3M Authorised Car Centres for your 3M Crystalline tint

3M is a seriously huge chemical company and unknowingly most of us are exposed to 3M products everyday, everywhere. Apparently even the highway signboards have something to do with 3M, and I swear by 3M Scotchbrite microfiber cloths to clean my eyeglasses.

In fact, even though V-Kool has stronghold in consumer minds when it comes to window tinting in Malaysia, it was 3M that invented window tint films. But for the longest time 3M left their Crystalline series and their other tints to be handled by dealers. Now they’ve decided to come back in a big way with their new 3M Authorised Car Centers who are guaranteed to sell genuine 3M film and have a certain level of service.

You’ll find the specs of 3M’s Crystalline tint in the table above. You can click the image for a larger image. Interestingly none of its competitors say what its SPF factor is, but 3M has a figure of about 1000+. That’s not to say that the other brands have a lower SPF factor (check Wikipedia for SPF definition). But doing a little Googling reveals that V-Kool has an SPF of 233, as tested by the Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Agency. I’m not really sure what makes 3M’s SPF rating so much higher.

BTW notice that 3M Crystalline 70’s IR (infrared) rejection is about 97%+ which is a margin higher than the listed competitors. Unfortunately this also means that our SmartTag system could possibly not work with 3M (some confirmed user feedback on this, but results are mixed) where it may still work with competitor’s films which has lower IR rejection. A solution may be a little hole in your windscreen tint.

Here are a few videos from the tint film’s launch where a few 3M spokespersons gave some demonstrations on the film’s properties. For example, they used a plasma globe to prove that 3M’s film has no metal content.

What tint film are you using on your car? Please share your experiences so that everyone can learn and benefit together. I personally purchased V-Kool Elite to support them as they sponsored some prizes for Driven Season 1’s contest. Works fine with Smart Tag.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Dennis on Aug 27, 2010 at 1:48 am

I’m using 3M tint film and there’s no problem with my smart tag so far. Been using it for almost a year :)

• Hameed Koyakuti on Aug 27, 2010 at 12:44 pm

From what that i know, 3M had been supplying the tint to many installer which rebrand it to a new product name. We might dont even know maybe VKool, Safetint, Suretint, Air Cool etc. is using 3M but rebrand under their own name. This is common in the industry.

BTW, peeling, bubble normally is the defect of from the installer. Also go for the one offer warranties like mine for 5 years.

So far Safetint product is Ok with good warranty package and affordable price.

• Vincent on Mar 26, 2011 at 10:30 pm

I had used this 3M CR70 on my kelisa.So far works well with smart tag,but have to slow down when reach toll if compared to others film.While the infrared rejection,i would say it’s good(i drive a alot,coz i m salesman).Planning to do CR70on my Myvi as well

• Gan Kok Chi on Aug 27, 2010 at 2:14 am

I’ve used 3M on both my cars. Really great and since I’ve used V-Kool in the past, I can tell you that 3M is a better product. But you’re right, the SmartTag can’t work… Hence I open my window and hold the SmartTag outside the window as I drive through the toll. Am used to this so no problem, small price to pay for the protection you get. :)

• MoFaz on Aug 27, 2010 at 3:18 am

alamak.. if that’s the case, it might be better to use TnG only, just wind down the window and won’t look as weird as that.. huhuhu

• Gan, is your 3M tint with security protection too? I dont mind trying for my next ride.

• miss85 on Dec 08, 2010 at 10:34 am

mr Gan, which type of 3M did u install for ur car? i want to install mine with 3M HP and wonder if it doesnt work with smart tag too.

• mystvearn on Aug 27, 2010 at 3:08 am

Experience from tinting 2 cars in the past and friends I can say that is the material counts to a point, but the person must be a sifu in the field. Where I live there is only 1 authorized Vkool agent but their work is crap. People coming back again as bubbles emerge and it was blatnatly mentioned by the salesperson that it is “normal la for people to come again for re-tinting”.

Honda Malaysia had Vkool tint from the factory, not sure if they still have it now. I prefer factory tinted Vkool for better quality. But then I am using US-cool?Aerocool?Vkool? I forgot what the name is but in my state he is the best person at the job. Of course I would choose Vkool if available, but I would choose the sifu 1st rather than material. Even the Jap car showroom uses his tinting if customers want their cars to be tinted regardless he does not have the Vkool. The Vkool only dealer is/was used by Authorized Merc dealership in my area & on that day itself I saw a merc coming in back for retinting :P

• A good sifu with lousy material = crap

like wise, a lousy sifu with good material = crap

Both are important.

• I ‘m used Air Cool ( deluxe type) for my persona . Price around rm 1200 , their quality of installation is good and make me happy.Working good with smart tag Feel better when in hot day with minimum aircond level and you cannot see clearly what thing inside your car when you see at the outside..
    After 1year and 3 month my tinted already pudar , and the performance starting to down slightly , which i feel not cool like before.
    Just to share my experience…

• antitint on Aug 29, 2010 at 12:05 am

you mean the film also got life span ? usually how long ?

• i don’t know how long the film life span , Maybe I will ask air cool dealer for more info when I m free.
        From my opinion , tinted is good for safety when you have an accident so the glass not so break to bad… depend from the impact .. better than no tinted..

• Tiger on Oct 13, 2010 at 1:14 pm

What life span ? The ‘life span’ should at least meet or exceed the warranty period. But I tell you , last time I installed Air Cool also , it started to fade after 6 months and from 8-9th months onward , all the tint became transparent like the one on windscreen. Air Cool very lousy , beware ! and discolourization not under warranty !! Avoid them if you dont want to feel cheated.

• Now how about the law? Is it street legal to use any kind of tint for our car in M’sia?
    Is it JPJ & PUSPAKOM proof? I don’t to use any kind of tinting just to be fine & tear by PUSPAKOM when the fact is M’sia goverment should legalise the use of car tinting long ago. Just be logical about the location of M’sia near the Equator, it’s scorching hot here. Or I have just to wait untill I got skin cancer to get the support letter from doctor or be a judge to legally use tint for my car.

• razibar on Aug 27, 2010 at 10:15 am

My friend,

Just google to JPJ website and you can find the rules & regulations on tinting. No need to assume. So easy mah…

• geekfiredog on Aug 27, 2010 at 11:59 am

It is legal to use as long as you meet the requirement (70% for front and 50% for the rest), but not sure how they measure / check it.

Virtually none of the tint would meet the70% requirement for windscreen, even with VKool Elite 70. A lot of cars’ windscreen came with certain level with tint, add that with your choice of tint film and almost sure that you are below the 70% limit. My previous ride came with factory fitted V-kool as std, and it failed Puspakom check when I disposed it.

• shawal on Aug 27, 2010 at 5:22 pm

if anyone stops you, just cocok rm50 maa….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
  • My car front windscreen is fitted with 3M Crystalline series and i confirmed smartag cannot be used. I also don’t want to have a small hole cut so i have to wind down my window everytime i pass thro toll.

Quality of the tint is good as i don’t get any problems like peeling or bubbles (2yrs already)

• I wonder what car are you using? is it all cars with 3M cannot use SmartTag?

• I’m driving Honda City (not really matter which car but it’s the IR rejection value that counts) and not all 3M series cannot use smart tag. Only their Crystalline series have this issue due to high IR rejection. Anyway is better u check with 3M which series can work if u want to use it with smart tag.

• onewan on Aug 30, 2010 at 12:21 pm

same with me..i`m using CR60 for front..doesnt work with Smart Tag..but as usual, i wind down my window everytime pass thro toll..no big deal as i`m veri satisfied with this 3M quality and after sales services

• Paul, I’m using VKool Elite the latest range and its slightly darker than the previous one. Smart tag works BUT it really messes with the Garmin GPS signal. I keep losing the signal. Does this happen to you?

• i’m using LLUMAR and i find it very good indeed

• Chilavert on Aug 27, 2010 at 7:34 am

wow 3m is better than V-Kool? i never knew that. i’m using solar gard. maybe for my next car i will use 3M.

• Stoner on Aug 27, 2010 at 7:43 am

I am using this tint, crystalline series.

I am satisfied and the price I paid for it is way cheaper.

The dealer I went to is very professional and have done a good job.

Glare and IR rejection is proven to be good.

• Patrick on Feb 11, 2012 at 6:33 pm

Stoner,

would you mind sharing the place you fit your tint?

• wongikbing on Jul 22, 2012 at 9:38 pm

Are u sure u have no glare issue at all during night drive? My CR60 front windscreen, creates strong glare whenever facing head to head with another car’s head lamp..!!

• wow , i like that tester..is it sell also?

• Jimmy on Aug 27, 2010 at 7:54 am

Too bad 3M does not have security tint, else it definitely would be 1 of my choice…

• keluangman on Aug 27, 2010 at 8:05 am

I got V-Kool Elite on one of my cars, not really the best as you can still feel the heat radiation while driving around at noon. Shows the IR deflection still not very good. You can get similar “protection” if you shop around with other brand(Raytech for example) at about RM100-200 lesser.

However nowadays the priority on tint film for my car would be its shatter-proof strength(due to expensive ICE setup and killer mat rempit factors, safety for wife and kids you know).

If 3M can produce a bullet proof Crystalline series heck I’ll be among the first to install it on all my cars(even if they claim to just stop a small handgun bullet that’s just fine with me). Protection from the sun and a GUN, hehe….

• mr. wiseGuy on Aug 27, 2010 at 9:42 pm

hahahah…sun of a gun

• Bullet proof tint film? Dream on.

You need to get bullet proof glass instead.

• steve on Aug 02, 2012 at 7:13 pm

Hi Friend, I have the same experience as you after I installed V-Kool Elite. It is like no tint at all as I get into the car in the afternoon, the IR deflection don’t seems to work at all. I am always wondering whether I was cheated by the V-Kool people who use a cheap plastic sheet instead of the original V-Kool tint sheet. But who can tell the difference? Most consumer knows nothing on how to tell the real from the fake. I now trust only 3M tint or other brands which are very much cheaper and value for your money.

• the main purpose of window tinting is to delay the heat transfer not stop it altogether. almost impossible! while it may help when u drive in the scorching sun, it wont do any better under hours of radiation under the sun.

• scoobydoo on Aug 27, 2010 at 8:17 am

i’m using 3M for all my current and previous 5 cars, it’s the best! The color is also very nice…Too bad now they have recalled their security tint until further notice….been waiting for more than a year…..can someone from 3M please explain???

• i’m using crystalline 60. since the windscreen of my car is so big, i still feel the hot sunray during the hot day. not really satisfied tough. and of course it is not smart tag friendly.

• Jimmy on Aug 27, 2010 at 8:28 am

Think twice if you want to try on Air-Cool Monotex, almost the price of V-Kool but personally I feel it is not good.

• where’s this place?…paul could u give the address…

• Shaycoat on Aug 27, 2010 at 8:38 am

Paul, I also use V-kool elite for my car. They said that Elite has IR rejection of 97% and can confirm it for you. It is worthy to invest in high quality tint film even though the price is expensive. But hey eventually you get what you pay…

• Am on VKool Secure8mil with security protection. OK, so far so gd in terms of Smart Tag and heat rejection. Another car is on LLumar6mil, and the heat rejection tak boleh lah, hopeless!

• Tekno on Aug 27, 2010 at 2:37 pm

even u use 10mil, the front still 2 mil maa..only the window can install safety film.

• A timely post. i’m searching for a tint for my new car and are concerned that certain brands are not smart-tag friendly.

I’ve used vkool before (cant recall the type) and my smart-tag was utterly useless. end up sticking it on my sunroof instead (which was vkool-ed)

Dont mind trying out 3M if it’s smart-tag friendly. Anyone can clarify this please?

• likahsing on Aug 27, 2010 at 9:34 am

I ‘paw’ my sales man free tint. dont care much about the quality, ok ok saja. it’s free anyway

• alfred on Aug 27, 2010 at 9:46 am

Folks,

Don’t be fooled by the slick marketing talk about the 97% IR rejection as demonstrated in the video & data presented.

About 53% of the sun’s energy is made up of IR (visible light 44%, ultraviolet 3%).

IR frequency spans the 0.7 – 300 micrometre (700 – 3,000 nanometre) wavelength.

In the video, the device that was used to demonstate the 3% IR transmission only measures the 900-1,000nm frequency range which is a very narrow band compared to the entire 700-3,000nm range.

This fact can be verified at the 3M website at http://solutions.3m.com/wps/portal/3M/en_US/ScotchgardAutoProtection/Home/AutoDealerships/Home/Products/WindowFilm/CrystallineWindowFilm/

Don’t forget that visible light also contributes to the heat build up in your car

National Fenestration Rating Council (http://www.nfrc.org/) is an independent non profit body that standardises performance measurements of windows, films etc.

For a film’s overall performance, you should be looking at its Solar Heat Gain Coefficient (SGHC)

NFRC has a section where you can find the measurements/specifications of various brands as tested independently by NFRC.

see http://search.nfrc.org/search/apd_film/film_search_default.aspx

Some of the brands listed are available in Malayisa as follows:
    3M – the crystalline range is not listed.
    Bakaert Specialy Films – Solar Gard
    Southwall Technologies – V-Kool & Huper Optik

There’re a lot of overstated claims, under-trained sales reps in the tinting business.

Maybe 3M Malaysia would like to clarify the above and rectify some of it’s claims.

• tan ming hua on Aug 27, 2010 at 10:35 am

fellow human beings,

Other than the info above, pls bear in mind, the manufacturer can actually have different standard for a particular tint’s model in different region/countries, claims of a particular tint model that r proven/tested even independently in US might not be applicable to the ‘batch’ sold in our region.

Even if the standard/quality is similar in all regions, the results/scores made in the independent tests might only hold true when it’s in a brand new condition.

Hence, it is also important to know how persistent and consistent a particular tint can perform at the claimed standard. For the last point, only users’ experience will tell.

happy holiday folks.

• antitint on Aug 29, 2010 at 12:13 am

Since the ‘device’ is incapable to measure the whole bandwidth of IR, so what do u suggest us consomers to buy? which brand and why ?

• Deuter on Aug 27, 2010 at 9:57 am

I am using huper optik, not sure if you all have heard about it. it is coated with ceramic material and from germany. the thing about huper optik is, it is normally darker, when the sun light is not enough, especially during evening time, you will feel the street is like very gloomy. but overall, the heat rejection is good and it is much cheaper than v-kool. to me, v-kool is like status symbol in malaysia. anyway, i saw many ferrarri with huper optik.

• dodgeviper88 on Aug 27, 2010 at 10:00 am

I’m using 3M tint and can say that you can really feel the reduction in heat. Also mine can use the smart tag although i’m not really sure whether I’m being supplied with original 3M products. The cost of tinting on a Hilux costs only RM1400 so being charged for RM2000 at 3M is kinda of at a steep price considering that they cut out the middlemen.

• the juke on Aug 27, 2010 at 10:08 am

i’m using raytech
    so far so good. nvr tried other brands before so cant really make comparison
    but, like one of the bros said, sometiimes my gps signal went haywire
    always went out of signal, sigh..

• kiddo0o on Aug 27, 2010 at 10:22 am

I’m using huper optik as well. Yup it is ceramic based and what i like about it is that it is dark. As for 3M’s usually their films have really good heat rejection but then the films are very bright/clear

• Fruzs on Aug 27, 2010 at 10:28 am

I bought a used car recently and it was fitted with V-Kool Elite. During inspection by Puspakom Wangsa Maju, the front windscreen failed the test and to get it passed, they peeled out the film partially. And I thought V-Kool is JPJ compliant! I took it to V-Kool HQ to have it replaced. The film was factory fitted. Imagine I have to wait 3 hours for them to trace the records(that again after much scolding) – that is the level of their good recording system! Then left the car there for another 4 hours for them to peel and to restick again (on V-Kool’s account). Now I know this is how to get around the system. Hope the 3M centres are better than this. Other than the above experience, V-Kool is ok. I have another car on Air-Cool and is satisfied with the quality, customer service and workmanship (Air Cool Puchong).

• yuzman on Aug 27, 2010 at 10:49 am

do they have v-kool for front windscreen? i thought it’s only for side windows and rear screen.. if normal v-kool sure it will fail because windscreen must be clearer than the side windows (JPJ rules).

• oomph on Aug 27, 2010 at 7:13 pm

Same happened to me. V kool for my windscreen failed Puspakom and had to tear it out.
      Now i’m still looking for windscreen tint film that would pass JPJ 70% requirement.

Side & back requirement is only 50% so V kool on my car passed.

• yuzman on Aug 27, 2010 at 10:35 am

my understanding is that TSER what matters most when it comes to heat reduction (from my readings in the car mags). other stats just to confuse user. some brands have better TSER than this 3M.

• ChengHai on Aug 27, 2010 at 10:44 am

I’m using both V-kool and 3M tint films…so from my experiences of these two films which is in same grade/category,I’m not sure it’s crystallite though…V-kool seems to be better in blocking out heat…so it works better for me in that sense…and smart tag friendly wise, both work fine for me…that’s it…for me…both are good but V-kool is slightly better in terms of reducing heat(which is the main purpose,isn’t).

• Armeng on Aug 27, 2010 at 10:46 am

My car is tinting with EcoTint impeccable serie which cost me 1.5K for my vios. very good workmanship, 10 years warranty and cool inside car. No problem with GPS signal and smart tag. Quality same as VkoolElite which i used for my camry except the price slightly cheaper.

• Yoona on Aug 27, 2010 at 11:53 am

Gonna put that for my Sonata YF when i got it. You deal with Amuroray?

• Armeng on Aug 27, 2010 at 9:48 pm

Bingo..done in cheras branch. no regret after a year plus. satisfied.

• im using 3m on my front windscreen and cannot use smarttag!! but weird thing is my sun roof without opening it works.. lol just have to drive slooowly

• agreed with yuzman

• 2fast on Aug 27, 2010 at 10:56 am

For heat rejection, the TSER (Total Solar Energy Rejection) value is more important. For Vkool 70, its around 54% and for 3M Crystalline 70 is around 50%.

http://www.v-kool-usa.com/download/performance-data.pdf – look for Clear 70

• Same with Armeng…my car also tinting with EcoTint impeccable series(Ray Barrier) with front and rear windscreen while side using 4mil security film which cost me only 1.3K for my black vios^^.So far so good no any problems pretty cool inside!!!

• waa..Good Survey lar. thanks all comment above :D

• Using Air Cool Platinum on my Latio for more than 2 years. Silver tint colour, not too dark. Used to be able to run with air-cond blower at setting “2” and temperature at about 15% at noon. Looks wise, can still see inside of car if you concentrate.

Lately have to use “3” and 25% temperature. Either it is getting too hot or tint faded. Anyway, no problems at all with Smart Tag or Garmin GPS signal.

• Philip J. Fry on Aug 27, 2010 at 5:56 pm

Another possibility is that your aircon is not as cold as it used to be.

• coolguru on Aug 27, 2010 at 11:37 am

I’ve used Vkool – something like a combination of 70 and 75, back for 4 years already. I must say it took me a long while to convince myself with the price of RM2,000 for Vios, small car, but lastly put them on. No turning back since then!

And feel even more worth it when compare any other films including 3M.

• intermilan on Aug 27, 2010 at 11:43 am

i can confirm that 3M Crystalline 70 tint film is 99.99% not smart tag friendly.

So hopefully, after so many forummers give this info, no one will ask about this again.

if you are using 3m tint and experience no issue with smart tag, then maybe its still 3M tint, but definitely not the Crystalline 70 series.

• momocultus on Aug 27, 2010 at 12:12 pm

guys..

just sharing my industry experience..

V-Kool – big brother in Malaysia u pick and tom dick and harrry they want this in their car my personal experience the installation work is good and the quality is ok

Hupper- U will be surprised with the distinct quality (the one installed by the supplier in my car for testing cost about 4k and this is only for custom order -its a dark tint :P)

Llumar – well known name for safety – am recommending this to all ladies if u having a habit putting their handbag at the passenger side ( am getting a friend to fix one tmrw)

Rike cool- good product with lower price (honestly this is already good enuf for me)

3M – i was given the full technical briefing by the distributor but yet to get actually sample.. next week i will be sending my car for re tint

No Name Kool- this is the best part i install this tint about 3 years ago in one small shop in taman midah it cost me rm 150.00 and its actually not to bad but it only last for about 2 years plus (the heat rejection and uv test are equal to rike cool (the test done by the distributor himself)

Conclusion is u dont need to spent so much on the tinted (just like the distributor of 3m said) u already got the basic protection with any product other claims that it can do this and that are just supplementary

p/s I had installed all the above mention tinted film in my personal cars and company cars tried and tested. this is just my personal view.

• Hi. I saw your post.
      “No Name Kool- this is the best part i install this tint about 3 years ago in one small shop in taman midah it cost me rm 150.00 and its actually not to bad but it only last for about 2 years plus (the heat rejection and uv test are equal to rike cool (the test done by the distributor himself)”

U say u tint before at Taman Midah. Can i know the shop is the one near Maybank is it? Cuz i m also looking to tint at a tint shop at Taman Midah. Just hope that you can share ur experience with me. Thanks.

• ahmad on Aug 07, 2012 at 10:42 pm

Thanx for the info, i m doing some research for my new chery eastar st.

• rossi46 on Aug 27, 2010 at 1:00 pm

1) ecotint ray barrier on my compact sedan – good & cooling
    2) golddust for my mpv – overall ok & like the gold reflection from outside

• impul rokkz on Aug 27, 2010 at 1:08 pm

Mine is tintworkz brand, never heard before. 5mil, gold black, reduce heat effectively, done for 1300.

• antitint on Aug 27, 2010 at 1:45 pm

I never tinted my City since i bought 2 years ago because I heard they are overpriced. I heard the cost price of tint for a car like City is less than RM 100. Please advise

• Vkool is already strong enough to attenuate EM wave and many subscribers had faced mobile phone drop calls in heavy tinted vehicles…

With this, prepare for more drop calls, missing the Smart Tag sensor and hitting the bar :p

• i’ve personally tried huper optik, the price is slightly cheaper than V-kool but more expensive than 3M. Although i’ve never tried either 3M or V-kool, but i don’t think it’s worth that price. This is because i was expecting my car to be cooler for the price that i paid

• kimi_ on Aug 27, 2010 at 3:20 pm

I more trusted the quality of v-Kool, which works flawlessly….

“even though V-Kool has stronghold in consumer minds when it comes to window tint in Malaysia, it was 3M that invented window tint films”—-This is real BULLSHIT, no matter whoever invent it first doesnt mean it is better or even good

The price is almost same with v-kool, i dont see any reason to choose this 3M than established V-kool

• chee liat on Jan 13, 2012 at 10:29 am

3M products are quality products, expensive but good..i am 3M user n have v kool installed before,v kool jual nama only ….believe me

• steve on Aug 02, 2012 at 7:17 pm

Dear Friend,

V-Kool may be well known brand and the most expensive. But unfortunately, I believe there are too many fake or imitation V-Kool already in the market lah. I also learnt that car saleman get RM1,000 commission for introducing V-Kool to their customers that is why the price is sky high lah.

• kayel on Aug 27, 2010 at 3:22 pm

i’m using Ecotint RayBarrier, high grade from Ecotint…just ok and i’m always feel that it’s not great…planning to use Llumar or Vkool for my next car…..

• E Bear on Aug 27, 2010 at 5:07 pm

Used V-kool back in 1997 n have to admit it was much better than anything I used after that.

Then again, those other tint did not cost that much.

U can feel the window itself, not burning hot eventhough the outside is.

Unfortunately, 5 years later, delamination showed up.

The end.

• handsome*Dude on Aug 27, 2010 at 7:51 pm

I fill tinted my car with bullet proof feature.. cost me only 2k plus ~!

alrite..just joke of the day :)

• hengkem on Aug 27, 2010 at 9:38 pm

hello, I installed Wingard on my ride. 10 year warranty and so far after 3 and half years, still as good as 1st day. Donno whether smart tag friendly or not as I am using TnG but I don suffer signal loss for the mapking on my phone..but yeah, the front is just 2mil I think…

• i am using 2 products, one is eco tint immaculate series and another is vkool goldust..this version of vkool is must cheaper but the heat rejection is way much better than eco tint..i m really a fan of vkool goldust..only problem is the latest version is slightly lighter in colour..which i dunno y..probably even the quality is lower compared to the first goldust..mine is the first version..also tested with puspakom n its approved..the tint is quite dark..very happy happy with goldust but not with eco tint immaculate series..price of eco tint is double..currently goldust is around 650-750 only while eco tint immaculate is around 1200-1300..just my 2cents

• used v kool. cost around 2k for my myvi.

but it really works well, left under the sun, the car is not as hot as those without tint.

• weiann on Aug 28, 2010 at 1:41 am

Been using 3M crystalline & non crystalline for almost all my family car, out of my suprise their mid range product is quite ok in term of heat rejection compare to their high end range. confirm their crystalline is smart tag killer (dun care is 10years or current smart tag), but for their low to mid range film is ok for smart tag.

• estima 778 on Aug 28, 2010 at 2:52 am

wah ! 2 k very expen…untung lebih kurang 100% keatas ,because i pro tint….

• Critic on Aug 28, 2010 at 9:08 am

Llumar is worse than 3M. I got my car tinted in Llumar shop in IOI Business Park, just next to Unihub Toyota. I felt so hot getting into my car after exposing the car under sunlight for just 15 minutes. My brother is using 3M and it is still so cool even the car is parked under the hot sun for a long time. The disadvantage of 3M is smart tag. You have to wind down the window. 3M is the best. Do not go for Llumar even it is a few hundreds cheaper. I regretted that even my bro told me that 3M is way better but I did not believe. Mine is Llumar 5 mil but it does not look like 5 mil. Hot like shit. Believe me go for 3M crystalline and you won’t be wrong (I am not 3M promoter).

• Baldwin on Aug 28, 2010 at 11:24 am

Tried V-Kool, 3M and those in between stuff..

Currently on Huper Optik Ceramic series for a few of my rides.
    Crystal clear vision without a slight hinderance unlike V-Kool and it has that ash hue when exposed to direct sunlight.
    In other words, dark from the outside, crystal clear vision (even at night) from the inside.

• WhatTheFuzz on Aug 28, 2010 at 12:16 pm

I got my new car in January this year, and I had my whole car done with 3M Crystalline. Front windscreen – Crystalline 70
    Four windows + Rear windscreen – Crystalline 50

All in all, a bloody good window film. I park my car outside my office under the sun in an open air car park, and I can feel the difference between my old car and the new car. (Old car was done up with V-Kool Elite).

I can also confirm that Crystalline 70 will not work with Smart Tag, although my old V-Kool did. So whenever I need to go through the toll gantry, I just wind down my window and stick the Smart Tag out the window as I drive past.

• I install mine with crystalline also but mine is peeling off every now and then.When is inside, it still feel warm.One of the 3M guy doing the demo in video 1 come down to do replacement for me but then after a few months another side is peeling off. From start till now, I have done 2 peeling off replacement and on the last occasion, the 3M guy confirm that I am getting original film.So now I don’t think 3M quality is as good as mention unless one of the very unlucky guy that is facing problems when no one is having.

• Better u bring your car to 3M to check it out if u really got the real deal. Nowadays lot’s of fakes.

• happened to me approaced by 3M in Batu Caves. really tempted as the SA compare to other brands. but i did take up since..i just jalan2 out there..

• Kevin Lau on Aug 28, 2010 at 7:20 pm

Wow…45mins to go tru every comments

very informative indeed…but I’m still contemplating between 3M C-70 and VKool Elite for my IX35.

i like the quality & pricing of 3M but on the other hand VKool tint replacement guarantee looks very tempting, especially if RTD happens to find fault with me..like they always do during Raya season.

Can anyone share with me whether 3M has any tint replacement guarantee against Msian road law enforcers despite the fact that it is road legal…you never know when these people would bully you!

• kubuddy on Aug 31, 2010 at 10:42 pm

hi Kevin

over a year using the 3M C70, quality is superb , happy not regret & i do remember that 3M did get JPJ approval, perhaps please double confrim again with 3M ”
      AUTHORIZED” dealer.

• lovelove on Sep 27, 2010 at 10:23 pm

Hi Kelvin….3M’s exclusive distributor (Trimex) is offering tint replacement guarantee for Crystalline 70 & 60.series…!!!! It’s confirmed…!! :)

• master jedi on Aug 28, 2010 at 10:49 pm

i’m using 3M Crystalline on my 4 month old Alza. Found very great under sunny day, total feel like in indoor. after long drive in sunny day, my eye still feel fresh. Smarttag i try few way. only drive slow and put close to winscreen only can pass. But for some area like out station maybe not work. klang valley mostly work.

• wochomi on Aug 30, 2010 at 5:10 pm

I’m using InfraTint Deluxe (70% VL). Installed this at Houz of Tint in Ipoh.
    Either the film is bad or the workmanship is really lousy. No bubbles, no peeling… just annoying strips of optical distortion like looking through a glass of boiling water.
    Now I’m thinking of changing to Cooltintz or vkool or something.
    Any comments on Cooltintz in Ipoh? They quote me RM980.

• gallardo on Sep 05, 2010 at 1:54 am

installed my car with crystalline series last week.. the smart tag works on DUKE highway.. but have to drive real slow and hold the smart tag close to the FWS.. those who are confidently saying that if smart tag works, then its not cystalline, i would like to know how they come to such conclusions or is it just based on hearsay.. i’m just worried that my FWS tint is not crystalline because my smart tag works but i only had chance trying on DUKE highway only so far.. thanks..

• so which one suite my iphone aGPS ??? can anyone help me?

• ProTip on Sep 07, 2010 at 12:49 pm

EcoTint RayBarrier. It’s not *the* best in heat rejection, but I find it works adequately. I can definitely feel the difference between RayBarrier and V-Kool Elite for example (the Elite seems much cooler inside).

I use it in all my cars and no problems with GPS (Nokia, iPhone, Garmin nuvis). I have not tried other brands to be honest. I don’t dare to in case it doesn’t work.

My colleague’s Volvo S60 is using V-Kool Elite and his HTC Touch 3G GPS does not work, but when he rolls down the window it works. So I guess V-Kool Elite isn’t so GPS friendly.

• yeahh on Sep 07, 2010 at 5:50 pm

confidently can tell u smart tag DOES NOT WORK with 3m. i am using crystalline 70 series for my FWS. i have not tried with the other lower ranges of 3m. The installer will use a NON 3M tint for the TOP part of the FWS (usually black colour tint). This is one of the ways that u can use ur smart tag. So for those that say you can use smart tag and 3m please clarify whether it is crystalline or ur installer used a non-3m tint on the top part of the FWS so u can use it.

• suprisingly i was able to use smart tag. i had to go very slow and almost stopping at the toll gate for it to detect the tag. tested in ldp. btw how do we know if the film is authentic 3m

• gallardo on Sep 13, 2010 at 9:23 pm

the 3m original film has “3M” printmarks. i tried the smart tag on karak highway and LPT. it works but u have to hold the smart tag close to the FWS.. really close like touching the FWS and driving very slow. I also tried just placing on dashboard like i did when using aircool, but it did not work. i would like to ask anybody else with original 3m crystalline series for FWS to please come forward and say it here. This is just to clear the fact/myth and also my and everybody else’s doubt that we are really getting crystalline and not some other 3m film, because my smarttag works but only when using the above method. Mine is Crytalline 60 for FWS. thanks.

• yeahh on Sep 22, 2010 at 4:30 pm

as gallardo said, there will b 3m watermarks on the tint. but there are various factors which will affect the usability of smarttag under 3m tints. first of course would be authenticity. others will be the angle of the FWS as not all car’s FWS have the same degree as others. another would be the height of the car, the higher ur car obviously the smarttag device would have a ‘nearer’ contact with the tollgate sensor. another is speed, the faster you go it’d b hard for the sensor to detect ur device. i cannot remember whether i tested mine on federal highway or nkve but i believe my device was touching against my windscreen and i was going very very slow (almost stopping also) but eventually the toll alarm came and i just put the smarttag on the ‘area’ which works. cheers

• i have the same doubt as bro gallardo…how do we know if it is crystalline and not other model which is of lower quality but is still 3m…im using cr70 for fws and can use smart tag provided i go very slow and putting it as close to the screen and in the center. pls share. thanks!

• lovelove on Sep 27, 2010 at 10:41 pm

I heard that all Crystalline can work soon, all tolls cause government is now upgrading our toll system from InfraRed to ‘MicroWave’ system like Singapore…!!!
      There are many newly developed toll stations now using MicroWave system in Klang Valley, that’s is why some said can go through and some can’t!!

• astrix on Sep 16, 2010 at 11:04 pm

if the tinting is not dark enough, is it recomended to apply another layer of tinting? will this void the warranty?

Vkool Super 40 or 3M Crystalline 40 is better?

• got my z4 tinted with cannycool few months back,was not sure on which to choose since so many of my friends recommended me with different brands which included 3M..etc..

so since they said cannycool’s boss is hot thus gave it a try!paid RM 1800 for their protech elite.by far quite satisfied with the performance,not to forget their technicians used to be supervisors of vkool if i am not mistaken.

no problem with gps and smart tag…maybe mine is only for 6 mil

now you see so many of their advertisements around.

recommended!

• zamrul on Sep 26, 2010 at 12:12 am

yes!i am oso cannycool’s supporter!

nice tinting job done and most of all the lady boss is sweet!fulaaaamak!

• 3M tint is useless – i rather go for other brands anytime

• i am promoting without benefit LOL.choose CannyCool!check out the boss.

• Personally, I think Solar Tint Shop is the best among other film tinting company

• I bought Honda City in Jan 2010 and my wind screen was installed with 3M crystalline while the side and rear screen with Tag Gard Series by Apple Auto S/B in PJ which is the Authorised Distributor & Applicator for 3M. It costs me RM1600 for the tint.

However my problems with my 3M crystalline wind screen started in April (YES, after installing it for just 3 months) when it develops blurry vision especially when come into contact with lights (either road lights or lights from other cars). I made a complaint to Apple Auto and they changed it for me (and yes the 3M printmarks were on the new tint..so it isn’t a fake 3M).

After the change, it was fine for another 2 months but the same problem happened again in June. Again I complained to Apple Auto and they changed it for me after inspecting the tint..they assured me that my case (which happened twice) never happened before to their other clients. And I said “I must me the very unlucky one”.

After the change it was ok for few months until this morning, the SAME PROBLEM occurred again…this is too much and i really regretted installing 3M crystalline. FYI my Tag Gard Series which was installed to my side and rear windows are doing fine till today and it shows that nothing is wrong with the Honda windows and definitely it is because of the 3M Crystalline tint..I’m considering to file a case to the Consumer Tribunal…this is worst than nightmares.

• civic hybrid on Nov 14, 2013 at 11:06 pm

my civic now having the same problem.. sigh..
      will contact 3M puchong for warranty..
      just installed not even a year..

• Mavilier on Feb 13, 2011 at 8:41 am

Tested at NKVE and going to test at Federal tomorrow!

Crystalline CR60 for FWS works fine with Smart Tag (Of course drive slowly, since Smart Tag is not ERP in Singapore, who asked you to langgar Tiang???)

By the way, I’m concern about Woo’s issue. Let me see my FWS after 3 months. I think Tag Gard + Crystalline maybe not necessary so expensive. Since it is not all windows crystalline, did they provide original 3M Warranty for you?

If you get original 3M warranty, you can go to any 3M Authorized tint shop to claim. Then better you try at other shop??

• Mavilier on Feb 13, 2011 at 7:02 pm

Fake 3M Tinted?

Is there any China Factory manufacture fake 3M tinted with Watermark???

I believe there is!!!

• gen21 on Feb 22, 2011 at 11:16 am

Apple Auto is no more 3M authorised applicator…the had been terminated by 3M Malaysia..frm wht i heard…

• Yep that’s right. They’re known for selling fake 3m – despite the 3M watermark on the flim! If people can fake Rm50 notes, they have more benefit in faking that easy watermark

• chee liat on Jan 13, 2012 at 9:49 am

How can smart tag go through 3M tint, better check if you got the original 3m crystaliine tint.
    I understand some of the vendor cheat customers by putting fake look alikes…happened to one of the luxury car outlets , they appointed a tint vendor who gave fake v kool tint..FACT !! so please check .Lot of CON MAN out there!!

• Chris on Apr 13, 2012 at 1:19 pm

3M like sh*t!
    Worst tint ever.

I’m using Crystaline 40.

1. Super hot. I can feel my face and forearm burning under mild lighting. Can you imagine under immense lighting?

2. Cannot pass through Touch N Go

• Patrick on Apr 13, 2012 at 7:00 pm

Just a suggestion, ask them to do the light test on your car tint just to ensure that they didn’t cheat you with fake film

• I had VKool40 all round, for about 7 years already on my humble Waja. Very satisfied with the heat rejection. SmartTag have to slow down the car of course (I think better than wind down window to scan). The half leather seats, door panel & dashboard still looks like new so I assume it protects the interior very very well by blocking UV radiation effectively. Have no problem with JPJ so far after so many years. Now considering a few brands for potential new car…3M really that inferior??

• kubuddy on Oct 22, 2012 at 10:14 am

Chris ,
      i am 3m car film’s user. Super hot! impossible product, bor may check with others “3m authozired” dealer

• Vkool elite is crap,just good for first year then u got blur with/screen.
    3m c70 is the best and also bit cheaper.
    Extremely satisfied

• I confirm that 3M Crystalline reduce the the smart tag sensitivity right after my installation. The authorised installer did tell me that would be the case and should push the tag all the way to the windscreen rather than leaving it on the dash. He also said the same thing would happen to vkool which he also installs.

• i recently asked 3M salesperson in balakong how much for crystalline 70 for passat …he quoated rm 3000….are you crazy man.. how stupid do you think people are ??? vw saleperson also another crook . or is it the place ? ha ha ! 3m dealer in ampang only q me 1900

• kubuudy on Oct 22, 2012 at 10:24 am

smart tag concern! just tint 6 – 7 inch with others type film top side of the wind screen , settled!

• Ive been using vcool for all 4 of my cars since it came out 10 years ago, i’d stick to vcool

• Have used V-Kool in the past and given heavy promo from 3M, decided to use its highest range and must its pretty bad as it very hot. So, recently I have gone back to V-Kool for my recent purchase and must its far more better than 3M…its only my 2 cents view

• carspeaker on Mar 31, 2013 at 2:26 pm

PLEASE PLEASE DO NOT GO TO 3M PUCHONG NEAR IOI MALL. I did my car tinted over there. I can’t explain everything here. They quot extremely expensive and they are not professional at all, I have experiences a very bad services there. After I have received my car, they don’t even clean my car, and what a mess ??? they dirty all my seat cushion. Make me so troublesome. I am so heartbroken with my new car. So please be careful with this 3M AUTO FILM IN PUCHONG GUYSSSS!!! I’m sure you can get better than this bullshit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • Tyler Durden on Jul 18, 2013 at 11:54 am

DO NOT go to Pana-G Subang Jaya for 3M or any other tint.

It is by far the most expensive dealer of about 20 over 3M dealers in KL/S’gor.

• i have been using v-kool for long and it is very good. is this 3m way better than v-kool or not

• Edison on Mar 07, 2015 at 8:55 am

Does anyone try the 3M Security Film Nano 70s?

• Edison on Mar 07, 2015 at 11:08 am

Does anyone use the 3M Nano 70s Security Film? Please share ur experience

• I just installed Nano 70s 2 weeks ago for the 4 side windows. Front n rear windscreen is CR70. So far it seems good! I am quite particular with the heat rejection, and I find it is definitely good. The nano 70s security film give me a double protection – anti-broken + heat rejection. Most important is, they are JPJ compliance. I don’t want to get summons when the “tinted operasi” starts later.

• Lawson on Jun 18, 2015 at 4:16 pm

Dear Cath, how much you are charged for your 3m tint?. What is the initial qouted price? What is your car make? TQ.

• Sean111 on May 06, 2015 at 4:56 pm

I just installed the Crystalline 70 ( Front & Rear) & Nano Safety 70 ( 4 sides ). Heat rejection seems good. But ‘3M Facebook’ states a “Water Spray Test” for genuine 3M film. Genuine 3M Crystalline & Nano would show “red chrome water droplets” on sunny day. But I dont see any on my car! Anyone can verify this test? I might go 3M HQ at PJ to verify my film.

• Sean111 on May 06, 2015 at 5:08 pm

I just installed 3M Crystalline 70 ( Front n Rear ) and Nano Safety 70 ( 4 sides). Heat rejection seems good. 3M Facebook states a “Water Spray Test” for genuine 3M film. Will show “red chrome water droplets” in sunny day. This is the site : https://www.facebook.com/3MAutoFilmMalaysia/photos/a.116940841712639.20426.101319609941429/873201499419899/?type=1

But I cannot see on my car. Can anyone try this test? I might go 3M HQ at PJ to verify this!

• Lawson on Jun 15, 2015 at 10:53 pm

For all out there who are installing tint for their cars; from the scrap during tinting cut a piece of window tint of about 3″ x 2″ and personally stapled into the bill of payment. If you are installing 3 shades of tint then stapled the 3 cuttings. If later in doubt these cuttings could be used to verify the specification using a 3M tester for window tint.

• Sean111 on Jul 01, 2015 at 10:10 am

Fyi, the “Water Droplets test” works, it’s easier to see if sprinkle water droplets on ‘interior’ of car windows. I tested on 8 cars, so far only 3M shows red chrome droplets. Other tints include Huper Optics and various cheaper tints all do not shows colored droplets.

• Lawson on Jul 30, 2015 at 11:05 pm

Tomorrow it shall be one month after I had my daughter’s honda city tinted with 3M crystalline in Skudai. Takes them 3 hours to apply the tint. If it rains in the night the next morning I could see the water droplets on the windscreen reddish in color like it has been dyed red color indicating it is real 3M tint. This is other than the 3M log on the tint itself which could be rub off with alcohol. Price is only 10% more than a famous tint installer in Johor Jaya offering in house brand:tint. My only regret is not going online to explore option on 3M tint when I bought my honda jazz in Oct 2014. For all new car buyers in south side of Johor do check out 3M Skudai before even taking delivery of your new car. They did test for me a sample of tint for window which I obtained from vendor in tampoi which show 51% VLT and IR reduction of 55% which were priced at RM1200. 3M tint for my HC is crystalline cr70 and for windows layered with 4 mil transparent security shield! For rear is cr40.