .. amazing thailand really!

• p1 kalau bagus sgt cube try test tengok eskport ke amerika syarikat?

TAK BOLEH! TAKKAN BOLEH! TAKUT KE? PENGECUT!

baru sampai uk, australia, middle east dah complacent. mcm mane nk maju? ptuihh!

• MoFaz on Aug 23, 2010 at 11:25 am

abis tu kalau P1 berjaya masuk ke US, ko nak buat apa?
      boleh jilat balik ludah sendiri?
      ptuih!

• ye, aku akan jilat balik. sumpah.

huhh..berangan la nk pegi states.

• MoFaz on Aug 24, 2010 at 1:57 am

aku rasa proton hanya tak mahu mengulangi kesilapan hyudai / kia.
          masa mula2 buat kereta, hyundai / kia dah aim USA, terus eskport kat sana, tapi kualiti teruk gila sampai semua dealer tak mau jual hyundai dah.
          hanya kebelakangan ni je hyundai / kia mula naik….
          so, proton tunggu kualiti mereka setanding dengan honda/ toyota/ hyundai.. baru lah masuk USA & Europe.
          ni teori aku je… tapi takdela sampai nak meludah ludah.

• nazri on Aug 23, 2010 at 11:28 am

ok la tu bro.. next penetrate india market.. apa P2 ada??

• india aku rase p1 berani. but not the states. competitive nak mampos. p1 tak berani.

• nazri on Aug 24, 2010 at 12:44 am

common la bro .. india also got lot of population..
          kalau pandai sgt knp nk jilat ludah sendiri.. haha.. nice

• peYno on Aug 24, 2010 at 5:52 am

Rafs.. u sounds stupid.
          When we talk about Automotive.. US market is nothing… ppl will say about EUROPE and JAPAN… not US laa…

• autojohndoe on Aug 24, 2010 at 12:16 pm

aku rase rugi kau pegi US…

psl kau xbelajar bisness betul2…

org bisnes cari market yg boleh sell…

bukan nk tjuk power… Rugi… membazir duit je kau ke sana…

• autojohndoe on Aug 23, 2010 at 11:37 am

mister…

klu xtau bisnes limitation… jgn berkata sebarang…

nnt dituduh BOD… silap…

nnt dituduh KURANG BIJAK….

• i am fully aware of p1’s product limitation. tersangat limited kualitinye.

• autojohndoe on Aug 24, 2010 at 10:01 am

see… a STATEMENT BOD… silap, STATEMENT KURANG BIJAK…

Bisnes limitation and Quality also cant differentiate..

then, condemning so much, without even giving any discreet good idea…

Typical malaysian, komplen pandai, buat malas…

• kalu amerika berani, pasarlah kete diaorang kat malaysia, tengok bleh conquer market malaysia atau x? jangan ckp chrevolet(dah jadi kete korea, bukan amerika). mana ford???mana hummer??? mana lincoln???

ptuihhhhh

• ckp tu biar dlm konteks la. lari sgt kau ni.

the topic is about p1 sales in thailand. seeing p1 supporters expanding their nostrils due to sheer blind patriotism, i took the liberty to make these people think: is p1 road worthy in the united states? i choose the united states because i have a feel of the auto business over there (lived there couple of years). considering the choices and auto technology the US is flooded with in the market, i think americans would literally spit on current p1 cars.

i drive a myvi right now after dumping my stupid gas guzzling satria neo 3 years back. i am still bitter and i have the right to bash p1 all i want.

i am disgusted with ppl who get excited too quickly by any news about p1 abroad.

“proton iswara di london! wow seronotnye saye~”

• aih…balik amerika takkan bawak myvi je kot?
          kurang2 chevrolet ke sebab “hollywood dream” katakan.

seriously, step by step la. first thai, next india, next europe maybe.
          then slowly into usa market.

sabo ye?…

• owh..btw,
          im driving satria neo too. currently in my fourth year.
          fuel consumption not bad i have to say. 30 ringgit can get me around 240~260km.
          im living in town area. JB specifically.

so where do you living?
          opps..sorry. silly me. of course in the united state of AMERICA right?
          jam pack everywhere you go. of course your fc is sky rocketing.

• Kalau America, Japan ataupun Korea pasarkan dia org punya kereta sama dengan kereta P1 and P2, you ingat siapa akan conquer siapa…………………………??@#$%

• gilabangang on Aug 23, 2010 at 12:37 pm

Kalau ramai rakyat Malaysia berfikiran sampah macam neh.. memamg Malaysia tak akan maju

• kalau rakyat malaysia tak reti nak kutuk engine campro busuk tak power tapi kuat minyak dan kegagalan p1 membangunkan gearbox sendiri (tak habis2 gune gearbox mitsubishi 4 speed bangang), mmg p1 takkan maju.

• Tiadaid on Aug 24, 2010 at 9:21 am

Ramai je kompeni kete pakai Gearbox off-the-shelf. BMW pakai gearbox ZF, maknanya BMW bangangla?

• autojohndoe on Aug 24, 2010 at 10:03 am

KOrea is also Bangang coz they also use 4 speed gearbox..

• farghmee on Aug 24, 2010 at 10:48 am

apa yg bangang nye mitsu 4speed gb tu?
          xfaham aku..

• farghmee on Aug 23, 2010 at 12:50 pm

hehe…relax bro. jgn main ludah2..
      takut terkena baju sendiri nnt :P

• sharkox on Aug 23, 2010 at 1:34 pm

Haha…lu bawak kereta pae brader? kancil turbo?

• dia bawak myvi convert pasar.

• farghmee on Aug 24, 2010 at 10:45 am

dia (raf) bawa myvi jer…ingatkn ford GT40..shelby ke..

offtopic>
        jgn marah aa pengguna myvi yg lain.
        aku pn naik myvi premium.
        tp selain tu aku naik gen2 hi-line, wira, honda civic lama & kapchai.

kalu raf belajar engineering kt usa tu mmg bagus.
        dia boleh blaja macam2, ilmu & budaya.

nk suruh penetrate market sana sini bukan senang.
        ada limitation, ada regulation.
        kalu dh complied baru la ble masuk.

• Taubatlah Protong on Aug 23, 2010 at 3:04 pm

Inilah golongan yang dinyatakan dalam Al-Quran;

Golongan penipu, munafiq dan bodoh sombong.

Tempat sebaik-baiknya adalah api neraka.

Hatta sebelum masuk pun, ditimpa dgn pelbagai bala dan bencana di dunia.

Rezeki tak pernah berkat, selalu sahaja rugi, rakyat habis diperah wang ringgit mereka. 25 tahun lamanya.

Golongan-golongan yang tiada maruah.

25 tahun, Tuhan bagi peluang nak sedar diri, masih tak sedar-sedar.

Tunggulah bala akan datang (gulung tikar).

• kdg2.kte kne pikir ape yg kte telah sumbang kt negare?
        byk sgt ke income tax ko byk nk ckp cm tuh.
        ak tgk org gaji 3 4 ribu sesen pon xbyr income tax..
        yg gaji dlm 4 ribu lbh byr la bepuloh hinggit je sebulan..bkn byk sgt pon..(ni income tax cikgu2 skola krajaan..lain ak xtau)
        yg menipu tuh org atsan die..
        tp peluang pekerjaan yg die bg kat bangse ko sendiri ko x pikir..
        kalu Proton gulong tikar..sape yg nak bg makan anak bini employees sume tuh..
        ko?
        xyah la nak doa untok keburukan orng lain kalu diri sendiri pon x betol..
        baikla doa kemajuan negare kita ni ha..
        doa untok kebaikan org lain kan dpt phala..

• nazri on Aug 24, 2010 at 12:45 am

orang yg baik takkan mendoakan jahanam sesama sendiri.. betul tak? dont use that “card” again K..

• proton is a company with thousand of workers.
        to call all of them munafiq and liar is a huge accusation. or fitnah.

• farghmee on Aug 24, 2010 at 10:10 am

pernah dgr x kata2 ni:
        “jika datang kpd kamu yg membawa cerita itu ini, maka selidikilah”

siapa yg penipu, siapa yg munafiq & siapa yg bodoh sombong?

kalau ente mmg nk negara maju, kena la sokong.
        ana xsuruh pn ente bli kete proton, tp bg sokongan moral pn dh boleh.

antara bli kete dlm negara & luar negara, antara keduanya yg manakah lebih membawa kepada kemaslahatan umat?
        fikir2knlah ikhwan..

• aku rasa dia ni kena taubat, Proton lah satu2 product kereta org Islam di dunia ini, Insyaallah kejayaan Proton akan berterusan selagi staf2 Proton beriman dan bertakwa

• johny on Aug 23, 2010 at 3:57 pm

bro apsal lu emo sgt ngan proton nih?

nanti gua offer lu jadi MD baru proton..hahaha

• peYno on Aug 23, 2010 at 7:16 pm

keta US pon tak laku kat Jepun dan europe.. prrrrtfhhh

• sukasukiproton on Aug 24, 2010 at 6:13 am

knape msti US??
      come on la, kete US x bgus
      dahla handling mcm cipan, pastu design mcm gaban
      proton, just forget the US market
      go to Europe as Europe people more open than US
      kne ingat, org US patriotic, diorg sanggup pkai chevy tahun 1960 drpd pkai kete luar
      org malaysia je agong2kan org luar, xpnah bangga dgn negara sndiri
      dasar org xpnah kenang budi

• sranua on Aug 23, 2010 at 10:52 am

I wish Proton all the best and if they do improve in term of engine specs to be fuel efficient and interesting inetrior, I may choose proton again. Right now, Prton is moving towards a bright future and to make it happen it need the support from all Malaysian. Even if he bash but because of econmic constraint, had to buy Wira or Waja or persona..then he still contribute to Proton..

• Yoona on Aug 23, 2010 at 11:36 am

Take away the protection mechanism and let the market forces decide, consumer know to choose what is best for the worth of their hard earn money. As it is, there is no level playing field for fair comparison.

• blackjkx on Aug 23, 2010 at 11:44 am

What i see here mostly is proton fan Vs perodua fan (could be employees of P1/P2 also?)
    One curse another.Politik kuat, kerja malas.End result not going anywhere.

• hazri on Aug 23, 2010 at 11:59 am

another -ve thinker..

slowly lah bro…

• Automotive_Critics on Aug 23, 2010 at 12:00 pm

The reason behind the numbers is Proton is offering zero interest for 5 years installment for its cars in thailand. No wonder can achieve this small figure.

• Automotive_Critics on Aug 23, 2010 at 2:47 pm

Proton is out with zero int. campaign. check below;
      ———-
      Buyers of the Mazda3, which is capable of running on E20 gasohol, will enjoy new reduced pricing of Bt755,000 and 2.19-per-cent interest. For the MX-5 roadster, customers will receive a five-year/140,000-kilometre warranty and three years’/100,000 kilometres’ free maintenance, plus first-class insurance.

Ford’s campaign offers 20 per cent down for the Focus E20 with 1.99-per-cent interest for 48 months plus insurance. The promotion for the Ranger pickup will be 25 per cent down, 1.99-per-cent interest for 48 months plus insurance, while for the Everest and Escape, interest will be 2.99 per cent.

Mitsubishi will offer 1.68-per-cent interest for the Lancer, Lancer EX, Pajero Sport and Space Wagon, along with free insurance. The interest will be lower, at 0.99 per cent, for the Triton pickup. This is the lowest rate that will be offered at the show this year. Triton buyers will also receive free insurance and 24-hour emergency service.

Nissan will also offer low interest of 1.99 per cent (20 per cent down) for 48 months, while Proton will offer the Savvy at zero interest for five years

• Rest assured!

Protong can do that because 27 Million Malaysians are subsidizing them for the past 25 years.

Do not forget, Protong infamous cannibalism policy;

“Kera dihutan disusukan, anak dirumah mati kelaparan”.

Protong should seriously write a thesis on, “How to milk you country in 25 years and the next 25 years”. Wuhuuuu!

• YeapyEvo on Aug 23, 2010 at 10:49 pm

My comments on Proton latest financial statement says it all , they are trying to make a presence there by squeezing their margin, how long can it sustain ? I do like some of the Proton e.g. Satria and Satria Neo CPS on the handling part, but they have to come out with better engine with better torque and efficiency and improve in the internal material . Proton Persona is a better car than a dugong vios, again if it comes with a better engine.

• Sempena bulan kemerdekaan ni, aku nak lah ckp ckit, kita orang malaysia, komplen sana, komplen sini, ckp sebab naplah syarikat kenderaan dunia x buat malaysia hub. sume dah maklum buruh di thailand murah, bukan macam buruh kat malaysia, xpercaya tengoklah negara sendiri, mat bangla, mat siam n mat indon bersepah, sebab asalnya orang malaysia xnak buat keje dengan gaji yang murah,

so ada ke orang malaysia nak keje kilang toyota dengan gaji murah semurah di thailand??? toyota@honda bukan bodoh, buat apa nak bina kilang kat malaysia kalu boleh bina kat indon n thailand dengan kos yang lagi murah.

so, sapa yang bodoh, mereka n keluarga mereka. so, sebagai rakyat malaysia, keluarlah dari kebodohan diri anda, kita orang merdeka. macam william wallace cakap every man dies, but not every man lives. so, xguna kalu hidup berharap pada orang lain, sebab tu malaysia tubuhkan proton walupun negara2 jiran mentertawakan kita pada mulanya, akhirnya, depa beli plak kete kita.

wartwan kat thailand mahupun indon, xpenah kondem interior proton, malah untuk exora, dia cakap kualiti sama dengan kete korea@ lebih baik n sama macam kete jepun yang lain, dia kata plastik sama je macam prius. so, itu mentaliti orang luar, tapi macammana mentaliti orang negara kita sendiri, mahupun wartawan sendiripun mencerca produk malaysia. kritikan membina merupakan suatu yang baik, tapi bukan menghina atau mencaci.

akhir kata, selamat menyambut bulan kemerdekaan…(ramai aku tengok orang malaysia xpasang bendera, agak sunyi merdeka tahun ni, mungkin nak gantung bendera jepun kot kat kete @ bangunan masing2 :-), tulisan jepun yang xdifahami mahupun iklan rokok(west) bleh tampal kat kete, tapi bendera malaysia malu nak tampal)

• autojohndoe on Aug 23, 2010 at 1:02 pm

bro,

bendera kecik nk tmpl kt kete tu saya cari xde jual…

• oldman on Aug 23, 2010 at 7:10 pm

mat,

bukak mata tue…kilang kete yg depa bina kat german, usa tue ingat gaji buruh depa bayar pakai baht ker… isu nyer bukan hanya gaji buruh yg semata-mata… tue faktor kecik jer…yg lebih penting, jgn flip flop nak buat polisi dan sediakan blue print utk automotif industri..

jgn hanya main try and error…tue zaman kuno boleh lah beb…

• MoFaz on Aug 24, 2010 at 1:48 am

eh eh.. hidup lagi oldman ni rupanya.. lama tak nampak tuk.. atuk gi mana? tersangkut kat zaman kuno yer?
        automotive policy di USA hampir sama dengan thailand. Kalau nak pasarkan kereta di USA atau Thailand, kena bina kilang, at least CKD di USA / Thai. mereka buat syarat mcm tu supaya rakyat USA ada peluang pekerjaan sebab syarikat USA sendiri dah lari buat kilang di China. contohnya.. Dell, Machintosh, dan sebagainya…..
        Thailand buat syarat yg sama sebab trade deficit… barang import lagi banyak masuk berbanding yg dieksport.

• sukasukiproton on Aug 24, 2010 at 6:25 am

agree
      in business, cheap labour means more profit
      mcm kilang mercedes, kat german buat yg flagship dan performance/sports type je
      lain2 diorg psg kat austria (east german block labour cost and living cost murah lg compare to western block)
      dan asean market psg kat malaysia
      xkesian ke klau kat malaysia org keje kilang kne byr rm700
      ape diorg nak bg anak bini makan?
      klau nak kete proton murah, bleh, proton buat kilang kat indon, so labour cost jd rendah dan harga bleh turun
      tp x kesian ke ngan org malaysia xdpt kerja which suppose to be their jobs, tp org negara lain yg keje.
      dont forget, kat korea n japan, kete2 europe mahal lagi dr kete diorg
      sbb govt diorg nak didik rakyat diorg pkai kete negara sndiri
      u cant hope proton rapidly change, but let they slowly find their own rhythm 1st
      as a patriotic malaysian, we all must support them, give them our opinion for improvement
      n complaint to the proton top management if proton SC buat keje xbgus
      post it inside paper, so biar diorg malu cket (mcm proton SC kat bangi, wat keje cam haram jek mse kwn aku servis persona dia)

• Some of us here do not have proper knowledge on certain issues especially on investment. See.. how come shoes manufacturers run to Vietnam dan Indonesia to produce their products though there is no AP for shoes. It’s because suitability – ie. cost effective and market. So, if the govt remove car taxes, it does not necessarily means big car companies will scramble to open factory here simply because production cost in Thailand and Indonesia is much lower and bigger population will support the industries. That’s what u call conducive investment climate. U will see in not too distant time car sales in Indonesia dan Thailand will reach 1 million. As for me I would rather MIGRATE to Thailand to get cheaper car and pretty girls also abundant. BTW to those who always say “more better”, please go back 2 school n learn your grammer.

• watever on Aug 23, 2010 at 3:40 pm

what the hell is grammer ?

• more better.. hahaha kalau tak reti speaking ckp melayu sudah. jgn memalukan bangse di persada dunie.

for those who are really interested to know why we are losing investment to our neighbors, just give MIDA a call and speak to an officer from the automotive or FDI department. i think they will be glad to answer whose fault it was.

..because we are protecting p1 laa.. who else!!

• nazri on Aug 24, 2010 at 12:48 am

pls la raf.. jgn merendahkan bangsa sendiri.. dont use ‘racist card’ k

• autojohndoe on Aug 24, 2010 at 9:56 am

and also Perodua, Naza…

dont forget to include that…

• so y arent u migrating…? n bout grammar..at least they are trying to speak/ write in English. it’s a learning process… not all of us are English native speakers.. Jadi sama2 lah belajar ..

• agree with Jack Hammer

• autojohndoe on Aug 23, 2010 at 1:44 pm

some are kecoh, the cars are cheaper bcoz we malaysian subsidize them…

so, are they getting our money?

no right?

it is us, that get their money… the Baht is flowing into malaysia…

• dooby on Aug 23, 2010 at 4:00 pm

Thailand export 87,605 units per month.

Let’s face it, we are loosing BIG on this.

The close door policy of NAP must go.

Else we will never catch up.

• autojohndoe on Aug 24, 2010 at 9:55 am

export is BIG…

but how big also the money come into the country?

most of the export sales goes to the car maker origin country, not really into thailand…

• peYno on Aug 23, 2010 at 7:20 pm

perodua only can sell in BOLEH LAND coz here got so mana ah beng japanese wannabe. who can’t afford REAL JAPs car then endup with.perodua..when perodua goes to Thai/Indon.. they have to fighh with other japanese car…
    for Thais and Indonesian.. Japs car is nothing for them… but in Malaysia.. even ASEAN japs car like vios, city, avanza, they praise like hell..

prrrtfhh pity them

• odi862 on Aug 23, 2010 at 9:03 pm

Proton is 20 years too late to enter ASEAN market. Better late than never. Recently I have seen banners about “Jadilah Pengguna Patriotik” or something like that portraying Proton car key. The question is “Why only Proton?”. Maybe the answer is quite obvious. P2 only re-badge Daihatsu and Naza, all sort of brands. From this we know that the G shows favoritism towards P1 (maybe we know all along!!).

If you ask me whether I’ll buy P1? Well, I already did. If you rephrase the question and ask will you buy p1 again? No, I won’t…………………Not until they can prove that they are on par or more than all the key players in car industry. See the Korean and make example of it.

• JACK HAMMER on Aug 23, 2010 at 11:50 pm

kah..kah..kah…

PROTON EVEN TAPAU DAIHATSU THAILAND… WTF???!!!!
    AIYOO.. THAI PEOPLE DONT BOTHER TO BUY DAIHATSU…

kah..kah..kah..

BUT HERE..
    MALAYSIAN AHBENG LOVE TO BUY DAIHATSU aka PEROTUA…

kah..kah..kah..

• I think proton is gonna have a tough time in the thai market from now on….
    because Eco-car have just been introduced to the Thai market
    Nissan March is even cheaper than Proton Savvy now so all the people who were once interested in cheap cars now have another choice and Toyota, Honda ,Suzuki, Mitsubishi and VW are also jumping in this project in the next 2-3 years.
    So unless Proton offers any other qualities to attract low-end buyers aside from low price,
    it won’t be able to sell at this figure in the future.

• Rossini on Aug 17, 2011 at 6:07 am

Thais likes to try new cars…and protron was something new….they will see how good it runs and function and it’s after sale service is….if it is not at par with other brands, I believe that it will soon start disappearing from the roads, just like Korean’s hyundai and daewoos. I am a Thai and from my point of view, dont think protron will last long….because I have seen a few new ones just bought and parked dead at the parking lot….very surprise for new cars…some make bad noices…brand new. The car have to be able withstand extreme heat and traffic of bkk. (this is why taxis choose toyota-they are excellent for the condition). European cars-resale price is terrible in thailand. Good luck msia…we still like to support our msian brothers…eventhough you have a very strong passion in winning your asean neighbors in every area (eg in sepak trakraw, producing cars etc) you are still a good quest to our country and spend good amount money here : )