Chevrolet Cruze 1.8 LT Test Drive Review

Chevrolet like Ford, is looking to downsize on costs by introducing one model globally. First in their global range of cars is the Chevrolet Cruze, which is named so in most of the countries it is sold in. The supposed successor to the Chevrolet Optra or the Lacetti (for you Top Gear fans), bears no resemblance to the Daewoo platform the car replaces. In reality, the Cruze comes to you courtesy of GM’s Delta II platform seen in the 2010 Opel Astra.

Design is courtesy of Daewoo and it looks like they have done a good job, though its not hard to get inspiration from your own model line up when it includes the Camaro SS. Nevertheless, you are treated to a front grill that makes you proud for once to own a non-American Chevrolet. The muscular face extends to the side, which is smoothened out to a more conventional look, finished off with a redesigned Optra-like posterior. Overall, it is a handsome looking thing.

Look for the full report and high-res images after the jump.

GM have livened things up on the inside too by featuring a two-tone fabric on the dashboard and around the interior. This, especially in regards to the dashboard, is very unlike other cars in this price range which choose to stick with the drab design that they are comfortable with. The word ‘unique’ definitely comes to mind when thinking about the Cruze’s interior.

Backlight for the panels, dashboard and meters feature a light blue hue that is tasteful and matches the interior really well. I have seen many other cars featuring blue lighting, often causing an eye sore. Not the case for the Cruze. The instrument panel alone makes your feel good about the car, with it’s well-positioned dials and chrome rings. A trip display is also evident in the instrument panel, nestled between the speedometer and tachometer. Settings of the car, including the radio are all displayed on an LCD screen placed on the centre dash. Apart from looking good the interior is also practical with generous compartments including those must-have cup holders. There is also a compartment that pops out on the dashboard.

In regards to the tactility of the interior, the Cruze offers a good feel, for it’s segment of course. Its no BMW 7-Series but despite featuring lots of plastics, the interior does not feel cheap. Tactility from the buttons and gaps on areas such as the dashboard are acceptable. The steering wheel also feels solid and it’s rim is anything but too thin. There are also enough support from the seats, it would not make you feel too tired after long hours of driving.

Sitting in the Cruze, I find that there is a respectable amount of space available for both the front and rear passengers. A simple space test was also done with yours truly (6ft 1′) and another male passenger (5ft 9’). It passed the space test satisfactorily. In the back you will get a luggage capacity of 450 litres with the rear seats up. Overall the interior hits the spot just like it’s exterior.

Other features of the car include front and rear disc brakes, ABS, EBD (electronic brake force distribution) while our local model comes with just two airbags. The local-spec Cruze also sports a traction control system, something that is rare in other cars from the Cruze’s price range. It has to be said that the Euro-spec Cruze managed a successful five-star Euro NCAP rating, which usually takes into account full safety equipments, including all airbags.

Lets move on to the drivetrain. The local-spec Cruze is only offered in one variant which is the 1.8 LT, fitted with the 1.8 litre Ecotec engine producing 140hp and 176Nm of torque at 3,800 RPM. The engine features a twin-cam 16-valve configuration with DCVCP (Double Continuous Variable Cam Phasing) and VIS (Variable Intake System). I had a taste of this engine in the Vauxhall Astra Sports Coupe 1.8 SRi, which felt underpowered. Unfortunately I have to say that this is the same case with the Cruze.

The car feels rather heavy with this engine, especially during heavy-footed driving. You would have to make the engine work hard during overtaking or if you are on a rush. The engine is mated to a 6-speed automatic transmission with Shiftronic and to be honest, the transmission does not help improve the driving experience. At times it felt like it was taking it’s own sweet time to plug into the next gear, while the engine revved away aimlessly. Basically gear changes, whether up-shifts or down-shifts were anything but snappy.

However the manual shift function is a godsend in this case as it comfortably allowed me to get into the right gear at the right time. Considering everything, the 1.8 litre does offer adequate power for everyday driving and the driving experience got better when I was cruising at higher speeds on the highway. While we are talking about high-speed cruising, I should also note that wind noise at speeds of about 110km/h is acceptable as well. Using the Cruze to commute to work, to the grocers or drive 300 kilometers up north for your occasional “balik kampung” trips isn’t a problem, as long as you don’t bring it to Sepang!

Lets move on to the other mechanical bits. The Cruze uses MacPherson struts for the front and a Torsion beam for the rear. This is more of an expected arrangement for a car from such a segment. I am happy to report that that the Cruze does have good bump-absorbation qualities, hence offering a respectable ride comfort. It soaked up those nasty pot holes evident on most of our local roads. There was nothing hard or stiff about it, even on the highway during high-speed cruising. The Cruze’s noise, vibration and harshness (NVH) levels were within tolerance as well.

However to make way for a supple ride, it looks as though the handling of the Cruze has been slightly compromised. There are hints of understeer and the feeling that you are not fully connected to the road when you push the car harder. At higher speeds on the highway, say at about 160km/h, the car tends to feel a little floaty. Nevertheless, you will only feel the negative aspects in regards to the Cruze’s handling when you drive closer to the car’s limits but the Cruze is not a car that you would take to a time attack event.

The Cruze behaves well in it’s element, meaning during normal day-to-day driving. During the test we took the Cruze on various driving environments which included sedate and throttle-happy affairs. With that in mind we recorded an average fuel economy figure of approximately 9.2 litres per 100 kilometers, which is not great yet not that bad.

Thanks to Naza and their joint venture with Chevrolet, we get the Cruze for RM98,767 OTR without insurance. This as you would probably notice is much cheaper than Japanese cars such as the Toyota Altis, Honda Civic and the Mitsubishi Lancer. It’s most obvious competitor is the Kia Forte 2.0 which comes in at a slightly cheaper price of RM93,800 OTR plus insurance. Apart from the cheaper price tag, the Forte 2.0 offers more power with it’s 154hp/194Nm of torque 2.0 litre engine. In my honest opinion the more potent Forte looks as good and drives slightly better, if not similar.

I must admit that the Cruze has an upper hand in the interior design department. Talking about the interior, the Cruze has 16mm less headroom at the front but 8mm more at the back as well as 26mm less leg room up front having 27mm more at the rear compared to the Forte. However the Cruze loses out in overall headroom by 24mm in front and 20mm at the back. At the end of day the Cruze may be slightly expensive and offer less power compared to it’s Korean competitor but overall it still performs well as a package.

You may also read our previous report by Danny Tan.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1454]

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• David on Aug 29, 2010 at 7:53 pm

It’s no BMW to drive, but i feel it’s good enough to make most of its competitors look as if they’re poor to drive. Of course, it may not sell as well as the Civic or even the Corolla Altis, but it is more comfortable while still being sporty enough for everyday driving, looks distinctive, and most importantly, a killer price advantage. For those who say that any Jap competitor beats it anyday, maybe this question applies to you all:- Have you ever driven a Korean car before? I didn’t think so.

• losaa on Aug 29, 2010 at 11:17 pm

so, cruze…or forte…..hem…..

• not stupid men on Oct 22, 2010 at 11:51 am

something missing for the exterior design…….need to upgrade design…

• Even Civic 1.8 doesn’t drives that well and it is priced much higher. I know they are in different class but my point is that at such asking price it is a bargain! But if I am one of those that considering Forte and Curze I think I might go with the Kia Forte 2.0

• lchan on Aug 30, 2010 at 10:05 am

In what ways are they different? Both sits in the same segment. One is just stupidly expensive.

• Tiadaid on Aug 30, 2010 at 12:39 pm

Well I won’t call it stupidly expensive. Just that they’re feeding on prejudices of the Malaysian public. So truth is those cars are smartly expensive. It’s those buyers who are blinded by the badge factor that’s stupid.

• rossi46 on Aug 30, 2010 at 2:33 pm

Hahaha…agreed, Honda are clever to exploit it

• notice one could never get a test drive on the 2.0 Forte, any reason why?

• Naza yet to supply the car (2.0 Forte) as per demand. Until supply>demand, there will be no 2.0 Forte for a test drive

• Forte 2.0, i tested. All as good as at 1.6, different at more touque n power. And to those drive at the first time, u may not suit the steering ( electronic motor) soft at lower speed, hard when speeding.
      Personally…forte, value for $

• flizzardo_sohigh on Aug 29, 2010 at 7:55 pm

great looking car with superb interior in its class

at decent price too

hope this real Chev will brings up Chevrolet market in malaysia

• theanswer on Aug 29, 2010 at 7:59 pm

exterior looks nice and big..anway hows the 1.8 engine performance compared to civic fd1 and altis 1.8?

• chevy9231 on Aug 30, 2010 at 6:31 pm

Cruze is a much heavier car with all the accessories & safety features.
      For sure the performance & FC can’t compare with Civic & Altis.

• Scott on Aug 29, 2010 at 8:48 pm

Very good looking interior.

• Cowabunga! on Aug 29, 2010 at 9:11 pm

was so looking forward to this car, after reading from oneshift.com singapore.
    when it got into the sales room, sat in the car and almost hopeful to take time for a spin…I realized that I had totally lost interest of it.

the interior is quite well placed and reasoned. It’s not most of the “cost-saving” interior other carmakers bring in.

the only distaste was after I took a look at the engine bay…and decided not to waste time driving it.
    it’s as paul would have said….the heavy shell and the underpowered feeling behind the wheels.

• squall_shinoda on Aug 30, 2010 at 12:22 pm

That’s really a pity… even though this car boasts six-speed auto that puts the Cruze a major advantage compared to the Honda Civic, it is a pity that the six-speed auto doesn’t help much. With this heavy body, this car really needs at least a 2-litre engine.

• tested this car last Sunday, although equipped with 1.8 cc engine but is a bit dragging in pickup. the engine sound is obvious too.

but it is very comfortable and the suspension is superb!

• mystvearn on Aug 29, 2010 at 9:41 pm

I can see people putting their own Garmin’s in it as it is clearly the place for a GPS unit

• huiyoo on Aug 29, 2010 at 9:48 pm

the rear looks like civic. nice interior compare to its class

• Paul,
    When will u get to test drive the 2.0L Forte? Pro with the price tag. The only con I can see are the 4AT and rear suspension. Any comment from the owner or anyone? TQ

• I’ve owned a 2.0L Forte & I agreed that the 4AT doesn’t do justice to otherwise a good & efficient engine under the hood. Having said that, i can stress here that the gear ratios are properly match up with the engine torque/power band. No torque dip whatsoever.

& by considering the long list of useful specs in regards to the 93.8k price tag, it is a worth buy & with all that, i can compromise the 4AT & torsion beam suspension setup

• squawk on Aug 30, 2010 at 4:34 pm

I don’t see much issue with torsion beam suspension. Most Renaults, Peugeots and Citroens come with it and you know how well they handle.

• Nice looking car : )

• CaR LoVeR on Aug 29, 2010 at 10:02 pm

Need more feedback on this car. First saw this car in China. Damn nice. From what paul say maybe this car is a car for ppl to enjoy driving slow and steady. How the fuel consumption

• skiborne on Aug 29, 2010 at 10:05 pm

interior looks cool, like the gauge aswell

• Ash Menon on Aug 29, 2010 at 10:39 pm

When I saw this on display, what really grabbed me was the strong front face, as well as that bold blue interior stripe of fabric on the dashboard. Overall I feel the car is very well done, even a step above its rival Civic if I dare say so.

But sadly, it’s caught in a very awkward niche in terms of price tag. Above it, Civic has the mighty Honda badge to lure people with reliability and resale value, while below it, the Forte has a cornucopia of features and more bang-for-buck. I was hoping that the performance of the car would help it gain some market, but sadly I don’t see it becoming that big. Ah well.

• Maserati on Aug 30, 2010 at 12:06 am

Rubbish car.Wont sell in msia even for its cheap price.

This is like worst than a Korean car.

Alot of ppl say Forte is a nice car,try knocking the forte door,the metal is so so so so THIN! And korean cars HP and torque on paper is high,but when drive is so underpowered and not responsive.I drove so many Korean cars and can say that Korean cars still hv a long way to go in terms of technology.

Sorry to say this Cheveloret Cruze is absolute rubbish with a rubbish gearbox.Just hv a look at reviews for this car.

• DonkeyKong on Aug 30, 2010 at 2:08 am

So…. the Optra is better than its successor?…. just wondering.

• john doe on Aug 30, 2010 at 10:39 am

dumb maserati….u clearly hv no idea on car designs….to save weight all cars use lighter body panels and they are designed to absorb impact…the strength is in the frame, thats what protects the occupants….Forte n Cruze are international cars with 5 star NCAP ratings which are tested by people much smarter than u…..

• mamat on Aug 30, 2010 at 11:52 am

Sound like a Toyota/Honda/Proton Salesman waging his frustration/fear in this blog…LOL

• Ash Menon on Aug 30, 2010 at 1:36 pm

Actually, the Forte’s doors sound much better than you’d expect. About the level of a Camry, slightly better.

• David on Aug 30, 2010 at 5:14 pm

Not true Maserati. I’ve already test driven one and despite being heavy and down on power, it makes up, and in a good way, in its handling, ride, and most importantly, good NVH which is missing in many cars of this class. Okay, it’s no BMW, but it’s good enough to knock out the Sylphy, or even a Civic for driving dynamics.

Judging by your comments, it’s obvious that you’ve NEVER driven the Cruze before. What’s so great about the car you drive then, i must ask? A City? Nah, it’s just okay to drive only, but in no way can it beat a Persona.

Oh, i shouldn’t forget that you were the one who called me a DUMBASS when i compared our buying power to the Westerners and Singaporeans in the Hyundai i10 test drive forum here. Grow up and smell the coffee man!! Don’t just immaturely call anyone of us that when you don’t have solid facts!

In conclusion, don’t be a hypocrite, otherwise people like me will start losing respect for you!!

Cheers!

• somehow…i don’t know…this car doesn’t have a ‘wow’ factor eventhough it has 6-speed automatic transmission.

• nabill on Aug 30, 2010 at 12:24 am

to really sell in volume ,this car needs to be ALOT lower in price …good looking or watever it is , this is practically a new car in market , new brand if can say , a customer really need alot of trust in the brand to actually buy this n ditch mainstream rivals like altis or civic

ppl need to trust this brand , and at the moment , that trust is missing , it might hav a good handling bt i doubt ppl looking for this class of cars actually prioritise handling above anyting else….reliability and comfort i think are main factors , plus the brand power , im affraid this car will be appreciated by the very few….n even fewer wil pay money for it…i have a feeling that 6 speed gearbox was put to make it appealing to customers , a gimmick …rather than really make use of the power….btw , thrs no news abt the FC in the report , any idea?

• Harvinder Sidhu (Member) on Aug 30, 2010 at 1:02 am

After driving for a couple of days, we got about 9.2 liters per 100 kilometers.

• They have a choice of 1.4LTurbo in the US of A, higher torque than then 1.8L
    Why is Malaysia always get the crappy engine and we pay the highest price?

http://www.chicagotribune.com/classified/automotive/new/chi-2011-chevy-cruze-review-081610,0,5272763.story

• cruze pergilah langgar dinding… i tak suke kete ni … i’m seriously not convinced with this car…

• rims too hideous…

• Armchair critiquer.. on Aug 30, 2010 at 8:09 am

Jacob/ Harvinder, could you confim that at highway cruizing speed (110km/hr), the rpm is at 1900 rev/min? Nothing important really – just to see the sales manager pitch has any thruth in it or not. He confidently bragged to me that this car is so fuel efficient and quiet at that speed due to low rpm.

I know rpm value is a poor indicator for both fuel efficiency and noise reduction factor, but I just curious to know anyway.

• bohtakchek on Aug 30, 2010 at 8:30 am

yea… sook is right, y malaysia always get crappy specs?? like the ford mondeo also the same, most european car they try to cut cost to enter malaysia market but they don’t know cutting the specs doesn’t sell car, two segment specs and price. can’t balance both… if you don’t have an edge over others right… undercut price, you cut into vios, korean and proton buyer, means higher volume. if specs up … chevy is wooing T and H buyers…in 120k bracket, Chevy had enough 3S center alrdy, why come up with this specs of Cruze for Malaysia??! either the marketing people wish to play safe or the US thinks they know the market here better!? … did they do their home work or other constraint?? Cruze has a 1.4Turbo engine? why?? malaysia mechanic so untrainable meh?? or cost to restock all the parts, etc… malaysia market is a chicken and egg thing, if they don’t spec it up then stand to gain no market share at all… VW is doing CKD soon… and their downsizing engine look so damn apertizing, same petrol, more power, lower tax, good specs 6 airbag… now this is what consumer wants la, if price it below 100k it will fly out showroom before it even arrives, but can only dream la…this is bolehland, not open market friendly. this should be it ma… so chevy just another bye la….

• squawk on Aug 30, 2010 at 4:40 pm

I think Malaysians still look at engine capacity first. If you put a 1.4 engine in a car this size, nobody will consider it even if it has turbo and sufficient power. But if you put turbo in a weak 2.0 or a 2.4, people will go “wah… must be powderful wan” and then maybe more will flock to the showroom.

• cardreamer on Aug 30, 2010 at 8:43 am

Prefer to differ from Paul. I dislike the interior fabric on the dash as well as for the seats. Looks and feel cheap. fabric on the dash will be hard to clean. Just imagine your kids smear the dash with chocolate or milo…there you goes..it will stained and hard to clean!…you can’t simply wipe it out for it is a rough texture fabric!…

I would prefer Forte than this Cruze…see for yourself and you’ll know why…

• Jimmy on Aug 30, 2010 at 9:48 am

Korean sedan and SUV their chassis are not very stiff. I guess Cruze win in this aspect. And most people still think that Korean cars are superior only to national car/Indian/China cars, only.

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Aug 30, 2010 at 9:50 am

That grille does it for me.

Its just the rear end that looks disappointing, because its pleasent look is mismatch with the brash front.

Its like giving Tom Selleck a bum of Sophie Marceu.

Still it has the potential to scare off small cars off the road.

We only get the 2.0 lt, 150 hp diesel engine in India and well that has some excellent tire shredding performance.

Combined with those unique(for me exclusive) interiors.

It looks korean only from the rear. From the front it still feels more closer to the caddy-daddy and camaro

• shawal on Aug 30, 2010 at 10:11 am

Excellent review!!! what Naza is doing is creating rivals inside its own stable, not only it gives us more choices as consumers, but at the same time gives Naza alot o moolah…
    they’re on a roll…
    electric tailgate is nice touch, premium feel…
    The interior would look so much better if the steering didn’t look so cheap… like this
    http://image.automobilemag.com/f/car-news/first-2011-chevrolet-cruze-interior-photos/10687760+w400+cr1+re0+ar1/chevrolet-cruze-interior.jpg

• anonymous on Aug 30, 2010 at 10:17 am

it is so cru(d)ze that even the back is a China-made copy of Toyota Camry..way to go..Cina-pek style…

• Hairy Crab on Aug 30, 2010 at 11:10 am

I had the full spec Holden version of this car for a week.

The reviewer here has been kind to this car. This car has many major flaws. 1st of all, there is a yawning torque curve and badly match gear ratio that gave the impression that the car had stalled when autodownshifting to accelerate uphill/overtaking/get out of collision! The suspension setup is also poor. When fully loaded, the car tends to drift at high speed or on concrete highway surface (it is not alignment nor tyres problem). Though the car has loads of gadget, the placements of important buttons/switches are unergonomic and could be dangerous when the driver had to look down at knee level to operate the air-cond..

For those who lambasted Civic in preference to this car, good luck! The Civic even the 6th generation one gives far better driving dynamics though (without apology) poorer NVH. The 8th gen Civic can easily tapau this. and the Civic has much more room to spare.

• cardreamer on Aug 30, 2010 at 12:40 pm

Yeap agree with Hairy Crab…the civic has better interior quality, but don’t know the ride of it..never ride one…

Don’t just look at the picture..go and see and touch it ur self…it looks good and unique in picture but actually it is not…so cheap and low grade plastics compared to Forte and not to mention the civic..but of course u have to put more money on the civic..but you’ll get the quality you look for…that is lasting…believe me..put some more money and get the civic 1.8…or at least the Forte..

• E Bear on Aug 30, 2010 at 1:43 pm

Drove it a few weeks back and came away impressed.

Looking back, it gave a mixed feeling of a gd drive but no image/resale……..thinking about higher petrol costs……makes more sense to get an Exora…….or wait for the new Waja replacement.

• rossi46 on Aug 30, 2010 at 2:40 pm

They should have brought the diesel Cruze 2.0 VCDi instead….more powerful & frugal….surely can bring these since the diesel 2.0 VCDi captiva is available here (the engine is known for its power & frugality on the captiva…hmm, just imagine its in the lighter Cruze)

anyway..refer to review

www.autocar.co.uk/CarReviews/FirstDrives/Chevrolet-Cruze-2.0-VCDi-150-LT/242961/

• mitlanevo on Aug 30, 2010 at 4:07 pm

ok, well done Paul !

i think i’ll stick with Lancer and Forte :-)

• 4G63tDSM on Aug 30, 2010 at 5:41 pm

As much as I would want this to succeed, it was a major dissapointment. Being slightly lathargic is an undestatement. A Civic (and Forte) would run circles around it. Both on the upper and lower price points.

It does have very good NVH, but then again, so does most new cars. Honda Malaysia’s Cars in particular have always been very weak in NVH…much worst here than those very same in oversea’s market. (The Cruze is CBU so it does have NVH up on par to export markets). Its not so much that the Chevy is good, its that Honda is bad.

Perhaps what would save Chevy’s Cruze offering in malaysia is the availability with the “SS” trim with big wheels, bespoke wider body panels, Turbo 2.0 and 6 speed stick.

Now that would be something… and then do one better and offer a “SS” Cruze Stationwagon.

• ‘Malaysian’ mentality prevails once again. Cruze owners are a niche market and I will confess this isn’t a bad car. Half of you blokes who complained about the car probably drive myvi’s or pray to H’s and T’s the way people in India worship Rajnikanth! Fact – 90% of peopla find faults or complaint about things and the remaining 10% compliment or just keep quiet. By reading some of your comments..it highly reflects the level of mentality you poor blokes have. Give constructive feedback…dont find faults with something based on just looks.
    Malaysia sememangnya BOLEH…tapi boleh dengan apa????

• kingko on Aug 31, 2010 at 2:19 pm

there is a reason for T & H to be so successful in every where : )

even americans are buying toyota more than chevy.

Get up, get a life, and try set foot in oversea, and see for yourself. I pity you, wat is your ride? lol. a cheapo muscle car? lol.

• Jimmy on Aug 31, 2010 at 8:05 pm

Chevy salesman of course just want constructive feedback, oop sorry complementary feedback. Hey you guys, don’t criticise ya. You guys don’t see that Chevy has CLIMB up to become No2 in car industry? And never loose money? You guys must be no brains wan critisizing Chevy. THIS CRUZE IS THE BEST IN ITS CLASS! It is even better that Toyota Camry if you like.

• randomz on Sep 15, 2010 at 3:01 pm

the reason most of the american people buy T & H is because to them, it is a cheap car. Same like why most malaysian buy myvi/viva because it is cheap… but T & H in malaysia is consider luxury

• Right Royale on Oct 13, 2010 at 4:01 pm

Look at it this way I have driven the predessor, the Optra for 200K KM, other than the depreciation, the car has little fault. I’m intent on keeping it and maintaining it as my primary ride though I do intend to get the Passat CC as a new addition to my cars. But they did cut cost in using torsion beams this time round rather than a multilink setup. Which means it would not ride curves as well as the predessor.

• Its not about Malaysian’s Mentality (the bad way). I mean COMON PEEPS! This IS the right mentality! We all just think too much to frown upon H & Ts. Sure they have problems, like every freaking car, but they have been proven reliable. And people with the right mind and think of the future will go for vehicles that they themselves can save cash, has a good safety record, proven reliable worldwide and has a high resale value so they can SAVE!

If its in your mindset to buy a car APART from any brand proven reliable, and to get those extra bluetooth handsfree, posh-ish blue fabric dashboard, start-stop button, THAT is the mentality people try to avoid! Im not against Chevs, koreans wtsover, Im just sick and tired of people DEFENDING a car when SOMEONE is against it.

Its your cash, your opinion, your mindset. And with negative comments or complaints about a car, people WILL try and check them out yourselves and either wait for an improvement if they cant get their hands off it, or go try a different car. Because people get put off easily if they hear Problems. AND THIS HELPS WITH YOUR FUTURE DECISION SPENDING YOUR HARD EARNED CASH. Coz soon, a year or so, when theres that problem, you will look back and hoped someone actually complained about that part.

• arcana on Aug 30, 2010 at 11:58 pm

in a way u are right…..ppl are sticking to proven records……
      but somehow i see no light in savings that u mentioned becoz of this mentality
      those popular brands are selling expensive low-spec cars……..
      what can u save when u are paying massive premium for that so called right mentality?

• If you look at it this way, in terms of spec? Lets take an i-vtec 1.8 civic engine against the 1.8 the cruze has, im no car engine geek here but i-vtec has been so reliable that they even put it in their much bigger SUV range. Their engine may not beat the more expensive beamers but its been on their range of cars for sometime and people never complain about it. In terms of it being underpowered, well many cars are underpowered, but the norm civic and cruze are made to be family sedans, not caravan haulers or race cars.
        Higher specs does not always mean great in quality. Just look at phones for example. A good, phone will try an enhance something it already has, a bad phone (LG, SAMSUNG) will stop enhancing and add features that may overpower the phone’s capabilities, thus doesnt last long. If that makes sense.
        H & Ts are selling at a more higher price because they are improving their quality and enhancing their products, where as Korean manufacturers dont enhance, they just add add add and when something fails, the rest fails.

I know a few of my friends bought a Forte not for it’s power (if it has any) or design, but just because it has a built Start Stop button to ‘WOW’ their girlfriends and their friends who drive myvis. These cars have SPECS not related to safety or reliability, but toys and gadgets. We can live with manual adjusting seats, lack of built in bluetooth, lack of sunroof and extra displays to look as if it has a b&w navigation.

And resale? Smart people make smart choices. And for us LIVING in Malaysia, Smart choices mean proven Reliability and high resale. Malaysians who do think of purchasing a korean (which received bad reputation for expensive spare parts, low quality and low resale) may regret in the future. Im no GOD to force people into hating korean cars, I LOVE the Sonata YF design but when i had it tested, it wasnt up to the standards. It was plasticky, the ride was heavy and road noise were to the top level.

I still havent decided on which car to buy right now under 140K (like most malaysians thats what we can highly afford) so I need to find a car that will be reliable and will not blow a wallet after a few years.

• john doe on Sep 01, 2010 at 12:45 pm

PPL DONT BUY KOREAN CARS JUST FOR THE TOYS BUT THE HIGH SAFETY RELATED SPECS WHICH MADE THE CAR POSSIBLE TO HAVE FULL AIRBAGS, STABILITY CONTROL, ACTIVE HEADREST AND 4 DISC BRAKES WITH EBD….ALL THIS AT MUCH MUCH CHEAPER PRICE THAN JAPS WHICH STILL RIDING AT DRUM BRAKES(VIOS), NO STABILITY CONTROL(VIOS, CITY) NVH SUCKS(CIVIC), 0 SPEC(ALTIS), GEARBOX FAILURE AFTER JUST 1 YR(HONDA), NW WIDELY RECALLED ENGINE PROB(TOYOTA)….

• No cars are problem free. But Korean cars are worse with those conditions.
            In the 1960s NO ONE wants a japanese car, but over 20-30 years of actually improving, they are now the top car manufacturers worldwide. Im not just talking about Malaysia here. So they took their time, hard labour and extensive research to finally come up to this millenia and get good reputation (we can see that with their high sales WORLDWIDE)
            But with koreans, they speed up too quickly (daewoo bubble cars to a freaking CLS copy Sonata) and with those added wow factors. Slow and steady wins the race.

• Yoong Tofu on Aug 31, 2010 at 1:52 am

Decent car.

Wrong distributor.

• ismazri on Aug 31, 2010 at 12:11 pm

I miss my chevy Aveo.

• reuben how on Sep 01, 2010 at 7:21 am

All cars depreciate. The stupid thing is that in Malaysia no one has done a real cost survey per km. I wonder what the difference is if say, over 250 000kms what the real cost of ownership is? I drive a camry hybrid and over 200 000kms apparently its actually MORE expensive (total life cost) than a normal camry. So much for the fuel savings, but i bought the car to enjoy the technology rather than worry about the fuel savings. A camry hybrid can actually outrun a BMW 320d and evey some so called 6 cylinder performance cars !!!

• Right Royale on Oct 13, 2010 at 4:07 pm

Yes but a 1.4L VW TSI packs as much power and has a fuel consumption of a 1.4L car and if its a diesel TSI then you’re looking at 30km/l or more. Hybrids was developed mainly because Japanese had no small diesel engine. Do tell me how much does it cost to replace the batteries and how long it lasts. On average it would cost 1/2 the price of the car.

• carfan on Sep 01, 2010 at 10:47 am

Good review. Nice pricing and more choices for the price of a Vios or City.

Seriously it is difficult to find a bad new car nowadays with computerised design, engineering and major components supplied by large MNCs. Korean cars were weak in design, quality and engines. But these all but gone in the last few years as they set up international design centers, new engines and look at the new offerings from Kia, Hyundai and now Daewoo/Chevy. Unfortunately for Malaysia, not all the new engines are available esp the new diesels. I test drove at the Forte, Santa Fe, and Captiva and I dont mind having one myself. I am sure the issue with Cruize is that Naza have not made all the right engine choices for Cruize- dont worry they will get it right.

• I have to agree with MFH. Korean cars have this urgency to beat every single car company with overwhelming ideas that they just integrated without actually researching. Im no Asian car fan, i dont like Toyotas, My wife owns a Jazz which i hate. and ill stick to my Alfa any time.

• Y. Kim on Sep 11, 2010 at 2:07 pm

Chevrolet has big problem.
    It has known Korean comunity.
    I will show some pictures.

http://cafe.naver.com/lacettigt/258079
    http://cafe.naver.com/lacettigt/257849
    http://cafe.naver.com/lacettigt/253603

and

http://tvnews.media.daum.net/cp/sbsi/pursi/view.html?cateid=100507&cpid=73&newsid=20100909180904852&p=sbsi
    Watch to 9min 28sec.

It’s Cruze(in korea, Lacetti)
    I want you to watch cowl cover.
    And could you tell other people about this problem?

• bruze on Sep 24, 2010 at 11:25 am

where can i get chevyrolet showroom at Kuantan…….anyone HELP me??

• Tommy Lee on Sep 28, 2010 at 4:25 am

I own Cruze, let me highlight few sweet spots here:

1. Comes with ABS + EBD, no car in sub $100K equip with EBD?
    2. Comes with ESC – Electronic Stability Control + Traction Control
    3. 6 Speed Gearbox – Some car with CVT, I personally don’t like that because you can’t tune much power, that’s a common fact of all CVT. I think a 6 speed suit my needs.
    4. Best Interior Design – Cruze Uses Cheap Material but able to create a near premium feel, that’s a winner to all.
    5. Awesome Handling – Cruze is using McPherson and Torsion-beam Suspension, but I notice the body roll is almost none even with hard driving, and the suspension still remains comfortable, that’s a big plus!

The engine is the weakest part and they should bring in the 1.4T… BTW, the brake piston is – ceramic, what a shock!

• randomz on Oct 12, 2010 at 12:41 pm

Read on the history of cruze people and get the facts right.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chevrolet_Cruze
    what we actually need to hear is WHO really engineered this car?
    Ans: Opel, GERMANY
    Ecotec engine is an Opel technology.
    WHO mostly involved in the design of this car?
    Ans: Daewoo, KOREA

Conclusion, they are all GM…

• Air Lemonade on Oct 24, 2010 at 11:02 am

Nice car… very good looking…

• dpn mcm honda accord…belakang mcm lampu honda civic

• Mathew on Jan 11, 2012 at 1:24 pm

Any comment about the fuel consumption?

• love this car.
    will buy if i had the money

• Antero Ronkainen on Oct 02, 2012 at 10:06 am

Chevrolet Cruze 1.8 LT (acquire august 2011 Thailand)
    Looks OK
    Interior and equipment OK
    Consume too much fuel,the combined consumption of
    more than 12 l / 100km
    (consumption calculated for 1-year period)
    Sales maintenance, normal werr ?